View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Aberdeen
02-02-2019, 03:00 PM
You would have expected gauld and mcnulty to be on from the start
02-02-2019, 03:00 PM
2 players beyond the last defender touched the ball, first one has shot saved, 2nd one scores. That is offside.
It happened fast but didnt rocky make the 2nd save and it hit off the aberdeen boy to the other aberdeen boy and he tapped it in?
I called for offside straight away
02-02-2019, 03:01 PM
We need someone on the pitch that wants to make a forward pass, and does it instinctively. Gauld perhaps...
It's not a lack of effort so far but Aberdeen want this much more than us. Aberdeen have put a load of effort into closing us down especially at the back.
Still if Rocky hadn't made an arse of their 2nd we'd be level.
We can’t take a quick throw in, we dont know when to professionally foul, we don’t niggle and shove, we never get in the referees face, we don’t look like we have a captain leading on the park, Shaw is going to be a cracking player given time, Bartley is lost in this game and we really need a manager who can bring the steel back because we do look quite boyband here.
I’d bring sparky on for Kamberi and Gauld on for Bartley or slivka
Agree with that. Slivka done ok though so Bartley or Mallan
02-02-2019, 03:02 PM
Same old with the team looking lost about their positions. Kameri looks more himself with some great runs and Shaw has been out best player. May needs to go with a back 4 to stop the centre halves all thinking someone else will get it.
All fairly predictable at the moment with a sprinkling of Rocky madness thrown in. Hopefully, May can make a sub before 75 minutes to change it.
Tornadoes70
Hopefully a change or two can spark off a second half improvement similar to last week. Never liked that don robertson, he's given aberdeen nearly all the 50/50 decisions and are refs ordered not to card shinnie who continuously fouls?
Mon the Cabbage!!!
sauzee=legend
It happened fast but didnt rocky make the 2nd save and it hit off the aberdeen boy to the other aberdeen boy and he tapped it in?
I saw exactly the same thing
Bartley has been playing well, if he comes off I'd go with 2 CH's and stick Milligan in front of them and push gauld and Mallan further forward
02-02-2019, 03:03 PM
Bartleys done ok so Mallan or Milligan
That’s what I thought happened too
That’s was brutal except the last 8 minutes or so
352 has resulted in 6 defenders as our full back have been pinned back and Bartley drops deep.
Aberdeen had far too much space on the ball and were picking us off with ease, nowhere near them.
We just lack so much pace, urgency and creativity it’s frightening.
Id be making changes at half time.
02-02-2019, 03:04 PM
Totally agree, our season has gone t.ts up unfortunately. Need manager in & start planning for next season.
That's it, you keep your positivity going
Nice of you to share it with us.
02-02-2019, 03:05 PM
Positives -
Flo is doing fine, Shaw has been good when involved. We could do with getting the ball to them more often.
Milligan is playing well.
Gray and Stevenson ok.
I honestly don't think we've been all that bad, but a couple of awful goals lost have put a different complexion on the game.
Negatives -
Goalie is having a horror show.
Poor defending collectively for the first and a Marciano horror show puts us in a very difficult position.
I reckon Aberdeen will strangle the game from here, you cannot afford to give them goals like the ones we did and expect anything from a game.
I don't really know how to change it to win the game from here.
It’s a perennial thing for us, we want to play football from the off but we never seem to realise that you have to earn the time and space to do that by matching the opposition physically first. We should have been letting them know we were there from the off and often.
Kamberi has to be running beyond imo. Start feeding him and get them chasing backwards. Coming short everytime not the right tactic
No Chips Available sign just gone up.
It's not getting better is it.
BlackSheep
02-02-2019, 03:06 PM
Bring McNulty on for Bartley and push Milligan into midfield... 433 with a narrow attack!
hibbytam
That's how I saw it, but would like to see it again. Certainly the ref seemed to be asking the linesman something.
The bigger problem is how did 2 Aberdeen attackers get so much space from a rebound.
