View Full Version : Milligan and MacLaren start tonight.

11-01-2019, 09:58 AM
Against Palestine.

Surprised Jamie in starting line up to be honest, but Oz severely weakened by injuries up front.

His chance for redemption.

11-01-2019, 10:24 AM
Against Palestine.

Surprised Jamie in starting line up to be honest, but Oz severely weakened by injuries up front.

......... or more injury.

11-01-2019, 10:25 AM
Against Palestine.

Tonight in Aus, 11am UK time

11-01-2019, 10:26 AM
Against Palestine.

Tonight? You mean this morning? ;-)

Might try and watch some of this before the Hibs game. Palestine looked pretty dire against Syria so would expect Australia to bounce back with a comfortable win.

Hopefully JMac notches a couple.

11-01-2019, 10:56 AM
Teams on the park.....Palestine in red.
Surprised they are not in green and white hoops.....

11-01-2019, 11:04 AM
3 minutes, 5 yards out, middle of the goals Jamie has an air swing at a decent cross from the left!

11-01-2019, 11:04 AM
McLaren just missed a complete sitter. Thresh air kick.

Live streaming available on bet365 with an account in credit (can be £1)

11-01-2019, 11:05 AM
3 minutes, 5 yards out, middle of the goals Jamie has an air swing at a decent cross from the left!

Sorry, 8 yards just saw the replay

11-01-2019, 11:17 AM
Goal Jamie Mac set up by Rogic. Flick header quite far out. Good goal.

11-01-2019, 11:18 AM
Goal Mclaren :flag:

11-01-2019, 11:19 AM
MacLaren ...a header after 18 minutes!

Rogic whips in a flat cross and Jamie flicks it into the corner.

His first goal for Oz!

11-01-2019, 11:19 AM
JaaaaammmmiiieeeMaaaaccccllllaaarrrreeennnnnn !!!!!!

11-01-2019, 11:20 AM
2 nil.

Goal Mclaren :flag:

Good As Some Haver.

What channel is it on?

It’s not on U.K. tv.

11-01-2019, 11:21 AM
It’s not on U.K. tv.

What channel is it on, though?

I can get Australian TV.

Gloucester Hibs
11-01-2019, 11:23 AM

I can get Australian TV.

Google says Fox Sports, but I’m Oz and there’s bloody cricket on Fox Sports 1!

11-01-2019, 11:24 AM
Bet 365

MacLaren ...a header after 18 minutes!

Rogic whips in a flat cross and Jamie flicks it into the corner.

His first goal for Oz!

Will do his confidence a world of good This Tournnament will hopefully kick start his season if his back problem doesn’t flare up again

dphibs
It’s on bein tv if you can get that.

11-01-2019, 11:25 AM
They lost their opener, right? So defeat here would send our players home early?

11-01-2019, 11:27 AM
Do Palestine look any good?

11-01-2019, 11:27 AM

I can get Australian TV.

I use https://liveonsat.com/2day.php?start_dd=11&start_mm=01&start_yyyy=2019&end_dd=11&end_mm=01&end_yyyy=2019

Then scroll to the game you want it shows you where it's on abroad.

Bahrain Hibee
11-01-2019, 11:31 AM
What channel is it on?

It’s on Fox Sports 505 Dave!

11-01-2019, 11:33 AM
Do Palestine look any good?

As good as Montrose.

11-01-2019, 11:34 AM
It’s on Fox Sports 505 Dave!

Thanks.

105 Aussie channels, but not that one! 😂

11-01-2019, 11:38 AM
Why can't we embed tweets on here? It's 2019 :greengrin

Goal anyway: https://twitter.com/Socceroos/status/1083687296405131264

Cracking header, shows what happens with service.

Hfc_Since1875
11-01-2019, 11:42 AM
McLaren scores!

Hope he’s back after this and back to form!

11-01-2019, 11:44 AM
As good as Montrose.

Not great then?

11-01-2019, 11:45 AM
Why can't we embed tweets on here? It's 2019 :greengrin

Goal anyway: https://twitter.com/Socceroos/status/1083687296405131264

Cracking header, shows what happens with service.

To be fair that is genuinely a pretty sweet finish. Can't wait to have him back.

