View Full Version : Has Anyone On Here Applied For The Manager’s Job At Hibs?

LustForLeith
05-02-2019, 07:03 PM
Just wondering!

I heard there was over 100 applicants. Here’s a few experts in here (including me!) who feel they could do a job. I’m thinking, on the back of my stint as co manager of the Canbage and Ribs pub team a few years back and guiding East Stirling into the Europa League in Football Manager, of submitting my CV. I applied for the Chelsea job just before Conte got it.

I’m sure there was a story about a guy who was in the dole and tried to have his job seekers allowance paid on the basis that he’d apply for managers jobs that came up all the time.

05-02-2019, 07:05 PM
Sit doon ya banger. I won the league 4 years in a row with a youth team I coached here so I'm more qualified than you.........

05-02-2019, 07:12 PM
More to the point, has anyone apart from me had an interview?

05-02-2019, 07:38 PM

I've been offered the job. Just waiting for the contract to come through and sign it. :greengrin

05-02-2019, 07:40 PM
I've been offered the job. Just waiting for the contract to come through and sign it. :greengrin

Leeann has already asked me in confidence if I'd be interested in taking over when you get suspended.

05-02-2019, 07:55 PM
Leeann has already asked me in confidence if I'd be interested in taking over when you get suspended.

A guy in the pub got a text while I was there saying you'd already been interviewed, appointed, suspended, consented and banned from East Mains. He saif you were paid off in pegs. Don't know if it's true.

05-02-2019, 07:57 PM
A guy in the pub got a text while I was there saying you'd already been interviewed, appointed, suspended, consented and banned from East Mains. He saif you were paid off in pegs. Don't know if it's true.

Hah!

I'd have crawled over broken glass for pegs.

05-02-2019, 08:01 PM
Hah!

I'd have crawled over broken glass for pegs.

Alan Stubbs had a better crawling over glass record than yours. You were deliberately using the wrong pegs to send a message to the Board.

05-02-2019, 08:04 PM
Me

05-02-2019, 08:06 PM
Rod has put the paperwork in front of me to sign, three year deal, but won’t loan me his biro and is making me buy one from the club store in the morning. Raging.

05-02-2019, 08:14 PM
I applied for the job back in the 80s but was pipped at the post by Alex Miller. Everything could have been very different.

05-02-2019, 08:17 PM
Alan Stubbs had a better crawling over glass record than yours. You were deliberately using the wrong pegs to send a message to the Board.

Bang to rights, guv, but for good reason.

If someone offers you two bags of pegs, you look in both before you choose.

05-02-2019, 08:20 PM
The Cat told me that Kenny Miller's been interviewed for the job.

05-02-2019, 08:25 PM
Bang to rights, guv, but for good reason.

If someone offers you two bags of pegs, you look in both before you choose.

You mean after you've been to the cinema for some entertainment?

05-02-2019, 08:26 PM
I applied and got an interview. Was escorted off the premises after asking what happened with NL.Couldn't believe it after my hibs.net quick managers interview course assured me it was a legitimate question to ask.

05-02-2019, 08:26 PM
The Cat told me that Kenny Miller's been interviewed for the job.

Weird because Kenny Miller told me The Cat's been interviewed for the job...

son of haggart
05-02-2019, 08:29 PM

I didn't get past the application stage

The maroon ink might have been a giveaway, come to think of it

05-02-2019, 08:33 PM

Don't take it badly, the six fingers would have scuppered you at interview anyway.

05-02-2019, 08:34 PM
I’m sure there was a story about a guy who was in the dole and tried to have his job seekers allowance paid on the basis that he’d apply for managers jobs that came up all the time.

Was that the guy who wrote his applications in maroon ink?

05-02-2019, 08:36 PM
You mean after you've been to the cinema for some entertainment?

IMAX folk ken whit's gaun' on.

05-02-2019, 08:36 PM
14 titles in 16 years with Valencia on FM 19, I hate Hearts and would never throw a chair at Leon Darkstar or call Tam McCourt a pyke

05-02-2019, 08:37 PM
Weird because Kenny Miller told me The Cat's been interviewed for the job...

He was hounded out of the waiting room.

05-02-2019, 08:41 PM
He was hounded out of the waiting room.

lol, you're gonna pump her

05-02-2019, 08:41 PM
I'd agreed to take over but Petrie tried to move the goalposts at the last minute.

Apparently 4 cans of Irn Bru, a packet of Polos and 3 leftover pies was to cover me and an assistant.

05-02-2019, 08:42 PM
I'm Dean Shiels.

05-02-2019, 08:44 PM
I'd agreed to take over but Petrie tried to move the goalposts at the last minute.

Apparently 4 cans of Irn Bru, a packet of Polos and 3 leftover pies was to cover me and an assistant.