Can't believe the starting line up we went with today. Eddie might not be a manager but bloody hell
02-02-2019, 03:07 PM
Looked plain as day to me but why did Bartley? let them get the original shot away so easily. It all came from that.
What can hibs offer when the chips are down?
2nd goal sums it up for me - Aberdeen wanted that goal and chased it right down - our guys were all posted missing. Some decent individual performances, but overall team play is poor - we might sneak something, if May makes some changes quickly - I'd have Mallan off, apart from the free kick he has done noting ...
Here’s Lucy!
You would have expected gauld and mcnulty to be on from the start
Yes, baffling isn't it?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk I thought offside too but not sure what positions they were in compared to the ball. It was one of those where your gut said it must have been offside. Either way shocking defending for the rebound and worse goalkeeping for the initial save
Same old with the team looking lost about their positions. Kameri looks more himself with some great runs and Shaw has been out best player. May needs to go with a back 4 to stop the centre halves all thinking someone else will get it.
All fairly predictable at the moment with a sprinkling of Rocky madness thrown in. Hopefully, May can make a sub before 75 minutes to change it.
Totally agree
02-02-2019, 03:08 PM
What can hibs offer when the chips are down?
A pie and a freddo for pudding
02-02-2019, 03:08 PM
That’s what I thought happened too
Same here - my mates laddie checked the replay though and said he was behind him.
Argument for VAR ?
Tornadoes70
02-02-2019, 03:11 PM
Match day experience was better back in the day when mostly only mince pies, bags of crisps or macaroon bars were on offer.
Seeing these half pizzas turn my stomach.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
02-02-2019, 03:12 PM
Match day experience was better back in the day when mostly only mince pies, bags of crisps or macaroon bars were on offer.
Seeing these half pizzas turn my stomach.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
When I first started going to ER in the early 90's I couldn't wait to get my pizza from the kiosks in the old east
02-02-2019, 03:13 PM
Get Gauld on please. Pronto.
02-02-2019, 03:13 PM
Any changes?
02-02-2019, 03:14 PM
Aberdeen penalty
We have nothing other than the lump over the top.
Defence have very few options.
Marciano saves!!
That’s the spirit!
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Ha ha!
Apologies, just wanted to how it felt having pish drenched breeks!
No danger we're going down. If it was one team needing to make up the gap there'd be an outside shot, but there's 3 teams so no way they can all bridge the gap
Tornadoes70
Ffs
Edit,
Saved, ya beauty, well done Rocky!!!
Mon the Cabbage!!!
Daz doesn't have to do that. Shocking..
Rocky redeems.
02-02-2019, 03:16 PM
Marciano saves!!
Good save.
Now get McNulty and Gauld on Hibs.
Lemonade
Great save by Rocky
McGregor careless yet again in the box, rocky makes amends, wakey ******* wakey hibs, pay attention
We’re all over the place this half
Daz doesn't have to do that. Shocking..
Rocky redeems.
Was stupid. Hanlon though...
son of haggart
02-02-2019, 03:17 PM
2 players beyond the last defender touched the ball, first one has shot saved, 2nd one scores. That is offside.
Not sure that's right - I think you have to be ahead of the ball too (ie if the guy who scored was behind the ball when his teammate had the shot, he wouldn't be offside. Could be wrong though!
Rocky gets the defence out of jail.
Hanlon and McGregor badly at fault for the penalty.
The start of this half has been shambolic, and we look like the rudderless ship that we are.
defence is mince at the moment
02-02-2019, 03:19 PM
slivka ffs
02-02-2019, 03:20 PM
If the new boy is on to take the ball off the defence then that is s good move imo.
Positives -
Flo is doing fine, Shaw has been good when involved. We could do with getting the ball to them more often.
Milligan is playing well.
Gray and Stevenson ok.
I honestly don't think we've been all that bad, but a couple of awful goals lost have put a different complexion on the game.
Negatives -
Goalie is having a horror show.
Poor defending collectively for the first and a Marciano horror show puts us in a very difficult position.
