29-11-2018, 02:22 PM
Never saw that coming. :greengrin

29-11-2018, 02:24 PM
Thought he just signed a 4 year deal?

29-11-2018, 02:29 PM
He’ll end up at Dundee or somewhere similar.

29-11-2018, 02:32 PM
Very few details about it but here's a wee article

https://www.tasnimnews.com/en/news/2018/11/29/1887053/anthony-stokes-cancels-tractor-sazi-contract

29-11-2018, 02:36 PM
Never saw that coming. :greengrin

I know, shockerooni

29-11-2018, 02:44 PM
Kerching again for Stokes. Having to go further and further away though to find a club stupid enough to fall for his "get paid to sign up then get paid to **** off routine". Where next I wonder, Uzbekistan?

29-11-2018, 02:45 PM
Available to play against Killie?

29-11-2018, 02:50 PM
Signs for a team, bangs them in for six months, signs for another team, bangs them in for six months.......

29-11-2018, 02:52 PM
Bring him home.

29-11-2018, 02:55 PM
Played 12, scored 10. Sign him.

29-11-2018, 02:57 PM
The boys a fire hazard. Fire extinguishers go off when he walks by.

Hillsidehibby
29-11-2018, 03:01 PM
Legend

29-11-2018, 03:02 PM
No

Lemonade
29-11-2018, 03:03 PM
Your defence is terrified....

29-11-2018, 03:06 PM
Would he come back?

29-11-2018, 03:08 PM
Legend. He really cannae handle an international break or any break really well though.

29-11-2018, 03:10 PM
Go for it come home Stokesy

29-11-2018, 03:10 PM
No, no, and thrice no. Hogging the penalties put a better gloss on his final spell with us and as brilliant as his cup final performance was, he just brings an infinite amount more hassle than he does effort if his head's not in it.

29-11-2018, 03:18 PM
No, no, and thrice no. Hogging the penalties put a better gloss on his final spell with us and as brilliant as his cup final performance was, he just brings an infinite amount more hassle than he does effort if his head's not in it.

Surely hogging the penalties was fine when he scored them all though!

29-11-2018, 03:28 PM
Unfortunately for Anthony I think his time as a professional footballer has about run it's course. A real shame as if he'd kept himself fit and interested he'd have another few years to go.

I'll always be grateful for what he did for the club but no chance I'd want him back at ER

29-11-2018, 03:35 PM
Surely hogging the penalties was fine when he scored them all though!

We had other players who could have done it - we need strikers who can score from open play just now and his record last time round was pretty poor.

He was punted after six months because he was a liability despite the good will towards him because of his cup final heroics. That speaks volumes.

29-11-2018, 03:40 PM
Not sure why but I really do believe him on the left and flo and Jamie up front could be an awesome partnership.

Imagine home cutting in from the left ( just like the cup final ) but with those two to pass too also.

29-11-2018, 03:47 PM
Kerching again for Stokes. Having to go further and further away though to find a club stupid enough to fall for his "get paid to sign up then get paid to **** off routine". Where next I wonder, Uzbekistan?

HE cancelled his contract, he won't be getting anything from Tractor.

29-11-2018, 03:54 PM
I’m going to assume that the posters saying they want him to “come home” are joking and they all remember what happened the last time he was here.

29-11-2018, 03:54 PM
We had other players who could have done it - we need strikers who can score from open play just now and his record last time round was pretty poor.

He was punted after six months because he was a liability despite the good will towards him because of his cup final heroics. That speaks volumes.

Exactly.

29-11-2018, 04:11 PM
He’ll end up at Dundee or somewhere similar.

A Stokes and Miller partnership upfront... there is bound to be a post on here from some point in the last 3 years asking for this to be Hibs front line. :greengrin

29-11-2018, 04:11 PM
Yes please, take him back in a minute.

29-11-2018, 04:21 PM
Notice that Lee Erwin has also left Tractor ex Motherwell and Killie seem to remember him as being useful and also hated Der Hun!

