View Full Version : If Lennon has gone, who should replace him?

HibeeHibernian4
25-01-2019, 10:58 PM
Yes it might be jumping the gun slightly, but it’s better to be prepared. For me there’s only one man, step forward cup specialist Alan Stubbs.

25-01-2019, 10:58 PM
Strachan or Stubbs.

James Stephen
25-01-2019, 11:00 PM
Stubbs, because he knows the club and we know him.

Im not saying its a long term solution, but we dont have the luxury of time and stubbs would be a safe pair of hands to buy us time

25-01-2019, 11:00 PM
Stubbs, at least until the end of the season. Knows half the squad already and a great motivator. Big game manager too.

25-01-2019, 11:01 PM
Tommy Wright for me.

hibbydad
25-01-2019, 11:01 PM
jOHN dOOLAN HE WAS THE MAN BEHIND STUBBS

hibsfan7
25-01-2019, 11:02 PM
Alan stubbs

25-01-2019, 11:02 PM
Gordon Strachan

HibeeHibernian4
25-01-2019, 11:03 PM
Stubbs, at least until the end of the season. Knows half the squad already and a great motivator. Big game manager too.

An important point. Stubbs lost his first Edinburgh Derby narrowly and then never looked back. We had a hold over Hearts under him. I personally am not as bothered about derby results as some on here, but if you want somebody who will make sure Hearts don’t get the better of us, Alan Stubbs is your man.

Stubbs but his coaches aswell

Not Stubbs to be honest. Was honking at Rotherham and even worse at St Mirren. Maybe leave Grant Murray in charge to end of the season?

25-01-2019, 11:04 PM
An important point. Stubbs lost his first Edinburgh Derby narrowly and then never looked back. We had a hold over Hearts under him. I personally am not as bothered about derby results as some on here, but if you want somebody who will make sure Hearts don’t get the better of us, Alan Stubbs is your man.

To be fair, that's a big part of my decision. Stubbs won't take any **** from Hearts.

I think it will be a caretaker until the summer then a longer term appointment. On that basis it could be anyone. Even someone from within the club just to steady the ship.

hfcok
Steve Clarke

Not Stubbs ffs. The mans a legend please leave your reputation as it is Alan.

HibeeHibernian4
Stubbs but his coaches aswell

Yep, this is crucial. Doolan and Taff as well please if it did come to fruition.

James310
25-01-2019, 11:05 PM

Unlike Hearts we are not defined by our results against them. Yes it's nice to beat them but there are 11 other teams we need to beat as well.

Stubbs to end of season, see how he does. If no improvement someone else, if he does well then the jobs his.

zolliehibs
Allan Johnston. He’s the outstanding candidate.

HibeeHibernian4

Should Eddie Turnbull have left his reputation intact as one fifth of Scotland’s greatest ever forward line and not risked it by managing Hibs?

LustForLeith
Anyone know if there’s any odds? Can’t find them anywhere. You often get next Manager odds even when the manager hasn’t left!

James310
25-01-2019, 11:06 PM
Steve Clarke

I said Stubbs as I think there is no chance Clarke would come to Hibs. But if he would consider it then definitely.

Whittaker

Who?

dirtydirk
25-01-2019, 11:07 PM
I would take Graham Murty. Always thought he was hard done by but came across really well and had a lot of respect for us

BarneyHibby
25-01-2019, 11:07 PM
Alan Stubbs on a short term contract for me.

Moody Blues
25-01-2019, 11:08 PM

This. Definitely don't want him back.

Zidane is out of the work is he not?

Failing that I don't really know. Stubbs would be sentimental, but if we hired anyone else with his recent record, we would be losing the head.

Tommy Wright just doesn't play the type of football that would be accepted at Easter Road.

Steve Clarke, we have no chance.

Strachan is a yesterday's man.

I genuinely don't know. Bring in a random from scandanavia and get us some excitement.

Should Eddie Turnbull have left his reputation intact as one fifth of Scotland’s greatest ever forward line and not risked it by managing Hibs?

He never won the Scottish cup though

25-01-2019, 11:09 PM
Mikel Arteta 👀

Gaffer1875
25-01-2019, 11:10 PM
Gordon Strachan

Togs91
25-01-2019, 11:12 PM
Steve Clarke

Why would he leave high flying killie? And do we have the money?

HibeeHibernian4
25-01-2019, 11:13 PM

Failing that I don't really know. Stubbs would be sentimental, but if we hired anyone else with his recent record, we would be losing the head.

Tommy Wright just doesn't play the type of football that would be accepted at Easter Road.

I genuinely don't know. Bring in a random from scandanavia and get us some excitement.

What are we as a club though without sentiment?

We’re not some hard nosed capitalist business venture, we’re a football club and the entire 114 years was built upon sentiment. Stubbs gave us our greatest ever day in footbal and, if he wants to return, we should be rolling out the red carpet for his return.

25-01-2019, 11:15 PM
Some posters have been reassuring us for weeks that we will easily find a better manager than Lennon so I'm sure everything will be just fine.

Plenty time to sign more players before the window shuts, no reason why the Board would want to hold off on spending until a new manager is appointed, the team will pick itself, always good for any club to have the Chief Executive intervene on the side of the players against the manager because that's never going to cause the next guy problems and this will certainly improve season ticket sales. Also what could possibly go wrong in the next derby?

25-01-2019, 11:15 PM
What are we as a club though without sentiment?

We’re not some hard nosed capitalist business venture, we’re a football club and the entire 114 years was built upon sentiment. Stubbs gave us our greatest ever day in footbal and, if he wants to return, we should be rolling out the red carpet for his return.

Ha,ha nice sentiment, can we get a manager in on loan? a few of them about.

SonOfDavidFrancey
25-01-2019, 11:16 PM
Advertise and see who applies. No guarantee that Clarke could do at ER what he is doing at Killie... Butcher was a success at ICT...

25-01-2019, 11:16 PM
Some posters have been reassuring us for weeks that we will easily find a better manager than Lennon so I'm sure everything will be just fine.

Plenty time to sign more players before the window shuts, no reason why the Board would want to hold off on spending until a new manager is appointed, the team will pick itself, always good for any club to have the Chief Executive intervene on the side of the players against the manager because that's never going to cause the next guy problems and this will certainly improve season ticket sales. Also what could possibly go wrong in the next derby?