I reckon Aberdeen will strangle the game from here, you cannot afford to give them goals like the ones we did and expect anything from a game.
I don't really know how to change it to win the game from here.
Thank you Smartie for describing what’s actually happening.
ShetlandHibby
Defence is awful. Missing porteous and Efe big time.
02-02-2019, 03:21 PM
Bigirimana already made some good touches.
02-02-2019, 03:21 PM
Imagine if when Kamberi drew 4 defenders to him, other player actually moved into the space created.
02-02-2019, 03:22 PM
I know the ref is terrible, but both Slivka and Flo could and should have asked questions of him these last few minutes.
If the new boy is on to take the ball off the defence then that is s good move imo.
Bartley injured according to BBC
Off the bar
02-02-2019, 03:22 PM
Hibs.tv down again
02-02-2019, 03:23 PM
I already like him.
We need players to take responsibility and get in possession of the ball.
Hibs.tv down again
I dropped my subscription last month. It’s been chronic for too long.
Lemonade
Hibs.tv down again
Nope
02-02-2019, 03:24 PM
Shaw scores. No goal.
offside :rolleyes: correctly
Lemonade
Shawl goal offside
02-02-2019, 03:25 PM
Aberdeen not pressing with same intensity
as 1st half. Use the ball well and this game is there for the taking
02-02-2019, 03:25 PM
Get Slivka off.
02-02-2019, 03:26 PM
Why is kamberi being booked for that when shinnie done the exact same thing first half and nothing
02-02-2019, 03:27 PM
Get Slivka off.
Starting to wonder what game you’re watching.
Slivka is our only creative midfielder today
**** off referee you utter utter ****
Stevie May subbed again.
Silky
Canny be. I read on Thursday he was crap cos he couldn't get a game for Motherwell!!
Kamberi should start going down cause he gets **** all protection. A joke.
02-02-2019, 03:28 PM
flo sore one in the lower back
02-02-2019, 03:28 PM
How on earth is that not a booking
02-02-2019, 03:29 PM
How on earth is that not a booking
Boy wears a red top
mcfly
02-02-2019, 03:30 PM
Get Slivka off. No where near good enough
02-02-2019, 03:31 PM
Starting to wonder what game you’re watching.
Slivka is our only creative midfielder today
And we have an even better creative midfielder sitting on the bench.
erin-go-bragh87
02-02-2019, 03:32 PM
Slivka and Mallan offer nothing in the middle. Awful.
Mcnulty on. Not sure I'd have taken shaw off though surely should have been kamberi
McNulty on, Shaw off
McNulty on for oli
Tornadoes70
Well done to young Ollie getting our goal.
Mon McNulty have a good debut with at least one please.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
02-02-2019, 03:36 PM
too many poor passes just going straight to an aberdeen player
02-02-2019, 03:36 PM
And we have an even better creative midfielder sitting on the bench.
So take Mallan off for him then. Mallan has been awful
02-02-2019, 03:37 PM
mallan or slivka would have no complaints if they get subbed
02-02-2019, 03:38 PM
Currant buns with 3 penos! LOL
02-02-2019, 03:38 PM
gauld coming on
02-02-2019, 03:39 PM
Currant buns with 3 penos! LOL
4 now
3 pens for The Rangers :rolleyes:
Rangers score their 3rd from their 4th penalty!
gauld coming on
About 74 minutes too late
TheHarpy76
Andrew Dallas really is a chip of the old block isn’t he?
erin-go-bragh87
02-02-2019, 03:40 PM
Mallan off Gauld on.
TheHarpy76
02-02-2019, 03:40 PM
3 pens for The Rangers :rolleyes:
4 penalties mate. They’ve missed one
Great game at ER according to BBC spotscene.
02-02-2019, 03:41 PM
good stop again by rocky
02-02-2019, 03:42 PM
Great game at ER according to BBC spotscene.
Their team is winning, all is rosy
02-02-2019, 03:42 PM
What does Shinnie need to do to get booked
Unbelievable.