11-01-2019, 11:47 AM
Google says Fox Sports, but I’m Oz and there’s bloody cricket on Fox Sports 1!

Fox 505

11-01-2019, 11:49 AM
Good header :agree:

11-01-2019, 11:50 AM
Half time 2-0

Milligan playing very well.

And tif to Jamie, after his horrendous miss he has played well, apart from the opening goal, he has laid on a chance that should have made it 3-0, and has even been picking the pocket of the Palestine attackers.

Maybe he has awoken from his long sleep?

11-01-2019, 11:51 AM
Mac playing for his Melbourne move.

Gloucester Hibs
11-01-2019, 11:59 AM
Fox 505

Cheers, I’m offshore and the channels only go up to Fox 504 and then it’s BDO darts on Eurosport! 😂

Bahrain Hibee
11-01-2019, 12:00 PM
Thanks.

105 Aussie channels, but not that one! 😂

It’s part of the Foxtel sports package here (Aussie Sky)

11-01-2019, 12:03 PM
Cheers, I’m offshore and the channels only go up to Fox 504 and then it’s BDO darts on Eurosport! 😂

It's also on Bein Max 1. Google it and gives you a live stream right away.

11-01-2019, 12:32 PM
What a horrible game of football

11-01-2019, 12:38 PM
81 minutes MacLaren substituted.

Did well.

11-01-2019, 12:39 PM
Jamie hooked just as he was getting warmed up

Boo!

Still had him as first scorer :greengrin

11-01-2019, 12:46 PM
3-0 header in 89 minute

11-01-2019, 01:47 PM
Good header from Jamie.

11-01-2019, 02:29 PM
“I love Jamie as a player,” Arnold said. “His movement in the box is always good. He’s just needed a bit of belief and confidence.”

11-01-2019, 02:32 PM
“I love Jamie as a player,” Arnold said. “His movement in the box is always good. He’s just needed a bit of belief and confidence.”

Hopefully this goal helps him along and he gets back to his best with Hibs.

GoalsMcGinley
11-01-2019, 03:05 PM

Can add Graham Arnold to the list of people who knows less than most Hibs fans as he likes Jamie as a player.

ShadesLongThrow
11-01-2019, 03:21 PM
Can add Graham Arnold to the list of people who knows less than most Hibs fans as he likes Jamie as a player.

Is Graham Arnold's middle name Albert by any chance? :greengrin

11-01-2019, 04:11 PM

I mean, he’s talking in relative terms. Good for Australia maybe, but despite the fact that they reached the WC, Australia are absolute garbage.

11-01-2019, 04:31 PM
I mean, he’s talking in relative terms.

Ah, so it's nepotism.

GoalsMcGinley
11-01-2019, 04:56 PM
I mean, he’s talking in relative terms. Good for Australia maybe, but despite the fact that they reached the WC, Australia are absolute garbage.

I’d take 4 consecutive World Cup appearances if that’s what garbage is tbh

11-01-2019, 05:28 PM

Disagree certainly not garbage and usually do ok in world cups. Can remember them being very unlucky v italy in one of the games.

11-01-2019, 08:26 PM
I'm not trying to be overly negative but the context is that they were only playing Palestine.

Let's not get carried away.

I’d take 4 consecutive World Cup appearances if that’s what garbage is tbh

TBF, if Scotland had the same competition in qualifiers, even we would reach some Finals

11-01-2019, 08:47 PM
Ah, so it's nepotism.

Actually, Oz’s centrehalf Trent Sainsbury, is Graham Arnold’s son in law!

12-01-2019, 09:11 AM
Actually, Oz’s centrehalf Trent Sainsbury, is Graham Arnold’s son in law!

I knew it!

15-01-2019, 10:07 AM
Asia Cup

Australia v Syria

1330 our time

Australia only need a point to progress

fingers crossed

Australian media pushing it as a bit of a grudge match they reckon both our boys will start

15-01-2019, 10:24 AM
Asia Cup

Australia v Syria

1330 our time

fingers crossed

Australian media pushing it as a bit of a grudge match they reckon both our boys will start

Aye fingers crossed for Syria. We could be doing with Australia being knocked out and getting our players back.

15-01-2019, 10:25 AM
Aye fingers crossed for Syria. We could be doing with Australia being knocked out and getting our players back.
Hope so

Bring our boys home!

