View Full Version : Martin Boyle - injured

AugustaHibs
01-01-2019, 04:01 PM
He has pulled out the tournament with Australia.

01-01-2019, 04:04 PM
Shame, was looking forward to watching him out there. Hopefully not a long term injury

01-01-2019, 04:07 PM
The announcement from Hibs isn't very positive.

01-01-2019, 04:07 PM
Australia can bolt.

EH75
01-01-2019, 04:08 PM
Just what we need.

01-01-2019, 04:09 PM
This has been an abysmal season for injuries.

01-01-2019, 04:10 PM
"Will return to Scotland for treatment immediately."

**** sake :rolleyes: no luck just now.

01-01-2019, 04:10 PM
There’s not a lot you can say about that - almost laughable.

01-01-2019, 04:11 PM
This has been an abysmal season for injuries.

It sure has, plus players leaving. We need to do something in the transfer window.

01-01-2019, 04:12 PM
Guessing this means we won’t have the option of postponing the games at the end of the month now.

01-01-2019, 04:13 PM
Knee injury - oh ****

There will apparently be an update once he has been fully assessed.

01-01-2019, 04:16 PM
Football Federation Australia (FFA) regret to advise that attacker Martin Boyle will miss the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019[emoji769] due to injury.

Boyle sustained a contact injury to his knee late in Australia’s 5-0 win over Oman on Sunday and following a review with Australia’s medical team in the Middle East, the decision has been made to withdraw him from the tournament.

01-01-2019, 04:17 PM
There's something seriously wrong with our squad if our players keep getting injured.

01-01-2019, 04:21 PM
To be fair its an impact injury and no amount of sports science or tailored training regimes can protect a player from them. But ye gods it like someone has put a bloody curse on the club this season …. the first person to mention missing harps is getting battered :greengrin

01-01-2019, 04:23 PM
It sure has, plus players leaving. We need to do something in the transfer window.

Hopefully we get players in soonish instead of pissing about.

01-01-2019, 04:25 PM
I don’t think I can ever recall us having such consistent issues with injuries.

Every time we get someone back, someone else goes out.

01-01-2019, 04:27 PM
Putting aside the impact on our Club, I'm absolutely gutted for him missing out on the tournament.

Hopefully not a once in a lifetime opportunity.

01-01-2019, 04:29 PM
There’s not a lot you can say about that - almost laughable.

Well am no Laughing FFS It's more bad news after more on the injury front and Gray has still to play a full game and then be ok for the next one

01-01-2019, 04:30 PM
Guessing this means we won’t have the option of postponing the games at the end of the month now.

Nope, there has to be at least three players away on international duty to trigger a postponement and we only have two away now.

Unless we can find Australian heritage for Efe Ambrose in the next week or so and get him on the flight to the UAE, since he appears to be the only member of our squad who hasn't been injured this year.

01-01-2019, 04:31 PM
Can we end the season now please?

01-01-2019, 04:32 PM
Mingin luck, just mingin.

You just cannot legislate for this kind of ****.

Weegreenman
01-01-2019, 04:32 PM
Can we have some good news soon please?? :rolleyes:

01-01-2019, 04:33 PM
Accordingly by to the Socceroo press release Boyle was keen to stay out there so hopefully not too serious.

01-01-2019, 04:36 PM
Accordingly by to the Socceroo press release Boyle was keen to stay out there so hopefully not too serious.

Yeah that’s how I read it as well, maybe 3/4 weeks max hopefully

01-01-2019, 04:37 PM
There's something seriously wrong with our squad if our players keep getting injured.

Well Lennon is fed up with it and now has to ensure we recruit quality players who are fit and robust ( his word )
So no more injury prone players on Loan in hope they might stay fit for us We can't take that risk
The young Man City Winger might still be worth sticking with if he is nearing full fitness again with trying to get City to pay more of his wages
That we if we get him fit and he contributes at some point we aren't spending a lot on wages and City get to know if he is going to be worth persevering with

01-01-2019, 04:38 PM
If they'd allowed him to stay for the derby, he wouldn't have played against Oman... Just sayin, likes!

01-01-2019, 04:40 PM
If they'd allowed him to stay for the derby, he wouldn't have played against Oman... Just sayin, likes!

If Alex McLeish had selected him for Scotland he wouldn’t have needed to jet halfway round the world at regular intervals.

01-01-2019, 04:42 PM
Football Federation Australia (FFA) regret to advise that attacker Martin Boyle will miss the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019[emoji769] due to injury.

Boyle sustained a contact injury to his knee late in Australia’s 5-0 win over Oman on Sunday and following a review with Australia’s medical team in the Middle East, the decision has been made to withdraw him from the tournament.

