View Full Version : Grand Old Team

Austinho
28-12-2018, 06:58 AM
When did we first start singing this song? And what’s the origin of it? Best associated with Celtic, but also sang by us, Everton and Tottenham.

28-12-2018, 07:35 AM
It was one of the few football songs they sung at the recent 2-0 game and even then my son shouted “Hey that’s our song!”
They stole Liverpool’s anthem the only song they could not steal was the Super John McGinn song!

Johnny Clash
28-12-2018, 07:53 AM
Mind we had 13 years of songs before we created Glasgow Hibernian so chances are it was our song they then adopted with a change of words.

28-12-2018, 09:06 AM
Glen Daly recorded it, presumably in the early 60s, so they can probably have a reasonable claim to this one.

I can remember us singing it at the 69 League Cup final.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

28-12-2018, 09:18 AM
Left at 6-0 have still not, nearly 50 years later saw the Hibs goals. In the q for the train when word came thru that it was now 6-2. Can we go back dad ? It could be a comeback. Naw son. Nearly time up.

HibeeHibernian4
28-12-2018, 10:36 AM
I've seen online before that it was Belfast Celtic's originally.

28-12-2018, 10:41 AM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hail,_Hail,_the_Gang%27s_All_Here

28-12-2018, 10:53 AM
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hail,_Hail,_the_Gang%27s_All_Here

There is a fuller version of the song/tune/lyrics and history here.

http://www.thecelticwiki.com/page/Hail+Hail+%28Grand+Old+Team%29+-+Song

I still have the original Glen Daly album that includes the song.
My mother had it,and other Glen Daly albums.

She loved listening to Glen Daly singing old Irish songs/ballads.

The "grand old team" song has long been sung at Easter Road,certainly during the sixties.

Some younger supporters may be shocked to know that versions of "Hello Hello" and "Follow Follow" were also sung by Hibernian fans during the sixties.

But over the years this all died out,of course.
As did rousing versions in the Cave of Sean South of Garryowen and The Soldiers Song !!

28-12-2018, 11:24 AM
There is a fuller version of the song/tune/lyrics and history here.

http://www.thecelticwiki.com/page/Hail+Hail+%28Grand+Old+Team%29+-+Song

I still have the original Glen Daly album that includes the song.
My mother had it,and other Glen Daly albums.

She loved listening to Glen Daly singing old Irish songs/ballads.

The "grand old team" song has long been sung at Easter Road,certainly during the sixties.

Some younger supporters may be shocked to know that versions of "Hello Hello" and "Follow Follow" were also sung by Hibernian fans during the sixties.

But over the years this all died out,of course.
As did rousing versions in the Cave of Sean South of Garryowen and The Soldiers Song !!

Aye. Were up to our knees in orange blood

28-12-2018, 11:28 AM
I love “Grand Old Team”. Great tune especially when belted out by a full Easter Road.

28-12-2018, 11:35 AM
I love “Grand Old Team”. Great tune especially when belted out by a full Easter Road.
In particular,when the new club from Govan come to town.
Sends them stark raving mad !!

Renfrew_Hibby
28-12-2018, 11:37 AM
I'm sure its an old U.S. music hall number from way way back and that Everton fans have been singing it since the late 1920s/early 30s.

28-12-2018, 11:42 AM
I'm sure its an old U.S. music hall number from way way back and that Everton fans have been singing it since the late 1920s/early 30s.

RH
Yes the tune seems to go back to the 19th Century and has morphed since.

I suppose many "modern" football songs/tunes have origins in old tunes/melodies

Like our own one.... Battle Hymn of the Republic......

"Thine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Hibs !"

and Hearts ..........

"Mud Mud Glorious Mud" (The Hippopotamus Song)

:na na::rotflmao:

28-12-2018, 11:43 AM
I'm sure its an old U.S. music hall number from way way back and that Everton fans have been singing it since the late 1920s/early 30s.This link has Everton adopting it in the 80s. Also supports the Belfast Celtic claim mentioned above.

https://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/got-song-origins.47563/

The Hail Hail bit is Gilbert and Sullivan.

28-12-2018, 11:52 AM
I always enjoyed a stirring rendition of the Merry Ploughboy as a teenager, add in a bit of Die, Die, Die ya Hun and the one about King Billy and his army of 100,000 men and you would take me back to Easter Road, 1970’s, that massive terracing and games v Rangers.

The Grand Old Team song always started well, but faded badly. Not sure why.

28-12-2018, 12:17 PM
I always enjoyed a stirring rendition of the Merry Ploughboy as a teenager, add in a bit of Die, Die, Die ya Hun and the one about King Billy and his army of 100,000 men and you would take me back to Easter Road, 1970’s, that massive terracing and games v Rangers.

The Grand Old Team song always started well, but faded badly. Not sure why.

I have noticed that too in recent years

The prelude Hail Hail
We use to sing "what the hell do we care" (as Celtic do)
Now its "all for goals and glory"

Prefer the first version.

Now this is the "strangest" song i have heard at a football match.

Mid sixties, i think we were playing at Aberdeen.
I either could not go, or missed the bus.
Cannae mind.

What i do remember is going to Brockville that day with some Celtic pals from Blackfriars Street.

Brockville, as you can imagine,was packed to the rafters.

It was St Patrick's Day and the whole ground erupted in a rendition of the hymn "Hail Glorious St Patrick" during the game.

Me being a former alter boy at the Sacred Heart in Lauriston felt duty bound to join in.
Truly amazing day.
More "carry oots" at the game than the Old Tron/High Street days at hogmanay

dalkeith stu
28-12-2018, 12:24 PM
It was one of the few football songs they sung at the recent 2-0 game and even then my son shouted “Hey that’s our song!”
They stole Liverpool’s anthem the only song they could not steal was the Super John McGinn song!

They could've bought it for £3m but refused!!

28-12-2018, 12:26 PM
This link has Everton adopting it in the 80s. Also supports the Belfast Celtic claim mentioned above.

https://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/got-song-origins.47563/

The Hail Hail bit is Gilbert and Sullivan.

His best was Alone again (naturally)

28-12-2018, 12:33 PM
His best was Alone again (naturally)

Surely that is Harry Potter's signature tune (Natural(ly) Order) ? :jamboclow

28-12-2018, 12:35 PM
His best was Alone again (naturally)Get down

28-12-2018, 12:37 PM
Surely that is Harry Potter's signature tune (Natural(ly) Order) ? :jamboclow

How did Jimmy ‘s opp go

Barman Stanton
28-12-2018, 12:39 PM
Who sang 'Greatest Game in History' first? I have heard a few Jambos say the did!?

28-12-2018, 12:45 PM
Who sang 'Greatest Game in History' first? I have heard a few Jambos say the did!?

What?
They scored 7 at the Holy Ground ?!!;-)

Its "our" song, even if the lyrics are mince
South Morocco indeed!

28-12-2018, 12:58 PM
I have noticed that too in recent years

The prelude Hail Hail
We use to sing "what the hell do we care" (as Celtic do)
Now its "all for goals and glory"

Prefer the first version.

Now this is the "strangest" song i have heard at a football match.

Mid sixties, i think we were playing at Aberdeen.
I either could not go, or missed the bus.
Cannae mind.

What i do remember is going to Brockville that day with some Celtic pals from Blackfriars Street.

Brockville, as you can imagine,was packed to the rafters.

It was St Patrick's Day and the whole ground erupted in a rendition of the hymn "Hail Glorious St Patrick" during the game.

Me being a former alter boy at the Sacred Heart in Lauriston felt duty bound to join in.
Truly amazing day.
More "carry oots" at the game than the Old Tron/High Street days at hogmanay

Sounds like a right hoot!

Barman Stanton
28-12-2018, 01:05 PM
What?
They scored 7 at the Holy Ground ?!!;-)

Its "our" song, even if the lyrics are mince
South Morocco indeed!

Yeah Iv thought the same, but some Older Jambo mates are adamant that they sang it first.

Always wondered about the South Morocco bit. That line doesnt actually rhyme with anything so a better place we have actually played could be used. Always thought 'We played the Maracana' might have been a better boast.

28-12-2018, 01:08 PM
Sounds like a right hoot!

I once went to a Glasgow Cup Final
Back in the day when the first teams competed in it.
2 gangs in the Celtic end.,the Cumbie and another mob started fighting each other.
From a distance,mostly
That end was huge before reconstruction.

The bottle throwing was like Stalin's Organs .
I think that is what they mean by "Hail Hail"

Complete madness.
The drunkenness in grounds back then had to be seen to be believed

Celtic won tae ;-)

28-12-2018, 01:11 PM
We’ve sung “all for goals and glory” since the mid 80s at least.

28-12-2018, 01:13 PM
We’ve sung “all for goals and glory” since the mid 80s at least.

And before that too....can't ever recall in my time "what the hell do we care" sung...

28-12-2018, 01:18 PM
And before that too....can't ever recall in my time "what the hell do we care" sung...

Before your time then,i suppose.
But take it as true from a 67yr old former Cave Dweller ;-) !

28-12-2018, 01:22 PM
How did Jimmy ‘s opp go
Will update when i know more .Send you a PM

28-12-2018, 01:25 PM
Will update when i know more

Met him asda looking well. A great coach a great guy and a Hibernian legend

Fanforlife
28-12-2018, 05:19 PM
Seen it all now,video on Facebook of castlemilk Celtic supporters club singing sunshine on Leith, is there no end to their stealing from us?🤔

28-12-2018, 05:32 PM
Seen it all now,video on Facebook of castlemilk Celtic supporters club singing sunshine on Leith, is there no end to their stealing from us?🤔

imitation is the sincerest form of flattery

and aw that

28-12-2018, 05:43 PM
Before your time then,i suppose.
But take it as true from a 67yr old former Cave Dweller ;-) !

Hahaha. Cheers Mick. I believe you ! [emoji2]

28-12-2018, 05:45 PM
Seen it all now,video on Facebook of castlemilk Celtic supporters club singing sunshine on Leith, is there no end to their stealing from us?��
Good on them
Not sure about now, but back in the 80s,the clubrooms were shared with Castlemilk Labour Party.
Visited before Hampden LC final against Aberdeen

Made very welcome.
Laid on free grub,also free treats and soft drinks for the younger ones and non drinkers from our bus.
A good experience and they joined in with our songs.

The game wisnae sae good

28-12-2018, 07:37 PM
Hahaha. Cheers Mick. I believe you ! [emoji2]

One line in common is

"We don't care what the animals say"

I do not think Glen Daly sang that line ;-)