02-02-2019, 03:43 PM
get McNulty off and oli back on
:)
Mr Grieves
02-02-2019, 03:45 PM
We've only had 29% possession according to the BBC, is that right?
02-02-2019, 03:46 PM
We've only had 29% possession according to the BBC, is that right?
No chance
02-02-2019, 03:47 PM
Aberdeen parking the bus and countering
02-02-2019, 03:49 PM
we've asked for 3 days time added on
Here’s Lucy!
We are in trouble for the rest of the season with this defence.
And, why did Gauld not start? Very poor decision.
As soon as Aberdeen scored the second it was game over
Here’s Lucy!
02-02-2019, 03:50 PM
we've asked for 3 days time added on
Wouldn't be long enough mate. :rolleyes:
Seasons gone, top 6 gone, cup run ? Relegation no chance.
02-02-2019, 03:54 PM
Wouldn't be long enough mate. :rolleyes:
i was careful not to over-exaggerate :greengrin
02-02-2019, 03:54 PM
att: 16,260
02-02-2019, 03:55 PM
aberdeen fc have asked if they can relocate to Easter Road instead of building a new stadium
Here’s Lucy!
02-02-2019, 03:55 PM
i was careful not to over-exaggerate :greengrin
:agree: That's what I thought.
att: 16,260
Pleased it held up.
02-02-2019, 03:56 PM
I don't think they were beyond the last defender when the shot was hit.
02-02-2019, 03:56 PM
We havnt been that bad
Off the bar
02-02-2019, 03:57 PM
We havnt been that bad
We haven't been that good either
02-02-2019, 03:58 PM
Linesman flags for a freekick ref gives a throw in??????
I'm just waiting on Allan popping in and saying how lucky Aberdeen are
For the 40th time in a row
We havnt been that bad
Never in danger of taking any points. That's bad enough.
Gauld should have started.
02-02-2019, 03:59 PM
I’m baffled that we went back to a system that has repeatedly failed this season.
Pleased it held up.
i'd say a lot of ST holders not in attendance looking at all the spaces in the East, just under 3k away fans and walk-ups for us in the south
I’m baffled that we went back to a system that has repeatedly failed this season.
Should have stuck with what worked last week in the second half. Strange.
02-02-2019, 04:00 PM
Start with a **** lineup, get **** results. Can we get a manager in now please?
Here’s Lucy!
02-02-2019, 04:00 PM
We havnt been that bad
Define 'that bad"?
02-02-2019, 04:01 PM
Spirited 2nd half performance, but too many things wrong at Easter Road -
The usual from this season, we played OK but we gave away stupid goals, and barely created anything ourselves due to the midfield almost never supporting the two upfront.
1 league win against Aberdeen in 14 attempts, guess who's ******* bitches we are, shameful record
02-02-2019, 04:03 PM
we get that you dont want the job May,but, ffs atleast put a decent f,n team on the park, start with the team that started the last game ffs. Yi kin tell hes a Lennon man, pits oot a f,n Lennon team, ah dont know why ahm so angry, been a while.
02-02-2019, 04:04 PM
Start with a **** lineup, get **** results. Can we get a manager in now please?
I don't understand how people that work in football professionally can honestly put out teams that we have this season.
I honestly feel sorry for our players. Today's lineup was a total nonsense.
02-02-2019, 04:06 PM
Just can't help thinking we have to many small framed midfielders, and we are hustled off the ball a bit to easy at times!
I know they have skill, but with bigger midfielders like Bartley we can at least hold our own!!
Tornadoes70
02-02-2019, 04:07 PM
Agree. Gauld should have been on. Ollie's far more effective than Kamberi just now and should have been kept on before him, albeit, Kamberi did put himself about and should probably have scored with the header but Ollie's the one actually scoring. The defence has a soft center and the midfield not creating enough clear cut opportunities. Got to hope a manager of stature can come in soon and sort it out.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
02-02-2019, 04:08 PM
Just can't help thinking we have to many small framed midfielders, and we are hustled off the ball a bit to easy at times!
