View Full Version : Greggs New manager thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

29-01-2019, 02:52 PM
Let's condense all the manager threads scattered about the place into one easy-to-keep-track-of discussion.

So far, we've been linked with:
Graham Arnold (declared his interest)
Lee Clark (declared his interest)
Gordon Strachan (supposedly our preferred option)

Also mentioned:
Steve Clarke
Paul Clement
Scot Gemell
Paul Heckingbottom
Gary Holt
John Kennedy
David Moyes
Gary Rowett
Alan Stubbs
Mark Warburton

Will update as we hear more.

Saint Hibee
29-01-2019, 03:30 PM
It's got to be Warburton for me. Bread, magic hats, what more could we possibly want?

Sioux
29-01-2019, 03:38 PM
Let's condense all the manager threads scattered about the place into one easy-to-keep-track-of discussion.

So far, we've been linked with:
Graham Arnold (declared his interest)
Lee Clark (declared his interest)
Gordon Strachan (supposedly our preferred option)

Also mentioned:
Steve Clarke
Paul Clement
Scot Gemell
Paul Heckingbottom
Gary Holt
John Kennedy
David Moyes
Gary Rowett
Alan Stubbs
Mark Warburton

Will update as we hear more.

Good job. Regurgitate a pile of BS from other threads.

29-01-2019, 03:51 PM
While we are talking gobs*ite what abut the following?

Ian McCall
James McFadden
Peter Houston
Jim Duffy
Billy Dodds
Gary Bollan

or a couple from left field

Mourinho
Zidane.

I think, on reflection, I'll leave it up to the Hibs Board.

29-01-2019, 03:53 PM
Derek McInnes has done well with Aberdeen.

29-01-2019, 04:01 PM
Arsene Wenger.

What Scottish football needs is more tippy tappy footballers who freeze on a Tuesday night.

euro Hibby
29-01-2019, 04:11 PM
Rob jones off the board..maybe

29-01-2019, 04:12 PM
Derek McInnes has done well with Aberdeen.

I'm sure a sideways (to be generous) step to a club with a smaller budget is exactly what he is planning

29-01-2019, 04:31 PM
Paul Lambert got a club just now?

29-01-2019, 04:32 PM

Yip doing a great job with Ipswich 😅

Here’s Lucy!
29-01-2019, 04:32 PM
Jim Jefferies?

:taxi

29-01-2019, 04:33 PM
Jim Jefferies?

:taxi

Someone check the club store

29-01-2019, 04:34 PM
I'm sure a sideways (to be generous) step to a club with a smaller budget is exactly what he is planning

But would it show ambition for us?

29-01-2019, 04:35 PM
Boozy

29-01-2019, 04:35 PM
It's got to be Warburton for me. Bread, magic hats, what more could we possibly want?
Nope, Uncle Tom Cobly

29-01-2019, 04:49 PM
Anna Signuel? Why not?

29-01-2019, 04:51 PM

Good call.

Edit, Ipswich - doh.

Here’s Lucy!

:faf::faf:

AltheHibby
Anna Signuel? Why not?

Its the kind of move that worked for Andy Murray. 😁

29-01-2019, 04:59 PM
Billy Davies?

29-01-2019, 04:59 PM
Good call.

Edit, Ipswich - doh.

Wouldn’t touch lambert fail to see how he keeps getting decent jobs to be honest

29-01-2019, 05:01 PM
But would it show ambition for us?

It would but it's not going to happen...

29-01-2019, 05:01 PM

"Ah wiz in the Hertz club store when ah goat the call fae Hubz. Ah thoat it wiz goannae be thum askin me an Boaby Broon tae go ower an be thur gaffers. Turns oot it wiz just some dick wi a 'tache who sayed "7-0, 6-2 and never forget it" afore hingin up."

29-01-2019, 05:02 PM
Wouldn’t touch lambert fail to see how he keeps getting decent jobs to be honest

He keeps taking on unsteady clubs desperately. I think under the right circumstances him or the likes of Owen Coyle would do a good job

mcfly
29-01-2019, 05:07 PM
He keeps taking on unsteady clubs desperately. I think under the right circumstances him or the likes of Owen Coyle would do a good job

Some of the names mentioned on here are awful.

Owen Coyle - no thanks.

Hibs will have loads of interest for this job. However Let’s show real ambition and go for Steve Clarke. If he says no then we move on.

I’m more concerned that we get 2-3 new players we do desperately need.

29-01-2019, 05:10 PM
Anyone think Michael O’Neill maybe interested. N.Ireland don’t have too many games between now and the summer, just 2 in March and 2 in June

29-01-2019, 05:20 PM

Owen Coyle - no thanks.

Hibs will have loads of interest for this job. However Let’s show real ambition and go for Steve Clarke. If he says no then we move on.

Getting Knocked back by the Killie manager isnt ambitious

29-01-2019, 05:24 PM

Owen Coyle - no thanks.

There’s that mix up between ambitious and unrealistic again

29-01-2019, 05:24 PM
We won't find out who we've been knocked back by, so let's just say we unsuccessfully approached Clarke, McInnes and Klop.

Well done Hibs. You've shown your ambition. People will be delighted.

Can we have a manager now, please.

jimmyboco#1
29-01-2019, 05:26 PM
Anyone know if any betting sites have odds up yet on new manager...?

29-01-2019, 05:27 PM
Getting Knocked back by the Killie manager isnt ambitious

I’d say it is on the evidence of the job he’s done

29-01-2019, 05:28 PM

Might ruin a perfectly good song but we must always look forward

Warburton's a Hibby, he wore a Hibby hat

It worked against sevco and other ***** like that

then he went to Forest who found out he was a twat

Got nae pay off from sevco and that was the end of that.

I'll get my coat.

29-01-2019, 05:29 PM

You could be right mate just no for me but whoever it is will get my full support

29-01-2019, 05:30 PM
Anyone think Michael O’Neill maybe interested. N.Ireland don’t have too many games between now and the summer, just 2 in March and 2 in June

I was away at the weekend with one of his best pals from Belfast. When I asked if he’d be interested, after he stopped laughing I was asked if I’d take a half million pay cut? Missed the boat with MO’N I’m afraid.

Billy McKirdy
29-01-2019, 05:31 PM

Ian McCall
James McFadden
Peter Houston
Jim Duffy
Billy Dodds
Gary Bollan

Mourinho
Zidane.

You forgot Billy ‘ahv been places ahv seen things” Brown

BlackSheep
29-01-2019, 05:32 PM
SSN reporting Hamilton as having had 60 applications for their managers job already.... surely we must have had a few decent and serious applicants... if indeed the job is available.

w pilton hibby
29-01-2019, 05:43 PM
Rob jones off the board..maybe

https://hibs.vitalfootball.co.uk/should-cup-winning-captain-be-considered-for-easter-road-role/

roo62
29-01-2019, 05:50 PM

Hope so I like him and think he would do a decent job for us

hibs#1
29-01-2019, 06:14 PM
https://hibs.vitalfootball.co.uk/should-cup-winning-captain-be-considered-for-easter-road-role/

One I wouldn't exactly be against.

