View Full Version : Hibs v Elgin

19-01-2019, 12:29 PM
Any team news? Gauld starting?

19-01-2019, 12:32 PM
I’ve just decided to go along. Apologies if asked/posted already but is there pay at the gate for today?

19-01-2019, 12:33 PM
Neil said yesterday that if international clearance came through he would start.

19-01-2019, 12:44 PM
I’ve just decided to go along. Apologies if asked/posted already but is there pay at the gate for today?

Yes, at the pods

19-01-2019, 12:59 PM
STARTING XI | Bogdan, Whittaker, McGregor, Hanlon, Mackie, Bartley, Slivka, Mallan, Horgan, Gauld, Kamberi.

SUBS | Marciano, Gray, Nelom, Porteous, Block, Murray, Shaw.

STARTING XI | Bogdan, Whittaker, McGregor, Hanlon, Mackie, Bartley, Slivka, Mallan, Horgan, Gauld, Kamberi.

19-01-2019, 01:00 PM
Tommy Block!!!

elevengoats
19-01-2019, 01:00 PM
Great to see Gauld start.

19-01-2019, 01:01 PM

4-3-3?
Bogdan
Whittaker Mcgregor Hanlon Mackie

Mallan Bartley Slivka

Guald Kamberi Horgan

19-01-2019, 01:02 PM
4-3-3?
Bogdan
Whittaker Mcgregor Hanlon Mackie

Mallan Bartley Slivka

Guald Kamberi Horgan

Probs slivka right, mallan bartley in middle with horgan left and gauld floating

Be nice to see Gauld. Hopefully score a few and then give Shaw, Murray and Block a run out.

Tommy Block!!!

He really is having a good week. Hope we get a glimpse of him.

19-01-2019, 01:04 PM
Also, that's a pretty weak bench IMO.

Not really anyone on there who can change it, so we'd better hope the starting xi are at the races. Hopefully get a few goals to the good then bring Block, Murray and Shaw on

Lendo
19-01-2019, 01:04 PM
Really hope we get to see Block have a run out.

19-01-2019, 01:05 PM

Not really anyone on there who can change it, so we'd better hope the starting xi are at the races. Hopefully get a few goals to the good then bring Block, Murray and Shaw on

Should be strong enough based on the opposition you would think

I’m presuming Gray isn’t fully fit yet

Strong team. About as strong as we cam field assuming we are nursing Gray and Porteous a bit.

Good to see no messing about and risking a 'banana skin' scenario.

4-1-4-1 I reckon.

rotherhamrob
19-01-2019, 01:06 PM
He really is having a good week. Hope we get a glimpse of him.

Good to see him in the squad, shows the manager has confidence in him and he gets a taste early doors of what it's like.
Good move all round.

19-01-2019, 01:07 PM

I’ve seen a David Gray change a game before.

19-01-2019, 01:08 PM
Shame that Gray isn't ready yet (refuse to believe Lennon would prefer Whittaker over him).

19-01-2019, 01:08 PM
I’m presuming Gray isn’t fully fit yet

If he isn’t fully fit yet when will he ever be? Unless he has a different knock/niggle.

He did start the game in Dubai so maybe Lennon just prefers Whittaker.

Nevi_SOL
19-01-2019, 01:09 PM
Is the game on Hibs tv for overseas viewers?

19-01-2019, 01:13 PM
Shame that Gray isn't ready yet (refuse to believe Lennon would prefer Whittaker over him).

I think its more of a case of airing on the side of caution. Whitty more than capable doing the job against Elgin, with the greatest of respect to Elgin. NL might feel Gray needs 20 minutes in his legs and bring him late on depending on the match situation. I reckon DG will be more involved on wednesday or next sunday or indeed both. Possibly with his injury record and only just getting fit three games in a week is a bit much for him at this stage

19-01-2019, 01:14 PM
Tommy Block!!!

The boy must have impressed Lennon in training.

19-01-2019, 01:16 PM

I’ve already decided he’s MOTM regardless of whether he gets on or not.

