View Full Version : Cash is King - or maybe not

11-12-2018, 10:21 AM
I visited Iceland earlier this year and I'm yet to see an Icelandic note or coin. It was contactless everywhere.

Meanwhile, here in Yorkshire my local pub doesn't accept cards at all. It's a Sam Smith's establishment though and their CEO/owner is renowned for being a bit of a maverick.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-46507529

11-12-2018, 10:42 AM
I visited Iceland earlier this year and I'm yet to see an Icelandic note or coin. It was contactless everywhere.

Meanwhile, here in Yorkshire my local pub doesn't accept cards at all. It's a Sam Smith's establishment though and their CEO/owner is renowned for being a bit of a maverick.

Shanghai was the same when I visited my son in the summer, everyone uses their phone for transactions.

11-12-2018, 10:49 AM

Did the same - it was a bit scary at first travelling with no local currency, but pretty convenient.
I noticed a few establishments with 'no cash taken' signs up so it wasn't even an option.

11-12-2018, 10:50 AM

Cash only in Winstons too, a proper pub. Can't be doing with this card paying nonsense.

Mr Grieves
11-12-2018, 10:54 AM
I visited Iceland 5 years ago, taking plenty of Króna, and the the checkout operators never looked impressed when I payed with notes. No matter how small a transaction, everyone was using cards. Weirdly, despite being seen as technologically advanced society, we were struggling to use our cards when we visited Japan this year.

It's definitely easier paying with contactless, but half the time you walk away without getting a receipt and there's a fear your will be ripped off

11-12-2018, 11:03 AM
Cash only in Winstons too, a proper pub. Can't be doing with this card paying nonsense.

I still call Winston's my local. 😁

The owner of Samuel Smith's is a bam.

He once closed a pub because they were filling the pint glasses too generously!

None of the boozers have TV or music because he fell out with the suppliers over costs.

You can still get a pint for less than £2 though. My tipple is Taddy lager. 4.5% for £2.30. The Cramond Inn is Sam Smith's. Similar prices I think.

Heverlee was about £4 last time I was in Winstons.

11-12-2018, 12:20 PM
It's more and more the norm in central Edinburgh now too. I don't know what you're all moaning about, I think it's dead handy. :greengrin

The London tube contactless is brilliant. At the end of the day it works out the best value ticket for your journeys and charges you that.

11-12-2018, 01:30 PM
I think they're trying the same in Aldi lol

Loads of self service checkouts which are card only or what used to be a normal checkout with a person and a queue a mile long that takes cash!

11-12-2018, 02:12 PM
Contactless is great - in some Scandinavian places and a few places in Croatia you actually get a discount for paying with card.

Do quite like the old school handing over of cash in a pub setting for some reason though.

11-12-2018, 02:57 PM
Contactless is great - in some Scandinavian places and a few places in Croatia you actually get a discount for paying with card.

Do quite like the old school handing over of cash in a pub setting for some reason though.

I feel really uncomfortable walking into a pub without cash, and will still go ridiculously out of my way to ensure that I have at least a round's worth of money in cash in my pocket before even thinking about walking into the pub.

The look you get when you ask if they take cards is quite comical.

"Aye pal. Does it look like it's 1972 in here like?"

11-12-2018, 03:17 PM
I'd be very wary about anywhere going 100% contactless. When you've got money on you, you've got money on you. When you've got a card on you, you've got a card on you, not money. So you're depending on an electronic network that will never let you down, or will never be manipulated in a way that will screw you over.

11-12-2018, 04:02 PM
I feel really uncomfortable walking into a pub without cash, and will still go ridiculously out of my way to ensure that I have at least a round's worth of money in cash in my pocket before even thinking about walking into the pub.

There are still a few smaller restaurants around town that don't take plastic. I always make a point of checking first.

James310
11-12-2018, 04:10 PM
It annoys me when it's £5 minimum spend on card in some shops. They blame the Banks and the charges but why do some do it another's don't. Some willing to absorb the charges I guess.

11-12-2018, 04:13 PM
It's so much more convenient now pubs take cards. It's a pain being somewhere and needing to find a cashpoint.

11-12-2018, 04:15 PM

I'm much happier with a pocketful of notes too.

11-12-2018, 04:18 PM
Even happier when most of them are still there in the morning! 😁

Rocky
11-12-2018, 04:19 PM

I find they tend to turn into a pocket full of shrapnel...

11-12-2018, 04:20 PM

Short aims and long poakets. :greengrin

11-12-2018, 04:22 PM
Never go into a pub without checking I've got my chequebook with me. :agree:

11-12-2018, 05:22 PM
I find they tend to turn into a pocket full of shrapnel...

Usually pays for the pizza/kebab! 😉

Slavers
11-12-2018, 08:34 PM
The cashless society wanted by the globalist central bankers and politicians will be the final nail in the coffin for personal freedom and liberty.

I suspect the left will be used once again to usher this in on the emotional ticket somethimg along the lines of this will stop tax evasion forever.

A cashless society will give the government complete control over it's 'subjects'.

James310
11-12-2018, 08:47 PM
The cashless society wanted by the globalist central bankers and politicians will be the final nail in the coffin for personal freedom and liberty.

I suspect the left will be used once again to usher this in on the emotional ticket somethimg along the lines of this will stop tax evasion forever.

A cashless society will give the government complete control over it's 'subjects'.

Or it just makes people's life a bit easier and convenient not having to carry cash all the time?

11-12-2018, 08:48 PM

They said that when paper money replaced gold. [emoji6]

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Slavers
11-12-2018, 09:18 PM
They said that when paper money replaced gold. [emoji6]

They were right! It gave the globalist ultimate power to print money when they came off the gold standard.

11-12-2018, 09:31 PM
They were right! It gave the globalist ultimate power to print money when they came off the gold standard.There's about 300 years between our adopting paper money and our coming off the gold standard .

Slavers
11-12-2018, 09:33 PM
There's about 300 years between our adopting paper money and our coming off the gold standard .

Yet you knew what they said? Lol

But I'm right in what I'm saying. That coming of the gold standard gave the globalist central bankers the power to print money.

11-12-2018, 09:38 PM
Yet you knew what they said? Lol

But I'm right in what I'm saying. That coming of the gold standard gave the globalist central bankers the power to print money.Did you notice the smiley?

Slavers
11-12-2018, 09:54 PM
Did you notice the smiley?

Nope. I just focussed on what you said.

So coming of the gold standard gave the central bankers the power to create money out of thin air giving them ultimate global power. Then the digital currency will finally give them complete control over personal finance?

I think first step is they say get rid of cash and those pesky bank cards. Install a convenient microchip in your hand just under the skin and never loose your cards or cash again. Instant credit on your account through the microchip etc

Then that is you fully plugged into the matrix with no escape!

11-12-2018, 10:05 PM
I think the giant space lizards will get us before it gets to that stage.

Slavers
11-12-2018, 10:07 PM
I think the giant space lizards will get us before it gets to that stage.

I suspect the giant space lizards are already at the wheel that's why we are heading towards the cashless society! Luciferian space lizards!

12-12-2018, 07:12 AM

So coming of the gold standard gave the central bankers the power to create money out of thin air giving them ultimate global power. Then the digital currency will finally give them complete control over personal finance?

I think first step is they say get rid of cash and those pesky bank cards. Install a convenient microchip in your hand just under the skin and never loose your cards or cash again. Instant credit on your account through the microchip etc

Then that is you fully plugged into the matrix with no escape!The smiley suggests that I wasn't being serious.

However, the adoption of the gold standard was almost 200 years after the first use of paper money.

The sooner we get back to barter the better. Smiley.

13-12-2018, 08:33 AM
I find the UK so backward with the “must carry cash” society

Im sure its being phased out gradually but coming from a country the uses cards for almost any transactions (even a snickers at the corner shop) i find it strange

Strange and very inconvenient - my wallet is pulling my trousers down on occassions....and thats not because it has £100s in it!

13-12-2018, 10:10 AM

How do the drug dealers cope with this world?

Lendo
13-12-2018, 11:41 AM
A few of the more 'traditional' pubs on Leith Walk are still cash only. Total pain in the erse. Always suspected that it was a bit of a tax dodge.

Slavers
13-12-2018, 01:11 PM
How do the drug dealers cope with this world?

I'd suspect sexual favours! Like i'll gam yi off for a twenty bag etc. Other than that anything valuable allthough i think most drugs will be legal by then.

13-12-2018, 07:10 PM
I'd suspect sexual favours! Like i'll gam yi off for a twenty bag etc. Other than that anything valuable allthough i think most drugs will be legal by then.
I was thinking more about high level dealers.

Godsahibby
14-12-2018, 01:44 PM

Yes that would be convenient, saves having to remember your card or these days your phone. Do you think with a microchip they will raise the maximum £30 spend on contactless or will you still need to use your pin? Imagine being able to have the tech in the chip so you can scan your hand as your season ticket at Easter Road, no need to remember your season ticket.

14-12-2018, 01:47 PM
Yes that would be convenient, saves having to remember your card or these days your phone. Do you think with a microchip they will raise the maximum £30 spend on contactless or will you still need to use your pin? Imagine being able to have the tech in the chip so you can scan your hand as your season ticket at Easter Road, no need to remember your season ticket.

.. and, no football clubs will spend more than they can afford. Just think....:cb

14-12-2018, 02:14 PM

That's easily done now, you just need a sharpie and a reasonable aptitude for art and you can draw on your bar code.

14-12-2018, 05:07 PM
I'd love them to raise the £30 max for contactless transactions, I think between that and using your phone to pay, makes life that bit easier.

15-12-2018, 01:22 PM
I'd love them to raise the £30 max for contactless transactions, I think between that and using your phone to pay, makes life that bit easier.

Those pesky first world problems. :wink:

stuart-farquhar
20-12-2018, 10:43 PM

Caught me out the other day that!

22-12-2018, 09:20 AM
I had a woman in a shop getting served before me. Farting about trying to pay £1.29 with a card. Was only in for a paper. I just left the money on the counter then left.

22-12-2018, 11:20 AM
I had a woman in a shop getting served before me. Farting about trying to pay £1.29 with a card. Was only in for a paper. I just left the money on the counter then left.

Impatience is not a desirable quality.

22-12-2018, 02:44 PM
Carol is King

22-12-2018, 10:11 PM
Carol is King

Is she related to the singer Carole King? (my niche appears to be the that of annoying pedantic poster 😀)

23-12-2018, 04:08 AM
Very seldom carry cash in NZ. Even the wee corner shops are happy to take card for $1 purchases!

23-12-2018, 08:28 PM
Although I find it does sometimes vary from shop to shop, I did an Apple Pay transaction for over £30 in Aldi earlier.

The only time I carry cash these days is either when I’m going out boozing to avoid over spending (although I usually wake up to a few contactless transactions...) or when I’m going to the football so I can get a Bovril at half time.

Holidayed in Canada and Bulgaria this year and it felt very strange not to be worrying about the grand or two hidden in our luggage. The Halifax credit card with zero foreign transaction fees etc was an absolute godsend on that front.