Naw, but really?

26-01-2019, 04:33 PM
Where's the Neil Lennon option? :wink:

Thats in the other option!

26-01-2019, 04:35 PM
Marinello59.

Player manager, obviously, now that he's partnering Kamberi up front.

26-01-2019, 04:37 PM
It's a big footballing world so could be anyone. What I do want is to get on plan again. Professional staff, 3 players for each role, a style of play, development team playing to emulate senior team etc. Dempster vision had longevity and it was working. It looks a bit in shreds at the moment. The club needs an us and we manager not a me and I one.

26-01-2019, 04:38 PM
Michael O'Neill 🤔

26-01-2019, 04:46 PM
I would hope that Ms. Dempster has a shortlist made up and regularily updated to hand for this eventuality.

LustForLeith
26-01-2019, 04:48 PM
Paul Clements

Here’s Lucy!
26-01-2019, 04:49 PM
Clarke obvs.

26-01-2019, 04:49 PM
I would hope that Ms. Dempster has a shortlist made up and regularily updated to hand for this eventuality.

You would imagine this would be the case

HibeeHibernian4
26-01-2019, 04:50 PM
The Steve Clarke option being on here completely invalidates this poll. Quote this and mock me mercilessly if it happened, but it simply won't. It is delusions of grandeur stuff to think we could tempt him away from Killie for even a second.

26-01-2019, 04:50 PM
Craig Levein

26-01-2019, 04:52 PM
Craig Levein

We could do worse than appoint Robbie Neilson.

He let us win the Cup remember.

26-01-2019, 04:54 PM
Sir Alan Stubbs !!

26-01-2019, 04:56 PM
Mark Hughes.

26-01-2019, 04:56 PM
Stevie Clarke is the obvious one but I'm not sure he's achievable currently.

If not then Stubbs until the end of the season then have another look then. We have pulled a few from nowhere before; Stubbs, Mowbray, Fenlon etc so maybe that's worth considering.

HibsNibs
26-01-2019, 04:57 PM
Voted Clarke but can't see it happening so maybe bring Yogi back until end of the season

26-01-2019, 04:58 PM
Splash the cash Hibs, Arsene Wenger :agree:

26-01-2019, 04:59 PM
Stevie Clarke is the obvious one but I'm not sure he's achievable currently.

If not then Stubbs until the end of the season then have another look then. We have pulled a few from nowhere before; Stubbs, Mowbray, Fenlon etc so maybe that's worth considering.

Hibs are obviously way bigger than Kilmarnock, as a club. However, he's onto a good thing there right now. Hibs could easily afford higher salary than he's currently on.

26-01-2019, 04:59 PM
King of the jungle 'Harry Redknapp' :monkey1:

26-01-2019, 05:00 PM
Hibs are obviously way bigger than Kilmarnock, as a club. However, he's onto a good thing there right now. Hibs could easily afford higher salary than he's currently on.

I agree we're a bigger club but there may be other considerations. Did Clarke not distance himself from Rangers in the summer?

SideBurns
26-01-2019, 05:00 PM
Strachan. I think it's time to see if the wee Hibby fae Muirhoose can do it for us.

26-01-2019, 05:01 PM
They're either terrible options or unobtainable ones. :boo hoo:

26-01-2019, 05:05 PM
Chain-smoking, obsessive, tactical Italian with great line in suits and commitment to free flowing attacking football. Happy with a modest wage.

Should be a doddle.

26-01-2019, 05:07 PM
Any chance of getting that smiley Norwegian fella who did quite well against us in the Europa League qualifiers?

26-01-2019, 05:10 PM
Take the green tinted specs off for a minute.

We could not offer Clarke enough to go from Killie to Hibs. The reason he went to Killie in the first place was family and opportunity over money, plus the chance to build something while not being under massive pressure. Steve Clarke will go back to a job in England.

Strachan is also incredibly unlikely given the budget he would get. Many of the names being tossed around are just daft or we could not afford. Getting Neil Lennon was a lot to do with Lenny looking to rebuild a reputation.

We are looking for young and hungry or someone looking to rebuild a reputation, who doesn't have millions already in the bank.

26-01-2019, 05:11 PM
Anyone but Mourinho. Couldn't stand that parking the bus crap at ER.

26-01-2019, 05:13 PM

We could not offer Clarke enough to go from Killie to Hibs. The reason he went to Killie in the first place was family and opportunity over money, plus the chance to build something while not being under massive pressure. Steve Clarke will go back to a job in England.

Strachan is also incredibly unlikely given the budget he would get. Many of the names being tossed around are just daft or we could not afford. Getting Neil Lennon was a lot to do with Lenny looking to rebuild a reputation.

We are looking for young and hungry or someone looking to rebuild a reputation, who doesn't have millions already in the bank.

Or he could be biding his time until Brenda leaves Celtic.

26-01-2019, 05:19 PM

Agree re Clarke but Strachan I think is different.

He's from Edinburgh and still lives here I believe , he is/was a Hibs supporter and he's at the stage of his career where he probably feels his days of managing at big clubs is over and I get the feeling his is quite content with that. I don't think he will be short of money and even still he'd be earning a very good salary compared to the man on the street as Hibs manager.

I actually think it's just as likely Dempster won't look to him as much as he would turn us down.

26-01-2019, 05:22 PM
Maybe it's time to try a coach from abroad? Who knows if any coaching appointment will prove to be successful. Most coaches/managers end up getting the sack anyway eventually.

26-01-2019, 05:24 PM
Any chance of getting that smiley Norwegian fella who did quite well against us in the Europa League qualifiers?

26-01-2019, 05:26 PM
It wont be, but ive voted for Gordon Strachan, but hopefully Eddie and Grant get us going again and back up the table.

26-01-2019, 05:31 PM
Helena Costa

https://static.noticiasaominuto.com/stockimages/gallery/1920/naom_5900554b00f08.jpg

26-01-2019, 05:33 PM
Scott Gemmell.

