View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian V The Rangers

19-12-2018, 04:31 PM
On the line again is my 100% record on starting match thread. Here is hoping we win again and I see no reason why not.

19-12-2018, 04:34 PM
Be an interesting team selection

19-12-2018, 04:36 PM
Confident tonight. A 2-1 stroll, Kamberi double.

19-12-2018, 04:37 PM
Confident tonight. A 2-1 stroll, Kamberi double.

A Hyndman winner would be quite delicious too :greengrin

19-12-2018, 04:40 PM
Are boyle, milligan etc expected back

Im doubtful Slivka will make it

We need to keep there full backs pushed back - both are terrific Going forward (presuming Barasic plays) but suspect going back the way

hibbydog
19-12-2018, 04:42 PM
A Hyndman winner would be quite delicious too :greengrin

Gray. Or McGregor. Just to get under their skin.

Hopefully we’ll get it up the cheating, whining, tax dodging, soap dodging, knuckle dragging, cousin marrying Rangers tribute act.

19-12-2018, 04:47 PM
The Rangers CB area IMO is there to be ripped a new one, and it will be.

19-12-2018, 04:55 PM
Are boyle, milligan etc expected back

Im doubtful Slivka will make it

We need to keep there full backs pushed back - both are terrific Going forward (presuming Barasic plays) but suspect going back the way

Slivka was having a fitness test this morning apparently.

19-12-2018, 05:03 PM
Slivka was having a fitness test this morning apparently.

Muscle strain? Bruising?

19-12-2018, 05:03 PM
Muscle strain? Bruising?

Lennon just said yesterday it wasn’t as bad as first thought.

19-12-2018, 06:37 PM
Same team as Sunday

Hibeewilly
19-12-2018, 06:43 PM
Boyle and Milligan on bench

BegbieHSC
19-12-2018, 06:44 PM
**** the huns!

Souter96Mac
19-12-2018, 06:44 PM
Good team, good options off the bench. Lets go

sauzee=legend
19-12-2018, 06:46 PM
Walk away it’s the Rangers way!!!!

Hibernian32
19-12-2018, 06:53 PM
Here we go:nlgwa

19-12-2018, 07:00 PM
This game could go either way, depending on which Hibs team turns up.

The collective mental side of our boys, as alluded to by Neil Lennon, is my only concern.

Picking and choosing which games to perform in has to be eradicated entirely if we are to seriously challenge for a top 4 finish.

Lets get out the traps first and impose ourselves on this decent (but not brilliant) Sevco side - pressing them, harrying them into mistakes, and generally getting in their faces.

Come on Hibs!!

We can do it.

Keyser Sauzee
19-12-2018, 07:00 PM
What’s the bench?

Lemonade
19-12-2018, 07:01 PM
Hendo about to be interviewed on BT sports

19-12-2018, 07:10 PM
Hendo about to be interviewed on BT sports

Saying he’ll be back at Hibs one day, he’s pretty determined on that.

19-12-2018, 07:10 PM
Mon the Hibs , were due them a beating at ER

19-12-2018, 07:12 PM
What’s the bench?

It's a long usually wooden type seat but that's not important right now.

thefamousfive
19-12-2018, 07:13 PM
It's a long usually wooden type seat but that's not important right now.

:)

19-12-2018, 07:14 PM
On the line again is my 100% record on starting match thread. Here is hoping we win again and I see no reason why not.

Glad u started the thread mon the hibees

19-12-2018, 07:17 PM
definitely need to watch there left hand side with Barisic and Grezda against Whitts and Slivka

19-12-2018, 07:20 PM
M’on the Hibs, just boarded for my flight to Oz. Hoping for some good news when I land in Dubai in 7hrs 👍🏻

19-12-2018, 07:21 PM
Crazy to think there are people out there that think Hibs won’t win tonight

19-12-2018, 07:27 PM
**** the huns!

this

19-12-2018, 07:30 PM
Saying he’ll be back at Hibs one day, he’s pretty determined on that.

:hyper

19-12-2018, 07:30 PM
If the team plays with the same energy levels, focus and commitment as against Celtic we might win this ... 6 points off the Glasgow teams would be a great achievement

19-12-2018, 07:36 PM
We will need to play like we did on Sunday to get a win. They might not be great but they’re top of the league and don’t lose many.

19-12-2018, 07:42 PM
Some rangers fans in the hibs end next to the away support.

murray26
19-12-2018, 07:42 PM
Echo what is said above.. another performance like Sunday very much required.. not a easy task.. come on the Hibs

21sMay
19-12-2018, 07:43 PM
Fancy Shaw to get 1 or 2 tonight

Tornadoes70
Mon the Cabbage!!!

Efe with the armband

19-12-2018, 07:44 PM
early goal please to shut they vile neanderthals up

19-12-2018, 07:51 PM
Mallan having a mare so far

19-12-2018, 07:51 PM
5 mins and still no goal :boo hoo:

19-12-2018, 07:53 PM
The hun doesn’t look up to much here.

19-12-2018, 07:55 PM
Morelos doing what Morelos does, frequently

Mr Grieves
19-12-2018, 07:56 PM
Diving ****

McAuley has a hunchback

Is this game on the telly?

Bt sport

Few sloppy touches.

Mr Grieves
19-12-2018, 07:57 PM
Rocky injured

rocky feeling the back of his calf already :rolleyes:

OtleyHibs
We are having no joy with injuries, rocky looks done for the night

19-12-2018, 07:58 PM
Bogdan coming on.

19-12-2018, 07:58 PM
no real

19-12-2018, 07:59 PM
Bogdan coming on.

Jeezo, a player coming off injured after only 12 minutes.

Lennon not looking happy.

OtleyHibs
Gutted for Rocky. Every confidence in Bogdan, reduces our options later too though with a sub used already

19-12-2018, 08:00 PM
We’re taking one touch too many, getting caught far too much.

19-12-2018, 08:02 PM
Mallan well in.

stupid challenge by mallan

The big difference from Sunday is sevco are shutting us down a lot quicker.

19-12-2018, 08:03 PM
We’re taking one touch too many, getting caught far too much.

19-12-2018, 08:03 PM
Crazy to think there are people out there that think Hibs won’t win tonight

I'm one of them, and it's based on years of experience... most of it bad.

AZhibee
19-12-2018, 08:04 PM
I would like to see Morelos get run over by a truck.

Lemonade
19-12-2018, 08:06 PM
I would like to see Morelos get run over by a truck.

Porteous will have a go at some point.

The big difference from Sunday is sevco are shutting us down a lot quicker.

Much as I like to focus on things they're pish at, every time I've seen them this season they've pressed and shut teams down well in big games, hence their better results in Europe and poorer ones suffering from a European hangover.

Just did.

Newco players trying to influence Cheat

19-12-2018, 08:08 PM
Nice to see us putting the boot in.

19-12-2018, 08:10 PM
Why is Bogdan not coming out and taking that ball?

19-12-2018, 08:10 PM
Rangers happy to sit in and try nick the odd counter attack.

Need to move the ball quickly and the game's there for the taking imo

19-12-2018, 08:11 PM
Nice to see us putting the boot in.

Don’t think they like it and are constantly moaning to ref

19-12-2018, 08:14 PM
What a save Bogdan

good save bogdan

What a feeling it is to have two cracking keepers.

19-12-2018, 08:15 PM
Save AGAIN!

19-12-2018, 08:16 PM
bogdan saves mallans blushes

Bogdan is class

Mr Grieves
2 good saves from Bogdan after slack defending

Two cracking saves from Bogdan.

Poor passing there from Mallan.

supermcginn
Why is Bogdan not coming out and taking that ball?

He's too busy making amazing saves

Lemonade
Stupid pass from Mallan

Need to cut out these individual mistakes.

bogdan saves mallans blushes

Aye but a poor pass back to Efe from Mallan

wakey freakin wakey hibs

19-12-2018, 08:17 PM
Under the cosh a bit here. We need an outball up too and it needs to stick

hibs have slipped out the game.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

All over the shop just now, need to calm it and get on the ball.

Lemonade
Porteous is solid :-)

19-12-2018, 08:18 PM
Only a matter of time for them...

very nearly again

After a good start we have totally fallen out of the game. Morelos is causing us all kind of problems.

Scary stuff

19-12-2018, 08:19 PM
Horgan cannot make a right choice.

fs horgan man :(

great move though

Lucky not to have conceded yet.

Horgan head up son

Rangers pressing us everywhere. Doing what we did against Celtic

We're not playing with quite the same abandon as against Celtic. Rangers are more switched-on opponents than them.

Lemonade
So close

Just needs to pass it out to the right

Come on, we can't be world beaters in every game,

19-12-2018, 08:20 PM
That had to be goal. Horgan had men left and right. Terrible decision making.

19-12-2018, 08:21 PM
Thats better Hibs

Bit of SJM dig would be useful here.

just play in kamberi for FFS. Horgan is clueless in that situation

19-12-2018, 08:22 PM
C'mon Hibs. ****ing hate the rangers.

19-12-2018, 08:23 PM
C'mon Hibs. ****ing hate the rangers.

Just as much as the originals

Bogdan kept us in this once they got on top

21sMay
Mallam has been Terrible

morelos is a diving prick

Hook Mallan at the half.

Morelos doing as Morelos does...cheat

Poor from Mallan there again with another loose pass. Putting ourselves under pressure.

19-12-2018, 08:24 PM
Thomson couldnt wait to blow there.

19-12-2018, 08:24 PM
Thomson couldnt wait to blow there.

It was a foul though... Morales did however make a meal of it

19-12-2018, 08:25 PM
Trying to gift them a goal.

ok, where are the formation/tactic kings on here...why has the flow of the game changed in sevco's favour

timewilltell
Mallan :fuming::fuming::fuming::fuming:

Too long on the ball.... one of these times we are not going to get away with it

Paul1642
19-12-2018, 08:26 PM
Will be happy to make it to HT at 0-0

Get it forward quicker.

Sloppy in possession and change needed.

If Mallan wants to be the next McGeouch, he will need to be stronger on the ball and retain it a lot better.

gogsy23
19-12-2018, 08:27 PM
Giving the ball away far to cheap.

19-12-2018, 08:28 PM
The diamond isn't working tonight.

Lennon out

cmon Hibs

Austinho
Need to get into half time unscathed and make some tactical changes then.

19-12-2018, 08:29 PM
Much better last 5 mins.

19-12-2018, 08:31 PM
Happy to go in level. Poor first half from us. Rangers nothing special at all though.

19-12-2018, 08:32 PM
We’ve played like the away side this half.

sellick clobbering murrawell 3-0

Good first 15. Dominated thereafter.

Horgan off and Boyle on at half time for me. Need to get their full backs on the back foot

19-12-2018, 08:33 PM
Morelos has a face only a mother could love.

Lucky to be going in even there.

Paul1642
Much better last 5 mins.

Didn’t feel that at all

We’ve played like the away side this half.

Behave

morelos just looks evil :greengrin

ah well, that's one bet goosed, one corner won by the home side...not good enough hibs :grr:

19-12-2018, 08:34 PM
Incredibly lucky to still be level here.

Mr Grieves
Happy to go in at 0-0. We've been poor

Morelos has a face only a mother could love.

Not sure about that, unless he looks like her 😖

Need to get the tempo up, a lot.

We've defended pretty well but it won't last.

We need to play with more intensity going forward instead of pushing it back and across and then giving it away.

Lucky to be level here. Not really looking like creating anything although neither are Rangers. We just keep gifting them opportunities.

gogsy23
19-12-2018, 08:35 PM
Half finishes with mallan giving the ball away again!! On the upside porto is class. Solid in the tackle and has a bit banter too

21sMay
Boyle for Mallan..push slivka and Horgan into middle and Boyle out right

Need to improve otherwise the result against celtic meant heehaw

murray26
We need to change something at HT.. this isn’t working and we will lose the game if it continues the same..

Rangers will be gutted not to be winning this. Hopefully that's their chance missed.

Behave

We’ve been on the front foot, aye?

They’ve been the much better side. Bogdan has kept us in this game. Our play is so slow and predictable. Allan McGregor has hardly been tested.

19-12-2018, 08:36 PM
Shootin doon the slope

1-0 hibs

19-12-2018, 08:36 PM
Couldn't make it tonight as got the man flu but that last 20 mins or so was a bit uncomfortable to watch. We are too Slow in possession and constantly giving the ball away. Lucky to be level and need to Step it up 2nd half

19-12-2018, 08:37 PM
Zero tempo simpered to Sunday

we can win this if we can get it together, they are not a good team.

Poor performance from Hibs going forward, staunch stuff at the back, Mallan having a shocking game, every pass backwards, sideways or to a Rangers player - we haven't tested their goalie too much, Horgan wasted a glorious opportunity, Gerrard will be the happier manager, but disappointed that his team isn't 3 or 4 up ... should be an interesting 2nd half ....

On that display, I can’t see us getting anything better than a point.

Tornadoes70
19-12-2018, 08:38 PM
Way too many passes given away cheaply that put them on the front foot. Bogdan had two cracking saves to keep us level.

Mon the Cabbage!!! A better second half required.

19-12-2018, 08:38 PM
Are the fans in the hibs section of the south all standing closest to the rangers fans, hibs fans or am I not quite the detective?

19-12-2018, 08:39 PM
Delighted with 0-0 at HT after that

We need to stop passing for passing sakes and try to find a way to break the lines

We can counter on them but too many having poor performances on the ball so far

Mallan is pivotal tonight but hes having a shocker so far

CathroMustStay
19-12-2018, 08:40 PM

So hypothetically we lose tonight, you're telling me many Hibs fans wouldn't have taken 3 points against the Old Firm?

Big L
Like to see Boyle and McLaren on for Shaw and Slivka.

Couldn't make it tonight as got the man flu but that last 20 mins or so was a bit uncomfortable to watch. We are too Slow in possession and constantly giving the ball away. Lucky to be level and need to Step it up 2nd half

Pretty much sums up first half for me.

Hope feeling better soon though.

Looks like Boyle is going to be coming on for the 2nd half

19-12-2018, 08:41 PM
We like devoid of passion and energy again. Same personnel and looks the same shape but The Rangers are pulling us all over with the speed of their passing. Slivka has been very little help to Whittaker.
Mallan has been very poor and looks to have chosen the lead boots again.
Maybe go straight 442 to get Boyle on the right and take Mallan off.

supermcginn
Boyle for shaw hopefully

Poor performance from Hibs going forward, staunch stuff at the back, Mallan having a shocking game, every pass backwards, sideways or to a Rangers player - we haven't tested their goalie too much, Horgan wasted a glorious opportunity, Gerrard will be the happier manager, but disappointed that his team isn't 3 or 4 up ... should be an interesting 2nd half ....

Have to agree, Mallan is having an utter nightmare. Hope he gets his **** together for the 2nd half

19-12-2018, 08:42 PM
Pretty much sums up first half for me.

Hope feeling better soon though.Cheers mate hoping for a Hibs pick me up 2nd half

19-12-2018, 08:43 PM
Lucky to be going in even there.
Agree

timewilltell
19-12-2018, 08:44 PM
Are the fans in the hibs section of the south all standing closest to the rangers fans, hibs fans or am I not quite the detective?

Who cares?????

Hibs4185
19-12-2018, 08:44 PM
I think Gerard has watched us on Sunday and stuffed his midfield with 5 making it difficult for us. Added to the fact we aren’t playing as fluent as Sunday.

Shutting down the slope second half though!

19-12-2018, 08:45 PM
Who cares?????

To be honest if I had bought a ticket and took my child along and they were opposition fans there I would be bothered quite a bit.

19-12-2018, 08:46 PM
Murray just called in Milligan as well

Possible double change with both our Australian internationalists coming on 🇦🇺

19-12-2018, 08:46 PM
Zero energy on show from slivka. Boys an enigma.

Weegreenman
19-12-2018, 08:48 PM
Looks like Boyle is going to be coming on for the 2nd half

Hope you’re right. We need an out ball. Something for Rangers to think about. We’ve been poor compared to Sunday.

19-12-2018, 08:48 PM
Zero energy on show from slivka. Boys an enigma.

Harsh - our midfield have been totally nullified

None of our midfield have shown “energy” coz we have been given no space

19-12-2018, 08:49 PM
Milligan on

19-12-2018, 08:49 PM
Hope you’re right. We need an out ball. Something for Rangers to think about. We’ve been poor compared to Sunday.

Or not 😒

19-12-2018, 08:50 PM
Just want to say one thing, Thomson's a ****

19-12-2018, 08:50 PM
Mallan pushing up in Horgans Place

19-12-2018, 08:51 PM
Milligan on for Horgan, looks like Mallan is pushed forward

Nope, Mallan left, Hyndman up.

Nonsense.

19-12-2018, 08:52 PM
Nonsense.

Takes the shine off it

19-12-2018, 08:53 PM
Do we only have 1 sub left?

Poor Hyndman.

Do we only have 1 sub left?

Yep.

Did I just hear Kevin Thomson refer to Sevco as ‘we’?

19-12-2018, 08:54 PM
Did I just hear Katie Thomshun refer to Sevco as ‘we’?

Fixed.

Well he did walk the length of the M8 on broken glass for them.

He’s a hun isn’t he?

19-12-2018, 08:55 PM
He’s a hun isn’t he?

Is he ?

19-12-2018, 08:56 PM
Slivka one touch too many.

DetroitHibs
Huns know we are weak at RB and are focusing attacking Whitaker.

Nonsense.

Errr no as would mean we will lose ground on the teams above us in the league and we need to build on the Celtic result and looks like we havent so far.

Is he ?

Yeah, think so.

Mallan really needs to up it here and switch on.

Caught out at a throw in with his back to the ball

19-12-2018, 08:57 PM
Jack didn't have a clue about that. Lucky boy

19-12-2018, 08:57 PM
Just saw the replay and that was a penalty.

19-12-2018, 08:58 PM
Huns know we are weak at RB and are focusing attacking Whitaker.

As if minute 53 SW has done not a lot wrong for me

19-12-2018, 08:59 PM
hibs have been garbage.

As if minute 53 SW has done not a lot wrong for me

One of our better players tonight

Weegreenman
Mallan not doing nearly enough for me. Poor on and off the the ball.

19-12-2018, 09:00 PM
Just saw the replay and that was a penalty.

On Slivka?? If so I disagree.

Whittaker hasn't started well.

Mallan not doing nearly enough for me. Poor on and off the the ball.

He's has a shocker from the first minute

One of our better players tonight

He’s doing what’s expected of him, unlike others

19-12-2018, 09:01 PM
We need to defend all over the park, but Mallan just leaves his man to run into free space all the time. :rolleyes:

Whittaker and Milligan far too slow.

Referee played advantage for Sevco but called it back when they didn’t take the advantage. It’s not bloody rugby.

vercol36
Whittaker hasn't started well.

He’s a bombscare

Weegreenman
Get the Boiler on pronto!

noz
19-12-2018, 09:02 PM
anyone else fed up with that constant drumming?

19-12-2018, 09:03 PM
anyone else fed up with that constant drumming?

No, just the constant conceding of possession.

He’s a bombscare

??

I must be watching a different game.

What’s he done wrong so far this evening?

I hate when we win throw-ins as it just gives possession to the opposition.

19-12-2018, 09:04 PM
I can't believe some of the negativity on here.

Because we beat Celtc on Sunday, we suddenly should be trouncing The Rangers, or we're rubbish and it makes the Celtc result meaningless.

Jeezo, Celtc and The Rangers are streets ahead of us in terms of resources, Der Hun actually being a decent side, so getting any points against them is admirable.

No, just the constant conceding of possession.

Pet hate of mine when watching football,

OtleyHibs
Shaw has to at least hit the target there

Because we beat Celtc on Sunday, we suddenly should be trouncing The Rangers, or we're rubbish and it make the Celtc result meaningless.

Jeezo, Celtc and The Rangers are streets ahead of us in terms of resources, Der Hun actually being a decent side, so getting any points against them is admirable.

Yep. Mental!

19-12-2018, 09:05 PM
Composure FFS.

Weak link McAuley. He has zero pace get at him

oh dear oli :(

So frustrating as Rangers are pish.

19-12-2018, 09:06 PM
Where’s the quality?

19-12-2018, 09:07 PM
Best guy on the park has been the referee

Morelos wants a big slap.

Lemonade
Shaw has to at least hit the target there
Just needed to trundle it along the ground

Where’s the quality?

Enter The Squirrel.

So long as it’s for Mallan.

19-12-2018, 09:08 PM
I think Mallan is a decent player with a bit of quality about him but this evening he has been so far off the pace.

Milligan and Mallan struggling

Mallans had one to forget

Bogdan's the hero tonight.

baw was out of play when bogdan caught it

Ffs!!!!!

19-12-2018, 09:09 PM
Asaaaarrrrgggggg again

Mallan needs to bulk up big time. Good footballer but he's so weak in the tackle. Needs the SJM diet if he's going to survive as a central midfielder.

Mr Grieves
****ing hell Oli!

Because we beat Celtc on Sunday, we suddenly should be trouncing The Rangers, or we're rubbish and it make the Celtc result meaningless.

Agree, a point tonight would be a decent result against a strong side. Performance wise it seems like we are not adapting to the energy that Rangers have in the game, we are off the pace. Not too surprising given the inexperience of the side, that we dont always respond to different challenges?

Shaw has wasted 2 great chances

Shaw isn’t good enough.

19-12-2018, 09:10 PM
Shaw s@@t his pants there

19-12-2018, 09:11 PM
I think Oli shat it there instead of just leathering the ball

19-12-2018, 09:11 PM
Slivka's great.

19-12-2018, 09:12 PM
Keep at it Oli, the winner could be yours!!

Shaw isn’t good enough.

Been an off night for a few

Shaw has to put those away. Simple as.

19-12-2018, 09:13 PM
We seem to be coming into the game more now.

I hope I don't regret writing that

Keep at it Oli, the winner could be yours!!

Agreed, needs a good run of games in the right position.

vercol36
??

I must be watching a different game.

What’s he done wrong so far this evening?

Given the ball away about four or five times no?

noz
mallans not been great but always good for a goal 🤫

19-12-2018, 09:15 PM
It’s just as well the Hun can’t finish.