View Full Version : Hibs v Elgin

Pages : 1 [2]

19-01-2019, 05:47 PM
Aberdeen got 9600 today so 2500 more through the gate than us. I suspect that is because they got their pricing correct.

that will be their budget goosed now for lowering prices

or most likely not

19-01-2019, 05:49 PM
Just out of interest how did Elgin play? Any of their players look decent? Did they have a go at all?

Doh Rae Me
19-01-2019, 05:53 PM
Just out of interest how did Elgin play? Any of their players look decent? Did they have a go at all?
I thought their no.7 was decent, dunno his name tho.

Lemonade
19-01-2019, 05:54 PM
I get the price issue and understand its not an attractive tie but league crowds at 16-18k and we get 7k for a SC game -- disappointing really.
And no I wasn't there but travel hundreds of miles to see my team when I can.

Sorry man but if you can’t be arsed to go to the games , you surely can’t have a pop at the crowd.

19-01-2019, 05:59 PM
Solid enough performance. But still a few weak links here and there. Whittaker not offering much defensively or in attack. We could do with a solid right back.

Whitty had a decent game, you’re talking utter pish just to have a dig at him.

19-01-2019, 06:00 PM
Sorry man but if you can’t be arsed to go to the games , you surely can’t have a pop at the crowd.

I think going by his last sentence he doesn't live in close proximity to Easter Road.

19-01-2019, 06:09 PM
Whitty had a decent game, you’re talking utter pish just to have a dig at him.

Some of his crosses were brilliant today. Thought he got a bit sloppy last 20 or so, but thought he had a good game overall

allmodcons
19-01-2019, 06:15 PM
Whittaker is a weak link but not too much to worry about against teams like Elgin.... but needs to be replaced if we have any ambition

Pish

19-01-2019, 06:26 PM
What did Lennon say? Missed him on Radio Scotland.

Cheshire Hibee
19-01-2019, 06:27 PM
He looks tired and was making bloopers here and there. I'll have a dig at him if I think he's going to continue to be a problem against better opposition.

Give the guy a break his grandmother passed away suddenly yesterday I was surprised he played.

19-01-2019, 06:29 PM
What did Lennon say? Missed him on Radio Scotland.

Not sure he did the media. Parker was on Hibs TV.

19-01-2019, 06:31 PM

Was that the guy playing left wing? Couldn't see his shirt number but if so then I agree he was quite a tricky wee player

19-01-2019, 06:32 PM
Some of his crosses were brilliant today. Thought he got a bit sloppy last 20 or so, but thought he had a good game overall

Very accurate summary of Whitty - cannot complain with what was a professional performance, 4 goals, strikers scoring, promising debut from Gauld, defence keeping a clean sheet, and into the next round :aok:

Thought Fraser Murray looked very decent in the short space of time he was on. Great shot which was inches away from a being a good goal, and made a couple of really good threaded passes to Horgan between the full back which could have led to goals - Shaw should have buried his one mind.

All in all a pleasing day.

19-01-2019, 06:34 PM

I think he was the one who was going off for Gray if Bogdan hadn’t had to go off injured.

19-01-2019, 06:52 PM

Yep had a good game won a pen range of passing was good excellent crosss for 4th goal. Weak link my erchie.

19-01-2019, 07:02 PM
They struggle to cope in the harsh winter climate of new signings.

Anyone can moan their tits off senselessly during the better weather but it takes properly committed undercovers or full scale swimming-in-your-own-pi5h ravers to keep it going in the face of a better squad developing. We're clearly lacking a proper box-to-box sourfaced **** to be properly competitive.

I'm worried we're leaving it to the end of the window when all the best malcontents will have been snapped up.

Sometimes you just need the right (I mean wrong) result to get the crowd going.

Things like Kamberi blaming a knee injury rather than Lennon or Petrie for below par performances doesn’t help... ditto Mallan stating in an interview that he is determined to show the fans and manager that he is good enough to wear the shirt.

Must be tough being a bedwetter / welt at times.

19-01-2019, 07:06 PM

Rabin Omar, ex-Annan and Partick youth.

