View Full Version : Only an excuse

Babyshamble
31-12-2018, 11:06 PM
Anyone watching this pish?

31-12-2018, 11:08 PM
Aye. I’ve had more amusing trips to the dentist.

31-12-2018, 11:10 PM
It's even worse than last year! Tragic.

bodhibs
31-12-2018, 11:10 PM
Big red button, usually in a top corner of your remote control, smash that

31-12-2018, 11:11 PM
Up there with that Mrs Brown's boys pish. Absolute torture.

31-12-2018, 11:12 PM
WTF is this?! 😂

31-12-2018, 11:12 PM
I'd like to say it's genius tonight.

I'd like to, but I really can't.:greengrin

31-12-2018, 11:14 PM
first time i've watched it for over a decade, pretty funny tonight imo :greengrin

LustForLeith
31-12-2018, 11:15 PM
Who was he supposed to be in the bodyguard sketch? Of the Scottish guy talking about England in the World Cup?

31-12-2018, 11:15 PM
first time i've watched it for over a decade, pretty funny tonight imo :greengrin

I’ve had to turn off after 15 minutes. Absolute drivel.

31-12-2018, 11:17 PM
That bad even my wife said who is he meant to be, same pish as every year.

Doh Rae Me
I've missed the first 10 minutes. I take it no Neil or Potter yet?

Switched it off now. An absolute shambles of a show it has become

I’ve had to turn off after 15 minutes. Absolute drivel.

i'm easily pleased :greengrin tbf i only tuned in 10 mins ago and there's still time for it to deteriorate

31-12-2018, 11:18 PM
The annual .net OAE thread is almost always guaranteed to provide more laughs than the show itself.

Rangers joke
Celtic joke
Rangers joke
Celtic joke
Nicola Sturgeon joke
BBC news/weather joke
Rangers joke
Joke about someone relevant a decade ago
Celtic joke
Token non Glasgow football joke
Neil Oliver or similar joke
Combined Celtic/Rangers joke
'Where's ra burds?' to finish.

31-12-2018, 11:18 PM
Thank God they are finishing still game this year too..thats went down hill but thankfully won't drop to this level of pishness

31-12-2018, 11:20 PM
Thank God they are finishing still game this year too..thats went down hill but thankfully won't drop to this level of pishness

They should finish this show off as well now. God knows who still finds this a decent and funny watch.

31-12-2018, 11:21 PM
It’s absolutely brutal.

31-12-2018, 11:22 PM
They should finish this show off as well now. God knows who still finds this a decent and funny watch.

Folk 70+ in Glasgow. BBC Scotlands target audience.

LustForLeith
31-12-2018, 11:24 PM
The annual .net OAE thread is almost always guaranteed to provide more laughs than the show itself.

Rangers joke
Celtic joke
Rangers joke
Celtic joke
Nicola Sturgeon joke
BBC news/weather joke
Rangers joke
Celtic joke

How much did you get for writing it?

31-12-2018, 11:24 PM

Rangers joke
Celtic joke
Rangers joke
Celtic joke
Nicola Sturgeon joke
BBC news/weather joke
Rangers joke
Celtic joke

You forgot the Frank McAvennie joke!

31-12-2018, 11:25 PM
Taped it just so I could come on this thread later to moan about it.

TBH a thread about how pish it is is just as traditional as the show itself.

31-12-2018, 11:26 PM
Haven't watched it for the past several years. I'll take any excuse not to watch it.

31-12-2018, 11:27 PM
I’m in Ireland and you really don’t want to be watching Keith Barry’s Magical New Year on RTE right now. It’s like a further boot in the balls while you’re down after Mrs Browns Boys which preceded. I’d give my right arm to be viewing Only an Excuse right now..

Saturday Boy
31-12-2018, 11:27 PM
Taped it just so I could come on this thread later tonmoan about it.

THH a thread about how pish it is is just as traditional as the show itself.

And funnier 😉

31-12-2018, 11:28 PM
I’m in Ireland and you really don’t want to be watching Keith Barry’s Magical New Year on RTE right now. It’s like a further boot in the balls while you’re down after Mrs Browns Boys which preceded. I’d give my right arm to be viewing Only an Excuse right now..

Jeezo that must be grim...!

31-12-2018, 11:28 PM
It’s actually funnier the more people in scunners 👍😂

31-12-2018, 11:29 PM
I've not seen this in years, I tend to just follow it on the critical threads on Hibs.net.

It's quite funny tbh, I'm enjoying it.

Anything with canned laughter automatically makes it not funny to begin with

Utter, utter, garbage. Sucking up the OF's erse as per usual. Don't bother with next year please, its had its day.

good stuff, the timer is already set for next years show :greengrin

Gloucester Hibs
31-12-2018, 11:32 PM
Utter ***** as usual. They didn’t even bother with the token non-OF gag this year!

LustForLeith
31-12-2018, 11:32 PM
I’ve onto BBC2. Quite like Jools Holland but hate all the celebs looking smug and Dad dancing.

As they said in Pepp Show “Not the Hootenanny! Never the Hootenanny! We’re better than that.”

31-12-2018, 11:34 PM
Utter ***** as usual. They didn’t even bother with the token non-OF gag this year!

They did have a wee pop at Ann Budge though...at least I think that’s who it was

31-12-2018, 11:34 PM
followed by jackie bird :drool::love ya!:

TrinityHibs
31-12-2018, 11:35 PM
Alesha Dixon just Why?

followed by jackie bird :drool::love ya!:

She's getting oan a bit, much like this show.

They did have a wee pop at Ann Budge though...at least I think that’s who it was

Pretty young for Budge!

31-12-2018, 11:37 PM
I thought it was good, the sportscene patter was good and the Gerrard bits were funny.

31-12-2018, 11:37 PM
I thought it was good, the sportscene patter was good and the Gerrard bits were funny.

Aye, Gerrard when he's 60? Just didn't work.

31-12-2018, 11:38 PM
She's getting oan a bit, much like this show.

shes like a fine wine, ages beautifully....imo of course

31-12-2018, 11:39 PM
shes like a fine wine, ages beautifully....imo of course

She is to wine as budge is to a loaf of bread. :wink:

HibbySpurs
31-12-2018, 11:39 PM
Utter rubbish... Most boring half hour of the day.

I actually don’t see how anyone at the bbc comedy unit think it’s funny now.

Predictable OF orientated guff

As an add on, Hogmanay live is garbage as well... typical Scottish media.. Lets have our live coverage from a venue in the country’s second city with third rate celebrities and acts Like Des “funny as a week in Saughton” Clarke.

31-12-2018, 11:41 PM
You all hate it every year but still watch it :cb

Santa Cruz
31-12-2018, 11:41 PM
At least SJM got a mention...other than that it was poor. The Gary Tank Commander in Hollywood was not funny either and Jackie Bird's had her day too imo.

31-12-2018, 11:42 PM
I genuinely hate BBC Scotland's Hogmanay coverage every year.

Utter garbage.

I've got no idea what you lot are talking about. Sounds like I've dodged a bullet though.:greengrin

well, as much as i swoon for jackie...this show is crap so think i'l play with my new Echo Dot now

bodhibs

It's like pulling out your pubes then going aye that's nippy eh

Saturday Boy
31-12-2018, 11:43 PM
It's like pulling out your pubes then going aye that's nippy eh

But not as much fun 😄

Santa Cruz
31-12-2018, 11:44 PM
I genuinely hate BBC Scotland's Hogmanay coverage every year.

Utter garbage.

ditto. As a poster said earlier Alesha Dixon, why!

31-12-2018, 11:45 PM
So nobody else here chuckled at the "innocent Hearts fans" gag then?

Obviously they miscast the attractive young actress as Anne Budge, but they'd have got into all sorts of trouble if they'd used Jonathan Watson's scrotum.

Santa Cruz
31-12-2018, 11:45 PM

I've watched everything on Netflix.

31-12-2018, 11:46 PM
Why do all weegies sound the same and sound like they are speaking through their noses? Their "patter" is awful too.

Keyser Sauzee
31-12-2018, 11:46 PM
But not as much fun 😄

😂😂😂

ardecos
31-12-2018, 11:47 PM
well, as much as i swoon for jackie...this show is crap so think i'l play with my new Echo Dot now

"Hello Alexa, is Craig Levein a clueless ******?" What reply did you get?

31-12-2018, 11:47 PM
At least SJM got a mention...other than that it was poor. The Gary Tank Commander in Hollywood was not funny either and Jackie Bird's had her day too imo.

I honestly don't know how she gets the Hogmanay gig every year, she's murder.

bodhibs
31-12-2018, 11:48 PM
But not as much fun 😄

Lol, enjoy 👍

31-12-2018, 11:48 PM

Aye, Gerrard when he's 60? Just didn't work.