A contact injury to the knee is promising.
Much better than some form of ligament/cartilage damage.
Fingers crossed he will be fit by the end of the month.

Heart sinks when you hear knee injury.

01-01-2019, 04:43 PM
I hate international football

01-01-2019, 04:54 PM

Not for this one if it's contact related as reported.

Generally though, we do seem to have a lot of pulls and strains that could point to a wider problem with the way we're training.

Ryan69
01-01-2019, 04:54 PM
Can still play for Scotland then :)

01-01-2019, 05:00 PM
Can still play for Scotland then :)

Presume so, as he hasn’t played a competitive match for Australia

01-01-2019, 05:08 PM
Might be clutching here, but if the injury isn't serious this might actually work in our favour. Rather than him playing right through to February and then coming back knackered and going straight in to more games with us, this will give him a much needed rest. He can hopefully be back tearing up that right wing by the end of January.

On a side note, how the **** is Son still playing for Spurs on 1st January, yet we couldn't have the 3 Aussie boys for our game 3 days ago??

Ryan69
01-01-2019, 05:10 PM
Might be clutching here, but if the injury isn't serious this might actually work in our favour. Rather than him playing right through to February and then coming back knackered and going straight in to more games with us, this will give him a much needed rest. He can hopefully be back tearing up that right wing by the end of January.

On a side note, how the **** is Son still playing for Spurs on 1st January, yet we couldn't have the 3 Aussie boys for our game 3 days ago??

Very good point that.

David_D
01-01-2019, 05:11 PM

I’m sure spurs came to an arrangement with South Korea as they released him at the start of the season for internationals when they weren’t obliged to.

01-01-2019, 05:12 PM

Definitely. It’s those Hibs physio’s again, never mind that it happened on international duty, let’s blame the club.

01-01-2019, 05:12 PM

He wasn't with our squad at the time though

Ryan69
01-01-2019, 05:21 PM
He wasn't with our squad at the time though

Maybe its the type of training they have been doing however,or stretches they are doing.
There are many possibilities.

Very strange how many we have had this season alone though

01-01-2019, 05:23 PM

Presumably South Korea don't feel that they need him as early as the Australian coach needed his players.

They played Saudi Arabia yesterday in a friendly and then start their Asian Cup tournament against the Philippines next Monday.

01-01-2019, 05:23 PM
Maybe its the type of training they have been doing however,or stretches they are doing.
There are many possibilities.

Very strange how many we have had this season alone though

It was a contact injury so nothing to do with training or stretches

01-01-2019, 05:25 PM
Did anyone who watched the game, see him pick up the injury?

01-01-2019, 05:26 PM
Apparently on his way home.Gutted.Possibly may need surgery.

01-01-2019, 05:29 PM
Gutted for him and the team (not Australia they and their manager can gtf)

01-01-2019, 05:30 PM
Presumably South Korea don't feel that they need him as early as the Australian coach needed his players.

They played Saudi Arabia yesterday in a friendly and then start their Asian Cup tournament against the Philippines next Monday.

Maybe the South Korea manager wasn’t being a dick about it.

01-01-2019, 05:35 PM

TBH Boyle usually gets kicked all over the park, dusts himself off and carries on, one of the few players in our squad to miss any game time, like Stevenson, it's just pure bad luck at the moment.

01-01-2019, 05:37 PM
Apparently on his way home.Gutted.Possibly may need surgery.

Aw naw

01-01-2019, 06:10 PM

Never!

He had a couple of runs in the twenty minutes he was on, but I can’trecall a tackle that landed on him.

Certainly didn’t go down for treatment at any point.

Baffling, as well as disappointing.

01-01-2019, 06:16 PM
Never!

He had a couple of runs in the twenty minutes he was on, but I can’trecall a tackle that landed on him.

Didn’t he then call Chris Sutton a tube or to that extent but no mention of his injury at all.

01-01-2019, 06:22 PM
Never!

Thanks

01-01-2019, 06:34 PM
Personally I’m a bit sceptical about ‘injuries’ in the modern game. Fifty years ago, I don’t remember so many players getting injured so regularly or for such long periods of time. Maybe my memory is a bit clouded, but I think the Hibs team was basically the same every week with the odd occasion when someone was genuinely injured or a reserve player was being given an opportunity to shine. No doubt some will remind me that the game is more physical now and that players play more games but I’m a bit ‘meh’ about the whole thing. :tin hat:

01-01-2019, 06:40 PM
Didn’t he then call Chris Sutton a tube or to that extent but no mention of his injury at all.

‘Loudmouth’ Ithink was the ratherundiplomatic term he used...saw it in the Scottish red top, but that not reported in Oz.....

Woke up this morning though to the very much WILL be reported news that Boyleroo is OUT the tournament.

