View Full Version : Today's games

12-01-2019, 02:29 PM
Set out with my partner down to Stenhousemuir's stadium today (15 min walk) as my "wee" team (Arbroath) were playing, got stuck in a massive queue as they had decided in their infinite wisdom to only open one turnstile. Waited for approx 15 mins and hearing that we were missing two Arbroath goals gave up and went home. Gutted.

12-01-2019, 02:31 PM
Dick Campbell doing some job up there.

12-01-2019, 02:41 PM
For all the chat about McGinn his team is rank rotten

12-01-2019, 02:45 PM
**** ALL teams that play in m**oon, or dark pink

12-01-2019, 02:47 PM
wigan beating aston villa 1-0..sjm needs to come back home for some success :greengrin

12-01-2019, 02:50 PM
q.o.s 2 ross co 0...the dobbmeister getting the first

harry wraggs 0 falkirk weans 0 in the basement battle

queens park 0 Edin city 3

12-01-2019, 02:55 PM
Hope Patrick win and Falkirk end up relegated.

12-01-2019, 02:55 PM
Fine result for The Hammers in the early game! Hammers 🔨

12-01-2019, 02:58 PM
Fine result for The Hammers in the early game! Hammers 🔨

The Austrian boy I’m never going to try and spell looks like he wants away though which is a big blow. Who was the boy before in the transfer window who thought he was away to Portsmouth or somewhere and told Sky onlynfor it to fall through?

12-01-2019, 03:14 PM
For all the chat about McGinn his team is rank rotten

Can't stand the Villa. Oop the Baggies!

12-01-2019, 03:18 PM
Hope Patrick win and Falkirk end up relegated.

One Nil to Calamities mob.

12-01-2019, 03:26 PM
The Austrian boy I’m never going to try and spell looks like he wants away though which is a big blow. Who was the boy before in the transfer window who thought he was away to Portsmouth or somewhere and told Sky onlynfor it to fall through?

Peter Odamwinge something or other.

12-01-2019, 03:37 PM
Two for Dobbie now.

12-01-2019, 03:44 PM
villa 3-0 down now

12-01-2019, 03:49 PM

Might as well take the dough and sign someone else in the summer, if he can get 200k a week in China then good luck to him.

SJNB Hibby
12-01-2019, 03:50 PM
A John Rankin just scored for Clyde---THE John Rankin?

12-01-2019, 03:53 PM
Games are going into injury time, none of the teams on my coupon have scored, don't think that's happened to me before! 🤬

12-01-2019, 03:55 PM

12-01-2019, 03:56 PM

Think he also helps coaching one of the Hearts younger teams.

12-01-2019, 03:59 PM

Was he overcome by emulsion?

12-01-2019, 04:22 PM
Rio Ferdinand is a fanny

12-01-2019, 04:52 PM
Rio Ferdinand is a fanny

Biologically?

12-01-2019, 04:54 PM
The Liverpool collapse was short lived 😁

12-01-2019, 04:55 PM
The Liverpool collapse was short lived ��

It wasn't ideal having a break after the City defeat, but thats a seven point lead again.

Chelsea 1-0 up, Geordies spiralling towards relegation

12-01-2019, 05:01 PM
Peter Odamwinge something or other.

That’s the one 👍

12-01-2019, 05:15 PM
Chelsea 1 Newcastle 1

Heckys Wheel
12-01-2019, 05:29 PM
villa 3-0 down now

Absolutely skelped by a Wigan team with Joe Garner, Josh Windass and Cedric Kipre in the starting XI.

12-01-2019, 05:43 PM
Night in bottle of wine about to have its corked popped, Bologna v Juve Coppa Italia (BT3) on later.

12-01-2019, 05:46 PM
2-1 Chelsea, nice goal that from Willian.

12-01-2019, 05:47 PM
Nice goal, 2-1 Chelsea

12-01-2019, 06:57 PM
Absolutely skelped by a Wigan team with Joe Garner, Josh Windass and Cedric Kipre in the starting XI.

Looking at some of the Villa forums SJM absolved of any blame. Regarded as their best performer.

12-01-2019, 07:06 PM
I wonder if SJM will still be there next season if a very good offer from someone like Bournemouth or Brighton came in for him? Can’t see Villa getting promoted this season as they have been far too inconsistent this season.

