View Full Version : Well done Neil Lennon

16-12-2018, 02:40 PM
Took a lot of stick on here lately (a lot from me). Happy to be proved wrong. Team was immense today. Great tactics and pressing. Hopefully we can keep it up with more big games coming.

16-12-2018, 02:41 PM
The bar has been set 👍

16-12-2018, 02:41 PM
Been a critic too recently but great performance today. If we can get a result against the evil huns the feel good factor will be back.

16-12-2018, 02:42 PM
In Neil we trust. Never doubted the man.

16-12-2018, 02:43 PM
He was the right man to lift this team out of a bad spell. A few big games between now and new year then bring in a few more players we could have another great season

Bangkok Hibby
16-12-2018, 02:47 PM

Gutted at the negativity towards Lennon and the team recently but thats the nature of football. Fans must be able to vent even if prematurely. Two wins will now hopefully return confidence to our talented side.

HibeeHibernian4
16-12-2018, 02:48 PM
Yep, will hold my hands up, I didn't think he would be able to turn it around but delighted to proved wrong. Onwards and upwards.

Gutted at the negativity towards Lennon and the team recently but thats the nature of football. Fans must be able to vent even if prematurely. Two wins will now hopefully return confidence to our talented side.[emoji106]

Lennon interview coming up.

16-12-2018, 02:50 PM
Best response is action.

WillowbraeHibby
16-12-2018, 02:52 PM
He was the right man to lift this team out of a bad spell. A few big games between now and new year then bring in a few more players we could have another great season

Scott Alan would be good for a start, and another striker hopefully?

16-12-2018, 02:58 PM
Lennon spoke well. Made the point that players, singling out Kamberi, can’t save their best for the big games and thinks we press on from here back into the top six.

16-12-2018, 03:11 PM
This thread can be specifically for you pessimistic moaners out there. Keep it as an echo chamber where you can just moan and greet. No wonder you lot are getting the piss rinsed out you on social media.

16-12-2018, 03:15 PM
I didn't want him to go, but I thought he'd lost the dressing room and we all know how that turns out.

The performance shown today shows that either that was bollocks or he's got it back. Well done Lennon. Stay as long as you want. :aok:

16-12-2018, 03:20 PM
Amazing result. I hope that's a marker for the kind of performances we'll be seeing from now on. I don't want to be negative on a brilliant day for the club but it makes the line up versus Killie even more bizarre.

Let's get the team playing attacking football with players pressing hard and looking to push on when we get the ball.

16-12-2018, 03:21 PM
Thought we would seriously toil today and predicted a pumping when I saw the team.

Delighted to be wrong.

16-12-2018, 03:21 PM
People wanted Lennon out the door 😂

16-12-2018, 03:23 PM
Yup I was a critic too so eating a large slice of humble pie right now and am delighted to do so, that was outstanding today from start to finish. But as he said himself after the game it makes him angry at how poor we've been for 2 months when we can go and produce a performance like that...so the criticism levelled at him and the team was justified.

16-12-2018, 03:25 PM
Lennons team had a dip in form, his first dip in form since arriving at the club. There were idiots waiting for this dip in form to slaughter him and the team, couldnt wait to dig both out.

He's practically having to build another team through injuries and players leaving, but the first dip in form he's being hounded out.

Ridiculous.

Well done Hibs, well done Lennon and his backroom staff, i'm glad you are staying and held your nerve a lot better than some i could mention. :top marks

16-12-2018, 03:26 PM

Absolutely sumptuous. A period of quiet self reflection from some of our dafter posters is in order.

16-12-2018, 03:28 PM
I posted similar, but worth repeating on here.

Team selection and tactics were fantastic, as well as the performance.

16-12-2018, 03:29 PM
Hat off to the management and players today who played fantastically and motivated for 90 mins.

16-12-2018, 03:30 PM

Yep, let’s start ripping other fans after the biggest win of the season.

16-12-2018, 03:30 PM
I think he realises himself how poor performances have been. That team played like a team that wanted and needed to do well. That has been lacking for most of the season and while Lennon deserves great credit for learning from Parkhead in terms of shape and putting right the disgraceful performances of the last few months in terms of effort there are still questions to answer on some of the formation choices and the lack lustre performances. It looks like he has the dressing room behind him so that is the biggest question answered. He just needs to make sure that players like Mallan, Horgan, Hyndman and Flo know that the level of work rate today is what is expected every game. That has been nowhere near the case this season so far. The players need to shoulder a big bit of the blame there but as manager he has to have a look to see why they have lacked motivation because a big part of his job is getting the players playing for the jersey..

16-12-2018, 03:33 PM

Better than ripping into our team when going through a sticky spell and needed support.

Did you read some of the stuff written? They deserve to be called out for being so very wrong.

16-12-2018, 03:34 PM
What i think is brilliant about Lennon, there's no excuses, we've been crap, we've not in my opinion given everything, and Lennon has told them in no uncertain terms that its not good enough.