15-01-2019, 10:41 AM

My thoughts exactly. 👍

15-01-2019, 10:47 AM
Hope so

Bring our boys home!

My thoughts exactly. 👍

Yep that'll do there confidence a world of good, beaten by Syria and back here to Hibs to struggle again in our team as their heads will be down.

15-01-2019, 10:55 AM
Yep that'll do there confidence a world of good, beaten by Syria and back here to Hibs to struggle again in our team as their heads will be down.

Better here and depressed with the rest of us :greengrin

It is up to Lenny to use his man management and motivational skills to lift the gloom:greengrin

After losing to Jordan they ain’t winning the Asia Cup anytime soon!

I hear what you are saying but sorry HIBS come first our need is greater than Australia’s

15-01-2019, 12:11 PM
Asia Cup

Australia v Syria

1330 our time

fingers crossed

Even if Oz lose.....and that is indeed a possibility, it is likely that they will still qualify as one of the best third placed sides.

Milligan is switching from midfield to centre half for the Syria game in a couple of hours, to cover for the suspended Trent Sainsbury, and Jamie is pencilled in to continue up front.

I’m tipping a draw.

15-01-2019, 12:18 PM
Even if Oz lose.....and that is indeed a possibility, it is likely that they will still qualify as one of the best third placed sides.

Milligan is switching from midfield to centre half for the Syria game in a couple of hours, to cover for the suspended Trent Sainsbury, and Jamie is pencilled in to continue up front.

I’m tipping a draw.
Aw naw!

15-01-2019, 12:28 PM
Asia Cup

Australia v Syria

1330 our time

fingers crossed

Do you know what channel it is on?

15-01-2019, 12:29 PM
Do you know what channel it is on?

Fox Sports 505 in Oz....

GoalsMcGinley
15-01-2019, 12:53 PM
Is there a link online for a stream?

hibsboy07
15-01-2019, 01:20 PM
hesgoals have it on

15-01-2019, 01:24 PM
The danger to Oz is IF Jordan, who have already qualified, lay down to Palestine.
A Palestine victory and an Oz loss, will see Oz eliminated.
The Jordan captain has said in the press thattheir game ‘will be a party with our brothers’ so anything is possible

Green Man
15-01-2019, 01:30 PM
Looks like a few YouTube channels are showing the game.

Heckys Wheel
15-01-2019, 01:44 PM
Is McLaren up front on his own?

I don’t think I could watch that.

15-01-2019, 01:49 PM
Australia nae midfield Syria should be two up remind me of watching HIBS Jamie MAC looks an isolated figure

15-01-2019, 01:56 PM
The Syrian commentator is magic

15-01-2019, 02:02 PM
The Syrian commentator is magic

Good chance he will explode if Syria score.

15-01-2019, 02:03 PM
Good chance he will explode if Syria score.

:greengrin Makes it sound like an exciting game

15-01-2019, 02:07 PM
MacLaren is one of three front men.

Unfortunately he is playing similar to his most recent stint at Hibs and should have scored with a header.

The goalie just made a double save from him

36 minutes gone, and I’d have to say Oz are not looking that clever, although starting to come into the game after a slow start.

15-01-2019, 02:08 PM
beautiful channel run by MacLaren and found by teammate but the one on one and the rebound were missed

15-01-2019, 02:11 PM
1-0 to Oz.

Cracking swerving left foot strike from 18 yards by Mabil

15-01-2019, 02:11 PM
1-0 Oz

15-01-2019, 02:12 PM
1-1

15-01-2019, 02:12 PM
1-1

15-01-2019, 02:13 PM
1-0 Aus

15-01-2019, 02:14 PM
wow
Syrian commentator lovin' it

15-01-2019, 02:15 PM
MacLaren unlucky with snap left footer

15-01-2019, 02:18 PM
Half time 1-1

Australia switched off after going one up and Syria equalised immediately after Oz had taken the lead.

It is anybody’s game.

Syria must win to have any chance of qualifying and will need to open up in secon$ half.

On the other hand Oz are vulnerable to high balls into the box.

15-01-2019, 02:34 PM
Half time 1-1

Australia switched off after going one up and Syria equalised immediately after Oz had taken the lead.

It is anybody’s game.

