View Full Version : Downloading music for free

15-12-2018, 06:26 PM
Anybody got any advice on the best ways to do this. I want more music for my android phone.

17-12-2018, 06:15 AM
Anybody got any advice on the best ways to do this. I want more music for my android phone.

I use Spotify. The version which lets you dload isn't free but is currently available for 99p for 3 months. You just have to remember to cancel it.

17-12-2018, 06:17 AM
Spotify is so good it actually makes it so much easier than pirating. The free version has ads and the premium version is totally worth it.

17-12-2018, 08:43 AM
You want to download music for free...so, you want to break the law?

None of the subscription services allow you to download music for free, nor should you be able to. Artists deserve to be paid for their work, and we as consumers of music, have an obligation to do just that.

The streaming services are excellent ways to consume music, and even the premium versions at £10 a month with no ads and unlimited downloads quite undervalues the artistic contributions.

Spotify is excellent, but I use Deezer. They're much of a muchness.

17-12-2018, 08:49 AM
You want to download music for free...so, you want to break the law?

None of the subscription services allow you to download music for free, nor should you be able to. Artists deserve to be paid for their work, and we as consumers of music, have an obligation to do just that.

The streaming services are excellent ways to consume music, and even the premium versions at £10 a month with no ads and unlimited downloads quite undervalues the artistic contributions.

Spotify is excellent, but I use Deezer. They're much of a muchness.

I totally agree with this. Im sure it's a generational thing as well, I remember spending a hefty chunk of my pocket money and part time job salaries as a teenager on vinyl, audio tapes and CDs. It makes no sense to me that you wouldn't have to pay for music. Paying a tenner a month or whatever for Spotify seems a small price really.

17-12-2018, 09:18 AM
I totally agree with this. Im sure it's a generational thing as well, I remember spending a hefty chunk of my pocket money and part time job salaries as a teenager on vinyl, audio tapes and CDs. It makes no sense to me that you wouldn't have to pay for music. Paying a tenner a month or whatever for Spotify seems a small price really.

I'm not sure how old the OP is.

In my teenage years, we'd swap albums and tape them. That was in the days when we were told "home taping is killing music". What that did, though, was create a wider market; if I liked the album I borrowed from my mate, I'd go to that band's gig, and buy their next album. Had I not borrowed and taped, my custom would have been lost. To a certain extent, the "free download" culture is that same process.

That said, as an adult, I always pay for the music.

17-12-2018, 09:31 AM

In my teenage years, we'd swap albums and tape them. That was in the days when we were told "home taping is killing music". What that did, though, was create a wider market; if I liked the album I borrowed from my mate, I'd go to that band's gig, and buy their next album. Had I not borrowed and taped, my custom would have been lost. To a certain extent, the "free download" culture is that same process.

Obviously old people also like getting things for free:greengrin but I think younger people are less tolerant of paying for music in general. My daughter is just outraged by the concept in fact. Yeah we taped records off our mates and swapped music back in the eighties and nineties (doing someone a "mix tape' was a big thing) but someone still had to buy the 'raw product'. I'd suggest free downloads have taken it to a different level.

17-12-2018, 11:03 AM

Remember the wee skull, crossbones and cassette logos that you used to get on the back of records?

I remember meeting one of my musical heroes once, and throughout the conversation I had with this multi millionaire, I was terrified that I'd let slip that I'd taped his first album to listen to in the car, as in effect I'd stolen from him.

It was a copy of a CD that I've now bought 3 times (and wrecked in cars during the CD player era), not to mention his band's other records, his solo material and concert tickets over the years.

I think he'd forgive me, especially if you compare my sin to the freebies my brother has cadged off him for years.

17-12-2018, 11:30 AM
I used to meticulously tape the charts every Sunday night, trying to cut out all the pish songs (I’m looking at you Sinitta and Brother Beyond) and chat. I’ve also downloaded the odd album without paying for it.

Without trying to sound sanctimonious, it’s way easier paying £15pm for the entire family to get access to just about any song any of us can think of.

17-12-2018, 11:33 AM
I used to meticulously tape the charts every Sunday night, trying to cut out all the pish songs (I’m looking at you Sinitta and Brother Beyond) and chat. I’ve also downloaded the odd album without paying for it.

Without trying to sound sanctimonious, it’s way easier paying £15pm for the entire family to get access to just about any song any of us can think of.

Anyone know of any big acts that aren't available on Spotify? Neil Young and the KLF are ones I've noticed.

17-12-2018, 11:34 AM

You mean Spotify?

Handy as it is, I'm really uneasy about the model they use, and the poor returns that musicians get from it.

Mantis Toboggan
17-12-2018, 12:23 PM
Anyone know of any big acts that aren't available on Spotify? Neil Young and the KLF are ones I've noticed.

No King Crimson either, which I think is down to Fripp's intransigence on streaming generally.

KLF won't be added anytime soon what with their back catalogue having been deleted

17-12-2018, 01:15 PM
Appreciate I am a dinosaur, but I’ve never got the whole streaming music thing. Also hate downloading anything, even if paying for it, and try to avoid it like the plague. My I-pod classic was like another appendage, was gutted when it broke and the old school I-pods were discontinued. My phone now holds all my music so not practical to carry a phone AND an I-pod these days but loved that I-pod.

Music is my big passion in life and CD’s my main vice. I’ve got over 1,000 CD’s and love nothing more than the cold hard research of listening to countless new bands/discovering old bands to find one I like and then buying the CD on Amazon. Often lose hours in Fopp with ITunes on my phone previewing the recommended bands etc to see if I’ll buy them or not.

My new daughter will either think I’m cool collecting CD’s or an embarrassing dinosaur, probably the latter 😀

nellio
17-12-2018, 01:28 PM
About 10 years ago I used to download anything and everythikng for free.

I used to work in a music shop (anyone remember our price?) and we charged 14.99 for CD's which cost about 50p to produce. Obviously there is more to it than that with royalties etc but I always justified my downloads by saying that I was fed up of the shops taking the p155 in terms of £15 an album. At that time I wasn't earning much money. Back then if someone would have offered me unlimited music for a tenner a month I'd have bit their hand off.

These days I'm happy to pay for streaming services but back then I felt ripped off.

17-12-2018, 04:13 PM
Appreciate I am a dinasaur, but I’ve never got the whole streaming music thing. Also hate downloading anything, even if paying for it, and try to avoid it like the plague. My I-pod classic was like another appendage, was gutted when it broke and the old school I-pods were discontinued. My phone now holds all my music so not practical to carry a phone AND an I-pod these days but loved that I-pod.

Music is my big passion in life and CD’s my main vice. I’ve got over 1,000 CD’s and love nothing more than the cold hard research of listening to countless new bands/discovering old bands to find one I like and then buying the CD on Amazon. Often loose hours in Fopp with ITunes on my phone previewing the recommended bands etc to see if I’ll buy them or not.

My new daughter will either think I’m cool collecting CD’s or an embarrassing dinosaur, probably the latter 😀

It's illegal to copy CDs to your phone. :tsk tsk:

17-12-2018, 07:01 PM

Not if he’s buying the CD from Amazon and using AutoRip. You get a free download with most CD/vinyl purchases from Amazon.

17-12-2018, 07:03 PM
You mean Spotify?

Handy as it is, I'm really uneasy about the model they use, and the poor returns that musicians get from it.

A girl in my office is also a musician and has an album that is on Spotify, Apple Music, etc. She says she makes pretty much nothing out of it, especially in comparison to one CD sale.

17-12-2018, 08:53 PM

Is it? Even if you don't distribute it?

17-12-2018, 11:41 PM

I grew up downloading music off Limewire. The idea of paying for music at the time when I was in my early teens was ludicrous when you could get it for free without leaving the house (although it did take about half an hour for a song :greengrin).

Nowadays however I don’t think anyone can complain at a tenner a month for Spotify.

18-12-2018, 06:09 AM
A girl in my office is also a musician and has an album that is on Spotify, Apple Music, etc. She says she makes pretty much nothing out of it, especially in comparison to one CD sale.

I’ve no doubt that is the case and I’m not here to defend whatever deal the streaming services and record companies have cooked up but I’m not sure your comparison is comparing apples with apples.

If I buy a CD, I pay up front for the right to listen to the music as much as I want. If I listen to the album once or 24/7 for five years, I pay the same. AFAIK, Spotify pays out for each listen. I’m not sure I’d expect someone whose songs don’t get many listens (I’m making an assumption) to make much.

The alternative is that she’s gets absolutely nothing from folk downloading it for free from The Pirate Bay (as the OP shows).

18-12-2018, 08:39 AM
Is it? Even if you don't distribute it?

As I read it, it is.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/33566933/ripping-music-and-films-illegal-again-after-high-court-overturns-new-law

18-12-2018, 12:45 PM
You can constantly work your way round Spotify, Deezer etc etc . Just keep looking for the offers as one is about to expire.

18-12-2018, 09:42 PM
Remember the wee skull, crossbones and cassette logos that you used to get on the back of records?

I remember meeting one of my musical heroes once, and throughout the conversation I had with this multi millionaire, I was terrified that I'd let slip that I'd taped his first album to listen to in the car, as in effect I'd stolen from him.

It was a copy of a CD that I've now bought 3 times (and wrecked in cars during the CD player era), not to mention his band's other records, his solo material and concert tickets over the years.

I think he'd forgive me, especially if you compare my sin to the freebies my brother has cadged off him for years.

Who was it?? I’m curious. Please pm if you prefer not to say on here!

18-12-2018, 09:43 PM
You can get pretty much anything these days via torrent if you know where to look. Knowing a little Russian always helps. :wink:

18-12-2018, 09:47 PM
I have several albums on Spotify and iTunes and I earn less than £5 a year from them (if I’m lucky). Apple in particular pay an almost non-existent percentage rate on their downloads. I still buy music on principle though. Online music is about promotion now. Most money is made playing gigs these days.

19-12-2018, 09:17 AM
You can get pretty much anything these days via torrent if you know where to look. Knowing a little Russian always helps. :wink:

Are torrents still a thing? I mind loads of folk used to use to torrents to download movies but just presumed they were a thing of the past like Limewire etc.

19-12-2018, 09:24 AM

I have several albums on Spotify and iTunes and I earn less than £5 a year from them (if I’m lucky). Apple in particular pay an almost non-existent percentage rate on their downloads. I still buy music on principle though. Online music is about promotion now. Most money is made playing gigs these days.

GG, meet your robber.

FH, meet your victim.

19-12-2018, 09:36 AM
I don't really listen to much music, I stick on the radio on the walk to work and back and that's about me. I had a free 6 months with one of the music apps and I used that a bit but felt I never really knew what to put on and skipped songs too frequently anyway before settling on pre-set playlists of the music that would have been on the radio anyway. :greengrin

On the radio this morning they were saying Ed Sheeran was on course to make £500m (and break some record held by U2) on his current tour so I think you're probably right.

19-12-2018, 09:51 AM
Spotify friends and family for £15 a month - can sign up 3 other pals or family members too and split the cost.

If I really like the album i'll buy it on vinyl and most likely go to a gig aswell.

A pocket DAB+ radio is also great for a wee change.

19-12-2018, 01:39 PM

Did you get my PM?

19-12-2018, 02:09 PM

Never mind that, I'm curious as to who your band are now :greengrin

20-12-2018, 03:34 PM
Appreciate I am a dinosaur, but I’ve never got the whole streaming music thing. Also hate downloading anything, even if paying for it, and try to avoid it like the plague. My I-pod classic was like another appendage, was gutted when it broke and the old school I-pods were discontinued. My phone now holds all my music so not practical to carry a phone AND an I-pod these days but loved that I-pod.

Music is my big passion in life and CD’s my main vice. I’ve got over 1,000 CD’s and love nothing more than the cold hard research of listening to countless new bands/discovering old bands to find one I like and then buying the CD on Amazon. Often lose hours in Fopp with ITunes on my phone previewing the recommended bands etc to see if I’ll buy them or not.

You sound similar to me albeit vinyl is my vice. Up until 2 years ago I didn’t really “get” streaming either.

But where you describe previewing songs on ITunes....you can use Spotify or Deezer for that and listen to the whole song or album before you decide to buy the physical copy.

For example, last month the reissued White Album came out. Think there was a 5 CD set or 4 vinyl discs. I have the album on vinyl and CD but obviously these are new mixes and also demo takes. Something like 120 songs to work through and at midnight on the day of release I can use Deezer to scan through them all! It’s a gift. Add them to your own playlist or download stuff to play when you’re offline.

I like a bit of Northern Soul also - with streaming I can find inspiration from other people’s playlists or
compilation albums and then decide to go buy the 7” myself.

I couldn’t do without streaming now, it really has enriched my love of music

21-12-2018, 09:56 AM
You sound similar to me albeit vinyl is my vice. Up until 2 years ago I didn’t really “get” streaming either.

But where you describe previewing songs on ITunes....you can use Spotify or Deezer for that and listen to the whole song or album before you decide to buy the physical copy.

For example, last month the reissued White Album came out. Think there was a 5 CD set or 4 vinyl discs. I have the album on vinyl and CD but obviously these are new mixes and also demo takes. Something like 120 songs to work through and at midnight on the day of release I can use Deezer to scan through them all! It’s a gift. Add them to your own playlist or download stuff to play when you’re offline.

I like a bit of Northern Soul also - with streaming I can find inspiration from other people’s playlists or
compilation albums and then decide to go buy the 7” myself.

I couldn’t do without streaming now, it really has enriched my love of music

My wife does like to call me a dinosaur and set in my ways and routines when it comes to new technology. I’m a Luddite at heart 😀 Spotify or Deezer sounds a better option for finding music than iTunes 30 second preview to go on.

I enjoy Northern Soul myself, however the collector in me is always at odds with the scene in that it’s more about individual songs than it is about great albums by those artists. Stuart Cosgroves “Young Soul Rebels” book is really good. As are his “Detroit 67” & “Memphis 68” books. “Harlem 69” is the third book of the trilogy but I’ve not got round to reading that yet. Sounds like they may be of interest to you.

Green Man
21-12-2018, 04:51 PM

Neil Young is on Spotify now. I did notice recently that Slade aren’t on there (apart from their Xmas song) - do they count?

21-12-2018, 04:53 PM
Neil Young is on Spotify now. I did notice recently that Slade aren’t on there (apart from their Xmas song) - do they count?They canny spell, so I'd doubt if they could count.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

21-12-2018, 07:06 PM
My wife does like to call me a dinosaur and set in my ways and routines when it comes to new technology. I’m a Luddite at heart 😀 Spotify or Deezer sounds a better option for finding music than iTunes 30 second preview to go on.

I enjoy Northern Soul myself, however the collector in me is always at odds with the scene in that it’s more about individual songs than it is about great albums by those artists. Stuart Cosgroves “Young Soul Rebels” book is really good. As are his “Detroit 67” & “Memphis 68” books. “Harlem 69” is the third book of the trilogy but I’ve not got round to reading that yet. Sounds like they may be of interest to you.

Thanks, I've read the Detroit book, will need to check out the others.

Currently reading a book about The Jesus and Mary Chain. Never been a huge fan of their music but they were interesting guys and I wanted to hear more about the young Bobby Gillespie and Alan McGee after watching that recent Primal Scream doc.

21-12-2018, 11:21 PM
Thanks, I've read the Detroit book, will need to check out the others.

Currently reading a book about The Jesus and Mary Chain. Never been a huge fan of their music but they were interesting guys and I wanted to hear more about the young Bobby Gillespie and Alan McGee after watching that recent Primal Scream doc.

Have you seen the Screamadelica "classic albums"?

It is a fantastic watch, must surely still be on youtube somewhere.

22-12-2018, 12:12 PM
Have you seen the Screamadelica "classic albums"?

It is a fantastic watch, must surely still be on youtube somewhere.

Thanks - not seen that one. Sky Arts usually pretty good for this stuff, will have a search for it. Got a program on Suede on the planner to watch also, that was another recommendation.

22-12-2018, 12:19 PM
Thanks - not seen that one. Sky Arts usually pretty good for this stuff, will have a search for it. Got a program on Suede on the planner to watch also, that was another recommendation.

Is that “Suede The Insatiable Ones”? I recorded it and got round to watching it the other night. I was too young for them first time round but still found it really interesting nonetheless.

There's loads of good stuff on Sky Arts.

Edit - next Friday night there’s “The Story Of The Jam”. I’ve got the Blu-ray which is called “About The Young Idea”. Would highly reconnect that, it’s excellent.

22-12-2018, 09:32 PM
Is that “Suede The Insatiable Ones”? I recorded it and got round to watching it the other night. I was too young for them first time round but still found it really interesting nonetheless.

There's loads of good stuff on Sky Arts.

Edit - next Friday night there’s “The Story Of The Jam”. I’ve got the Blu-ray which is called “About The Young Idea”. Would highly reconnect that, it’s excellent.

That's the one yeah. Heard it was worth watching, I got into them years after also, one band I never managed to see live.

I think I've seen that one 👍🏻. I went to the "About the young idea" exhibition at Somerset House back in 2015 I think. Was brilliant. Could have an entire different thread on Weller of course!

22-12-2018, 09:43 PM

Is that Zoe Howe's Barbed Wire Kisses?

22-12-2018, 09:54 PM
That's the one yeah. Heard it was worth watching, I got into them years after also, one band I never managed to see live.

I think I've seen that one 👍🏻. I went to the "About the young idea" exhibition at Somerset House back in 2015 I think. Was brilliant. Could have an entire different thread on Weller of course!

I went down with the Mrs to see The Who’s 50th anniversary at Hyde Park and also The Jam exhibition as well, what a great weekend that was 👍

Green Man
23-12-2018, 09:22 AM

I’ve seen Suede three times, at different stages of their career. First in the mid 90s when their stock was pretty high, then early 2000s when they were well established, and most recently a few years back when they made something of a comeback. They were excellent every time.

The Jam I was too young for, but if I could go back and see any band from history it would be them - I love their music and I wish I had the chance to see them live.

23-12-2018, 06:58 PM
Did you get my PM?

Yes - and replied!

23-12-2018, 09:31 PM
Is that Zoe Howe's Barbed Wire Kisses?

It is yeah.

I went to see Bobby Gillespie doing a Q&A recently at Assai record shop. He talked about meeting the Reids and that early 80s scene and with that and the Memphis doc on BBC recently, I really wanted to hear more.

Just about finished the book although I must admit, my interest has waned as they get onto their later albums. Some brilliant stories though.

23-12-2018, 09:35 PM
It is yeah.

Oh good. I know her slightly and I really enjoy her rock biographies. It's nice when I find someone else who reads her work. I can recommend her books on Lee Brilleaux and Wilko Johnson. She's a lovely girl.

23-12-2018, 09:48 PM
Oh good. I know her slightly and I really enjoy her rock biographies. It's nice when I find someone else who reads her work. I can recommend her books on Lee Brilleaux and Wilko Johnson. She's a lovely girl.

Sent from my iPad using TapatalkWife of Dylan and daughter in law of Steve [emoji851]

23-12-2018, 09:49 PM
Wife of Dylan and daughter in law of Steve [emoji851]

The same. But quite lovely in her own right.

wpj
24-12-2018, 09:32 AM

I met Wilko recently, what a lovely man, really happy to chat and is very funny. Brilliant musician too. I said I had seen Feelgood without him and then seen him with his band. "I know which one was better" he replied. I agreed but actually they were both brilliant live.

24-12-2018, 09:38 AM
I met Wilko recently, what a lovely man … brilliant live.Coming to the Queens Hall again in April.
Very few seats left. https://www.thequeenshall.net/book/17001
Dylan Howe (Zoe's partner) plays drums in Wilko's band.

24-12-2018, 11:25 AM
Coming to the Queens Hall again in April.
Very few seats left. https://www.thequeenshall.net/book/17001
Dylan Howe (Zoe's partner) plays drums in Wilko's band.Ha.

I was at what was originally billed as his farewell gig in Glasgow a few years ago. Was incredibly emotional.

And then the swine got better. [emoji1787]

Ever get the feeling you've been cheated? [emoji1]

Here’s Lucy!
24-12-2018, 04:11 PM
You can constantly work your way round Spotify, Deezer etc etc . Just keep looking for the offers as one is about to expire.

That's right. Having a few email addresses helps!!

1875godsgift
29-12-2018, 12:18 AM
I’ve seen Suede three times, at different stages of their career. First in the mid 90s when their stock was pretty high, then early 2000s when they were well established, and most recently a few years back when they made something of a comeback. They were excellent every time.

The Jam I was too young for, but if I could go back and see any band from history it would be them - I love their music and I wish I had the chance to see them live.

Saw them two nights running at the Playhouse. Sound Affects tour I think it was, absolutely awesome live at that time!

Missed their farewell tour gig at Ingliston, went to see Dexy's the same night at the Usher Hall instead, which was a brilliant gig too.

29-12-2018, 11:18 AM
Back to the original post, wanting to download music for nothing not only cheats the artist out of royalties but also leads to the closure of record shops, aye, even HMV.

29-12-2018, 11:33 AM

From speaking to a couple of mates here even the gigging revenue is being hijacked..Being asked to pay to get a string of uni gigs, not being payed for tv work, not being paid for festival work. So many greedy promoters looking after themselves and justifying the costs saying the artists will get exposure.

My next door neighbour has set up a new music platform where fans can share ownership of the artists income. So the artist gets a salary and anyone investing in them gets a share of the success.....it’s an interesting concept fanled.ie

30-12-2018, 10:59 AM

What's your bands name and I'll have a listen

wpj
31-12-2018, 01:04 PM
From speaking to a couple of mates here even the gigging revenue is being hijacked..Being asked to pay to get a string of uni gigs, not being payed for tv work, not being paid for festival work. So many greedy promoters looking after themselves and justifying the costs saying the artists will get exposure.

My next door neighbour has set up a new music platform where fans can share ownership of the artists income. So the artist gets a salary and anyone investing in them gets a share of the success.....it’s an interesting concept fanled.ie

Agree about gigging, I worked with bands in Europe where there are really good music venues just the right size for bands to play. The same bands can struggle here as there are fewer venues left. Some are lucky to break even but tour because they love it. Merchandise barely covers the petrol. It's sad because there are a lot of good bands out there.

31-12-2018, 01:11 PM
There's HMV going into administration now, was funny (for want of a better word) seeing people saying they were sad to hear the news when nobody wants to pay for music now.

stu in nottingham
31-12-2018, 01:52 PM
There's HMV going into administration now, was funny (for want of a better word) seeing people saying they were sad to hear the news when nobody wants to pay for music now.

A fair point.

It's hard to understand how HMV could sustain given the changes in technology over the past few years. I was curious to hear one of the administrators in charge say that even when visiting HMV it was 'not a pleasurable experience' for the consumer?

31-12-2018, 02:18 PM
Agree about gigging, I worked with bands in Europe where there are really good music venues just the right size for bands to play. The same bands can struggle here as there are fewer venues left. Some are lucky to break even but tour because they love it. Merchandise barely covers the petrol. It's sad because there are a lot of good bands out there.There's a system in place in France which makes it easier to be a professional musician. Basically if you declare a certain number of 'dates' (I think it's 42 over a ten month period) then you you also get paid about €1000/month in social security. The 'dates' however are properly paid - I think the minimum is something like €130, to which you add the same again for charges (tax, NI, etc.), meaning that 2 guys playing in your pub for a couple of hours on a Friday night will cost €500+.

The same applies to soundmen, lighting techs., etc.

There's no doubt that the huge drop in CD sales has affected the viability of wee groups. A lot of groups (not necessarily French) could almost match their gig fee in CD sales but that's history now.

wpj
31-12-2018, 02:38 PM
There's a system in place in France which makes it easier to be a professional musician. Basically if you declare a certain number of 'dates' (I think it's 42 over a ten month period) then you you also get paid about €1000/month in social security. The 'dates' however are properly paid - I think the minimum is something like €130, to which you add the same again for charges (tax, NI, etc.), meaning that 2 guys playing in your pub for a couple of hours on a Friday night will cost €500+.

The same applies to soundmen, lighting techs., etc.

There's no doubt that the huge drop in CD sales has affected the viability of wee groups. A lot of groups (not necessarily French) could almost match their gig fee in CD sales but that's history now.

I made nothing as a roadie drum tech and merchandise seller but I loved every minute of being on the road. A pizza or burger was pretty standard as payment, other incentives were also available

I worked mainly in Germany but also Belgium and Netherlands

31-12-2018, 08:35 PM
Agree about gigging, I worked with bands in Europe where there are really good music venues just the right size for bands to play. The same bands can struggle here as there are fewer venues left. Some are lucky to break even but tour because they love it. Merchandise barely covers the petrol. It's sad because there are a lot of good bands out there.

The talent around at the moment is unreal. I was at one festival last year where it was irish based acts only. The festival had started that way cause the could rope in mates and keep costs down. It went that well they did they same this year and the quality was so high. That was just electronic and experimental stuff so just one gendre of a small island.

There’s only a couple of artists i know who have it as a full time profession, the others need full time jobs. Even my old flat mates won the irish equivalent of the Brits best album & both still hold down other jobs to allow them to create and share.

wpj
01-01-2019, 06:41 AM
The talent around at the moment is unreal. I was at one festival last year where it was irish based acts only. The festival had started that way cause the could rope in mates and keep costs down. It went that well they did they same this year and the quality was so high. That was just electronic and experimental stuff so just one gendre of a small island.

There’s only a couple of artists i know who have it as a full time profession, the others need full time jobs. Even my old flat mates won the irish equivalent of the Brits best album & both still hold down other jobs to allow them to create and share.

Sounds interesting, I think Ireland is a better place to gig as it loves live music, not sure how electronic music goes down. I once DJd in a pub in Leitrim as a favour (not at all a DJ) totally bombed and was replaced by a group of trad musicians. Was a great night though.

01-01-2019, 02:51 PM
Sounds interesting, I think Ireland is a better place to gig as it loves live music, not sure how electronic music goes down. I once DJd in a pub in Leitrim as a favour (not at all a DJ) totally bombed and was replaced by a group of trad musicians. Was a great night though.

Well theres a wealth of talent in the area...Its niche though..In the village where we live theres live music every night & we only have four pubs..The open mic in the pub next door on a monday is amazing. All free.

Saying that because theres so much music available folk take a bit more nudging to actually pay to go to a gig. My mates do a monthly thing with a real different slant to the usual trad/rock fare here. Getting artists like Gnod/joy orbison over. It has a steady group of folk who turn up but for most of the gigs they are pretty poorly supported. Mindset from so many is why should I pay? Id happily fork out but a lot like local & like what they know without wanting to challenge it. Obviously Dublin was far more eclectic.

06-01-2019, 11:40 PM

Bandcamp is a great site which allows folk to set cost directly and money goes to them. They can also opt for donation or zero charge for downloading.

06-01-2019, 11:41 PM
What's your bands name and I'll have a listen

Cheers - just crashing out but will pm you details in the next day or two. 👍

08-01-2019, 02:14 PM
matty_f wrote...

I'd say Netflix, Spotify and Amazon done more damage than piracy, especially since the last collapse. Could a lack of decent artists and music also be its downfall? You put the radio on and its utter utter guff played constantly, never any decent bands. I could be talking nonsense here but i'd imagine a James fan will be more inclined to buy a record or cd than a James Arthur fan..? Hopefully Fopp survive it, same owners as HMV I think.

I use all 3 services so as guilty as the rest. Dunno what the answer is though... Wouldn't surprise me to see cinemas go next with Amazon Prime and Netflix flourishing. Have a broadband black out 10 hours a week, force people out into the real world instead of being cooked up behind closed doors sat behind a smart phone or tv set :D

08-01-2019, 03:09 PM
I'd say Netflix, Spotify and Amazon done more damage than piracy, especially since the last collapse. Could a lack of decent artists and music also be its downfall? You put the radio on and its utter utter guff played constantly, never any decent bands. I could be talking nonsense here but i'd imagine a James fan will be more inclined to buy a record or cd than a James Arthur fan..? Hopefully Fopp survive it, same owners as HMV I think.

I use all 3 services so as guilty as the rest. Dunno what the answer is though... Wouldn't surprise me to see cinemas go next with Amazon Prime and Netflix flourishing. Have a broadband black out 10 hours a week, force people out into the real world instead of being cooked up behind closed doors sat behind a smart phone or tv set :D

You may well be right. Spotify etc definitely play a part, though there's also probably the argument that they offered musicians a way of getting some payment for stuff that was (when they launched) available on Napster etc illegally for free.

The removal of the need to physically own the media is a factor as well - when you couldn't play a file you needed the vinyl, cassette, or CD (or minidisc if you were a fancy-dan like me! :greengrin )so MP3 players and iPods also take a big share of the responsibility for the demise of the traditional record shops.

It's a great point about the artists as well - I'm not an age which pop music is aimed at, so I'm probably not that qualified to comment, but my views on current music is that it's bland, music-by-numbers formulaic guff, with very little to differentiate artists.

It's hard to see where a musical movement like punk, baggy, grunge, britpop etc will emerge and without that sort of thing for 'kids' to identify with, they're going to be happy streaming stuff for nothing and not needing to own a CD etc.

08-01-2019, 04:21 PM

Do you listen to Radio 6 Music?

It's a great station, great artists and bands, old and new.

Mantis Toboggan
10-01-2019, 02:32 PM
Surely this goes without saying but current music is not just what radio 1 play...radio 6 is a good starting point as said above.

11-01-2019, 10:27 PM
Dublin Digital Radio has sprung up over the past few years & covers a huge spectrum of music. Don’t know if there’s anything similar in Scotland? If there is let me know.

https://listen.dublindigitalradio.com/

12-01-2019, 10:56 AM
A girl in my office is also a musician and has an album that is on Spotify, Apple Music, etc. She says she makes pretty much nothing out of it, especially in comparison to one CD sale.Not surprising given the royalties that streaming services pay. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190112/250fe441b26d16ba9233333f74e4d647.jpg

12-01-2019, 09:55 PM
Not surprising given the royalties that streaming services pay. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190112/250fe441b26d16ba9233333f74e4d647.jpg

That's a big market share for Pandora; I've never even heard of it.

Green Man
12-01-2019, 11:39 PM
I think Pandora is big in the USA.