26-01-2019, 05:35 PM
Helena Costa

https://static.noticiasaominuto.com/stockimages/gallery/1920/naom_5900554b00f08.jpg

Is she box to box

SideBurns
26-01-2019, 05:36 PM
Strachan was in the TV studio at Hampden on 21/5/16. It was clear he didnae give a fiddler's fart about the pitch invasion, he was just delighted at the result. He has also been very complimentary about how the club entertained his auld man when he was getting close to the end. He's a Hibby who has been one of the best Scotland internationals of the modern era (post 1980); that much is beyond debate. He's got a sketchy managerial record but has certainly succeeded at a very high level.

I think we should ask the question.

HibeeHibernian4
26-01-2019, 05:37 PM
Scott Gemmell.

Wouldn't be against that.

Colin191078
26-01-2019, 05:37 PM
It wont be, but ive voted for Gordon Strachan, but hopefully Eddie and Grant get us going again and back up the table.

Only saying what I hear, lawyer friend of a club director reckons Strachan will be next manager

26-01-2019, 05:38 PM
Strachan was in the TV studio at Hampden on 21/5/16. It was clear he didnae give a fiddler's fart about the pitch invasion, he was just delighted at the result. He has also been very complimentary about how the club entertained his auld man when he was getting close to the end. He's a Hibby who has been one of the best Scotland internationals of the modern era (post 1980); that much is beyond debate. He's got a sketchy managerial record but has certainly succeeded at a very high level.

His biggest attributes also appears to be his man management skills. People seem to enjoy playing for him. Imo that would go along way just now.

26-01-2019, 05:42 PM
Only saying what I hear, lawyer friend of a club director reckons Strachan will be next manager

stop teasing

in fact no, don't stop

Hibees1973
26-01-2019, 05:43 PM
No chance Clarke will come to us. If he continues the way he has so far he will get a much bigger job than a Hibs soon.

No harm in asking but can’t see it.

Dempster has done well with her last 2 appointments so hope she comes up trumps again.

No other manager in Scotland comes to mind so likely to be someone down south.

26-01-2019, 05:45 PM
Strachan would jump at the chance of managing Hibs

26-01-2019, 05:46 PM
Wee Gordon.

SideBurns
26-01-2019, 05:46 PM
His biggest attributes also appears to be his man management skills. People seem to enjoy playing for him. Imo that would go along way just now.

And whatever kudos Lennon had, Strachan's international profile must be higher. I think he might have won the best player award in the '82 WC group stages in Spain? And yet, 10 years later, was still good enough to captain Leeds when they became English Champions. Character, self belief, ability.

There are no guarantees, but I'd like to see the wee man given a chance (assuming he would like the job, of course).

26-01-2019, 05:47 PM

He’s also said he’s got one last football management project in him. It’s fate for me.

26-01-2019, 05:49 PM
Two votes for Ian Cathro in the poll I see. What's Ian doing these days?

Coach at Wolves

I can see us going down a similar route to the stubbs appointment rather than an experienced manager.

26-01-2019, 05:51 PM

Voting in this poll under two usernames

26-01-2019, 05:51 PM
Alex Neil

26-01-2019, 05:52 PM
Chris Sutton.

Then the press can ask him a load of questions about Celtc.

26-01-2019, 06:01 PM
Paul Clements

Hope this is not serious?

26-01-2019, 06:03 PM
Kenny Miller. Player-manager.

26-01-2019, 06:05 PM
Alex Neil

:agree: Good shout. I never really liked him when he was up here but he's doing really well with Preston and is generally well thought of.

26-01-2019, 06:05 PM
Wouldn't be against that.

Nor would I. Very highly thought of...

BarneyHibby
26-01-2019, 06:07 PM
:gwa:#GGTTH

26-01-2019, 06:11 PM
Another wee ginger nut please.

I opted for Steve Clark although I can't see that happening in a month of Sundays.

Of the other options - they are all decent - but Tommy Wright seems a standout - consistent overperformer with St Johnstone on a much lesser budget and would probably jump at the chance to take the step up and manage Hibs.

HibbySpurs
Hasn’t Strachan always said he wants a shot at managing Hibs before he retires completely?

Now would seem the most likely and probably last chance he would get to realise that ambition.

For that reason I think there a good chance that’s who it will be, provided of course he is who Hibs want?

Don’t think his salary will be the problem as I doubtcash would be his major driver when considering the opportunity.

The most likely stumbling block is his ambitions matching up with what the club can provide in terms of budget to him.

I’d love it if Gordon won us a trophy in his swan song post.

26-01-2019, 06:12 PM
As long as he's forgotten about Joe Ts tackle, otherwise he'd be too scared to go near the pitch again.
Gg

26-01-2019, 06:15 PM
I wonder if hibs will invite applications or go headhunting for someone. How did we get Stubbs and Lennon?

26-01-2019, 06:15 PM
Hasn’t Strachan always said he wants a shot at managing Hibs before he retires completely?

Has he ever said that? I've never heard or read anything from him remotely like that.

mcfly
26-01-2019, 06:19 PM
We kind of need a new manager in ASAP.

This needs sorted in next few days

Does anyone think more players will sign this week or will we have to go with what we have?

HibbySpurs
26-01-2019, 06:28 PM
Has he ever said that? I've never heard or read anything from him remotely like that.

Think that’s why I asked it as a question 🤣. Seem to have it in my head that somewhere, sometime he did or someone has said he did. Is there any truth or just another urban myth I don’t really know!

HibbySpurs
26-01-2019, 06:29 PM

Does anyone think more players will sign this week or will we have to go with what we have?

Unless there’s one so far down the line it’s easier to proceed I doubt we will sign anyone else including trying to get SA in to the club this window sadly.

26-01-2019, 06:31 PM
Terry Christie 🧥

Sioux
26-01-2019, 07:00 PM

Very unlikely. NL situation needs needs dealt with first, and that might take a bit of time, if the issues are not exactly straightforward, as it might seem to be.

26-01-2019, 07:02 PM

26-01-2019, 08:37 PM

Brilliant tactics by the admins

26-01-2019, 08:43 PM

Now would seem the most likely and probably last chance he would get to realise that ambition.

For that reason I think there a good chance that’s who it will be, provided of course he is who Hibs want?

Don’t think his salary will be the problem as I doubtcash would be his major driver when considering the opportunity.

The most likely stumbling block is his ambitions matching up with what the club can provide in terms of budget to him.

I’d love it if Gordon won us a trophy in his swan song post.

After we beat them at ER (Rankin? Some other one? **** knows) he was interviewed on Sportsound and remarked that it’s where he’ll probably watch his football when he’s retired. Think that was his ambition of the moment.

26-01-2019, 08:51 PM
After we beat them at ER (Rankin? Some other one? **** knows) he was interviewed on Sportsound and remarked that it’s where he’ll probably watch his football when he’s retired. Think that was his ambition of the moment.

Colin Nish? That was the squigler game.

26-01-2019, 08:59 PM
Strachan. I think it's time to see if the wee Hibby fae Muirhoose can do it for us.

Too long in the tooth. He'd not be up for the day to day hassle any more. Plus I'm not convinced he's an especially good manager, Hibby or not.

26-01-2019, 09:03 PM
Colin Nish? That was the squigler game.

I meant some other game we beat them. I’m talking about Strachan. ****s Colin Nish got to do with any of this?

26-01-2019, 09:29 PM
Strachan could play top level football at 40.

He's got a good few years in him as a manager yet.

26-01-2019, 09:29 PM
It’s a sad day when we don’t think we can tempt the Kilmarnock manager to come to us.

26-01-2019, 09:34 PM
It’s a sad day when we don’t think we can tempt the Kilmarnock manager to come to us.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/kilmarnock/steve-clarke-knocks-back-approach-to-become-next-rangers-boss-1-4731207/amp

26-01-2019, 09:36 PM
Not sure who there all is that we could get

Scott Gemmill
Jody Morris
Strachan
Mark Warburton??
Tommy Wright
Gary Holt

Quite confident it will be another young coach who we have probably not heard of.

Most important thing is that we get them in ASAP so that we have time to sign players in this window which is very unlikely.

Leaves is in a bit of a mess as we’re still about 3/4 players short imo.

Presume this means MacLaren is now staying too.

Tornadoes70
26-01-2019, 09:39 PM

In normal times yes granted as the Killie manager wouldn't normally have as much interest in him. Clarke is a Killie phenomenon and they should cherish the time he's there. It would be a major coup to tempt him here but who knows.

Gary Holt's done a fine job at Livingston and one to note.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

supermcginn
26-01-2019, 09:39 PM
Too long in the tooth. He'd not be up for the day to day hassle any more. Plus I'm not convinced he's an especially good manager, Hibby or not.

Dominated scottish football even with rangers spending big. Lennon couldn't even beat ross county at hampden with a squad on astronomical money. He was too loyal to certain players as scotland manager but at club level lennon couldnt lace his boots.

Silversand
26-01-2019, 10:00 PM
Warbs [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

Loving the humour here guys [emoji1787]

26-01-2019, 10:04 PM
Warbs [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

Loving the humour here guys [emoji1787]

Sent from my SM-G950F using TapatalkWe'd need a song if this Hibs cup leg end was to get the job.

26-01-2019, 10:16 PM
Big Ron Atkinson.

26-01-2019, 10:47 PM

From a permanent perspective, I’d rather the necessary time is taken in order to get the right man.

Personally I’d like to see Stubbs back. If not, I’d like it to be someone similar to Stubbs i.e not a name I would think of but ends up being my favourite manager giving me the best day out of my life:)

I don’t get the whole ‘club needs gutted from the core’ thing at all. This manager’s time has come to an end for whatever reasons and it’s time to replace him. Nothing more. Since relegation and the new regime, managerial appointments have gone well and I’ve no reason to doubt that’ll continue.

Bring it on.

26-01-2019, 10:47 PM
Clarke probably wont leave Kfc. He might not be a good fit for us anyway.
For me its either Gordon Strachan or Stubbsy.
Whoever wants it the most should get it.

26-01-2019, 10:48 PM

So if we can get the fat git to stop eating chicken we may just have a chance?!

Criswell
26-01-2019, 10:50 PM
Tommy Wright..?? After his ridiculous antics at ER last season....No Way!

27-01-2019, 12:19 AM
Clarke is just waiting for Brenda to leave and he will be moved seamlessly into Parkhead.
He distanced himself from the Rangers job in the summer because they are still a shambolic financial mess.

Strachan is the right guy at the right time. Managing Hibs would be the cherry to top off his career in football.
Great man manager, good patter. Scott Brown might even join his old pal in the summer for his own last hurrah.
There is lots of talent at Easter Road for him to work with and Scott Allan is already teed up for the summer.
A few wee tweaks and we would be up and moving forwards again.
His time with the Scotland national is the only one were all the players were happy and wanted to play for the team and that was entirely down to him.
Would be the perfect antidote to Lennon's anger and aggression.

P.S. he is only 61 so plenty of energy still in the tank.

27-01-2019, 12:21 AM
I meant some other game we beat them. I’m talking about Strachan. ****s Colin Nish got to do with any of this?

The game Rankin scored against Celtic Nish scored the other. Settle the **** down and stop being an aggressive dolt.

eezyrider
27-01-2019, 12:51 AM
Clarke knocked back Rangers so can't see him opting to come to us. Think he has his eyes on another shot down south.

So it's Strachan for me.

EZ

27-01-2019, 03:13 AM
anyone know if LD has given wee Gogs a standby call yet :hyper

or

has scott broonaldo been doing any coaching courses yet ? could he do a week-long crash course, then player/coach, Strachan and Brown the dream team, put £30 on ST's and £3 on walk-ups to finance it :)

Basildon Hibs
27-01-2019, 03:54 AM
anyone know if LD has given wee Gogs a standby call yet :hyper

or

has scott broonaldo been doing any coaching courses yet ? could he do a week-long crash course, then player/coach, Strachan and Brown the dream team, put £30 on ST's and £3 on walk-ups to finance it :)

If they're Hibs men/fans the there's no need to Increase any money. They'd do it for the love of the club.