I know they have skill, but with bigger midfielders like Bartley we can at least hold our own!!
i'm struggling to think of a more diminutive midfield
Here’s Lucy!
02-02-2019, 04:13 PM
I don't understand how people that work in football professionally can honestly put out teams that we have this season.
I honestly feel sorry for our players. Today's lineup was a total nonsense.
There was no good reason to change the line-up from that of the St Mirren game.
Thankfully, Hamilton and Dundee will keep us in the league.
02-02-2019, 04:19 PM
There was no good reason to change the line-up from that of the St Mirren game.
Thankfully, Hamilton and Dundee will keep us in the league.
Wouldn’t it be better if we went down?
hibsdaft
02-02-2019, 04:20 PM
Gauld should have started.
He did nothing when he did come on.
Here’s Lucy!
02-02-2019, 04:21 PM
Wouldn’t it be better if we went down?
Definitely not.
He played a whole 16 minutes
I know they have skill, but with bigger midfielders like Bartley we can at least hold our own!!Bartley was dreadful today tho time and again he either got caught on the ball or gifted away possession.
We looked and played like a team without s manager today unfortunately
Beaten by a better run club. Where's the surprise?
Here’s Lucy!
02-02-2019, 04:22 PM
He played less than 20% of the game FFS.
02-02-2019, 04:25 PM
Definitely not.
But then we could rebuild a team, win the SC and win a championship.
Winning is better than losing.
02-02-2019, 04:28 PM
Having to play a back 5 instead of 4 means we are short everywhere else on the pitch. Our Dad’s army defence needs gutted in the summer.
McInnes just said on the radio it’s the easiest game they have had against Hibs.
MacGruber
02-02-2019, 04:29 PM
We were poor. Set up was awful. Not many positives.
Birgiama looked useful when he came on though.
Eddie May already said he didnt want the job. He didnt have to ensure it with that line up.
02-02-2019, 04:30 PM
I don't think they were beyond the last defender when the shot was hit.
Not talking about the initial shot, I'm talking about the 2nd shot off the goalie.
02-02-2019, 04:31 PM
He played a whole 16 minutes
He wasn't showing for the ball, wasted possession when he did have it and didn't make a threatening pass. If he gets to know the players around him he may improve, but I wouldn't a say he gave me a great deal of hope.
hibbie02
02-02-2019, 04:31 PM
We were playing our bogey team with no manager and 3 recruits that probably had never met their team mates before yesterday.
We need a proper coach/manager who can assess what we have, where to play them and how to play. We were up against a hard team to beat at the best of times, so who expected a win.
Having a go at individuals doesn’t help. I doubt they are particularly happy at the situation. Have an opinion but just saying someone is brutal and should be launched is not going to do anything but start an argument.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Here’s Lucy!
02-02-2019, 04:32 PM
But then we could rebuild a team, win the SC and win a championship.
Winning is better than losing.
Well, put like that!! :wink:
:gwa:
02-02-2019, 04:34 PM
Honest and serious question:
Why does a team of our size struggle as often as we do, comparative to our rivals, or does it just feel like that?
02-02-2019, 04:39 PM
Having to play a back 5 instead of 4 means we are short everywhere else on the pitch. Our Dad’s army defence needs gutted in the summer.
McInnes just said on the radio it’s the easiest game they have had against Hibs.
I thought we played 3-5-2??
02-02-2019, 04:40 PM
Why does a team of our size struggle as often as we do, comparative to our rivals, or does it just feel like that?
They were quicker and more streetwise. They’ll miss Shinnie in the same way we miss McGinn.
We were totally one dimensional with no width in midfield as Gray and Stevenson struggled going forward as they were pushed back. I don’t think we’ll see Bartley or McGregor for a while given who weve brought in.
02-02-2019, 05:24 PM
Tin hat on here but I actually didn’t think we played that badly today compared to recent dreadful showings. We moved the ball about well at times and at least tried to pass it. Scored a good goal and if we just create that little bit more in the final third we will be ok. We do have to look at the defense aswell as we have defended pretty badly a lot of the season and need continuity of selection and formation I feel
02-02-2019, 05:38 PM
Tin hat on here but I actually didn’t think we played that badly today compared to recent dreadful showings. We moved the ball about well at times and at least tried to pass it. Scored a good goal and if we just create that little bit more in the final third we will be ok. We do have to look at the defense aswell as we have defended pretty badly a lot of the season and need continuity of selection and formation I feel
I agree.
Some positive individual performances and we had spells where we were on top and looked good in possession.
The goals we gave away were unforgivable though and you cannot expect to win games against teams like Aberdeen (competent and streetwise if unspectacular) when you lose goals like that. We were lucky not to lose more via some other moments of really sloppy play.
We looked like a team in transition which is exactly what we are. I have no doubt that some of these loan players will do ok for us, but we don't look to me like we are building anything at the moment. We look like a club and team that is patching up a side with loan signings to survive, which was acceptable starting from the position Pat Fenlon started from but totally unforgivable from where we finished last season.
02-02-2019, 05:40 PM
We were soft, slow, shapeless and lacked spirit.
LD cannot get a new manager in quickly enough. I'm afraid the notion that we'd be better without Lennon - even without new signings - isn't standing up.
There's a more than half decent group of players there - I think McNulty looked very promising - and we should be capable of so much more. However to me that is a team severely lacking in confidence and direction. I would appoint Stubbs in a heartbeat for the instant feelgood factor and the fact that he already knows about the club and many of the players and so should hit the ground running quicker.
It is really scary some of the basic stuff we seem incapable of getting right though. Throw-ins are the most spectacularly obvious. Giving away daft amounts of possession is another.
And when are we going to learn that we need to be physical all over the park to earn the right to play the pretty stuff?
And then there's 'game management', we get schooled by the likes of Aberdeen and Hearts in this diving, whining, cheating, fouling, time-wasting stuff so often.
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/bilanzdetail/verein/903/wettbewerb_id//gegner_id/370/saison_id/2016/heim_gast//datum_von/-/datum_bis/-/day/0/land_id/0
We have always struggled against Aberdeen, even with Lennon in charge.
One win in 9 games
02-02-2019, 06:05 PM
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/bilanzdetail/verein/903/wettbewerb_id//gegner_id/370/saison_id/2016/heim_gast//datum_von/-/datum_bis/-/day/0/land_id/0
We have always struggled against Aberdeen, even with Lennon in charge.
One win in 9 games
or one league win in 14 games against them, it should be embarrassing for a club our size, but probably not
02-02-2019, 06:23 PM
or one league win in 14 games against them, it should be embarrassing for a club our size, but probably not
That's a pretty horrific statistic.
02-02-2019, 06:29 PM
Aberdeen do a Hearts on us. They use whatever "tactics" they can get away with in order to get the result.
Doing things the "right way" isn't always the right way to do things. It's really something we need to come to terms with, because our failure to grasp this concept damages us big time.
Not long in from work, I agree to an extent and thought there wasn't much between the sides, unsure about their 1st goal as it was all a bit of a scrabble, so don't know if anyone was at fault. Their second should've been closed down before he got his shot off, Rocky was claiming offside but it happened so quickly abd again will have to see the highlights.
Thought Bartley and Slivka were particularly poor as was Hanlon who is going through a really bad spell right now, Lewis tired near the end not surprisingly and Milligan looked assured at the back.
Referee was one of the worst I have seen and booked our players on the 1st challenge while that wee scrote Shinnie gets away with it all the time, everytime Kamberi went for a header the defender was on his shoulders like a rucksack all game, we got nothing and they seems to get everything, their playacting was atrocious and an embarrassment.
03-02-2019, 04:47 PM
Not talking about the initial shot, I'm talking about the 2nd shot off the goalie.
Was GMS not behind the player who hit the 2nd shot off the keeper? So, he couldn't have been offside.