He was getting talked up big time for a starting spot by the Fox Sports panel, and will be seen as a significant loss.

The Oz squad is already suffering from injuries, and I’m assuming the injury is not a bad one, but enough to keep him out perhaps just the group games, and that given Arnie has allowed Matthew Leckie who plays in the same style as Boyle to join the squad although injured, Arnie maybe is erring on the side of caution and making sure a 100% fitreplacement is there from the start.

If that is the case, then Boyleroo could be back in a Hibs strip next game...hopefully.

01-01-2019, 06:44 PM
Personally I’m a bit sceptical about ‘injuries’ in the modern game. Fifty years ago, I don’t remember so many players getting injured so regularly or for such long periods of time. Maybe my memory is a bit clouded, but I think the Hibs team was basically the same every week with the odd occasion when someone was genuinely injured or a reserve player was being given an opportunity to shine. No doubt some will remind me that the game is more physical now and that players play more games but I’m a bit ‘meh’ about the whole thing. :tin hat:

Jim, like me sure you remember seeing Neil Martin playing with his broken wrist in a plaster cast.

Couldn’t see that happening today.

01-01-2019, 06:53 PM

Honestly I think it is somewhere between the two. There are definitely some more delicate players around now but also more strenuous seasons to contend with in general.

01-01-2019, 06:56 PM
‘Loudmouth’ Ithink was the ratherundiplomatic term he used...saw it in the Scottish red top, but that not reported in Oz.....

Woke up this morning though to the very much WILL be reported news that Boyleroo is OUT the tournament.

He was getting talked up big time for a starting spot by the Fox Sports panel, and will be seen as a significant loss.

The Oz squad is already suffering from injuries, and I’m assuming the injury is not a bad one, but enough to keep him out perhaps just the group games, and that given Arnie has allowed Matthew Leckie who plays in the same style as Boyle to join the squad although injured, Arnie maybe is erring on the side of caution and making sure a 100% fitreplacement is there from the start.

If that is the case, then Boyleroo could be back in a Hibs strip next game...hopefully.

Hope so mate and your assessment wants the Ozzies to do a bit better now in the tourney 👍

H18S NX
01-01-2019, 07:01 PM
Jim, like me sure you remember seeing Neil Martin playing with his broken wrist in a plaster cast.

Couldn’t see that happening today.....Now HE could heid a baw:aok:

01-01-2019, 07:16 PM

Son had to go because of national service. If he didnt win the tournament he would've had to go back to korea for 2 years I think. So it was either let him go for those games and hope they win it or they lose him for longer while hes in the armed forces. They probably let spurs off with him this time as a goodwill gesture.

01-01-2019, 07:33 PM
This is not good: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46731589
Out for an indefinite period????
When it hits the fan, it hits hard?????

01-01-2019, 07:36 PM
Do we get compensated as he was injured on international duty?

01-01-2019, 07:45 PM
We really have no luck at the moment

01-01-2019, 07:50 PM
He should be covered by insurance through Australian FA.

01-01-2019, 07:53 PM

You just need to ask yourself why would clubs let their best players sit out 'injured' to the detriment of the team?

ozwoody
01-01-2019, 08:00 PM
Wouldn’t expect him back playing before 6-8 weeks, the word I got is that it’s a meniscus tear.
We have not had a worse season for injuries I can recall , transfer window should be interesting.

01-01-2019, 08:03 PM
You just need to ask yourself why would clubs let their best players sit out 'injured' to the detriment of the team?

Fair point. It still begs the question, ‘ Why does there appear to be more injuries in the modern game, with some teams being more susceptible than others, or is that nonsense?

01-01-2019, 08:11 PM
Is the game maybe played at a faster pace, better pitches, lighter balls, boots like slippers so no protection plus players in general may be a lot fitter and stronger so are more prone to muscle damage injuries.

01-01-2019, 08:17 PM
Wouldn’t expect him back playing before 6-8 weeks, the word I got is that it’s a meniscus tear.
We have not had a worse season for injuries I can recall , transfer window should be interesting.

A meniscus tear would not be good

01-01-2019, 08:23 PM

There was no stoppage for him to get treatment but if it is a meniscus tear, as someone said a short time ago, he probably played on after a collision late in the game and the damage would have been diagnosed after the match.

01-01-2019, 08:27 PM
A meniscus tear would not be good

It's actually not as bad as you might think. Four week turnaround is the usual rehab these days for a meniscus tear. Plastic pitches won't help the rehab however.

ozwoody
01-01-2019, 08:40 PM
It's actually not as bad as you might think. Four week turnaround is the usual rehab these days for a meniscus tear. Plastic pitches won't help the rehab however.