31-12-2018, 11:49 PM
"Hello Alexa, is Craig Levein a clueless ******?" What reply did you get?

which reminds me, someone put a link up on here a few months back of a hibby on facebook asking Alexa just how s***e hertz are :)

31-12-2018, 11:53 PM
The Rev IM Jolly should have been left to rest in peace. That was murder.

Karine is good though.

bodhibs
31-12-2018, 11:54 PM
Fulton was genius, watson is chronic.

Saturday Boy
31-12-2018, 11:57 PM
Hogmanay tv this year is reaching a new low. BBC 1 is poor, STV has Lulu and even the Alba ceilidh is a shadow of previous years.

Just as well we’re all drinking 😄

01-01-2019, 12:01 AM
How bad is that music on BBC1 to bring in the new year!! Utter pish!

bodhibs
01-01-2019, 12:04 AM

Where's that mute button you're always on about?

01-01-2019, 12:06 AM
Where's that mute button you're always on about?

On this site or the one on your remote? :greengrin

01-01-2019, 12:11 AM
Right, is that the transfer windae open now?

01-01-2019, 12:12 AM

SA has signed, floodlights are on at ER!

01-01-2019, 12:12 AM

Aye, and we've not signed anybody yet.

Typical Hibs, leaving it to the last minute as usual.

TrinityHibs
01-01-2019, 12:15 AM

They make the display look like it was put on by a couple of Jakies who found a packet of sparklers and a bag of bangers from the corner shop.

Connollys11
01-01-2019, 12:19 AM
Only excuse is actually atrocious who ever told that jonothan Watson he was an good impressionist needs a slap

01-01-2019, 12:23 AM
Aye, and we've not signed anybody yet.

Typical Hibs, leaving it to the last minute as usual.

Petrie ruined 2019 already 😡

01-01-2019, 12:24 AM
Only excuse is actually atrocious who ever told that jonothan Watson he was an good impressionist needs a slap

I believe it was Tommy the pinball wizard.

01-01-2019, 12:26 AM
Not one single win this year! :grr:

Connollys11
01-01-2019, 12:27 AM
I believe it was Tommy the pinball wizard.

Hahaha aye probably

01-01-2019, 12:29 AM
Jonathan Watson is to comedy what Peter Sutcliffe is to the red light district.

Chip shop Joe
01-01-2019, 12:34 AM
Hogmanay tv this year is reaching a new low. BBC 1 is poor, STV has Lulu and even the Alba ceilidh is a shadow of previous years.

I am fair enjoying Jools Holland on BBC 2!

Santa Cruz
01-01-2019, 12:34 AM
It's like Johnathon Watson does the show on his own and nobody else actually sees it before it goes out, its a cringe. I don't know why he's got away with it for so long.

Bring on someone else. Kevin Bridges ?

Saturday Boy
01-01-2019, 12:42 AM
I am fair enjoying Jools Holland on BBC 2!

Agreed. That Yola is some singer. Takes me back to my childhood when R&B was gospel based music. Stax beats Motown every day of the week.

hibbymick
01-01-2019, 01:17 AM

Did Lulu go for a full in yer face glaswegian accent or tone it down to her usual attempt at a slightly posh english accent ?

Saturday Boy
01-01-2019, 01:18 AM
Did Lulu go for a full in yer face glaswegian accent or tone it down to her usual attempt at a slightly posh english accent ?

Honestly, I didn’t watch it long enough. Too scared 😄

hibbymick
01-01-2019, 01:21 AM
I’ve onto BBC2. Quite like Jools Holland but hate all the celebs looking smug and Dad dancing.

As they said in Pepp Show “Not the Hootenanny! Never the Hootenanny! We’re better than that.”

Love Jools Holland at Hogmanay but James Arthur and Michael Buble what was that all about :confused:

Connollys11
01-01-2019, 01:47 AM
It's like Johnathon Watson does the show on his own and nobody else actually sees it before it goes out, its a cringe. I don't know why he's got away with it for so long.

Bring on someone else. Kevin Bridges ?
Hahaha it's got that vibe about it ae. They should get rid of him and get a proper impressionist in and keep it Scottish football based as Scottish football is comedy gold.

Connollys11
01-01-2019, 01:48 AM

Is she a weegie haha a thought she was fi furraboutsland

JimboHibs
01-01-2019, 03:36 AM

Taped it ?? You still on the VHS

01-01-2019, 03:38 AM
Get it to ****.

The canned laughter can **** right off too.

01-01-2019, 03:44 AM
Get it to ****.

The canned laughter can **** right off too.

The canned laughter needed a can itself.

01-01-2019, 08:00 AM
For me reading the OAE thread has become as much of a New Year tradition as steak pie.

Great way to start my 2019 dotnet browsing :top marks:thumbsup:

01-01-2019, 08:26 AM
New Year telly is awful. Most of it was recorded in flipping October or whatever, notably Jools Holland.
As for Jackie Bird, it's time to retire gracefully, hen! The stuff from Scotland was typically cringe-making. Best was BBC Alba which was at least unpretentious I thought.

01-01-2019, 08:31 AM
I think it would be easier to forgive it's pishness if it had always been that way. It wasn't though. A lot of the old radio clips and the early TV series are on YouTube and some of it is hillarious. Bordering on anarchic and displaying a healthy cynicism to the SFA establishment. It seems far less OF centric in those days as well. I suppose if there wasn't the Celtic joke/Ranger joke format the thin skinned imbeciles on either side would be up in arms they were being picked on.

I always said that Vladimir Romanov was an open goal for a football comedy worth it's corn but OAE rarely featured him. Our SC win got an entirely predictable Trainspotting 'this gear is strong' 15 seconds. There was a period a couple of seasons ago in which Hamilton were cited 4 times for post match brawls involving their players in a matter of weeks; imagine the fun a decent writer could have had with that. Ray McKinnon jumping ship from Morton to Falkirk has given the Off The Ball guys hours of fun but Watson never thought it worth using. Craig Levein has been annoying everyone this year, how much air time did he get? The whole Murrayfield fiasco could have been an episode in it's own right.

If he veered away from the mix of psuedo religious with football banter than passes as high wit in parts of Glasgow he might find his mojo again. He won't though.

01-01-2019, 08:37 AM
New Year telly is awful. Most of it was recorded in flipping October or whatever, notably Jools Holland.
As for Jackie Bird, it's time to retire gracefully, hen! The stuff from Scotland was typically cringe-making. Best was BBC Alba which was at least unpretentious I thought.

Some of BBC Albas output is excellent. It's a channel that is presented in a native tongue, about Scottish culture with an emphasis on the rural yet it somehow manages to be far less twee than the main BBC Scotland output more often than not.

01-01-2019, 09:51 AM
flicked on to the channel Lulu was on...for no longer than 20 seconds

01-01-2019, 09:58 AM
Taped it ?? You still on the VHS

I was was visiting some in-laws at the weekend, and one of them actually said, 3 times, to his mrs that he put a tape in for some programme or another :confused:

01-01-2019, 10:08 AM
I think it would be easier to forgive it's pishness if it had always been that way. It wasn't though. A lot of the old radio clips and the early TV series are on YouTube and some of it is hillarious. Bordering on anarchic and displaying a healthy cynicism to the SFA establishment. It seems far less OF centric in those days as well. I suppose if there wasn't the Celtic joke/Ranger joke format the thin skinned imbeciles on either side would be up in arms they were being picked on.

I always said that Vladimir Romanov was an open goal for a football comedy worth it's corn but OAE rarely featured him. Our SC win got an entirely predictable Trainspotting 'this gear is strong' 15 seconds. There was a period a couple of seasons ago in which Hamilton were cited 4 times for post match brawls involving their players in a matter of weeks; imagine the fun a decent writer could have had with that. Ray McKinnon jumping ship from Morton to Falkirk has given the Off The Ball guys hours of fun but Watson never thought it worth using. Craig Levein has been annoying everyone this year, how much air time did he get? The whole Murrayfield fiasco could have been an episode in it's own right.

If he veered away from the mix of psuedo religious with football banter than passes as high wit in parts of Glasgow he might find his mojo again. He won't though.

Seems to be much more interested in playing up to what he perceives the stereotypes of rangers and Celtic fans, with the requisite religious links. The ‘album of (at best) mildly amusing songs by rantic personality xyz’ sketch has been done to death as well.

as well as everything you’ve mentioned above, there’s also the spiralling costs of the hearts stand, the levein-McInnes spat, killie doing really well, Livingston and their plastic pitch, Doncaster, plenty goings on in Scottish football to poke fun at.

instead, we get 3(?) Martin O’Neill skits, who hasn’t been a part of Scottish football for how many years? How many crap Mcleish jokes? Still with the McAvennie *****?