29-11-2018, 04:27 PM
Notice that Lee Erwin has also left Tractor ex Motherwell and Killie seem to remember him as being useful and also hated Der Hun!

May be more likely.

29-11-2018, 04:27 PM

Now that Erwin & Stokes have both left, does that make them ex-tractor fans?

29-11-2018, 04:34 PM
Now that Erwin & Stokes have both left, does that make them ex-tractor fans?

29-11-2018, 04:50 PM

Lee Erwin is , or was atleast as a boy, a Rangers fan.

Tarrahib
29-11-2018, 04:59 PM
How can you hog penalties when we don't create enough chances to get penalties?

Here’s Lucy!
29-11-2018, 05:00 PM
I’m going to assume that the posters saying they want him to “come home” are joking and they all remember what happened the last time he was here.

Well said.

Once bitten, twice shy.

29-11-2018, 05:03 PM
Lee Erwin is , or was atleast as a boy, a Rangers fan.
Ha Ha! Sorry must have been getting myself confused I seem to remember Moshni trying to punch his lights out after the SPFL playoffs but it all makes perfect sense now.😂

davhibby
29-11-2018, 05:17 PM
Erwin had been doing well at Killie last season, would maybe be worth a look

29-11-2018, 05:26 PM
Erwin would certainly bring something different to the party.

29-11-2018, 05:27 PM
Best of luck to him in the rest of his career but I hope Hibs have no role in whatever is left of it. He should never have been brought back last summer and the decision to punt him was the right one. Always will remain a legend for that day in May and the photo of his celebration for the first goal still hangs proudly in the house to this day but none of that should cloud anyones judgement that he doesn't have what it takes anymore to take us to where we want to be as a football club.

29-11-2018, 05:30 PM
Well said.

Once bitten, twice shy.

Third was harm, Fourth's the charm. :dunno:

Here’s Lucy!
29-11-2018, 05:39 PM
Third was harm, Fourth's the charm. :dunno:

:wink: Never heard that bit before.

29-11-2018, 05:50 PM
I saw he might be joining a club who play in Turkey

29-11-2018, 05:54 PM
Erwin would certainly bring something different to the party.

Ten league goals in 68 Scottish top flight games.

29-11-2018, 06:40 PM
Please everyone wanting him back stop it right now, the level of football in Iran is pish, as much he's a legend for that famous day in May the lad's a ****ing waste of space and wages, he'll be retired very soon and back working in his dad's boozer in Dublin. He's a talented footballer but hates all the training that goes with being one, will always cause trouble wherever he goes.

29-11-2018, 06:48 PM
People still repeating the myth that stokes was lazy and only played well in the cup final 2nd and 3rd time round :rolleyes:

29-11-2018, 06:52 PM
Bring him back.

29-11-2018, 07:32 PM
Never saw that coming.....

The only surprise is that he lasted so long.

I wish him all the best and he'll forever be a club legend for 21/05/16 but I wouldn't touch him with a bargepole. The guy's a bombscare.

29-11-2018, 08:07 PM
Best of luck to him in the rest of his career but I hope Hibs have no role in whatever is left of it. He should never have been brought back last summer and the decision to punt him was the right one. Always will remain a legend for that day in May and the photo of his celebration for the first goal still hangs proudly in the house to this day but none of that should cloud anyones judgement that he doesn't have what it takes anymore to take us to where we want to be as a football club.

I could not have put it better. :top marks

BegbieHSC
29-11-2018, 10:15 PM
Let bygones be bygones!

Bring him home 😍😍😍:flag:

29-11-2018, 10:25 PM
Ahh **** it...

:hyper

29-11-2018, 10:27 PM
I really don't think that the cup winning Legend that is Anthony Stokes is the future for our club. His day has come and gone. Wish him all the best but don't want him back at ER except as a fan

AK86
29-11-2018, 10:40 PM
I'd love to see him back, but only on a pay as play basis.
Stokes on fire , would get a game for any team in the spl

its not happening though.