Can't believe he was going to let you have Matty as your assistant anyway. I suppose you know by now the players had already been to Rod's house to complain?

05-02-2019, 08:47 PM

Were you in the changing room at the Hearts Shop when you applied?

05-02-2019, 08:53 PM
Were you in the changing room at the Hearts Shop when you applied?

That disrespectful, he's been places...

05-02-2019, 08:57 PM
14 titles in 16 years with Valencia on FM 19, I hate Hearts and would never throw a chair at Leon Darkstar or call Tam McCourt a pyke

Over qualified if anything.

If I were you I’d bag a pundit spot on some cable channel and start demanding some RESPECT.

05-02-2019, 08:57 PM
I'm a bit confused about what happened, to be honest.

I was sitting in the interview room and like any good interviewer, Rod Petrie, was relaxing me with some small talk about TV programmes.

He mentioned that he used to be very fond of Happy Days in the 70s and I agreed saying that my favourite episode was the hilarious one about Fonzie's scheme.

I'm not sure what I'd said wrong, but he went bright red and told me to get out immediately. :confused:

05-02-2019, 09:06 PM

I was sitting in the interview room and like any good interviewer, Rod Petrie, was relaxing me with some small talk about TV programmes.

He mentioned that he used to be very fond of Happy Days in the 70s and I agreed saying that my favourite episode was the hilarious one about Fonzie's scheme.

I'm not sure what I'd said wrong, but he went bright red and told me to get out immediately. :confused:

When I made the same small talk it was about possible signings. I said if we had a spare £150,000 we should get Griffiths nap. Same thing happened...

05-02-2019, 09:08 PM
I think I blew my chances when I spilt my glass of red wine over Petrie.

1875godsgift
05-02-2019, 09:12 PM
I think I blew my chances when I spilt my glass of red wine over Petrie.

:agree: Those breakfast time interviews can be challenging.

Think I blew my chances when I asked where the chang was when he showed me round the changing rooms.

05-02-2019, 09:16 PM
:agree: Those breakfast time interviews can be challenging.

Think I blew my chances when I asked where the chang was when he showed me round the changing rooms.

He obviously knows how easy it is for a Hibs Manager to lose that.

05-02-2019, 09:16 PM

It is almost like the calendar thread never went away :greengrin

For my interview I carshared with Paul Heckingbottom, Alan Kernaghan and Stuart Baxter. We left the car at an NCP and I got a couple of quid from each of them to cover the ticket.

The machine was out of order and I just hung onto the change but in my interview I admitted to Rod that I had pocketed the car park money.

Don’t know what happened but it was all down hill after that.

05-02-2019, 09:18 PM

For my interview I carshared with Paul Heckingbottom, Alan Kernaghan and Stuart Baxter. We left the car at an NCP and I got a couple of quid from each of them to cover the ticket.

The machine was out of order and I just hung onto the change but in my interview I admitted to Rod that I had pocketed the car park money.

05-02-2019, 10:18 PM
With me it was a difficulty hearing what he was saying in our discussion. I suggested his unclipped tache was making his speech indistinct and expressed the view that it was just like trying to work out tannoy announcements in the East. After that he seemed to lose interest.

05-02-2019, 10:24 PM
I’ve decided not to apply because I’ve no football management experience whatsoever.

05-02-2019, 10:26 PM
I’ve decided not to apply because I’ve no football management experience whatsoever.

Beat it, Cathro

05-02-2019, 10:26 PM
In my interview I showed Petrie my six pack and told him he’d never be as good as me, before throwing a chair at Kamberi and calling Dempster a type of wall or ditch on my way out. They said I’d hear back by the end of the week. Quietly confident...

1875godsgift
05-02-2019, 10:30 PM
In my interview I showed Petrie my six pack and told him he’d never be as good as me, before throwing a chair at Kamberi and calling Dempster a type of wall or ditch on my way out. They said I’d hear back by the end of the week. Quietly confident...

A ha-ha huh?

05-02-2019, 10:42 PM

I got called back for a second interview. This time I carshared with Jim Gannon, Alan Simpson and Gudjon Thordarson.

Things went well, so well in fact that Rod asked me to stay on for a game of Monopoly (he keeps a set under his desk).

It was fun for a while but I briefly turned away to check my phone and when I looked back he had moved himself to Mayfair even though he had previously been at Angel Islington.

I accused him of board interference. Not sure what happened but things seemed to go downhill after that.

05-02-2019, 10:47 PM
I just think I'm not very lucky when it comes to applying for managers jobs.

I was in for the The Rangers job last year and I was getting interviewed by Jim Traynor and some guy wearing a bowler hat.