19-01-2019, 07:08 PM
Was a good win but tbh was surprised at some of the negative comments behind me in the stand literally as soon as the game started!

19-01-2019, 07:11 PM
I think he was the one who was going off for Gray if Bogdan hadn’t had to go off injured.

Think he was, but it didn’t detract from his overall performance

19-01-2019, 07:22 PM
Think he was, but it didn’t detract from his overall performance

No, it didn’t. I meant to say that in my last post, he had a good game :agree:

skyhibs
19-01-2019, 07:23 PM
Pish

It’s all about opinions but good constructive reply

But your right... he is pish

19-01-2019, 07:26 PM
Solid enough performance. But still a few weak links here and there. Whittaker not offering much defensively or in attack. We could do with a solid right back.

Really? Whittaker was excellent going forward today. Put in some great balls. The assist for the fourth goal was superb.

19-01-2019, 07:28 PM
Really? Whittaker was excellent going forward today. Put in some great balls. The assist for the fourth goal was superb.

He’s easy target, wish we’d support our players a bit more

19-01-2019, 07:30 PM
I'm normally a decent level of moaner but even I thought Whiitaker had a good game today.

I must be losing my touch. Sorry DB...

Robbo6-2
19-01-2019, 07:32 PM
Whittaker was the best player on park today.

19-01-2019, 07:34 PM
Disappointed in the level of negativity on this board today tbh. It’s been a decent season but the energy levels have dipped since the relatively encouraging window and there’s no sense in denying it. A lot of the usual suspects seem to be going through the motions and I worry that they’ve downed tools.

Anybody else a bit concerned?

Im more concerned some fans think we've been decent so far this season. We started ok then over last 10/15 games been absolutely woeful. To me it isn't an acceptable first half of the season. Today was a step in the right direction.

Doh Rae Me
19-01-2019, 07:35 PM
Was that the guy playing left wing? Couldn't see his shirt number but if so then I agree he was quite a tricky wee player

Yeah that's the man.

19-01-2019, 07:37 PM

He was excellent. Bonkers that anyone thought otherwise.

allmodcons
19-01-2019, 07:43 PM
It’s all about opinions but good constructive reply

But your right... he is pish

What was constructive about your original post?

19-01-2019, 07:43 PM
Re the 'Elgin' fans who disappeared after the THIRD goal. They were the most vocal part of their support, leading the *hitey home support chant.

Great to get their £22 quid a head for less than 45 minutes football.

On the other hand, full marks to the Elgin supporters who stuck it out to the end and saluted their team.

19-01-2019, 07:59 PM
Horgan brilliant when played in his actual position as a winger, and not centrally.

19-01-2019, 08:14 PM
I get the price issue and understand its not an attractive tie but league crowds at 16-18k and we get 7k for a SC game -- disappointing really.
And no I wasn't there but travel hundreds of miles to see my team when I can.

How many were at Parkhead? League attendances aren’t really any kind of guide to crowds in the early rounds of cups.

19-01-2019, 08:17 PM
It's weird though, seeing ER so empty for a competitive match given recent uptick in attendance

Not long back from the game and in my opinion the supporters voted with their feet to stay away in a crazy priced game.
I just hope that Hibs take note for the next few seasons and if drawn against small teams at home they stick to sensible prices like having a max of £15 and min of £5.00.
Game was o.k. but never worth the expense of getting there and then £22.00 to get in.
Reduced price may have had 12,000 in the ground with a wee bit of atmosphere at least, pay attention Hibs you cannot keep ripping off people they will just say up you and stay away on what was a bloody cold day for sure.

19-01-2019, 08:17 PM

He was about to come off just before Bogdan was injured. He signalled to the bench a couple of minutes before that.

19-01-2019, 08:18 PM

Fantastic bit of football and vision for the fourth goal started by him and final assist by him.

19-01-2019, 08:18 PM
Re the 'Elgin' fans who disappeared after the THIRD goal. They were the most vocal part of their support, leading the *hitey home support chant.

Great to get their £22 quid a head for less than 45 minutes football.

On the other hand, full marks to the Elgin supporters who stuck it out to the end and saluted their team.

Yeah, outwith the '*hitey home support' nonsense early on, I thought their support backed the team pretty well and, apart from a small group, most stayed to the end to clap their players off the field.

19-01-2019, 08:19 PM
Yeah that's the man.

Elgin number 7 looked alright.

GreenProfessor
19-01-2019, 08:20 PM
Fantastic bit of football and vision for the fourth goal started by him and final assist by him.

Definitely, other than a couple of slack moments I thought he was excellent today. I sit in the East near the FF stand and his cross for Horgan's second was sublime.

CLASS OF 72 -73
19-01-2019, 08:21 PM
I live in England and previously Zambia its not about being arsed!

19-01-2019, 08:23 PM
Attendance is 7082

Minus a good number of Elgin supporters and youd have to say around 6,500 Hibs supporters the rest have told Hibs to ram the full price of a ticket.

19-01-2019, 08:24 PM
referee refuses to watch any more of this friendly p'sh so blows for FT :greengrin

I think he was as cold as the rest of us and just wanted it finished with.

19-01-2019, 08:36 PM
Minus a good number of Elgin supporters and youd have to say around 6,500 Hibs supporters the rest have told Hibs to ram the full price of a ticket.

As has been covered in other threads Elgin City would have had to agree any price reduction. They obviously didn't. I know a couple of season ticket holders who weren't there. Not boycotting but couldn't afford it on the kids ticket price.

The crowd wasn't that bad compared to other club's attendances or comparable attendances for years gone by. Elgin probably got what they wanted and more money than they would have got at reduced prices.

Not for the first time the main losers were the football supporters who couldn't afford it

19-01-2019, 08:37 PM
Horgan brilliant when played in his actual position as a winger, and not centrally.

Finally someone that sees that too, I've been banging on about it for many weeks, he came as a left side inside forward, play him there and stop this in the middle behind the striker nonsense, we have Gauld, Mallan and hopefully Allan that can do that job.

19-01-2019, 08:46 PM
Yeah, outwith the '*hitey home support' nonsense early on, I thought their support backed the team pretty well and, apart from a small group, most stayed to the end to clap their players off the field.

It was a decent assessment of the library like home stands and empty seats.

At least they made some atmosphere... although they were a bit pathetic leaving after the fourth goal.

19-01-2019, 08:49 PM
Yep had a good game won a pen range of passing was good excellent crosss for 4th goal. Weak link my erchie.

Whittaker did a lot of good link up play but 3 or 4 short passes never cleared the first man and he lost the ball a couiple of times by having his pocket picked. Good outweighed the bad but two mistakes in full back position gave them two opportunities to set up scoring chances so not as great a performance IMO as some seem to think.

19-01-2019, 08:52 PM
I live in England and previously Zambia its not about being arsed dick!

New levels of inclusion from us Hibbies.

19-01-2019, 08:54 PM
New levels of inclusion from us Hibbies.

Oi there's a good few of us in England :greengrin

19-01-2019, 08:59 PM
Not long back from the game and in my opinion the supporters voted with their feet to stay away in a crazy priced game.
I just hope that Hibs take note for the next few seasons and if drawn against small teams at home they stick to sensible prices like having a max of £15 and min of £5.00.
Game was o.k. but never worth the expense of getting there and then £22.00 to get in.
Reduced price may have had 12,000 in the ground with a wee bit of atmosphere at least, pay attention Hibs you cannot keep ripping off people they will just say up you and stay away on what was a bloody cold day for sure.

Can’t disagree with you.

We keep hearing about community engagement, but this cup tie at home is a perfect opportunity to drop the ticket prices and attract those who can’t normally afford to come, as well as reward regular attendees with a cheaper day out.

19-01-2019, 09:04 PM
Oi there's a good few of us in England :greengrin

19-01-2019, 09:05 PM
Can’t disagree with you.

We keep hearing about community engagement, but this cup tie at home is a perfect opportunity to drop the ticket prices and attract those who can’t normally afford to come, as well as reward regular attendees with a cheaper day out.

