PDA

View Full Version : 51% Pay Rise For Board Member.

Centre Hawf
06-02-2019, 11:57 AM
Someone retweeted a thread into my timeline regarding our Full Accounts at Companies House (https://twitter.com/kieranmaguire/status/1093095551200038912?s=21).

Amongst the information one tweet stood out that our highest paid board member has pocketed a pay package rise of 51% to £208k. I’m not an expert at all on these matters. Is this normal? It just seems such a significant increase for a board member.

Peevemor
06-02-2019, 12:01 PM
Someone retweeted a thread into my timeline regarding our Full Accounts at Companies House (https://twitter.com/kieranmaguire/status/1093095551200038912?s=21).

Amongst the information one tweet stood out that our highest paid board member has pocketed a pay package rise of 51% to £208k. I’m not an expert at all on these matters. Is this normal? It just seems such a significant increase for a board member.

From memory there was a large sum lumped into her pension scheme - I'd imagine some sort of performance bonus.

Lago
06-02-2019, 12:08 PM
Not a bad little earner for a mid table club in a small Scottish League.

danhibees1875
06-02-2019, 12:11 PM
From memory there was a large sum lumped into her pension scheme - I'd imagine some sort of performance bonus.

There was a significant increase in base salary too, the 51% is based on them added together (plus benefits).

The accounts compare the year ended June 2018 to June 2017, so the 50% jump is based on the club moving from Championship to Premiership (and achieving 4th/Europe - assuming there is a performance bonus element to remuneration).

GreenOnions
06-02-2019, 12:12 PM
Employer pays bonus directly into pension rather than as salary. Tax-efficient for both parties and I'd imagine part of a previously agreed bonus package.

Unlike plenty bonuses paid to company executives these days I reckon the recipient would have been able to make a good case for having earned this.

DarlingtonHibee