19-01-2019, 01:17 PM
I think its more of a case of airing on the side of caution. Whitty more than capable doing the job against Elgin, with the greatest of respect to Elgin. NL might feel Gray needs 20 minutes in his legs and bring him late on depending on the match situation. I reckon DG will be more involved on wednesday or next sunday or indeed both. Possibly with his injury record and only just getting fit three games in a week is a bit much for him at this stageWas just gonna say the same am sure it's with the next 2 league matches in mind...no need to risk either SDG or Porto today

19-01-2019, 01:19 PM
I’ve seen a David Gray change a game before.

From the bench?

19-01-2019, 01:20 PM
From the bench?

He very nearly changed the derby from the bench.

Cat Stanton
19-01-2019, 01:29 PM

One striker at home to Elgin? Bit odd?

19-01-2019, 01:32 PM

My thoughts too

19-01-2019, 01:33 PM
Tommy Block!!!

Do do dodododoo

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

19-01-2019, 01:35 PM
Mallan will definitely score today from a free kick or shot from outside the box

19-01-2019, 01:35 PM

We will still score four or five.

19-01-2019, 01:38 PM
Rocky not as injured as first thought?

BlackSheep
19-01-2019, 01:39 PM

A game that we should comfortably win is the perfect opportunity to get the team used to any new tactics or formations.

We would all love to just stick 3 up front and hope we pump them by 10 but that’s not how it works really.

19-01-2019, 01:39 PM
Do do dodododoo

Good point well made!!

19-01-2019, 01:40 PM

Stuff of dreams for the lad. Great to see.

19-01-2019, 01:40 PM
Rocky not as injured as first thought?

Given that news we won't be signing Glover

19-01-2019, 01:42 PM
Given that news we won't be signing Glover

No Glover as cover?

Cat Stanton
19-01-2019, 01:49 PM
No Glover as cover?

Not being cocky, but we've got Rocky.

19-01-2019, 01:53 PM

Wish people would get this only 1 striker nonsense out their heads, many top teams play 1 up top, lots of creativity with the 3-4 attacking mids behind supplying.

19-01-2019, 01:56 PM
Reasonable travelling support

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190119/e49f366c642d0d76bd9dc09a06155850.jpg

SJNB Hibby
Hibs tv just went offline:confused:

Pretty sure Efe sitting up the back of west stand in his hibs gear.

Famous five is empty.

19-01-2019, 01:57 PM

I'm hoping to see Mallan right up there playing off the striker.

19-01-2019, 01:58 PM
Wish people would get this only 1 striker nonsense out their heads, many top teams play 1 up top, lots of creativity with the 3-4 attacking mids behind supplying.

If Horgan and Gauld push up we are effectively playing with three strikers.

19-01-2019, 01:58 PM
Why wasn't the famous 5 and/or east stand shut for this?

AZhibee
19-01-2019, 02:00 PM
Reasonable travelling support

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190119/e49f366c642d0d76bd9dc09a06155850.jpg

All of Elgin, no?

19-01-2019, 02:02 PM
All of Elgin, no?

Here you enough of the cheek 😁

19-01-2019, 02:03 PM
Is Hibs tv up and running.

Just noticed Elgin have had 5 red cards already this season. Our lads will need to watch.

Anyone else not got a picture on Hibstv?

Spudster
19-01-2019, 02:04 PM
All of Elgin, no?
Would have to fill in the corners to fit them all in

Niagara Lad
19-01-2019, 02:04 PM
Audio only here in Niagara.

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2019, 02:05 PM
Audio only here in Niagara.

Running in Canada fine---I'm on the backup player

19-01-2019, 02:05 PM
ST Johnstone 1-0 up.

Niagara Lad
19-01-2019, 02:06 PM
Told to click on back up player. Video now.

19-01-2019, 02:06 PM
4mins in and 2 headers off target, 1 on and a shot well saved.

19-01-2019, 02:09 PM

From Hibs I hope!

19-01-2019, 02:10 PM
From Hibs I hope!

19-01-2019, 02:11 PM

Ffs getting pumped by Elgin. Lennon out, the ref is pish etc

hhibs
19-01-2019, 02:13 PM
Told to click on back up player. Video now.

Any chance you tell them we are not getting a match tab to click on ,not alone in this.