Even after the game today, he's told Kamberi that its not good enough turning up against Celtic, he needs to start doing it every week.

No players are allowed to rest on their laurels, and i agree with Lennon telling them this.

16-12-2018, 03:37 PM
We won't win every week, some people need to get realistic. We are very fortunate to have Neil Lennon. The stupid negativity and threads calling for his head were madness and frankly embarrassing. He's proven himself too many times to be tagged with that rubbish after a few bad results!

C'mon the Hibees and let's all do the Lenny!

16-12-2018, 03:37 PM
Better than ripping into our team when going through a sticky spell and needed support.

Did you read some of the stuff written? They deserve to be called out for being so very wrong.

Think we should just unite and get behind everyone at the club now there’s a lot of renewed optimism for the season ahead. I personally though this season was a bit of a lost cause but there’s a lot of ground for optimism again now. Weds night is massive now. Go a point behind hertz going into the derby would be some turnaround. I’ll swap a point with Dundee for a win today any day of the week.

16-12-2018, 03:38 PM

Yup. Like to dish it out, not so keen on getting it back.

16-12-2018, 03:38 PM

Exactly, some of the garbage written on here recently has been laughable, rather than getting behind the team we have people wanting Lennon gone, claims that he lost the dressing room, him and Parker aren't interested and working their ticket out.

16-12-2018, 04:03 PM

Ripping you specifically.

16-12-2018, 04:05 PM
Ripping you specifically.

Water off a ducks back when my team pump the best team in the country so it’s wasted Paco lad 👍

16-12-2018, 04:13 PM
Water off a ducks back when my team pump the best team in the country so it’s wasted Paco lad 👍

Yup it's flowing into your pisspot of negativety. You'll pop again after a defeat with more gruelling pessimism.

16-12-2018, 04:18 PM
So next time we have a crap result and you want to call for Lennon’s head how about just remembering games like today?

Fantastic performance from everyone concerned. A repeat on Wednesday will be lovely.

16-12-2018, 04:21 PM

:top marksIt’s nice being able to say that without being a hypocrite.

16-12-2018, 04:23 PM
So next time we have a crap result and you want to call for Lennon’s head how about just remembering games like today?

Fantastic performance from everyone concerned. A repeat on Wednesday will be lovely.

To be fair, it wasn’t “a crap result” it was 7 crap results AND performances. If we get another 7 of them in a row then today won’t be much consolation.

Hopefully we can kick on from here as we were excellent today :aok:

16-12-2018, 04:24 PM
:top marksIt’s nice being able to say that without being a hypocrite.Aye. One of my very few consistencies. [emoji6]

16-12-2018, 04:34 PM
To be fair, it wasn’t “a crap result” it was 7 crap results AND performances. If we get another 7 of them in a row then today won’t be much consolation.

Yes and that isn't good enough for any Hibernian manager however it's been a remarkable response.

16-12-2018, 04:35 PM
Yes and that isn't good enough for any Hibernian manager however it's been a remarkable response.

Absolutely, two great results the last week.

16-12-2018, 04:36 PM
I will admit I was one of the "doubters" however if he can pull that kind of a result v the strongest squad in the league, it cannae be that bad.

Presume the dressing room is not lost then!!

16-12-2018, 04:40 PM
Yup it's flowing into your pisspot of negativety. You'll pop again after a defeat with more gruelling pessimism.

Unlike the complete optimism I’m full of this evening? 😂😂

16-12-2018, 04:41 PM

It wasn’t one crap result. It was a period of pish and I never once called for the managers head. I’ve no idea what stuff like this trying to achieve apart from continued sniping between sets of support.

16-12-2018, 04:42 PM

Yep. Roll on Weds.

16-12-2018, 04:43 PM
Our first dip in form under Lennon, and there were nutters calling for his head, utter madness. :confused:

16-12-2018, 04:51 PM

yup....some far to quick to write him off...but that’s football fans for ye. One week he’s the best ever, we slump..sack him

Hopefully same again on Wednesday!

16-12-2018, 04:56 PM
Are threads like these and some of the posts on them not just as knee jerk as the ones questioning Lennon’s position after the run we were on?

Just as 7 poor results and performances didn’t make us a bad team, 2 wins on the bounce doesn’t mean we’ve turned the corner. We’re still 8th, but the signs of the last two games, and particularly today, are encouraging and plenty of time left to see if we can finish where we need to by the end of the season.

Souter96Mac
16-12-2018, 05:00 PM
This result was massive today. We've got 4 huge games left in December, and from today's performance, there's no reason why we can't be looking to win all 4. It's a tough ask, but today will really give players the belief that they can.

16-12-2018, 05:05 PM
So all the facts about him losing the dressing room combined with his “health issues” don’t apply today cause we won?

If we lose on Wednesday it’s cause he’s ill again and shouted at some players who then took the huff?

At least we know where we stand eh :rolleyes:

16-12-2018, 05:17 PM
I will admit I was one of the "doubters" however if he can pull that kind of a result v the strongest squad in the league, it cannae be that bad.

Presume the dressing room is not lost then!!

Doubter because we went through a sticky spell? Jumping the guns comes to mind. The comments were pathetic regarding Lennon during that patch.

16-12-2018, 05:19 PM
Doubter because we went through a sticky spell? Jumping the guns comes to mind. The comments were pathetic regarding Lennon during that patch.

Do you ever post about football or is it just always about other posters? :confused:

16-12-2018, 05:23 PM
It wasn’t one crap result. It was a period of pish and I never once called for the managers head. I’ve no idea what stuff like this trying to achieve apart from continued sniping between sets of support.

I’m saying if we have a crap result, let’s say on Wednesday night, then instead of jumping on here and talking crap about Lennon’s health and all other nonsense, just think back to today and how you feel, before posting.

I wasn’t talking about you earlier, or now.

What two sets of support?

16-12-2018, 05:23 PM
Our first dip in form under Lennon, and there were nutters calling for his head, utter madness. :confused:

Laughable to be calling for his head.

16-12-2018, 05:24 PM
Do you ever post about football or is it just always about other posters? :confused:

Mostly I post to counteract Muppets like yourself. Some of the threads on this place are truly bull****. Some poster using a bloody poll on this place as evidence a lot of our fans wanted Lennon out. We have all got a rite to our opinion but some of them need questioned.

16-12-2018, 05:25 PM
Mostly I post to counteract Muppets like yourself. Some of the threads on this place are truly bull****. Some poster using a bloody poll on this place as evidence a lot of our fans wanted Lennon out. We have all got a rite to our opinion but some of them need questioned.

So you only post to abuse other posters as I thought. :aok:

16-12-2018, 05:28 PM
So you only post to abuse other posters as I thought. :aok:

Please do take offence. Maybe reflect at the same time.

16-12-2018, 05:29 PM
Please do take offence. Maybe reflect at the same time.

A noble crusade Paco. Would be interesting to here your thoughts on the football one day.

Kavinho
16-12-2018, 05:30 PM
Think we should just unite and get behind everyone at the club now there’s a lot of renewed optimism for the season ahead. I personally though this season was a bit of a lost cause but there’s a lot of ground for optimism again now. Weds night is massive now. Go a point behind hertz going into the derby would be some turnaround. I’ll swap a point with Dundee for a win today any day of the week.

Try hard and remember your own advice over the rest of the season. I’m certain we won’t go undefeated from here on out, so you’ll have a chance to stand by your words.

16-12-2018, 05:31 PM
A noble crusade Paco. Would be interesting to here your thoughts on the football one day.

Do you still want him sacked?

Johnny Clash
16-12-2018, 05:32 PM
I sometimes thinks it’s just as well Lenny doesn’t read fans forums even when he’s getting adulation. Folk can be fickle and want to let off steam or share their exuberance. That’s fittbaw! . I’ve always thought we are hugely fortunate to have such a quality manager and I hope he stays with us for many years to come.

16-12-2018, 05:33 PM

I comment regularly on our football, said it many a time I thought one of the reasons for our poor results of lait were due to our slow transition from defence to attack. Complete opposite today and we pumped Celtic.

16-12-2018, 05:38 PM

Jesus.
I thought you were watching in Munich? Is it really that ***** you’ve nowt better to do?

16-12-2018, 05:41 PM
Jesus.
I thought you were watching in Munich? Is it really that ***** you’ve nowt better to do?

I wasn’t, i was at the game. My brothers in Munich :greengrin

16-12-2018, 05:41 PM
Lennon made a big play on the boy band mentality of Hibs when he took charge. Playing in the big games and not the lower profile ones will not bring success.

I think criticism of the team (and to a lesser degree Lennon) was justified and I don’t regret my contribution to that collective vibe.

BUT those suggesting he should leave were fools with a poor grasp of club history.

16-12-2018, 05:43 PM
I wasn’t, i was at the game. My brothers in Munich :greengrin

You should’ve gone with him for a wee bit respite.

16-12-2018, 05:44 PM

I’ll pass, going once to Germany was enough for me.

16-12-2018, 05:48 PM
I’ll pass, going once to Germany was enough for me.

Speaks volumes.

16-12-2018, 05:56 PM
BUT those suggesting he should leave were fools with a poor grasp of club history.

I disagree with that.

Lennon is a winner. His teams win. What good is a winner who isn't getting results from his team?

Some of our results have been shocking. Not just the results but the performances. People that accept that are the real fools. They aren't even in tune with the man they are backing if they are NOT asking questions after such performances and results.

We have to expect more from our team. We have to hold Lennon to the standards he himself demands. When he eventually leaves his legacy should be those very same standards. No more boy band. European contention over relegation.

If we don't think we are worth that then Lennon's message has been missed.

16-12-2018, 06:00 PM
Speaks volumes.

Aye of course... :confused:

16-12-2018, 06:03 PM
Lennons interview says it all from praising the performance today, to the extent of his frustration that he hasn't been getting near that performance or attitude from them, he is exactly right they have been short changing us all. His reflecting that literally it means very little if it's not going to be continued/followed up, we need to see who turns up on Wednesday, then Saturday and then the following week and so on !!
The players set new standards today and expectations, that Lennon will rightly demand ...he got it very right today and the players delivered ..GGTTH

16-12-2018, 06:05 PM
I disagree with that.

Lennon is a winner. His teams win. What good is a winner who isn't getting results from his team?

Some of our results have been shocking. Not just the results but the performances. People that accept that are the real fools. They aren't even in tune with the man they are backing if they are NOT asking questions after such performances and results.

We have to expect more from our team. We have to hold Lennon to the standards he himself demands. When he eventually leaves his legacy should be those very same standards. No more boy band. European contention over relegation.

There are people who wanted him sacked a week ago and now seemingly no longer do because we've won two games. Next time there are folk being hysterical and calling for the manager to be sacked it will be good to remember that they're potentially only two matches away from changing their minds. Hopefully they will act with a bit more restraint next time we have a dip in form.

One home defeat in 2018 :flag:

16-12-2018, 06:08 PM
I’m saying if we have a crap result, let’s say on Wednesday night, then instead of jumping on here and talking crap about Lennon’s health and all other nonsense, just think back to today and how you feel, before posting.

I wasn’t talking about you earlier, or now.

What two sets of support?

Sorry I wasn’t directly replying to you mate and for what it’s worth I completely agree. If it goes bad on Weds I will move on because today showed shape and A plan which was implemented fantastically.

There seems to be a group on here especially that take personal offence to anything negative said about management regardless of the run and even in victory look to cause arguments even if others who have been critical have praised the manager etc. Any concerns by posters or supporters isn’t kneee jerk after 6 or 7 games it’s because people love the clu. They are concerned. I’ll never understand the mentality of winning a match then looking to get it up other fellow fans who may not share similar views.

16-12-2018, 06:10 PM

You’re actively seeking confrontation with fellow fans after we’ve pumped the champions.

That more than anything speaks volumes.

16-12-2018, 06:11 PM
Sorry I wasn’t directly replying to you mate and for what it’s worth I completely agree. If it goes bad on Weds I will move on because today showed shape and A plan which was implemented fantastically.

There seems to be a group on here especially that take personal offence to anything negative said about management regardless of the run and even in victory look to cause arguments even if others who have been critical have praised the manager etc. Any concerns by posters or supporters isn’t kneee jerk after 6 or 7 games it’s because people love the clu. They are concerned. I’ll never understand the mentality of winning a match then looking to get it up other fellow fans who may not share similar views.

I will never understand the mentality of wanting the manager sacked after his first slump in results?

16-12-2018, 06:12 PM
You’re actively seeking confrontation with fellow fans after we’ve pumped the champions.

Very strange and not the only one. The result only seems to be relevant for a few because it allows them to try and instigate an arguement on the internet rather than because it was actually a great result.

16-12-2018, 06:13 PM
Never doubted Lenny for a second.

There are people who wanted him sacked a week ago and now seemingly no longer do because we've won two games. Next time there are folk being hysterical and calling for the manager to be sacked it will be good to remember that they're potentially only two matches away from changing their minds. Hopefully they will act with a bit more restraint next time we have a dip in form.

One home defeat in 2018 :flag:

I didn't want him sacked but I think those that did mostly cited him losing the dressing room. That clearly isn't the case after watching the fine performance today but there aren't many managers who come back from that.

Given his frustration after the game he knows that there have been quite a few players not applying themselves as they should. That of course is primarily the players fault but he needs to look and see if he was at fault too. The constant changing of formations and personnel and the threats to leave after a bad result must have some effect on players. Most on here call Lennon a winner. I think he is a bad loser which may be the same thing. The problem is that winners or bad losers need to earn their corn when they aren't winning. His team didn't do that for around a quarter of a season so he needs to make sure today's performance is not a one off. It is in the context of the last 10 games or so.

I will never understand the mentality of wanting the manager sacked after his first slump in results?

Have you got a list of posters who said that? I can’t recall many saying so. We did have a similar although not as bad slump in the championship around November time and last year before Xmas. The run we where on was very concerning. I’m not sure why people couldn’t be concerned about that?

16-12-2018, 06:16 PM

A point behind them?? I’m looking at us being 2 points ahead of them at this time next week

16-12-2018, 06:20 PM
Jeez, some people on here are crazy.

Can't you just enjoy the win??

16-12-2018, 06:25 PM

Actively criticising you and callum. Fair doos you still have the gumption to say your thoughts 👍

16-12-2018, 06:28 PM
Jeez, some people on here are crazy.

Can't you just enjoy the win??

Can't you just enjoy the win? What you worrying about the crazy folk for? Enjoy the win.

16-12-2018, 06:29 PM
Look today's result IMO was well on the cards. It's our own fault we are off the pace in the league. I fear no team in this league except ourselves, there is no reason to not go on and beat The Rangers and start climbing.

Brilliant stuff today.

16-12-2018, 06:30 PM
Hibernian 2 - 0 Celtic

Is that not enough?

16-12-2018, 06:33 PM
I disagree with that.

I think this is bang on. Calling for him to get sacked was premature imo but he deserved criticism. I noticed in his post game remarks he was talked about how poor we were against Kilmarnock but the team he set out that day was terrible. That was not a team designed to win, something Parker himself admitted after the game.

Many fans overreacted but the manager needs to be under scrutiny at our club our size after our recent run of results.

16-12-2018, 06:37 PM
I think this is bang on. Calling for him to get sacked was premature imo but he deserved criticism. I noticed in his post game remarks he was talked about how poor we were against Kilmarnock but the team he set out that day was terrible. That was not a team designed to win, something Parker himself admitted after the game.

Many fans overreacted but the manager needs to be under scrutiny at our club our size after our recent run of results.

Not one person will disagree with that. The criticism was hysterical with some people though, way over the top and some of it was personal, viscous and completely uncalled for.

highland hibbee
16-12-2018, 06:39 PM
[QUOTE=One Day Soon;5631531]Absolutely sumptuous. A period of quiet self reflection from some of our dafter posters is in order.[/QUOTE

Neil Lennon is the best manager that we could have. Out of interest , his record against Celtic must be the best of any Hibs manager in te last 40 years ?

16-12-2018, 06:48 PM

Very strange and not the only one. The result only seems to be relevant for a few because it allows them to try and instigate an arguement on the internet rather than because it was actually a great result.

Well, you've been critical of Lennon for weeks and I'm pretty sure you wanted him gone....so I think it's natural for fans who didn't throw in the towel after an admittedly bad run to come back on that.

16-12-2018, 06:53 PM
Well, you've been critical of Lennon for weeks and I'm pretty sure you wanted him gone....so I think it's natural for fans who didn't throw in the towel after an admittedly bad run to come back on that.

Natural for their first instinct after a good win to be to go online and try and start arguements rather than celebrate/discuss what was a great win and performance for us?I’ve even had a poster have a dig at me for having no desire to go back on holiday to Germany, apparently it speaks volumes about me. That’s how desperate some people have been to start arguements 😂. Seem strange to me but hey ho.

16-12-2018, 06:56 PM

I replied to his (pretty miserable) post. Isn’t that how this whole thing works man? Read the bloody thread.

16-12-2018, 07:00 PM
Natural for their first instinct after a good win to be to go online and try and start arguements rather than celebrate/discuss what was a great win and performance for us?I’ve even had a poster have a dig at me for having no desire to go back on holiday to Germany, apparently it speaks volumes about me. That’s how desperate some people have been to start arguements 😂. Seem strange to me but hey ho.

Who knows?....not my first instinct, but if you post negative stuff for weeks calling for the managers head hardly surprising to be called out on it. It's all about opinions and how the board works pretty much.

16-12-2018, 07:03 PM

First instinct :hilarious. Why do you always need to jump to the most extreme conclusions.

16-12-2018, 07:05 PM
Who knows?....not my first instinct, but if you post negative stuff for weeks calling for the managers head hardly surprising to be called out on it. It's all about opinions and how the board works pretty much.

I don’t mind being called out on it. Just would seem strange to me that for some the fact we’ve beaten the Champions with a great performance seems to come second to ‘getting one over’ on someone they don’t know on the internet. For some there’s not even been any comment on the game, just digs at other posters.

16-12-2018, 07:07 PM
Lennons team had a dip in form, his first dip in form since arriving at the club. There were idiots waiting for this dip in form to slaughter him and the team, couldnt wait to dig both out.

He's practically having to build another team through injuries and players leaving, but the first dip in form he's being hounded out.

Ridiculous.

Well done Hibs, well done Lennon and his backroom staff, i'm glad you are staying and held your nerve a lot better than some i could mention. :top marks

I couldn't put it any better. :top marks

16-12-2018, 07:14 PM
Getting back to the original post …

I've been critical of Lennon for getting his tactics wrong in the big games but today he got everything spot on.

16-12-2018, 07:14 PM

Neil Lennon could not have said it any better.

He, like you and many others, was equally frustrated by that run.

Keeping a low profile and refraining from what he really wanted to vent publicly, perhaps throws some light on why Parker dealt with the post match press conferences.

16-12-2018, 07:17 PM

I've been critical of Lennon for getting his tactics wrong in the big games but today he got everything spot on.

Seemed to me the players were drilled and knew what their jobs were. We had a decent 2nd half at Hamilton so hopefully this is the start of a wee bit momentum.

16-12-2018, 07:17 PM

And with a majorly depleted squad aswell.

16-12-2018, 07:21 PM
Noticed in each post match interview that he appreciated the support that the fans have shown him over the last few weeks.

Sounded and looked well chuffed. Absolutely no chance that he is considering chucking it in any time soon.

Hopefully contract extension talks before the end of the season. Another few years hopefully.

16-12-2018, 09:00 PM
Noticed in each post match interview that he appreciated the support that the fans have shown him over the last few weeks.

Sounded and looked well chuffed. Absolutely no chance that he is considering chucking it in any time soon.

Hopefully contract extension talks before the end of the season. Another few years hopefully.

Just like my work, a happy boss is a happy workplace:
A happy NL is a happy Hibernian. It’s a good match when both parties are happy and I hope it continues continuously.

16-12-2018, 09:20 PM

Ridiculous.

I can’t believe there was a poll posted up. Some folk should be ashamed of themselves. I said a couple of weeks ago that some of the more embarrassing posts reeked of a glory hunting arrogance you only ever hear from OF or (occasionally) hertz fans.

16-12-2018, 09:23 PM
I can’t believe there was a poll posted up. Some folk should be ashamed of themselves. I said a couple of weeks ago that some of the more embarrassing posts reeked of a glory hunting arrogance you only ever hear from OF or (occasionally) hertz fans.

Ashamed of themselves for thinking that us dropping down the table at a rate of knots was cause for concern? I have a feeling nobody is going to be ashamed of themselves for being concerned over a period when, for want of a better way to describe it, we were a mess on the pitch.

16-12-2018, 09:30 PM
Ashamed of themselves for thinking that us dropping down the table at a rate of knots was cause for concern? I have a feeling nobody is going to be ashamed of themselves for being concerned over a period when, for want of a better way to describe it, we were a mess on the pitch.

Ashamed for calling for the managers head at the first sign of a crisis under his stewardship. Some of the stuff posted was outlandish.

16-12-2018, 09:33 PM

Nobody disputes that. How people reacted to that in different ways was what was interesting. Some tried to figure out what was going on. Some were concerned for the wellbeing of the manager. Some tried to suggest solutions and ideas. Some fiercely criticised the team selections and the manager and told him to sort it out.

Then there were the posters saying his time was up. No suggestions for what next or who would do any better, or why he shouldn’t be given a chance in the face of our first wobble...just ‘sack him’, like that would solve things.

16-12-2018, 09:38 PM
Ashamed for calling for the managers head at the first sign of a crisis under his stewardship. Some of the stuff posted was outlandish.

Without wanting to go over old ground as today’s not really a day for it, there comes a point where there has to be an attempt to stop the crisis. Calling it the first crisis is probably correct. But just because it’s the first it doesn’t mean you hold on forever because it’s the first one. Butcher only had one crisis but it lead to us getting relegated because we held on for too long.

Still plenty work to be done and catching up to do but thankfully we look like we’ve turned a corner. I for one don’t feel “ashamed” however at being concerned at what was definitely reaching crisis point.

16-12-2018, 09:41 PM
Without wanting to go over old ground as today’s not really a day for it, there comes a point where there has to be an attempt to stop the crisis. Calling it the first crisis is probably correct. But just because it’s the first it doesn’t mean you hold on forever because it’s the first one. Butcher only had one crisis but it lead to us getting relegated because we held on for too long.

Still plenty work to be done and catching up to do but thankfully we look like we’ve turned a corner. I for one don’t feel “ashamed” however at being concerned at what was definitely reaching crisis point.

So....do you still want him sacked ? You've been asked this already on this thread but no response which is most unlike you.

16-12-2018, 09:48 PM
Nobody disputes that. How people reacted to that in different ways was what was interesting. Some tried to figure out what was going on. Some were concerned for the wellbeing of the manager. Some tried to suggest solutions and ideas. Some fiercely criticised the team selections and the manager and told him to sort it out.

Then there were the posters saying his time was up. No suggestions for what next or who would do any better, or why he shouldn’t be given a chance in the face of our first wobble...just ‘sack him’, like that would solve things.

How would fans know who would do any better? We’re Hibs fans, we don’t have a dossier of potential managers for when Lennon leaves. People will be able to point to Clarke but after that I’m not sure why anyone would expect the fans to be able to draw up a shortlist of replacements, much in the same way that if someone says we need a new striker nobody would expect somebody to rattle off a bunch of strikers that we could look to realistically recruit.

16-12-2018, 09:52 PM
So....do you still want him sacked ? You've been asked this already on this thread but no response which is most unlike you.

I’ve not saw that if somebody has asked that so apologies if that’s the case. No, I don’t, he’s managed to turn it round to an extent from what looked like a point that it would be an almost impossible task to do so.

The transfer window will be an interesting month. He’s got two guys in Slivka and Hyndman who have finally started to look more like the players we had hoped they’d be. If he can sign well then hopefully we’ll be able to kick in and get ourselves back amongst the top 6.

16-12-2018, 09:53 PM

Does there ever come a point where you pause, reflect and think ‘hmm, I should have acted differently’?

Everyone makes mistakes. The question is, do you learn from them?

16-12-2018, 09:54 PM

Have you got a link to the poll please?

16-12-2018, 09:57 PM
If we'd lost today as expected I'd still have wanted NL to stay on - the reason being that no one else could do any better. Nobody that comes to mind anyway.

16-12-2018, 10:00 PM
Does there ever come a point where you pause, reflect and think ‘hmm, I should have acted differently’?

Everyone makes mistakes. The question is, do you learn from them?

That point will come if/when we start to climb the table. As it stands just now I’m happy enough for him to stay as we seem to be turning things around. We’re still 8th in the league though so until we start to climb the table I’m not going to say that the concerns weren’t justified.

16-12-2018, 10:04 PM
Fantastic victory

Let's kick on

16-12-2018, 10:06 PM
I’ve not saw that if somebody has asked that so apologies if that’s the case. No, I don’t, he’s managed to turn it round to an extent from what looked like a point that it would be an almost impossible task to do so.

The transfer window will be an interesting month. He’s got two guys in Slivka and Hyndman who have finally started to look more like the players we had hoped they’d be. If he can sign well then hopefully we’ll be able to kick in and get ourselves back amongst the top 6.

Fair do's 👍

16-12-2018, 10:09 PM
Brilliant manager deserves all our support we’ll done

16-12-2018, 10:12 PM
Have you got a link to the poll please?

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?335714-Should-Neil-Lennon-remain-hibs-manager&p=5621664#post5621664

16-12-2018, 10:17 PM
All the prima donnas wanting Lennon out the door 2 weeks ago can take a wee seat :na na:

16-12-2018, 10:18 PM

There is a lot of work still to do. However, despite that crisis we are still just four points off the top four. The Butcher comparison isn’t fair imo. Butcher had only been in the door and things went pear shaped fairly quickly. NL had plenty credit in the bank for me, yet there were a vociferous few who chose not to back him. Their perogative but very disappointing to see as far as I’m concerned.

16-12-2018, 10:56 PM
That point will come if/when we start to climb the table. As it stands just now I’m happy enough for him to stay as we seem to be turning things around. We’re still 8th in the league though so until we start to climb the table I’m not going to say that the concerns weren’t justified.

Easy to support the team when we’re winning. It’s when we hit adversity that we see who can keep their heads.

16-12-2018, 11:17 PM
How would fans know who would do any better? We’re Hibs fans, we don’t have a dossier of potential managers for when Lennon leaves. People will be able to point to Clarke but after that I’m not sure why anyone would expect the fans to be able to draw up a shortlist of replacements, much in the same way that if someone says we need a new striker nobody would expect somebody to rattle off a bunch of strikers that we could look to realistically recruit.

The issue is whether they need replacing in the first place. From your post above, sounds as if the “fans” aren’t always in the best position to judge.

16-12-2018, 11:20 PM
The issue is whether they need replacing in the first place. From your post above, sounds as if the “fans” aren’t always in the best position to judge.

Of course fans aren't in the best place to judge. We don't know what's going on behind the scenes, we don't see players or the manager in training every day. Doesn't mean fans aren't entitled to an opinion based on the evidence (performances and results) that is provided to them though.

houstonhibbee
17-12-2018, 06:44 AM
No. Ashamed that they were calling for the manager to go

17-12-2018, 07:33 AM
Lennons interview says it all from praising the performance today, to the extent of his frustration that he hasn't been getting near that performance or attitude from them, he is exactly right they have been short changing us all. His reflecting that literally it means very little if it's not going to be continued/followed up, we need to see who turns up on Wednesday, then Saturday and then the following week and so on !!
The players set new standards today and expectations, that Lennon will rightly demand ...he got it very right today and the players delivered ..GGTTH

Agreed. Lennon got the tactics spot on but that doesn't explain the performance and effort yesterday. Have you ever seen Mallan, Slivka, Horgan and Hyndman work so hard in a game ? We'll find out in the next 2 games whether Lennon has fixed the problem or if this was just another case of players playing for their own futures - live on TV against the champs and against a team who are more open and give you a bit more time on the ball.

17-12-2018, 07:34 AM
Agreed. Lennon got the tactics spot on but that doesn't explain the performance and effort yesterday. Have you ever seen Mallan, Slivka, Horgan and Hyndman work so hard in a game ? We'll find out in the next 2 games whether Lennon has fixed the problem or if this was just another case of players playing for their own futures - live on TV against the champs and against a team who are more open and give you a bit more time on the ball.

Seen them all work that hard plenty of times this season. Work rate really wasn't our problem during the bad spell.

17-12-2018, 08:21 AM
No. Ashamed that they were calling for the manager to go

Ashamed for having an opinion? :confused: The lack of ability to accept a differing opinion can be quite incredible at times. By all means people can disagree with each other, debate with each other but the idea that people should be “ashamed” because they held/hold a differing opinion to others is ridiculous. What a boring place this would be if people didn’t give there opinion on our club for fear of being “ashamed” of holding it.

Anyway, I’m not going to debate it any further. This weekend has probably been the most positive so far of this season, it’s not the time for it.

Bring on the Zombies :aok:

houstonhibbee
17-12-2018, 10:09 AM
Ashamed for having an opinion? :confused: The lack of ability to accept a differing opinion can be quite incredible at times. By all means people can disagree with each other, debate with each other but the idea that people should be “ashamed” because they held/hold a differing opinion to others is ridiculous. What a boring place this would be if people didn’t give there opinion on our club for fear of being “ashamed” of holding it.

Anyway, I’m not going to debate it any further. This weekend has probably been the most positive so far of this season, it’s not the time for it.

Bring on the Zombies :aok:
So I assume you’re sticking by your opinion that you want a new manager or have you changed your mind and realized that was just ridiculous nonsense? You haven’t said

17-12-2018, 10:36 AM
Have the ones who said he was a "coward", changed their opinions?

The Man is a genius:flag:

Souter96Mac
17-12-2018, 10:47 AM
I said this a couple weeks ago. Lennon deserves patience, he's earned that right after getting us promoted at his first attempt, and getting us into Europe in our first season back in the prem.
The man's a winner, and I want him at my club for a long time.

17-12-2018, 10:52 AM
The criticism and panic about the management team was a reflection of their own (public) attitude towards the bad spell. Not doing interviews, and just having Parker up there absolutely panning the squad just felt all wrong. If a unified front had been presented then I imagine the reaction on here would’ve mirrored that. Maybe calling out the players is what was needed though, based on that fantastic performance yesterday.

HibeeHibernian4
17-12-2018, 11:33 AM
So I assume you’re sticking by your opinion that you want a new manager or have you changed your mind and realized that was just ridiculous nonsense? You haven’t said

He has said. Repeatedly. You not being bothered/capable of reading that isn't an excuse.

I am delighted that Lennon has, for now, turned things around, but he has made things hard for himself with that winless in seven run, because we are still in 8th and it will take a string of three-four results to really propel us up the table to where we need to be (4th-6th).

17-12-2018, 11:48 AM
Never doubted him for a second tbh. The man's a winner and I'm extremely glad we've got him at the helm.

17-12-2018, 04:51 PM
I am delighted that Lennon has, for now, turned things around, but he has made things hard for himself with that winless in seven run, because we are still in 8th and it will take a string of three-four results to really propel us up the table to where we need to be (4th-6th).

Sounds like you’ve got Lennon’s back.

17-12-2018, 07:04 PM
When teams are winning, the manager is a genius; when they are losing, he gets called everything under the sun, none of it complimentary.

That applies at every club, not just Hibs.

HibeeHibernian4
17-12-2018, 07:25 PM
When teams are winning, the manager is a genius; when they are losing, he gets called everything under the sun, none of it complimentary.

That applies at every club, not just Hibs.

Yes, but as we all know the overall picture is more complex than that. These last two wins do not make Lennon a genius, just as the last seven games before them do not make him useless.

17-12-2018, 07:31 PM
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?335714-Should-Neil-Lennon-remain-hibs-manager&p=5621664#post5621664

Thanks. My opinion hasn’t changed on the matter a motivated committed Neil Lennon is the best man for the job 👍

17-12-2018, 07:37 PM
He has said. Repeatedly. You not being bothered/capable of reading that isn't an excuse.

Aye you sound delighted right enough.

17-12-2018, 07:43 PM
Yes, but as we all know the overall picture is more complex than that. These last two wins do not make Lennon a genius, just as the last seven games before them do not make him useless.

Lennon motivated is a brilliant manager. There’s no doubt about it.

HibeeHibernian4
17-12-2018, 08:48 PM
Aye you sound delighted right enough.

That's right, mate.

I'm there week in, week out, home and away, but I actually secretly get pleasure from Hibs' manager not being able to buy a win for an extended period of time, and am gutted that he's managed to recover last season's form. :rolleyes:

Welt.

17-12-2018, 10:36 PM
That's right, mate.

I'm there week in, week out, home and away, but I actually secretly get pleasure from Hibs' manager not being able to buy a win for an extended period of time, and am gutted that he's managed to recover last season's form. :rolleyes:

Welt.
Easy tiger.