View Full Version : Mallan gives the interview I've been wanting to hear from a Hibs player since October

HibeeHibernian4
05-12-2018, 02:28 AM
At the moment it's just words, but I'm hoping it's backed up with a performance to match tonight.

"We know we should be giving the fans more; they deserve more," Mallan said.
"We know the past few games haven't been up to the high standards we expect at Hibs.
"Tomorrow is the best opportunity to rectify what we have done recently. Everyone is itching to go out and show what we can do."
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46441386

Salisbury Hibby
05-12-2018, 06:15 AM
I'll believe it when he puts in a challenge for a ball. Too often he's just been ran past. Sorry, but it's just words - but if they are backed up by actions I'll be very happy.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

05-12-2018, 06:35 AM
I'll believe it when he puts in a challenge for a ball. Too often he's just been ran past. Sorry, but it's just words - but if they are backed up by actions I'll be very happy.

I agree. Heard the same words from countless Hibs players over the years when we've been on bad runs. It's what you'd expect but i don't care. I'd rather a 4-0 win to put my mind at rest.

05-12-2018, 07:01 AM
Not interested in cheap paper talk. Waste of column space or air time.

Get it sorted out there on the park and save your slavering.

05-12-2018, 07:06 AM
Damned if they do, damned if they don’t.

05-12-2018, 07:11 AM
Not interested in cheap paper talk. Waste of column space or air time.

Get it sorted out there on the park and save your slavering.

And yet here you are, on the paper talk thread at the crack of dawn.

05-12-2018, 07:25 AM
Time for talking is over need a win tonight simple as

05-12-2018, 07:32 AM
I don't think the contracts about media commitments etc only apply if we're winning and the precious ones on here allow interviews.

Good words by him, taking responsibility.

Salisbury Hibby
05-12-2018, 07:37 AM
I don't think the contracts about media commitments etc only apply if we're winning and the precious ones on here allow interviews.

Good words by him, taking responsibility.What's the deal with this "precious ones" patter?

05-12-2018, 07:41 AM
What's the deal with this "precious ones" patter?

It's ridiculous to moan about a player giving a pre match press conference.

05-12-2018, 07:41 AM

Good words by him, taking responsibility.

Lennon doesn't do a press conference = "coward"
Mallan does press conference = "aye right do the talking on the pitch"

Love this forum just now :flag:

Salisbury Hibby
05-12-2018, 08:09 AM
It's ridiculous to moan about a player giving a pre match press conference.I don't think I moaned. Whether they're winning or losing press talk is just talk. What is important is performances and results on the park. Nothing precious about that.

05-12-2018, 08:17 AM

😂😂😂😂

RossScott1991
05-12-2018, 08:28 AM
Normally take pre match interviews with a pinch of salt, usually recycled things they say. However Mallan evening news interview about the players have got together themselves to have a meeting about what they can do to help manager. I found that encouraging , shows that they care and are fully aware how bad they and the management team are performing at the moment.

05-12-2018, 08:36 AM
He reminds me of Liam Craig. Talented number 10 style player who started by scoring lots of goals but then for some apparent reason gets played deeper and they lose their effectiveness and people end up on their back.

Expecting Mallan to be a big tackling midfielder is like being angry because your cat won’t bark and fetch your slippers.

05-12-2018, 08:47 AM

05-12-2018, 08:56 AM
u21 Scotland player. Scores goals for fun outside the box (something we have complained about for years). Great corner kick delivery.

But hes not good enough for Hibs. :greengrin

05-12-2018, 08:56 AM
He reminds me of Liam Craig. Talented number 10 style player who started by scoring lots of goals but then for some apparent reason gets played deeper and they lose their effectiveness and people end up on their back.

Expecting Mallan to be a big tackling midfielder is like being angry because your cat won’t bark and fetch your slippers.

Who has said they want Mallan to be “a big tackling midfield”? Being small and technical doesn’t make you immune to tackling and tracking runners as well as doing the technical side of the game.

05-12-2018, 09:04 AM
u21 Scotland player. Scores goals for fun outside the box (something we have complained about for years). Great corner kick delivery.

Well said.

There are some serious heid the ba's on here at the moment. Or the undercover jambos that have been biding there time patiently since 21 May 2016 have now finally got some ammo.

05-12-2018, 09:05 AM

Of course nobody is debating whether he's good enough based on they attributes. It's all the parts of his game that he lacks that are making people question whether his goals from outside the box and corner delivery are worth having him in the team for at the expense of a player who can do the things Mallan isn't as good at.