19-01-2019, 02:14 PM
12 mins and still 0-0 get the finger out Hibs ffs 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄

19-01-2019, 02:15 PM
12 mins and still 0-0 get the finger out Hibs ffs 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄

Shocking!

19-01-2019, 02:16 PM
Gauld with a chance of a header but he didnt connect properly and now mallan with a placed **** but it trickled past the post.

Should only be a matter of time.

19-01-2019, 02:19 PM
Hope young Murray gets a run out later in the game Gray you would of thought needs games to get fully match fit
Expect a comfortable win by three or four

Hoping we get a couple soon so I can go back to the pub

Gauld with a chance of a header but he didnt connect properly and now mallan with a placed **** but it trickled past the post.

Surely Mallan could have waited until half time to do that?

I had heard that Paula Radcliffe was one of Mallan's heroes.

Lendo
19-01-2019, 02:20 PM
Goal. 1 nil Hibs

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2019, 02:21 PM
Excellent Flo!!:flag::flag:

goal hibs 1-0 super Flo

Great ball from Gauld

19-01-2019, 02:22 PM
Gauld to kamberi. Goal
Just how we dreamed it

goal hibs 1-0 super Flo
Gauld assist!!!!!

Good pass from Gauld, Flo nips past keeper and scores.

And another then Flo blasts it over the bar

Surely Mallan could have waited until half time to do that?

19-01-2019, 02:23 PM
Allan who? I jest. Great through ball from Gauld to Kamberi.

HibeeHibernian4
Ryan Gauld. :top marks

Gauld looking tasty. Him and Allan in the same team and the amount of shroo balls may lead to a rift in the space time dimension.

Keyser Sauzee
19-01-2019, 02:24 PM
Is Gauld playing in an attacking role or a bit deeper?

Lendo
19-01-2019, 02:24 PM
Goal!!

19-01-2019, 02:25 PM
2- zilch Horgan

Horgan took a clattering, still scores

25 gone and it's 2-0

Game over

Lendo
Horgan with the second

19-01-2019, 02:26 PM
Great play from Slivka and a brave header from Horgan.

Any good streams PM appreciated

2- zilch Horgan
Is that the final score?????

19-01-2019, 02:27 PM
Go home you...Elgin

Callum7
Any good streams PM appreciated

Same here please.

And me please

Feed the Flo and he will score.

And Horgan too.

19-01-2019, 02:28 PM
ok who text Hibs tv from texas

Keyser Sauzee
And me please

Is that the final score?????

after 26 mins i doubt it

19-01-2019, 02:30 PM

Me. I bought an extension cord and a flat pack table.

19-01-2019, 02:30 PM

someone with the user name Niagara Lad who was able to get video and others were offline.

19-01-2019, 02:31 PM
Unlucky Horgan

Game over

That was they thought in 2016 at Tynecastle in this very same competition. Another two or three please Hibs.

elevengoats
Gauld is amazing. I can already feel how amazing the fella will be for us in the rest of the season.

19-01-2019, 02:32 PM
I have Hibs tv in Texas and I left a message on the wall if that's what you are asking?

Niagara Lad
someone with the user name Niagara Lad who was able to get video and others were offline.

Yup, that’s me.

Do the 'Singing Section' only turn up for the bigger games?

2 nice assists.

Coaxed the goalie into coming for the ball, we were sharp and brave to get there first.

Lemonade
19-01-2019, 02:33 PM
Penalty Hibs

Lemonade
Saved :-(

Penalty Hibs

penalty, Flo misses from the spot again

Time for someone else to be taking Pens

19-01-2019, 02:34 PM
Hook him

Get Flo off the pens!

Definitely!

Goalie guessed right

Hook him

clock him

HiBremian

Step forward the Bartman :wink:

19-01-2019, 02:35 PM

Yup. Lucky it's only Elgin

Gauld is amazing. I can already feel how amazing the fella will be for us in the rest of the season.

I can't remember him at United and the quality of the opposition doesn't matter - he is a cracking player.

