View Full Version : Transfer window bingo

09-01-2019, 07:42 PM
2020 edit: I originally posted this one year ago to the day and it's good to see this year's transfer thread has just about managed to achieve a full house already!

Twas ever thus.

We read the same remarks every window and we see the same responses to them. January or July, it's exactly the same.

So, rather than get frustrated at the predictability of it all, I thought it might help keep blood pressures from rising by making light of it with a wee game.

What words, phrases and clichés will we see on the boards before the end of the window?

I'll start with "Why don't Hibs ever get players in early?"

09-01-2019, 07:45 PM
"Good players don't become available until the end of the window."

09-01-2019, 07:45 PM
Biggest ever budget

09-01-2019, 07:46 PM
Penny pinching

09-01-2019, 07:47 PM
Faster than AOB on a motorbike

09-01-2019, 07:50 PM
It is Petrie in charge of transfers.

Doesn't matter if they are internationals.

Hibs are too slow.

09-01-2019, 07:51 PM
Could do a job

09-01-2019, 07:52 PM
“Would anyone take Deek back?”

09-01-2019, 07:54 PM
Boy looks good on YouTube

09-01-2019, 07:54 PM
:hyper

09-01-2019, 07:55 PM
Underwhelmed

09-01-2019, 07:56 PM
Not Hibs class

09-01-2019, 07:57 PM
FFS, another midfielder?

09-01-2019, 08:00 PM
Sorry haven’t been keeping up - has Gauld/Allan signed yet?

09-01-2019, 08:01 PM
Patience

£150k

Difficult window to sign players

Meh

Show some ambition, Hibs!

09-01-2019, 08:02 PM
Don’t shoot the messenger but.......

09-01-2019, 08:02 PM
Just had a text.......

09-01-2019, 08:03 PM
Bargain basement

09-01-2019, 08:04 PM
Just bought a stake bake and......

09-01-2019, 08:04 PM
Cannae believe Albion Rovers have signed 7 players and we havent signed anybody, **** scouting network we have

09-01-2019, 08:05 PM
We've got important games coming up ...

09-01-2019, 08:07 PM
With Kamberi now out for the season we will need at least 2, probably 3 strikers.

Wee Effen Bee
09-01-2019, 08:07 PM
‘Not for me thanks’

‘So, you haven’t seen him play but you have already decided he’s shegite/brilliant’

’Dinnae shoot the messanger’

’I was talking to a guy who lives next door to...’

09-01-2019, 08:12 PM
We dodged a bullet there.......

09-01-2019, 08:13 PM
“According to twitter/Facebook/Instagram.........”

(Even typing that sentence annoys me)

09-01-2019, 08:15 PM
Bottom 6

Top 4

09-01-2019, 08:16 PM
He is past it. (means he is over 30)

09-01-2019, 08:19 PM

Legs have gone. :agree:

09-01-2019, 08:19 PM

‘Legs have gone’ is the correct phrase for anyone over 30 I believe

09-01-2019, 08:20 PM
He was seen at the training ground

09-01-2019, 08:23 PM
We couldn't afford him.

09-01-2019, 08:24 PM
‘Legs have gone’ is the correct phrase for anyone over 30 I believe

Sorry, reached the age where my memory has gone.

Not another loan?

What's the point of a loan?

I hate loans.

Has anybody seen much of him the last couple of years?

09-01-2019, 08:28 PM
It’s the same every year

09-01-2019, 08:30 PM
He's just started following Gauld on Instagram

MagicSwirlingShip
09-01-2019, 08:33 PM
Signed for Sunderland

09-01-2019, 08:41 PM
Hearts will offer more once Levein hears that the guy is 6ft 12"

09-01-2019, 08:42 PM
A cheese and pickle baguette, 4 packets of monster munch, 2 Yorkies, one twix, a curly wurly, and a crate of Punk IPA.

09-01-2019, 08:44 PM
Just seen coming out of Greggs in Easter Road

09-01-2019, 08:47 PM
Ah but what's his website like?

Brummie_Hibs
09-01-2019, 08:48 PM
International clearance takes time.

ShadesLongThrow
09-01-2019, 08:49 PM
Do we really want another internationalist.

09-01-2019, 08:51 PM
Two weeks until he's fit

09-01-2019, 08:52 PM
Do we really want another internationalist.

I think you'll find it's not internationalist but "internationalist".