You do realise that for Lennon to have been suspended he’s obviously done something worthy of a suspension? This is his own making if whatever he’s done is serious enough to be suspended, nobody else’s.

eezyrider
25-01-2019, 11:17 PM
jOHN dOOLAN HE WAS THE MAN BEHIND STUBBS

Hong Kong Fooey and Spot the Cat come to mind.

EZ

25-01-2019, 11:17 PM
Not a lot of candidates to be honest.

25-01-2019, 11:18 PM
It'll be none of those mentioned. It'll be some untried ex player whose first job will be Hibs

NevadaHibee
25-01-2019, 11:19 PM

Couldn't agree more. Done an incredible job turning Dunfermline around

25-01-2019, 11:20 PM
Stubbs as a Solksjaer type appointment until the summer.

He was almost universally popular with the players and he knows how the system at Hibs works. I'm not convinced he is a long term solution but to get a few players back onside and to get the crowd going he could be the man.

25-01-2019, 11:22 PM
Advertise and see who applies. No guarantee that Clarke could do at ER what he is doing at Killie... Butcher was a success at ICT...

I don't think we have time for that. We need someone in now to steady the ship/entice a few players in and we can go for someone permanent in the summer.

25-01-2019, 11:22 PM

Maybe just maybe back the board?

25-01-2019, 11:23 PM
You do realise that for Lennon to have been suspended he’s obviously done something worthy of a suspension? This is his own making if whatever he’s done is serious enough to be suspended, nobody else’s.

It’s anything to have a dig at other posters that don’t share his opinion. He said the same on the transfer thread about ten mins ago.

25-01-2019, 11:24 PM

A bad post even by your honking standards.

25-01-2019, 11:24 PM
Screenshot of apparently what happened, whether it's true remains to been seen but he must have gone over the score

What's that from?

25-01-2019, 11:25 PM
Screenshot of apparently what happened, whether it's true remains to been seen but he must have gone over the score

That’s actually amazing 😂😂😂😂

It’s anything to have a dig at other posters that don’t share his opinion. He said the same on the transfer thread about ten mins ago.

Steve Clark if we splashed the cash. Realistically Tommy Wright or Strachan.

zolliehibs
25-01-2019, 11:26 PM

The true architect of the Kilmarnock success story in my opinion.

Scott Brown as player-manager?

You do realise it's no one on hibs.nets fault Lennon has been suspended/sacked/walked? You seem to be lashing out all over the place indiscriminately.

It's football. Players and managers come and go.

James310
25-01-2019, 11:27 PM

I hope for his sake that's not true. Especially after all the prejudice he has faced.

BobMilne
25-01-2019, 11:27 PM
Pat butcher has to be considered

25-01-2019, 11:30 PM
Not saying he should get the job but Tommy Wright has a 43.53% win rate at At Johnston. Very good win rate at a club that size.

I really wish Stubbs first signing for Hibs would take his coaching badges, It's meant to be.

burtis97
Chris Coleman?

25-01-2019, 11:32 PM
Not saying he should get the job but Tommy Wright has a 43.53% win rate at At Johnston. Very good win rate at a club that size.

Different at a bigger club where many fans (myself included) won’t punt up with hammer throwing dross

zolliehibs
25-01-2019, 11:33 PM

The true architect of the Kilmarnock success story in my opinion.

Definitely not stubbs! Ffs!!

ThomasAgyepong
Tommy Wright signed a contract recently. Nae chance.

HibeeHibernian4
25-01-2019, 11:35 PM

Ah right, we should go for one of the other Hibs managers who’ve won the Scottish Cup? Let’s exhume Dan McMichael and the committee from 1902.

25-01-2019, 11:35 PM
Different at a bigger club where many fans (myself included) won’t punt up with hammer throwing dross

I wasn't advocating him for the Job merely saying how well he's done on a shoe string budget since his name had been mentioned

25-01-2019, 11:36 PM

He was almost universally popular with the players and he knows how the system at Hibs works. I'm not convinced he is a long term solution but to get a few players back onside and to get the crowd going he could be the man.

I'd take Stubbs too, but I'm not convinced the thing we can't talk about on here would mean LD would have him back. Also not convinced he'd want to come back in a Solksjaer type role as he's already done the job and may feel he shouldn't have to audition for it.

HibeeHibernian4
25-01-2019, 11:37 PM

If this is true by the way I hope that prick has his bags packed and is out of the door tomorrow. Absolutely disgusting if it was said and spits in the face of our work with Stonewall et al. A lot of people on here go on about ‘Hibs class’, punching down towards minorities (when our club was founded by minorities) is an absolute disgrace.

scotia44
25-01-2019, 11:37 PM
Mikey stewart just for the banter with the cludgie coach or Michael O'Neil

James310
25-01-2019, 11:38 PM
Chris Coleman?

He is earning millions in China, no chance!

25-01-2019, 11:40 PM
All realistic ones will be boring so I’m going to spend my time thinking of probably unrealistic options that’ll be a bit exciting.

Think I’ll start with Arteta. I know he’s been linked with massive jobs but there’s method to my madness.......in his playing career he came to Scotland to ‘learn the trade’ and hibs seem to have a good relationship with City , could they see him learning in a relatively high profile job a decent apprenticeship for him? If it’s good enough for Gerrard to start his managerial career up here, why not him?

(I’m ignoring the difference in size between us and Rangers as it doesn’t suit my thinking positively agenda)

25-01-2019, 11:41 PM
Duncan Ferguson?

Highly thought of at Everton apparently, we’ll he was the last time I heard a few years back.

25-01-2019, 11:41 PM
You do realise it's no one on hibs.nets fault Lennon has been suspended/sacked/walked? You seem to be lashing out all over the place indiscriminately.

It's football. Players and managers come and go.

If I thought it was the fault of someone on hibs.net for Lennon going I'd have said so. Since I haven't said so you can safely assume that isn't what I think.

What I have listed are some of the likely consequences of Lennon going now (regardless of the how or the why of it), which is precisely what a number of posters have been calling for since the Motherwell game in particular. Now we will see whether their desired timing and approach works.