HibbyDave
29-01-2019, 06:26 PM
David Weir anyone?

hibs#1
29-01-2019, 06:27 PM
David Weir anyone?

Not for me.

29-01-2019, 06:29 PM

Even if only for one game. Please 😃

In fact, could we not have a guest spot for legends as manager until end of season? A game each?

29-01-2019, 06:30 PM
David Weir anyone?

Think he failed miserably at Sheffield

mcfly
29-01-2019, 06:31 PM
David Weir anyone?

Definitely no

29-01-2019, 06:31 PM
Some absolutely ridiculous names being mentioned, from has been to out of our league. Let's be realistic it's unlikely that as high a profile as is Neil Lennon will be appointed again.

29-01-2019, 06:33 PM
Some absolutely ridiculous names being mentioned, from has been to out of our league. Let's be realistic it's unlikely that as high a profile as is Neil Lennon will be appointed again.

Maybe not a bad thing?

Greenworld
29-01-2019, 06:36 PM
Strachan done deal

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

29-01-2019, 06:39 PM
Strachan done deal

Bought a new house?

Signed a new insurance policy?

Getting a new kitchen?

29-01-2019, 06:39 PM
Strachan done deal

Meaningless statement unless you can give some insight as to how you know this.

villahibs
29-01-2019, 06:42 PM

Strachan would probably be as high profile and as close to Lennon as we could probably get...
Incidentally an appointment I’d be reasonably happy with.

29-01-2019, 06:42 PM
Strachan done deal

The first of many "done deal" posts we'll see over the next couple weeks regarding our next manager.

highland hibbee
29-01-2019, 06:44 PM
Think he failed miserably at Sheffield

With the the emphasis on the “ miserably “

Greenworld
29-01-2019, 06:45 PM
The first of many "done deal" posts we'll see over the next couple weeks regarding our next manager.True thought I'd get in early [emoji23]

29-01-2019, 06:46 PM
Signed a new insurance policy?

Oh yes, he's seen the ads with Parky.

29-01-2019, 06:49 PM
Strachan didn’t exactly set the world on fire with Scotland.

I’d rather a young, hungry coach for me, Rob Jones would be ideal if it would work out, John Kennedy or another coach from England in the Stubbs / Mowbray mould.

Inconsequential
29-01-2019, 06:49 PM
As far as I'm aware but I'm not an expert on employment laws no one can be appointed as manager as we still have someone in the post albeit suspended. Are Lennon and Parker suspended and how long is this suspension for? It's time the board provide some answers.

29-01-2019, 06:57 PM

I’d rather a young, hungry coach for me, Rob Jones would be ideal if it would work out, John Kennedy or another coach from England in the Stubbs / Mowbray mould.

John Kennedy over Strachan? Big call.

29-01-2019, 07:03 PM
John Kennedy over Strachan? Big call.

Possibly, yeah. I just prefer someone with something to prove, some hunger. Not someone at the end of their career, and / or that may feel they are doing us a ‘favour’ by taking charge.

29-01-2019, 07:05 PM
Possibly, yeah. I just prefer someone with something to prove, some hunger. Not someone at the end of their career, and / or that may feel they are doing us a ‘favour’ by taking charge.

Fair enough. Don't necessarily disagree with your logic. Certainly wouldn't shock me if he was appointed.

29-01-2019, 07:06 PM

What makes you think Strachan feels he would be doing us a favour?

Cat Stanton
29-01-2019, 07:10 PM

Strachan was terrible towards the end with Scotland. Plus - sacked by Coventry and Middlesbrough. Fans of the latter (his last club job) do not have fond memories of him.

29-01-2019, 07:13 PM
Maybe not a bad thing?
Yes & no, there is an argument to say NL was too high profile, but God forbid we go back to hiring some of the wimps we've had previously. Don't want hear a Hibs manager talking about positives after being defeated by 2, 3 or more from jambos, OF etc.

29-01-2019, 07:14 PM

Because we’d probably be the lowest profile club he’d managed. He probably thinks his CV is above a team in the bottom half of the Spfl. To be fair it possibly is but the fact we’re the team he supported as boy and based in Edinburgh could be a big pull. I don’t think he’d consider Motherwell for example.

At first I was against him getting the job, after looking at the positives I came round to the idea but I totally understand the concerns people have.

If we are appointing him I really hope we follow Ireland’s model and use a bit imagination to appoint his successor to work with him as assistant until he’s ready to retire.

29-01-2019, 07:19 PM
Would i be correct in saying strachan is friends with tom farmer and Rod Petrie? I may be wrong but im sure it’s something i have read about Strachan.

29-01-2019, 07:20 PM
Would i be correct in saying strachan is friends with tom farmer and Rod Petrie? I may be wrong but im sure it’s something i have read about Strachan.

Also gets on great with Lenny

29-01-2019, 07:20 PM
Strachan was terrible towards the end with Scotland. Plus - sacked by Coventry and Middlesbrough. Fans of the latter (his last club job) do not have fond memories of him.

He went the entire year unbeaten at the end of his reign. Most of the TA wanted him to be kept on. It was the start of the campaign that he was poor.

29-01-2019, 07:23 PM
Id be happy if strachan is our next manager.

29-01-2019, 07:24 PM
Yes & no, there is an argument to say NL was too high profile, but God forbid we go back to hiring some of the wimps we've had previously. Don't want hear a Hibs manager talking about positives after being defeated by 2, 3 or more from jambos, OF etc.

Totally agree btw.

Clarence
29-01-2019, 07:25 PM
I feel that Strachan lost the plot towards the end of his Scotland tenure, taking about losing because of genetics etc. Feel like we just need someone steady and who the players find relatable.

29-01-2019, 07:25 PM
Also gets on great with Lenny

Lenny in as his No.2?

29-01-2019, 07:28 PM

I don’t, necessarily. It did feel like that with Lennon at times though.

29-01-2019, 07:29 PM
The process will go something like this:

1. They will be publicly chasing somebody vaguely interesting but not likely to be as good as Lennon.
2. They will appoint somebody else who will be a crushing disappointment.
3. Some people will grumble about the board and lament Lennon's departure.
4. Others will say "I'm prepared to give the boy a chance."
5. The new manager will be poor in comparison to Lennon. The buzz and passion and burning commitment to succeed will have gone.
6. The club will become mediocre. We will try to 'play football' and be regarded as a soft touch again. Then we'll 'toughen up' and play eye bleeding hoofball.
7. ST sales will fall dramatically.
8. The club win and the last two seasons under Lennon, promo, Europe, will seem like a distant dream.