29-11-2018, 10:47 PM

https://www.tasnimnews.com/en/news/2018/11/29/1887053/anthony-stokes-cancels-tractor-sazi-contract

FFS.

That’s his career done surely? Talent to burn but seemingly unable to hold down a contract.

SideBurns
29-11-2018, 10:53 PM
Imagine his granny came to watch him playing for Tractor - all the fans could've sang:

Stokesy's gran
She's in Iran
She hates the Huns
Cos she knows they're shan

Just imagine....

29-11-2018, 10:54 PM

From that article he lasted longer than Lee Erwin, which is impressive.
It also states he has gone to Istanbul in Turkey.

29-11-2018, 11:22 PM
He’ll end up at Dundee or somewhere similar.he better get himself signed up soon. the Irish Sea border can into effect come March. he might end up playing for Finn Harp . c'mon the Harps

hibbydog
30-11-2018, 07:06 AM
No he shouldn’t come back for obvious reasons.

But he is a massive Hibernian legend. The best individual performance for hibs in the most important result in our history.

Great Great memories

30-11-2018, 07:39 AM
From that article he lasted longer than Lee Erwin, which is impressive.
It also states he has gone to Istanbul in Turkey.

Looks pretty fi as well in the picture.

EH54
30-11-2018, 09:24 AM
One more chance lennon..bring him home.

30-11-2018, 10:07 AM
No thanks. He's had his chance and blown it.

30-11-2018, 10:15 AM
Split opinions but he could be the difference where we finish in the league as goals have dried up imo forever a legend tho

30-11-2018, 10:27 AM
Split opinions but he could be the difference where we finish in the league as goals have dried up imo forever a legend tho

The goals that have dried up are those that came after we replaced stokes with Kamberi.

30-11-2018, 10:57 AM
I'm sure Anthony stokes, hibs cup winning legend doesn't care what a jealous bunch on a forum think of him. Pretty sure his bank account doesn't care either :dunno:

30-11-2018, 11:02 AM
I'm sure Anthony stokes, hibs cup winning legend doesn't care what a jealous bunch on a forum think of him. Pretty sure his bank account doesn't care either :dunno:

Exactly

30-11-2018, 04:01 PM
Do we really need someone who causes problems in the dressing room?
His antics both on and off the field have caused to many problems in the past, so I say leave them there!!!!

30-11-2018, 04:04 PM
Do we really need someone who causes problems in the dressing room?
His antics both on and off the field have caused to many problems in the past, so I say leave them there!!!!

What problems did he cause?

30-11-2018, 04:35 PM
What problems did he cause?
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/anthony-stokes-had-enough-chances-at-hibs-says-neil-lennon-1-4679570
This for just one!!!!

30-11-2018, 04:40 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/anthony-stokes-had-enough-chances-at-hibs-says-neil-lennon-1-4679570
This for just one!!!!

That doesn’t say what he’s done?

30-11-2018, 05:01 PM
That doesn’t say what he’s done?
It said that he was dropped after an incident during the winter training camp???
Sounds to me like something big happened, for him to be turfed out only 6 months into a 2 year deal???

Lemonade
30-11-2018, 05:43 PM
I thnk it's safe to say he won't be back at Hibs but how any Hibs fan can talk about him in a negative manner is beyond me.

Here’s Lucy!
30-11-2018, 05:46 PM
I thnk it's safe to say he won't be back at Hibs but how any Hibs fan can talk about him in a negative manner is beyond me.

That fantastic Cup Final performance does not change the fact that he lets Hibs down on more than one occasion.

Legend? Undoubtedly.

Want him back? No thanks.

beensaidbefore
30-11-2018, 05:52 PM
He left us high and dry for celtic, second spell we won the cup, he still chose to leave again. Came back a third time and took the piss.