Heckys Wheel
12-01-2019, 07:06 PM
Looking at some of the Villa forums SJM absolved of any blame. Regarded as their best performer.

Watched most of their televised games this season and he’s been a standout for them in almost all of them.

Early season they weren’t scoring but as soon as Abraham hit a bit of form, their defense started shipping goals for fun.

They’re still in the mix so if they could find a bit of consistency and put a run together, they’d be right up there. Could probably say that about three quarters of that league though to be fair.

13-01-2019, 04:17 PM
Man Utd take the lead against Spurs.

13-01-2019, 04:18 PM
Man Utd take the lead against Spurs.

Some pass by Pogba

13-01-2019, 04:22 PM
Some pass by Pogba

:agree: a beezer

13-01-2019, 04:24 PM
Robbie Keane is not a great pundit

Here’s Lucy!
13-01-2019, 04:26 PM
Man.United are going to finish 4th at worst.

Looking good for six wins out of six for wee Ole, and what a player Pogba is becoming now that The Arrogant One has gone to the great mirror in Lisbon.

13-01-2019, 04:38 PM
Is it too late for Manchester Utd to put in a title challenge!?

13-01-2019, 04:39 PM
:agree: a beezer

Not sure about the decision from Trippier, passing inside to player with a defender between... still, what a ball,touch and finish from Rashford.

Here’s Lucy!
13-01-2019, 04:40 PM

Probably, but hopefully not.

13-01-2019, 04:47 PM
Probably, but hopefully not.

It was slightly tongue in cheek as I don't think they're going to make up 16 points plus goal difference on Liverpool but what a transformation in the last month.

Solskjaer's worked wonders there so far and if he gets them into the top 4 he should get the job permanently.

13-01-2019, 04:52 PM
I think its a good thing that villa are struggling, clubs will see the quality he has, and there's more chance he will get a transfer to a better club if they are still in the championship.

13-01-2019, 04:52 PM
It's a good game.

United look like a different team.

13-01-2019, 05:02 PM
What a game David de Gea's having.

13-01-2019, 05:05 PM

😂😂😂😂

Here’s Lucy!
13-01-2019, 05:11 PM
It was slightly tongue in cheek as I don't think they're going to make up 16 points plus goal difference on Liverpool but what a transformation in the last month.

Solskjaer's worked wonders there so far and if he gets them into the top 4 he should get the job permanently.

Absolutely, David.

At this rate of improvement, 4th place is a very distinct possibility.

13-01-2019, 05:15 PM
😂😂😂😂

If they can beat your mob next month to help deny you the title then that will be good enough for me this season. :wink:

13-01-2019, 05:16 PM

That's the only difference at present. The spurs keeper should have saved the manchester goal.

13-01-2019, 05:17 PM
If Utd hold on great to see 9 point gap between first and third.

13-01-2019, 05:18 PM
If they can beat your mob next month to help deny you the title then that will be good enough for me this season. :wink:

Liverpool losing another game won’t deny them the title 😁

13-01-2019, 05:19 PM
De Gea is the best keeper since Buffon was in his prime. One man team?

13-01-2019, 05:20 PM

Gary Neville thinks they’ve all been too close to him and poor finishing.

13-01-2019, 05:21 PM
Liverpool losing another game won’t deny them the title 😁

It will help though.

Squeaky bum time if it gets that close, remember Demba Ba....:greengrin

Here’s Lucy!
13-01-2019, 05:21 PM
Can't believe how good De Gea is.

13-01-2019, 05:22 PM
It will help though.

Squeaky bum time if it gets that close, remember Demba Ba....:greengrin

Nah folk said that when City beat us.

Keyser Sauzee
13-01-2019, 05:25 PM
Great result for Utd. Can Ole get the job permanently???

13-01-2019, 05:30 PM
Much more like the old United: getting the ball forward quickly and creating chances. Spurs are a good side and came on strong second half, de Gea making some top saves. United still need a centre back to replace the atrocious Jones and Smalling, but have the makings of a very good side. Pleasing.

13-01-2019, 05:32 PM
Robbie Keane is not a great pundit

That's a shame, because apparently he has always dreamed of being a pundit ever since he was a wee lad.

13-01-2019, 06:13 PM
United are winning every game and still only 6th. Shows how awful they were under Mourinho really.