Just my view. We lucked out with Lennon and are unlikely to get anyone with the same passion for the club and demented obsession about improving its standing. I hope I'm wrong, but I suspect we've had our fun for a while.

29-01-2019, 07:31 PM

1. They will be publicly chasing somebody vaguely interesting but not likely to be as good as Lennon.
5. The new manager will be poor in comparison to Lennon. The buzz and passion and burning commitment to succeed will have gone.
6. The club will become mediocre. We will try to 'play football' and be regarded as a soft touch again. Then we'll 'toughen up' and play eye bleeding hoofball.
8. The club win and the last two seasons under Lennon, promo, Europe, will seem like a distant dream.

Just my view. We lucked out with Lennon and are unlikely to get anyone with the same passion for the club and demented obsession about improving its standing. I hope I'm wrong, but I suspect we've had our fun for a while.
How do the club win?

29-01-2019, 07:32 PM
^^^:top marks

29-01-2019, 07:32 PM

Jesus Bob, i normally look forward to your posts but reading that has made me quite sad.

This should be the time for completely unrealistic positivity, the new guy is going to be brilliant and completely transform us.

It’s the hope that kills you.

29-01-2019, 07:37 PM

My fear exactly.

29-01-2019, 07:40 PM

That's how I see it, but couldn't put it as well as DBS.

Mid table mediocrity, at best, is what we've to look forward too.

Maybe about time to change my user name!

29-01-2019, 07:41 PM

I suppose the flip side to that argument is that the club have been insistent for some time that we have a structure in place to negate some of the upheaval associated with a change in manager/head coach.

Under the current set up we have appointed 2 managers who have, in different ways, been a success. A cup final, a cup win, 3 other semi finals, promotion, a 4th place finish and European football. Is there any obvious reason why we will get it spectacularly wrong this time?

I think one of the biggest challenges a new manager will face is there will instantly be a negative perception of him amongst some simply because he isn't Neil Lennon. 'Giving the boy a chance' may be a cliche but it's a courtesy people would do well to afford whoever it is.

29-01-2019, 07:41 PM
‘As good as Lennon’

As good as the one that finished 4th, or as good as the one that left us in 8th? Because in that case, Lennon isn’t as good as Lennon.

29-01-2019, 07:47 PM
That's how I see it, but couldn't put it as well as DBS.

Mid table mediocrity, at best, is what we've to look forward too.

Maybe about time to change my user name!

Lennon has left us in 7th. How does that not constitute "mid table mediocrity"?

29-01-2019, 07:57 PM
Lennon has left us in 7th. How does that not constitute "mid table mediocrity"?

It was 8th actually, but I understand your point. IMO Lennon would have got us up the table pretty soon. We've been very unlucky with injuries and players not performing at last season's level.

29-01-2019, 08:02 PM
It was 8th actually, but I understand your point. IMO Lennon would have got us up the table pretty soon. We've been very unlucky with injuries and players not performing at last season's level.

The last part isn’t to do with bad luck.

I liked Lennon, he did a good job for a couple of years but it’s been poor this season and I don’t think he would have turned it around. I think the intensity he works at has a shelf life and he’d got the most out of the players he was going too.

Ultimately though we’ll never know, he’s gone now (well as good as gone) so I don’t see the point in pining over him.

29-01-2019, 08:19 PM

McLeish, Mowbray and Stubbs all did well as Hibs manager and they would all have kept ST levels high, imo.

There's no reason we can't find another highly competent coach to fill the current void.

29-01-2019, 08:35 PM
I suppose the flip side to that argument is that the club have been insistent for some time that we have a structure in place to negate some of the upheaval associated with a change in manager/head coach.

Under the current set up we have appointed 2 managers who have, in different ways, been a success. A cup final, a cup win, 3 other semi finals, promotion, a 4th place finish and European football. Is there any obvious reason why we will get it spectacularly wrong this time?

I think one of the biggest challenges a new manager will face is there will instantly be a negative perception of him amongst some simply because he isn't Neil Lennon. 'Giving the boy a chance' may be a cliche but it's a courtesy people would do well to afford whoever it is.
As some didn't like NL because he wasn't Stubbs.

29-01-2019, 08:38 PM

Indeed. It's not helpful.

29-01-2019, 08:48 PM
Indeed. It's not helpful.
But for the success of the club we as supporters have to rise above that, not sure we can to be honest.

29-01-2019, 08:53 PM

A depressing yet highly likely scenario that we've seen far too often at ER. The only thing that gives me hope is LD.

29-01-2019, 09:00 PM

You cannot discount this season though with NL. As much as he was good for us it’s been poor.
I’m almost beginning to think that managers are only a part percentage of a successful team and recruitment of the right players is more important.

29-01-2019, 09:07 PM

Or didn't like NL because he was NL.

29-01-2019, 09:10 PM
Or didn't like NL because he was NL.
Ah 3 tribes:greengrin

29-01-2019, 09:12 PM
Id be happy if strachan is our next manager.

Micheala?

If we got a prolufic striker at the same time it would be The Hitman and Her.

29-01-2019, 09:13 PM
You could be right mate just no for me but whoever it is will get my full support

Me too 👍

29-01-2019, 09:17 PM

Bob, we are lying 7th (8th when Lennon left) and before Sunday nowhere near top 6. I don’t call that “lucked out” that’s abysmal. I’m supremely confident whoever takes over won’t have us in the same position next season.

29-01-2019, 09:22 PM

Fantastic reply. None of us know who will be our new boss or how they will get on. You can either look at it positively or negatively or just wait and see how things pan out. Personally I will look at it positively and also see how things pan out, though with a positive viewpoint. Each to their own but the approach I have works for me and keeps me healthy. I'm definitely in the happy clapper camp.

29-01-2019, 09:29 PM

Well I know I've definitely seen THAT film more than once before. However as a Happy Clapper I'm going with the belief that we have been a club transformed since Dempster joined us and that both our recruitment approach and our continuity process will see us safely past a repeat of past crash and burn cycles.

After all, we had major highs under both Stubbs and Lennon...

30-01-2019, 12:17 AM
Anyone think we will go for Paul Clement?

Got a bit of Steve Clarke about him imo with being part of some massive clubs.

Also signed McNulty for Reading so if rumours are to believed that he is signing it may play a part..

DetroitHibs
30-01-2019, 02:33 AM
This won't be a popular selection, but I'd take McCoist until the end of the season. See what he can bring and evaluate him in the summer. I know he struggled in the championship, but that's a nightmare of a league to get out of and the play offs even harder. Don't think he's a bad manager tbh.

30-01-2019, 02:43 AM
This won't be a popular selection, but I'd take McCoist until the end of the season. See what he can bring and evaluate him in the summer. I know he struggled in the championship, but that's a nightmare of a league to get out of and the play offs even harder. Don't think he's a bad manager tbh.

Put. Down. The. Bong.

30-01-2019, 02:58 AM
https://youtu.be/t0hK1wyrrAU
Put. Down. The. Bong.

DetroitHibs
30-01-2019, 03:15 AM
Put. Down. The. Bong.

Come on, him and Durrant in the dug out :greengrin

30-01-2019, 03:19 AM
Come on, him and Durrant in the dug out :greengrin

Aye and Archie Knox as the motivational coach and physio.....

30-01-2019, 05:42 AM
Anyone think we will go for Paul Clement?

Got a bit of Steve Clarke about him imo with being part of some massive clubs.

Also signed McNulty for Reading so if rumours are to believed that he is signing it may play a part..

Paul Clement seems to be one of these guys that has a reputation that far outweighs anything he’s done in the game as a manager.

I keep hearing about what a good manager he is but I can’t think of him doing a good job anywhere? I suspect he’s probably a good coach but is better as an assistant.

30-01-2019, 05:43 AM

Your scenarios been all to common since I started watching Hibs. We have always seemed unable to build on or sustain any success over even three or four seasons.

I am however quite optimistic that LD has broken that cycle and that the Boards next appointment will be one that continues the feel good factor that Stubbs and Lennon (until recently) had built up.

I say "quite" because my only concern is that after an opening period of high profile fan engagement LD appears to have become increasingly low profile, as have her Board. I hope she / the Board are still as motivated to push us on as they were when she arrived.

30-01-2019, 05:44 AM
Tim Sherwood

30-01-2019, 05:48 AM
Tim Sherwood

I’d definitely take Sherwood.

30-01-2019, 05:49 AM

Me too mate

30-01-2019, 05:54 AM

Archie is just lucky there were never any employment lawyers watching Aberdeen training sessions at Seaton Park :greengrin lucky there were no park benches nearby to throw too :faf: one thing about him though is he is a good raconteur when he recalls football stories..........very funny man :aok:

cabbage_88
30-01-2019, 05:56 AM

Based on what exactly? A decent small spell with spurs then terrible at Villa. Sacked from both clubs..

30-01-2019, 05:59 AM
Based on what exactly? A decent small spell with spurs then terrible at Villa. Sacked from both clubs..

They don't call him Tactics Tim for nothing.

30-01-2019, 06:01 AM

Steve Clarke got sacked by West Brom and Reading, he’s doing alright

cabbage_88
30-01-2019, 06:05 AM
Steve Clarke got sacked by West Brom and Reading, he’s doing alright

Fair enough. He had much more coaching experience at various different clubs though compared to Sherwood

30-01-2019, 06:10 AM
Do we need a manager or a head coach? Not sure if there is a huge difference but always thought the manager was in control of everything, head coaches are just that. Maybe we need someone to come in take total control of the football side and not have directors of football etc who then have to deal with the coaches. Or maybe I'm just stuck in the past as most clubs seem to go this way now

30-01-2019, 06:12 AM
Fair enough. He had much more coaching experience at various different clubs though compared to Sherwood

Aye Clarke had some great positions at Chelsea, West Ham and Liverpool. Sherwood was part of the coaching staff under Redknapp at Spurs and also did brilliantly with the Spurs under 21 side finishing top of their league and developing players like Kane.

Probably no chance of it happening but I think he would be a good appointment

30-01-2019, 06:15 AM

He had a 50% win ratio at Spurs before they were the force they were now which is pretty decent. As a comparison the much lauded Pochettino who is currently in charge of them has a 56% win ratio.

A 35% win ratio at Aston Villa who had been nothing short of dreadful under Lambert who he took over from. He steered them clear of relegation which looked an almost certainty under Lambert as far as I can remember and I’m sure he got them to the FA Cup final aswell?

30-01-2019, 06:20 AM
Alex Neil for me.

30-01-2019, 06:22 AM
Alex Neil for me.

If he was out of a job I think he would have been leading candidate

30-01-2019, 06:26 AM

The only thing missing from this is "Ponzi scheme".

30-01-2019, 06:26 AM
Alex Neil for me.

Always thought Billy Reid was a good manager and coach, very forward thinking and can operate well on a tight budget.

30-01-2019, 06:34 AM
Always thought Billy Reid was a good manager and coach, very forward thinking and can operate well on a tight budget.

Think he is at Swansea with the guy graham Potter and was with him when he was over achieving at the very small Swedish club.

30-01-2019, 07:15 AM

A lot didn't like Lennon because he was Lennon.

30-01-2019, 07:19 AM
Tim Sherwood

Listened to him as a punter, comes over as a right arrogant twat, no thanks

Fergos
30-01-2019, 07:30 AM
Listened to him as a punter, comes over as a right arrogant twat, no thanks

Agreed, a total know it all who has achieved nothing as a manager, he struggles to put 2 sensible words together.

30-01-2019, 07:36 AM

I assume you misspelt psycho? :wink:

30-01-2019, 07:38 AM

To be fair, Hibs have always been mediocre pish over the last 30 years anyway, even 40.

2 relegations

4 seasons out the top flight

Not sure about top half/bottom half finishes.

Yam Bams have placed above us a lot more than we've finished above them.

3rd is the highest place finish and I think we've managed that twice?

3 cup wins, 4 runners up which is ok, on a par with Aberdeen, hearts, United. I think all these clubs have had better European runs than us in that time.

Scotland is handicapped by religion meaning the likelihood of another team consistently challenging Celtic or rangers is non existent.

Sometimes just wonder what we expect or what we think we're entitled to as Hibernian Football Club.

30-01-2019, 08:26 AM
Put your hands in the air and step away from the tongue.

30-01-2019, 08:30 AM

He had a budget 10 times bigger than Hibs and Hearts and was worse than both us and them...What is it about him that makes you think he would add anything to us? He'd get the same media attention as Lennon, without the management capability.

30-01-2019, 08:36 AM
We need to get somebody in who has already got a wee bit of experience - not a first job, but maybe someone who has already started a coaching career and is now ready to take on a job where they can really be tested.

How about that laddie Gerrard?

Is he up to it?

30-01-2019, 08:49 AM
David Moyes being mentioned down here. :hmmm:

30-01-2019, 08:53 AM
David Moyes being mentioned down here. :hmmm:

A rich man's Calderwood.

30-01-2019, 09:00 AM
A fair sized chunk of blame for the mess Sunderland found themselves in during that documentary could be laid at the door of Moyes.

He'd be an absolute disaster of an appointment and drain any remaining optimism and positivity out of the place.

