View Full Version : Speling and gramur
23-12-2018, 02:56 PM
On many occasions I have castigated folk on Hibs.Net who resort to pointing out folks poor spelling, grammar or lack of proper punctuation. I find it usually happens when an argument gets heated or is being lost. I've said many times that it shouldn't be ignored that there are folk with many different levels of education inhabiting this site and therefor so long as you can understand what they are trying to say, is it really that important that their skills in the written language may be lacking.
In view of that I have even studiously ignored the use of 'yooz' 'yous' or you'se as a collective noun …. accepting that even though there is no such thing in written English it is commonly used in spoken language …… EG … where are yous going after the game.
But everybody has their breaking point and I have reached mine. What has caused this mini meltdown is 'OF'
'I should of went to see Hibs this Saturday'
'MacLaren should of taken the penalty'
Today on a Hibs facebook page somebody has written ….. "I have said OF months that Kamberi is pish" …. Its bad enough the insanity of 'OF' being substituted for 'HAVE' …. but seeing it now being substituted for 'FOR' is just taking stupid to levels no sane human being can ignore.
Yes mate, so long as you keep that Turkey in the freezer it should last of months ….. In fact, I should of told my last customer that :grr:
23-12-2018, 02:58 PM
On many occasions I have castigated folk on Hibs.Net who resort to pointing out folks poor spelling, grammar or lack of proper punctuation. I find it usually happens when an argument gets heated or is being lost. I've said many times that it shouldn't be ignored that there are folk with many different levels of education inhabiting this site and therefor so long as you can understand what they are trying to say, is it really that important that their skills in the written language may be lacking.
In view of that I have even studiously ignored the use of 'yooz' 'yous' or you'se as a collective noun …. accepting that even though there is no such thing in written English it is commonly used in spoken language …… EG … where are yous going after the game.
But everybody has their breaking point and I have reached mine. What has caused this mini meltdown is 'OF'
'I should of went to see Hibs this Saturday'
'MacLaren should of taken the penalty'
Today on a Hibs facebook page somebody has written ….. "I have said OF months that Kamberi is pish" …. Its bad enough the insanity of 'OF' being substituted for 'HAVE' …. but seeing it now being substituted for 'FOR' is just taking stupid to levels no sane human being can ignore.
Yes mate, so long as you keep that Turkey in the freezer it should last of months ….. In fact, I should of told my last customer that :grr:
F have! 😉
23-12-2018, 03:02 PM
F have! 😉
Lost me :greengrin
23-12-2018, 03:04 PM
F have! 😉
Ah … now I get it :greengrin
23-12-2018, 03:06 PM
F have! 😉
23-12-2018, 03:35 PM
F have! 😉
I should of known this subject wouldn't be taken seriously, I of said of years that Hibs.Net can be a bad place … youz should be ashamed :bitchy:
23-12-2018, 03:37 PM
I should of known this subject wouldn't be taken seriously, I of said of years that Hibs.Net can be a bad place … youz should be ashamed :bitchy:
Have yoosselves
23-12-2018, 03:45 PM
That's your 7th sentence/paragraph that hasn't ended with any punctuation in your grammar thread. :greengrin
I'm generally of the opinion that if I can understand what the person is saying then it's not an issue. That's probably because I was never very good at English though.
23-12-2018, 04:14 PM
First paragraph should end with a question mark.
23-12-2018, 04:22 PM
Isn't "youse" a Lowland Scots word?
23-12-2018, 04:24 PM
First paragraph should end with a question mark.
:greengrin My dad was an English teacher. He got three copies of Eats, Shoots and Leaves for his Christmas when it came out.
23-12-2018, 04:27 PM
:greengrin My dad was an English teacher. He got three copies of Eats, Shoots and Leaves for his Christmas when it came out.
pollution
23-12-2018, 04:33 PM
I have given up despairing of some of the errors on this site. I am not saying that I expect better but it really is a blow to the mind when I read
some of the bloomers. They jump out of the screen and bash me about the head, it is so sore at times.
23-12-2018, 05:00 PM
Isn't "youse" a Lowland Scots word?
A mis-spelt word for a group of female sheep, isn't it?
23-12-2018, 05:33 PM
Your and you're
Their/there/they're
These must be the most sommon mistakes. However, it's a football forum, not a university dissertation, so isn't the end of the world.
23-12-2018, 05:45 PM
Your and you're
Their/there/they're
These must be the most sommon mistakes. However, it's a football forum, not a university dissertation, so isn't the end of the world.
I hope you did that on purpose. 😁
23-12-2018, 05:49 PM
Your and you're
Their/there/they're
I agree with this, so everyone on here should be cut a bit of slack.
What bugs me is when someone finds themselves in an occupation where a pretty immaculate grasp of spelling and grammar should be a given. I mean, Hibs managing to mis-spell Livingston on the scoreboard yesterday. What is all that about?
23-12-2018, 05:54 PM
I hope you did that on purpose. 😁
Naw, it's a sommon theme :hilarious
In mitigation, I've had a few Christmas Guinness.
23-12-2018, 06:01 PM
I hear you, I'm well oiled with Strongbow. 🍻
23-12-2018, 06:50 PM
Guinness's.
23-12-2018, 06:51 PM
Guinness's.
Guinni.
23-12-2018, 08:14 PM
Your and you're
Their/there/they're
Totally agree … but there's a difference between getting stuff wrong and just making stuff up ………….. nobody even says stuff like MacLaren should of taken the penalty. When the hell did 'of' replace 'have' even in spoken language and yet I'm starting to see it everywhere.
I'm not snobby about this stuff and I have enough evidence on here to show that …. but FFS there has to be a limit even on a fans forum :dunno:
Saturday Boy
23-12-2018, 08:21 PM
Totally agree … but there's a difference between getting stuff wrong and just making stuff up ………….. nobody even says stuff like MacLaren should of taken the penalty. When the hell did 'of' replace 'have' even in spoken language and yet I'm starting to see it everywhere.
I'm not snobby about this stuff and I have enough evidence on here to show that …. but FFS there has to be a limit even on a fans forum :dunno:
I suspect that it’s all to do with the pronunciation of “should’ve” - should have can sound like should of.
A lot depends on where you were brought/ dragged up 😄
23-12-2018, 09:06 PM
"He's went...."
That's ubiquitous now.
23-12-2018, 09:30 PM
I suspect that it’s all to do with the pronunciation of “should’ve” - should have can sound like should of.
A lot depends on where you were brought/ dragged up 😄
If you went to primary school you would of been tawt the diffferense.
Saturday Boy
23-12-2018, 09:36 PM
In my day it was as much tawse as taught; but then again, I am getting on a bit.
23-12-2018, 09:42 PM
I agree with this, so everyone on here should be cut a bit of slack.
What bugs me is when someone finds themselves in an occupation where a pretty immaculate grasp of spelling and grammar should be a given. I mean, Hibs managing to mis-spell Livingston on the scoreboard yesterday. What is all that about?
I tweeted @hibsofficial as the game kicked off pointing out that they had the opponent's name wrong on the scoreboard.
It was corrected by the third minute - so at least someone was 'on the ball' .
23-12-2018, 10:19 PM
I seen what you done there.
Caversham Green
24-12-2018, 09:11 AM
I'm currently reading 'No Country for Old Men' by Cormac McCarthy. Every single character does the 'of' instead of 'have' thing and it's driving me up the wall. That and his refusal to use quotation marks spoils what would otherwise be a cracking book for me.
The film's bloody good as well.
24-12-2018, 11:43 AM
The film's bloody good as well.
Best bad guy ever. Frighteningly evil.
Here’s Lucy!
24-12-2018, 04:03 PM
Back on thread topic.
The 'of' for 'have' thing is atrocious.
24-12-2018, 04:09 PM
Plenty on here have stuck an 'e' on the end of Livingston over the last week. Infuriating.
24-12-2018, 05:08 PM
I'm generally ok with poor spelling, grammar, etc... except for the 'loosers', which tends to bring bowel movements to mind whenever I see it :greengrin
twiceinathens
24-12-2018, 07:13 PM
I presume you mean a teacher of English( as a subject) rather than a reference to his nationality!
24-12-2018, 09:05 PM
Plenty on here have stuck an 'e' on the end of Livingston over the last week. Infuriating.
On here I can live with.
On the scoreboard at Easter Road I can't.
Time For Heroes
24-12-2018, 09:17 PM
Personally I think that some people do it to make themselves feel better.
My grammar and spelling isn't great but I wouldn't judge someone for something so trivial.
It's not the judging that bothers me, more the people that correct posts like they are marking homework.
Genuinely find it pathetic.
Never look down on someone unless you're picking them up.
24-12-2018, 11:44 PM
https://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/society/man-who-cant-spell-basic-words-demands-you-take-his-opinions-seriously-20180122142873
Tornadoes70
24-12-2018, 11:59 PM
My grammar and spelling isn't great but I wouldn't judge someone for something so trivial.
It's not the judging that bothers me, more the people that correct posts like they are marking homework.
Great post mate.
Stephen Hawking was a genius, however, required help communicating. There's plenty of folk who're extremely clever, intelligent and brighter than most that don't have a grasp of grammar for one reason or another.
Its why we have secretary's.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
25-12-2018, 10:47 AM
Its why we have secretary's.
I hope that was deliberate.
25-12-2018, 11:06 AM
:tsk tsk: those were
25-12-2018, 11:53 AM
Agreed, its something you will never see me do …. which is why I have posted as a general point for discussion rather than have a go at an individual post on some other thread.
Tornadoes70
25-12-2018, 12:20 PM
Noticed after posting but left it in there.
Mon the Cabbage!!!
25-12-2018, 02:31 PM
:tsk tsk: those were
That sentence ...
25-12-2018, 05:51 PM
That sentence ...
:hmmm: ………….
26-12-2018, 01:08 PM
Three points the 'soul aim' for Wright
St Mirren v St Johnstone (14:00)
St Johnstone manager Tommy Wright told Sportsound: “It’s important we come here and pick up points. It’s no good getting pats on the back and come here and not perform.
“We know it’s going to be tough. But we are coming here for three points, that’s our soul aim.
Making singular things plural does my head in, every football pundit does it especially in England. The Arsenals, the Spurs, The Man United's etc etc.
29-12-2018, 03:27 PM
Apparently that app grammarly that will check your grammar goes a bit further and checks out what you’ve written - nothing dodgy about that at all I’m sure all above board...
30-12-2018, 06:03 PM
Punctuation can also be atrocious. The misuse of apostrophes is sometimes comical, but, as I said before, it's only a fitba forum.