View Full Version : Today’s other games

Pages : 1 [2]

29-12-2018, 03:55 PM
All my in-laws are Spurs fans and I have learnt, like Hibs, never put Tottenham on your coupon.

They like us, always have this type of game just waiting up their sleeve. It is also why it will be a long time before they ever win the Premier League.

Yes, they always seem to be the bridesmaid. A win today would have them as serious contenders, but that's a blow.

29-12-2018, 03:56 PM
Alloa 2 Dundee utd 1...ouch
Ross co 2 Caley 1
Partick 1 Morton 2....the Harry Wraggs really are in trouble now huh

Berwick ran gers 2 Edin city 2
Elgin 0 Peterhead 3

Connollys11
29-12-2018, 03:57 PM
Alloa 2 Dundee utd 1...ouch
Ross co 2 Caley 1
Partick 1 Morton 2....the Harry Wraggs really are in trouble now huh

Berwick ran gers 2 Edin city 2
Elgin 0 Peterhead 3

Haha United are atrocious

29-12-2018, 05:26 PM
Liverpool running away with it

29-12-2018, 05:31 PM
Liverpool running away with it
Another Salah dive for a pen for you to watch when you get home tonight :greengrin

29-12-2018, 09:50 PM
Another Salah dive for a pen for you to watch when you get home tonight :greengrin

Just watched it, no dive there from Salah.

29-12-2018, 09:52 PM
Just watched it, no dive there from Salah.

Me too, stonewall as they come.

norhfc
30-12-2018, 01:17 AM
In Seminyak, Bali, heard a commotion in a bar last night so went in to have a look. There was 4-5 Huns celebrating their win with the Billy Boys etc, embarrassing to say the least, turned round and left.

30-12-2018, 09:57 AM
Lots of matches on Sky today:

Crystal Palce v Chelsea 12.00

Southampton v Man City 2.15

Man Utd v Bournemouth 4.30

Surely an easy few quid to be made with a treble....

30-12-2018, 10:03 AM

If Palace play the way they played against City then Chelsea will be in for a tough afternoon. Selhurst Park can be a very noisy ground when the team do well.

Looking forward to the United game though as I’m sure you are too 😉

30-12-2018, 11:04 AM
If Palace play the way they played against City then Chelsea will be in for a tough afternoon. Selhurst Park can be a very noisy ground when the team do well.

Looking forward to the United game though as I’m sure you are too 😉

Hoping wee Ole's revival of the team continues.

30-12-2018, 11:49 AM
Palace Chelsea has been one of the most boring 45 you're likely to see.

Palace not interested in going forward and Chelsea happy to keep the ball and then out hopeful punts into the box.

30-12-2018, 12:04 PM
INTERNATIONAL FRIENDLY

HALF TIME

OMAN 0 v 3 AUSTRALIA

Milligan starts

Boyle and MacLaren on the bench

30-12-2018, 12:04 PM
Palace Chelsea has been one of the most boring 45 you're likely to see.

Palace not interested in going forward and Chelsea happy to keep the ball and then out hopeful punts into the box.

The minute's silence before the match was more exciting.

30-12-2018, 12:48 PM
How did this Palace mob beat Man City? Palace are terrible!

30-12-2018, 04:20 PM

I hope a few of you got on board :aok:

30-12-2018, 06:26 PM
I hope a few of you got on board :aok:

How much did you win?, they weren't exactly outsiders (City 1/5 I believe).

30-12-2018, 06:29 PM
How much did you win?, they weren't exactly outsiders (City 1/5 I believe).

Got 85 from 25 stake. It was free cash.

30-12-2018, 06:49 PM
Got 85 from 25 stake. It was free cash.

That's quite surprising, well done. I just backed Utd to win both halves.

30-12-2018, 06:54 PM
That's quite surprising, well done. I just backed Utd to win both halves.

Only short odds for the three wins, but taken together it looked a stick on.

01-01-2019, 12:13 PM
Is Scottish football missing a trick, by having no games today?
All 4 divisions in England playing today

01-01-2019, 12:21 PM
Is Scottish football missing a trick, by having no games today?
All 4 divisions in England playing today

Should have been playing today instead of having midweek fixtures in December.

01-01-2019, 12:56 PM
As a boy, long time ago, I use to love going to New Year game. I have memories of the following:
All the men wore flat caps, bunnets.

All the men seemed to smoke pipes, can still smell the St Bruno.

All the men seemed to have a half bottle of whisky in their inside jacket pocket. This was shared enthusiasticly with their mates.

There was no segregation.

As I said along time ago, but happy memories of going to football with my long departed father.

01-01-2019, 02:10 PM
As a boy, long time ago, I use to love going to New Year game. I have memories of the following:

All the men seemed to have a half bottle of whisky in their inside jacket pocket. This was shared enthusiasticly with their mates.

As I said along time ago, but happy memories of going to football with my long departed father.

Same here. Happy days.

Daydreamer
01-01-2019, 02:17 PM
Should have been playing today instead of having midweek fixtures in December.

Absolutely, and on another note it seems that Cattermole has displaced Mcgeogh in the Sunderland team.Either Dylan is still carrying a knock as Cattermole is hopeless.

Ryan69
01-01-2019, 02:29 PM
Another assist for SJM..:)

01-01-2019, 03:24 PM

I remember being at Tynecastle with my grandfather very early 70's.
In the car park area behind their old stand it appeared to my 11 year old self that the ground was totally covered in beer cans.
A carpet of beer cans Thousands of them.

01-01-2019, 03:31 PM

Ahhhhh Lago, that is exactly what I remember most from games as a youngster........made me smile with nostalgia that post mate, thank you :top marks

01-01-2019, 03:40 PM
Glad I didn't spend over £40 for a restricted view at Goodison.

geohibby
01-01-2019, 03:46 PM
2 goals for McBurnie today

Liam6270
01-01-2019, 03:46 PM
I see calderwood is working his magic at Cambridge!

01-01-2019, 04:36 PM
0-1 spurs, comedy defending from Cardiff, Bamba included.

01-01-2019, 04:49 PM
0-1 spurs, comedy defending from Cardiff, Bamba included.

Think Morrison has to take all blame for that one, terrible from him.

2-0 now.

01-01-2019, 04:58 PM
0-3 now, 26 minutes played.

David_D
01-01-2019, 04:59 PM
0-3 now. Spurs look like they can score at Will today.

01-01-2019, 05:39 PM
I was toying with the idea of putting a few quid on Spurs 3-0. Glad I didn't now: didn't think they would scoree three in the first 25 minutes.

01-01-2019, 06:24 PM
I was toying with the idea of putting a few quid on Spurs 3-0. Glad I didn't now: didn't think they would scoree three in the first 25 minutes.

Then again.....

01-01-2019, 08:04 PM
Same here. Happy days.

01-01-2019, 08:06 PM
I remember being at Tynecastle with my grandfather very early 70's.
In the car park area behind their old stand it appeared to my 11 year old self that the ground was totally covered in beer cans.
A carpet of beer cans Thousands of them.
Hold onto those memories.:agree:

01-01-2019, 08:08 PM
Ahhhhh Lago, that is exactly what I remember most from games as a youngster........made me smile with nostalgia that post mate, thank you :top marks

Your welcome, in a way they were gentler days, I'm happy to to have brought a smile to your face, I was smiling as I wrote it. :wink:

02-01-2019, 06:15 PM
A wee quadruple tonight:

Chelsea v Southampton

West Ham v Brighton

Wolves v Crystal Palace

Newcastle v Man United

Worth a tenner at 10/1

02-01-2019, 06:19 PM
Nasri on the bench for the hammers. Could be quite a signing.

02-01-2019, 06:21 PM
A wee quadruple tonight:

Chelsea v Southampton

West Ham v Brighton

Wolves v Crystal Palace

Newcastle v Man United

Worth a tenner at 10/1

Great odds that

02-01-2019, 06:23 PM
A wee quadruple tonight:

Chelsea v Southampton

West Ham v Brighton

Wolves v Crystal Palace

Newcastle v Man United

Worth a tenner at 10/1

Think Newcastle will take something off United and Palace are half decent away from home.

02-01-2019, 06:24 PM
Think Newcastle will take something off United and Palace are half decent away from home.

Aye, there's always that risk, hence I just went with a tenner.

02-01-2019, 06:29 PM
Aye, there's always that risk, hence I just went with a tenner.

Any bet is a risk but as good a chance as any I think. Here's hoping your line comes in.

02-01-2019, 07:56 PM
Some game at Bournemouth, 3-3 at HT.

02-01-2019, 09:00 PM
Some game at Bournemouth, 3-3 at HT.

Hyndman hat trick?

02-01-2019, 09:17 PM
Hyndman hat trick?

Three OGs for Watford :agree:

03-01-2019, 09:40 AM
A wee quadruple tonight:

Chelsea v Southampton

West Ham v Brighton

Wolves v Crystal Palace

Newcastle v Man United

Worth a tenner at 10/1

Not as easy as it looks!

03-01-2019, 04:24 PM
tonight

Man city 19/20
Liverpool 11/4

draw 27/10

with willy hills

if the away team wins tonight i think they will win the league...

04-01-2019, 02:58 PM
Ton of Mor v County of Ross live on Alba tonight (Friday) for cooncil telly viewers

04-01-2019, 07:37 PM
Ton of Mor

Ahhh! Gorrit

04-01-2019, 07:52 PM
Tranmere’s #5 looks like some bloke they’ve pulled out the crowd.

Maybe my dream of a pro career isn’t over. :greengrin

Connollys11
04-01-2019, 07:53 PM
Ton of Mor v County of Ross live on Alba tonight (Friday) for cooncil telly viewers

You can hardly hear the commentators for the atmosphere ae

04-01-2019, 07:58 PM
You can hardly hear the commentators for the atmosphere ae

Ahhh the FA cup best tourney in the world, policemen in a white horse trautman with a broken back Ricky villa for spurs in 79 giggsys chest wig etc etc....

Spurs playing a shadow side against lower league opponents and still strolling to a win without breaking sweat. Box office stuff

04-01-2019, 08:22 PM
Ahhh the FA cup best tourney in the world, policemen in a white horse trautman with a broken back Ricky villa for spurs in 79 giggsys chest wig etc etc....

Spurs playing a shadow side against lower league opponents and still strolling to a win without breaking sweat. Box office stuffThose things happened years ago as well. Still a brilliant competition full of history.

04-01-2019, 08:25 PM
0-7 (SEVEN). Always looks good!

04-01-2019, 08:26 PM
0-7 (SEVEN). Always looks good!

Fantastic!!!

05-01-2019, 01:29 AM

Spurs playing a shadow side against lower league opponents and still strolling to a win without breaking sweat. Box office stuff

Was it not a broken neck?

05-01-2019, 09:15 AM

Yup. It's sad how football has changed and much else besides.

05-01-2019, 10:05 AM
Those things happened years ago as well. Still a brilliant competition full of history.

No they didn't. Half empty stadiums, disinterested players and managers? I have no particular problem with the FA cup, I just don't see why 'the magic of the' has to be applied as a suffix all the time and the BBC feels the need to show these kind of early round diddy games live on primetime TV.

05-01-2019, 10:49 AM
No they didn't. Half empty stadiums, disinterested players and managers? I have no particular problem with the FA cup, I just don't see why 'the magic of the' has to be applied as a suffix all the time and the BBC feels the need to show these kind of early round diddy games live on primetime TV.

Big upsets are much harder to come by these days: the EPL club are so much stronger and wealthier than the rest, that, like you said, they can play fringe players and still hammer the opposition. Top four or EPL survival are much more important to the EPL clubs now. Still a good competition, even if the old magic isn't there.

Man United v Reading at 12:30 on BT :agree:

05-01-2019, 11:03 AM
Big upsets are much harder to come by these days: the EPL club are so much stronger and wealthier than the rest, that, like you said, they can play fringe players and still hammer the opposition. Top four or EPL survival are much more important to the EPL clubs now. Still a good competition, even if the old magic isn't there.

Have you been giving the Eve Ambrose thread a miss?

05-01-2019, 11:07 AM
Have you been giving the Eve Ambrose thread a miss?

No, I posted on it. Why?

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?336542-Official-Site-EFE-AMBROSE-DEPARTURE-CONFIRMED

05-01-2019, 11:08 AM

It's inevitable. £6 million from winning the FA cup compared to £60million for a jaunt to the champions League group stages.

I think there's some merit in looking at the French cup where the lower league clubs are always at home to the top clubs. Not sure how that would affect gate receipts.

linlithgowhibbie
05-01-2019, 11:43 AM
Linlithgow Rose v Camelon 14:30 KO.

C'mon the boys in marroon!!

Did I really write that? I feel dirty:thumbsup:

05-01-2019, 11:44 AM
Alexis Sanchez is on £500,000 a week??
Nice for him to get a wee go with the others today.

05-01-2019, 11:49 AM
Alexis Sanchez is on £500,000 a week??
Nice for him to get a wee go with the others today.

I think that's an exaggeration. I'm sure it's around 325,000 per week. Still no bad!

05-01-2019, 11:54 AM
1-0 man u. VAR working well again

05-01-2019, 11:57 AM
Hyndman not in the Bournemouth squad today

05-01-2019, 12:19 PM
I think that's an exaggeration. I'm sure it's around 325,000 per week. Still no bad!

Including his bonuses and image rights it's £500,000 a week. I really like him, that Chile world cup side were something else.

05-01-2019, 12:22 PM
Including his bonuses and image rights it's £500,000 a week. I really like him, that Chile world cup side were something else.

He hasn't produced anything like his Arsenal form yet.

2-0 at half time. Very nicely taken goal by Lukaku.

05-01-2019, 12:23 PM
2-0 Man U ht

05-01-2019, 12:29 PM
1-0 man u. VAR working well again

I find it a pain in the erse myself, takes far too long and totally changes the game as we know it, Goal line technology is sufficient in my opinion.

05-01-2019, 12:44 PM
United winning but being played off the park by Reading.

05-01-2019, 01:08 PM
Was it not a broken neck?

Yes it was, think he was absolutely smashed when strikers could charge into goalies and get a goal unlike the goalie getting a foul for someone going within 5 meters of them.

05-01-2019, 02:12 PM
Josh Donaldson starts today for Airdrie

05-01-2019, 02:14 PM
Josh Donaldson starts today for Airdrie

Josh Campbell? :dunno:

05-01-2019, 02:15 PM
Josh Campbell? :dunno:

Aye him

05-01-2019, 02:55 PM
I’m at Middlesbrough v Peterborough United. 0-0 half time. McNair for Boro cost £5m. Couldn’t lace John McGinn’s boots. Peterborough should be ahead.

05-01-2019, 03:10 PM
2-0 Peterborough need Cummings off the bench.

05-01-2019, 03:27 PM
3-0

Jason won't be wanting anything to do with it now.

05-01-2019, 03:30 PM
4-0 definitely not. Peterborough’s two forwards are their best players from what I’ve seen so no surprise he’s only on the bench.

05-01-2019, 03:38 PM
Legend on now 🏆🇳🇬

05-01-2019, 03:51 PM
Another poor result for Dundee United

They ain't going anywhere this year

05-01-2019, 04:14 PM
Another poor result for Dundee United

They ain't going anywhere this year

They've certainly stagnated a bit since their excellent form when Neilson came in.

05-01-2019, 09:17 PM
Ayr blowing the chance to go equal top by losing at home to bottom club Falkirk, Dundee utd drawing at home to the new bottom club partick, in the FA cup Bristol city beating premiership Huddersfield, Accrington beating Ipswich, and Aston villa thumped at home by Swansea, unfortunately i don't think we will be getting any further payments from villa for SJM if they were to go up to the premiership...ain't gonna happen

EH54
06-01-2019, 10:57 AM
Australia a goal down at the break. Might be back sooner than they think!

06-01-2019, 10:59 AM
They've certainly stagnated a bit since their excellent form when Neilson came in.

Somehow still within a win of the top. If they find form at the right time they could yet well go up.

EH54
06-01-2019, 11:55 AM
Australia lose their first game to Jordan. Maclaren scored but ruled offside.

06-01-2019, 01:03 PM
Never seen pre-match odds like this before:

Betfair

Man City 1/50

Draw 33/1

Rotherham 75/1

06-01-2019, 01:05 PM
It's inevitable. £6 million from winning the FA cup compared to £60million for a jaunt to the champions League group stages.

I think there's some merit in looking at the French cup where the lower league clubs are always at home to the top clubs. Not sure how that would affect gate receipts.

In a piece of nice timing, we could be looking at a historic shock just now. Andrézieux is a town in central France with less than 10,000 inhabitants and play part time in the fourth tier. They are playing Marseille in the Coup de France who have a full strength side on the pitch; Payet, Thauvin, Luis Gustavo, Mandanda etc.

Andrézieux 1-0 up at the half!

06-01-2019, 01:09 PM
Payet

You just had to mention him...

06-01-2019, 01:15 PM

I see the Hammers have picked up another ex Marseille legend. Happy?

06-01-2019, 01:16 PM

Time to let it go now! 👍

06-01-2019, 01:16 PM
time to let it go now! 👍

never!

06-01-2019, 01:17 PM
I see the Hammers have picked up another ex Marseille legend. Happy?

I'm never happy.

I'm :hyper

06-01-2019, 01:33 PM
QPR 1 Super Leeds 1 , leeds have quite a few regulars out either due to injury or not risking injury with huge game coming up v Derby co

woking 0 watford 1
man city 1 rotherham 0
sheff utd 0 barnet 1

06-01-2019, 01:57 PM
French Cup

Andrezieux 2 v 0 Marseilles

06-01-2019, 02:10 PM
Australia lose to Jordan

Oh well

06-01-2019, 02:22 PM
French Cup

Absolutely astonishing result. Knowing some of the OM ultra groups I fear for Rudi Garcia's personal safety.

06-01-2019, 02:23 PM
Absolutely astonishing result. Knowing some of the OM ultra groups I fear for Rudi Garcia's personal safety.

Training ground mayhem to come, with players' cars being torched :greengrin

06-01-2019, 02:31 PM
Australia lose to Jordan

Oh well

Rather embarrassing for them. Thats a shame.

06-01-2019, 02:38 PM
Training ground mayhem to come, with players' cars being torched :greengrin

They do things properly:take that

06-01-2019, 02:51 PM
Fulham about to go out to Oldham. Magic result in a magic competition.

06-01-2019, 02:55 PM
Fulham about to go out to Oldham. Magic result in a magic competition.

Sheffield United out to Barnet.

06-01-2019, 03:01 PM
leeds ******* up as per in the FA cup early doors

man city scraping through :7: - :0: against rotherham

06-01-2019, 03:41 PM
Newport win would be nice for the club. 1-0.

Saturday Boy
06-01-2019, 03:43 PM
Newport win would be nice for the club. 1-0.

Good old fashioned goal, too. Winger beats the fullback and crosses for the centre forward. 1 nil.

06-01-2019, 03:47 PM
French Cup

bloody hell Mareilles getting beaten by Andre Rieu

06-01-2019, 04:01 PM
Has Gauld scored a hat trick on his final appearance before the step up from sporting Lisbon to the Hibs

06-01-2019, 04:03 PM
Arouca 3 v 3 Farense

Leading 3_1 Ryan Gauld gets hooked after 71 minutes

Farense end up losing two goals the last ten minutes :confused:

06-01-2019, 04:03 PM
Good old fashioned goal, too. Winger beats the fullback and crosses for the centre forward. 1 nil.
Entertaining game. Centre forward is a ' big unit ' :greengrin

06-01-2019, 04:04 PM
Arouca 3 v 3 Farense

Leading 3_1 Ryan Gauld gets hooked after 71 minutes

Farense end up losing two goals the last ten minutes :confused:
So he get to the airport in time.:greengrin

06-01-2019, 04:19 PM
Fulham cost me an eight team accumulator, losing at home to League Two Oldham. I hope the manager is sacked and they are relegated. *****

06-01-2019, 04:30 PM
Fulham cost me an eight team accumulator, losing at home to League Two Oldham. I hope the manager is sacked and they are relegated. *****

Never bet on the EPL sides in the cup. It’s their reserves and the opposition are hungrier.

06-01-2019, 04:33 PM

And Cairney is reprimanded for the most blatant over reaction delayed throwing himself to the floor ever!

Yet the ref saw fit to give a pen!

06-01-2019, 04:38 PM
And Cairney is reprimanded for the most blatant over reaction delayed throwing himself to the floor ever!

You don't have to fall for you to have been fouled.

Although I know what you mean.

06-01-2019, 04:40 PM

That was a shocking decision, some refs just give decisions on what they think happened, not what they saw.

There was no contact there, and if the ref said there was, then he clearly does not possess the eyesight to officiate at that level.or indeed any level.:confused:

06-01-2019, 04:41 PM
That was a shocking decision, some refs just give decisions on what they think happened, not what they saw.

There was no contact there, and if the ref said there was, then he clearly does not possess the eyesight to officiate at that level.or indeed any level.:confused:

BH minimal contact at best looking at the replay however not enough to react like he did imho!

06-01-2019, 04:42 PM
You don't have to fall for you to have been fouled.

Although I know what you mean.

You are indeed correct but just image if he was tackled??

06-01-2019, 05:14 PM
Newport 2 Leicester 1 great cup tie.

06-01-2019, 05:16 PM

It is, really really enjoying it.

06-01-2019, 05:17 PM

Classic FA cup fayre, and Leicester have been ***** for me. Not brave enough on the ball and nowhere near enough fight.

Did Demitrou not play up here at some point?

Edit, naw he didny

06-01-2019, 05:18 PM

Been good. Newport looking a bit puggled!

06-01-2019, 05:21 PM
Brilliant atmosphere at Newport, fair enjoying it.

06-01-2019, 05:22 PM
Been good. Newport looking a bit puggled!

Newport might want a money spinning replay. I can recall another team conceding a goal late at home to gain one!!!!

Can't recall who.....

06-01-2019, 05:23 PM
Well played Newport, great atmosphere, great tie, survived a bit of pressure in that second half. Very enjoyable game.

06-01-2019, 05:24 PM
Newport might want a money spinning replay. I can recall another team conceding a goal late at home to gain one!!!!

Can't recall who.....

Looks like they’ve settled for trying to win it instead.....

06-01-2019, 06:40 PM
Another magic result

07-01-2019, 07:00 PM
Lovren injures early doors, Liverpool bring on 16 year old Dutch centre half.

Efe for Liverpool.