I'd have him in my team btw but I can see why people get frustrated at his all round game. :aok:

05-12-2018, 09:13 AM
Of course nobody is debating whether he's good enough based on they attributes. It's all the parts of his game that he lacks that are making people question whether his goals from outside the box and corner delivery are worth having him in the team for at the expense of a player who can do the things Mallan isn't as good at.

I'd have him in my team btw but I can see why people get frustrated at his all round game. :aok:

We've got too many specialists, and need some more all-rounders to complement the specialists.

All of our midfielders have brilliant attributes but pretty serious flaws.

Mallan is no different.

05-12-2018, 09:17 AM
No one was expecting him to go about smashing people like Bartley or mcginn but he looks like a lost wee laddie in the middle of the park at times.

05-12-2018, 09:21 AM
The main problem is that too many people think every midfielder should be like SJM. There arent many of him around. Dylan was never a great tackler and also wasnt great at tracking players that got passed him. Milligan is our holding player but after 2 poor games he is now passed it, and everyone wants Bartley back in....this is Bartley who runs like he is towing a caravan. Our problem for the last few games hasn't been the players as such, its the way they have been deployed. There is no consistency in formation and personnel. Until we get that we wont improve.

Mallan is an excellent footballer.

05-12-2018, 09:29 AM
Blah blah, and repeat. Heard this kind of stuff hundreds of times before - most often from the players who are the biggest culprits.

A little less talk, a little more action please.

05-12-2018, 09:29 AM

I hope to god Stevie Mallan has an outstanding game for HIBS tonight not only will he need his undoubted passing and dead ball skills he will need to add chasing back,closing down,harrying,tacklling,cajoling,encouraging,commi tment ,tenacity,heading,challenging,getting in the face,always choosing the correct option and running nonstop for ninety minutes to wide shoulders and a thick skin.
Most importantly focus,heart and the right attitude
He is an outstanding talent and I am convinced that with the right coaching he can develop into an outstanding player but he needs to add all these things and more to his game tonight as it is a must win game for us tonight no excuses.

05-12-2018, 09:38 AM

Singling our his best attribute attribute to suggest that he’s good enough is just as flimsy an argument as singling out his worst attribute and concluding that he’s not good enough though.

I’ve not been overly taken by him so far tbh and the fact that he splits opinion to the extent he does despite the number of goals he’s scored is a big indicator for me of how good (or not so good) his overall performances have been. However his ability to take a set piece makes him undroppable at the moment and while it’s obviously far too early to write him off, there’s nothing wrong with being critical of his performances so far.

FWIW I’d happily sacrifice every one of his goals for Dylan McGeouch if I could. He’s probably just about as likely to score on a Saturday as I am and it will probably take him an entire career to score as many goals as Mallan has in half a season but he’s living proof that you don’t need to score goals to be an outstanding midfield player.

By the way, Islam Feruz was also a Scotland Under 21 player so if we’re using that as a barometer of success then we’re already on a slippery slope:cb

05-12-2018, 09:46 AM
By the way, Islam Feruz was also a Scotland Under 21 player so if we’re using that as a barometer of success then we’re already on a slippery slope:cb

The international thing is as pointless an arguement as you’ll ever find. We care about how they do for Hibs and will base our opinions of players on that, not how they do for Scotland u21s, Lithuania, Australia or whoever else.

It’s not really any different to using impressive/unimpressive spells at different clubs as an arguement as to their worth to Hibs. Swanson was great at St Johnstone, doesn’t matter in regard to his time at Hibs where he wasn’t good enough. James Collins was decent before and after Hibs, again, has no relevance to his time at Hibs where he wasn’t good enough. Efe Ambrose was held up as a joke figure at Celtic to an extent, irrelevant to his time at Hibs because he’s been excellent for us.

That’s not specific to your point btw Underscore, it seems to get trotted out all the time to suggest we had a good transfer window.

LeithMike
05-12-2018, 09:51 AM
Mallan is an excellent footballer.

There is no doubt that Mallan has excellent technical ability and has the potential to be a very good footballer. I actually don't think the big issue is with his tracking back, etc. To me the biggest issue is when Hibs have the ball. I'd like to see Mallan demanding the ball, running into space to receive the ball and making the play. I just don't see that at the moment and I think he has gone into his shell. Against Dundee he rarely seemed to get out of the centre circle. It just shows you that energy and drive like John McGinn possesses are extremely rare qualities.

Ultimately, I think Lennon sees Mallan as the successor to McGeogh and I think that is where he will end up playing as he doesn't have the drive or pace to play further up. I don't think he's ready for that yet though (no reason why he can't learn as he has the right attributes) and I'd be inclined to go with a middle three of Milligan (holding) Bartley and Horgan for now as we need to be competitive. Say what you like about Bartley - he may be slow but he can certainly play with energy and drive Hibs up the park (the League Cup Final against Ross County springs to mind.)

