View Full Version : Scottish Youth Cup - Hearts v Hibs

07-12-2018, 11:56 AM
Tonight at Oriam, 7.15pm KO
Free entry, but seemingly can’t get seated until 7pm. Must be someone on before the game

07-12-2018, 12:01 PM
Hearts' "youth" team will be half full of first teamers as per usual.

07-12-2018, 12:01 PM
Hearts' "youth" team will be half full of first teamers as per usual.

Only if they are born after 1st Jan 2001😄

AlanRuff
07-12-2018, 02:38 PM
Do you know if it’ll be indoors or outdoors Billy? Clothing choices will vary depending on where!! Cheers.

07-12-2018, 02:57 PM
Do you know if it’ll be indoors or outdoors Billy? Clothing choices will vary depending on where!! Cheers.

It’s 100% indoors Alan

AlanRuff
07-12-2018, 03:02 PM
Great, thanks.

07-12-2018, 03:08 PM
Great, thanks.

But as I said, you can’t get into a seat until 7pm
Tickets will be issued, but it’s just to control crowd numbers

07-12-2018, 04:40 PM
Tonight at Oriam, 7.15pm KO
Free entry, but seemingly can’t get seated until 7pm. Must be someone on before the game

But, but its their centre surely?

07-12-2018, 05:56 PM
Hibs team
Cantley
Blaney
Yeats
Weir
K O’Conner
Furness
Woods
Fairley
J O’Connor
Shanley
Gallantes

Subs
Duncan
Caldwell
Moore
Heron
Grigor
McRitchie (GK)

07-12-2018, 05:59 PM
Hibs team
Cantley
Blaney
Yeats
Weir
K O’Conner
Furness
Woods
Fairley
J O’Connor
Shanley
Gallantes

Subs
Duncan
Caldwell
Moore
Heron
Grigor
McRitchie (GK)

I have heard nothing but outstanding reviews about Furness who has been promoted to the 18's , Player in the making right there

07-12-2018, 06:02 PM
I have heard nothing but outstanding reviews about Furness who has been promoted to the 18's , Player in the making right thereWhat position does he play Andy ?

07-12-2018, 06:02 PM
I have heard nothing but outstanding reviews about Furness who has been promoted to the 18's , Player in the making right there

I've heard similar about Shanley.

07-12-2018, 06:08 PM
What position does he play Andy ?

Centre mid but he can play a few positions , I believe he is playing right wing back tonight

07-12-2018, 06:14 PM
Centre mid but he can play a few positions , I believe he is playing right wing back tonightCheers mate 👍

07-12-2018, 06:22 PM
Seemingly all the Hearts team are full time professionals
Hibs have 4,

07-12-2018, 06:23 PM
Hibs team
Cantley
Blaney
Yeats
Weir
K O’Conner
Furness
Woods
Fairley
J O’Connor
Shanley
Gallantes

Subs
Duncan
Caldwell
Moore
Heron
Grigor
McRitchie (GK)

Josh O'Connor only 14.

07-12-2018, 06:36 PM
Josh O'Connor only 14.

I saw him play a few times for the 13's last year - has he pushed on? He was on a pre season tour in Ireland with the 16's in the summer I think.

07-12-2018, 06:38 PM
Fairley off injured and wilson on

07-12-2018, 06:51 PM
Josh O'Connor only 14.

Is it Garry’s laddie?

07-12-2018, 06:51 PM
Seemingly all the Hearts team are full time professionals
Hibs have 4,

Explains their squad size.

07-12-2018, 06:52 PM
Is it Garry’s laddie?

Yep.

07-12-2018, 07:03 PM
1-0 Hibs, Shanley penalty
O’Connor rounds goalie and gets brought down
Almost on half time

07-12-2018, 07:19 PM
Garry O'Connor's son plays for Hibs? and is playing under 20s at 14?!

07-12-2018, 07:22 PM
2-0 Hibs, great ball in and Weir headers home. Great finish

Nearly right.

Josh is Garry's laddie, he has not long turned 14 and is playing for Hibs under 18s.

Age limit lowered in cup this season.

It’s 18’s this season, born after Jan 2001

07-12-2018, 07:23 PM
Ah ok. Still very impressive, must be highly thought of. :aok:

07-12-2018, 07:28 PM
Nearly right.

Josh is Garry's laddie, he has not long turned 14 and is playing for Hibs under 18s.

Age limit lowered in cup this season.

He is just like his dad at that age, will only get better.

07-12-2018, 07:28 PM
2-0 Hibs, great ball in and Weir headers home. Great finish looks like a great start too:greengrin. well done to the Young team. is O'Connor's laddie as big as his Da? think all the O'Connors were fed by a shovel:greengrin

07-12-2018, 07:30 PM

Can he be kept away from ferrari motors in that case :-)

07-12-2018, 07:34 PM
Can he be kept away from ferrari motors in that case :-) gie the laddie a chance! he'll need to learn on souped -up Subarus' first. :wink:

07-12-2018, 07:36 PM

Was it a Granton team that Garry and Derek play for at 14yo?

07-12-2018, 07:46 PM
Hearts score from a penalty
2-1 with almost 20 mins to go

07-12-2018, 07:54 PM
Was it a Granton team that Garry and Derek play for at 14yo?was it not Hutchie Vale? they used to produce a lot of top quality players and Hibs seemed to have first dibs on them IIRC.

07-12-2018, 07:55 PM
Hearts score from a penalty
2-1 with almost 20 mins to goIf it is a draw after 90, will it replay at EM. ?

07-12-2018, 07:56 PM
Another penalty to Hearts, and Cantley saves it
Still 2-1 Hibs
O’Connor and Shanley off, Moore and Grigor on

07-12-2018, 07:58 PM
Hibs team
Cantley
Blaney
Yeats
Weir
K O’Conner
Furness
Woods
Fairley
J O’Connor
Shanley
Gallantes

Subs
Duncan
Caldwell
Moore
Heron
Grigor
McRitchie (GK)

I don't ever get to see the young team but there's quite a few names I recognise in that starting line up. Would be especially interested in hearing how Kane O'Conner, Yeats, Shanley and Gallantes got on. And mini Garry :greengrin

07-12-2018, 08:01 PM
Was it a Granton team that Garry and Derek play for at 14yo?

They were playing as young lads at Pilton BC at the age of 10 I think, they were unstoppable as a front pairing at Granton BC.

Donald Park seen the chemistry they had as young lads and it seemed that after Granton they would move on to Hutchie Vale, but Gaz went to another youth team, but DP was adamant they would eventually sing for Hibs and they did, Martin Ferguson scouted both of them.

07-12-2018, 08:06 PM
They were playing as young lads at Pilton BC at the age of 10 I think, they were unstoppable as a front pairing at Granton BC.

Donald Park seen the chemistry they had as young lads and it seemed that after Granton they would move on to Hutchie Vale, but Gaz went to another youth team, but DP was adamant they would eventually sing for Hibs and they did, Martin Ferguson scouted both of them.

Glad I got the Granton bit right Silv, starting to doubt myself.:greengrin

07-12-2018, 08:09 PM
2-1 ft

07-12-2018, 08:09 PM
Is it no ft yet Billy?

berwickhibee
07-12-2018, 08:10 PM
Well done the young guns.💚💚💚

Gogs07
07-12-2018, 08:17 PM
Great result for the Hibs boys. Keekback on meltdown!:greengrin

07-12-2018, 08:17 PM

Did GO not go to Salvy ?

07-12-2018, 08:25 PM
2-1 ft

Excellent result Billy and asxever thanks for the updates.
If you see Big Mo in passing I’m after my Development programmes but he’s no’ answering his text....!

07-12-2018, 08:27 PM
was it not Hutchie Vale? they used to produce a lot of top quality players and Hibs seemed to have first dibs on them IIRC.

No they both played at Granton Sports, I was in the same team 😄

I remember when the wee man was a baby, Lisa brought him to Dunfermline and sat in the away end with him. Sure we won 4 nil sunny as anything and fletch scored two as a sub.

07-12-2018, 08:29 PM
Natural order!

07-12-2018, 08:30 PM
Did GO not go to Salvy ?

Yeah.

07-12-2018, 08:32 PM
Excellent result Billy and asxever thanks for the updates.
If you see Big Mo in passing I’m after my Development programmes but he’s no’ answering his text....!

He wasn’t there tonight, might see him tomorrow

That’s Hibs through to last 8
All the other games results will appear on the below link sometime

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-cup/youth-cup/fixtures-results/

07-12-2018, 08:44 PM
Glad I got the Granton bit right Silv, starting to doubt myself.:greengrin

They left Granton BC at 14

07-12-2018, 08:45 PM
Did GO not go to Salvy ?

He did, just couldn't remember what they were called :greengrin

07-12-2018, 08:48 PM

I remember when the wee man was a baby, Lisa brought him to Dunfermline and sat in the away end with him. Sure we won 4 nil sunny as anything and fletch scored two as a sub.

Were you the 'Scott Allan' to the 'Kamberi and Maclaren'? :cool2:

07-12-2018, 08:50 PM

Ally & John had a great team at Granton, some really good players who could have made a career out of football, the goalie for one.

07-12-2018, 08:51 PM
He wasn’t there tonight, might see him tomorrow

That’s Hibs through to last 8
All the other games results will appear on the below link sometime

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-cup/youth-cup/fixtures-results/

Take it Lennon wasn't there what with him being ill Billy.

07-12-2018, 08:52 PM
well done the young guns and a special mention for the goalie! keeps my bro-in-law and his wife away from ma hoose, until at least the 30th:greengrin

07-12-2018, 09:03 PM
Well done boys! Thanks for the cheer up!

07-12-2018, 09:10 PM
Take it Lennon wasn't there what with him being ill Billy.

He wasn’t at the game Silver, few 1st team players were, great to see them at the game
Bit of an eye opener for me at this level, as I don’t get to see this age group too often. We’ve got some highly technical players, who’ll gain great confidence with this win, against a bigger and full time team

A few outstanding performancers tonight, but I always think it’s unfair to single out players at this level. Just let them continue to play and develop

Also great to see my team win again. Same tomorrow and most people on here will be happy too!

07-12-2018, 09:13 PM
Also great to see my team win again. Same tomorrow and most people on here will be happy too!
Quite a few not, I'd bet.

07-12-2018, 09:34 PM
He wasn’t at the game Silver, few 1st team players were, great to see them at the game
Bit of an eye opener for me at this level, as I don’t get to see this age group too often. We’ve got some highly technical players, who’ll gain great confidence with this win, against a bigger and full time team

A few outstanding performancers tonight, but I always think it’s unfair to single out players at this level. Just let them continue to play and develop

Cheers Billy, sounds promising from you, like to hear that some of the 1st team players were there watching, big Gaz also there watching his lad but it will be good boost for the young lads to see folk like that watching them, I know Deek has been at a few games as well but couldn't make it tonight, give a wee feel of Hibs when the young lads see players like that. Cheers.

07-12-2018, 09:37 PM
Excellent. Beating Hearts at any level gives me a warm fuzzy feeling.

07-12-2018, 10:07 PM
Excellent. Beating Hearts at any level gives me a warm fuzzy feeling.Top stuff, especially when you hear about how so far they are ahead of us.

Thieves

Tommy75
07-12-2018, 10:41 PM
How many of these young lads can we genuinely expect to see breaking though over the next few years?

I know pretty much nothing about any of them so would be interesting to know who to look out for and why.

07-12-2018, 11:44 PM
Ally & John had a great team at Granton, some really good players who could have made a career out of football, the goalie for one.

I thought Deano was better than Deeks 😂 I came with him from inch though.

07-12-2018, 11:48 PM
Were you the 'Scott Allan' to the 'Kamberi and Maclaren'? :cool2:

I definitely helped them in their progression. I went to Salvy too tho with Gaz. Hibs didnae want me and ended up at Livi. (All downhill after that)

08-12-2018, 12:37 AM
Is this seriously not deemed worthy of a single mention on the club’s official twitter account?

HibeeHibernian4
08-12-2018, 12:55 AM
Is this seriously not deemed worthy of a single mention on the club’s official twitter account?

I thought this too. Especially given the recent run, you'd think they might want to give us something to cheer about.

08-12-2018, 06:34 AM

maybe all our twitter folk have the flu

:duck:

08-12-2018, 06:44 AM
The fact Garry OConnors laddie played at 14 years old walked round their keeper and got pulled down for the penalty is an incredible achievement.

He must be a chip off the old block!

:giruy2:

08-12-2018, 07:30 AM

4-1.

Shiels got the other 2.

08-12-2018, 07:36 AM
Excellent. Beating Hearts at any level gives me a warm fuzzy feeling.

GGTTH. First time my spirits have been up for weeks. Well done boys.

08-12-2018, 09:30 AM
Hearts got two penalties? I thought there was an inbuilt grudge against them throughout refereeing circles.

Has Mr Levein commented yet?

09-12-2018, 02:12 PM
Teams through to last 8 are
Hibs
Rangers
Aberdeen
Dundee
Cove Rangers
Kilmarnock
Queens Park
Inverness v celtic was postponed, playing on Tuesday

1/4 Final ties due to be played on Friday 25th January, not sure when the draw is though

09-12-2018, 02:35 PM
Are Celtic fielding two teams in the 1/4 finals? 😜

Oops, edited it, can you please delete your post

09-12-2018, 02:39 PM

Done 👍🏾

andrew70
09-12-2018, 03:23 PM
Teams through to last 8 are
Hibs
Rangers
Aberdeen
Dundee
Cove Rangers
Kilmarnock
Queens Park/Ross County
Inverness v celtic was postponed, playing on Tuesday

1/4 Final ties due to be played on Friday 25th January, not sure when the draw is though

Might be wrong but sure Queens Park won on pens on Friday night.

09-12-2018, 03:37 PM
Might be wrong but sure Queens Park won on pens on Friday night.

Andrew, just checked, Queens Park won 4-2 after extra time

09-12-2018, 03:49 PM

You been on the juice Billy?😂

09-12-2018, 03:55 PM
4-1.

Shiels got the other 2.

Great day!

09-12-2018, 04:05 PM
You been on the juice Billy?😂

Not yet, was just trying to navigate this and the SFA site. You should know it’s hard to multitask at times😜

andrew70
09-12-2018, 05:03 PM
Andrew, just checked, Queens Park won 4-2 after extra time

Cheers, thought I had seen they won. Don’t know where I got the pens from mind you.