Totally agree. I believe the visiting team has to agree the ticket price though and i figure thats possibly the stumbling block, Elgin for instance will expect they will get more from the game £22 (or whatever it was) x 7000 than 12,000 say charging a fiver.

Wee Effen Bee
19-01-2019, 09:33 PM
Can’t disagree with you.

The prices had to be agreed with Elgin and we don’t even know if Hibs asked if they were up for a reduction or not! Why do people keep blaming the board if they’re not even certain it was up to them? I would certainly be amazed if an extra 5000 decided to come along today just because of a £15 entry fee ! I think it was more to do with it being just after Xmas; getting gubbed by Hertz last time out and us lying 8th. £22 or not, if we were fighting it out at the top of the league, I would argue that the numbers attending would have been a lot greater.

19-01-2019, 09:36 PM
33 attempts on goal shows our dominance. Never in doubt. Best for me were Whittaker and Horgan. Home draw in the next round hopefully.

19-01-2019, 09:37 PM
Can’t disagree with you.

Why would we do that at the expense of Elgin City though and why would they ever agree to accept lower gate prices to reward Hibs fans. The prices today provided maximum revenue for them.

Newhaven
19-01-2019, 09:43 PM
Why would we do that at the expense of Elgin City though and why would they ever agree to accept lower gate prices to reward Hibs fans. The prices today provided maximum revenue for them.

Why should we be bending over backwards to help Elgin? We owe them nothing.

The pricing structure for today was ridiculous and both clubs did themselves no favours

19-01-2019, 09:48 PM

The pricing structure for today was ridiculous and both clubs did themselves no favours

Completely agree.

Sure it’s been well covered on here but saw something on twitter earlier saying we were the most expensive game of the day in Scotland, considering who we were playing there’s no excuse for that. Think Hearts are charging £15 tomorrow for their game.

19-01-2019, 09:50 PM
Hes never missed one in his career.

Neither have I

19-01-2019, 09:51 PM
Completely agree.

Sure it’s been well covered on here but saw something on twitter earlier saying we were the most expensive game of the day in Scotland, considering who we were playing there’s no excuse for that. Think Hearts are charging £15 tomorrow for their game.

£15 to watch Hearts......... jesus. :wink::greengrin

19-01-2019, 09:57 PM

Think Elgin did themselves a favour. They made more money out it.

19-01-2019, 10:12 PM

We didn’t bend over backwards, we respected Elgin’s position which was to maximise revenue.
As it turned out the price was decent for a comfortable win in a competition we could win with a debut from Gauld that was very promising.

Newhaven
19-01-2019, 10:18 PM
We didn’t bend over backwards, we respected Elgin’s position which was to maximise revenue.
As it turned out the price was decent for a comfortable win in a competition we could win with a debut from Gauld that was very promising.

We’ll agree to disagree on the reasoning of the pricing structure but I’m amazed if you find many fans thiought the price was decent.

19-01-2019, 10:24 PM
Don't know if you can blame Hibs for this one

Either way, the pricing was stupid

19-01-2019, 10:26 PM
The prices had to be agreed with Elgin and we don’t even know if Hibs asked if they were up for a reduction or not! Why do people keep blaming the board if they’re not even certain it was up to them? I would certainly be amazed if an extra 5000 decided to come along today just because of a £15 entry fee ! I think it was more to do with it being just after Xmas; getting gubbed👀 by Hertz last time out and us lying 8th. £22 or not, if we were fighting it out at the top of the league, I would argue that the numbers attending would have been a lot greater.

Hardly gubbed 👀 7 is a gubbing :)

19-01-2019, 10:29 PM
They struggle to cope in the harsh winter climate of new signings.

Anyone can moan their tits off senselessly during the better weather but it takes properly committed undercovers or full scale swimming-in-your-own-pi5h ravers to keep it going in the face of a better squad developing. We're clearly lacking a proper box-to-box sourfaced **** to be properly competitive.

I'm worried we're leaving it to the end of the window when all the best malcontents will have been snapped up.