Not that they'll be coming to Hibs ...

27-01-2019, 06:18 AM
Remember Guti and Kluivert were linked with the St Mirren job?

Wonder if we’ll show an interest in someone like that.

27-01-2019, 07:16 AM
Remember Guti and Kluivert were linked with the St Mirren job?

Wonder if we’ll show an interest in someone like that.

Forgot about that. St Mirren being linked with Guti, Kluivert and saw a deal for Ronaldinho fall through at the last minute before.. who’d have ever thought that would happen :greengrin

27-01-2019, 07:18 AM

Haha very good.

blaikie
27-01-2019, 07:24 AM
If it Strachan, then this will certainly be an intresting evening :greengrin

https://culturenl.co.uk/an-evening-with-neil-lennon-gordon-strachan/

27-01-2019, 07:25 AM
Strachan for me but probably more niavely, hoping Lennon will stay.

re Clarke and Wright, great managers at the clubs they are with and appear very much a fit but ... Williamson & Butcher spring to mind.

27-01-2019, 07:30 AM
Strachan for me but probably more niavely, hoping Lennon will stay.

re Clarke and Wright, great managers at the clubs they are with and appear very much a fit but ... Williamson & Butcher spring to mind.

Clarke done pretty well at WBA aswell, took them to their highest ever finish I’m sure? Agree about Wright though based on nothing other than a gut feeling.

27-01-2019, 07:33 AM
Forgot about that. St Mirren being linked with Guti, Kluivert and saw a deal for Ronaldinho fall through at the last minute before.. who’d have ever thought that would happen :greengrin

Linked to all those high profile people and who have they ended up with in recent years? Eric Djemba Djemba. Poor *******s

JimboHibs
27-01-2019, 07:37 AM
Id like Darren Fletcher.

Who we will get havent a clue.

27-01-2019, 08:05 AM
If it Strachan, then this will certainly be an intresting evening :greengrin
https://culturenl.co.uk/an-evening-with-neil-lennon-gordon-strachan/
Wtf is a Hibs manager going on a show to talk about another club. Has the greedy wee bar Strwart not got enough money. This makes me glad he is gone. To hell with him and to hell with Selik.

blaikie
27-01-2019, 08:20 AM
Wtf is a Hibs manager going on a show to talk about another club. Has the greedy wee bar Strwart not got enough money. This makes me glad he is gone. To hell with him and to hell with Selik.

He has attended several of them, plus he's still an active pundit on Irish Television as well.

Personally, I don't have a problem with it if it allows us to attract big name Players, Managers, Coaches that we might not be able to do otherwise. Long as it doesn't interfere with the running of the club.

Back on subject - Strachan is the obvious choice given his affections for the club but if we have parted ways with Lennon under a cloud he might not fancy the job out of solidarity with Lennon ...... I'd go the Stubbs/Mowbray route and look down south for a Reserve Manager/Coach.

Rab fi Mussie
27-01-2019, 08:28 AM
Would like to see wee Gordon with Darren Fletcher as assistant with a view to taking over in medium term

27-01-2019, 08:33 AM
He has attended several of them, plus he's still an active pundit on Irish Television as well.

Personally, I don't have a problem with it if it allows us to attract big name Players, Managers, Coaches that we might not be able to do otherwise. Long as it doesn't interfere with the running of the club.

Back on subject - Strachan is the obvious choice given his affections for the club but if we have parted ways with Lennon under a cloud he might not fancy the job out of solidarity with Lennon ...... I'd go the Stubbs/Mowbray route and look down south for a Reserve Manager/Coach.
We are in the sh@t and we needed to pull together not swan off doing Chat
Shows.

The Leith Dutch
27-01-2019, 08:40 AM
Of the other options - they are all decent - but Tommy Wright seems a standout - consistent overperformer with St Johnstone on a much lesser budget and would probably jump at the chance to take the step up and manage Hibs.

I don't get the Wright thing.
He's doing a decent job with players we rejected on a much lower budget.

That's a whole different ball game to managing at Hibs with the expectations - justified or not - of our support.

I want a manager who's going to have us in the mix challenging Celtic.
I think Wright would. at best, have us solid top 6.

It's a tough call for who to bring in.

They need to balance adding steel/winner's mentality with playing good football and they're going to have to do the first part of it with a pool of players who, while good individually, don't obviously fit together as a team. That alone suggests we may go for a temporary appointment until summer to avoid the new manager starting on a hiding to nothing.

27-01-2019, 08:53 AM
Strachan would be an exciting one imo.

He would demand and get instant respect from all the players and expect a certain standard.

The big name he is, and players he has worked with in the past would only help us in attracting new players to the club

Would Brown consider returning if he got the job?

Only thing with Strachan that may annoy our fans is I don’t think he cares about style of football, purely as long as we get results.

27-01-2019, 08:56 AM
Strachan and Lee Clark linked this morning, whoever we go for do we give them a deal till the end of the season?

blaikie
27-01-2019, 09:02 AM
Strachan and Lee Clark linked this morning, whoever we go for do we give them a deal till the end of the season?

No to Lee Clark straight away, his record isn't great since leaving Huddersfield!

27-01-2019, 09:05 AM
No to Lee Clark straight away, his record isn't great since leaving Huddersfield!

Lee Clark🤣

27-01-2019, 09:13 AM
Former Newcastle United star Lee Clark is on Hibernian's shortlist to replace Neil Lennon as boss at Easter Road.

The Chronicle understands that Clark would be interested in a return to the Scottish Premiership after a successful stint with Kilmarnock between 2016 and 2017.

Back then Clark steadied the ship at Rugby Park guiding the club to top-flight safety and losing just 16 of his 42 matches in charge.