09-01-2019, 08:53 PM
My thoughts exactly...

hibbydog
09-01-2019, 08:54 PM
Lennon will not stand for this

09-01-2019, 08:54 PM
Pound for pound...

09-01-2019, 08:57 PM
The patter about a player being spotted on the 26 bus will likely come out at some point.

09-01-2019, 09:00 PM
Could he fill the Matty Jack roll

09-01-2019, 09:02 PM
At least we now have Yogi's goalkeeping school!

09-01-2019, 09:03 PM
Petrie penny pinching again. :grr:

09-01-2019, 09:04 PM
Another journeyman

09-01-2019, 09:07 PM
I'm hearing that (insert former Hibs player's name here) is in line for a return to Easter Road.......

Followed by......

:hyper

Weegreenman
09-01-2019, 09:11 PM
Petrie, get yer finger oot ffs! :greengrin

09-01-2019, 09:13 PM
Who?

09-01-2019, 09:16 PM
When does the window slam shut?

Alfiembra
09-01-2019, 09:16 PM
Are you ITK?

Brummie_Hibs
09-01-2019, 09:17 PM
Looks good on his YouTube showreel.

He has the same agent as...

09-01-2019, 09:22 PM
Natalie Sawyer :drool:

09-01-2019, 09:26 PM
He would absolutely skoosh this league

G15 Hibs
09-01-2019, 09:31 PM
Most important window in years

09-01-2019, 09:33 PM
Why can't we sign players as good as Hearts have?

09-01-2019, 09:36 PM
The Board haven't backed Lennon.

Lennon is sending a message to the Board.

He's only had one decent window.

This is what happens when Petrie won't allow others to invest in the club.

How can Aberdeen outspend us?

How can Hearts outspend us?

We've spent nowhere near what we took in for McGinn and record season tickets.

We should have spent whatever it took to get Scott Allan.

You can say what you like about Hearts but....

Can't believe some people say Lennon is a winner.

We'll finish top 4 now.

Why are we signing/not signing Jason?

09-01-2019, 09:42 PM
What happened to the SJM money?

H18S NX
09-01-2019, 09:47 PM
Tried our best

Brummie_Hibs
09-01-2019, 09:52 PM
If he can get back to the form he had before his injury setbacks

09-01-2019, 09:55 PM
I'm buzzing now.

09-01-2019, 09:59 PM
Petrie out!
(Usually near the end of the window)

09-01-2019, 10:07 PM
With signings like that, we'll win the league by April!

09-01-2019, 10:07 PM
We only try to sign ex-Celtc players. What's wrong with our scouting?

09-01-2019, 10:30 PM
Can we give players a chance to sign before writing them off?

jingler1954
09-01-2019, 10:48 PM
We read the same remarks every window and we see the same responses to them. January or July, it's exactly the same.

So, rather than get frustrated at the predictability of it all, I thought it might help keep blood pressures from rising by making light of it with a wee game.

What words, phrases and clichés will we see on the boards before the end of the window?

I'll start with "Why don't Hibs ever get players in early?"
:wink::thumbsup::agree::greengrin:confused::flag:: rolleyes::na na::cb:not worth

09-01-2019, 10:57 PM
Source?

10-01-2019, 08:10 AM
'Apologies for the Record link'

'Can someone copy and paste for those of us who refuse to read that rag'

'I'm not clicking that link'

10-01-2019, 08:34 AM
Ltyf

wpj
10-01-2019, 08:38 AM
Pish website/wiki page

10-01-2019, 08:52 AM
I got a text ...

TheHarpy76
10-01-2019, 08:57 AM
Player rumoured to sign for us: This would be a brilliant signing, make this happen Hibs.

Signs for another team: Meh, he wasn’t really what we needed anyway.

10-01-2019, 08:58 AM
Will be announced 5pm Friday

10-01-2019, 08:59 AM
Twitter says....

10-01-2019, 09:29 AM
"Pant wetters all over this thread"

"Do you know anything about running a football club?"

BH Hibs
10-01-2019, 10:19 AM
He’s great on FM or FIFA etc

Renton1875
10-01-2019, 03:00 PM
Scott Allan's only interested in the money.

Here’s Lucy!
10-01-2019, 04:22 PM
Ah wurk wi a Jambo hoo says....

10-01-2019, 06:22 PM
His agent is Gordon Smith, Ex Rangers

10-01-2019, 06:32 PM
Need players out before we can sign new ones

10-01-2019, 06:44 PM
Be the usual panic loan signings on Jan 31.

10-01-2019, 07:42 PM
Only scores 10 goals in 126 games going by his Wiki page. Hardly prolific

11-01-2019, 12:59 AM
What exactly do the player identification bods do ... oh really they had extended clip by DR you say)?

11-01-2019, 01:02 AM
Matty Jack type role

Mixu62
11-01-2019, 01:59 AM
Could he still do a job for us?

11-01-2019, 02:37 AM
100% This.

11-01-2019, 03:32 AM
26 bus....

Jack Ross is apparently interested in (players name)

11-01-2019, 05:23 PM
Any news yet?

11-01-2019, 05:29 PM
This in spades

11-01-2019, 05:30 PM
"Hibs better bloody sign someone soon, this place is getting worse by the day........"

(You could probably stick this on any thread at the moment, or any thread during any transfer window when Hibs have gone 10 days without signing anyone).

Brummie_Hibs
11-01-2019, 05:32 PM
I trust Neil's judgement

11-01-2019, 06:16 PM
What's Ryan Gauld actually done in the last 4 years !

green with envy
11-01-2019, 07:11 PM
What's Ryan Gauld actually done in the last 4 years !

Signed for Hibernian FC today. Should bring a smile to your face - thought not.

11-01-2019, 07:22 PM
Signed for Hibernian FC today. Should bring a smile to your face - thought not.

Why do you think not?

green with envy
11-01-2019, 07:48 PM
Why do you think not?

The negativity of your post.

11-01-2019, 07:50 PM

Whoosh? :greengrin

11-01-2019, 07:50 PM

Sorry thought I was playing Transfer Window Bingo.

Those were not my thoughts on the transfer!

11-01-2019, 10:36 PM

We need a "Whoosh" smiley!

12-01-2019, 03:25 AM

:fishin:

12-01-2019, 08:15 AM
If we're going to get Scott Alan it's going to be at the end of the window.

21-01-2019, 09:30 AM
Best transfer window ever.

Can't wait for us to start climbing the league.

3 weeks into the window and only one senior player signed. What a way to run s football club.

duffers
21-01-2019, 10:24 AM
I see Sunderland are also interested in....

21-01-2019, 10:53 AM
Underwhelmed.

21-01-2019, 11:03 AM
Underwhelmed.

Still remember the day I personally started that catchphrase, the day we signed Mark Oxley on loan. :grr:

21-01-2019, 11:12 AM
Still remember the day I personally started that catchphrase, the day we signed Mark Oxley on loan. :grr:

That's "Scottish Cup Winning Mark Oxley" to give him his full title... :greengrin

21-01-2019, 11:48 AM
Pretty sure it was the word of the day when we signed Colin Calderwood

21-01-2019, 11:48 AM
I'll drive him there myself.

(esp regarding interest in Stephen Whittaker)

Wakeyhibee
21-01-2019, 12:17 PM
Good engine

Scored a barrowload into the Irish 2nd tier

31-01-2019, 02:21 PM
This place will go into meltdown :rolleyes:

08-01-2020, 11:08 PM
I originally posted this one year ago to the day and it's good to see this year's transfer thread has just about managed to achieve a full house already!

Twas ever thus.

Sweet Left Peg
09-01-2020, 01:24 AM
When does the window slam shut?

09-01-2020, 11:48 AM
I really think "lack of ambition" should be introduced for 2020. Apologies if its already in there, just had a quick scan.

Oh. and "Dylan"

09-01-2020, 11:54 AM
I really think "lack of ambition" should be introduced for 2020. Apologies if its already in there, just had a quick scan.

Oh. and "Dylan"

Ambition is already there.

Dylan needs added.

09-01-2020, 06:07 PM
They've offered how much for Vela?

09-01-2020, 06:10 PM
Describing any of the summer incomers as a “Hecky dud”

Max_Shah
09-01-2020, 06:23 PM
Sorry CBA reading through the thread but I would respectfully submit the following:

"...Heckingbottom peed our budget up the wall in the summer..."

Accept any variation of "Dross from down south" or "...lol wur skint guiz..."

Bonus points for mentioning HSL :paid: and/or mentioning Leeann.

EDIT - Sorry mods. I did not realize the "paid" emoji was so large!! :doh: :na na: