View Full Version : Brexit and the transfer window

03-01-2019, 03:23 PM
Does anyone think brexit could hamper the transfer window for Scottish club?

As far as I know, any player from an EU country can currently play here without a visa. But after March, will that still be the case? Will players want to risk coming here and then falling foul of the visa system, meaning they cant work?

Its unlikely to be an issue for English teams as the wages they can pay will offset the risk, but with the relatively low wages up here, players might be more cautious about coming.

03-01-2019, 03:31 PM
Yet another reason to stop this Tory madness. The poll tax riots worked. What we need is Brexit riots.

badabing67
03-01-2019, 03:39 PM
Yet another reason to stop this Tory madness. The poll tax riots worked. What we need is Brexit riots.

Is that not a concern for the summer transfer market not this transfer market. Though I concede you may have a good point. Remember the farce with Agepong's paperwork last summer, there will probably be delays with paperwork for sure after March if Brexit goes ahead which I hope it doesn't

03-01-2019, 03:40 PM
Is that not a concern for the summer transfer market not this transfer market. Though I concede you may have a good point. Remember the farce with Agepong's paperwork, there will probably be delays with paperwork for sure after March if Brexit goes ahead which I hope it doesn't

I imagine it could be a factor, if we’re approaching players that are currently EU based / nationals, all the uncertainty could put them off / leave us at a disadvantage if they have options on the continent etc.

03-01-2019, 03:43 PM
Is that not a concern for the summer transfer market not this transfer market. Though I concede you may have a good point. Remember the farce with Agepong's paperwork last summer, there will probably be delays with paperwork for sure after March if Brexit goes ahead which I hope it doesn't

I think in the summer tranfer window we should at least know where we stand with regards to visas. But in March we might be faced with the prospect of having to get permits and visas mid season for players that have already played for us.

We also might not need to do anything and things just carry on as normal, but will players considering coming here take the risk into account?

03-01-2019, 03:48 PM
Think May will go for a No deal then blame everyone else for bombing out her plan. A disgrace.

Green&White
03-01-2019, 03:51 PM
Football manager tried to "predict" how it would effect football based on different Brexit outcomes.
Let's just say if they are correct and based on my FM play through's it's going to make it extremely more difficult to sign players.
I know it's a relatively small concern when you consider how much Brexit is going to effect people's day to day life but it's just another thing to add to the list of all this nonsense

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

03-01-2019, 03:56 PM

The poll tax was a policy decision taken on by a party, this is completely different. No amount of riots up here is going to overturn a UK referendum result.

Slavers
03-01-2019, 04:03 PM

Yep throwing their empty cappuccino cups and avocado salads at the police in anger then burning their Waitrose carrier bags n the street!

Is that what a Brexit riot looks like?

fulshie
03-01-2019, 04:05 PM
Is there not going to be a couple of years transitional period after we come out of the EU. If so then, this year shouldn't be a problem for transfers. Or has that changed too. Cannae keep up with this Brexit mess at all.

03-01-2019, 04:09 PM
Is there not going to be a couple of years transitional period after we come out of the EU. If so then, this year shouldn't be a problem for transfers. Or has that changed too. Cannae keep up with this Brexit mess at all.

If it's a no deal which looks pretty much like a dead cert, then there will be no transition period.

03-01-2019, 04:21 PM
Whilst Brexit is a complete charade imo, or will be, let’s not get carried away here. It won’t exclusively affect Hibs. The whole of GB&NI will bear the brunt as far a EU nationals coming to play here are concerned regardless of what version of Brexit goes through. Unless of course the parliament in Westminster eventually sees sense and calls the whole debacle off. Then it would be business as usual.

Let’s also not forget British players going to the EU. OK, not as many go in that direction but they’ll be subject to whatever immigration rules apply to the country they intend to go to.

Don’t remember this aspect of Brexit being plastered across the side of a big red bus in June 2016.
:rolleyes::rolleyes:

03-01-2019, 04:26 PM
It will maybe put people off coming here but at the moment everything will work as normal under the current rules so any visa in place when Brexit happens will continue until it's due to end, unless something truly catastrophic happens.

I guess it will be more complicated in the summer when we have no deal and are trying to work out how to deal with it all and process all the applications to live and work here that we didn't have before.

03-01-2019, 04:34 PM
Football manager tried to "predict" how it would effect football based on different Brexit outcomes.
Let's just say if they are correct and based on my FM play through's it's going to make it extremely more difficult to sign players.
I know it's a relatively small concern when you consider how much Brexit is going to effect people's day to day life but it's just another thing to add to the list of all this nonsense

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

It will make UK players even more expensive. On the other hand the money will stay within the UK
Might make Scotland an attractive place for players, if England was to leave, and Scotland voted to stay in. No politics from me though

03-01-2019, 05:02 PM

May has certainly screwed up the negotiations but Corbyn is also reputedly a Leaver and his plans are not exactly realistic either. Bring on Ian Blackford (SNP & Hibby) to sort it out!!

04-01-2019, 02:21 PM
It will maybe put people off coming here but at the moment everything will work as normal under the current rules so any visa in place when Brexit happens will continue until it's due to end, unless something truly catastrophic happens.

I guess it will be more complicated in the summer when we have no deal and are trying to work out how to deal with it all and process all the applications to live and work here that we didn't have before.

Bit in bold is the risk though. That uncertainty could mean that some players who have options elsewhere choose not to bother coming here, just in case.

04-01-2019, 02:25 PM
So Efe's left us for Marseilles because of Brexit.
Boris Johnson, didn't think I could detest you more.

Islington Hibs
04-01-2019, 03:18 PM
It will make no difference. The current migration proposals will allow entry to anyone with a job earning over a sum yet to be agreed- but likely between £22k-30k. I can safely say Hibs players earn more than that. Complete red herring.

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 03:22 PM

Absolutely

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 03:24 PM
Scottish independence is our only way out of this madness. It's a shame that it's had to come to this point though.

04-01-2019, 03:26 PM
It will make UK players even more expensive. On the other hand the money will stay within the UK
Might make Scotland an attractive place for players, if England was to leave, and Scotland voted to stay in. No politics from me though

The votes already been cast and the result confirmed over two years ago. How could Scotland be different to England?

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 03:28 PM
The votes already been cast and the result confirmed over two years ago. How could Scotland be different to England?

They're 2 different countries with very different cultures and political beliefs for a start. It's time for independence.

04-01-2019, 03:37 PM
How could Scotland be different to England?

By wanting something different to what they want.

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 03:42 PM
By wanting something different to what they want.

We're different politically & culturally! A hate when folk say we're just the same as each other when we clearly aren't. Our countries have had different values since the 8th century (yes really Scotland wasn't formed in 1707)!

04-01-2019, 04:15 PM
May has certainly screwed up the negotiations but Corbyn is also reputedly a Leaver and his plans are not exactly realistic either. Bring on Ian Blackford (SNP & Hibby) to sort it out!!

Jesus wept ! Is this site just for SNP supporters ?

04-01-2019, 04:55 PM
They're 2 different countries with very different cultures and political beliefs for a start. It's time for independence.

I voted for independence but when others decided we had to remain as part of the UK that took away any chance we had of having a different say to the rest of the UK so far as EU membership is concerned. As things stand there’s no difference between Scotland and England. Both countries - as part of the UK will be out of the EU.

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 04:57 PM
I voted for independence but when others decided we had to remain as part of the UK that took away any chance we had of having a different say to the rest of the UK so far as EU membership is concerned. As things stand there’s no difference between Scotland and England. Both countries - as part of the UK will be out of the EU.

Has the deal been agreed for brexit yet mate? I would imagine we'll have a second independence referendum in the wake of this brexit pish going through like

04-01-2019, 04:59 PM
Jeezo, can we have a break from the politics, puh-leez!

04-01-2019, 05:01 PM

Dream on.

04-01-2019, 05:02 PM
Holy Ground?

:yawn:

04-01-2019, 05:02 PM

it's on it's way :wink:

04-01-2019, 05:05 PM
Right, that's it, I've had enough of politics. I'm off to Kickback....

:offski:

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 05:05 PM
Dream on.

Only a matter of time son we all know the eu lies in 2014 swung the first ref.

04-01-2019, 05:06 PM

I thought you were Irish?

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 05:06 PM
it's on it's way :wink:

Oh a know it is pal 👍

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 05:07 PM
I thought you were Irish?

Never stated once I was irish.

04-01-2019, 05:09 PM

And i give you your pal Alex Salmond !

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 05:11 PM
And i give you your pal Alex Salmond !

Ma pal? Scottish Independence is on it's way pal and there's nothing you or I can do about it.

fishybeaver
04-01-2019, 05:48 PM
Ma pal? Scottish Independence is on it's way pal and there's nothing you or I can do about it.
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 06:01 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

You not a fan of an independent Scotland pal?

04-01-2019, 06:05 PM

Except vote.

04-01-2019, 06:08 PM
Please delete mods

Always wanted to say that 😆

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 06:09 PM
Except vote.

If there's a second referendum (which is more than likely) then it'll be a land slide win for the yes campaign. Most Scots look on themselves as European not British.

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 06:11 PM
Please delete mods

All the old guard will be trying to get me banned as we speak bro 😂😂 you canny disagree with the old guard on here like as soon as you dae it's over like.

04-01-2019, 06:19 PM
All the old guard will be trying to get me banned as we speak bro 😂😂 you canny disagree with the old guard on here like as soon as you dae it's over like.

Who are the old guard?

Is there an initiation process?

04-01-2019, 06:22 PM
If there's a second referendum (which is more than likely) then it'll be a land slide win for the yes campaign. Most Scots look on themselves as European not British.

Where's the evidence for that?

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 06:23 PM
Where's the evidence for that?

The brexit referendum when 62% of the nation voted to stay part of the eu.

04-01-2019, 06:24 PM

How does that translate to your claim about a second independence referendum?

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 06:36 PM
How does that translate to your claim about a second independence referendum?

Because the snp won the last general election and legally they have a mandate to call a second referendum. Especially after the lies spouted in 2014 by the Tory no campaign stating a vote for no was a vote for European union membership.

04-01-2019, 06:41 PM
Because the snp won the last general election and legally they have a mandate to call a second referendum. Especially after the lies spouted in 2014 by the Tory no campaign stating a vote for no was a vote for European union membership.

Yet....

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.scotsman.com/news/politics/poll-60-of-scots-would-back-remain-in-new-scottish-independence-vote-1-4832164/amp

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 06:46 PM
Yet....

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.scotsman.com/news/politics/poll-60-of-scots-would-back-remain-in-new-scottish-independence-vote-1-4832164/amp

The same paper that had us ahead on poll points in 2014 aye that's plausible.

04-01-2019, 06:49 PM
The same paper that had us ahead on poll points in 2014 aye that's plausible.

It's the only recent opinion poll we have.

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 06:51 PM
It's the only recent opinion poll we have.

A doubt it's accuracy. Most people in this country want to be in the European union. The Scotsman is a unionist rag.

04-01-2019, 06:53 PM

The 2 aren’t mutually exclusive. I class myself as British and European, as do most I know.

EDIT: quoted the wrong post.

04-01-2019, 06:54 PM
A doubt it's accuracy. Most people in this country want to be in the European union. The Scotsman is a unionist rag.

So where is the evidence to the contrary?

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 06:55 PM
The 2 aren’t mutually exclusive. I class myself as British and European, as do most I know.

Each to their own mate. I class myself as a Scottish republican myself.

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 06:56 PM
So where is the evidence to the contrary?

Polls are never accurate everyone kens this.

TheReg!
04-01-2019, 06:58 PM
We're different politically & culturally! A hate when folk say we're just the same as each other when we clearly aren't. Our countries have had different values since the 8th century (yes really Scotland wasn't formed in 1707)!

You don’t half talk some utter ***** by the way

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 07:05 PM
You don’t half talk some utter ***** by the way

Just stating facts mate you can try and correct me if you like.

TheReg!
04-01-2019, 07:06 PM
Just stating facts mate you can try and correct me if you like.

😂 Wibble

04-01-2019, 07:10 PM
Polls are never accurate everyone kens this.

I asked for evidence 😉

04-01-2019, 08:08 PM
I asked for evidence 😉

Crops, thought you’d be better read than posting fables from the unionist mouthpiece that is the Scotsman? Many recent polls have put independence between 52 -56% funnily, the polls are .gov friendly as you will most likely know because I know you have seen them.

I am firstly Scottish, second European - never ever British as are many of my friends and 100% of the people I’m in direct contact with at home and at work.

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 08:11 PM
Crops, thought you’d be better read than posting fables from the unionist mouthpiece that is the Scotsman? Many recent polls have put independence between 52 -56% funnily, the polls are .gov friendly as you will most likely know because I know you have seen them.

I am firstly Scottish, second European - never ever British as are many of my friends and 100% of the people I’m in direct contact with at home and at work.

Exactly that's my point mate we all know polls are a lot of pish. My point of view was that the lies about eu membership swung the vote in 2014 as that's what would have made the minds up of most of the undecided voters.

04-01-2019, 08:20 PM

You missed my point.

The poster made a statement. I asked for evidence, in good faith. He didn't provide any, despite the fact that there is plenty out there. I then posted that link,which he refuted, but with no counter evidence.

Just as he has made claims on other threads that he hasn't provided evidence of.

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 08:27 PM
You missed my point.

The poster made a statement. I asked for evidence, in good faith. He didn't provide any, despite the fact that there is plenty out there. I then posted that link,which he refuted, but with no counter evidence.

Just as he has made claims on other threads that he hasn't provided evidence of.

Evidence of what? Evidence that polls are a load of pish? How can a give you evidence for that? It's common knowledge that polls are crap. As for the eu lies swinging the no vote in 2014 are you seriously trying to suggest that 55% of the no voters were ardent unionists like your good self?

04-01-2019, 08:43 PM
Evidence of what? Evidence that polls are a load of pish? How can a give you evidence for that? It's common knowledge that polls are crap. As for the eu lies swinging the no vote in 2014 are you seriously trying to suggest that 55% of the no voters were ardent unionists like your good self?

Evidence for your claim that a second referendum would give a Yes vote.

As for my being an "ardent Unionist", you couldn't be more wrong 😂

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 08:48 PM

As for my being an "ardent Unionist", you couldn't be more wrong 😂

Well it's a bit obvious is it no if the country overwhelmingly voted to stay in Europe and we get dragged out of Europe against our will the majority of the country would probably vote yes in a second referendum. Its no so much evidence as it is common sense pal. You sure your no you don't seem to be a big fan of self governance of our wonderful wee country ae

04-01-2019, 08:51 PM
Well it's a bit obvious is it no if the country overwhelmingly voted to stay in Europe and we get dragged out of Europe against our will the majority of the country would probably vote yes to in a second referendum. Its no so much evidence as it is common sense pal. You sure your no you don't seem to be a big fan of self governance of our wonderful wee country ae

Um...quite sure 😉

But I'm also a fan of facts and evidence.

04-01-2019, 08:54 PM

One way to ensure riots would be to mess with English clubs transfers.
Meanwhile Fat cat industrialists get pilloried but fat cat players get off Scott-free.

04-01-2019, 08:55 PM
You missed my point.

doh! I’ve no had alcohol today 🤭

Tornadoes70
04-01-2019, 09:17 PM
Well it's a bit obvious is it no if the country overwhelmingly voted to stay in Europe and we get dragged out of Europe against our will the majority of the country would probably vote yes in a second referendum. Its no so much evidence as it is common sense pal. You sure your no you don't seem to be a big fan of self governance of our wonderful wee country ae

The word 'ardent' portray's a person accustomed to a wider vocabulary than you seek to identify with. Strange that you appear to possess such a variant of social platforming.

You've given me a laugh today with some of your posts and gallus behaviour, so I'm not trying to out you or pretend I know whether you're a genuine Hi bee or not.

Curious though at such incongruous mixture styling of vocabulary?

04-01-2019, 10:04 PM

Would that be the question put to the UK not Scotland ? Scotland never had a separate vote from the UK, the Uk that Scotland decided to stay part of. There will never be another Scottish referendum so get over it.

04-01-2019, 10:37 PM

It's a bit like asking for evidence that the sky is blue mate. Somebody could point to it and you'd still say "aye, but prove it".

04-01-2019, 10:39 PM
There will never be another Scottish referendum so get over it.

Never is a very long time. Although I tend to agree. I can see us bypassing one altogether. :wink:

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 11:17 PM
The word 'ardent' portray's a person accustomed to a wider vocabulary than you seek to identify with. Strange that you appear to possess such a variant of social platforming.

You've given me a laugh today with some of your posts and gallus behaviour, so I'm not trying to out you or pretend I know whether you're a genuine Hi bee or not.

Curious though at such incongruous mixture styling of vocabulary?

Haha a just type the way a speak mate there's zero thought put into it. As for outting me that sadly won't happen as I am a genuine hibby like!

04-01-2019, 11:49 PM
Haha a just type the way a speak mate there's zero thought put into it. As for outting me that sadly won't happen as I am a genuine hibby like!

You could well be a class A Hibee mate..yet I suspect the reason you’re getting a bit of grief early on on here ..is that you seem to have some of the hallmarks of many pretenders that have been seen on here before ...who have turned out to be not who they say they are...come from nowhere...very “Hibs” username, suddenly lots of early posts and opinions...cause a bit of controversial discussions, keep telling everyone they are a Hibee, point to some other recently set up social media account etc etc..

Each to their own style, but if you’re enjoying it here, why not just chill a bit and get into the mix of discussions rather than what seems to be a style of quite an assertive set of viewpoints...

Anyway, feel free to ignore ...just trying to help....Glory Glory ..

hhibs
04-01-2019, 11:57 PM
Never is a very long time. Although I tend to agree. I can see us bypassing one altogether. :wink:

:aok::wink:

05-01-2019, 01:23 AM

:thumbsup: spot on! :thumbsup::agree:

Tornadoes70
05-01-2019, 01:26 AM
:thumbsup: spot on! :thumbsup::agree:

How would 'bypassing one' work out of curiosity?