That is correct Bull, I was giving worse case scenario due to not knowing what grade tear it is , and ,as you say , rehab will not be helped with plastic pitches etc.
I was told he was kicked during game and knee flared up after, prompting them to send him for a scan that uncovered the state of his knee. I am thinking it’s a bad one if they have sent him straight home instead of keeping him there to play in the games after group stages as they are hoping to do with Mathew Leckies hamstring..
Not a good outcome for Squirrel either way

01-01-2019, 08:53 PM

That is fast.
Had one a couple of years ago and it took months to repair but that was without any extra help.
Basically was given exercises to do and abstained from running on hard surfaces.
Martin will get specialist and intense treatment after a wee op to repair the tear.

01-01-2019, 08:53 PM

4 mins weeks seems reasonable, but he’s now got one of his knees less than 100% going forward

01-01-2019, 09:10 PM
Australia can go and **** right off. Hope they get knocked out of this tournament they are in.

01-01-2019, 09:18 PM
He’ll be back for the later stages of the Scottish cup.

01-01-2019, 09:26 PM
Putting aside the impact on our Club, I'm absolutely gutted for him missing out on the tournament.

Hopefully not a once in a lifetime opportunity.

Amongst all the anger for another injury to an important player I was gutted for Martin when I heard this. Lad has worked so tremendously hard in his time at Hibs and to become an international footballer is the reward for that work, and was about to embark on potentially a career highlighting month for him, especially since they're one of the bookies favourites to go and lift it. I hope for his sake this isn't the end of that dream for him because he deserves it.

01-01-2019, 09:32 PM
Would love to be a fly on the wall next time the Aussie manager meets with Lennon trying to negotiate player release. Farcical.

01-01-2019, 10:04 PM
Agyepong can cover ...

01-01-2019, 10:49 PM
Is it possible that it’s not majorly serious, but given the Aussies already have a player who’s currently injured, they wanted Boyle declared injured and out so they could get a replacement in rather than hoping the 2 players will heal quick enough to make an impact on the tournament?

they may be thinking they can get away with carrying one injured player into the tournament, but not 2 :dunno:

01-01-2019, 10:52 PM
Is it possible that it’s not majorly serious, but given the Aussies already have a player who’s currently injured, they wanted Boyle declared injured and out so they could get a replacement in rather than hoping the 2 players will heal quick enough to make an impact on the tournament?

they may be thinking they can get away with carrying one injured player into the tournament, but not 2 :dunno:

good point

02-01-2019, 07:46 AM
I’m sure spurs came to an arrangement with South Korea as they released him at the start of the season for internationals when they weren’t obliged to.

Correct.

02-01-2019, 07:59 AM
Hurry back Martin.

We'll miss you.

02-01-2019, 09:51 AM
4 mins weeks seems reasonable, but he’s now got one of his knees less than 100% going forward

Does that not depend what kind of tear it is?

02-01-2019, 10:01 AM
Does that not depend what kind of tear it is?

It does, but I was only replying to a post

02-01-2019, 11:06 AM
It does, but I was only replying to a post

Apologies, I meant the less than a 100% part. If it's something that he was able to continue on, like a small tear, hopefully that's fully recoverable.

02-01-2019, 11:14 AM
....Now HE could heid a baw:aok:

Remember our keeper Willie Wilson going off hurt and Peter Cormack going in goal. Willie later came back on and played right wing. No subs then.

02-01-2019, 11:53 AM
Apologies, I meant the less than a 100% part. If it's something that he was able to continue on, like a small tear, hopefully that's fully recoverable.

No worries, just meant that once you get a wee tear, your knee is never 100% again. Trust me I’ve had 3 of these sort of ops

02-01-2019, 11:55 AM
No worries, just meant that once you get a wee tear, your knee is never 100% again. Trust me I’ve had 3 of these sort of ops

Didn't he do his knee at Falkirk during our first season in the championship too?

02-01-2019, 12:12 PM
Didn't he do his knee at Falkirk during our first season in the championship too?

Well remembered, think it was a medial ligament injury

02-01-2019, 12:45 PM
Out for an indefinite period just because he played in a totally unnecessary friendly.

02-01-2019, 06:24 PM
Fair point. It still begs the question, ‘ Why does there appear to be more injuries in the modern game, with some teams being more susceptible than others, or is that nonsense?

I'm pretty much where you are Jim. Back in the day... "Can ye stand?... Aye!... Get yer kit oan :greengrin

...Oh! Wait!... Hertz still do that :devil:

02-01-2019, 08:00 PM
Would love to be a fly on the wall next time the Aussie manager meets with Lennon trying to negotiate player release. Farcical.

There is no negotiation if Aussie wants him and he wants to go he goes.