Get Mallan to take them, dead ball expert

Step forward the Bartman :wink:

100%

clock him

Block him

19-01-2019, 02:36 PM
Yup. Lucky it's only Elgin

Still a job to be done, not over yet

19-01-2019, 02:36 PM
I can't remember him at United and the quality of the opposition doesn't matter - he is a cracking player.
Is he going to be knocked about by other stronger bigger players????

19-01-2019, 02:37 PM
The Bartman will look after him. Same as Matty did for wee Russell......

19-01-2019, 02:38 PM
Get Mallan to take them, dead ball expert

Missed in our shootout vs Aberdeen [emoji85]

HibeeHibernian4
19-01-2019, 02:39 PM
Hanlon always has been confident with them in shootouts, get him to take the next one.

19-01-2019, 02:42 PM
Hanlon always has been confident with them in shootouts, get him to take the next one.

19-01-2019, 02:43 PM
Quite good patter from Elgin support cheering every blocked shot

19-01-2019, 02:44 PM

Congrats on worst idea in hibs.net history

19-01-2019, 02:44 PM
Do do dodododoo

This cannot stand.

19-01-2019, 02:45 PM
Another pen!

3-0

Mallan this time.

Told you , let Mallan take them

19-01-2019, 02:46 PM
Mallan showing Flo how it's done

well done mallando 3-0

HibeeHibernian4

Why?

Bollocks. Not saying he should take our pens but in shootouts previously he's shown he's capable.

19-01-2019, 02:47 PM
HT this seasons winners leading 3-0

Performing well. Shame about the crowd, but it was always going to be shockingly bad at that price point.

Gauldinho ripping it up. Excellent.

HT this seasons winners leading 3-0

How fantastic would that be!!

hibee62
The Flo penalty thing is strange because the 2 he scored last year were emphatic, confident penalties. The ones this season, even the ones he’s scored, were anything but. Strikes me as a bit of a confidence player...

19-01-2019, 02:49 PM
How fantastic would that be!!

jollytriffic :)

19-01-2019, 02:50 PM
Dearest game in Scotland today.

Nope.

He's got a wee burst of pace to take him away from players. He looks strong enough to me, and has a low centre of gravity so I can't see him being easily overpowered.

And for all he's a wee lad he gets stuck in, grafts away and looks busy and spirited.

Just what we've been needing - a bit of an all-rounder instead of more specialists with deficiencies.

Even if the opposition is poor, 3-0 at halftime is a good confidence boost!!!

18Craig75
I know it’s only Elgin but we’re looking so much better than before the break. Passing at a higher tempo.

19-01-2019, 02:51 PM
The Flo penalty thing is strange because the 2 he scored last year were emphatic, confident penalties. The ones this season, even the ones he’s scored, were anything but. Strikes me as a bit of a confidence player...

I don’t think it was that bad a penalty wasnin the corner with decent pace keepers guesses right and saved it. Like you say though last season he was blootering then high and into the net the way to take a pen

19-01-2019, 02:52 PM
Gauld playing just behind Kamberi?

Performing well. Shame about the crowd, but it was always going to be shockingly bad at that price point.

How many folk would you estimate are at the game?

id like to see a bit of wee Murray and Block 2nd half and get another bloody striker on .

19-01-2019, 02:53 PM
id like to see a bit of wee Murray and Block 2nd half and get another bloody striker on .

Why do we need another striker on?

To be fair to him, his penalty was the only thing he's done that didn't look confident. He's led the line very well and there was no shortage of confidence about his first goal.

I had Mallan to score anytime and Hibs to win anyway, so I'm prepared to forgive Flo.

hibee62
I don’t think it was that bad a penalty wasnin the corner with decent pace keepers guesses right and saved it. Like you say though last season he was blootering then high and into the net the way to take a pen

Agreed, far from his worst today, the old “good height for a keeper” line will be trotted out though.

I also thought there was an extra bit of zip about him after his goal today and thought the same against Celtic. Another couple today would do the world of good I think.

Gauld playing just behind Kamberi?

seems to be floating around the place

You can see he has terrific technique

Thought Kamberi was playing very well until the PK miss. Hopefully he gets back to that level 2nd half.

19-01-2019, 02:54 PM

Not the one quoted but from my reckoning about 7k

Dearest game in Scotland today.