05-12-2018, 09:55 AM
People do realise the club have a contractual obligation to put peoplr forward to talk to the press? I take it they also realise Mallan didn't make those comments off the cuff rather as a response to something he was asked?
This forum can be beyond moronic at times.

05-12-2018, 09:57 AM
Singling our his best attribute attribute to suggest that he’s good enough is just as flimsy an argument as singling out his worst attribute and concluding that he’s not good enough though.

I’ve not been overly taken by him so far tbh and the fact that he splits opinion to the extent he does despite the number of goals he’s scored is a big indicator for me of how good (or not so good) his overall performances have been. However his ability to take a set piece makes him undroppable at the moment and while it’s obviously far too early to write him off, there’s nothing wrong with being critical of his performances so far.

FWIW I’d happily sacrifice every one of his goals for Dylan McGeouch if I could. He’s probably just about as likely to score on a Saturday as I am and it will probably take him an entire career to score as many goals as Mallan has in half a season but he’s living proof that you don’t need to score goals to be an outstanding midfield player.

I’d swap Mallan for McGeough if McGeough still had Allan and McGinn to pass the ball to.

Mallan needs a McGeough to pass him the ball IMO.

05-12-2018, 10:06 AM
People do realise the club have a contractual obligation to put peoplr forward to talk to the press? I take it they also realise Mallan didn't make those comments off the cuff rather as a response to something he was asked?
This forum can be beyond moronic at times.
Agree with this - there's someone on another thread suggesting that there are Hibs fans that actually don't want Hibs to win :cb

05-12-2018, 10:07 AM
Agree with this - there's someone on another thread suggesting that there are Hibs fans that actually don't want Hibs to win :cb

Shirley not.

05-12-2018, 10:08 AM
Shirley not.
A moronic suggestion, isn't it

05-12-2018, 10:11 AM
A moronic suggestion, isn't it

Probably.

05-12-2018, 10:12 AM
I hope to god Stevie Mallan has an outstanding game for HIBS tonight not only will he need his undoubted passing and dead ball skills he will need to add chasing back,closing down,harrying,tacklling,cajoling,encouraging,commi tment ,heading,challenging,getting in the face,always choosing the correct option and running nonstop for ninety minutes to wide shoulders and a thick skin.
Most importantly focus,heart and the right attitude
He is an outstanding talent and I am convinced that with the right coaching he can develop into an outstanding player but he needs to add all these things and more to his game tonight as it is a must win game for us tonight no excuses.
I'd be happy with 70-75mins of that. Get 3 up, sub him off when he is done in, and shut up shop.

05-12-2018, 10:22 AM
I'd be happy with 70-75mins of that. Get 3 up, sub him off when he is done in, and shut up shop.

Ha ha!

Does it it look like I am not convinced by him? :greengrin

05-12-2018, 10:29 AM

Good words by him, taking responsibility.I agree it's what we want to hear and hopefully backed up with a MOM award and a convincing win this evening - lets get this season back in track starting tonight Hibees

05-12-2018, 10:46 AM

Look where captain Liam took us.

05-12-2018, 10:51 AM
Look where captain Liam took us.
:agree: There are many words I'd use to describe Liam Craig and talented ain't one of them

05-12-2018, 10:53 AM
If Mallan was at Hearts or Aberdeen I'd be jelous they had him. I rate him highly. The coaching team will be working on his weaknesses every day so looking forward to seeing how he developes. If he was better in the tackle to add to his passing and shooting ability he'd be some player. John McGinn wasn't the player he is now when he joined us and had the Championship to bed in and learn at Hibs.

05-12-2018, 11:04 AM

And if we win there will 100% be a thread about "papering over the cracks".

05-12-2018, 11:09 AM
I love this 'id rather he do his talking on the pitch' cliché.
I don't even know what it means. Is he supposed to stop trying to play football and pull up a chair and start debating Brexit with a Stmirren midfielder during the game?

Heres a thought. Best NOT to do your talking on the pitch.

05-12-2018, 01:11 PM
I have not even bothered to listen to what he's saying, just as i have not listened to what Parker has said before or after the recent games.

I dont for one minute understand what these interviews actually give us other than the usual soundbites that Tam McCourt could give us.

No player or manager will let us know what they really think or what they really are asked to do on the park, and its just like question time, bull**** for the masses.

Then you get the hard of thinking picking holes in whats said. :faf:

05-12-2018, 01:48 PM
I understand the scepticism, actions speak louder than words and all that, but it is good that's he's being completely honest in how poor they've been for the the last five or six games.