The guy hasn't exactly shown us a lot of respect over the years so its no from me.

Here’s Lucy!
30-11-2018, 05:56 PM
He left us high and dry for celtic, second spell we won the cup, he still chose to leave again. Came back a third time and took the piss.

The guy hasn't exactly shown us a lot of respect over the years so its no from me.

30-11-2018, 07:45 PM
Cup winning legend, with a performance for the ages that I will always be grateful for.

But why would Lennon want him back?

30-11-2018, 07:48 PM

By that same logic, Jacob Rees Mogg is the perfect person to lead Brexit. Doesn't care what others think and is a wealthy man.

It's a topic on Stokes and people are entitled to express their view. God knows he's given both sides plenty of ammunition to argue with.

30-11-2018, 09:37 PM

I think ‘doesn’t care’ might be a good epitaph for his career, tbf.

01-12-2018, 08:56 AM
If we could get him and Riordan back in January, I'm sure they could do a job for us.

01-12-2018, 12:47 PM
If we could get him and Riordan back in January, I'm sure they could do a job for us.

:hyper

01-12-2018, 01:19 PM
Stokes is a god. Would love him back

01-12-2018, 01:25 PM
The way folk talk about this guy is mental. He played such a huge part in us winning the cup and the change that happened after we got relegated.

He’s not the most stable of people but he is a legend and always will be. We should be concerned for him perhaps but it seems like people here just want to see him fail at all costs.

01-12-2018, 01:42 PM
The goals that have dried up are those that came after we replaced stokes with Kamberi.

10/10
Stokes is yesterdays man
Championship / Div One standard , methinks
:flag::flag:

mentalhibee
01-12-2018, 01:47 PM
Stokes is a god. Would love him back

This!

01-12-2018, 02:30 PM
if we could get him and riordan back in january, i'm sure they could do a job for us.

100% yes.

01-12-2018, 02:35 PM
10/10
Stokes is yesterdays man
Championship / Div One standard , methinks
:flag::flag:

😂😂 a motivated Stokes is miles better than anyone at the club.

01-12-2018, 02:37 PM
���� a motivated Stokes is miles better than anyone at the club.

And there is the problem. For whatever reason he isn't sufficiently motivated to make the most of his talent.

We saw on 21/05/16 just how good he can be when he wants. There were plenty of other games that season and last season when he was nowhere near that standard.

01-12-2018, 02:38 PM

Firstly he came to us to put himself in the shop window first time around having been amazing for Falkirk under Yogi. High and dry? He left to join his boyhood hero’s and earned the club £2m. What left us high and dry was replacing him with pap which lost Yogi his job.

Second time round he almost single handedly won us the Scottish Cup ffs. Then he went to a championship side on big money. Who could blame him?

Third it didn’t work out but an absolute nap that money lost on him was less than the thousands of fans that came back on the back of him winning us the Scottish Cup.

Anthony Stokes is a Hibernian god. He produced what every last one of us looked up to the sky and prayed for. He should have the freedom of Leith and a contract for however long he wants one.

01-12-2018, 02:39 PM
And there is the problem. For whatever reason he isn't sufficiently motivated to make the most of his talent.

We saw on 21/05/16 just how good he can be when he wants. There were plenty of other games that season and last season when he was nowhere near that standard.

I agree motivation is the issue, he’s still not Championship Scotland level though.

BlackSheep
04-12-2018, 11:50 AM
What about a 'pay as you play' deal with a bonus incentive at the end of the season if he achieves certain targets, like goals scored, assists or appearances/minutes on the pitch?

Its clear that Stokes' motivation is money these days (likely to pay off his debt to Elvis!) but perhaps instead of offering it upfront like we did last season, why not make him work for it?

04-12-2018, 12:20 PM
I am amazed at how many want him back. Give me strength.

04-12-2018, 12:26 PM
I am amazed at how many want him back. Give me strength.

Yep, doing fantastic without him at the moment all they chances being created and goals scored.

