View Full Version : Lee Clark rumour

27-01-2019, 04:58 PM
Anyone heard anything? My Geordie mate claims to have heard something.

27-01-2019, 04:59 PM
There’s going to be hundreds of rumours over the next couple of weeks. Mainly from folk trying to get folk to remember they still want a job.

27-01-2019, 05:00 PM
He’d be a disaster. Hopefully nothing in it.

Why don't you ask him, then? :greengrin

No idea about him \ the rumour, but was it he who brought in the core of the current Killie team?

H18S NX
27-01-2019, 05:01 PM
Does his son no play for the hertz?

God sake no.

The courier in Newcastle misunderstood an article the daily record did yesterday that said he could be someone we may be interested in. The courier took that as us being after him.

I assume that’s where your mate heard that.

Have you asked him if he's got tinnitus :dunno:

27-01-2019, 05:02 PM
No chance and no thanks

27-01-2019, 05:02 PM
Jim Goodwin was selling himself and sucking up to the club earlier on Sportsound:greengrin

27-01-2019, 05:03 PM
The courier in Newcastle misunderstood an article the daily record did yesterday that said he could be someone we may be interested in. The courier took that as us being after him.

I assume that’s where your mate heard that.

Knowing The Courier that's a possibility. A paper that makes The EEN look like the Times Educational Supplement.

27-01-2019, 05:04 PM

Who Olly Lee? Did he give his son his forename as his surname? :hilarious

27-01-2019, 05:05 PM
I like Lee Clark.

He did put together the majority of this Killie team, although he couldn't do all that much with them himself.

27-01-2019, 05:05 PM
Don’t think we would even acknowledge his CV

27-01-2019, 05:07 PM
We could do a lot worse than Lee Clark.

27-01-2019, 05:10 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/ex-newcastle-united-favourite-lee-15738006.amp

27-01-2019, 05:13 PM
Signed Jordan Jones along with about 10 other players in one day for Killie - signed Coulibally as well.

Don’t think it’s accurate to say he signed the core of this team, though I may be wrong.

27-01-2019, 05:15 PM

Of course. I'd imagine we could also do a lot better than Clark. His Bury stint was pretty grim.

27-01-2019, 05:18 PM
Of course. I'd imagine we could also do a lot better than Clark. His Bury stint was pretty grim.

His Huddersfield stint was pretty good.

27-01-2019, 05:22 PM
His Huddersfield stint was pretty good.

Didn't they score a barrel load, go on ridiculous winning runs and still not get promoted? Jordan Rhodes was there?

27-01-2019, 05:27 PM
Now if I was Hibs I , believe it or not would ask either Stubbs until the end of the season or ....Wim Jansen, the guy knows our game and he is a fountain of knowledge in Holland , where players and managers alike go for advice, I am surprised he doesnae manage any more.

27-01-2019, 05:28 PM
**** that his voice grates on me and funnily enough he was one of the first names I thought I hope it’s not him

27-01-2019, 05:29 PM
Jim Goodwin was selling himself and sucking up to the club earlier on Sportsound:greengrinIf he knows how to heat up a pie he's got an outside chance of getting a wee catering shed at ER but that's it.

27-01-2019, 05:30 PM

Think you might be thinking of Rob Lee.

TelaStella
27-01-2019, 05:31 PM
Thought Lee McCulloch had a lot more to do with the current core at Killie than Clark did

27-01-2019, 05:32 PM
Think you might be thinking of Rob Lee.

Gary Johnson, I think.

27-01-2019, 05:33 PM
Jim Goodwin was selling himself and sucking up to the club earlier on Sportsound:greengrin

He’s actually doing really well with Alloa fair play to him. Wouldn’t be my choice though

27-01-2019, 05:34 PM
Is Lee Clark Small and Ginger?

Clark who has been sacked from everywhere he's been, bar ditching Killie for Bury??

He was the go to man for absolute basket cases for a while: Birmingham, Blackpool and to a lesser extent Killie at the time.

Since Huddersfield his win percentages are 29%, 9%, 23% and 27%. Won 1 home game in a year at Birmingham, worst win ratio in a quarter of a century into the bargain and recently sacked by Bury.

It's a no from me.

27-01-2019, 05:36 PM
Lee Clark will not be the next manager at Easter Road not a chance

27-01-2019, 05:37 PM
He was the go to man for absolute basket cases for a while: Birmingham, Blackpool and to a lesser extent Killie at the time.

Since Huddersfield his win percentages are 29%, 9%, 23% and 27&.

It's a no from me.

Wow, that is some horrendous win percentages! Hope to God this rumour is just that.

27-01-2019, 05:39 PM
Gary Johnson, I think.

No he's definitely thinking of Rob Lee, his son's Olly Lee.

Gary Johnson's son left Hearts 13 years ago.

Is this the guy that a day after our historic cup win was getting carried off the pitch by Killie fans after a MASSIVE pitch invasion TO AVOID RELEGATION that was perceived by many to be the next messiah ???

We won the Scottish for the first time in 114 years and were absolutely ****in ridiculed by everyone in the land yet Kilmarnock's wild celebrations one day later avoiding relegation was seen as 'amazing unbelievable scenes '

We certainly could. Terry Butcher is still unemployed.

27-01-2019, 05:43 PM
What’s Lomas up to these days?

27-01-2019, 05:47 PM
Nooooooooooo

27-01-2019, 05:56 PM

I've decided to (try to) stick to factual posts until the hysteria dies down. :wink:

27-01-2019, 05:57 PM
We certainly could. Terry Butcher is still unemployed.

Exactly!

I'm not working these days either. :greengrin

27-01-2019, 05:59 PM
Wow, that is some horrendous win percentages! Hope to God this rumour is just that.