I'd have Ally McCoist , John Robertson or probably even Rudi Skacel as Hibs manager before I'd want that dour cretin anywhere near Easter Road.

30-01-2019, 09:01 AM
A rich man's Calderwood.

Mibbes aye, mibbes naw. I'm just about to hit the 1st tee and a Man U double ST holder in our group who knows I'm a Hibs fan said. "I see your boys are getting DM. I actually quite liked him but no-one was ever going to be able to follow Fergie".

I'm not sure how he would know, I guess he was at the match last night, but I'll try to pick his brains if I get drawn beside him.

30-01-2019, 09:05 AM
He had a budget 10 times bigger than Hibs and Hearts and was worse than both us and them...What is it about him that makes you think he would add anything to us? He'd get the same media attention as Lennon, without the management capability.

Ignore him, he's at it.

30-01-2019, 09:06 AM
Ignore him, he's at it.

hibbie02
30-01-2019, 10:04 AM
Mibbes aye, mibbes naw. I'm just about to hit the 1st tee and a Man U double ST holder in our group who knows I'm a Hibs fan said. "I see your boys are getting DM. I actually quite liked him but no-one was ever going to be able to follow Fergie".

I'm not sure how he would know, I guess he was at the match last night, but I'll try to pick his brains if I get drawn beside him.

And he was a huge success at West Ham too. :rolleyes: I took the piss out of West Ham boys when Moyes was appointed then. Dinnae fancy getting it all back tenfold....

30-01-2019, 12:29 PM
So we are looking for our 5th manager/coach in 6 years, not a great managerial life expectancy statistic.

30-01-2019, 12:35 PM
So we are looking for our 5th manager/coach in 6 years, not a great managerial life expectancy statistic.

Or another way of looking at it is our 2nd in over 4.5 years since LD became Chief Exec. Stubbs left to take another job and Lennon was our longest serving manager since McLeish who was appointed over 20 years ago.

Not spent much time looking but according to the link below, in 2015 the average tenure for a manager in England was 1.23 years - since LD came in we are close to double that.

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11688/9875915/average-tenure-of-managers-in-england-just-1-23-years

30-01-2019, 12:57 PM
Five candidates according to the Express. Strachan, Stubbs, Lee Clark, Graham Arnold and Scot Gemmill.

It's not Scott Burns name on the article though.

30-01-2019, 01:16 PM
To be fair, Hibs have always been mediocre pish over the last 30 years anyway, even 40.

2 relegations

4 seasons out the top flight

Not sure about top half/bottom half finishes.

Yam Bams have placed above us a lot more than we've finished above them.

3rd is the highest place finish and I think we've managed that twice?

3 cup wins, 4 runners up which is ok, on a par with Aberdeen, hearts, United. I think all these clubs have had better European runs than us in that time.

Scotland is handicapped by religion meaning the likelihood of another team consistently challenging Celtic or rangers is non existent.

Sometimes just wonder what we expect or what we think we're entitled to as Hibernian Football Club.

And your point is with regards to the next manager? You compare us with Hearts yet no mention of them going into Administration and not paying debts. I'd rather have a club which honours it's debt than a similar mediocre club that doesn't. How many seasons have and will United stay in the Championship, yet you only want to compare European runs when it comes to them. You have been very selective in choosing your premises to support your conclusion and that is sometimes called 'confirmation bias'. Why is that?

30-01-2019, 01:19 PM
Five candidates according to the Express. Strachan, Stubbs, Lee Clark, Graham Arnold and Scot Gemmill.

Out of that Strachan is the standout however think he lives down south and not sure the Hibs job would be tempting enough financially for him to consider may be wrong with that.

30-01-2019, 01:46 PM

Strachan: :thumbsup:
Stubbs: :greengrin
Gemmill: :agree:
Clark: :dunno:
Arnold: :no way:

30-01-2019, 02:03 PM
Strachan's response to speculation: Meh (https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/gordon-strachan-responds-to-speculation-linking-him-with-hibs-job-1-4864950)

30-01-2019, 02:16 PM

Hardly "candidates". That's just a google search of internet speculation.

30-01-2019, 02:19 PM
Stubbsy wants to come back. (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-latest-alan-stubbs-interested-in-returning-as-head-coach-1-4864963?fbclid=IwAR193rX9AugQ7A-18fdwSXuSYgQfdrlCrFXMJUADZu1WCeSEUOQOEcduVhE)

30-01-2019, 02:19 PM
Strachan's response to speculation: Meh (https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/gordon-strachan-responds-to-speculation-linking-him-with-hibs-job-1-4864950)

Reading between the lines I think that sounds like he’d be up for the job but won’t put all his cards on the table and he’ll want investment or attention paid to our youth development before he signs.

The systems in place that Stubbs used should excite him.

30-01-2019, 02:30 PM

I’m not sure I’m that keen on his response there tbh.

He seems to be prejudging the situation without knowing both sides to the story. Surely a bit common sense would tell you Lennon isn’t leaving because he shouted at the players a bit. He’s been in the job two and a half years and I’m sure the players are well accustomed to Lennons ways.

Gray is even saying nothing out the ordinary happened so the idea that he is getting sacked because the players can’t handle being shouted at is quite disrespectful to them imo.

I’m not saying that interview should rule him out the job but I was a bit disappointed to read that. He also seems to want to pursue other projects at the same time so I’m not sure he is going to be the right fit at this stage, unless he gets the job with a young and hungry up and coming manager to assist him until he’s ready to step down.

I think that interview was probably his way of ruling himself out this job but making people aware he’s still open to managing again.

30-01-2019, 02:35 PM
Stubbsy wants to come back. (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-latest-alan-stubbs-interested-in-returning-as-head-coach-1-4864963?fbclid=IwAR193rX9AugQ7A-18fdwSXuSYgQfdrlCrFXMJUADZu1WCeSEUOQOEcduVhE)
Not a single quote from him in the article.

patch1875
30-01-2019, 02:39 PM
Only one being mentioned that interests me is Scott Gemmill.

Slavers
30-01-2019, 02:42 PM

Yep that's the name oot the list for me too!

30-01-2019, 02:43 PM
Not a single quote from him in the article.

That's a lazy article if ever I've seen one .

30-01-2019, 02:43 PM
I’m not sure I’m that keen on his response there tbh.

He seems to be prejudging the situation without knowing both sides to the story. Surely a bit common sense would tell you Lennon isn’t leaving because he shouted at the players a bit. He’s been in the job two and a half years and I’m sure the players are well accustomed to Lennons ways.

Gray is even saying nothing out the ordinary happened so the idea that he is getting sacked because the players can’t handle being shouted at is quite disrespectful to them imo.

I’m not saying that interview should rule him out the job but I was a bit disappointed to read that. He also seems to want to pursue other projects at the same time so I’m not sure he is going to be the right fit at this stage, unless he gets the job with a young and hungry up and coming manager to assist him until he’s ready to step down.