04-12-2018, 12:31 PM
Yep, doing fantastic without him at the moment all they chances being created and goals scored.

He wasn’t worth the hassle in his last spell and we improved massively when he left. No doubting he’s still a legend but I wouldn’t want him to return.

04-12-2018, 12:33 PM
He wasn’t worth the hassle in his last spell and we improved massively when he left. No doubting he’s still a legend but I wouldn’t want him to return.

We did improve massively but right now we are in a rut. I would take him back because he can create that spark and was in good form abroad.

04-12-2018, 12:34 PM
What about a 'pay as you play' deal with a bonus incentive at the end of the season if he achieves certain targets, like goals scored, assists or appearances/minutes on the pitch?

Its clear that Stokes' motivation is money these days (likely to pay off his debt to Elvis!) but perhaps instead of offering it upfront like we did last season, why not make him work for it?

That could work. Doubt he'd accept it though.

04-12-2018, 12:38 PM
Stokes won't be back at Hibs.

04-12-2018, 12:41 PM
Not too many win bonuses for him to tap off other players these days.

04-12-2018, 12:59 PM

Aye and look how fantastic we were last season when he was here.

04-12-2018, 01:15 PM
Stokes won't be back at Hibs.
Not as long as Lenny is in charge
Please close thread and let us all move on to relevant stuff

04-12-2018, 01:32 PM
Aye and look how fantastic we were last season when he was here.

Better than now.

04-12-2018, 01:37 PM
Better than now.

And you think that’s all because of Stokes? Just conveniently forgetting we had McGinn/McGeough in the side?

beensaidbefore
04-12-2018, 01:41 PM
Firstly he came to us to put himself in the shop window first time around having been amazing for Falkirk under Yogi. High and dry? He left to join his boyhood hero’s and earned the club £2m. What left us high and dry was replacing him with pap which lost Yogi his job.

Second time round he almost single handedly won us the Scottish Cup ffs. Then he went to a championship side on big money. Who could blame him?

Third it didn’t work out but an absolute nap that money lost on him was less than the thousands of fans that came back on the back of him winning us the Scottish Cup.

Anthony Stokes is a Hibernian god. He produced what every last one of us looked up to the sky and prayed for. He should have the freedom of Leith and a contract for however long he wants one.

Still showed us no respect. As you say he came here because we erre useful to him, not because of who we are or what we mean to him.

No thanks.

04-12-2018, 02:08 PM
Better than now.

Should we bring back Simon Murray too?

04-12-2018, 02:26 PM
Sadly his time has passed for coming back to Hibs but the sheer level of disrespect to the man who produced the best individual performance I’ve ever seen to pretty much single handedly win us the cup we never thought we’d win is scandalous.

In decades to come, Stokes and Gray will go down in folklore as a couple of the biggest legends in our history, quite rightly so as well.

04-12-2018, 02:45 PM
I would genuinely take him back. He looked in great shape in photos from Iran.

04-12-2018, 02:46 PM
Sadly his time has passed for coming back to Hibs but the sheer level of disrespect to the man who produced the best individual performance I’ve ever seen to pretty much single handedly win us the cup we never thought we’d win is scandalous.

In decades to come, Stokes and Gray will go down in folklore as a couple of the biggest legends in our history, quite rightly so as well.

Stokes was imperious that day. We’ll possibly never see an individual performance like that again from a Hibs player on such a big stage.

04-12-2018, 03:13 PM

Anthony Stokes is an absolute legend for his outstanding Man of the Match performance on that glorious day
However he let himself the club and the fans down with his unprofessional indiscipline over in Portugal setting a bad example to the younger players and letting his team mates down leaving Lenny with no option but to show him the door
No one will know the full story and yes apparently other fellow professionals were involved and I am sure if Lenny could have rescued the situation he would have but perhaps due to Stokesys poor attitude it had gone beyond that and it was decided to draw a line under Anthony Stokes and terminate his contract
Certainly going by the annual accounts it cost us plenty and Management must have decided it was a cost worth paying to get him out the door
It’s a no from me.