Syria must win to have any chance of qualifying and will need to open up in secon$ half.

On the other hand Oz are vulnerable to high balls into the box.

Wot you mean?

Milligan in the box? :greengrin

15-01-2019, 02:42 PM
2-1 Oz

15-01-2019, 02:43 PM
[INDENT]

Wot you mean?

Milligan in the box? :greengrin

Their equaliserwas from a cross headed by an attacker standing between the Oz right back and Milligan.

BTW 2-1 to Oz..Ikonimides

15-01-2019, 02:44 PM
bad mistake by Syrian defender for the goal

15-01-2019, 02:45 PM
I'm surprised Syria are even playing football, considering what's going on at home.

15-01-2019, 02:48 PM
Ball bounces up and hits Milligan on the arm in the box....no penalty and Syria go raj!

15-01-2019, 02:49 PM
Their equaliserwas from a cross headed by an attacker standing between the Oz right back and Milligan.

BTW 2-1 to Oz..Ikonimides

I know was being sarcastic :greengrin

15-01-2019, 02:49 PM
I'm surprised Syria are even playing football, considering what's going on at home.

and they are not bad if a little naive

15-01-2019, 02:50 PM
and they are not bad if a little naive

I wish I could watch it.

I almost want them to win (every little crumb of comfort, and all that).

15-01-2019, 02:55 PM
MacLaren subbed in 67 minute for Martin Boyle’s replacement.

Did a lot of running in the second half.

15-01-2019, 02:57 PM
I wish I could watch it.

I almost want them to win (every little crumb of comfort, and all that).

yeah, i get that completely.
No lack of effort from these guys.

15-01-2019, 02:59 PM
Oz dominating now as Syria tire

15-01-2019, 03:07 PM
Dodgy penalty to Syria 2-2

15-01-2019, 03:10 PM
Dodgy penalty to Syria 2-2

I'm still trying to work out what it was for, unfortunately I'm not up to scratch with my Arabic to understand what the commentators are saying.

15-01-2019, 03:14 PM
Do Australia need to win to go through today?

15-01-2019, 03:20 PM
Rogic 25 yarder in time added on

3-2 to Oz

15-01-2019, 03:23 PM
Full time 3-2 to Oz

Hardly a convincing performance, but they are through.

Milligan played well, other than their first goal possibly, and was lucky not to conced a penalty.

Jamie ran more than normal, but should have scored with a header.

15-01-2019, 03:29 PM
Full time 3-2 to Oz

Hardly a convincing performance, but they are through.

Milligan played well, other than their first goal possibly, and was lucky not to conced a penalty.

Jamie ran more than normal, but should have scored with a header.

:grr::brickwall

SingaporeHibs
15-01-2019, 03:32 PM
Being part of a winning side brings confidence. Although it’s not ideal for us missing guys, if the Aussies can go on to win this tourney the lift it will give the players may help them really kick on when they return to us.

15-01-2019, 03:44 PM
Being part of a winning side brings confidence. Although it’s not ideal for us missing guys, if the Aussies can go on to win this tourney the lift it will give the players may help them really kick on when they return to us.

Don’t think they will go much further to be honest.

The squad is not the greatest, and it has been severely hampered by injuries.

Japan should seethem off if they play them next, although if it is Uzbekistan, Oz could do them.

Anyone in the semis though, should they get there, I think would do them.

But you never know.....

15-01-2019, 04:44 PM
https://twitter.com/foxsportsindo/status/1085195831743963144?s=21

Good strike. Good time to score as well [emoji12]

15-01-2019, 05:09 PM
Don’t think they will go much further to be honest.

The squad is not the greatest, and it has been severely hampered by injuries.

Japan should seethem off if they play them next, although if it is Uzbekistan, Oz could do them.

Anyone in the semis though, should they get there, I think would do them.

But you never know.....

Fred, Is it all knockout football from now on?

ozhibs
15-01-2019, 10:17 PM
https://twitter.com/foxsportsindo/status/1085195831743963144?s=21

Good strike. Good time to score as well [emoji12]

Is there a bad time to score :wink:

16-01-2019, 01:20 AM
Fred, Is it all knockout football from now on?

A few groups to conclude their last fixtures, then Yes, knockout ........and incidentally introduction of the VAR system.....to its conclusion.