13-01-2019, 06:19 PM
Buffon in his prime?

I remember when Dino Zoff was in his prime. We stuck five past him.

13-01-2019, 06:27 PM
United making the fight for fifth place very interesting.

13-01-2019, 06:31 PM
United are winning every game and still only 6th. Shows how awful they were under Mourinho really.

They are but they are on the verge of overtaking Arsenal and Chelsea and Tottenham aren't too far ahead now either.

In the past 5 games they have made up the following number of points on the teams above them;

Liverpool - 3
Manchester City - 9 (6 if Manchester City win tomorrow)
Tottenham - 6
Chelsea - 5
Arsenal - 8

13-01-2019, 07:43 PM
Tielemans equalises for Monaco, 1-1 in Marseille.

13-01-2019, 07:52 PM
Tielemans equalises for Monaco, 1-1 in Marseille.

What happened after Marseille's cup defeat; was there mayhem? :greengrin

13-01-2019, 08:17 PM
What happened after Marseille's cup defeat; was there mayhem? :greengrin

I dunno but they are booing every touch their own team makes at the moment, which isn't helping.

On this evidence there's no way Monaco are getting relegated. Fabregas having a good game.

13-01-2019, 08:25 PM
I dunno but they are booing every touch their own team makes at the moment, which isn't helping.

On this evidence there's no way Monaco are getting relegated. Fabregas having a good game.

Very strange atmosphere at Marseille, almost hostile to their own team and even being supportive of Monaco, who considering their problems so far this season have played very well.

13-01-2019, 08:34 PM
Very strange atmosphere at Marseille, almost hostile to their own team and even being supportive of Monaco, who considering their problems so far this season have played very well.

They want rid of Garcia at any cost. He's so conservative, needing a win tonight and he plays no recognised striker.

When Thauvin scored that goal (wrongly overturned by VAR, ridiculous) I think Thauvin is angry at the fans as he celebrates.

13-01-2019, 08:44 PM
Definitely a case of using VAR because it's there, even when it's blatantly unjustified. Shocking decision.

13-01-2019, 09:07 PM

I'd be booing Payet definitely #judas

13-01-2019, 09:08 PM
I'd be booing Payet definitely #judas

You'd be happy, he missed a sitter on 5 mins.

15-01-2019, 07:34 PM
FA Cup

Half time

Blackburn 2 v 2 Newcastle

BT Sports 2

15-01-2019, 07:38 PM
FA Cup

Half time

Blackburn 2 v 2 Newcastle

BT Sports 2

Ah, it's just about that time of year for Newcastle's seasonal improbably early exit from the FA Cup!

Seriously, you think we're bad? We at least made Hampden once every few years in our century of not winning. Newcastle barely make it past the first round.

15-01-2019, 07:41 PM
Ah, it's just about that time of year for Newcastle's seasonal improbably early exit from the FA Cup!

Seriously, you think we're bad? We at least made Hampden once every few years in our century of not winning. Newcastle barely make it past the first round.

Led 2-0 tae

Tony Mowbray Mark Venus Craig...........’.’.’’

Souter96Mac
15-01-2019, 07:49 PM

The Toon have got an awful FA Cup record. The last time they made the Quarter Finals (Round 6) was back in 2005/06. Since then they've won a total of 5 games in the FA cup..

15-01-2019, 09:35 PM
You were saying guys! :greengrin

16-01-2019, 01:14 AM
You'd be happy, he missed a sitter on 5 mins.

16-01-2019, 06:11 PM
Some good games on the bt tonight. Juve 1-0 up on Milan, Thierry Henrys Slapstick Comedian Millionaires Monaco 0-1 down to Nice, St Etienne Marseille on at 8pm.

Monaco equalise, 1-1.

16-01-2019, 07:25 PM
Southampton 0 Derby 1 - Bryson. We'll take him.

Edit. Chopped off after VAR review.

16-01-2019, 07:25 PM
Southampton 0 Derby 1 - Bryson. We'll take him.

VAR rules goal offside

16-01-2019, 07:27 PM
Danny Murphy is a moron. It was the correct decision. What's the problem?