BegbieHSC
04-12-2018, 03:20 PM

This 100%.

Although i I would take him back on a short-term contract, see how he gets on.

04-12-2018, 03:28 PM
Anthony Stokes is an absolute legend for his outstanding Man of the Match performance on that glorious day
However he let himself the club and the fans down with his unprofessional indiscipline over in Portugal setting a bad example to the younger players and letting his team mates down leaving Lenny with no option but to show him the door
No one will know the full story and yes apparently other fellow professionals were involved and I am sure if Lenny could have rescued the situation he would have but perhaps due to Stokesys poor attitude it had gone beyond that and it was decided to draw a line under Anthony Stokes and terminate his contract
Certainly going by the annual accounts it cost us plenty and Management must have decided it was a cost worth paying to get him out the door
It’s a no from me.

So what happened? It seems to be why a lot of people dislike him but many of us don't know anything about the incident.

04-12-2018, 03:33 PM
So what happened? It seems to be why a lot of people dislike him but many of us don't know anything about the incident.
No one knows for sure similar to the Scott Allan transfer mystery
Maybe Portugal was the straw that broke the camels back as far as Stokesys HIBS career was concerned
Who knows?

04-12-2018, 03:39 PM
No one knows for sure similar to the Scott Allan transfer mystery
Maybe Portugal was the straw that broke the camels back as far as Stokesys HIBS career was concerned
Who knows?

Was it not the fire extinguisher incident that was what finished him? Might be mistaken.

04-12-2018, 04:45 PM

Lots of rumours and stories.

The one I was told was he, Swanson and Boyle met a few Irish lads on holiday in the hotel bar, there was a curfew but they decided to go to a nightclub in town and in the early hours came back with some girls from the club. Someone got a fire extinguisher and started chasing the young lads in the team around with the extinguisher and one of the youngsters ran out an external fire door setting off the alarm which woke up the whole hotel, remember there was holiday makers there also. Everyone was evacuated from the hotel with families, kids etc all standing outside in the cold, Leeann was seemingly a few doors down from where it all happened and none to pleased, basically the straw that broke the camel's back.

Stokes was told to find another club ASAP, they wanted to punt Swanson on loan but he refused and stayed to fight for his place but never really got a look in after that because the club had been very good to him through all his personal problems and Boyle was on his last warning and told to knuckle down or he'd be out too.

04-12-2018, 04:47 PM
Lots of rumours and stories.

The one I was told was he, Swanson and Boyle met a few Irish lads on holiday in the hotel bar, there was a curfew but they decided to go to a nightclub in town and in the early hours came back with some girls from the club. Someone got a fire extinguisher and started chasing the young lads in the team around with the extinguisher and one of the youngsters ran out an external fire door setting off the alarm which woke up the whole hotel, remember there was holiday makers there also. Everyone was evacuated from the hotel with families, kids etc all standing outside in the cold, Leeann was seemingly a few doors down from where it all happened and none to pleased, basically the straw that broke the camel's back.

Stokes was told to find another club ASAP, they wanted to punt Swanson on loan but he refused and stayed to fight for his place but never really got a look in after that because the club had been very good to him through all his personal problems and Boyle was on his last warning and told to knuckle down or he'd be out too.

Thanks for sharing 👍🏾

04-12-2018, 05:06 PM
Stokes is a club legend, but a bad person. Good luck to him but no thanks.

Here’s Lucy!
04-12-2018, 05:10 PM

Summed up, nice and neatly. :aok:

Wee Effen Bee
04-12-2018, 06:10 PM
Summed up, nice and neatly. :aok:

Disagree: too black and white for me. I just don’t think there’s such a thing as a ‘bad’ person. Some people do lots of, what some people term ‘bad’ things, but they can also do ‘good’ things. ‘Good’ people can also display ‘bad’ or poor behaviour! Look up the debate surrounding Mother Theresa as an example. I think Stokesy was unplayable and did to Rangers what he did to us in the 2013 final. Some of his behaviour though did cause disharmony at the club and we are probably well shot of what some may describe as, his nefarious antics.

