View Full Version : Your greatest Scottish sporting figure of all time?

31-12-2018, 11:04 AM
One to ponder with Hibs going into cold storage for a few weeks.

I was going to post this on the 'Other sports' forum but I imagine some might opt for a Hibs player so I think it's OK on here

For me it's a toss-up between Sir Alex Ferguson and Sir Andy Murray.

31-12-2018, 11:08 AM
Chris Hoy has got to be in the mix as well.

The hearts ******* that he is.

31-12-2018, 11:09 AM
Wee Jocky Wilson!

31-12-2018, 11:11 AM
One out of left field...Colin Montgomery.

Maybe no majors but more than made up for it in other ways.

31-12-2018, 11:11 AM
Has to Andy Murray.

31-12-2018, 11:12 AM
Denis Law
Stephen Hendry

31-12-2018, 11:12 AM
Ken Buchanan followed by Andy Murray

31-12-2018, 11:13 AM
Kenny Dalglish

G15 Hibs
31-12-2018, 11:13 AM
Wee Jocky Wilson!

Beat me to it. A true athlete and hero of the people.

31-12-2018, 11:16 AM
Antti Niemi. :greengrin

Sir David Gray of course, and Andy Murray.

Dalglish for me.

Eric Liddell

31-12-2018, 11:17 AM
Antti Niemi. :greengrin

Sir David Gray of course, and Andy Murray.

Antti niemi?

He’s Finnish.......

(Over to you............)

31-12-2018, 11:19 AM
Beat me to it. A true athlete and hero of the people.

I think the winner must also have a quintessentially Scottish name, and Jocky Wilson covers it.

31-12-2018, 11:19 AM
Andy Murray
Ken Buchannan
Sir Alex
Sir Kenny
Dennis Law
Jock Stein
Eric Liddell
Stephen Hendry
Willie Carson
Allan Wells
Chris Hoy

Would all be on my short list.

31-12-2018, 11:20 AM
Antti niemi?

He’s Finnish.......

He's not finished! he's only...46.

31-12-2018, 11:24 AM
Jimmy O’Rourke

Kevvy1875
31-12-2018, 11:24 AM
Liz Mcolgan
David Wilkie

31-12-2018, 11:27 AM
Kenny Dalglish or Andy Murray.

31-12-2018, 11:33 AM
Billy Bremner. Was brilliant for Leeds at ER

JXM73
31-12-2018, 11:38 AM
Jackie Stewart...

Fuzzywuzzy
31-12-2018, 11:51 AM
David wilkie

List of folk here

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Sports_Hall_of_Fame

31-12-2018, 12:02 PM
Aiden McGeady!

Seriously Murray, always loved tennis and supported Henman all the way then a boy from Scotland with Hibs links and the Dunblane background came along and won Wimbledon twice the US Open and the Olympics. I’ve never felt so gutted for anyone when he cried after his final loss then came back to trounce Fed’ in the London games.

After that David Gray.

31-12-2018, 12:03 PM
Jackie Stewart...

That'll do for me

Bobo
31-12-2018, 12:10 PM
I agree with all those previously mentioned, I'd add David Sole and Jim Clark to the list

hibbydog
31-12-2018, 12:13 PM
Joe Tortolano

31-12-2018, 12:17 PM
I agree with all those previously mentioned, I'd add David Sole and Jim Clark to the list

Loved his Silver Lady song

31-12-2018, 12:23 PM
Darren Jackson.

31-12-2018, 12:42 PM
Ally Macleod for masterminding the 1978 World cup win surely?

Eaststand
31-12-2018, 12:49 PM
Albert Kidd

:-)

31-12-2018, 12:50 PM
King Kenny

31-12-2018, 12:50 PM
Jim Clark or Eric Liddell for me.

31-12-2018, 12:56 PM
Stephen Hendry for me.

31-12-2018, 12:58 PM
Probably Andy Murray

31-12-2018, 12:58 PM
Jackie Stewart. A champion but also saved countless lives with his activism in bringing greater safety into motorsport. One of the most important characters in motorsport history.

heid the baw
31-12-2018, 01:05 PM
Bobby Thompson
Rose Reilly

31-12-2018, 01:14 PM
Donald Dinnie.

31-12-2018, 01:18 PM
Andy Murray

If were talking Scottish racing drivers Jim Clark was in another league to Jackie Stewart .. Jackie would agree

31-12-2018, 01:39 PM
Andy Murray

If were talking Scottish racing drivers Jim Clark was in another league to Jackie Stewart .. Jackie would agree

Jim Clark was tremendous but Jackie Stewart has done so much work to develop the sport too. I'd agree that Jim Clark was the better driver but Jackie Stewart changed the world - he pushed for the rapid development of driver safety in motorsport which in turn filters through to road cars. He's not just one of the best Scottish sporting icons but one of the most important Scotsmen of the last century IMO.

horseflesh
31-12-2018, 01:58 PM
Andy Murray
Jim Clark

31-12-2018, 02:00 PM
Chris Hoy. Best in the world at his sport for a long time.

Davie Farrell was in my thoughts whilst I made my decision though.

31-12-2018, 02:09 PM
Andy Murray
Ken Buchannan
Sir Alex
Sir Kenny
Dennis Law
Jock Stein
Eric Liddell
Stephen Hendry
Willie Carson
Allan Wells
Chris Hoy

Geordie MacTaggart surely should be on the list. "Come away ma wee Geordie".

31-12-2018, 02:25 PM
David Gray

Closely followed by Sir Alex Ferguson, Sir Chris Hoy, Sir Andy Murray and Stephen Hendry.

Liam6270
31-12-2018, 02:28 PM
Richard Corsie or Dario franchitti

beensaidbefore
31-12-2018, 02:30 PM
Used to love David coulthard growing up but now with a little bit of hindsight that's cos he was probably the only high profile Scot at the time.

Hoy and Murray will take some beating in the modern era, so they get my votes.

31-12-2018, 02:39 PM
Gordon Smith.
A giant of our main national sport and the only player to have won three league titles with three different non Old Firm teams.

houstonhibbee
31-12-2018, 02:45 PM

I was going to post this on the 'Other sports' forum but I imagine some might opt for a Hibs player so I think it's OK on here

Gavin hastings
Gordon smith

Bangkok Hibby
31-12-2018, 03:03 PM
Andy Murray
Ken Buchannan
Sir Alex
Sir Kenny
Dennis Law
Jock Stein
Eric Liddell
Stephen Hendry
Willie Carson
Allan Wells
Chris Hoy

Andy Murray is the greatest British sportsman of all time.
Roberto Duran has Ken Buchanan as the hardest man he fought.

31-12-2018, 03:18 PM
Andy Murray. No doubt.

Aldoo
31-12-2018, 03:31 PM

Andy Murray all the way, to achieve what he has in this era and who he has had to compete against to achieve this is like becoming heavyweight champ of the world and having Joe Louis, Muhammad Ali and Mike Tyson all around at the same time competing against you.

31-12-2018, 03:42 PM
Andy Murray is the greatest British sportsman of all time.
Roberto Duran has Ken Buchanan as the hardest man he fought.
Ken once shared a dressing room with Mohammad Ali. The bold Ken draw a chalk line on the floor. Right that’s your half and this is my half. The fight was at The Garden in NYC. Ken was top of the bill with Ali 2nd.

stu in nottingham
31-12-2018, 03:45 PM

31-12-2018, 03:48 PM
Jocky Wilson. He had it all.........in his stomach.

May21/05/16
31-12-2018, 04:02 PM
In no particular here is my.list

Andy Murray
Alan wells
Jock Stein
Matt Busby
Bill shankly
Alex Ferguson
Eddie Turnbull
And all the Turnbull tornados

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

31-12-2018, 04:04 PM
Greatest Scottish Sportsman of all time is Andy Murray by a country mile.
A British man winning Wimbledon, US Open etc was inconceivable to me as a kid never mind a Scottish guy.
There was no precedent especially in the professional era of the sport

For those who say Chris Hoy. He was an amateur champion in a cycling discipline.
Wiggins and Froome are the greatest British cyclists. Hoy was good but not in the same league.

31-12-2018, 04:07 PM
Good question. I'll go for Eric Liddell, 400 metre Olympic Champion and a Scottish Rugby Union Internationalist.

Quite an impressive record as an all round sportsman.

31-12-2018, 04:16 PM
Not even close for me personally. What Andy Murray has achieved is incredible! To win what he's won, be ranked number 1 in the world in his sport and to do it in the era including arguably the three best players ever to play the game in Federer, Nadal and Djokovic is special.

31-12-2018, 05:23 PM
Donald Dinnie.

Mr Google had to help me out with your nominee.!

Connollys11
31-12-2018, 05:31 PM
Canny say a have one that's not already been mentioned on this thread but a always loved mcfadden when he played up top for Scotland he carried a nation with his ability in his Scotland years.

31-12-2018, 05:45 PM
Les Wallace

31-12-2018, 08:12 PM
Hotshot Hamish

Tornadoes70
31-12-2018, 09:04 PM
Simply has to be Sandy Lyle for me. His win at the Masters was fabulous.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_Q1P7Jfy2U

DetroitHibs
31-12-2018, 09:10 PM
Maybe not the greatest, but a wee shout out to Colin McRae.

Austinho
31-12-2018, 09:13 PM
Absolutely has to be Sir Andy Murray. Reached world number 1 in a time where tennis was dominated by the 3 greatest players the sport has ever seen. Dismantled the GOAT in the Wimbledon Final, won back to back Olympic Gold Medals, changed the face of tennis in the UK.

Not just the best Scottish sportsman of all time, but argueably the greatest British sportsman of all time.

31-12-2018, 11:53 PM
Andy Murray and Celtic 1967.

Gloucester Hibs
01-01-2019, 01:14 AM
Got to be Andy Murray. Occasionally you get the GOAT British sportsman debates cropping up on 5live, talksport etc and AM’s name is always in the discussion. Considering he’s by no means the media darling that surely makes him the greatest Scottish sportsman of all time IMO

highland hibbee
01-01-2019, 11:06 AM
Wee Jocky Wilson!

in my lifetime :

Ken Buchanan
Jocky Wilson
jackie Stewart
Colin Macrae
Allan Wells
Gary Anderson
Chris Hoy
Andy Murray

Jackie Stewart also represented Scotland at clay pigeon shooting, not bad for a guy who was called thick in school.( due to undiagnosed dyslexia)

01-01-2019, 11:09 AM
Its not even close

Andy Murray

01-01-2019, 12:07 PM
Antti niemi?

He’s Finnish.......

That sir is an all-time classic..in Talk Sports Top 10 moments..

01-01-2019, 12:31 PM
Andy Murray followed by the most decorated Scottish commonwealth games athlete of them all, Alex Marshall!

Dr Jimmy
01-01-2019, 12:34 PM
All the men and women who give up their time free of charge to take kids football teams in all kinds of weather. Then have to deal with players’ parents every week!!

01-01-2019, 12:57 PM
Absolutely has to be Sir Andy Murray. Reached world number 1 in a time where tennis was dominated by the 3 greatest players the sport has ever seen. Dismantled the GOAT in the Wimbledon Final, won back to back Olympic Gold Medals, changed the face of tennis in the UK.

Not just the best Scottish sportsman of all time, but argueably the greatest British sportsman of all time.

Spot on

01-01-2019, 05:39 PM
Its a tough one because there are so many different sports involved and different levels of competition. For example becoming a recognised great in Velodrome cycling like Chris Hoy, a sport which lets face it has a limited number of participants, is hardly comparable to being a great in golf which has far greater competition.

Look at Kenny Dalglish and Jockey Wilson … nae chance Jockey could waltz through the England defence and slot one in the top corner, but I would like to see King Kenny complete a 9 dart finish :greengrin

For those reasons I don't think you can pick a 'greatest' …. I prefer to think of them as all greats :aok:

snedzuk
01-01-2019, 05:40 PM
Jim clark

01-01-2019, 07:10 PM
Andy Murray, Chris Hoy, Jackie Stewart, Alex Ferguson...

son of haggart
01-01-2019, 07:19 PM
Id go with Buchanan, then Murray then Dalglish

(Then Donald Ford)

01-01-2019, 07:27 PM
Andy Murray - miles ahead of all others IMHO

fulshie
01-01-2019, 08:47 PM
Kenny Dalglish. He was the best player in a Liverpool team that was arguably the best team in the world. To be honest though there has been a lot of class sports people named and it is difficult to pick one out. I pick Dalglish not just because he was the best at Liverpool but, because he rose to the top of a sport that was played by 100's of thousands all over world and is probably the most participated sport in the world.

01-01-2019, 09:00 PM
Andy Murray.

01-01-2019, 09:16 PM
All Scottish members of our cup winning side but Andy Murray is a close 2nd . :)

Babyshamble
01-01-2019, 09:45 PM
Ken Buchanan

Babyshamble
01-01-2019, 09:45 PM
Gary anderson

HibsGW
01-01-2019, 09:51 PM
I’d have to go with Andy Murray for the drive he’s shown to reach the pinnacle of his sport at a time when the competition is so high from Federer, Nadal and Djokovic. Some of his social media posts recently have been pretty funny too and he’s a Hibby

01-01-2019, 09:58 PM
I don't understand how folk can have Anderson ahead of Hendry, and that comes from a Big Anderson fan.

01-01-2019, 10:01 PM
I don't understand how folk can have Anderson ahead of Hendry, and that comes from a Big Anderson fan.

Winning the world championship ahead of Taylor and MVG is a lot harder than pumping John Parrott but I get your point, depends hat sports you’re into.

Murray pisses it though then Sir Alex.

01-01-2019, 10:17 PM
Andy Murray for me. He’s overcome unimaginable trauma, competed against three of the all time best his sport has produced and shown class and resilience in his endeavours. Love the man.

heidtheba
01-01-2019, 10:27 PM
Jackie Stewart - changed the sport through professionalism and worked his backside off to save lives long after he retired. Certainly a sportsman with an amazing legacy.
Jim Clark because of the utter elegance and manners of the guy.
Kenny Dalglish, especially for the response to Hilsborough.

02-01-2019, 12:15 AM
Winning the world championship ahead of Taylor and MVG is a lot harder than pumping John Parrott but I get your point, depends hat sports you’re into.

Murray pisses it though then Sir Alex.

No matter what sport you are into snooker is a far harder game to play than darts.

You say GA won it when MVG & PT were on the go.
SH beat Jimmy White 4 times in final, arguably the greatest player never to win along with all the other great players he tucked away to win the Embassy.

Jock Stein has to be the winner winning European Cup with a team based within a 20 mile radius of Darkheid.
Fergie in 2nd what he done with the Dons was amazing.
Stephen Hendry 3rd.

celthedd1
02-01-2019, 03:45 AM
No matter what sport you are into snooker is a far harder game to play than darts.

You say GA won it when MVG & PT were on the go.
SH beat Jimmy White 4 times in final, arguably the greatest player never to win along with all the other great players he tucked away to win the Embassy.

Jock Stein has to be the winner winning European Cup with a team based within a 20 mile radius of Darkheid.
Fergie in 2nd what he done with the Dons was amazing.
Stephen Hendry 3rd.

Eve Muirhead...very easy on the eyes!

02-01-2019, 05:03 AM
Andy Murray

Colin Montgomery

Kenny Dalglish

McSwanky
02-01-2019, 06:43 AM

That is a totally ambiguous statement. To play any sport at the highest level these days takes massive amounts of dedication and talent.

For those saying Colin Montgomerie, I assume this is mainly based around his Ryder Cup performances? The fact that he never win a major is a deal breaker for me.

Murray's right up there for me, along with Ferguson. With the world of sport being the most professional it's ever been now, anyone that can rise to the peak of their sport in the last 10-15 years has my utmost respect.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

02-01-2019, 08:14 AM
That is a totally ambiguous statement. To play any sport at the highest level these days takes massive amounts of dedication and talent.

For those saying Colin Montgomerie, I assume this is mainly based around his Ryder Cup performances? The fact that he never win a major is a deal breaker for me.

Murray's right up there for me, along with Ferguson. With the world of sport being the most professional it's ever been now, anyone that can rise to the peak of their sport in the last 10-15 years has my utmost respect.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

Monty won 8 European order of merit titles, meaning he has arguably been the most consistent European tour player ever. He may not have won a major but living in a time when Tiger basically swept all before him it’s not overly surprising.

JoeB
03-01-2019, 04:28 PM
Gordon Smith.
A giant of our main national sport and the only player to have won three league titles with three different non Old Firm teams.

You do him a disservice by failing to mention his overall total of five(3 with us,1Hearts,1Dundee)whilst also reaching 2 European Cup semi finals;playing 4

different forward positions for Scotland and captaining his country against the great Hungarians.No wonder Hibs were offered a blank cheque for this genius of a winger by Newcastle United.

03-01-2019, 06:17 PM
You do him a disservice by failing to mention his overall total of five(3 with us,1Hearts,1Dundee)whilst also reaching 2 European Cup semi finals;playing 4

different forward positions for Scotland and captaining his country against the great Hungarians.No wonder Hibs were offered a blank cheque for this genius of a winger by Newcastle United.

For context, outwith the Ugly sisters, no Scottish team has won the league more than four times (us, Aberdeen and Hearts). Smith won five without playing for either Ugly Sister.

Tornadoes70
03-01-2019, 07:00 PM
Monty won 8 European order of merit titles, meaning he has arguably been the most consistent European tour player ever. He may not have won a major but living in a time when Tiger basically swept all before him it’s not overly surprising.

Equivalent to an Old Firm player winning 8 Scottish league titles and comparing them to a player who won both a European Cup and World Cup medal.

Sandy Lyle won both the Open and the Masters. Unmatched by any Scottish golfer and he was a big likeable guy compared to the big grumpy Monty.

I've followed Monty around a Scottish Open before, believe me he mumped and moaned his way around.

There's simply no contest when comparing Sandy Lyle's achievements in Scottish golfing history to any other Scottish golfer.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

PapillonVert
04-01-2019, 09:29 AM
"Originally Posted by Austinho

"Absolutely has to be Sir Andy Murray. Reached world number 1 in a time where tennis was dominated by the 3 greatest players the sport has ever seen. Dismantled the GOAT in the Wimbledon Final, won back to back Olympic Gold Medals, changed the face of tennis in the UK.

Not just the best Scottish sportsman of all time, but argueably the greatest British sportsman of all time."

Spot on

Is that you, Sir Andy? :greengrin

DickieDastardly
04-01-2019, 12:13 PM
Jim Clark

Double F1 Champion & Indy 500 winner; 50yrs after his death still revered as one of the greatest drivers of all time, not bad for a sheep farmer from Chirnside.

04-01-2019, 02:50 PM
Jim Clark

Double F1 Champion & Indy 500 winner; 50yrs after his death still revered as one of the greatest drivers of all time, not bad for a sheep farmer from Chirnside.

Good call. I remember my dad telling me he used to watch him go kart racing and he excelled at that as well.

Also remember going to see a trophy room in Duns which housed his trophies in the late sixties / early seventies.

05-01-2019, 12:54 AM
Equivalent to an Old Firm player winning 8 Scottish league titles and comparing them to a player who won both a European Cup and World Cup medal.

Sandy Lyle won both the Open and the Masters. Unmatched by any Scottish golfer and he was a big likeable guy compared to the big grumpy Monty.

I've followed Monty around a Scottish Open before, believe me he mumped and moaned his way around.

There's simply no contest when comparing Sandy Lyle's achievements in Scottish golfing history to any other Scottish golfer.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

Did monty have more money than the rest of the field for that comparison? Your also comparing two totally different eras. Lyle won his majors in the 80’s where Monty came to prominence in the 90’s, and hitting his prime he had the greatest golfer ever to contend with at the turn of the millennium.

Monty is comfortably one of the greatest European tour players ever, and also one of the most successful European Ryder cup players.

I also wasn’t aware we were speaking about demeanour as well, to me the question is all about their ability.

I’m not even taking anything away from Lyle, he was well before my time so haven’t watched much of him, I have however grew up watching Monty and his achievements are equally as incredible. 7 straight European order of merits.

Again the ‘no contest’ is entirely your opinion.

Tornadoes70
05-01-2019, 12:57 AM
Did monty have more money than the rest of the field for that comparison? Your also comparing two totally different eras. Lyle won his majors in the 80’s where Monty came to prominence in the 90’s, and hitting his prime he had the greatest golfer ever to contend with at the turn of the millennium.

Monty is comfortably one of the greatest European tour players ever, and also one of the most successful European Ryder cup players.

I also wasn’t aware we were speaking about demeanour as well, to me the question is all about their ability.

I’m not even taking anything away from Lyle, he was well before my time so haven’t watched much of him, I have however grew up watching Monty and his achievements are equally as incredible. 7 straight European order of merits.

Again the ‘no contest’ is entirely your opinion.

You do understand the differences between the European Tour, the PGA Tour and The Majors don't you?

A whole world of difference.

Think Spl v Premier League and the European Cup/World Cup.

Seve Ballesteros, Greg Norman, Nick Faldo, Sandy Lyle, Bernhard Langer and Tom Watson to name just a few were at the top of their game in the eighties some of the best ever players. What did 'Monty' win again, no majors but at the top of the European Tour? Do me a favour pal eh ffs if you're going to argue at least have something concrete to back it up with.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

05-01-2019, 08:48 AM
No one even gets close to Andy Murray. For ultimate fitness levels he wins.

Stephen Hendry is the goat of snooker.