16-01-2019, 07:30 PM
The problem is he was offside by 2” the game was stopped, no one knows what was happening, it’s **** for the viewer...sport isn’t about 100% correct decisions it’s about excitement.

plus Danny Murphy once gave me call of the day on the Jim White show on talk sport so I got £100 wickes voucher ! So he is obviously very clever

16-01-2019, 07:31 PM
Danny Murphy is a moron. It was the correct decision. What's the problem?

Because VAR is only supposed to be brought into play for clear and obvious cockups.

Mind you it was waghorn, so no complaints here 😂

16-01-2019, 07:33 PM
The problem is he was offside by 2” the game was stopped, no one knows what was happening, it’s **** for the viewer...sport isn’t about 100% correct decisions it’s about excitement.

Doesn't matter how much he was offside by. If you're off then you're off. It was about a minute. Hardly an age.

16-01-2019, 07:34 PM
Because VAR is only supposed to be brought into play for clear and obvious cockups.

Mind you it was waghorn, so no complaints here 😂

Whats not clear and obvious about that though? He was offside.It's there to stop errors and it has done.

16-01-2019, 07:37 PM
VAR brought in to stop having decisions made like the one just made using VAR.

16-01-2019, 07:38 PM
it’s not obviously offside, the defenders shoulder is playing him onside..spoiling the game, hate it.

16-01-2019, 07:38 PM
Whats not clear and obvious about that though? He was offside.It's there to stop errors and it has done.

VAR is pish.

It's turning fitba into gridiron. Quite glad we don't have it, to be honest.

16-01-2019, 07:41 PM
VAR is pish.

couldn’t agree more..spot on.

16-01-2019, 07:42 PM
VAR is pish.

So am I. Imagine Shaw's goal had counted or we got that handball in the play offs against falkirk. I would've been raging at having to wait a minute to find out.

Caversham Green
16-01-2019, 07:44 PM
None of the Southampton players thought it was offside. No-one would have complained about that goal being allowed. Instead, we had a couple of minutes of nothing happening, followed by a bland decision and the game goes flat again.

The way VAR is currently being used sucks the excitement out of the moment.

16-01-2019, 07:44 PM
it’s not obviously offside, the defenders shoulder is playing him onside..spoiling the game, hate it.

His foot is ahead of the Southampton players shoulder.

16-01-2019, 07:47 PM
So am I. Imagine Shaw's goal had counted or we got that handball in the play offs against falkirk. I would've been raging at having to wait a minute to find out.

they got the offside decision wrong..all the pundits in the studio agreed. It doesn’t work..just spoils the game.

16-01-2019, 07:48 PM
His foot is ahead of the Southampton players shoulder.

no it’s not, impossible to tell for sure. Admit it.

16-01-2019, 07:48 PM
What part of the Southampton player is playing the derby player on?

16-01-2019, 07:49 PM
they got the offside decision wrong..all the pundits in the studio agreed. It doesn’t work..just spoils the game.

Well I mean they blatantly didn't but OK

16-01-2019, 07:51 PM
Well I mean they blatantly didn't but OK

If that’s clear and obvious i’m Sydney Divine. It’s bollox

Caversham Green

Possibly his shoulder. The Southampton player thought he was onside and he was closest to the event.

hid shoulder...you know more about football than Alan Shearer then ?

Keyser Sauzee
16-01-2019, 07:52 PM
Looks to be a terrible crowd at Southampton.

16-01-2019, 07:52 PM

If anything the defenders right hand/arm looks pretty much level with Waghorns. Certainly not clear and obvious.

16-01-2019, 07:53 PM

Because VAR would deffo be used in the Scottish Championship.........

16-01-2019, 07:53 PM
If anything the defenders right hand/arm looks pretty much level with Waghorns. Certainly not clear and obvious.

Offsides don't need to be clear and obvious. If you're offside then that's that.

16-01-2019, 07:54 PM
If that’s clear and obvious i’m Sydney Divine. It’s bollox

Offsides don't need to be clear and obvious. You're either on or off. There isn't a debate about it. And he's off.

16-01-2019, 07:55 PM
Possibly his shoulder. The Southampton player thought he was onside and he was closest to the event.

His shoulder is in line with the yellow line.

16-01-2019, 07:56 PM
Offsides don't need to be clear and obvious. You're either on or off. There isn't a debate about it. And he's off.

Thats clearly not true in this case..I look at the picture and he looks onside..shearer thinks so too and Lineker...