Heard that Kickback have offered a precontract to some of them

19-01-2019, 10:38 PM
The prices had to be agreed with Elgin and we don’t even know if Hibs asked if they were up for a reduction or not! Why do people keep blaming the board if they’re not even certain it was up to them? I would certainly be amazed if an extra 5000 decided to come along today just because of a £15 entry fee ! I think it was more to do with it being just after Xmas; getting gubbed by Hertz last time out and us lying 8th. £22 or not, if we were fighting it out at the top of the league, I would argue that the numbers attending would have been a lot greater.

I wasn’t meaning to apportion blame, just saying that it was a missed opportunity.

Genuine question: does the visiting team genuinely have a veto over lowering prices? It seems ridiculous. As a payday, Elgin might have got a draw against Cowdenbeath or another smaller club.

theScientist
19-01-2019, 10:56 PM
We’ll agree to disagree on the reasoning of the pricing structure but I’m amazed if you find many fans thiought the price was decent.

Price for the game needs to be agreed by both clubs, if price is not agreed then it defaults to a set price, which I believe was the price for today's game. Whether the fans think it decent is a mute point given both clubs need to agree, it's not up to the fans to dictate the price.

19-01-2019, 11:13 PM

Maximising revenue isn’t necessarily achieved by setting a high price. A higher revenue may be achieved by lowering prices which in turn increases people attending. Of our group of 8 regular attendees, only 1 person attended today and the cost of tickets was a significant factor in that.

In 2015 the club were able to agree with Berwick to sell tickets for our home Scottish cup tie with Berwick for £15. The attendance that day was over 4,000 more than attended today, nearly 60% higher.

SON OF PADDY
20-01-2019, 12:27 AM
Between 6-7k. For a 3pm Saturday kick off, the club missed a trick with the pricing imo.

Was speaking to a group of Elgin supporters in the pub after the game they where telling us that Hibs wanted to charge £15.00,but their board wouldn't have any of it.
Maybe isn't always Hibs fault after all?

20-01-2019, 03:48 AM
Was speaking to a group of Elgin supporters in the pub after the game they where telling us that Hibs wanted to charge £15.00,but their board wouldn't have any of it.

Elgin would have got a bigger pay day if prices had been £15 and £5.

20-01-2019, 03:53 AM
Elgin would have got a bigger pay day if prices had been £15 and £5.

Based on what evidence?

20-01-2019, 03:58 AM
Based on what evidence?

Based on the piss poor crowd of 7083. Lower prices mean more people attend. No brainer.

Really disappointed with the crowd. Not even a signing section yesterday. Guaranteed if it was Hearts, Rangers away there would be a stampede for tickets.

20-01-2019, 04:13 AM
Based on the piss poor crowd of 7083. Lower prices mean more people attend. No brainer.

Really disappointed with the crowd. Not even a signing section yesterday. Guaranteed if it was Hearts, Rangers away there would be a stampede for tickets.

So reducing the cost to 15 pounds would have increased the crowd to what figure?

20-01-2019, 04:22 AM
So reducing the cost to 15 pounds would have increased the crowd to what figure?

You know thats an impossible question for me to answer. I do know we would have had more than 7083 though.

20-01-2019, 04:37 AM
You know thats an impossible question for me to answer. I do know we would have had more than 7083 though.

Ok so what in your mind would have been a reasonable crowd for a tie against Elgin City?

20-01-2019, 04:49 AM
Ok so what in your mind would have been a reasonable crowd for a tie against Elgin City?

Based on our recent success in the competition. 10k

20-01-2019, 04:56 AM

So go break out a calculator and do the math. 7083 @ 22 pounds per ticket versus 10,000 @ 15 pounds per ticket. Bear in mind im not taking in to account that you were saying that some of the ticket price would be 5 pounds per ticket.

Skol
20-01-2019, 05:13 AM
To answer fans questions on this should be in the remit of the fans reps

20-01-2019, 06:11 AM
Perhaps Tracey can give a a straightforward answer in regards to the pricing.

Did Hibs ask the price to be set at £15 and this was vetoed by Elgin or did Hibs set the price of £22?

20-01-2019, 06:48 AM

Which would have given the clubs less revenue with slashed entry costs. I doubt we would have got anywhere near 10000 for this one either. People didn’t go yesterday because we were playing Elgin. If it had been Hearts the ticket price wouldn’t have mattered.