As mentioned though, those clubs were basket cases with little chance of doing much better.

27-01-2019, 06:04 PM
Whoever we replace Lenny with, for me will show the ambition of the club

27-01-2019, 06:05 PM
Whoever we replace Lenny with, for me will show the ambition of the club

yeah...fair analysis that one....

Strachan's my first choice. Although Hibs have a habit of finding someone from left field in recent times...

hibs#1
27-01-2019, 06:05 PM
What’s Lomas up to these days?

Sacked by Millwall 6 years ago.

27-01-2019, 06:08 PM
yeah...fair analysis that one....

Strachan's my first choice. Although Hibs have a habit of finding someone from left field in recent times...

Was Strachan the Scotland manager who went on and on and on about nobody playing with 2 up front any more?

If he's going to come in and get any results with this squad, he's going to have to re-think that one.....

I eventually got round to liking Strachan as Scotland manager but he frustrated the hell out of me for a very long time, and imo got a bit lucky with the decent team he stumbled upon.

27-01-2019, 06:09 PM
Was Strachan the Scotland manager who went on and on and on about nobody playing with 2 up front any more?

If he's going to come in and get any results with this squad, he's going to have to re-think that one.....

don't know Smartie but he is a deep thinker about the game..so would trust his judgment on players and formation.

I rather suspect it will be a name that no one is talking about yet...

27-01-2019, 06:13 PM
don't know Smartie but he is a deep thinker about the game..so would trust his judgment on players and formation.

Me too.

We've got a better track record with those ones.

Draw up a person spec, go into the process with an open mind and see who impresses the most.

27-01-2019, 06:13 PM
No thanks.

27-01-2019, 06:14 PM
Me too.

Draw up a person spec, go into the process with an open mind and see who impresses the most.

hard to argue with that - after all, last time we chose not to assess there market and go for a "preferred candidate" was Butcher...and that , ahem, is not a model to wish to repeat. gulp!!

27-01-2019, 06:41 PM

Gary Johnson's son left Hearts 13 years ago.

Sorry man, you’re correct - misread the question.

27-01-2019, 07:12 PM
Sacked by Millwall 6 years ago.

Thought he would have gotten another job.

Greenworld
27-01-2019, 07:14 PM
No chance

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

27-01-2019, 07:21 PM
No thanks...!

H18S NX
27-01-2019, 08:33 PM

Gary Johnson's son left Hearts 13 years ago....Your spot on SDG, I knew as soon as i posted i was wrong and i tried to delete but it would not work,cheers.

27-01-2019, 08:38 PM

Father Frodo Komodo?

27-01-2019, 10:43 PM

I hope Strachan is nowhere near the manager’s job at ER.

27-01-2019, 10:49 PM
Me too.

That's how you end up with a Cathro in charge!
Blinded by pish

27-01-2019, 10:51 PM

Why?

27-01-2019, 10:54 PM

I am praying he is.
No other person suggested to date comes close.

27-01-2019, 10:57 PM
Why?

I thought some of his team selections for the national team were shocking. His loyalty to sub-standard English Championship players was unforgiveable imo. I think his days are gone.

27-01-2019, 11:08 PM
I thought some of his team selections for the national team were shocking. His loyalty to sub-standard English Championship players was unforgiveable imo. I think his days are gone.

I think the opposite, he’s loyal to his group, was building a good group and got acmes hastily. He would be ideal with his hunger for hibs to be his last project in football management and obviously the national manager experience and mistakes lessons will be learned from.

Paloschi
28-01-2019, 07:34 AM
I'd be gutted with Lee Clark. Please no.

28-01-2019, 07:45 AM
Scott Allan would be ripping up his pre-contract if we appoint Lee Clark.

King Cosell
28-01-2019, 08:27 AM
FFS. Lee Clark will never be Hibernian boss. Never ever. BIN THIS THREAD.

28-01-2019, 12:57 PM
Declared his interest today.

28-01-2019, 12:59 PM
FFS. Lee Clark will never be Hibernian boss. Never ever. BIN THIS THREAD.
You may well be correct but simply stating that with no reason isn't going to make people believe you is it?

28-01-2019, 03:30 PM

Me too.

28-01-2019, 03:32 PM
would be up there with "most underwhelming" candidates

Wakeyhibee
28-01-2019, 03:41 PM
would be up there with "most underwhelming" candidates

What makes me think this will appeal to the Hibs board now

CLASS OF 72 -73
28-01-2019, 03:43 PM
Please not. I know some Bury fans and they were far from impressed talked the talk just lie at Killie

28-01-2019, 04:00 PM
Most definitely not.
Losing NL is bad enough, but replacing him with Lee Clark would be unforgivable.

28-01-2019, 04:05 PM
Me too.

28-01-2019, 04:05 PM

An unemployed person saying "gissa job". How novel! :greengrin

28-01-2019, 04:07 PM
Don't know enough of Lee Clark to pass an opinion but sincerely hope the Board get the right guy.

jaf
28-01-2019, 04:09 PM
I remember hearing at the time that one of Lee Clarks techniques was to regularly train the first team at the time of the next upcoming match, just something that was mentioned at the time but was of little Hibs interest at that point.
Apparently the players were not happy about it, childcare, commuting etc, but that's what he did.

28-01-2019, 04:11 PM
I think the opposite, he’s loyal to his group, was building a good group and got acmes hastily. He would be ideal with his hunger for hibs to be his last project in football management and obviously the national manager experience and mistakes lessons will be learned from.

I doubt that Strachan believes he has any mistakes to learn from.

28-01-2019, 07:07 PM
Managed our local side Blackpool as a few have said.

I honestly couldn't think of a more disastrous appointment. A total hot air merchant.