You don't need to have played football or be an apparent "expert" to know if someone is offside or not 🤡

Lots of people know more than wor Alan.

16-01-2019, 07:57 PM

No it isn’t and the angle is deceptive because his shoulder is higher than the attackers foot.

Caversham Green
16-01-2019, 07:58 PM

You think so, I don't - I think the very tip of his shoulder is closer to the goal than Waghorn's foot. So did the Southampton player, and everyone else in the stadium. And a dull game just got a bit duller.

This is not a proper use of VAR IMHO.

16-01-2019, 07:58 PM
Lots of people know more than wor Alan.

”We are Hibs” isn’t one of them

16-01-2019, 07:59 PM
You think so, I don't - I think the very tip of his shoulder is closer to the goal than Waghorn's foot. So did the Southampton player, and everyone else in the stadium. And a dull game just got a bit duller.

This is not a proper use of VAR IMHO.

How do you know what the Southampton player is thinking? It's actually irrelevant because no one in a stadium could see a deliberate handball and VAR could give it. That's the whole point of VAR to get the correct decisions.

16-01-2019, 08:00 PM
VAR kills emotion from the game. Spoils celebrating goals and still can’t get every decision right. Attending games will be horrible if this comes in up here.

Let’s kill the exciting part of the game. Oh good.

16-01-2019, 08:02 PM

He was in line.

16-01-2019, 08:03 PM
You don't need to have played football or be an apparent "expert" to know if someone is offside or not 🤡

i bet you think Amazon Dot (or whatever it’s called) is great too. The clown thing is a classy touch :rolleyes:

16-01-2019, 08:04 PM
No it isn’t and the angle is deceptive because his shoulder is higher than the attackers foot.

https://twitter.com/RobbieSavage8/status/1085638791640072193?s=19

🤷*♂️

16-01-2019, 08:05 PM
He was in line.

He wasn't. But you know that and just want a reaction like the majority of your posts on here.

16-01-2019, 08:07 PM
http://www.thefa.com/football-rules-governance/lawsandrules/laws/football-11-11/law-11---offside

He wasn't. But you know that and just want a reaction like the majority of your posts on here.

yes he was..you are sooooo in denial Amazon Dot boy

Caversham Green
How do you know what the Southampton player is thinking? It's actually irrelevant because no one in a stadium could see a deliberate handball and VAR could give it. That's the whole point of VAR to get the correct decisions.

If he thought Waghorn was offside he would have claimed for it but he didn't - nobody disputed the ref's original decision. A deliberate handball is a completely different scenario and is the sort of thing that would be a proper use of VAR, not a decision so marginal that half a dozen people looking at the same pictures can't agree on whether it was correct or not.

16-01-2019, 08:08 PM
i bet you think Amazon Dot (or whatever it’s called) is great too. The clown thing is a classy touch :rolleyes:

I was meaning shearer with the clown thing. He's clueless on most things.

16-01-2019, 08:12 PM
http://www.thefa.com/football-rules-governance/lawsandrules/laws/football-11-11/law-11---offside

no need to be patronisingly, we know the rule, it’s your eyesight we disagree with.

16-01-2019, 08:13 PM
no need to be patronisingly, we know the rule, it’s your eyesight we disagree with.

You're boring me now. It's not my fault you don't know the offside rule. No need to be so aggressive mate chill out, have a beer.

16-01-2019, 08:14 PM

Don't be ridiculous.

16-01-2019, 08:15 PM
You're boring me now. It's not my fault you don't know the offside rule. No need to be so aggressive mate chill out, have a beer.

then stop answering and chat to your amazon Dot and there is nothing about my posts that is aggressive. Maybe you should stay off the beer.

16-01-2019, 08:21 PM
then stop answering and chat to your amazon Dot and there is nothing about my posts that is aggressive. Maybe you should stay off the beer.

That Amazon dot patter is rotten and is going completely over my head (probably because i don't have such a hilarious sense of humour as yourself). Ta ta now

16-01-2019, 08:23 PM
That Amazon dot patter is rotten and is going completely over my head (probably because i don't have such a hilarious sense of humour as yourself). Ta ta now

you do have one though don’t you.

16-01-2019, 08:56 PM
Wow. Khazri thunderbolt 2-1 st Etienne in the last minute. I can't think of ever seeing a shot that hit the net moving as fast as that.