25-01-2019, 11:42 PM
Duncan Ferguson?

Highly thought of at Everton apparently, we’ll he was the last time I heard a few years back.

Replacing one radge with another. Get it done Hibs.

25-01-2019, 11:42 PM
I hope for his sake that's not true. Especially after all the prejudice he has faced.

hope so too, instant sacking i'd say, maybe doing investigation to see whats really been happening over the last few weeks, players will no doubt be asked as well.

25-01-2019, 11:43 PM

If we’re going for a radge why not go all out for Roy Keane?

Pretty sure none of the players would pick a fight with him :greengrin

25-01-2019, 11:43 PM
Duncan Ferguson?

Another interesting idea.

Arteta is my number one choice. Unlikely he’ll ever get an EPL job as his first. He’s highly highly unlikely though.

sean04
25-01-2019, 11:44 PM
I'm sure there will be a lot of interested managers out there

zitelli62
25-01-2019, 11:49 PM
David moyes

SideBurns
25-01-2019, 11:49 PM
If this is true by the way I hope that prick has his bags packed and is out of the door tomorrow. Absolutely disgusting if it was said and spits in the face of our work with Stonewall et al. A lot of people on here go on about ‘Hibs class’, punching down towards minorities (when our club was founded by minorities) is an absolute disgrace.

Unless someone was hiding behind the door, who would know such intimate details of discussions between Dempster & Lennon? Apart from anything else, if he spoke to Dempster in those terms (especially if there were witnesses to it) I can't imagine it'd only be a suspension.

I'm taking this with a shovel of salt.

25-01-2019, 11:51 PM
Unless someone was hiding behind the door, who would know such intimate details of discussions between Dempster & Lennon? Apart from anything else, if he spoke to Dempster in those terms (especially if there were witnesses to it) I can't imagine it'd only be a suspension.

I can believe the changing room stories. Nobody will know about the meeting between him and LD though.

MacGruber
25-01-2019, 11:51 PM
We will have a list of 3 or 4 candidates in place. We keep tabs on managers and coaches the same way as we do players for succession planning. That was from directly from Dempster. Getting who we want is obviously another matter

HibeeHibernian4
25-01-2019, 11:52 PM

No fair enough, and I’m not saying it’s the true story for a second. If it is, then Lennon can GTF and never darken our doors again.

25-01-2019, 11:53 PM
Andy Murray!

25-01-2019, 11:56 PM
Who was the Huddersfield coach that got overlooked for their job recently?

Seems to be a bit of a fuss about that as he’s highly rated.

25-01-2019, 11:56 PM
Jim Goodwin?

Wouldn't be my choice but he's done a decent job at Alloa and would fit the young gaffer with potential bill.

25-01-2019, 11:58 PM
Jim Goodwin?

Wouldn't be my choice but he's done a decent job at Alloa and would fit the young gaffer with potential bill.

If Hibs appoint a manager from Alloa I’m outa here

25-01-2019, 11:59 PM

I can believe the changing room stories. Nobody will know about the meeting between him and LD though.

Depends, how many offices are within earshot of a screaming match?

Seems less likely to ‘leak’ but not impossible a number of other staff could have overheard.

25-01-2019, 11:59 PM
In legal terms are we actually even able to appoint another manager while Lennon remains technically in post?

TheReg!
26-01-2019, 12:00 AM
Alan Stubbs on a short term contract for me.

This 👍🏻

Billy McKirdy
26-01-2019, 12:01 AM
Mikey Stewart if only to shut Potter up

Cletus
26-01-2019, 12:01 AM
Not Stubbs. Definitely not.
Clarke the obvious choice but pretty unlikely particularly given he’s actually in the midst of a title race.
Wright of St J. Might be good but a huge gamble. Not convinced.
Strachan old skool but hey might just work.
Malofeev forward thinking modern coach, knows the city.

26-01-2019, 12:03 AM
Duncan Ferguson?

That would be epic 😂😂 big Dunc with Doolan.

26-01-2019, 12:04 AM

Aye because he done **** the last time right enough 😃😃😃

Fambo Jannies
26-01-2019, 12:05 AM

There was an interesting interview with Tommy Wright on the radio a few weeks ago. He made the point that if he managed a club with greater resources he'd play a more expansive style of football. I think it will be him. GGTTH

26-01-2019, 12:07 AM
we should all sign a huge begging letter to wee Gogs Strachan :flag:mon hame wee man

26-01-2019, 12:13 AM
We should stick with the Irish.

Tommy Wright for me. Use the McGinn money😃

Delboy4
26-01-2019, 12:15 AM

You keep off the drink..! The man is no manager

26-01-2019, 12:16 AM
Aye because he done **** the last time right enough 😃😃😃

Stubbs won't be back for other reasons.

26-01-2019, 12:17 AM
Micky Mellon, current Tranmere boss however he just signed a contract extension until 2021 a few days ago.

I think we’re all missing the obvious choice here

Lewis Stevenson

Derek Riordan.

26-01-2019, 12:18 AM
from the SPL obviously Stevie Clarke but I cant see him leaving obviously

Tommy Wright maybe, but I just dont think he would be a good fit and folk would be right onto him when the football is 'industrial'

Outside that its probably a young coach again

26-01-2019, 12:21 AM
If we're just throwing names about - Gary Rowett? Was very well thought of at Brum and took on a bit of a poison chalice at Stoke.

26-01-2019, 12:21 AM
What are people’s opinions on Steven Robinson at Motherwell? Obviously they haven’t been setting the heather alight in the league this year but back to back cup finals and a 40%+ win percentage suggest he might have something about him.

26-01-2019, 12:22 AM
https://www.90min.com/posts/5997177-6-of-the-best-up-coming-young-english-managers-you-may-not-have-heard-of-yet

MacGruber
26-01-2019, 12:23 AM
Don't want Stubbs. He'll just leave as soon as we win the Scottish Cup again!

Jody Morris?

Paul Scholes.... :wink:

https://www.90min.com/posts/5997177-6-of-the-best-up-coming-young-english-managers-you-may-not-have-heard-of-yet

Some interesting names there. Another along the same lines I’d like to throw in - Kevin Nicol. Was he not supposed to be doing really well abroad?