I know I was impressing them because they started asking me about the logistics of me getting to Ibrox every day from Edinburgh (I had fibbed about where I lived).

I told them that although I didn't currently have a car, I had already been looking for used vehicles and I had an ex-Uber chance in my price range.

They didn't ask me any more questions after that, but I didn't get the job. Maybe they don't like Skodas.

05-02-2019, 10:55 PM
I just think I'm not very lucky when it comes to applying for managers jobs.

I was in for the The Rangers job last year and I was getting interviewed by Jim Trainor and some guy wearing a bowler hat.

I know I was impressing them because they started asking me about the logistics of me getting to Ibrox every day from Edinburgh (I had fibbed about where I lived).

I told them that although I didn't currently have a car, I had already been looking for used vehicles and I had an ex-Uber chance in my price range.

They didn't ask me any more questions after that, but I didn't get the job. Maybe they don't like Skodas.Our paths might have crossed, I got a second interview at Sevco. Never got the job or any feedback so I guess I slipped up at the final hurdle.

Imagine my surprise when Stevie G got the gig.

05-02-2019, 11:00 PM
Sure they are not confusing the number of applications for the manager’s job with the applications for the supporters representative?

Could see Big Frank in the dug out along with his assistant Tam McCourt!

05-02-2019, 11:34 PM
I got an interview which was going well until LD ask me about what I thought about loyalty points. Apparently they will call me and I've not to bother calling them

05-02-2019, 11:35 PM
I attended an interview with Steve McManaman, I was to be his assistant, halfway through Ste’s presentation Rod jumped up and shouted shut the **** up you annoying Scouse tosser. I quit on the spot and left with John Bishop who was to be our first team coach.

06-02-2019, 12:40 AM
I was interviewed and the whole thing was going swimmingly.

Having prepared and delivered an impressive PowerPoint presentation outlining my achievements at Football Manager, I was getting on to the part where I described what I had learned during my trips to the Netherlands to study their famous coaching methods.

At that point LD asked curiously "what is it that the Dutch call thae wee stone walls that they use to keep the water oot?"

I answered the question honestly and (I think) correctly, but found myself hoofed out faster than you could hurl a chair at a Swiss striker.

With a punch of the door, I left.

Theinsider
06-02-2019, 12:47 AM
Just wondering!

I heard there was over 100 applicants. Here’s a few experts in here (including me!) who feel they could do a job. I’m thinking, on the back of my stint as co manager of the Canbage and Ribs pub team a few years back and guiding East Stirling into the Europa League in Football Manager, of submitting my CV. I applied for the Chelsea job just before Conte got it.

Thats beacuse you had Me. GC up front. With Beefy and Iain in supporting in that side ,mate. Thats why you made your name......

Anyway everyone knows it was Bingo70s brains that were behind the whole operation.......

06-02-2019, 01:00 AM

Eaststand
06-02-2019, 09:29 AM

For my interview with Rod and Leeann for the job, I mentioned that I was previously an actor.
Rod asked me to give him some more info about that.

I told them that I had appeared in Half a Sixpence, and Pennies from Heaven. Rod's face went red, and his moustache twitched.
I thought this was a good sign, so I went on to say I had appeared in some westerns, and always enjoyed the bar fight scenes, especially when a few chairs get thrown around. His moustache then twitched twice and he asked me to change the subject a bit.

Have you appeared with anybody famous he asked ?
I was halfway through my reply that I had appeared in Mary Poppins with the famous actor Dick Van ....

I was thrown out by 2 big Frank lookalikeys before I could finish and even tell them that I had also appeared with the famous actor Ronald Villiers in the Finty Nift discount tyres sketch :-0

06-02-2019, 09:41 AM
My mate, Willie, from Loanhead isn't a big Hibs fan, but when he heard they were looking for a new first team coach, he thought it might be a good opportunity so he went along to East Mains to meet RP and LD.

Willie took the initiative straight away and, before Rod could speak, he asked, "Right, where do want to go?".

RP said, "Ah, you're checking our ambition. Good, I like that. Well, we're planning for regular trips to Europe".

Willie, "What sort of timescale are we looking at?".

RP, "We're quite flexible about the actual day you arrive, but preferably before our Scottish Cup tie with Raith Rovers".

Willie, "How many people would I be taking care of?"

RP, " Your job would be solely with the first team squad, so around 24.

Willie, "I see. Well, for a significant project like that, I'll need to hire an assistant, possibly two".

RP, "We'll be in touch, Mr Hunter".

06-02-2019, 10:01 AM
Got an interview and I was told I was more suited to a Coach role.
I've been given a set of keys with a Volvo keyring

Does that count as a whoosh? :dunno:

06-02-2019, 11:24 AM
Quite the collection of Mike Bassets on here. Allsorts of different styles of management.