Aye, but it's the only game with Gauld and Kamberi :cb

Nevi_SOL
Gauld playing the Dylan McGeough role, not as deep though

H18S NX
Slivka and Horgan very good first half.

Gauld playing the Dylan McGeough role, not as deep though

Nothing like Dylan imo

HibeeHibernian4
19-01-2019, 02:55 PM

Just checked Hanlon's penalty record, three from three as far as I can see.

19-01-2019, 02:56 PM
I know it’s only Elgin but we’re looking so much better than before the break. Passing at a higher tempo.

Shame really. I had a pre-prepared rant about the squad holidaying in Dubai rather than running the Gullane sand dunes and gutting fish for a fortnight.

I’d look a bit stupid posting that now.

19-01-2019, 02:56 PM
Why do we need another striker on?

Were playing Elgin at home

19-01-2019, 02:57 PM
Shame really. I had a pre-prepared rant about the squad holidaying in Dubai rather than running the Gullane sand dunes and gutting fish for a fortnight.

Just wait until they inevitably score :devil:

18Craig75

There’s time yet..,

Not the one quoted but from my reckoning about 7k

Thanks Ryan, that isn't bad all things considered

19-01-2019, 02:58 PM
Gauld playing well?

19-01-2019, 02:59 PM

Just go with the predictable alternative sneer...

'Nice to see we can beat a team from the fourth tier'.

There was a time not so long ago, that would have been a great crowd for bigger games than this!!

Between 6-7k. For a 3pm Saturday kick off, the club missed a trick with the pricing imo.

19-01-2019, 03:00 PM
Gauld playing well?

His name is Gauldinho.

It's weird though, seeing ER so empty for a competitive match given recent uptick in attendance

mentalhibee
Gauld looks a classy player

Thief
A quality player like Gauld almost always brings out the best in other players. I appreciate we’re playing Elgin but Kamberi, Horgan, Mallan and Silvka have all had a few wee intricate one touch stuff going on, which has sadly been lacking this season.
I know Gauld didn’t earn either pen but he’ll pick up a few - loves dropping the shoulder in the box.
I’m starting to feel good again about hibs [emoji172]

Were playing Elgin at home

We’re 3-0 up with 1 striker

Between 6-7k. For a 3pm Saturday kick off, the club missed a trick with the pricing imo.

Good point

19-01-2019, 03:01 PM
Gauldinho ripping it up. Excellent.That's good to hear...promising stuff

19-01-2019, 03:01 PM
Gauld playing well?

No he's playing with us against Elgin today. :wink:

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2019, 03:03 PM
They should have scored there

19-01-2019, 03:03 PM

Elgin probably wanted higher price to make more cash, they were never going to be a big draw and a couple quid extra on adult tix means more cash for them

19-01-2019, 03:05 PM
Why?

I’d guess Hanlon has maybe taken 2 or 3 competitive penalties in about 10 years. Aye he looked magic get him taking pens. Pub punditry at its best.

HibeeHibernian4
19-01-2019, 03:07 PM
I’d guess Hanlon has maybe taken 2 or 3 competitive penalties in about 10 years. Aye he looked magic get him taking pens. Pub punditry at its best.

He's taken three since 2014 and tucked all of them expertly away in high pressure penalty shootout situations, one of them helping us get to the Scottish Cup Final in 2016.

19-01-2019, 03:08 PM
It's weird though, seeing ER so empty for a competitive match given recent uptick in attendance

Yeah, 10,000 folk have decided to do something else. IMO the crowd would have been 5 figures had the pricing been more appropriate.

19-01-2019, 03:09 PM
Horgan double, 4-0

Lendo
19-01-2019, 03:10 PM
4th goal.

Elgin probably wanted higher price to make more cash, they were never going to be a big draw and a couple quid extra on adult tix means more cash for them

I don't see how they're making more cash. If the prices had been slashed and the game marketed properly, more cash would have been generated through high numbers.

4-0. Probably through now.

19-01-2019, 03:11 PM
Lets see if Horgan can get the hat trick.....

He's taken three since 2014 and tucked all of them expertly away in high pressure penalty shootout situations, one of them helping us get to the Scottish Cup Final in 2016.