26-01-2019, 12:24 AM

An article 9 months old, restricted to English managers and written by some moron trying to generate views for a crap website. The worst thing about Lennon being punted is this type of speculation.

Doh Rae Me
26-01-2019, 12:24 AM
Be careful what you wish for.
As far as I'm concerned this is a a sad day for Hibernian FC

26-01-2019, 12:25 AM
Stubbs won't be back for other reasons.

Is your surname Forrest? Always kind of suspected this 😉(joking pal)

Delboy4
Can’t see Stubbs back because he left under a cloud! He was told to go...

Jody Morris?

:

Was just about to post the same. Of the names mentioned so far he would be the most attractive appointment for me.

26-01-2019, 12:26 AM
Jody Morris?

Paul Scholes.... :wink:

Jody Morris is a very good shout.

rotherhamrob
26-01-2019, 12:27 AM
What's murty up to these days? 😎

26-01-2019, 12:27 AM
An article 9 months old, restricted to English managers and written by some moron trying to generate views for a crap website. The worst thing about Lennon being punted is this type of speculation.

Are you joking?

The speculation and the excitement over who gets the job next is the best bit about it.

26-01-2019, 12:33 AM

The "****ing dyke" part writes that version off.
He is a hot heid not a moron.

26-01-2019, 12:34 AM
The "****ing dyke" part writes that version off.
He is a hot heid not a moron.

Hmmmm not so sure myself

26-01-2019, 12:37 AM
Chris Coleman?

Nice guy but not a great club manager.... and wouldn't come as he probably rates himself better than what he is ...and currently making a fortune in China

26-01-2019, 12:37 AM
I think the search for a replacement might have been underway for a while. Today’s conclusion of what sounds like a long term situation has maybe been foreseen by Leean Dempster and potential candidates have been discussed behind the scenes.. The more I think about it the more it looks like this has been something that was inevitably going to be coming to a head at some point.

26-01-2019, 12:38 AM
Duncan Ferguson?

The last guy we got from Everton did alright

Hibernian32
26-01-2019, 12:41 AM
Just a couple stabs in the dark at a few jobless managers.

Paul Clement - last at Reading.
Gus Poyet - think he was last in France.
Arteta - Has been mentioned not a bad we shout. (Technically not a manager)
Paul Lambert - bit of a laughing stock down south now.

Personally I'd like someone unheard,young and foreign also brings a tad of style I want a philosophy type guy. We've never had a continental manager who we've adored and gave us style and flare I say it's about time.

26-01-2019, 12:43 AM
What's murty up to these days? 😎

Fannys hat would be some appointment. We could still sing the song as a show of affection 😂

26-01-2019, 12:45 AM
Derek Riordan.

Derek cannae even manage himself

26-01-2019, 12:47 AM
Can’t see Stubbs back because he left under a cloud! He was told to go...

No he wasn’t.

26-01-2019, 12:48 AM
No he wasn’t.

He jumped before he was pushed

26-01-2019, 12:53 AM
Fannys hat would be some appointment. We could still sing the song as a show of affection ��

Fannys Hat would be awright but don't think he would be Leanne's cup of cha. Too much of a smart-arse.

26-01-2019, 12:58 AM
Strachan for me.

From those posters have come up with on the previous pages i liked Arteta most.
His contacts alone would make it worthwhile.
He might even be able to make a player out of Mallan.

Lex7zero
26-01-2019, 12:59 AM
There was an interesting interview with Tommy Wright on the radio a few weeks ago. He made the point that if he managed a club with greater resources he'd play a more expansive style of football. I think it will be him. GGTTH

Thank goodness for a decent quote in amongst a thread that looks like a Jambo thread.
yup Tommy Wright for me only because No 1 Clarke wouldn't take a drop down from Killie to Hibs,
Thanks Mr Lennon I never thought that statemement would ever be uttered.

1875godsgift
26-01-2019, 01:00 AM
Thierry Henry?

He's on the dole and gagging for a big club.

I wouldnae take that Mourinho, he's toxic.

26-01-2019, 01:02 AM
Thank goodness for a decent quote in amongst a thread that looks like a Jambo thread.
yup Tommy Wright for me only because No 1 Clarke wouldn't take a drop down from Killie to Hibs,
Thanks Mr Lennon I never thought that statemement would ever be uttered.

Can I ask why you think it’s a Jambo thread and based on what exactly?

26-01-2019, 01:03 AM
Fannys Hat would be awright but don't think he would be Leanne's cup of cha. Too much of a smart-arse.

True. He done wonders at Brentford but I’ve a feeling also he would want full control of a lot of stuff that we have guys in place for already?

A certain Edinburgh City manager, hibee and all round great guy is doing a terrific job also. Too early?

26-01-2019, 01:04 AM
True. He done wonders at Brentford but I’ve a feeling also he would want full control of a lot of stuff that we have guys in place for already?

A certain Edinburgh City manager, hibee and all round great guy is doing a terrific job also. Too early?

far far far too early.

26-01-2019, 01:09 AM
far far far too early.

True. Just thinking out loud 👍

26-01-2019, 01:10 AM
Strachan for me

26-01-2019, 01:14 AM
Strachan for me

He's on mad money in China

Simon Grayson?

Spudster
26-01-2019, 01:16 AM
Yes it's nice to beat them but there are 11 other teams we need to beat as well.
10 clubs 😬

26-01-2019, 01:20 AM
He's on mad money in China

Simon Grayson?

Strachan! no he isn't.
Grayson came over pretty poorly in the Sunderland documentary

26-01-2019, 01:24 AM
No one with a previous connection to Hibs please.

Austinho
26-01-2019, 01:27 AM
Just a couple stabs in the dark at a few jobless managers.

Paul Clement - last at Reading.
Gus Poyet - think he was last in France.
Arteta - Has been mentioned not a bad we shout. (Technically not a manager)
Paul Lambert - bit of a laughing stock down south now.

Personally I'd like someone unheard,young and foreign also brings a tad of style I want a philosophy type guy. We've never had a continental manager who we've adored and gave us style and flare I say it's about time.How often has that worked in the Scottish League? Can't remember any foreign managers successfully tearing it up here - most of them seem to have underestimated the league or not been a good fit for the style of play.

26-01-2019, 01:27 AM
Strachan! no he isn't.
Grayson came over pretty poorly in the Sunderland documentary

I thought that post read Chris Coleman?! Must be going mad.

Grayson did an interview on YouTube after it came out actually, said he felt as though they were very harsh on him, and you can see his point. It was as though Coleman was unlucky and was burdened with what he was left with when Grayson lost something like 20 players after relegation clauses were triggered.

It's been spun in a certain way by STID.

He's not got a too bad record and is currently out of work I believe.

26-01-2019, 01:31 AM
Arteta? You must be joking! He's positioned for jobs at Everton or Arsenal. Meanwhile he's enjoying life at another big club.

26-01-2019, 01:33 AM

Grayson did an interview on YouTube after it came out actually, said he felt as though they were very harsh on him, and you can see his point. It was as though Coleman was unlucky and was burdened with what he was left with when Grayson lost something like 20 players after relegation clauses were triggered.

Apologies mate, I did originally put Chris Coleman as a suggestion but then realised he was in China. You ain’t going mad 😁👍

26-01-2019, 01:34 AM
Hibs will go for Steve Clarke without doubt.

26-01-2019, 01:35 AM
Can't wait for the unveiling of...

Colin Nish as head coach till the end of the season.

26-01-2019, 01:35 AM
Anyone know if Malky Mackay got interviewed last time round?

26-01-2019, 01:37 AM
Anyone know if Malky Mackay got interviewed last time round?

No no no no no no no no no no no no no no no

RossScott1991
26-01-2019, 01:38 AM
What an absolute mess we have been this season. Fans robbed of their hard earned cash to watch the whole club cock it all up.

Board, recruitment team, Lennon and the players. It’s been one big giant mess.

Ultimately however the responsibly falls at lennon, I sympathise to only a certain level. However I am not going to buy into the card he will play of “not being backed to take us to the next level” we are hibs not Man City. Steve Clarke is getting best out his squad and knows his team.

Injuries have played their part but this side is nowhere near 8th level.

His man management skills have been non existent in getting the best out players.

26-01-2019, 01:38 AM
Ryan Giggs

26-01-2019, 01:41 AM
Ryan Giggs

he wouldnt leave Wales and hes not free.

26-01-2019, 01:41 AM
No no no no no no no no no no no no no no no

Enough of an embarrassment that he's actually employed by the National Team.

26-01-2019, 01:42 AM
Ryan Giggs

I'd give you all my big purple ones fae the quality street tin if that happened SH :greengrin

Perd Hapley
26-01-2019, 01:53 AM
I could take Strachan but would prefer Stubbs - so long as he takes Doolan with him. As others have said he seems to have been a large part of our success in 2016

26-01-2019, 01:55 AM
I'd give you all my big purple ones fae the quality street tin if that happened SH :greengrin

Ian Murray will get me the toffee ones I bet.:greengrin

26-01-2019, 01:57 AM
James McDonaugh and Brian Rice (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_McDonaugh)

26-01-2019, 02:06 AM
James McDonaugh and Brian Rice (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_McDonaugh)

Absolutely no way

26-01-2019, 02:08 AM
Absolutely no way

That'll be that then :rolleyes:

Mr Grieves
26-01-2019, 02:08 AM
We need to atleast try for Clarke if we're ambitious. We're a bigger club than Kilmarnock, it's worth a go

26-01-2019, 02:10 AM
That'll be that then :rolleyes:

In terms of me never agreeing with that- yes, that will be that

26-01-2019, 02:11 AM
We need to atleast try for Clarke if we're ambitious. We're a bigger club than Kilmarnock, it's worth a go

I cant see us even trying to be honest

Wonder if we will go interim route until seasons end or go all in

Mr Grieves
26-01-2019, 02:17 AM
I cant see us even trying to be honest

Wonder if we will go interim route until seasons end or go all in

I would go with the interim route in the short term, but apparently all the backroom staff are behibd lennon

26-01-2019, 02:18 AM
I would go with the interim route in the short term, but apparently all the backroom staff are behibd lennon

We need to be careful here- we arnt clear of the bottom of the table yet

Mr Grieves
26-01-2019, 02:23 AM
We need to be careful here- we arnt clear of the bottom of the table yet

I agree. I'm hoping there's someone that'll take responsibility. Grant Murray or Eddie May?

26-01-2019, 02:24 AM

That would be nuts! (I’m very very sorry for the quality pun)

26-01-2019, 02:25 AM

We will go for Clarke. At least ask him the question.

26-01-2019, 02:36 AM
At this stage of the season, it looks like a stop gap to season’end, although we need more than a time server as there is a distinct possibility we could be dragged into a possible relegation struggle.

Stubbs is the obvious choice, but for non footballing reasons won’t be approached.

Gordon Strahan?

Would he really be interested, could we afford him, and at a time we are looking for a ‘healer’ is he the right fit?

If Ian Murray hadn’t just started at Airdrie I would have suggested him, but he would be reluctant to make a short term move.

Bad timing, and have to admit I’m stumped about replacements

Dr_Regal
26-01-2019, 02:41 AM
Steve Clarke
Gordon Strachan
Ian Murray

In that Order.

Could chew a short term prove it deal with Stubbs as the most likely.

Some big names I like that might have interest Duncan Ferguson and David Moyes.

26-01-2019, 02:45 AM
Ferguson Holden and Doolan would be a good shout. I’ll still stick with Strachan or Kennedy though.

Bobby Moore
26-01-2019, 02:50 AM
Tommy Wright signed a contract extension in December with runs until 2022 with Saint Johnstone, would make an approach there more difficult but he has done an outstanding rebuild there this season.

26-01-2019, 02:53 AM
Stuart Baxter or Nevio Scala must be mentioned in any discussion about Scottish clubs lookong for work.

In all seriousness how is Kevin Nicol doing in Norway? I'm sure he got his team promoted is his 1st season as a manager. Is he still there and doing well? Is he a potential outside chance?

26-01-2019, 02:56 AM
Stuart Baxter or Nevio Scala must be mentioned in any discussion about Scottish clubs lookong for work.

In all seriousness how is Kevin Nicol doing in Norway? I'm sure he got his team promoted is his 1st season as a manager. Is he still there and doing well? Is he a potential outside chance?

He has to do something for the money we have Raith for him all they years ago 😉 wasn’t Nid his assistant but came home because of non football reasons (nothing bad btw)

26-01-2019, 02:57 AM
Tommy Wright signed a contract extension in December with runs until 2022 with Saint Johnstone, would make an approach there more difficult but he has done an outstanding rebuild there this season.

Wright would have a Butcher feeling for me. I’ve no idea why or anything to back that up it just wouldn’t sit right.

26-01-2019, 03:05 AM

There was a Coleman shout earlier which you would have seen.

Neither Grayson or Coleman should have touched the Sunderland job.
It was a total basket case given that the owner had obviously told Bain to ensure no more money was spent.
Grabban leaving was the final final straw.

26-01-2019, 03:40 AM
The thought of Strachan or Ian Murray..
dreadful

tonyrougier123
26-01-2019, 04:17 AM

It was a total basket case given that the owner had obviously told Bain to ensure no more money was spent.
Coleman would be a good shout 👍 .I wouldnae be keen on strachan and defo not murray.

26-01-2019, 04:58 AM
https://www.transfermarkt.com/trainer/verfuegbaretrainer/statistik/?statistik=189&plus=0

Brian McDermott, the former Leeds and Reading manager would be an interesting shout.

Always seemed quite a switched on guy and get the impression in the right surroundings he could be a very good coach/manager.

Think I remember Caversham mentioning him at one point too (I think in a positive light)

26-01-2019, 05:55 AM
Yogi Hughes will throw his hat in the ring.

LustForLeith
26-01-2019, 06:01 AM
In relation to Stevie Clarke I was listening to Off the ball where Paul Di Giamaco was in it whose now part of the backroom staff at Killie. He says Clarke is really settled at the club, close to his family and enjoying himself. By the sounds of it here’s going to have to be something very special to tempt him (during the interview they mentioned Celtic.)

LustForLeith
26-01-2019, 06:03 AM

Was Coleman not paid an absolute fortune to manage Sunderland? Far, far more than we’d spend?

coldingham hibs
26-01-2019, 07:08 AM
Michael O’Neil or Stubbsy

Bangkok Hibby
26-01-2019, 07:18 AM

If he thought a player wasn't pulling his weight he could just stick the heid on him and move on. None of this bad feeling nonsense 😉

26-01-2019, 07:24 AM
In relation to Stevie Clarke I was listening to Off the ball where Paul Di Giamaco was in it whose now part of the backroom staff at Killie. He says Clarke is really settled at the club, close to his family and enjoying himself. By the sounds of it here’s going to have to be something very special to tempt him (during the interview they mentioned Celtic.)

I’m sure there was also talk previously that he wouldn’t leave Killie for another Scottish club.

I’d like to see us go for Michael O’Neill. Could be too expensive though.

Bangkok Hibby
26-01-2019, 07:32 AM
Yes it might be jumping the gun slightly, but it’s better to be prepared. For me there’s only one man, step forward cup specialist Alan Stubbs.

What if it is just a suspension? Happy to keep him now? Or has this brought it all to a head for most?

26-01-2019, 07:32 AM
Arteta? You must be joking! He's positioned for jobs at Everton or Arsenal. Meanwhile he's enjoying life at another big club.

We can dream !:greengrin

26-01-2019, 07:35 AM
Henrik Larsson

SideBurns
26-01-2019, 07:42 AM
Henrik Larsson

That's one out of leftfield, Samba - is he in management the now?

26-01-2019, 07:45 AM
Go outside the box young and hungry excellent coach James Mcdonagh. Inexperienced at that level I know but even him working with someone like Strachan for a year or so and he takes the reigns after, that’s having a plan and a model imo

Look at Tuchel, Wagner, Siewert and the number of German coaches not managers at the top level

WestStandWillie
26-01-2019, 07:46 AM
Henrik Larsson

Nae thanks. Dinnae need another Celtic love in.

HibeeHibernian4
26-01-2019, 07:46 AM
What if it is just a suspension? Happy to keep him now? Or has this brought it all to a head for most?

Suspensions are (usually) a point of no return in football management. It would be a bit odd if he did come back, but I wouldn’t be gutted if it happened.

26-01-2019, 07:48 AM
Suspensions are (usually) a point of no return in football management. It would be a bit odd if he did come back, but I wouldn’t be gutted if it happened.

If he did come back then that’ll surely mean some players will be out the door instead.

Leitherhibs
26-01-2019, 07:49 AM
Anyone other than Steve Clarke, would be a disappointment, the stand out manager in the Scottish game (outside of BR at sellick).

26-01-2019, 07:50 AM
Why do folk always go back to people previously connected to Hibs?

Ian Murray? Why?

James Mcdonaugh? The manager of a part time side?

26-01-2019, 07:51 AM
Michael O’Neil or Stubbsy

O'Neil is on a mega contract so no chance I'm afraid. Stubbsy until end of season would do me. Would certainly give the place an immediate lift.

26-01-2019, 07:51 AM
I'd like us to go for a foreign coach for a change, bring in a new way of thinking to the club on the coaching front, it will be the same usual line up of names in the press though, really hope we don't go back for Stubbs, the guy is a legend for winning the Scottish but lets leave it at that

Alfiembra
26-01-2019, 07:52 AM
I’m not sure Alan Stubbs can come back to Hibs, I think much his success was down to his back room staff of Doolan and Taff and I don’t know if he would be able to bring them back with him.
He would be considered as a safe pair of hands but for me the club wouldn’t be demonstrating any ambition just writing off this season and playing for time.

My choice would be bring John Doolan in as the no 1. I know he was Stubbsy’s no.2 but he really gets Hibs he has a real passion for the club and I would see that as an appointment in the mould of Mowbray and Stubbs first stint giving a chance to someone that wasn’t on the radar and seemed quite risky at the time but turned out to be excellent choices.

Ian Murray? Why?

And why not?

Many clubs take this approach and find it successful.

I think it’ll be Gordon Strachan or Tommy Wright.

26-01-2019, 07:55 AM
Anyone other than Steve Clarke, would be a disappointment, the stand out manager in the Scottish game (outside of BR at sellick).

There’s absolutely no chance he’s leaving Kilmarnock, a point or two off top of the league, to join a team 8th and struggling to even challenge for top 6.

Absolutely make a bid for him, but also think about a realistic target when he tells us to get lost.

26-01-2019, 07:55 AM
To be fair, that's a big part of my decision. Stubbs won't take any **** from Hearts.

Stubbs couldn’t get us out of the Championship.:top marks

26-01-2019, 07:57 AM
And why not?

Many top league clubs appoint a manager of a part time team 2 divisions below them?

Since Peterhead are winning that division should we be after Jim McInally?

Weve done the ex player thing a few times - hardly even worked for us

26-01-2019, 07:57 AM

Ian Murray? Why?

Why do people want to go get up and coming young players and troll the lower leagues for them when you would want to apply a different method to a manager I can’t see the logic?

No emotional attachment or reason for JM suggested other than he’s widely recognised as a brilliant coach and with a lot of young lads we have might be a good fit.

Can’t see it happening though

26-01-2019, 07:58 AM
We will want a coach to fit in as part of the team. We have a football structure in place, we should stick with the long term plan.

26-01-2019, 07:58 AM
And why not?

Because the names being suggested aren't good enough

Leitherhibs
26-01-2019, 07:59 AM

Ian Murray? Why?

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is doing alright at Man United isn't he!? Think it's good in short term, gets fans on side. 6 month deal, why not!?

Bangkok Hibby
26-01-2019, 08:01 AM

I agree. Always supported Lennon but Im at the point now where I'm convinced he's toxic for the team

26-01-2019, 08:07 AM
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is doing alright at Man United isn't he!? Think it's good in short term, gets fans on side. 6 month deal, why not!?

You cannot compare james mcdonagh to ole gunnar

I dont see the bonus points handed out for an ex affiliation to the club

Would folk be happy with any other league 2 manager?

HibeeHibernian4
26-01-2019, 08:09 AM
Stubbs couldn’t get us out of the Championship.:top marks

Lennon got one more point than Stubbs did in a vastly easier Championship and if any other side had been able to keep some form together we would’ve struggled to fight them off.

26-01-2019, 08:10 AM
That's one out of leftfield, Samba - is he in management the now?

No Mr Side, currently without a job...

LustForLeith
26-01-2019, 08:11 AM
I’m sure there was also talk previously that he wouldn’t leave Killie for another Scottish club.

I’d like to see us go for Michael O’Neill. Could be too expensive though.

O’Neill would be my choice. I’m sure he still lives in Edinburgh (not that should have any bearing on who gets the job!)

26-01-2019, 08:15 AM
O’Neill would be my choice. I’m sure he still lives in Edinburgh (not that should have any bearing on who gets the job!)

ONeill is on about 750k a year plus qualifying big bonuses ..can’t see that happening ..not sure I think he is that good tbh. But that is just my personal view. Finance will keep him out of our league

murray26
26-01-2019, 08:31 AM
There’s only one.. Stevie Clarke.. if we can’t get him then atleast try.. I don’t want Stubbs he left a legend and in his own words said what could he possibly achieve at Hibs now..? I want him to be remembered for that wonderful day in may..

26-01-2019, 08:35 AM

That was it.

Yepp it was a nightmare scenario. Great insight into the ins and outs of a football club though.

26-01-2019, 08:35 AM
Lennon got one more point than Stubbs did in a vastly easier Championship and if any other side had been able to keep some form together we would’ve struggled to fight them off.

Very interesting point

26-01-2019, 08:36 AM
Strachan would be a fantastic appointment. He's managed at the highest level , far higher for consistently longer than Neil Lennon , and will get instant respect of the players. Has he ever done badly in any managerial appointment? Done well at Celtic , done a decent job at Scotland and from what I can remember he always done well at his jobs in England.

Absolutely no chance Steve Clarke would leave Killie for us. None.

26-01-2019, 08:38 AM
Why do people want to go get up and coming young players and troll the lower leagues for them when you would want to apply a different method to a manager I can’t see the logic?

No emotional attachment or reason for JM suggested other than he’s widely recognised as a brilliant coach and with a lot of young lads we have might be a good fit.

Can’t see it happening though

I’m not against going for an up and coming young manager but I think there is a difference between the 2 situations you present. A young player is joining a squad of players where there game time can be managed and they have time to develop. A manager needs to be the main man from day one.

26-01-2019, 08:41 AM
I’m not against going for an up and coming young manager but I think there is a difference between the 2 situations you present. A young player is joining a squad of players where there game time can be managed and they have time to develop. A manager needs to be the main man from day one.

Yeah I do understand that and it’s a fair challange. Just feel that some young managers and coaches can be dismissed from the outset whereby we have seen examples of young coaches doing very well our friend Jack ross for example.

hibeenicol
26-01-2019, 08:44 AM
Hibs will go for Steve Clarke without doubt.

Has to be the number 1 target.

26-01-2019, 08:44 AM
Yeah I do understand that and it’s a fair challange. Just feel that some young managers and coaches can be dismissed from the outset whereby we have seen examples of young coaches doing very well our friend Jack ross for example.

I think if this had happened this time last year, Ross would have been favourite for the job, Clarke maybe too but he’d have only been at Killie a couple of months then.

26-01-2019, 08:47 AM
Diego Maradona

DetroitHibs
26-01-2019, 08:50 AM
Steve Clarke might be tempted. He'll know his squad will be decimated next year and highly unlikely he'll be able to have another successful season like the one Killie are having now. Us on the other hand are having a mare and much easier to build up and kick on.

26-01-2019, 08:52 AM
The outstanding lower league managers this season have probably been Ian McCall and Dick Campbell and I can't see too many people st Hibs being inspired by those 2.

I'd be begging someone like Grant Murray to take it until the end of this season. With some decent transfer business (even if it was only another few loans) and picking the right players in the right positions for the right reasons, we could still make top 6 and have a cup run.

We can draw up a suitable shortlist and take our time to appoint the right man. I'd want another Stubbs or Mowbray, a coach at a bigger club who has a few years experience in the role and wants to step up and be number 1.

Kennedy sounds ideal tbh, but there are lots of highly rated coaches out there.

Or if Murray had a good second half to the season, give it to him.

hibeejeebies
26-01-2019, 08:53 AM
Conrad Logan.

James Stephen
26-01-2019, 08:55 AM
Go outside the box young and hungry excellent coach James Mcdonagh. Inexperienced at that level I know but even him working with someone like Strachan for a year or so and he takes the reigns after, that’s having a plan and a model imo

Look at Tuchel, Wagner, Siewert and the number of German coaches not managers at the top level

Not a bad shout...

26-01-2019, 08:57 AM
1. Steve Clarke - doubt he’ll come to us though. Might have eyes on Celtic jobee Brendan will be away soon.

2. Tommy Wright

3. Alan Stubbs if we cant get any of the above.

sean04
26-01-2019, 08:59 AM
The name that excites me is David moyes! No had a good time recently but was still the manager of Everton and Man Utd. Defo worth considering

goosefat
26-01-2019, 09:02 AM
If I was a betting man I’d say they board will be looking at getting an injured replacement on a six month loan deal, subject to his international work permit being granted.

He’s the outstanding candidate.

26-01-2019, 09:03 AM
No Mr Side, currently without a job...

He’s assistant somewhere apparently. That shouldn’t put him out of our reach if we want him though.

Mr_F
26-01-2019, 09:03 AM
Petrie will get in another yes man in the shape of Coco the clown or Fenlon, back to the glory days of sub 10k crowds and being pumped every 2nd week

26-01-2019, 09:04 AM

And without Hearts and Rangers

26-01-2019, 09:04 AM
Strachan would be a fantastic appointment. He's managed at the highest level , far higher for consistently longer than Neil Lennon , and will get instant respect of the players. Has he ever done badly in any managerial appointment? Done well at Celtic , done a decent job at Scotland and from what I can remember he always done well at his jobs in England.

Absolutely no chance Steve Clarke would leave Killie for us. None.

The only place you could say Strachan failed was Middlesbrough but then again nobody else has managed anything with them since so maybe it wasn’t a failure. I’d be happy with Strachan. On paper he’s an improvement on Lennon.

26-01-2019, 09:06 AM
The only place you could say Strachan failed was Middlesbrough but then again nobody else has managed anything with them since so maybe it wasn’t a failure. I’d be happy with Strachan. On paper he’s an improvement on Lennon.

would be an incredible appointment...as good as we could possibly get....we should definitely approach him. Can’t see it being enough to tempt him though ...

Scotty Leither
26-01-2019, 09:10 AM
would be an incredible appointment...as good as we could possibly get....we should definitely approach him. Can’t see it being enough to tempt him though ...

Strahan is a mate of Lennon, and oddly enough a good mate of Petrie, too. I think it would work short-term but once sgain, I don't want anyone who thinks they're doing the club a favour in managing us.

26-01-2019, 09:11 AM

Agree with that good short term solution allowing club time to consider longer term.

26-01-2019, 09:13 AM
Alex Neil, worked wonders at Hamilton then Norwich. Mike Phelan, assistant to Fergie at Man U. Garry Monk is he still out of a job ? And one outside the box, Paula Sousa (Portugal) who is/was highly thought of.

26-01-2019, 09:18 AM
Alex Neil, worked wonders at Hamilton then Norwich. Mike Phelan, assistant to Fergie at Man U. Garry Monk is he still out of a job ? And one outside the box, Paula Sousa (Portugal) who is/was highly thought of.

Neil is at Preston, Monk at Brum and Phelan isn’t leaving United for Hibs.

26-01-2019, 09:20 AM
I'd rather have Strachan, but if we want a quick lift - Stubbs immediately until the end of season would be good for me ..in fact beating St Mirren on Sunday would be nice place to start [emoji108]

Green_one
26-01-2019, 09:22 AM
Stubbs and Doolan. The magic is back :greengrin

No interim manager. Ok for Man United but they are changing their structure and after a specific guy who is not available

26-01-2019, 09:24 AM
I'd rather have Strachan, but if we want a quick lift - Stubbs immediately until the end of season would be good for me ..in fact beating St Mirren on Sunday would be nice place to start [emoji108]

That's a good shout. He knows and loves the club, fans respect him, has worked well with LD before. Not saying he's long term answer but very decent for the rest of the season.

26-01-2019, 09:25 AM
Neil is at Preston, Monk at Brum and Phelan isn’t leaving United for Hibs.
Yeah, get that but Neil might want to jump before he is pushed.

26-01-2019, 09:25 AM
CR7 on a player manager contract 😆😆😆

Lendo
26-01-2019, 09:34 AM
Are some posters really being serious saying Arteta? He was one of the favourites for the Arsenal job before Emery was appointed. He will walk in to a big job down south at some point this season or next.

26-01-2019, 09:35 AM
Another name I'd throw in to the mix...but I absolutely know I'll be the only one open to this candidate - so will put the armoured suit on..

Ian McCall..like what he has done at Ayr, and like the way he talks about football..

Will never happen - but thought I'd throw a different name into the mix..

Another point - if Cathro hadn't taken the Hearts job...his name would be all over this thread [emoji3][emoji102][emoji102]. That's quite scary!

26-01-2019, 09:36 AM
Are some posters really being serious saying Arteta? He was one of the favourites for the Arsenal job before Emery was appointed. He will walk in to a big job down south at some point this season or next.

And will be on about 80k a week at Man City [emoji3][emoji3]

Mainstandman
26-01-2019, 09:40 AM
Another name I'd throw in to the mix...but I absolutely know I'll be the only one open to this candidate - so will put the armoured suit on..

Ian McCall..like what he has done at Ayr, and like the way he talks about football..

Will never happen - but thought I'd throw a different name into the mix..

Another point - if Cathro hadn't taken the Hearts job...his name would be all over this thread [emoji3][emoji102][emoji102]. That's quite scary!

dont knock cathro I hear the schematics of Easter Road are first class and there's lots of laptop power points.

26-01-2019, 09:58 AM
There are two standout candidates

Clarke and Wright

26-01-2019, 09:59 AM
Strachan