Clark isn't the only one in contention to take over from Lennon, with Scotland Under-21 coach Scot Gemmil and ex-Hibs chief Alan Stubbs also in the frame.

27-01-2019, 09:16 AM
Former Newcastle United star Lee Clark is on Hibernian's shortlist to replace Neil Lennon as boss at Easter Road.

The Chronicle understands that Clark would be interested in a return to the Scottish Premiership after a successful stint with Kilmarnock between 2016 and 2017.

Back then Clark steadied the ship at Rugby Park guiding the club to top-flight safety and losing just 16 of his 42 matches in charge.

Clark isn't the only one in contention to take over from Lennon, with Scotland Under-21 coach Scot Gemmil and ex-Hibs chief Alan Stubbs also in the frame.

That story seems to be taken from the Daily Record piece that was just suggesting names for the job. No chance Lee Clark gets anywhere near it.

27-01-2019, 09:24 AM
Does Strachan not stay down south. If so not sure a club job up here may attract. Might be wrong.

Alfiembra
27-01-2019, 09:29 AM
John Doolan gets my vote, a great opportunity to give the job to someone that absolutely loves the club and give him the step up from being a no. 2

27-01-2019, 09:44 AM
Working for Acclington Stanley but I would pull out the stops to bring him to ER.

27-01-2019, 09:52 AM
Working for Acclington Stanley but I would pull out the stops to bring him to ER.

Even though he’s never been a Head Coach ??

27-01-2019, 10:02 AM
Strachan probably the most exciting appointment we can hope for

27-01-2019, 10:04 AM
Why not add Alan Preston to the poll seeing d*** head Cathro is there ?

27-01-2019, 10:07 AM
Even though he’s never been a Head Coach ??

Every coach has to start somewhere. His boundless enthusiasm would be a major asset and no doubt he knows the game and ‘gets’ the Club. Also Rod holds him in high regard.

27-01-2019, 10:13 AM

Might as well put John Robertson in as well.

EastThomasSTboy
27-01-2019, 10:24 AM
The game Rankin scored against Celtic Nish scored the other. Settle the **** down and stop being an aggressive dolt..

Had to laugh at this. Iggy is most certainly not an "Aggressive Dolt".:wink::wink::flag:

27-01-2019, 10:25 AM
That story seems to be taken from the Daily Record piece that was just suggesting names for the job. No chance Lee Clark gets anywhere near it.

:agree: I would think any names in the "press" are pure speculation and just space fillers.

yerauldda
27-01-2019, 10:32 AM
Mikel Arteta.

27-01-2019, 10:37 AM
Gordon Strachan would be a sensational appointment and a big upgrade on Neil Lennon.

27-01-2019, 10:42 AM
Gary Rowett.

27-01-2019, 10:53 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/kilmarnock/steve-clarke-knocks-back-approach-to-become-next-rangers-boss-1-4731207/amp

New club unlike ourselves with over 100 years of history

27-01-2019, 10:54 AM
New club unlike ourselves with over 100 years of history

Well played [emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

27-01-2019, 10:56 AM

Clarke may leave if McDonalds come in for him

Baker9
27-01-2019, 11:07 AM

Yes please!

27-01-2019, 11:14 AM
Would like to see wee Gordon with Darren Fletcher as assistant with a view to taking over in medium term

Has Fletcher done his badges? Always comes across as knowledgeable on the tv. Would be an interesting pair.

27-01-2019, 11:42 AM

Had to laugh at this. Iggy is most certainly not an "Aggressive Dolt".:wink::wink::flag:

I took Colin Nish as slang for something entirely aggressive :greengrin
Maybe I was mistaken, me being a dolt this perishing day in Paisley..

27-01-2019, 11:46 AM
Clarke knocked back Rangers so can't see him opting to come to us. Think he has his eyes on another shot down south.

So it's Strachan for me.

EZ
Rangers never approached Clarke he said as much himself.

27-01-2019, 12:03 PM
If they're Hibs men/fans the there's no need to Increase any money. They'd do it for the love of the club.

Not that they'll be coming to Hibs ...

a mans gotta eat

and dream :(

NYHibby
27-01-2019, 12:09 PM
I was listening to a Scottish rugby podcast yesterday, and they said a Yougov poll recently found Terry Butcher is the most popular football manager amongst people who follow Scottish rugby.

27-01-2019, 12:14 PM
Kris Boyd

Santa Cruz
27-01-2019, 12:24 PM
James McFadden. I like him.

27-01-2019, 12:29 PM
David Hopkins

27-01-2019, 03:43 PM

In there for a reason and it may well have flushed oot a couple of smelly manky jamboids,

27-01-2019, 03:49 PM
In there for a reason and it may well have flushed oot a couple of smelly manky jamboids,

Gotta remember we only know Cathro as a Potter puppet. Without that clown alternately pulling his strings/hanging him out to dry he might be fine.

27-01-2019, 04:01 PM
Gotta remember we only know Cathro as a Potter puppet. Without that clown alternately pulling his strings/hanging him out to dry he might be fine.

Are you suggesting that I put leevain in the list as well shirley no.

27-01-2019, 04:07 PM
Are you suggesting that I put leevain in the list as well shirley no.

No. He could never manage our players, they're not tall enough.

Weegreenman
27-01-2019, 04:18 PM
I’d like to see Gary Holt given a chance. I heard him talking on the radio the other night and he comes across as a very professional likeable guy who likes to play attacking football.

Big L
27-01-2019, 04:29 PM
Malky Mackay, Time he was pardoned imo.

Ilovehibs
27-01-2019, 05:02 PM
I’d like to see Gary Holt given a chance. I heard him talking on the radio the other night and he comes across as a very professional likeable guy who likes to play attacking football.

Watched his pre match interview today and thought the same. Comes over really well

27-01-2019, 05:05 PM
I would go for Tommy Wright

The obvious choice is Clarke but that won't happen

27-01-2019, 05:09 PM
Malky Mackay, Time he was pardoned imo.