Mon the Cabbage!!!

Tornadoes70
05-01-2019, 01:28 AM

Fair do's mate. Wasn't trying to out you as I said. Maybe you simply merely pick up words like 'ardent' along life's journey.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

05-01-2019, 09:09 AM
Please delete mods

Or at least move to the Holy Ground

05-01-2019, 09:22 AM
It's a bit like asking for evidence that the sky is blue mate. Somebody could point to it and you'd still say "aye, but prove it".

You've missed my point as well, which I explained above.

The sky sure as hell isn't blue where I am today. There's plenty evidence for that 😉

05-01-2019, 09:49 AM
So does anyone else think Efe left to make sure his visa worked in Europe,in case it didn't in the summer?

Suppose we won't know until he signs for someone.

hhibs
05-01-2019, 10:01 AM
So does anyone else think Efe left to make sure his visa worked in Europe,in case it didn't in the summer?

Suppose we won't know until he signs for someone.

Very interesting point PatHead.

05-01-2019, 10:52 AM
How would 'bypassing one' work out of curiosity?

Mon the Cabbage!!!

The people of Scotland are sovereign and can dissolve the union without needing a further referendum. It would begin by recalling all our MPs from Westminster.

05-01-2019, 10:59 AM
The people of Scotland are sovereign and can dissolve the union without needing a further referendum. It would begin by recalling all our MPs from Westminster.

Aye, up the revolution ! we can use turnips as currency, our pensions and benefits paid in monopoly money as helmet heid said it would be alright !

05-01-2019, 11:05 AM
Aye, up the revolution ! we can use turnips as currency, our pensions and benefits paid in monopoly money as helmet heid said it would be alright !

Aye keep going mate, yer fear and negativity will surpass you! :aok:

05-01-2019, 11:11 AM

I don't know if there is any technical truth in that..but going to assume there is...

Do you feel a scottish government that doesn't hold a majority position would have a mandate for that?

05-01-2019, 11:12 AM

Well that's an interesting view point. Always good to get comments from the school playground.

05-01-2019, 11:49 AM
I don't know if there is any technical truth in that..but going to assume there is...

Do you feel a scottish government that doesn't hold a majority position would have a mandate for that?

Act of union 1707.

that is another question but then again a minority government acted upon an advisory referendum by triggering article 50 to deliver brexit.

05-01-2019, 12:00 PM
Act of union 1707.

that is another question but then again a minority government acted upon an advisory referendum by triggering article 50 to deliver brexit.

Don’t know the act of union well enough - but didn’t that create a single unitary state ??

anyway, I’m not trying to catch you out - was interested in your view...even as a pro indie minded individual..I don’t see the Scottish Government with a mandate to do that, without another referendum..

hhibs
05-01-2019, 12:48 PM

child !

05-01-2019, 01:44 PM
child !

Y'know the whole currency thing is a complete red herring. The pound is derived from European currency and the only thing that belongs to England is the copyright on the £ sign. The pensions bit is fear mongering and the turnip bit is simply insulting! Scotlands people have a right to self determine and the thought of being saddled to those uber-unionist brit nationals down south, is frightening! A considerable amount of English people feel the same. We are a progressive country that is moving forward on a world stage highlighting the maturity of our nation. I am no indoctrinated xenophobe with fascist tendencies because of being feart of people from elswhere in this world!

06-01-2019, 11:42 PM
Act of union 1707.

Article 50 vote was 498 to 114 - a majority of 384 MPs backing the bill. Both the Conservative Party and Labour Party backed the bill and the majority of 384 is, sadly, far from a minority position.

Tornadoes70
07-01-2019, 03:27 AM
Don’t know the act of union well enough - but didn’t that create a single unitary state ??

anyway, I’m not trying to catch you out - was interested in your view...even as a pro indie minded individual..I don’t see the Scottish Government with a mandate to do that, without another referendum..

I agree. A coup would be extremely problematic and likely lead to constant chaos and turmoil. Independence would most certainly have to be won from a democratic decisive vote by way of referendum as I'm certain the vast majority of reasoned civilised Scots would concur.

07-01-2019, 09:12 AM
Article 50 vote was 498 to 114 - a majority of 384 MPs backing the bill. Both the Conservative Party and Labour Party backed the bill and the majority of 384 is, sadly, far from a minority position.

It's still a minority government propped up by the DUP. Why these MPs decided to vote in the way they did is beyond me and reason.

I'm not sure how many of the vast majority of Scots will remain reasonable given the state of affairs now.