I think that interview was probably his way of ruling himself out this job but making people aware he’s still open to managing again.

:agree: I more or less said the same on the Lennon’s Gone thread.

30-01-2019, 02:44 PM
Lee Clark is a big no from me. Not fussed for the Aussie guy.

Strachan would split opinion but we could do worse

Stubbs would galvanise the club again but don’t know if it’s the right thing longer term.

Not sure about Scott Gemmel. Different ball game going from what he’s done to being full time with is. I think the board might go down that type of route though.

30-01-2019, 02:45 PM
Out of that Strachan is the standout however think he lives down south and not sure the Hibs job would be tempting enough financially for him to consider may be wrong with that.

From that list the stand out is Lee Clark. By far the worst option available😖

30-01-2019, 02:58 PM
Scott for me. He suits the Head Coach role.

30-01-2019, 03:23 PM
Interested by Strachan’s comments. I’d imagine Hibs have been in contact already

30-01-2019, 03:24 PM
Fascinated by the wide range of choices on here, from Billy Brown and Rudi Skacel through to Steve Clark.

Is there a list of bookies odds anywhere?

These guys are usually not far off the mark.

30-01-2019, 03:28 PM

Was he not mentioned before Stubbs got the gig, very good up and coming young coach doing quite well with the Scottish U21

30-01-2019, 03:34 PM
Confirmed now

MagicSwirlingShip
30-01-2019, 03:36 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/9671?fbclid=IwAR3LnGqToeT7O4nN7pQwlBS9AAU5arBiwEvg 82L-oXzY4WJCt0b2mHLMncU

Confirmed. Neither were guilty of any misconduct.

What a weird statement.

Never resigned but weren’t dismissed.

That statement has lawyers crawling all over it.

30-01-2019, 03:37 PM
Terrible statement.

Why are they leaving if they did nothing wrong?

30-01-2019, 03:38 PM
Bizzare. What on earth happened?

30-01-2019, 03:38 PM
Interesting statement to say the least.

30-01-2019, 03:39 PM
Bullying claims squashed then

30-01-2019, 03:39 PM
Terrible statement.

It's pretty much along the lines of what I expected. You surely didn't think that the reasons were going to be spelled out in detail surely?

brythehibby
30-01-2019, 03:40 PM
It's pretty much along the lines of what I expected. You surely didn't think that the reasons were going to be spelled out in detail surely?

I’m not really sure what folk were expecting. Full ins and outs plastered over our official site? People been banging on for a statement, they get one and still aren’t happy.

30-01-2019, 03:41 PM
What a weird statement.

Never resigned but weren’t dismissed.

Seems like a sensible and grown up conclusion from both sides.

30-01-2019, 03:42 PM
Joint statement drawn up by lawyers to absolve everybody of blame with an agreement to never speak of it again.

Raises more questions than it provides answers if I’m being honest

Terrible statement.

Maybe they and Hibs felt that there was no way back from whatever happened.

Yeah but to deny anything happened will mean the speculation will continue to fester.

They're not leaving for no reason and the fans have been told nothing.

30-01-2019, 03:44 PM
Yeah but to deny anything happened will mean the speculation will continue to fester.

Wild guess for me is that Lennon asked for better players or the club have failed to bring in a player or players that he wanted so he has turned around and said that he doesn’t think he can take the club forward with what he has. Both parties then agree it’s best if someone else takes the job.

30-01-2019, 03:45 PM

Why do you need to know?

30-01-2019, 03:45 PM
Maybe they and Hibs felt that there was no way back from whatever happened.

Yeah but they're not saying anything Matty.

I get there might be legalities involved but it does nothing to quell speculation.

Hopefully a couple of signings tomorrow will divert attention.

30-01-2019, 03:46 PM
Why do you need to know?

You don't think the paying customers deserve some sort of explanation?

Nah just move on please.

30-01-2019, 03:47 PM
Why do you need to know?

Seriously?

Any fan of any club wants to know why their manager leaves.

Doh Rae Me
30-01-2019, 03:47 PM
Pathetic post by the club.

30-01-2019, 03:49 PM
Pathetic post by the club.

Nonesense. The club were never going to fully divulge what happened or why he was suspended. This outcome allows both the club and Lennon to move on.

30-01-2019, 03:51 PM
Seriously?

Any fan of any club wants to know why their manager leaves.

I don't think it takes a genius to have a rough idea why they are leaving.

And actually, do they? I can draw my own conclusions and happily move on. I find it astonishing some can't.

Anyone expecting a blow-by-blow account via a statement is deluded.

30-01-2019, 03:52 PM
You don't think the paying customers deserve some sort of explanation?

Nah just move on please.

No not really.

What were you expecting to hear?

Doh Rae Me
30-01-2019, 03:55 PM
No not really.

What were you expecting to hear?

I was expecting to hear exactly why Neil Lennon is no longer manager. Is that too much to ask?

30-01-2019, 03:57 PM
I don't think it takes a genius to have a rough idea why they are leaving.

And actually, do they? I can draw my own conclusions and happily move on. I find it astonishing some can't.

Anyone expecting a blow-by-blow account via a statement is deluded.

Yeah, it’s problematic when people “draw their own conclusions” though. Some people will infer that Neil Lennon did something wrong (bullying, homophobia etc) and it’s just being kept quiet, others will blame the penny-pinching board and assume that he’s done absolutely nothing wrong. Surely not knowing only serves to create division amongst the fans, and to encourage their own narratives.

That’s not to say that I don’t understand why we can’t know, though. It’s obviously the best for both parties.

I was expecting to hear exactly why Neil Lennon is no longer manager. Is that too much to ask?
Of course it is - there are legal teams involved.

yes...

you don't get boards saying..."Colin Calderwood has departed because we've been murder for months, shipping in goals left right and centre and we have lost confidence in him" do you?...they say..Mutually agreed etc etc..

30-01-2019, 04:00 PM
yes...

you don't get boards saying..."Colin Calderwood has departed because we've been murder for months, shipping in goals left right and centre and we have lost confidence in him" do you?...they say..Mutually agreed etc etc..

This, it's as if some people have never read a mutual consent statement before.

What are people expecting? A blow-by-blow account of what happened with blame being apportioned?

Hibernian32
30-01-2019, 04:00 PM
When kit man Tam hangs up his last green & white jersey and release's a book we will finally know what actually happened.

Doh Rae Me
30-01-2019, 04:02 PM
yes...

Yes I agree with you there but I don't think you'd find 1 Hibs supporter questioning why Caldewood was shown the door. This statement doesn't suit any fan on any side of the debate imo.

30-01-2019, 04:03 PM

Ok. Clearly something has happened that has resulted in them leaving. To me the club (beyond legalities) are demonstrating a bit of integrity and maturity. I see this as a strength in life.

I don't understand the desperate need to know. Nor do I understand the exasperation shown at the statement.

30-01-2019, 04:05 PM
Yes I agree with you there but I don't think you'd find 1 Hibs supporter questioning why Caldewood was shown the door. This statement doesn't suit any fan on any side of the debate imo.

suits me - I just want us to be able to focus on signing players and getting a new head coach in - we are now sorted for that

It's only those who wants to know the ins and outs that are troubled by this statement - to me, the detail of what happened is not important.

30-01-2019, 04:07 PM
suits me - I just want us to be able to focus on signing players and getting a new head coach in - we are now sorted for that

It's only those who wants to know the ins and outs that are troubled by this statement - to me, the detail of what happened is not important.

I'm pretty relaxed with the statement too. Seems dignified and respectful. Now we can move forward. Or at least some of us can.

EVENTUALLY
30-01-2019, 04:10 PM
yes...

Brilliant:wink:

Tornadoes70
30-01-2019, 04:13 PM

Why don't you phone the club asking why?

When they ask who wants to know, tell them the truth that you're Doh Rae Me from Hibs Net and is it too much to ask?

Let us know how you get on please.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

brythehibby
30-01-2019, 04:13 PM
Ok. Clearly something has happened that has resulted in them leaving. To me the club (beyong legalities) are demonstrating a bit of integrity and maturity. I see this as a strength in life.

I don't understand the desperate need to know. Nor do I understand the exasperation shown at the statement.

This pretty much sums up my view perfectly. There was clearly something wrong behind the scenes. The statement will have been agreed so no ones reputation is tarnished and it costs the club the minimum amount to move on. I’d rather that than a slagging match for weeks about who done what.

30-01-2019, 04:15 PM

When they ask who want's to know?

Tell them the truth that you're Doh Rae Me from Hibs Net and is it too much to ask?

Mon the Cabbage!!!

:greengrin :top marks

Here’s Lucy!
30-01-2019, 04:25 PM

When they ask who wants to know, tell them the truth that you're Doh Rae Me from Hibs Net and is it too much to ask?

Mon the Cabbage!!!

That'll be him telt then. :greengrin

30-01-2019, 04:27 PM
So back to Saturday who is taking the team. We should demand a statement!

Actually it appears Rodders, who got back from a visit abroad to be confronted by a situation, has taken control of things as Chairman and will take his place in the dugout on Saturday.

I predict we will as a result keep a clean sheet as his teams have a reputation for in depth defence and never giving anything away.😎

Aim Here
30-01-2019, 04:28 PM
This, it's as if some people have never read a mutual consent statement before.

What are people expecting? A blow-by-blow account of what happened with blame being apportioned?

To be fair - if there was an acrimonious dispute with a Rangers manager, I could well imagine a tears-and-snotters Jim Traynor statement emanating from Mordor to be rampant with specific accusations of all sorts of wrongdoing and dogwhistled conspiracy hints.

The rest of Scottish fitba', not so much.

30-01-2019, 04:29 PM
Eddie may is the favourite with skybet (they count at least 10 games as permanent) Stubbs 2nd favourite. Other names in there are doolan, Strachan, butcher :rolleyes: , murty ect

30-01-2019, 04:29 PM

Actually it appears Rodders, who got back from a visit abroad to be confronted by a situation, has taken control of things as Chairman and will take his place in the dugout on Saturday.

I predict we will as a result keep a clean sheet as his teams have a reputation for in depth defence and never giving anything away.😎

If the players don’t like being shouted at, wait till they’ve had a hairdryer from the Iron Mowser...

30-01-2019, 04:30 PM
To be fair - if there was an acrimonious dispute with a Rangers manager, I could well imagine a tears-and-snotters Jim Traynor statement emanating from Mordor to be rampant with specific accusations of all sorts of wrongdoing and dogwhistled conspiracy accusations.

The rest of Scottish fitba', not so much.

Exactly. I'm glad our club have a bit more respect and professionalism.

30-01-2019, 04:31 PM

Haha Brilliant.

30-01-2019, 04:33 PM
Loads and loads and loads of folk on this forum say ‘player x just fits at the club’ despite it not working out for said player (prime example being Scott Allan) elsewhere.

Maybe the same could be said for Stubbs

Daydreamer
30-01-2019, 04:34 PM
Can't wait for Alan Stubbs to take his seat in the dug out before the game on Saturday :wink:. The roar will be deafening

30-01-2019, 04:35 PM
Eddie may is the favourite with skybet (they count at least 10 games as permanent) Stubbs 2nd favourite. Other names in there are doolan, Strachan, butcher :rolleyes: , murty ect

Murty? WTF?

It just shows you that they don’t have a clue either.😂

Here’s Lucy!
30-01-2019, 04:38 PM

Eddie doesn't want the job.

30-01-2019, 04:39 PM
Can't wait for Alan Stubbs to take his seat in the dug out before the game on Saturday :wink:. The roar will be deafening

That would be something else. Though for full effect his first game should be v Raith in the Scottish cup.

Still thinking it should be Strachan or Stubbsy.

30-01-2019, 04:39 PM

If they pay out on 10 games in charge, I suspect that’s why he was favourite, if it was suspected we may have gotten a long, drawn out legal process with Lennon etc

30-01-2019, 04:40 PM

Shhhh...the bookies need to make a profit. :greengrin

30-01-2019, 04:41 PM
Murty? WTF?

Yeah, but there will be some mug who'll take the bet.

Here’s Lucy!
30-01-2019, 04:42 PM
If they pay out on 10 games in charge, I suspect that’s why he was favourite, if it was suspected we may have gotten a long, drawn out legal process with Lennon etc

Shhhh...the bookies need to make a profit. :greengrin

30-01-2019, 04:50 PM
Murty? WTF?

It just shows you that they don’t have a clue either.��

Not really, free money for the bookies if you put a bet on someone who has no chance of getting the job! And if they had a clue, they probably wouldn't be laying odds :wink:

30-01-2019, 04:53 PM
Not really, free money for the bookies if you put a bet on someone who has no chance of getting the job! And if they had a clue, they probably wouldn't be laying odds :wink:

Good point.

Please let one of them have odds on Ian Cathro.

30-01-2019, 04:55 PM
Ignore him, he's at it.

He was at it, as it turns out.

He was kidding me on although he actually didn't mind Moyes.

He absolutely hated Van Gaal.

Here’s Lucy!
30-01-2019, 04:59 PM

:aok: Never thought of it like that.

Good point.

30-01-2019, 06:26 PM
Any coincidence that Mixu had appeared on sportsound tonight?!

30-01-2019, 06:34 PM
Bullying claims squashed then

Did you expect Hibs to come out and say Lennon was a **** towards certain players and that's why he's offski.

Relationships have deteriorated over months and they were unable to continue after it came to a head, these things happen all the time, we move on, no one is bigger than the club.

EH26
30-01-2019, 06:52 PM
Gordon Strachan Director of Football. Scott Gemell Head Coach ?

30-01-2019, 06:54 PM
Yep that's the name oot the list for me too!
None interest me.:confused:

30-01-2019, 06:56 PM
Gordon Strachan Director of Football. Scott Gemell Head Coach ?

Isnt that the job of George Craig? He is head of football operations ..

30-01-2019, 07:03 PM
If after all this time so many people still can't get Leeann's name right I'd hate us to end up with Scot Gemmill.....

ionahibby
30-01-2019, 07:09 PM
Put it this way whoever gets the gig won’t have much of a honeymoon. A few defeats or a bad derby defeat and the pressure will mount instantly. A reason why it might rule out strachan.

30-01-2019, 07:16 PM
If after all this time so many people still can't get Leeann's name right I'd hate us to end up with Scot Gemmill.....

You think Scott will get the best out of Mallon?

Inconsequential
30-01-2019, 07:31 PM

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Scot, Mallan.:agree:

30-01-2019, 07:32 PM
Scot, Mallan.:agree:

Whoosh...

Fergos
30-01-2019, 07:52 PM
Someone posted a brief article on Rob Jones doing well with American academies. Same back drop as Stubbsy coming from Everton youths, strong leadership qualities and knows the club, respected Cup winning captain etc. Young coach with a point to prove by making his way in Management.

Confident LD will make the right choice.

GGTTH.

Slateford Hibee
30-01-2019, 07:54 PM
Duncan Ferguson.

cloudy
30-01-2019, 08:29 PM
Kev Thomson.

30-01-2019, 08:37 PM

Aye but will Allen still want to come?

God help us if we re-sign Dylan McGkdfisjejfkdmwfjspqkdivodksnfigkdndjcigooemwkelw pspfkdkxlamckvkdnekxogkfjbkdmwmqodch!

30-01-2019, 08:49 PM
Murty? WTF?

I'll be in a minority but I like Murty. Did a decent job at Rangers, had them playing good football for most of his time. Handled himself well in the media generally and has good contacts down south.

A few bad defeats and he became a bit of a joke figure but I think he'll do a good job somewhere. Surprised he stayed with The Rangers after how he was treated though.

30-01-2019, 08:59 PM
I'll be in a minority but I like Murty. Did a decent job at Rangers, had them playing good football for most of his time. Handled himself well in the media generally and has good contacts down south.

A few bad defeats and he became a bit of a joke figure but I think he'll do a good job somewhere. Surprised he stayed with The Rangers after how he was treated though.

Me too.

If he managed to keep his cool under that amount of pressure.....

His results were pretty good, it wasn't his fault that the entire club imploded every time they lost to Celtic.

Percy Vere
30-01-2019, 09:03 PM

Ian McCall
James McFadden
Peter Houston
Jim Duffy
Billy Dodds
Gary Bollan

Mourinho
Zidane.

Another one from left if left field ...John Robertson!!

30-01-2019, 09:09 PM

What has he done as a manager that would remotely put him on the list?

30-01-2019, 09:13 PM
Any coincidence that Mixu had appeared on sportsound tonight?!

Exactly what I was thinking. Seemed very odd him being on. Thought he failed at Hibs wouldn't want him back certainly not permanently

angus hibby
30-01-2019, 09:16 PM
Exactly what I was thinking. Seemed very odd him being on. Thought he failed at Hibs wouldn't want him back certainly not permanently

Former Cowdenbeath manager doing co-commentary on their game against Rangers.

Percy Vere
30-01-2019, 09:23 PM

Ian McCall
James McFadden
Peter Houston
Jim Duffy
Billy Dodds
Gary Bollan

Mourinho
Zidane.

#persevered
30-01-2019, 09:29 PM
Killie tweeted we'd approached for Clarke but then deleted.

30-01-2019, 09:30 PM

Fake tweet.

30-01-2019, 09:30 PM

No they didn’t. It was a fake.

#persevered
30-01-2019, 09:31 PM
Ah well. It did seem a bit good tbf

30-01-2019, 09:33 PM
I don't like the vibes coming from Godon Strachan.

Rather than jump at the chance of managing his boyhood club, he appears "indifferent" and seems quite happy in his current role.

30-01-2019, 09:34 PM
Saw Terry Butcher is 25/1.

😂😂😂

30-01-2019, 09:36 PM

Rather than jump at the chance of managing his boyhood club, he appears "indifferent" and seems quite happy in his current role.

His price drops if he comes across as eager.

30-01-2019, 09:38 PM

What is his current role?

30-01-2019, 09:43 PM

Just been talking to a former Falkirk goalkeeper who was informed by one other his mates who is well connected at Easter Road that part of the dramas that took place apparently Lennon punched Rod Petrie and knocked him out.
Now I know that it sounds bit ludicrous, however source doesn't usually spread gossip/stories without there being substance to them.

Topographic Hibby
30-01-2019, 09:44 PM
What is his current role?
Something to do with encouraging youth football amongst local authorities. Possibly on behalf of SFA...??

30-01-2019, 09:45 PM
Just been talking to a former Falkirk goalkeeper who was informed by one other his mates who is well connected at Easter Road that part of the dramas that took place apparently Lennon punched Rod Petrie and knocked him out.
Now I know that it sounds bit ludicrous, however source doesn't usually spread gossip/stories without there being substance to them.

😂😂 Petrie was holidaying in France last week!

30-01-2019, 09:46 PM
😂😂 Petrie was holidaying in France last week!

Aye, but how did he get to France? By plane or by a stiff hook from Lenny? I'll let you be the judge.

30-01-2019, 09:47 PM
Strachan must at least be considering it or he would just have ruled himself out no?

There’s only so so much going around the world talking about your ideas you can do. Come to a club and put these ideas into action instead.

Sounds to me like he would like another go at it before giving it all up.

I think he’s probably our no1 target.

30-01-2019, 09:53 PM

Can’t see anyone being daft enough to give that any credibility to be honest.
Apart from you obviously.

Topographic Hibby
30-01-2019, 09:55 PM
Strachan must at least be considering it or he would just have ruled himself out no?

There’s only so so much going around the world talking about your ideas you can do. Come to a club and put these ideas into action instead.

Sounds to me like he would like another go at it before giving it all up.

I think he’s probably our no1 target.I’d be happy if Strachan got it, either temp till the summer or FT.

But then, I was happy when Butcher and Williamson were appointed. Probably best that Leeanne and Rod don’t call me for advice....:rolleyes: