View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v St Mirren

Pages : [1] 2 3

05-12-2018, 05:34 PM
Great night for football. Team news?

05-12-2018, 05:41 PM
STARTING XI | Bogdan, Mavrias, Ambrose, Porteous, Stevenson, Boyle, Mallan, Bartley, Horgan, Shaw, Kamberi.

SUBS | Marciano, Milligan, Nelom, McGregor, Slivka, Gullan, Maclaren.

I'd assume a 442. Hanlon injured again?

STARTING XI | Bogdan, Mavrias, Ambrose, Porteous, Stevenson, Boyle, Mallan, Bartley, Horgan, Shaw, Kamberi.

Mavrias gets his chance.

Mavrias starts. Milligan dropped.

05-12-2018, 05:42 PM
Decent team line up.

05-12-2018, 05:43 PM
No Whittaker, SDG, Pong, Hyndman,

Looks like an outright 442. With everybody playing in their actual position.

No Hanlon either.

That's more 4-4-2 than 4-3-3

Or Hanlon

05-12-2018, 05:44 PM
No Hanlon either.

Injured again?

05-12-2018, 05:44 PM
Hanlon been miles off it in his two games back. Maybe just not quite right.

05-12-2018, 05:45 PM
Injured again?

Or dropped

05-12-2018, 05:46 PM
Or Hanlon

Agyepong will be about 2-3 weeks, Hyndman about 1 month, Gray is a mystery, was seemingly ready to go last week then out. Wonder if Hanlon was brought back too soon? Didnt look up to speed.

05-12-2018, 05:46 PM
Or dropped

Don't see why McGregor would be ahead of him on the bench.

05-12-2018, 05:47 PM

I'd assume a 442. Hanlon injured again?

We playing for a draw again. :cb

davhibby
Hanlon didn't deserve to start even if he was fit. The only cb pairing that's worked for us this season playing tonight so that's a good base to start from. Hopefully Mavrias has a good game and glad that Whittaker is nowhere to be seen

Maybe its just me who see's a weak midfield who will rely on Bartley to do most of the defending?

I know we are better than St Mirren, we have better players in every position, but we are lacking in confidence, hopefully we get right at them from the start and pressure them from the first minute.

St Mirren are no great shakes, and normally we should win whatever team we put out, i hope Lennon has instilled some confidence into these players, as a confident Hibs could win this 2-0 3-0.

ClewsHibs
Need Mallan to turn up in midfield tonight

05-12-2018, 05:49 PM
Maybe its just me who see's a weak midfield who will rely on Bartley to do most of the defending?

I know we are better than St Mirren, we have better players in every position, but we are lacking in confidence, hopefully we get right at them from the start and pressure them from the first minute.

St Mirren are no great shakes, and normally we should win whatever team we put out, i hope Lennon has instilled some confidence into these players, as a confident Hibs could win this 2-0 3-0.

I would have had Slivka in ahead of Shaw because I think the same about the midfield. Much better line up than Saturday though and if we turn up we should win.

05-12-2018, 05:51 PM
Delighted to see Bartley in there

05-12-2018, 05:51 PM
welcome back Marv, hopefully allows Mallan a wee bit further forward more often

05-12-2018, 05:53 PM

Or Hanlon

05-12-2018, 05:54 PM
Delighted to see Bartley in there

Bartley would be in my first 11 every single week

05-12-2018, 05:54 PM
Let's go hibs

05-12-2018, 05:56 PM
Is it too early to start blaming the ref?

05-12-2018, 05:57 PM

It’s never too early.

05-12-2018, 05:57 PM

Who is the ref tonight?

05-12-2018, 05:58 PM
Who is the ref tonight?

B. Lame of Govan

05-12-2018, 05:59 PM

It will when Bartley gets booked in the first 10 minutes for his first foul of the match whilst St.mirren players get away with foul after foul after foul after foul after foul....

coco22
05-12-2018, 06:00 PM

Ready to ‘pull the plug’ someone? 💡😂

murray26
05-12-2018, 06:01 PM
Yet another different 11 hopefully this one works.. quietly confident 3-1 Hibs.. it’ll interesting to see how Harry gets on..

05-12-2018, 06:04 PM
Who is the ref tonight?

Euan Anderson. Can't say hr rings a bell

05-12-2018, 06:05 PM
Hopefully get back on track with a win. Mon the hibees
B

05-12-2018, 06:06 PM
Big night for Shaw. Go on son.

05-12-2018, 06:07 PM
Hanlon didn't deserve to start even if he was fit. The only cb pairing that's worked for us this season playing tonight so that's a good base to start from. Hopefully Mavrias has a good game and glad that Whittaker is nowhere to be seen

None of the centre backs have been good this season apart from Ambrose, no surprise Lennon is taking this Canadian on trial.

RossScott1991
05-12-2018, 06:09 PM
Good team I’m happy.

After watching the rag-dolling we got last Saturday, I am hoping for everything and expecting nothing tonight.

Maybe, just maybe, Big Marv will bring back some steel at the back. If, of course, the referee allows him to and not see hard but fair tackles as fouls.

I like that team.

It might go tits up for us again, but at least you can understand what our manager is trying to do here which is comforting.

He appears to have dealt decisively with the problems and dilemmas.

05-12-2018, 06:10 PM
I’m happy with that team.

05-12-2018, 06:12 PM
Euan Anderson. Can't say hr rings a bell

I don't think he is a campanologist :greengrin

Lets just do a job tonight and hope the ref is invisible.

Hibees1973
05-12-2018, 06:12 PM
Don’t mind Bartley in place of Milligan. We can’t play both of them as we would lack creativity/pace in midfield.

We seem to make at least 3 or 4 changes each game which kind of sums up our season so far.

Don’t care how we play tonight as 3 points are imperative. If we don’t we are in trouble, even a draw would be dire.

Hope Boyle has a finishing product tonight.

2 - 0 Hibs.....we are long overdue a clean sheet.

05-12-2018, 06:13 PM
I hope Marv had had his Wheetabix this morning.

05-12-2018, 06:14 PM
I don't think he is a campanologist :greengrin

Lets just do a job tonight and hope the ref is invisible.

Hah, boom boom.....or should I say ding ding

OtleyHibs
05-12-2018, 06:14 PM
Hopeful we can get back to winning ways tonight, could do with Kamberi finding his scoring touch.

C’mon the Hibees!!

05-12-2018, 06:21 PM
Boyle back out wide is the best change for me. IMHO he cant play in a 2 up front.

Shaw to get 2, Boyle 1 assist...

05-12-2018, 06:21 PM
442 and every one playing in their natural positions #rippingthetapaffit

05-12-2018, 06:22 PM
That's a very attacking team. Nice to see after the line up on Saturday.

A bit worried about Marv being overwhelmed in the middle.

YanYansen
05-12-2018, 06:25 PM
Would have liked to see Jamie Mac start, but otherwise happy

05-12-2018, 06:28 PM
Surely a bog standard 4-4-2 with two wide men?

05-12-2018, 06:31 PM
Boyle and Horgan need to do the defensive side tonight but decent line up much better than Saturday.

05-12-2018, 06:40 PM
In the shooting practice Horgan buried every shot in the back of the net. Let's hope he does the same in the match.

05-12-2018, 06:42 PM
Would have liked to see Jamie Mac start, but otherwise happy

I know he's been poor recently but I'm surprised by that as well.

Off the bar
05-12-2018, 06:46 PM
Looking forward to this one, good looking team hope Shaw grabs his chance.
C'mon the hibs

05-12-2018, 06:48 PM
Looks empty. Not surprising though!

05-12-2018, 06:50 PM
Wouldn't mind a PM if there is any going. :wink:

05-12-2018, 06:52 PM
That is one of the best goals I have ever seen.

Off the bar
Killie one up on Livy

beensaidbefore
Oh dear

Mr Grieves
****ing hell

Is lennon in the dugout?

Wow

O dear

Omg.

Are they trying to get him to leave?

05-12-2018, 06:53 PM
Oh dear god....

Just **** off

James310
You know things are going against you when someone scores against you in their own half.

Bogdan caught out with a shot from the halfway line...1-0 st.mirren ******* unbelievable

05-12-2018, 06:54 PM
Doing it the hard way yet again I see

Brummie_Hibs
In fairness, great vision.

oldbiker
Playground goalkeeping ☹️

Decent strike from 55 yards [emoji23][emoji33][emoji1751]*[emoji3603]

Marciano come back pls x

05-12-2018, 06:55 PM
Shaw once again can't hold on to the ball and Bogdan miles off his line, it was a good shot but it could have been avoided.

Was Bogdan too far out?

I'm still at work, but finished now.

Is it worth coming along?

I take it we're 1-0 down after losing a cracking goal?

Great strike tbf. Disappointed with how easily we lost it beforehand though. Plenty time.

05-12-2018, 06:56 PM
In fairness, great vision.

Yip it was any thoughts on the keeper :confused:

Was Bogdan too far out?

He was outside of his box when it was hit

That is one of the best goals I have ever seen.
Did the same against hearts.

Baws. Took a Hibs/Rangers double as well, splendid.

Is the game on any stream of YouTube tonight? If so PM would be appreciated

He was outside of his box when it was hit

Fair enough. Was a great hit from the boy.

Weegreenman
We’re as soft as ***** :rolleyes:

05-12-2018, 06:57 PM
1-0 Hearts
1-0 Aberdeen

Is the game on any stream of YouTube tonight? If so PM would be appreciated

Hibs tv is playing up so probably not much point

Agreed, think we just have to give credit to the St Mirren player.

We've actually started reasonably well too.

Great goal. No-ones fault.

horseflesh
If he’d watched sport scene he wouldn’t have been standing outside his box

delbert
05-12-2018, 06:58 PM
Did the same against hearts.

So basically either the keeper or the coaching staff not doing their homework, either way, amateur stuff.

MacGruber
News of a goal for Hearts and St Mirren coming through at the same time. Baws

We’re as soft as ***** :rolleyes:

We may be, but it was **** all to do with that goal

Dons 1 up against Huns

That was a brilliant strike to be fair

Got it no sound tho

05-12-2018, 06:59 PM
We will see if the team has any baws plenty time to turn it around let's see what we have got.

05-12-2018, 06:59 PM
We will see if the team has any baws plenty time to turn it around let's see what we have got.

I'll save you the wait. Naw, we haven't/

Ryan69
05-12-2018, 07:00 PM
Great goal. No-ones fault.

Are you for real????

No goalie should beaten by anyone from 55 yards mate.

Celtic up, Christie again!

Is Lennon in the dug out? I only see Parker?

Got it no sound tho

Mine has been playing up since the start so at least you have it

We’re *** honking

Got it no sound tho

No issues here.

Is lennon on the bench? Anyone see better than me from the east

05-12-2018, 07:01 PM

Slowing down a lot.

Is lennon on the bench? Anyone see better than me from the east

He's there.

Never mind, just seen him.

05-12-2018, 07:02 PM
He's there.

Cheers. Not seen him up and about much

So basically either the keeper or the coaching staff not doing their homework, either way, amateur stuff.

I would say so, it was well highlighted on TV. No excuse.

Are you for real????

No goalie should beaten by anyone from 55 yards mate.

Get a grip

05-12-2018, 07:03 PM
Players totally drained of confidence. Evident already.

We should be more than capable of scoring a couple against St Mirren.

We are utterly gash.

Is Lennon in the dug out? I only see Parker?

He's in the dugout not looking a happy chappie

H18S NX
Mine has been playing up since the start so at least you have it....Mine is crap too.

Ryan69
Get a grip

Sorry for stating the truth...

How can you justify it?

05-12-2018, 07:04 PM
He's in the dugout not looking a happy chappie

He's no happy??!!!!

Hold on

Folk were saying we would finish second this season ?

They were right. Second bottom.

Pretty unthinkable to lose this imo.

05-12-2018, 07:05 PM
Sorry for stating the truth...

How can you justify it?

Truth my arse. ‘No keeper should’ - except two now have. It was just a great strike.

This is awful again.

Start thinking it.

whiskas
This looks like a butcher/Fenlon team. No movement, no belief, no hope

05-12-2018, 07:06 PM

Unthinkable, not impossible.
Something is very wrong here

05-12-2018, 07:06 PM
This is absolute pish.

Shaw is murder. Kamberi not much better and less said about the defence the better.

05-12-2018, 07:07 PM
Mogadon in the dugout for Saturday?

Lee Marvin
All is clearly not well in the dressing room. Have the players lost confidence in lennon?

Killie 2-0 up. Some team.

Obligatory Bartley booking there....

05-12-2018, 07:08 PM
Sounds like no creativity again in the middle of the park.

1-1 Hearts

All is clearly not well in the dressing room. Have the players lost confidence in lennon?

It’s beginning to look like they have.

All downhill since the derby

Get shot of Lennon please.

Ryan69
Truth my arse. ‘No keeper should’ - except two now have. It was just a great strike.

Come on...

No goalie should ever be beaten from 55 yards!

How can anyone actually justify that?

Especially with how we have been recently

05-12-2018, 07:09 PM

Spot on

Marv booked :rolleyes:

gogsy23
All over the place. Ref terrible but thats not the point

Some of the fans certainly have.

Bartley booked, not got a good feeling about this game.

Obligatory Bartley booking there....

Bit soft but it's his third foul and had his first been later in the game then it would've been a yellow so can't complain too much.

Mr Grieves
05-12-2018, 07:10 PM
Our gameplan appears to be sideways passes along the defensive line until it comes to Stevenson who aimlessly punts it up the park.

We're in deep ****

James310
Marv booked :rolleyes:

A ridiculous booking, it hardly even looked like a foul.

Relegation form

Bartley booked i think for persistent fouling, he's had i think 4 fouls in the first 22 minutes?

Without wanting to start a Fenlon debate, you cannot compare those names if you are being fair.

Paloschi
Lennon out for me.

Spot on

Frightening eh.

05-12-2018, 07:11 PM
Isnt it typical that players talk to press that they are letting the fans down and have a player meeting and still manage to lose this game as it stands. Still time to get a win

supermcginn
Shaw is miles out his depth

No wonder. Are you watching this pish? It’s actually worse than Saturday. I didn’t think that was possible.

A ridiculous booking, it hardly even looked like a foul.

i think he was actually being smart by kidding on he was falling and grabbed the player......a couple of replays should clear it up :greengrin

Agree. Not good enough.

05-12-2018, 07:12 PM
Mallan very unlucky.:aok:

Hibees1973
How many times have I heard/read this. Boyle shoots.........and it goes wide!

Mr Grieves
Better play there

05-12-2018, 07:13 PM
Greg Stewart 2 goals for Killie already.

Good one touch passing ends up with Stevenson winning a corner after a shot from an awkward angle. Best bit of play in weeks.

All downhill since the derby

Since Parkhead but we’ve played brutal since the LC exit v Aberdeen

05-12-2018, 07:14 PM

He always has been.

Can't believe Lennon's lost the dressing room

05-12-2018, 07:15 PM
Dundee 1-0, Miller!

1-1 Hearts

So what

He always has been.

Has he?

Dundee winning. We're getting sucked in to relegation battle

Has he?

Somethings bloody wrong

05-12-2018, 07:16 PM
6 points was a must from these two games this week.

GlasgowHibee
05-12-2018, 07:16 PM
Alarming similarities to Butcher and Fenlon era - Lenny is the man to take us forward but the players need to buck up their ideas.

Off the bar
05-12-2018, 07:17 PM
Kamberi has looked **** tonight

05-12-2018, 07:17 PM
Dundee winning. We're getting sucked in to relegation battle

11 points between us as it stands.

We’re pish but not getting relegated.

05-12-2018, 07:18 PM

Your being kind to him imho. He’s been poor for a number of weeks

05-12-2018, 07:18 PM
Somethings bloody wrong

Lack of confidence. Get a goal here and we go on to win. But we have to get the goal first...

Keyser Sauzee
05-12-2018, 07:19 PM
Are we getting into the game now??

Lack of confidence. Get a goal here and we go on to win. But we have to get the goal first...

We can't buy a goal just now.

Same as most weeks then. First touch let's him down constantly. Last season he was much better at taking it in and holding it up.

05-12-2018, 07:20 PM
He always has been.

Gave his team talk to the St Mirren players before the game apparently. He should go now.

Are we getting into the game now??

Yep, just in time for half time.

McIntosh
Let’s see what can be done at half time. In the transfer window, we will need to get our targets in really early. No fannying about this time.

What's happened to Kamberi? Seems to have lost the ability to control the ball 😣

05-12-2018, 07:21 PM
Listening to the game, sounds like we are doing better now?

05-12-2018, 07:21 PM
Let’s see what can be done at half time. In the transfer window, we will need to get our targets in really early. No fannying about this time.

A sensible decision from the board will lead to the new manager having january to sort lennons dreadful recruitment out.

sean04
05-12-2018, 07:22 PM
This is terry butcher stuff! Wtf has happened too us!!! Lennon must seriously be thinking about walking

Why is bartley pushing forward and mallan sitting so deep? Shaw is waste of a jersey up front, pushed off the ball easily and no conviction in anything he does, he is tall but seems to be able to jump down the way rather than up.

Mavrias looks scared to take anyone on.

Ryan69
05-12-2018, 07:23 PM

We need to sign a new manager first...

Can't see Lennon hanging this out.

Something has went majorly wrong somewhere

This is terry butcher stuff! Wtf has happened too us!!! Lennon must seriously be thinking about walking

Hopefully because its obvious he doesn't know how to fix this slump.

Yip, plenty of empty seats at ER, ST not turning up. :wink:

He has to accept most of the blame

Off the bar
Listening to the game, sounds like we are doing better now?

A bit, but that's as much because St mirren are pretty happy letting us have the ball and toil to break them down.

05-12-2018, 07:24 PM
Mavrias looks scared to take anyone on.

Lack of confidence does that, sadly.

Saint Hibee
05-12-2018, 07:24 PM
I can see why mavrias hasn't been playing...

05-12-2018, 07:25 PM
Lack of confidence does that, sadly.

Thrown in a must win game. Scared to make a mistake.

I don’t even know what we need anymore. I just don’t understand what’s happened

Hibees1973
Jesus...need the get level before half time.

TrinityHibs
05-12-2018, 07:26 PM
Yip, plenty of empty seats at ER, ST not turning up. :wink:

Got back to Edinburgh at 6.15 from Seville. Apologies for not turning up. I will try harder in the future

practise yer crossing boyle for the love o **** man

Off the bar
Crying out for a Scott Allen type to unlock a defence. Nae ideas out there, mallan looks light weight

sean04
He has to accept most of the blame

Falls at his door, drew at home to bottom of the league and now losing to 2nd bottom. Were potentially in a relegation battle

05-12-2018, 07:27 PM
We can't buy a goal just now.

Yup.

Thrown in a must win game. Scared to make a mistake.

Indeed. He's put in a couple of good crosses from deep though. Boyle could do with making an effort to run past someone. Everything coming down the left and Stevenson keeps getting the ball square rather than in front of him meaning his trademark cutback is about all he can do.

Shaw heads about 10yds wide from 6yds out.

Mallan wouldn't get a game for Dundee

05-12-2018, 07:28 PM
Boyle and Horgan switched wings.

Shaw heads about 10yds wide from 6yds out.

Terrible header.

Wow this is grim. Can only hope saints so sit in and we get a break.

I don’t even know what we need anymore. I just don’t understand what’s happened

Nor do I, how can things go so wrong so quickly ? In my mind I've written this season off already.

Mr_F
05-12-2018, 07:30 PM
Some player Shaw like...

Your being kind to him imho. He’s been poor for a number of weeks

He doesn't look interested

Boyle and Horgan switched wings.

Horgan keeps cutting in now and is even more ineffectual than he was previously.

sean04
Nor do I, how can things go so wrong so quickly ? In my mind I've written this season off already.

We can't write it off, we're in a relegation battle. Can't see us winning a game in December

Terrible header.

Another terrible effort from shaw. Get him off.

houstonhibbee
05-12-2018, 07:31 PM
get Slivka and McLaren on for second half...…..

I've only been in 10 minutes.

Some half decent possession but we have absolutely zero in the final third.

Kamberi looks like a poor man's James Collins and Oli Shaw is Rowan Vine without the ability to grow a beard.

Grim.

Oli wtf has happened to yi son

Off the bar

Yup maclaren for Shaw at half time.

Shaw is absolutely rank rotten.

Lee Marvin
05-12-2018, 07:32 PM
Shaw keeps proving time and time again that he is not a very good footballer

McIntosh
get Slivka and McLaren on for second half...…..
Who to sub?

Mr_F
Yup maclaren for Shaw at half time.

Better off wi Marciano up front than Shaw

05-12-2018, 07:33 PM
Massive 45 coming up!

Halftime. ****ing gash.

Shaw is minging. Porteous has been minging. Everyone’s been minging.

We can't write it off, we're in a relegation battle. Can't see us winning a game in December

We don't have the fight for a battle. Thats what worries me. This is worse than under Butcher.

Even Dundee are winning. Sakes man 😔

McIntosh
Massive 45 coming up!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Agree totally

houstonhibbee
05-12-2018, 07:34 PM
Who to sub?

shaw For McLaren.

porteous with another slack ball like the one v aberdeen

HT booing

Bangkok Hibby

I thought this season would be the making of Shaw and said so here. The laddie and the whole team are utterly lacking in confidence. Seriously worrying. They must be sick of half time bollockings too.

Very very poor.

05-12-2018, 07:35 PM
I know there is 45 mins to go but lets face it Lennon doesn't know how to sort this out. Time for someone who can.

st.mirren going with 11 outfield players for the 2nd half

Hate booing, but we don't have any other recourse

Shaw is minging. Porteous has been minging. Everyone’s been minging.

I've found myself agreeing with you most of the week but outside a misplaced pass by Porteous I though him and Ambrose have been fairly solid. Ambrose is about the only player on the park capable of playing football and knowing exactly what his role is.

Ryan69
Shaw is absolutely rank rotten.

That's probably what happens when you play no games whatsoever..even development

05-12-2018, 07:36 PM
This is pretty poor, we look so dis-jointed.

Dons 1 up against Huns

Mallan’s also done his usual, totally anonymous

absolutely ******* ridiculous goal to lose

sorrow sorrow
Recruitment is everything at a club,especially when losing so many key players,I think we all agree we have had a shocker in the summer recruitment department.Whether that is Lennons fault or the board I don’t know but I do know our squad is really not very good and I think it’s going to be a long hard season

05-12-2018, 07:37 PM
Slivka looks like he's coming on. Hopefully Mallon off.

sean04
People leaving at half time. Were in a mess

Something is seriously wrong at Hibs. This isn't the squad we had in 10-14, it's entirely down to a complete lack of confidence which has existed since the derby. This squad shouldn't be playing this poorly.

We don't have the fight for a battle. Thats what worries me. This is worse than under Butcher.

Well if that really is the case a managerial change has to be made sooner rather than later & I say that with a heavy heart as I admire N. L. immensely.

davym7062
Horrible to watch! Very little desire! Freezin my areas off watching this! Massive 45 comin up

I've found myself agreeing with you most of the week but outside a misplaced pass by Porteous I though him and Ambrose have been fairly solid. Ambrose is about the only player on the park capable of playing football and knowing exactly what his role is.

He had one early in the half aswell and also an awful attempt at a pass out to Mavrias or Boyle. His distribution is atrocious. He’s done alright defensively but he can’t play any football whatsoever.

Agree re Ambrose. Hasn’t set a foot wrong.

05-12-2018, 07:38 PM
Dons being screwed over by anither poor ref

Something is seriously wrong at Hibs. This isn't the squad we had in 10-14, it's entirely down to a complete lack of confidence which has existed since the derby. This squad shouldn't be playing this poorly.

Manager has lost dressing room.

Slivka looks like he's coming on. Hopefully Mallon off.

If he comes on and plays right mid I'm ****ing going home.

Shaw may or may not eventually become some kind of player but there is no way that him and Kamberi work as a partnership. We don’t have a leader on the park. Our pace players can’t go past anyone and we have practically no movement up front. This is all a confidence car crash.