The old stuff, 20+ years ago, was very funny, actually looked beyond the BBC, was actually football focussed (instead of bbc news crap), and wasn’t afraid to take some potshots at the SFA. Makes you wonder if the blazers have been onto the beeb complaining.

LustForLeith
01-01-2019, 10:27 AM
I still have no idea who half of Watson’s impressions were of. I’m sure a couple of years ago there was a Scottish impersonator who I migtnhave seen on Soccer AM who was cracking. Could at least get someone like him in who can do impressions.

And doing the whole ‘World War Z was filmed in Glasgow to save money on zombie costumes’ type joke was being banded about before the film was released in 2013!

01-01-2019, 10:31 AM
If you're not a Celtic, Rangers or Partick Thistle fan it was a waste of 30 mins. Anyone under 30 wouldn't have had a clue what was going on. Steven Gerrard doing Cilla Black catchphrases etc.

01-01-2019, 10:43 AM
I didn't even know it was on, so didn't get to switch it off in disgust and then rip in to it on here. That's become a Hogmanay tradition for me in recent years, so I am gutted.

LustForLeith
01-01-2019, 10:43 AM
If you're not a Celtic, Rangers or Partick Thistle fan it was a waste of 30 mins. Anyone under 30 wouldn't have had a clue what was going on. Steven Gerrard doing Cilla Black catchphrases etc.

I couldn’t work out what Thistle had done to warrant so many mentions. Must have been heinous

01-01-2019, 10:45 AM
Some of BBC Albas output is excellent. It's a channel that is presented in a native tongue, about Scottish culture with an emphasis on the rural yet it somehow manages to be far less twee than the main BBC Scotland output more often than not.

Agree. Its sports coverage is pretty good as well, particularly the wee half time interviews and documentaries

01-01-2019, 10:48 AM
In future years, colonists from other planets will watch VT of Only an Excuse and be under the impression that Frank McAvennie has a massive role in early 21st century Scottish cultural life. When in fact noone under 35 (and a lot of people older) knows who he is .

01-01-2019, 10:55 AM
In future years, colonists from other planets will watch VT of Only an Excuse and be under the impression that Frank McAvennie has a massive role in early 21st century Scottish cultural life. When in fact noone under 35 (and a lot of people older) knows who he is .

“Primitive Scottish society viewed this man, who is widely believed to be fictitious, as a minor deity on the basis of his reputed sexual prowess.”

01-01-2019, 10:57 AM
They should have Limmy make next years one.

01-01-2019, 10:58 AM

The radio episodes were a spoof of the great ‘Only a game’ series (also on YouTube I think), but the switch to TV required a change of direction to enable them to continue annually. The great satire and mimicry of the radio broadcasts and early TV soon ran out of steam, and for me, the tipping point was when Tony Roper decided to quit the programme in the early 90’s. He obviously knew then the show was running out of steam. You also had guys like Lewis McLeod, Gerard Kelly and Greg Hempil involved in its heyday, which makes the modern day solo show even more lame and lamentable in comparison.

01-01-2019, 11:00 AM
I thought this was a reference to the after match press conference

01-01-2019, 11:03 AM

Even for non Gaelic speakers, there are some excellent programs on Alba and last night was no exception.

01-01-2019, 11:17 AM

That's the only thing I can genuinely think of that would make the show worse.

01-01-2019, 11:22 AM
“Primitive Scottish society viewed this man, who is widely believed to be fictitious, as a minor deity on the basis of his reputed sexual prowess.”

"Colonist Zurg, I am confused as to the character 'Mojo', and why crossing himself after being sent off in an old firm derby is described by these earthling comedians as a 'provo-cation'? And what is peroxide?

01-01-2019, 11:23 AM
The Gary Tank Commander in Hollywood was not funny either

It might have worked when gtc was on the TV but not years after, wasn't funny

01-01-2019, 11:53 AM

Pretty sure Limmy has zero interest in football. Actually, yeah, it'd still be better.

01-01-2019, 12:02 PM

No thanks that would be one of the few things that could actually make BBC's Hogmanay line up worse than it is just now.

Can't understand his appeal at all.

01-01-2019, 12:37 PM
I thought the McLeish/Scotland team stuck in the cave skit was in really poor taste and wasn’t even remotely funny in any case (like 99.9% of the rest of the show).

Was he so short on material that he needed to return to the Michael Stewart / Steven Thompson thing about twenty times? Had they not been sat in the Sportscene studio, I’d have no idea who they were meant to be. Stevie Mallan seemed to find that bit hilarious judging by his Instagram.

For a so-called impressionist, he can’t do accents very well. The Gerrard Cilla Black bit at least sounded kind of Scouse but I’ve no idea what accent the rest of the Gerrard scenes were meant to be.

01-01-2019, 12:46 PM
Anyone watching this pish?

No

01-01-2019, 12:53 PM
So nobody else here chuckled at the "innocent Hearts fans" gag then?

Obviously they miscast the attractive young actress as Anne Budge, but they'd have got into all sorts of trouble if they'd used Jonathan Watson's scrotum.
Yes I thought that was pretty good. Bulk of the show was pish - I don’t think they should be making fun of coins being chucked - but it did have a couple of decent moments.

01-01-2019, 01:14 PM

I went to bed early, looked at the schedule to record a couple of things, went straight by that crap!

01-01-2019, 01:15 PM

A pretty accurate summing up :aok:

hibs#1
01-01-2019, 01:21 PM
Old firm facts on twitter is much funnier, the guy behind that account would be better writing for them in future.

Benjeloon
01-01-2019, 01:33 PM
Old firm facts on twitter is much funnier, the guy behind that account would be better writing for them in future.

Deffo this. Guy is actually interested in Scottish Football AND has good patter.

01-01-2019, 01:34 PM
Embarrassing

01-01-2019, 01:34 PM

Indeed … ALBA's sports and music coverage is streets ahead of BBC Scotland's mainstream channel … even their wee cutaways showing scenes from all over Scotland between programmes are better than the main channel can muster.

I see a new BBC channel is being launched in the autumn along the lines of BBC4 starting its broadcasts at 7pm and aimed at Scotland with its main news being from a Scottish perspective, even on an international news basis I'm lead to believe … it should do really well on its massive budget of 30 million quid per annum.

But if its going to be run by the Glasgow mafia the same as the current BBC Scotland how will it be any different? Like BBC Scotland will all of its home made shows be entirely filmed in Glasgow with Glaswegian and west coast actors? Scotland is a diverse country with loads of differences between east and west and north and south, but watching BBC Scotland you wouldn't think so.

The whole thing can be encapsulated in the frenzy of reporting you get when some lowlife Weegie gangster that nobody outside of the Glasgow bubble knows or cares about gets shot at in TESCO's car park in Castlemilk and its covered like the assassination of JFK … meanwhile far more important stuff happening elsewhere in Scotland gets the briefest coverage.

01-01-2019, 01:44 PM
I couldn’t work out what Thistle had done to warrant so many mentions. Must have been heinous

They're from Glasgow. The centre of BBC Scotland's universe

01-01-2019, 01:47 PM
They're from Glasgow. The centre of BBC Scotland's universe

He shoots, he scores :aok:

She shoots she scores :aok:

01-01-2019, 02:15 PM
Indeed … ALBA's sports and music coverage is streets ahead of BBC Scotland's mainstream channel … even their wee cutaways showing scenes from all over Scotland between programmes are better than the main channel can muster.

I see a new BBC channel is being launched in the autumn along the lines of BBC4 starting its broadcasts at 7pm and aimed at Scotland with its main news being from a Scottish perspective, even on an international news basis I'm lead to believe … it should do really well on its massive budget of 30 million quid per annum.

But if its going to be run by the Glasgow mafia the same as the current BBC Scotland how will it be any different? Like BBC Scotland will all of its home made shows be entirely filmed in Glasgow with Glaswegian and west coast actors? Scotland is a diverse country with loads of differences between east and west and north and south, but watching BBC Scotland you wouldn't think so.

The whole thing can be encapsulated in the frenzy of reporting you get when some lowlife Weegie gangster that nobody outside of the Glasgow bubble knows or cares about gets shot at in TESCO's car park in Castlemilk and its covered like the assassination of JFK … meanwhile far more important stuff happening elsewhere in Scotland gets the briefest coverage.

Make no mistake, it will be run from London and will be Londons perspective of Scotland, not our own.

01-01-2019, 02:17 PM
It's a tragic piece of TV. Surprised anyone still entertains this guff. Even the Weegies don't rate it!

01-01-2019, 02:40 PM
Make no mistake, it will be run from London and will be Londons perspective of Scotland, not our own.

Which is why Scotland has a double edged problem when it comes to broadcasting.

The first hurdle is that its budget and news editorial policy is ultimately dictated from London and on that basis its commitment to reflecting Scotland fairly will always be questionable. Witness the pro indy march in October where 60,000 people took part, in a nation of 5,000,000 that's an enormous turnout, and yet it barely rated a mention … even if you don't support independence you would have to ask why such a clearly significant event was practically ignored.

The second hurdle is its Glasgow centric outlook … I would imagine folk in England have exactly the same thoughts when it comes to London, but London is the seat of political and financial power in England so its less of a surprise that London is the focal point of what's happening. In Scotland that position is held by Edinburgh, but for some reason our media and its reporting is based in and around Glasgow … if it wasn't for the fact that the Scottish parliament is based in Edinburgh I doubt we would see the city get a mention more than once or twice a year.

GreenOnions
01-01-2019, 02:42 PM

OMG - when will we stop moaning and blaming England for everything????

01-01-2019, 02:48 PM

The first hurdle is that its budget and news editorial policy is ultimately dictated from London and on that basis its commitment to reflecting Scotland fairly will always be questionable. Witness the pro indy march in October where 60,000 people took part, in a nation of 5,000,000 that's an enormous turnout, and yet it barely rated a mention … even if you don't support independence you would have to ask why such a clearly significant event was practically ignored.

The second hurdle is its Glasgow centric outlook … I would imagine folk in England have exactly the same thoughts when it comes to London, but London is the seat of political and financial power in England so its less of a surprise that London is the focal point of what's happening. In Scotland that position is held by Edinburgh, but for some reason our media and its reporting is based in and around Glasgow … if it wasn't for the fact that the Scottish parliament is based in Edinburgh I doubt we would see the city get a mention more than once or twice a year.

It's Glasgow centric when it comes to football, it couldn't be any further away from Glasgow when it comes to politics however.

01-01-2019, 02:48 PM

01-01-2019, 02:49 PM

A native tongue to a miniscule number of people in Scotland.

01-01-2019, 02:59 PM

Sad really. But centuries of being told how weak and ashamed we should be of our heritage has resulted in this.

01-01-2019, 03:02 PM

Just as soon as we are independent. :greengrin

01-01-2019, 03:04 PM
Sad really. But centuries of being told how weak and ashamed we should be of our heritage has resulted in this.

Look let's not get all misty eyed about it. It was never the language of the whole country, parts never spoke it. Do the Italian's Mourne Latin the way some people do about Gaelic.

01-01-2019, 03:05 PM
It's Glasgow centric when it comes to football, it couldn't be any further away from Glasgow when it comes to politics however.

If you mean its unbalanced reporting on the independence question I agree.

01-01-2019, 03:12 PM
Look let's not get all misty eyed about it. It was never the language of the whole country, parts never spoke it. Do the Italian's Mourne Latin the way some people do about Gaelic.

Correct.

01-01-2019, 03:36 PM
Just watched it on iplayer, just like every year there was a few laughs but not many.

Daydreamer
01-01-2019, 03:43 PM
Just watched it on iplayer, just like every year there was a few laughs but not many.

First sketch about Brendan O'Donnell Rodgers was quite funny but the rest was as funny as turning up at DFS and finding they've not got a sale on

GreenOnions
01-01-2019, 03:52 PM

Trying to shoehorn your own political views into unrelated conversations is very annoying. It seems to be a particularly popular activity for Nationalists in my experience and you've done it more than once in this thread. Please do it somewhere else and post here about Hibs

01-01-2019, 03:52 PM
The bits i saw of this and Gary Tank bloke were appalling and a massive waste of money.
Not funny and no effort put into the scripts whatsoever. Cultural desert.
In a word wretched.

01-01-2019, 04:01 PM

I agree to an extent. But on the other hand Gaelic was never a language spoken in the whole of Scotland and therefor its open to question as to whether it should be foisted on the nation as an alternative to English … by that I mean welcome to Scotland in Gaelic on the sign leading into the Borders or police cars with police in Gaelic written on them. Is it not the case that some folk in the north east of Scotland were mightily pissed off at Gaelic road signs in a region that didn't identify with the language as part of their 'heritage' … they would have preferred old norse apparently :greengrin

Besides, before we start getting all hot and bothered about Gaelic we should be a bit more concerned about 'Scots' …. I wouldn't say it was a language in its own right, but it certainly stands alone as being very different from the standard form of the language as spoken on the BBC.

Since the advent of mass access to television the Scots language seems to have become more and more diluted, to the extent where people started becoming embarrassed to hear it used, it being viewed as a sign of unintelligence if you couldn't speak 'properly' I would imagine that if you took a 20 year old from Edinburgh and dropped him back 100 years to the Edinburgh of then he would probably have a bother working out what folk were saying, such has become the loss of common words and phrases in the Scots tongue.

As I've said before …. I want to start this drive for the reintroduction of Scots by targeting lifts and escalators this side of the border:

When I get into a lift instead of …. please chose yo flo …. I want to hear ….. 'whit flair dae ye want' :greengrin

01-01-2019, 04:47 PM

Spot on agree 100%

01-01-2019, 04:47 PM
Has anyone other than our German based support watched Dinner for One yet?

German's equivalent of only an excuse, on every year.

01-01-2019, 05:07 PM
Trying to shoehorn your own political views into unrelated conversations is very annoying. It seems to be a particularly popular activity for Nationalists in my experience and you've done it more than once in this thread. Please do it somewhere else and post here about Hibs

To be fair mate its not really a thread about Hibs is it and its not all that surprising that a conversation which would inevitably turn to who controls the content of BBC Scotland and how that impacts editorially and culturally would throw up a comment along the lines of the one you are having a go at.

In a way he has a point does he not and one that I alluded to in my own post. Scots language and heritage has taken a bit of a battering over the years and its only comparatively recently that the ( for want of a better expression ) 'fightback' has begun. Even as far back as the 60's I remember getting a row from my mum for 'not speaking properly' when I used a pretty commomplace Scottish expression and a row from a teacher at school when I told her my brother was off with 'a sair belly'

Where did that attitude come from, especially with my mum who was a school cleaner at the time and had worked as a shop assistant in Princes Street for many years? To my mind without a doubt from decades of being made to feel that if you didn't speak 'correctly' like they did on the BBC you must be stupid and that prevailing attitude without doubt lead to the loss of many Scots words and phrases from common use. It got to the stage where it is an absolute fact and one that still prevails to this day that many Scottish folk would cringe to hear someone on TV using Scottish slang and phrases.

I don't think bemoaning that fact which without doubt has had an impact on Scottish culture and heritage could be considered overtly political, surely that's something we should all be concerned about.

01-01-2019, 06:43 PM
Has anyone other than our German based support watched Dinner for One yet?

German's equivalent of only an excuse, on every year.

It's amazing how many times it's shown on various channels in Germany every year.

My Sister In Law watches it religiously, even though she knows it word for word.

01-01-2019, 06:45 PM
I think the last time I watched it was when they did the Laszlo joke. That was pretty funny.

Only OF fans watch it and it's designed to cater to them. Watson is completely oblivious to the rest of Scottish football and/or doesn't give a **** about them.

Weegreenman
01-01-2019, 07:27 PM
The Sutherland, Stewart & Thompson sketch has to be one of the worst yet! Brutal stuff!

01-01-2019, 07:36 PM

Should we go back to living in caves and wearing animal skins for clothes to stay true to our heritage

01-01-2019, 07:59 PM

I get that.

My point was it would be easy for a show in Gaelic to fall into the tartan and shortbread twee rubbish category. Much of Albas output avoids that and often portrays Scotland in a broader and better light than their mainstream BBC counterparts.

01-01-2019, 08:51 PM
I get that.

My point was it would be easy for a show in Gaelic to fall into the tartan and shortbread twee rubbish category. Much of Albas output avoids that and often portrays Scotland in a broader and better light than their mainstream BBC counterparts.

Agree with that some of their half time excerpts are infinitely superior to anything the other channels do re Scottish football.

01-01-2019, 08:52 PM
It's amazing how many times it's shown on various channels in Germany every year.

My Sister In Law watches it religiously, even though she knows it word for word.

I heard it had 12m viewers last year. Phenomenal.

01-01-2019, 09:08 PM
Should we go back to living in caves and wearing animal skins for clothes to stay true to our heritage

Of course not. But looking at our current trajectory, that may not be far off from the reality in the not too distant future.