It just seems obvious to me if you give Hanlon and Kamberi 100 penalties, Kamberi will score more than Hanlon. Not sure what is difficult to understand about it and I’m not sure 3 penalties suggest otherwise.

if he had missed from there Q's would have been asked :)

4-0. Probably through now.

I'd be happy to see this one out. Must be about full time

19-01-2019, 03:12 PM
dear hibs, can the defence have a clean sheet now please, there's money waiting from bet365

19-01-2019, 03:14 PM
the visitors playing exhibition football now

fortunately for us they're going backwards

19-01-2019, 03:21 PM
Could with a sub to spark some interest in the game. Come on Lennon give the young guys a decent chance.

19-01-2019, 03:23 PM
Get tam on (by Tam I mean tommy block)

19-01-2019, 03:24 PM
players in Dubai mode now

:)

19-01-2019, 03:25 PM
murray and shaw on for flo and gauld

19-01-2019, 03:28 PM
Shaw with another howler

19-01-2019, 03:29 PM
Shaw with another howlerTime is fast running out for Oli with strikers on way...shame as I really wanted him to do well but he needs a spell at a lower level on loan imho

Aberdeen no 1-1???

Shaw with another howler
Shawking miss

19-01-2019, 03:31 PM
30 shots for us today according to the beeb.

HibeeHibernian4
19-01-2019, 03:31 PM
Aberdeen no 1-1???

Yep, Stenny equalise.

19-01-2019, 03:32 PM
Aberdeen no 1-1???

They deserve to get horsed our ASAP after their robbery of us in the league cup.

That's good to hear...promising stuff

I'm just judging based on the radio:greengrin

No he's playing with us against Elgin today. :wink:

https://media.giphy.com/media/3o7qE0gOGwzPbH81Qk/giphy.gif

19-01-2019, 03:34 PM
Looks like Bogdan having to go off injured. Luckily we’ve not made our 3rd sub yet but David Gray was just about to come on

19-01-2019, 03:35 PM
Looks like Bogdan having to go off injured. Luckily we’ve not made our 3rd sub yet but David Gray was just about to come on

More injuries deary me

19-01-2019, 03:37 PM
More injuries deary me

Seems more like a precaution than anything else

19-01-2019, 03:38 PM
More injuries deary me
Bogdan will be fine for the next game. Took a dull yin but walked off on his own.....

19-01-2019, 03:47 PM
Attendance is 7082

19-01-2019, 03:47 PM
full time

19-01-2019, 03:48 PM
Long stoppage for Bogdan but no injury time???

referee refuses to watch any more of this friendly p'sh so blows for FT :greengrin

Off the bar
referee refuses to watch any more of this friendly p'sh so blows for FT :greengrin

Think he's on a promise tonight!

19-01-2019, 03:50 PM
Attendance is 7082

If only there were 20 less people.

19-01-2019, 03:52 PM
Solid enough performance. But still a few weak links here and there. Whittaker not offering much defensively or in attack. We could do with a solid right back.

19-01-2019, 03:53 PM
Solid enough performance. But still a few weak links here and there. Whittaker not offering much defensively or in attack. We could do with a solid right back.

Whittaker was fine, no need for yet another dig at him

Roxyhibee
19-01-2019, 03:53 PM

Should have been 8 that night.

19-01-2019, 03:57 PM
Attendance is 7082

Your estimate was remarkably close :aok:

19-01-2019, 03:57 PM
Solid enough performance. But still a few weak links here and there. Whittaker not offering much defensively or in attack. We could do with a solid right back.Apart from an assist for the 4th do u mean??

19-01-2019, 04:00 PM

He looks tired and was making bloopers here and there. I'll have a dig at him if I think he's going to continue to be a problem against better opposition.

19-01-2019, 04:01 PM
He looks tired and was making bloopers here and there. I'll have a dig at him if I think he's going to continue to be a problem against better opposition.

So you're having a dig at him for something that hasn't happened yet, well done!!

Here’s Lucy!
19-01-2019, 04:04 PM

19-01-2019, 04:14 PM
2nd half was a bit of a slog but the game was done so difficult to be critical. They were, as expected, garbage.