They've recognized there's a problem and have the perfect chance in the next couple of games to start to get it right.

Hopefully the manager assists them in that by putting out a decent starting line-up and a formation that suits.

p.s. Anybody that thinks Mallan brings nothing to the team is sadly lacking in any appreciation of football whatsoever. The lad is very talented, but has his strengths and weaknesses, the same as everybody else.

05-12-2018, 01:51 PM
If Mallan was at Hearts or Aberdeen I'd be jelous they had him. I rate him highly. The coaching team will be working on his weaknesses every day so looking forward to seeing how he developes. If he was better in the tackle to add to his passing and shooting ability he'd be some player. John McGinn wasn't the player he is now when he joined us and had the Championship to bed in and learn at Hibs.

Perhaps too many people on here have forgotten that when making comparisons with current players.

05-12-2018, 01:55 PM

Not disagreeing with you about McGinn but he was also a hell of a lot better than anything we have just now when he arrived.

05-12-2018, 02:24 PM

this

05-12-2018, 02:54 PM
:agree: There are many words I'd use to describe Liam Craig and talented ain't one of them
We’ll add that to the other things you’re wrong about then - as an attacking midfielder under PF he was banging the goals in. TB dropped him deep and he was never the same player.

05-12-2018, 03:28 PM
Not disagreeing with you about McGinn but he was also a hell of a lot better than anything we have just now when he arrived.
He was a bit rough around the edges when he arrived made his debut as a sub in a 1-2 defeat away to Dumbarton in the Championship 8/8/2015 came on after 56 mins
HIBS : Oxley Gray Fontaine Hanlon Stevenson Bartley Fyvie, Allan, Scott Martin Malonga and Cummings
Subs : McGinn for Martin
Stanton for Cummings
Boyle for Bartley
HIBS scorer the legend that was Dominic Malonga
Not a lot has changed line up wise but seems like a lifetime ago
A few Scottish Cup winning legends in there

05-12-2018, 03:36 PM
We’ll add that to the other things you’re wrong about then - as an attacking midfielder under PF he was banging the goals in. TB dropped him deep and he was never the same player.
What else is on this list of things I’m wrong about then?

05-12-2018, 03:36 PM
And yet here you are, on the paper talk thread at the crack of dawn.

I think you know what I mean. And several hundred other Hibbies I know feel the same about paper talk. So I took the trouble to express it here?!?!

Stop being a bell end.

05-12-2018, 03:48 PM
What else is on this list of things I’m wrong about then?

That Hibs are nothing without Anthony Stokes for one. That’s a belter.

05-12-2018, 03:51 PM
That Hibs are nothing without Anthony Stokes for one. That’s a belter.
Ridiculous isn't it? Almost so ridiculous that nobody would actually think that :hmmm:

05-12-2018, 03:58 PM
That Hibs are nothing without Anthony Stokes for one. That’s a belter.:faf:

05-12-2018, 04:10 PM

6 league goals is hardly banging them in, he then went into hiding under Butcher rather than being a leader, his body language after the defeat up in Ross County said it all about him, he gave up.

05-12-2018, 04:23 PM
Ridiculous isn't it? Almost so ridiculous that nobody would actually think that :hmmm:

You posted that elsewhere pal - even if it was an exaggeration, it’s a weird thing to post considering the rich history of the club.

I cba going through your posts but I’m sure more ammunition will come up soon enough. 🙂

05-12-2018, 04:24 PM
6 league goals is hardly banging them in, he then went into hiding under Butcher rather than being a leader, his body language after the defeat up in Ross County said it all about him, he gave up.

More than anyone else in that team and IIRC he had a few assists too. Another player ruined by TB.

05-12-2018, 04:28 PM
You posted that elsewhere pal - even if it was an exaggeration, it’s a weird thing to post considering the rich history of the club.

I cba going through your posts but I’m sure more ammunition will come up soon enough. 🙂
Just to be clear, I was being sarcastic. In fact, I was about the only person on here this time last year that was saying we needed to replace him as he wasn't contributing nearly enough.

Funny that I was told I was wrong then too :wink:

05-12-2018, 05:10 PM
Just to be clear, I was being sarcastic. In fact, I was about the only person on here this time last year that was saying we needed to replace him as he wasn't contributing nearly enough.

Funny that I was told I was wrong then too :wink:
:greengrin Fair play then, sorry. That post was fresh in my mind! Angry was running through my bloodstream :thumbsup:

05-12-2018, 05:15 PM
:greengrin Fair play then, sorry. That post was fresh in my mind! Angry was running through my bloodstream :thumbsup:
All good my man 🍻