View Full Version : On a lighter note

CLASS OF 72 -73
21-12-2018, 05:22 PM
I was chatting in the car with my youngest lad the other day and having a laugh and noticed a Hertz hire car and told him that when I was abroad and traveled quite a bit I would never hire a Hertz car for obvious reasons. When in Zambia once I ended up with a local wreck rather than a Hertz option to my later detriment (I know grow up:rolleyes:). Anyone superstitious or adamant on not wearing or driving anything slightly linked with Hertz or Rangers particularly if we are due to play either of them?

Green Man
21-12-2018, 05:43 PM
When I was getting my clothes ready on Wednesday I went past any pair of socks that had any blue in it. I also couldn’t wear my captain America cycling top as it’s red, white and blue.

21-12-2018, 05:52 PM
I would never buy a blue, red or maroon car.

xyz23jc
21-12-2018, 05:58 PM
Anything maroon or even resembling it is verbotten in our house! :greengrin

Hibs4185
21-12-2018, 06:04 PM
I used to be a bus driver and I noticed today the new uniform is a maroon jumper. Could never have worn it!

Here’s Lucy!
21-12-2018, 06:13 PM
The old SMT buses were just sooooo much more attractive! :greengrin

BS44
21-12-2018, 06:18 PM
The old SMT buses were just sooooo much more attractive! :greengrin

My work has went completely overboard with maroon in our new uniform. 🙄

21-12-2018, 07:01 PM
I once won a cashmere sweater at a company golf day at Gleneagles. Going up to collect my prize I was horrified at the colour. Managed to swap it for the far more attractive booby prize of a packet of tees before I got back to my seat. Phew.

21-12-2018, 07:08 PM
I once won a cashmere sweater at a company golf day at Gleneagles. Going up to collect my prize I was horrified at the colour. Managed to swap it for the far more attractive booby prize of a packet of tees before I got back to my seat. Phew.

Did your bin the leather driving gloves

highland hibbee
21-12-2018, 07:10 PM
My work has went completely overboard with maroon in our new uniform. ��

The Royal Bank business debit card is maroon, I refused it and told them I would take my business ( 30+ years ) elsewhere unless they offered me a green one.

my business banking is now done elsewhere ........

21-12-2018, 07:22 PM
Not quite with the theme but I went to PL so had to wear a maroon uniform for six years.

21-12-2018, 07:32 PM
Like many others my age, I had a 'Y' (Yale) Cardigan in the early 80s. I made sure to tell everybody it was Burgundy, not Maroon!

21-12-2018, 07:39 PM
Alloa academy, maroon blazer and maroon tie. Rugby kit looked exactly like a Jambo strip so not only did I have to wear it Monday to Friday I had to play rugby in it too. Thank God I managed to get some green in my life on Saturday afternoons

bodhibs
21-12-2018, 07:59 PM
I only ever/can buy green toothbrushes

therealgavmac
21-12-2018, 08:00 PM
I used to work in Oxfordshire and another member of the management team, from Thurso, was the biggest blue nose I’ve ever encountered.... to the extent he used to remove everything green from his office, including the map pins on his notice board!

However, I was always in before him in the mornings so I used to park my car by reversing it directly outside his office window, with my Hibs scarf and flag on the parcel shelf in full view....

He used to go mental 😂😂😂

Hibees1973
21-12-2018, 08:15 PM
For our cup final win at Hampden I wore a dark green checked shirt and socks that had a bit of green in them.....I did wear jeans and shoes as well.

The following couple of years I wore this shirt and socks whenever we played Hearts, even if I wasn’t at the game.

This shirt and socks went on a 6 or 7 game unbeaten run against them until we got knocked out of the cup by them last season.

I did think about keeping them as a momento of the cup final but binned them recently.

c31
21-12-2018, 08:18 PM
Lothian buses colour is madder (Pantone 188) not maro*n...still a **** colour though...

21-12-2018, 08:34 PM

Me too always a green toothbrush, although these days my toothbrush is reserved for travelling (which with my job I'm away quite frequently). Electric toothbrush at home is white but does have green trim :wink:

HibeesLittleHel
21-12-2018, 08:37 PM
The Royal Bank business debit card is maroon.......

Ahem I think you’ll find it’s colour is better described as “Redcurrant”.
😜😎🇺🇿🇺🇿🇺🇿

21-12-2018, 08:39 PM
My mate used to get me my cars, he had his own garage, years ago he phones saying he had a nice wee Escort only problem being it was burgundy, resprayed for £150 silver

21-12-2018, 08:46 PM

I do too 😬

bodhibs
21-12-2018, 08:48 PM
I do too 😬

Club shop take note 😉👍

Tinribs
21-12-2018, 09:10 PM
I would never wear anything maroon, it's an ugly colour even without the hearts connection. I do own lots of blue stuff though, never really crossed my mind until I was recently accused of wearing a sevco top under my jacket due to it being a blue and white Nike which does look vintage Huns when the jacket zipper is up.
I'll certainly be avoiding wearing it on match days.

21-12-2018, 09:17 PM
I do too 😬

Me too. 👍

hhibs
21-12-2018, 11:17 PM
Anything maroon or even resembling it is verbotten in our house! :greengrin

Nah,maroon y fronts should be compulsary ! :greengrin

Man Down Under
21-12-2018, 11:22 PM
I'm just glad I don't have to avoid the colour green. I'm imagining a Hearts fan with dirt for their back garden.

Sent from my SM-J330G using Tapatalk

21-12-2018, 11:38 PM
my new cardigan is green, rather than those unmentionable colours mentioned above.

21-12-2018, 11:39 PM
btw, I never mentioned those above:greengrin

21-12-2018, 11:40 PM
I have never and will never wear than shan colour. Totally bogging.

21-12-2018, 11:52 PM
Lothian buses colour is madder (Pantone 188) not maro*n...still a **** colour though...

There is another sad-sack in this life that knows this :cb - so much so that my family are/were friendly with Pilmar Smith (bookmaker from the Lothian region) who went on to chair Lothian Buses (also a Hertz director pre Romanov) - His bookmaker placard/signage was also Pantone 188.

BTW - If you still have any old Pantone books, I'll take them off your hands.

The Pointer
21-12-2018, 11:58 PM
Earlier this year I was looking around for a particular make of car and a couple of weeks ago had a phone call from a lassie at one of the branches where I'd been.

"Are you still looking Mr P?"
"Yes."
"Are there any features you don't want?
"Your company have a dark red in the colour range which I certainly wouldn't want to be seen driving."

As DF says, a shan colour.

22-12-2018, 12:15 AM
There is another sad-sack in this life that knows this :cb - so much so that my family are/were friendly with Pilmar Smith (bookmaker from the Lothian region) who went on to chair Lothian Buses (also a Hertz director pre Romanov) - His bookmaker placard/signage was also Pantone 188.

Empty your PM's.

22-12-2018, 12:21 AM
I have never and will never wear than shan colour. Totally bogging.

Apart from it being theirs, it really is a horrible colour

22-12-2018, 12:30 AM
I have hibs game boxers

Tornadoes70
22-12-2018, 12:38 AM
Alloa academy, maroon blazer and maroon tie. Rugby kit looked exactly like a Jambo strip so not only did I have to wear it Monday to Friday I had to play rugby in it too. Thank God I managed to get some green in my life on Saturday afternoons

Snp from Alloa in maroon?

Grrrrrrr

jst1875
22-12-2018, 12:44 AM
My work has went completely overboard with maroon in our new uniform. 🙄

its burgundy :cb

22-12-2018, 12:51 AM
Sharp sponsored Manchester United shirts from 1982 to 2000.

I heard about a City fan who won a Sharp TV in a raffle and refused to collect his prize.

Tornadoes70
22-12-2018, 12:52 AM
its burgundy :cb]]

Maroon or Burgundy

They're as first thought snp illiberal right wing slavers.

Mon Labour!!!

Tornadoes70
22-12-2018, 12:57 AM

Wee county maroon snp doughboy

22-12-2018, 02:46 AM
]]

Maroon or Burgundy

They're as first thought snp illiberal right wing slavers.

Mon Labour!!!

Whit? :confused:

22-12-2018, 03:15 AM
Did 22 years in the Royal Navy and got 5 medals only 4 on my chest as the 5th was a maroon and white ribbon. ( yes I know immature ) but I stuck the 5th in my drawer. Was asked numerous times why I wasn’t wearing it said I never qualified for it as I was in Colchester ( military prison ) when it was issued.

22-12-2018, 05:28 AM
Would never wear anything maroon.

On the infrequent times I am in bookshops these days I still make a point of covering over any Hearts books as the colour annoys me.

22-12-2018, 06:56 AM
Pat Stanton once told the story of how every Christmas his Mum got his Dad a pair of maroon socks to which he said thanks and promptly put them down the side of the settee

Somewhere in Niddrie there is a settee with about eight pairs of brand new maroon socks down the side of it :greengrin

22-12-2018, 08:31 AM
Hahahaha hahaha. You have finally lost the plot all together. Are you stalking me now on different threads? You sir are a total wierdo. I thought you just slavered pish on the Holy Ground but here you are again on another thread. You really need to keep clear if the industrial strength meths late at night

IDHibs
22-12-2018, 08:47 AM
I was in the "Big Hoose" and as a trustee in the induction wing i had to wear maroon polo or sweatshirt :grr: longest 4 months of my puff

wpj
22-12-2018, 09:01 AM
I used to work in Oxfordshire and another member of the management team, from Thurso, was the biggest blue nose I’ve ever encountered.... to the extent he used to remove everything green from his office, including the map pins on his notice board!

However, I was always in before him in the mornings so I used to park my car by reversing it directly outside his office window, with my Hibs scarf and flag on the parcel shelf in full view....

He used to go mental 😂😂😂

My dad who had no allegiance to any Scottish team worked at Rosyth dockyard in the 70s. He had a colleague who hated green so they always left memos for him on green paper, even ordered it specifically for that purpose

22-12-2018, 10:07 AM
Hahahaha hahaha. You have finally lost the plot all together. Are you stalking me now on different threads? You sir are a total wierdo. I thought you just slavered pish on the Holy Ground but here you are again on another thread. You really need to keep clear if the industrial strength meths late at night

I take it he's not a friend of yours.

I'd be very proud of that, if I were you.

22-12-2018, 10:15 AM
Always a lot of smashed glass and I invariably end up black and blue when we play Rangers. Unfortunately I have blue eyes so keep them hidden from view.

22-12-2018, 10:50 AM
Earlier this year I was looking around for a particular make of car and a couple of weeks ago had a phone call from a lassie at one of the branches where I'd been.

"Are you still looking Mr P?"
"Yes."
"Are there any features you don't want?
"Your company have a dark red in the colour range which I certainly wouldn't want to be seen driving."

As DF says, a shan colour.Decades ago I was given a brand new maroon Renault laguna as a work car. I swapped it for a used bottle green Peugeot 406 we had as a pool car.

Maroon isn't a real colour and we've never had any of it in the house.

I'm in the green toothbrush gang as well. Got all sorts of green clothes and used to wear a green suit to work because I sat opposite a real good jambo who had a maroon one. I was at his wedding in my green suit and Hibs tie[emoji5]

22-12-2018, 10:54 AM

I believe there was Pantone related political bust up in Edinburgh in the 90s when the new Council was being set up. Something to do with choosing corporate colours and the Jambo Lord Provost versus a dissident Hibee grouping. Needless to say one side wanted as close to maroon as possible and the other as I recall it were proposing something more neutral.

I won’t wear, marry, support, buy or endorse anything maroon.

Alfiembra
22-12-2018, 01:00 PM
I think if there was anyone selling maroon coloured toilet roll it could be a best seller.

22-12-2018, 01:05 PM
I have maroon socks but never wear them on matchday just in case and try to choose my green ones if possible.

Always said I'd never use Hertz but had a disaster in Norway trying to get to Molde and Hertz had to step in and sort us a car at the last minute. After 5 hours in the motor driving from Trondheim it became a wee bit funny that the Hertz got the Hibbies to Molde. :greengrin

22-12-2018, 01:12 PM
Like many others my age, I had a 'Y' (Yale) Cardigan in the early 80s. I made sure to tell everybody it was Burgundy, not Maroon!

:hmmm: Maroon sweater with a BIG "Y" for Yam on it. :hmmm:

I might have to dig out those old School photos and look for more incriminating evidence.

22-12-2018, 01:15 PM
Out in the field during my time in the army I'd always wear maroon undies. You could wear them for weeks and they'd still look brand new. :wink:

22-12-2018, 01:17 PM
I am in the green toothbrush brigade too

Funny how my Jambo uncles always wore maroon lambs wool sweaters?

weird breed !

Hannah_hfc
22-12-2018, 01:30 PM
A few years ago was walking through Haymarket wearing a burgundy coloured jumper on an evening the yams were playing Celtic. Police approached me and asked if I was going to the match...

Needless to say the jumper got binned that night. Not often offended but the police achieved it that night [emoji23]

22-12-2018, 02:36 PM
Add me into the strictly green toothbrush club!

22-12-2018, 02:39 PM
:hmmm: Maroon sweater with a BIG "Y" for Yam on it. :hmmm:

I might have to dig out those old School photos and look for more incriminating evidence.

Don't start you!

hhibs
22-12-2018, 02:44 PM

Weirdo ,roaster or both ? hard to decide.

22-12-2018, 02:45 PM
Don't start you!

It gets worse, just found one of you stood between Eric Graham and Keith Jones wearing a red, white and blue pullover. :faf:

IDHibs
22-12-2018, 02:47 PM
Pat Stanton once told the story of how every Christmas his Mum got his Dad a pair of maroon socks to which he said thanks and promptly put them down the side of the settee

Somewhere in Niddrie there is a settee with about eight pairs of brand new maroon socks down the side of it :greengrin

Nah Billy.... it was sold on Flog it :wink: lol be an antique by now i'd guess

22-12-2018, 02:53 PM
It gets worse, just found one of you stood between Eric Graham and Keith Jones wearing a red, white and blue pullover. :faf:

Fake News!!!!!

22-12-2018, 03:07 PM
Fake News!!!!!

:whistle:

tamsonsbairn
22-12-2018, 06:22 PM
I believe there was Pantone related political bust up in Edinburgh in the 90s when the new Council was being set up. Something to do with choosing corporate colours and the Jambo Lord Provost versus a dissident Hibee grouping. Needless to say one side wanted as close to maroon as possible and the other as I recall it were proposing something more neutral.

I won’t wear, marry, support, buy or endorse anything maroon.

I believe that the official colours of Edinburgh is black and white, don't let any jumbo's tell you anything else.

22-12-2018, 10:05 PM
I once had a maroon toilet fitted in my house.

True

Made that first visit in the morning fun.