Aim Here
19-01-2019, 04:21 PM
Apart from an assist for the 4th do u mean??

He also won the penalty that Flo fluffed and got on the end of a lot of great forward passes up the wing. I do think he was struggling in the second half when trying to defend, though. Players always look good against weaker opposition, and his performance today was a bit of a mixed bag, which is a bit concerning if you're only playing Elgin.

19-01-2019, 04:24 PM
A professional performance, in the hat for our trip to Tynecastle next round.

19-01-2019, 04:32 PM
I’m guessing Gray was saved for Wednesday.

19-01-2019, 04:32 PM

He was stripped and ready to come on just before Bogdan went off injured.

19-01-2019, 04:33 PM

No so sure he needs saved. Could have been doing with a game I think.

19-01-2019, 04:40 PM

Well done on finding something to be negative about on a day where we’ve won 4-0 and signed a promising young player :rolleyes:

19-01-2019, 04:51 PM
Well done on finding something to be negative about on a day where we’ve won 4-0 and signed a promising young player :rolleyes:

A Serie A Superstar, no less.

19-01-2019, 04:53 PM
He was stripped and ready to come on just before Bogdan went off injured.

I'd have stuck him in goal. There's nothing that wonderful man can't do.

Mantis Toboggan
19-01-2019, 04:53 PM
Did anyone else notice the group of 'Elgin' fans leaving shortly after the fourth? I am going to guess they were maybe on a day trip from Gorgie. Particularly given the gesticulating as they sloped out. Thanks for the 22 quid guys.

19-01-2019, 05:01 PM

Disappointed in the level of negativity on this board today tbh. It’s been a decent season but the energy levels have dipped since the relatively encouraging window and there’s no sense in denying it. A lot of the usual suspects seem to be going through the motions and I worry that they’ve downed tools.

Anybody else a bit concerned?

skyhibs
19-01-2019, 05:05 PM
Whittaker is a weak link but not too much to worry about against teams like Elgin.... but needs to be replaced if we have any ambition

19-01-2019, 05:09 PM
Disappointed in the level of negativity on this board today tbh. It’s been a decent season but the energy levels have dipped since the relatively encouraging window and there’s no sense in denying it. A lot of the usual suspects seem to be going through the motions and I worry that they’ve downed tools.

Anybody else a bit concerned?

They struggle to cope in the harsh winter climate of new signings.

Anyone can moan their tits off senselessly during the better weather but it takes properly committed undercovers or full scale swimming-in-your-own-pi5h ravers to keep it going in the face of a better squad developing. We're clearly lacking a proper box-to-box sourfaced **** to be properly competitive.

I'm worried we're leaving it to the end of the window when all the best malcontents will have been snapped up.

19-01-2019, 05:11 PM

Hes never missed one in his career.

19-01-2019, 05:11 PM
Professional performance - gave Elgin the respect they deserved and progressed comfortably with a bright performance. Gauld was a joy to watch and the pass for opener exactly the attribute that’s been missing from our play this season. Kamberi will relish more of that and I’m really excited looking ahead to what Gauld, and hopefully Allan will bring to the team for remainder of season.

CLASS OF 72 -73
19-01-2019, 05:16 PM
Attendance is 7082

I get the price issue and understand its not an attractive tie but league crowds at 16-18k and we get 7k for a SC game -- disappointing really.
And no I wasn't there but travel hundreds of miles to see my team when I can.

Benny Brazil
19-01-2019, 05:21 PM
Decent performance I thought but Elgin rarely looked like scoring- Horgan Malian Gauld and Slivka pick of the bunch today

19-01-2019, 05:32 PM
Whittaker is a weak link but not too much to worry about against teams like Elgin.... but needs to be replaced if we have any ambition

He is a reserve/back up player, more than able to step in when required

19-01-2019, 05:39 PM
I get the price issue and understand its not an attractive tie but league crowds at 16-18k and we get 7k for a SC game -- disappointing really.

Aberdeen got 9600 today so 2500 more through the gate than us. I suspect that is because they got their pricing correct.

houstonhibbee
19-01-2019, 05:41 PM
Aberdeen had almost 10k v stenny