20-01-2019, 06:52 AM
Based on what evidence?

See evidence in quote below. Also, keep in mind that in 2015, our average attendances were significantly lower than they are now.

2019 v Elgin. Att, 7,082 = 40% of our 2018/19 average attendance.
2015 v Berwick. Att, 11,259 = 111% of our 2014/15 average attendance

In 2015 the club were able to agree with Berwick to sell tickets for our home Scottish cup tie with Berwick for £15. The attendance that day was over 4,000 more than attended today, nearly 60% higher.

7,082 x 20 = 141,640
11,259 x 15 = 168,885

20-01-2019, 06:56 AM

I can’t say that it was a major topic at the game, we were just enjoying watching Hibs. It’s not all about joyless whinging, some of us actually enjoy being Hibs fans. :greengrin
My point was that Gauld’s debut did go a long way towards justifying what we paid though.

20-01-2019, 07:05 AM

It's disappointing that the singing section don't turn up for these cup ties against lower league opposition. No doubt they will be back for the Cat A away games when they get their tickets in a block, up front before any public sale.

20-01-2019, 07:15 AM
See evidence in quote below. Also, keep in mind that in 2015, our average attendances were significantly lower than they are now.

2015 v Berwick. Att, 11,259 = 111% of our 2014/15 average attendance.

To add to the above:

2010 v Irvine Meadow. Att, 10,197 = 84% of our 2010/11 average attendance.
2010 v Montrose, Att 9,068 = 78% of our 2010/11 average attendance.
2006 v Arbroath, Att 10,523 = 76% of our 2005/06 average attendance.

Tickets for the Irvine Meadow match were £15. I haven’t been able to source price data for the other matches but assume they were similar.

20-01-2019, 07:16 AM

The number of people on here who simply can't wait to have a go at the club is mental.

None of them are interested in even considering that it might not be Hibs doing.

Fannys

20-01-2019, 07:21 AM
The number of people on here who simply can't wait to have a go at the club is mental.

None of them are interested in even considering that it might not be Hibs doing.

Fannys

Should be fairly easy for Tracey to confirm one way or the other.

I think her previous answer to it was a little unclear to be honest so would be good to have it cleared up.

20-01-2019, 07:28 AM

Fannys

It’s a negotiation between the 2 clubs. Somebody mentioned previously that if there is no agreement it defaults to a set price. As we were the most expensive game in Scotland yesterday there are therefore 2 scenarios.

1. We were the only home team in Scotland who couldn’t mutuallly agree a pricing structure for their game.
2. The club agreed to price the game at £22 for Adults.

20-01-2019, 08:11 AM
Maximising revenue isn’t necessarily achieved by setting a high price. A higher revenue may be achieved by lowering prices which in turn increases people attending. Of our group of 8 regular attendees, only 1 person attended today and the cost of tickets was a significant factor in that.

2015 v Berwick. Att, 11,259 = 111% of our 2014/15 average attendance

7,082 x 20 = 141,640
11,259 x 15 = 168,885

That game V Berwick isnt really a fair comparison because it was a quarter final, at a time when were yet to win the cup, so there was a massive incentive that day for a Hibs win.

20-01-2019, 08:15 AM
It's disappointing that the singing section don't turn up for these cup ties against lower league opposition. No doubt they will be back for the Cat A away games when they get their tickets in a block, up front before any public sale.

Plenty there but not in an official capacity. I didn’t attend, financially not able to after the fesitive period and being away abroad a month from Froday. Shame those financially fortunate feel the need to question Hibs fans who wanted to attend, but weren’t in the same position and therefore not able to.

20-01-2019, 09:58 AM
Funny, players can have a month off, yet fans can't miss 1 game?????

20-01-2019, 10:17 AM

Ok so as most thought Elgin wanted higher pricing so no need to rip into our own club.

20-01-2019, 10:48 AM
Ok so as most thought Elgin wanted higher pricing so no need to rip into our own club.

It’s not solely up to Elgin though, both teams have to agree to the pricing.

SON OF PADDY
20-01-2019, 11:02 AM

Hopefully Jim you're not suggesting that I'm ripping into my club ?
I thought I would share the information regarding the ticket price, as it was pissing me off reading all the abuse the board where getting.

20-01-2019, 11:07 AM

yet our fans rep told us hibs wanted the £22 for our 'budget' :hmmm:

20-01-2019, 11:14 AM
Plenty there but not in an official capacity. I didn’t attend, financially not able to after the fesitive period and being away abroad a month from Froday. Shame those financially fortunate feel the need to question Hibs fans who wanted to attend, but weren’t in the same position and therefore not able to.

Well said.

20-01-2019, 11:27 AM
It’s not solely up to Elgin though, both teams have to agree to the pricing.

.....and as has been mentioned upthread, if they dont agree it defaults to standard pricing - i.e. £22

I didnt think her response was very helpful, tbh. What she said was - "I have had feedback and the pricing was finalised based on budget, it being the Scottish Cup competition and Elgin agreed on price"

Which is a set of words that dont actually clarify if Hibs wanted a lower price to start with.

SON OF PADDY
20-01-2019, 11:30 AM

I have no reason not to believe the Elgin supporters.
They where men in 60's season ticket holders all their days!
Why would they say it if it wasn't true?

20-01-2019, 11:36 AM
Back on topic, thought it was a good, professional job yesterday. It’d have been worrying if we weren’t dominant but Gauld looks a great piece of business.

Motherwell will be a good test midweek.

20-01-2019, 11:40 AM
.....and as has been mentioned upthread, if they dont agree it defaults to standard pricing - i.e. £22

Therefore as we were the most expensive game in Scotland yesterday that means we were the only home team in the Scottish cup who couldn’t come to an agreement with their opponents. Sounds like pretty poor negotiation from our side.

20-01-2019, 11:47 AM
I have no reason not to believe the Elgin supporters.
They where men in 60's season ticket holders all their days!
Why would they say it if it wasn't true?

without stating so in my previous post i'm agreeing with you :wink: they have no reason whatsoever to make their club look bad and i believe them, but what that also means is we haven't been given the truth from our end, which of course means our fans rep was given guff information, which of course suggests that we fans are gullible and our rep was told 'awk just tell them it's to do with our budget'

20-01-2019, 11:48 AM
I didnt think her response was very helpful, tbh. What she said was - "I have had feedback and the pricing was finalised based on budget, it being the Scottish Cup competition and Elgin agreed on price"

Which is a set of words that dont actually clarify if Hibs wanted a lower price to start with.

totally agree with all this :agree:

20-01-2019, 12:04 PM

Could add another verse to the Scottish cup song about having their day at Hampden but not being as keen for the earlier rounds :offski:

SON OF PADDY
20-01-2019, 12:05 PM
without stating so in my previous post i'm agreeing with you :wink: they have no reason whatsoever to make their club look bad and i believe them, but what that also means is we haven't been given the truth from our end, which of course means our fans rep was given guff information, which of course suggests that we fans are gullible and our rep was told 'awk just tell them it's to do with our budget'

😉👍

20-01-2019, 01:22 PM
Sounds like pretty poor negotiation from our side.

Successful negotiation requires movement on both sides.

20-01-2019, 02:08 PM

The standard price is £23.00

20-01-2019, 04:56 PM
Plenty there but not in an official capacity. .

Sorry but what does that mean?

20-01-2019, 07:06 PM
Sorry but what does that mean?

They weren’t wearing their blazers. :greengrin

20-01-2019, 08:20 PM
Hopefully Jim you're not suggesting that I'm ripping into my club ?
I thought I would share the information regarding the ticket price, as it was pissing me off reading all the abuse the board where getting.

Not at all your info is much appreciated as also hacked off with so many piling in against Hbs when it seemed pretty clear what had happened.

SON OF PADDY
20-01-2019, 10:26 PM
Not at all your info is much appreciated as also hacked off with so many piling in against Hbs when it seemed pretty clear what had happened.

Cheers Jim 👍

21-01-2019, 01:26 PM

That is a non answer.

What’s the actual story?