I think he would do a great job

Here’s Lucy!
27-01-2019, 05:11 PM
Tommy Wright

:bitchy:

Here’s Lucy!
27-01-2019, 05:12 PM
Kris Boyd

27-01-2019, 05:21 PM
Would aw the moon men stop selecting Steve Clarke in the poll.
Get real!
He is waiting on Brenda movin' on whilst enjoying himself at Killie and fair hoovering up the plaudits..
There is more chance of him moving down south than coming to Hibs
AND the tache wouldnae pay the necessary compensation to buy out his contract.

27-01-2019, 05:33 PM
I think people are thinking about this completely the wrong way.

The managers we have enjoyed the most in recent times share one attribute - they were uncompromising defenders at Celtc.

On that basis I think we will appoint Andreas Hinkel or maybe Stanislav Varga.

Scarily, there is an outside chance my theory holds water and we tweak it slightly by going for Peter Grant!

27-01-2019, 05:34 PM
Stubbs until end of season or Wim Jansen.

27-01-2019, 05:36 PM
Gordon Strachan for me is one id probably be happy with not saying he’s who I want but at this stage I don’t actually know

27-01-2019, 05:39 PM
Gordon Strachan for me is one id probably be happy with not saying he’s who I want but at this stage I don’t actually know

He’s not the most exciting but the more I think of him the more it makes sense.

I suspect if he’s not interested he’ll make it known quite quickly though.

Good pals with Lennon and is settled living down south so may not fancy it.

hibs#1
27-01-2019, 06:14 PM
Stubbs until end of season or Wim Jansen.

Jansen hasn't managed in 20 years doubt he'd change his mind for hibs.

27-01-2019, 06:17 PM

The managers we have enjoyed the most in recent times share one attribute - they were uncompromising defenders at Celtc.

Scarily, there is an outside chance my theory holds water and we tweak it slightly by going for Peter Grant!

Billy McNeill enjoyed a brief and eventful spell at us I recall.
So did another uncompromising stalwart in Bertie Auld.

elevengoats
27-01-2019, 06:20 PM
Jose Mourinho is free.

27-01-2019, 06:24 PM
Whoever comes in must recognise that there have been plenty broken hearts over recent results and events and a fair bit of sorrow around our descent in the league. Once he sees that, he needs to claim our hearts, touch them and save them. There have been tears. His beauty (as a coach) and kindness needs to dry them and clear any recent blindness that Hibs are still a top team. We'll all thank him as the new chief if he makes the sun shine again on Leith.

27-01-2019, 06:27 PM
Would aw the moon men stop selecting Steve Clarke in the poll.
Get real!
He is waiting on Brenda movin' on whilst enjoying himself at Killie and fair hoovering up the plaudits..
There is more chance of him moving down south than coming to Hibs
AND the tache wouldnae pay the necessary compensation to buy out his contract.
The question being asked is who do you want? Doesn't make me a moon man answering it.

Also, who thought Neil Lennon would get the job last time? You probably would have called me a moon man for wanting him.

Leith's finest
27-01-2019, 06:45 PM
Jackie Mac jnr ? Ian Murray ? Rob Jones? A.Stubbs are all cheap options. Myself I would at least try for M.O'neil I think he stays in Edinburgh area

27-01-2019, 06:53 PM
Jackie Mac jnr ? Ian Murray ? Rob Jones? A.Stubbs are all cheap options. Myself I would at least try for M.O'neil I think he stays in Edinburgh area

I'd love Michael O'Neil but can you imagine how much compensation we'd have to give Norn Iron?

And that's before we start thinking about his salary.

27-01-2019, 07:01 PM
I'd love Michael O'Neil but can you imagine how much compensation we'd have to give Norn Iron?

And that's before we start thinking about his salary.

He wouldn't switch to being Scotland Manager so very little chance of him moving to Hibs.

27-01-2019, 07:02 PM
Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink will no doubt apply

27-01-2019, 07:04 PM

Was Grant not a nippy Celtic midfielder who was more grit than grace, not sure I could cope with another of those

27-01-2019, 07:08 PM
The question being asked is who do you want? Doesn't make me a moon man answering it.

Also, who thought Neil Lennon would get the job last time? You probably would have called me a moon man for wanting him.

Lennon had been sacked by Bolton and was available.

27-01-2019, 07:19 PM
Was Grant not a nippy Celtic midfielder who was more grit than grace, not sure I could cope with another of those

That's what I meant by tweaking the formula.

He was one of those players it was easy to dislike unless he played for your team in which case you would love him.

I doubt he is in contention and he seems to be happy working with McLeish but I'm sure some club will offer him a berth at some point.

27-01-2019, 07:23 PM
He wouldn't switch to being Scotland Manager so very little chance of him moving to Hibs.

And that was for a £1m salary.

27-01-2019, 07:24 PM

He was one of those players it was easy to dislike unless he played for your team in which case you would love him.

I doubt he is in contention and he seems to be happy working with McLeish but I'm sure some club will offer him a berth at some point.

I'm sure he will have the opportunity to apply. I hope LD makes he mind up based on both past record and also the fit for Hibs and her vision. If Lennon goes quick it might even give us the chance to get someone in who is out of a job and let them have the next 4 months to see what they can do with teh promise of a contract thereafter.

27-01-2019, 07:35 PM
I would reckon Stephen Robinson, Gary Holt and Scot Gemmill will be under consideration.

Won't happen but I would go for Kenny Miller.

27-01-2019, 08:11 PM
1. Clarke
2. Strachan
3. McInnes
4. Rowett
5. G. Potter

27-01-2019, 08:16 PM
I would reckon Stephen Robinson, Gary Holt and Scot Gemmill will be under consideration.

Won't happen but I would go for Kenny Miller.

Kenny Miller? Based on his stellar management career?

27-01-2019, 08:27 PM
I would be more than happy with a foreign manager working abroad. A Dutch or Portuguese manager who likes to play free flowing attacking football

Perd Hapley
27-01-2019, 08:46 PM
Ian Cathro has been a great servant of this club in previous years and I have little doubt he would be again

27-01-2019, 08:49 PM
Paul Clement
Gary Rowett
Paul Heckingbottom
Gordon Strachan
Scott Gemmill

27-01-2019, 08:56 PM

Lennon's ability to irritate the huns will be sadly missed.

Peter Grant is one of few men with a similar innate ability to do so just by being himself.

27-01-2019, 09:12 PM

Peter Grant is one of few men with a similar innate ability to do so just by being himself.

Stokesy in as player manager? 😂

27-01-2019, 09:16 PM

True and I bet he is loathed across the road as well. I imagine they call him Pheter Ghrant.

As I think about it, other than Mowbray and Stubbs, the other manager to bring us great joy in recent times was JC. It's clear to me that there is something lucky when we appoint a gaffer who played for our little cousins.

Marc Rieper, Carl Muggleton, Anton Rogan - I don't care - but it's clear what we need to succeed :agree:

percy veer
27-01-2019, 09:25 PM
Billy Davies got a job yet

27-01-2019, 09:29 PM
I actually think it’s a brilliant time to be hiring a manager with the Scottish game at an unusual high point with the profile of the likes of gerrard and Brendan Rodgers. The competitiveness of the season with Clark at Kilmarnock doing great may also be a carrot for decent calibre managers wanting to kick start their careers up here. Previously I would say it would be seen as a graveyard for decent managers who wouldnt want to touch Scottish football.

27-01-2019, 09:45 PM
Scott Brown- player manager!

Lemonade
27-01-2019, 10:19 PM
Scott Brown- player manager!

Im hoping you are joking .

27-01-2019, 10:21 PM
Holt or Scott Gemill

Austinho
27-01-2019, 10:51 PM
An entire database of available managers here:
https://www.transfermarkt.com/trainer/verfuegbaretrainer/statistik including the likes of Roberto Di Matteo, Stuart Pearce, Tony Adams

27-01-2019, 11:21 PM
1. Clarke
2. Strachan
3. McInnes
4. Rowett
5. G. Potter

after Gogs i wouldn't mind Mcinnes, of course that would mean never beating the old firm again but we would have a great record against non-old firm teams :agree:

27-01-2019, 11:23 PM
after Gogs i wouldn't mind Mcinnes, of course that would mean never beating the old firm again but we would have a great record against non-old firm teams, i've thunk this through :agree:

Didn’t he win his last two games against the huns?

28-01-2019, 12:06 AM
Someone foreign with new ideas and new ways of thinking.

Time for a very new broom.

28-01-2019, 12:26 AM
I imagine he'd be outwith our budget but David Wagner would be a real prize catch to my mind.

28-01-2019, 12:45 AM

You mean like The Rangers with Pedro a couple of years ago.
It would end in tears.

28-01-2019, 01:06 AM

If it's who do you want. The answer would be Klopp, Guardiola etc. Do you prefer Clarke to them?
Re Lennon, his stock was low after leaving Bolton by "mutual consent" with a 23% winning average. The club was a basket case but it damaged his standing as a manager.
The Hibs job suited both parties at the time. Lennon to repair his managerial reputation and Hibs to get promoted.
Here's hoping the club get the right person:wink:.

Tornadoes70
28-01-2019, 01:13 AM
I just want a manager who sends players out to play to their optimum strengths. One who doesn't try to square circles. I don't like chefs who experiment with putting chocolate on bacon :greengrin neither do I like managers placing players into unsuitable positions.

I'd prefer an up and coming manager like Gary Holt but there's plenty of likely candidates out there and whoever the board hire I'll give them my support.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

28-01-2019, 03:47 AM
Didn’t he win his last two games against the huns?

will i change it to 'almost never' due to a couple of recent 'how on earth did that happen' blips against sevco ? they wont beat them the next game...after they've played us next sat

28-01-2019, 04:22 AM

Heard him and Boyd have first dibs on a chicken bucket feast.

28-01-2019, 04:53 AM

I agree with this. Fresh new ideas.

Austinho
28-01-2019, 05:35 AM

Time for a very new broom.Paul le Guen, Pedro Caixinha, Ronny Deila, Csaba Laszlo, Valdas Ivanauskas, Anatoly Korobochka, Paulo Sergio, Wim Jansen, Dick Advocaat, Ebbe Skovdahl, Ivan Golac, Frank Sauzee, Mixu Paatelainen, Josef Venglos, Ivano Bonetti, Antonio Calderon, Sergei Baltacha.

A mix of good, bad and disasterous. But mostly distinctly average. I’m sure the same sample size from Scottish managers would churn out a similar ratio mind you. Hearts won 2 Scottish Cups with foreign managers, and Dundee United did it too, however Golac also got them relegated. Obviously Jansen and Advocaat were roaring successes, but even the Old Firm have struggled with a few foreign appointments. And the less said about Berti Vogts the better.

If a foreign candidate stood out above everyone else, I’d love to see it, but Scottish Football can be a shock to many to begin with, and we aren’t exactly the forgiving type to give them long if they get off to a bad start.

We have been blessed in Scotland with having several of the greatest managers of all time. Probably nowhere on earth that churns out good managers per capita than us. However the talent pool seems to be greatly reduced at the top of the game these days.

28-01-2019, 07:09 AM
Media reporting we want Strachan.

28-01-2019, 07:15 AM

Unfortunately, new brooms with new ideas need time to change things.

Scottish football doesn't allow a coach the luxury of time. Results, results, results are king.

Paloschi
28-01-2019, 07:36 AM
Strachan until the end of the season for me. I don't think Clarke is realistic given his reputation.

28-01-2019, 08:21 AM
Id be delighted with Strachan

Id want longer than 4 months out of it though

28-01-2019, 08:27 AM
Gordon Strachan

28-01-2019, 08:31 AM
Someone in my work mentioned Paul Hurst

I'm Spartacus
30-01-2019, 01:03 PM
I'm told ..... "Permission requested and granted to speak to Tommy Wright".

YHIHF.

30-01-2019, 01:07 PM

YHIHF.

I hope your at the wind up

30-01-2019, 01:10 PM

YHIHF.

I dont know why, because hes done a terrific job at St Johnstone

I just cant see him fitting in here

Unless he gets all biffo in the next derby like up at Dens [emoji23]

30-01-2019, 01:11 PM
I hope your at the wind up

Not the most exciting of appointment but he’s a good manager. Wouldn’t be a disaster at all.

30-01-2019, 01:15 PM

YHIHF.

That would be a 'meh' from me.

I'm Spartacus
30-01-2019, 01:24 PM
I'm a bit meh too - but maybe just the mature appointment we need, we've taken so many chances over the years and churned through so many managers. Maybe not a bad choice - say we did have the funds and ability to lure Steve C from Killie, all it takes is one great season again then a big shark comes along and says "I'll be having him thank you very much".

There has to be something in the news about this if it's true, journos will be asking each day.

euro Hibby
For any half decent manager its and easy pay check for 6 months. Expectations low, just do not get us relegated , do your best in the cup and prepare us for 2020...
but it also depends also if we are able to strengthen or not ! A good result will be top 6 . Personally however , I prefer a long term appointment but there are so many buts and if's with this one
and not being behind the scenes it is all guess work.

- do you take a manager with a name and some reputation - Gordon Strachan
- do you try a popular choice ex captain but not tested much Rob Jones
- do you want to piss the Hibs fans off - Ally Mcoist or David Weir or David moyes.
- do you got out of box with some foreign guy who knows nothing about the Scottish game.
- do you go for player manager - Kenny miller
- do you take a 6 month man Stubsy whose market vaule is currently low but well liked as a person.

or will Hibs surprise us ....

Like many I think clarke will hang on waiting for Brenda to move onto bigger things. So i discarded him.

Spudster
And the less said about Berti Vogts the better.

Last manager to get us to the playoffs with a worse squad than all those who have followed him? Granted we were in Pot B for those qualifiers which is a massive advantage.

30-01-2019, 01:26 PM

YHIHF.

By told, do you mean read on the Bounce?
Just asking.

30-01-2019, 01:35 PM
I dont know why, because hes done a terrific job at St Johnstone

I just cant see him fitting in here

Unless he gets all biffo in the next derby like up at Dens [emoji23]

I also have the rather irrational feeling that Wright would be another Terry Butcher for us.

30-01-2019, 01:40 PM
Certainly prefer Tommy Wright to Lee Clark

30-01-2019, 01:46 PM
I would prefer Tommy Cooper to Lee Clark and he has been deed for years.

Tornadoes70
30-01-2019, 02:00 PM
Tommy Wright has done a sterling job at St Johnstone. His experience of the Scottish game would stand him in good stead and would steady the ship so to speak. If he's hired I wouldn't be too disappointed.

There's certain to be any number of names bandied around so I'll take them all with a pinch of salt until reading the board have actually appointed someone.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

30-01-2019, 02:05 PM
I want the club to start focusing on youth development and having most of our team made up of players under 25. I don't ever want to see us signing a 30+ year old huddy who offers the square root of **** all when we will have dozens of players under 21 who could come in and do a much better job. I want our manager to focus on building a club that will play young players and develop them in great detail like the academies of Ajax etc. It's not just about football, it's about academic promise and intelligence both on and off the pitch.

As it happens, Gordon Strachan is of the same mindset as me so I'd want him to be our next manager if the club would allow him the scope to work this way. However, I don't think the fans would allow this approach as we all want instant success and this way can take many years to achieve success.

HibeeHibernian4
30-01-2019, 02:22 PM
As it happens, Gordon Strachan is of the same mindset as me so I'd want him to be our next manager if the club would allow him the scope to work this way. However, I don't think the fans would allow this approach as we all want instant success and this way can take many years to achieve success.

Can't speak for the whole fanbase, but I would take three-to-five 7th place finishes in a row if it resulted in this becoming the new Hibs way. The money we'd make in transfer fees, the prestige our academy could gain, the exciting, youthful football. It's a no brainer for me.

30-01-2019, 02:26 PM
David Hopkins

Scouse, I think you mean David Hopkin?
Played for Chelsea, Leeds, Bradford, Crystal Palace and Morton. Managed Livingston to 2 promotions and now manager at Bradford. Even Bradford probably pay more than us and now he's down South he would most likely be hoping for a bigger job down there next?

30-01-2019, 02:27 PM
Can't speak for the whole fanbase, but I would take three-to-five 7th place finishes in a row if it resulted in this becoming the new Hibs way. The money we'd make in transfer fees, the prestige our academy could gain, the exciting, youthful football. It's a no brainer for me.

Young footballers would also be more likely to sign if they thought we would improve them and in time play them.

30-01-2019, 09:47 PM
Sir Alan Stubbs !!

Gets my vote as well

31-01-2019, 12:02 PM
I want Steve Clarke but it's never going to happen.

Strachan is a bit more realistic which wouldn't have been the case a year or so ago so I'd be delighted if we could get him.

31-01-2019, 12:33 PM
I want the club to start focusing on youth development and having most of our team made up of players under 25. I don't ever want to see us signing a 30+ year old huddy who offers the square root of **** all when we will have dozens of players under 21 who could come in and do a much better job. I want our manager to focus on building a club that will play young players and develop them in great detail like the academies of Ajax etc. It's not just about football, it's about academic promise and intelligence both on and off the pitch.

A few points -

First - it was only a couple of months ago, we were being reported as the best team in the UK for playing guys who'd come through the academy - http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/9408

Second - who would decide if the 30+ year old potential signing was a huddy, before we signed him though?

And finally, surely Gordon "Scotland are genetically behind" Strachan isn't the right person to develop our young players? He'd have East Mains kitted out with Racks, for stretching out all our wee genetically inferior players.

Nemo
31-01-2019, 06:21 PM
Stubbs

shetlandhibee
31-01-2019, 06:42 PM
STUBBS for me till end of season.. no brainer :agree::thumbsup: