View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian V The Rangers

Pages : 1 [2]

supermcginn
19-12-2018, 08:15 PM
Agreed, needs a good run of games in the right position.

We need better in january

19-12-2018, 08:16 PM
gies a point right now

2nd to every ball played forward.

Given the ball away about four or five times no?

So have others on both teams. He’s not been a bombscare though

19-12-2018, 08:17 PM
Getting away with murder here!

19-12-2018, 08:18 PM
get a hold of that ball for the love o ****

The chances Morelos is missing are getting progressively more ridiculous. Eventually one's going to go in.

A goal is coming if we doubt get our fingers out our *****. Need to get Boyle and Flo on it.

Still in it and need to get up the park

Milligan and Mallan in the centre is like playing 2 men short. :rolleyes:

Blimey, who's at home, them or us?

We are not at the races here goal coming for rangers if we don't get a grip.

Hate to say it but Morelos is a good striker

Morelos getting closer

inches past from morelos...it's coming

OtleyHibs
19-12-2018, 08:19 PM
So many times we have been dominant and lost, be nice to be at the other end of that kind of result for a change. We can still nick this, come on Hibs!!

19-12-2018, 08:20 PM
How the **** did Tavernier miss?

Milligan is seriously guff. No pace and his passing is woeful

**** all wrong with moreles.

Get up you diving cheating scrote

I’ll repeat, just as well they can’t finish. Could’ve been several tonight.

stop going backwards ffs

Lemonade
How satisfying this will be if we sneak one in.

19-12-2018, 08:21 PM
aw man what a sitter for sevco

We’re so lucky not to have conceded so far!

aw man what a sitter for sevco

Can see why they only got one against Hamilton

19-12-2018, 08:22 PM
Lay it off, Hyndman.

14 shots to 1 on target them vs. Us.

Says it all.

hyndman passes back to keeper McGregor

19-12-2018, 08:23 PM
14 shots to 1 on target them vs. Us.

Says it all.

Be delighted with a point right now

I’d take a point right now

They have won almost every 2nd ball all game.

Lucky to be level but how good would it be to nick it ha.

19-12-2018, 08:24 PM
What day last week did this second half begin?

This is like being a UFC fighter who's been grounded and is just waiting for the bell to end the round.

Ryan what a challenge!

Ryan jack GTF

That could have been a red looking at it again

Customary Porteous yellow card

What a tackle!!

They have won almost every 2nd ball all game.

Lucky to be level but how good would it be to nick it ha.

We wouldn't deserve it tho.................. ha ha

19-12-2018, 08:25 PM
Der Hun sub coming on

terrible tackle ryan son

Shaw is unlucky today

We’re hanging on by a thread just now.

Robbery if we get a point here

19-12-2018, 08:26 PM
surprised flute boy is not on yet

Morelos can't hit a barn door.

Milligan cracking one handed save.

19-12-2018, 08:27 PM
Milligan ffs

Jeezo Milligan. Keep your arms doon! That could have been a penalty

Milligan 😆😆😆😆

coco22
Craigan needs to get off the fence and show his true blues. What a prick!!

Robbery if we get a point here

Last minute winner for the hibees. Smash and grab. Do it Hibs 😀

You could say we're getting the breaks for once!

19-12-2018, 08:28 PM
That Morelos needs a good slap

Should have been a penalty to them.

Milligan has been a waste of space for weeks now

If we get a point here, will be amazing.

this is hard to watch

Dead cert penalty. We’re carrying a bit of luck.

19-12-2018, 08:29 PM
If we get a point here, will be amazing.

It would be a great point, though

Dead cert penalty. We’re carrying a bit of luck.

It was his shoulder was it not?

Hun down to ten?

We are just hanging on here

Hibs players are their own worst enemies.

19-12-2018, 08:30 PM
Huns will be spewing

Hun down to ten?

Nae luck

What are the odds we win this?

19-12-2018, 08:31 PM
would be nice if they went down to 7 players, then maybe..just maybe

19-12-2018, 08:32 PM
Ffs we are inviting them onto us big time here.

Cmon Hibs one more chance and take it.

Please keep it tight and don’t concede

19-12-2018, 08:32 PM

19-12-2018, 08:33 PM
Hang on Hibs, 4 points from successive games against the Uglies is not to be sniffed at.

19-12-2018, 08:33 PM
Hang on Hibs, 4 points from successive games against the Uglies is not to be sniffed at.

A snatched 6 would be better

19-12-2018, 08:34 PM
Nice pass back morelos

19-12-2018, 08:34 PM
A snatched 6 would be better

True

jellybean
19-12-2018, 08:35 PM
How long added?

19-12-2018, 08:36 PM
How long added?

2 mins

How long added?

2 mins

jellybean
Cheers. Hang in there Hibs.

19-12-2018, 08:37 PM
p@ss off craig thomson u utter **** off a man...and you know it ****

That makes up for the penalty.

Cheating *******s. Kamberi should've been through there.

Mr Grieves
That'll do

Take that point after that performance

absolutely disgraceful by Goldston

19-12-2018, 08:38 PM
Three clean sheets in a row. Not the best performance but it’ll do.

That’s the most one sided 0-0 I can remember.

We got absolutely p*ssed on. Thank goodness for Efe and Porto.

FT 0-0 craig thomson saved the day for the hun at the end...conned by a cheat

Point gained

That was ridiculous cheating on his part.

19-12-2018, 08:39 PM
well done Hibs

jellybean
19 shots on target v 7, and 11 corners v 1. Lucky point tonight!

p@ss off craig thomson u utter **** off a man...and you know it ****

What happened?

Shocking reaction but we were very lucky tonight.

Santa Cruz

...and Bogdan

Just want to say one thing, Thomson's a ****

Yup.

McGregor is going off with cleaner gloves than he started with

19-12-2018, 08:40 PM
Centre halfs and the keeper won us that point. Poor performance overall, but a decent point considering the balance of the game.

Niffy

Can someone explain for folk with no picturs

hibIBZ
Terrible performance but in the end a great point. Thomson at the end there just cheated, no way about it. Only blew once kamberi had the ball what a disgrace

We just drew (and could have won at the end) against a team that were on top form tonight.

Add that to the result on Sunday and I for one am happy.

We were very, very poor. Gave the ball away at least 20/30 times

7 points from our last 3 games and 4 points of the old firm in the space of a few days is not to be dismissed.

Cheshire Hibby
I'll take that, 2nd best tonight but committed defending got the clean sheet. GGTTH

19-12-2018, 08:41 PM
Lucky point for us at the end of the day - our passing game is abysmal, but we fought well for the point - Gerrard's team will be disappointed

Tornadoes70
19-12-2018, 08:41 PM
...and Bogdan

Man of the match award for me. Pulled off some cracking saves and didn't look as if he'd let anything past him. Solid goalkeeping display.

Take four points out of six from the last two games anytime.

19-12-2018, 08:42 PM
Glad to get a point, now take care of Livi on Saturday.

Should have been booked for simulation and then booked again for getting involved with Slivka.

Kamberi beat him to the ball to go clear, with only the keeper to beat, and he threw himself to the ground, holding his face.

Thomson gave the foul, obviously

supermcginn
Desperately need more quality in midfield and a partner for kamberi that can hold the ball up.

Kind of makes of for Rangers robbery at Easter Road last season

What happened?

flo was passed Goldston and would have been in on goal, his arm was up and goldston knew he was the last man so used it to his advantage and fell down like a little girl...it was cheating pure and simple

Mcpakeisgod
Never really turned up but I'll take it

19-12-2018, 08:43 PM
Should have been booked for simulation and then booked again for getting involved with Slivka.
Knew he was beat, played for the foul.

Weegreenman

.......and Bogdan :aok:

That was pretty brutal to watch in all honestly ...all our midfielders were abysmal. Mallan is particular utterly awful I don't think he found a Hibs player all night. Slivka and Hyndman not much better tbh and Boyle done nothing other than give the ball away constantly when he came on.

Still I will take a battling point and move on to Sat

noz
McGregor is going off with cleaner gloves than he started with

😬

We had plenty of fight tonight but we’re woefully short of quality in midfield and attack.

Decent in the second half but scratching my head at the subs. Shaw looks most likely and subbed. Desperately need energy and bring Milligan on. Mallan looked burst and plays the 90. Good point though and much better December so far than I thought it would be

Kamberi beat him to the ball to go clear, with only the keeper to beat, and he threw himself to the ground, holding his face.

Thomson gave the foul, obviously

I will say it again, NOT incompetence, it's plain cheating

-Jonesy-

Slivka and goldston contested for a header, slivkas hand was up and goldston went down like he’d been hit with a bullet, neither player won the header and the ball bounced through to Kamberi clean through...when he ran 10 yards to goal the ref got the call to blow the whistle before he could nick a winner

#notinmylodge

19-12-2018, 08:44 PM
Poor performance but a great result considering the way the game played out. Bogdan was superb.

Well done Hibs, not the best performance but we dug in and gained a point we didn't deserve. :top marks

Decent in the second half but scratching my head at the subs. Shaw looks most likely and subbed. Desperately need energy and bring Milligan on. Mallan looked burst and plays the 90. Good point though and much better December so far than I thought it would beShaw missed 2 sitters mate...really gotta be hitting the target with those

Weegreenman
19-12-2018, 08:45 PM
Desperately need more quality in midfield and a partner for kamberi that can hold the ball up.

This :aok:

We played quite poorly in the second half, with no real overlapping from whittaker at right back to help out Slivka, we played far too many stray passes.

Efe though 10/10 MoM again.

Well done Hibs, not the best performance but we dug in and gained a point we didn't deserve. :top marks

Changed days indeed

19-12-2018, 08:46 PM
Lucky but sometimes you create your own luck.

A gentle reminder that Ryan Porteous is 19 year old.

A teenager. What a player we have on our hands here. Future international captain no doubt about it.

2 MOTM performances in a row against the best the league has to offer

Slivka and goldston contested for a header, slivkas hand was up and goldston went down like he’d been hit with a bullet, neither player won the header and the ball bounced through to Kamberi clean through...when he ran 10 yards to goal the ref got the call to blow the whistle before he could nick a winner

#notinmylodge

Was Kamberi who went for the header

19-12-2018, 08:47 PM
Great point all things considered

Almost certain Thomson shat that tho

He wasnt sure...and only blew after kamberi was through in goal....definitely bottled it

Mind rangers probably sldve had a penalty too

murray26
19-12-2018, 08:48 PM
We stole a point there but it’s nice to get a wee bit luck for a change.. I don’t think anyone would have complained about 4 points from the past 2 games..

19-12-2018, 08:48 PM
Shaw missed 2 sitters mate...really gotta be hitting the target with those

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk he looked like scoring and was the only one that did

Northern Hibby
19-12-2018, 08:49 PM

#notinmylodge

He was up sharpish for a fight though!!!

19-12-2018, 08:50 PM
Also shoutout to Adam Bogdan, Alfredo Morelos and Craig Thomson for keeping us in it tonight. Cheers lads

19-12-2018, 08:51 PM
He was up sharpish for a fight though!!!

He objected quite fiercely to his obvious cheating.

19-12-2018, 08:51 PM
Also shoutout to Adam Bogdan, Alfredo Morelos and Craig Thomson for keeping us in it tonight. Cheers lads

If Thomson hadn't shat it at the end, we would have won.

19-12-2018, 08:53 PM
I will say it again, NOT incompetence, it's plain cheating

Exactly.....he's a cheating ****

19-12-2018, 08:53 PM
Beat Livi and it'll be a fantastic 7 days

19-12-2018, 08:54 PM
If Thomson hadn't shat it at the end, we would have won.

He would still have had to beat the keeper and we didn't look like doing so all night

Northern Hibby
19-12-2018, 08:54 PM
What's the difference between Scott Brown's tackle and Porteous's

Brown's tackle "he was trying to galvanise his team"

Porteous's tackle "Rash and showed how much he has to learn"

19-12-2018, 08:56 PM

Craigan tickled me when he said how Ambrose had been made to look average tonight.

19-12-2018, 08:57 PM
Porteous was very good again but that was a red card all day!

19-12-2018, 08:58 PM
Point gained , poor performance, great from the fans and defence 👍

MartinfaePorty
19-12-2018, 09:00 PM
Porteous was very good again but that was a red card all day!Disagree. Bad challenge but not a red

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Gerrard's post match interview saying the panel needs to look at Ryans tackle . If it had been a The Rangers player they would have been sent off.

Huge game now. Won’t be easy, don’t think anyone has had an easy time of it against them this season and we’ve struggled at home against the smaller teams.

K.Marx
Craigan tickled me when he said how Ambrose had been made to look average tonight.

His shouts were getting more desperate as the game went on

Gloucester Hibs

Yep, as a bonus we would probably go above the ****bos too.

19-12-2018, 09:02 PM
Gerrard's post match interview saying the panel needs to look at Ryans tackle . If it had been a The Rangers player they would have been sent off.

Thought he got booked for it?

19-12-2018, 09:03 PM

He was booked was he not. Ref dealt with it so nothing that the panel can do.

19-12-2018, 09:03 PM

He did but I think they’ve changed it this year so it can still be looked at :dunno:

19-12-2018, 09:04 PM

Would be great but we'll have to play better at the weekend, as they're a real challenge to play against.

Fingers crossed, though.

19-12-2018, 09:05 PM
Huns penalty shout - I will need to see it again. Was it a pen?

19-12-2018, 09:05 PM
The **** cheek of Jack aswell having a pop. Comical. He loves a rash challenge.

He also has that angry scrawny Hun look. Yes I’m not a fan :greengrin

19-12-2018, 09:06 PM

Yes he was booked, Gerrard trying to stir it up stating if that was one of his own players they would have been sent off for that challenge. :rolleyes:

19-12-2018, 09:11 PM
Yes he was booked, Gerrard trying to stir it up stating if that was one of his own players they would have been sent off for that challenge. :rolleyes:

Is that not the sort of thing that he could get pulled up for? Clearly stating he feels the refs are biased against his team.

Ah wait. He’s the huns manager. Nevermind.

19-12-2018, 09:12 PM

I'm afraid so.....stuck his arm out

Northern Hibby
Porteous was very good again but that was a red card all day!

I agree, it's just the commentators that bug me rash and immature, but Brown was just showing his frustration and trying to galvanise his team!!!

Pretty rubbish tonight but a good point, does that mean if we beat Livi and hertz get beat by the sheep we jump above them in the league?

19-12-2018, 09:13 PM

Did it not hit his shoulder though?

Gloucester Hibs
19-12-2018, 09:13 PM

I’d say so. Milligan tried to make it look like it came off his chest but was defo off his arm. ***** em! Cancels out the Kamberi foul at the end

19-12-2018, 09:14 PM
Did it not hit his shoulder though?

19-12-2018, 09:16 PM
Craigan said when the ball ricocheted of Lennons face. I bet a few folk would liked to have done that.

Disgracefull.

19-12-2018, 09:16 PM

Definite penalty but how Goldson got away with getting a free kick off a Flo fend off is baffling. Would have been an undeserved win but him and Coulibaly are cheats - I think that was on Porto’s mind when he halved him too.

19-12-2018, 09:17 PM
Think he was talking about TV panel.

Mantis Toboggan
19-12-2018, 09:18 PM
Stephen Craigan is an absolute moron. That is all.

19-12-2018, 09:21 PM
Craigan said when the ball ricocheted of Lennons face. I bet a few folk would liked to have done that.

Disgracefull.

Craigan is a Hun apologist. Arse of a man

19-12-2018, 09:22 PM
Poor performance, good point.

We’d all have taken four points from those two games I think.

The diamond didn’t work tonight. In saying that, you could have played any shape you wanted and it wouldn’t have worked when the players couldn’t pass it 10 yards at times.

19-12-2018, 09:22 PM
Stephen Craigan is an absolute moron. That is all.

Aye, and is shouting all the time a Northern Irish thing? He's like Ian Paisley - bellows every time he speaks. :greengrin

19-12-2018, 09:23 PM
Not a great performance but it's a point, thought we were 2nd best all over the park except from Efe and Porteous, some players looked a bit leggy and you can see what having a weaker squad means when we can't really freshen it up too much.

19-12-2018, 09:23 PM
Aye, and is shouting all the time a Northern Irish thing? He's like Ian Paisley - bellows every time he speaks. :greengrin

Sure it is !!

19-12-2018, 09:24 PM

Brown goes thro the man

Coulibaly hurdles over porteous

I could’ve been given a red, off that theres no argument

Gerard said no pen as hit his shoulder

19-12-2018, 09:27 PM
Not a great performance but it's a point, thought we were 2nd best all over the park except from Efe and Porteous, some players looked a bit leggy and you can see what having a weaker squad means when we can't really freshen it up too much.

We need SDG back as soon as possible to get us up that side of the pitch. There was a moment late second half when Slivka manoeuvred into a great position and looked to the right and Whitty was nowhere to be seen - acres of space to work the ball into as well.

The Rangers exposed our full backs so for me this needs properly addressed in the summer window - we need two athletic full backs with some degree of pace.

19-12-2018, 09:30 PM
We need SDG back as soon as possible to get us up that side of the pitch. There was a moment late second half when Slivka manoeuvred into a great position and looked to the right and Whitty was nowhere to be seen - acres of space to work the ball into as well.

The Rangers exposed our full backs so for me this needs properly addressed in the summer window - we need two athletic full backs with some degree of pace.

Or we get a midfield that gives them some cover, Boyle on the right and a left winger, we don't need 2 up top to win games, Celtic score for fun most games with one striker.

19-12-2018, 09:32 PM
Or we get a midfield that gives them some cover, Boyle on the right and a left winger, we don't need 2 up top to win games, Celtic score for fun most games with one striker.

Absolutely this.

Whittaker was trying to cover two men most of the time tonight as he had next to no support.

I’m not so sure getting a point tonight was a result of us digging in, I’d say it was more down to rangers’ awful finishing. Really could’ve been horsed 3 or 4-0 tonight and not complained. Such a poor drop in tempo & awareness from Sunday

Totally agree JC - midfield were so off it tonight it was at times schoolboy stuff. Disappointed in Flo tonight too - he needs to work on his hold up play and not giving up on loose balls when it doesn’t come off.

19-12-2018, 09:33 PM
Better not play like that next Wednesday or it will be a 4-0 trouncing

19-12-2018, 09:37 PM
First 20 minutes was fine then they pressed up on us and our midfield couldn’t cope. Wasn’t a lack of effort, we just didn’t have the players who could impose themselves. That said, Shaw missed two great chances. Would have been undeserved. The diving and cheating of their players was scandalous. Morellos dive should have been a yellow.

Still, 7 points from the last 3 games is a good return given our previous form.

19-12-2018, 09:38 PM

Just seen it on a replay. Wtf was Milligan thinking?

19-12-2018, 09:39 PM
I’m not so sure getting a point tonight was a result of us digging in, I’d say it was more down to rangers’ awful finishing. Really could’ve been horsed 3 or 4-0 tonight and not complained. Such a poor drop in tempo & awareness from Sunday

Makes a pleasant change to our usual draws at ER where the opposition mug us by taking the only chance they get in the game. In St Mirren's case, I wouldn't even class their 2 goals as chances. Great point tonight.

19-12-2018, 09:42 PM

Exactly what I said !

19-12-2018, 09:46 PM
Makes a pleasant change to our usual draws at ER where the opposition mug us by taking the only chance they get in the game. In St Mirren's case, I wouldn't even class their 2 goals as chances. Great point tonight.

Agree. No point in being too disappointed about that tonight as it’s a good return from the last two games.

Take the point and move on to Saturday. Team needs freshened up a bit.

19-12-2018, 09:59 PM

There was some heroic defending tonight but most of their chances were down to poor play from us. We missed a couple as well when we should at least have worked McGregor.

19-12-2018, 10:01 PM

He had a split second to decide whether or not to stick whatever part of his body he could in front of a ball that had been thumped towards our goal at pace?

It's easy to criticise when you've had time to see a replay from a few different angles and decide what should have been done.

Instinct works differently, but there is no doubt he/ we were lucky to get away with that one.

19-12-2018, 10:03 PM
He had a split second to decide whether or not to stick whatever part of his body he could in front of a ball that had been thumped towards our goal at pace?

It's easy to criticise when you've had time to see a replay from a few different angles and decide what should have been done.

Instinct works differently, but there is no doubt he/ we were lucky to get away with that one.
I don’t think any player should be sticking his elbow out towards any ball thats travelling towards him in the box.

19-12-2018, 10:10 PM

I think Whittaker was injured and was trying not to get on the ball in the final 20 minutes including on that occasion.

19-12-2018, 10:11 PM
I don’t think any player should be sticking his elbow out towards any ball thats travelling towards him in the box.

No, he shouldn't, but I don't think making a wrong split-second judgment call to block a powerful shot coming at you like that is a mistake that falls into the unforgivable bracket.

On the other hand, he lets the shot go, or gets out the way of it and it ends up flying into the top corner........

19-12-2018, 10:18 PM

That is a ridiculous statement.
Ambrose was under massive pressure all night and cleared the ball over and over again.
He is our top player week after week after week.

19-12-2018, 10:18 PM
I thought at half time Boyle should have come on for Shaw and went 5 across the middle. We were being overrun in there. We never stopped the flow of the game against us as a result

Happy with a point though

19-12-2018, 10:21 PM

Craigan? The guy who was the absolute definition of average (or even below average) and could only dream that he was half the player Efe is.

19-12-2018, 10:23 PM
I think Whittaker was injured and was trying not to get on the ball in the final 20 minutes including on that occasion.

Possibly bud, but for me he was exposed a few times second half and was probably in two minds to get up the pitch.

Actually surprised Lennon didn't take a wee chance last 20 and sub Whittaker, put Mackie on at LB given he is on a high and can get up the pitch, and switch Stevenson to right back (rather than play/sub Boyle) and at least Lewy has energy to get up the pitch. However the game was very finely poised so that's me being pernickety. The point was good, felt like a 'win' given the chances they spurned, but there is no doubt we need to up our game v Livingston as they are on a wee high themselves and won't be easy to beat. They'll be up for it.

I'm a fan of Whittaker, just thought the 2 games caught up with him tonight - gave 100% as usual though which no one can dispute. :aok:

19-12-2018, 10:35 PM

Gerard wants Porteous out for our game next week. He knows Porteous bosses his players. Maybe the panel should look at Morelos spitting?

hhibs
19-12-2018, 10:42 PM
Gerard wants Porteous out for our game next week. He knows Porteous bosses his players. Maybe the panel should look at Morelos spitting?

Can the panel do that though,he was booked for it so thought no further action could be taken ??

19-12-2018, 10:48 PM
That is a ridiculous statement.
Ambrose was under massive pressure all night and cleared the ball over and over again.
He is our top player week after week after week.

He made some fantastic blocks too especially first half.

19-12-2018, 10:50 PM
Can the panel do that though,he was booked for it so thought no further action could be taken ??

Yes it seems they can. There has at least one incident where a yellow has been retrospectively changed to red. Was it not the Killi player that went over the ball. Booked st the time but given a red by the compliance officer after it was referred.

19-12-2018, 11:01 PM
Any links to footage of the controversial incidents?

CLASS OF 72 -73
19-12-2018, 11:02 PM
We should have been pumped tonight by at least 6. Our midfield in particular were woeful but seven points out of nine we will take it. Mallan, Slivka and Hydnman are becoming one trick pony's so midfield needs sorted. Everyone bar Stevenson and Bogdan were pretty shocking compared to their performances on Sunday.

19-12-2018, 11:11 PM
Yes it seems they can. There has at least one incident where a yellow has been retrospectively changed to red. Was it not the Killi player that went over the ball. Booked st the time but given a red by the compliance officer after it was referred.

The tackle wasn’t as nearly as bad a Browns

If thats no getting looked at, neither is This one

Scotty Leither
19-12-2018, 11:15 PM
My tuppence worth...I thought they played like we played against their mates on Sunday.

They pressed high up the park and nullified us in the middle, unlike Celtic who let us play.

Sevco are combative and fitter than they were previously and for that you've got to give them some grudging praise I suppose.

A point was decent reward for a good defensive display though, and we might have snatched it in the last minute if Thomson had let play go instead of ****ting himself and calling a foul to Sevco rather than allowing Kamberi a run in on goal.

We are still crying out for a bit of guile and genuine quality in the middle of the park however, and I really hope we address that in January and get some business done, and done early in the window too.

20-12-2018, 06:01 AM
Shock/Horror - BBC-Scot highlights don't include Kamberi's last-minute chance. Probably wanting to be seen as neutral in the debate over Craig Thomson that's split into 2 camps these days - (1) incredibly inept or (2) bent ??

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46533795

(apologis if already posted)