04-12-2018, 10:07 PM
Not as long as Lenny is in charge
Please close thread and let us all move on to relevant stuff

Ditto :agree::agree:

Lemonade
04-12-2018, 10:36 PM
Stokes is a club legend, but a bad​ person. Good luck to him but no thanks.

:rotflmao:

BegbieHSC
04-12-2018, 10:37 PM

Bad person ? Bit strong, eh?
Bad attitude maybe, but saying someone is a bad person is really not fair at all.

05-12-2018, 01:37 PM

What, like he did in his last spell with us?

Oh wait....

05-12-2018, 01:40 PM
Bring him home. This club is nothing without him

05-12-2018, 01:46 PM
Bring him home. This club is nothing without him

Nah, all of the history of the club and the struggles we had to ensure Mercer didn’t finish us off pales into comparison of Lord Anthony of Stokes who got himself punted after six months.

He was a hero on 21st of May but let’s not tarnish those memories any further with another spell.

05-12-2018, 02:03 PM
Pretty clear him and lennon don’t see eye to eye or certainly didn’t last time he was here so I doubt he’ll be back

05-12-2018, 02:08 PM
Pretty clear him and lennon don’t see eye to eye or certainly didn’t last time he was here so I doubt he’ll be back

Yeah think Stokesy burned his bridges with Lennon last year, particularly what happened in Portugal with Boyle & Swanson. No chance he will be back here.

07BigD
05-12-2018, 02:16 PM
No no a thousand times no

05-12-2018, 05:00 PM
Tractor have reported Stokes to Fifa after leaving and walking out of his contract..

sixtwo
05-12-2018, 05:51 PM
Bring him back. Kamberi and mcLaren are still in their holidays!

Here’s Lucy!
05-12-2018, 05:58 PM
Bring him back. Kamberi and mcLaren are still in their holidays!

By all accounts, Stokes is on his holidays as well. On full pay!

25-12-2018, 10:57 PM
Now going back to Iran after they reported him to FIFA.

Blamed ‘major family issues’ for his decision to initially leave

bodhibs
25-12-2018, 11:17 PM
Yeah, his family is a major issue.

25-12-2018, 11:37 PM
Total Legend . SDG scored the winner but Stokes was magnificent that day . Ripped the Huns a new one . Got to love the guy.

Weegreenman
26-12-2018, 12:20 AM
No :rolleyes:

Tornadoes70
26-12-2018, 03:41 AM
Total Legend . SDG scored the winner but Stokes was magnificent that day . Ripped the Huns a new one . Got to love the guy.

My brother and I had just taken our seats when the great man scored one of the greatest goals ever. Stokesy you'll never be forgotten for what you did when being part of the greatest Cup triumph in history.

God bless Stokesy and all who aided us in what was without doubt the greatest ever cup win in football history,

Tha Cabbage Kid
26-12-2018, 06:49 AM

My brother and I had just taken our seats when the great man scored one of the greatest goals ever. Stokesy you'll never be forgotten for what you did when being part of the greatest Cup triumph in history.

God bless Stokesy and all who aided us in what was without doubt the greatest ever cup win in football history,Here here

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

26-12-2018, 07:38 AM
Here here

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk

And won the corner for the third. They talk about the Mathews final that was the Stokesy final.

murray26
26-12-2018, 08:27 AM
And won the corner for the third. They talk about the Mathews final that was the Stokesy final.

The best individual performance I’ve ever witnessed from a Hibs player👍 Unplayable that day.. legend

26-12-2018, 09:10 AM
Hibs Legend, absolute hero

IDHibs
26-12-2018, 09:14 AM
The best individual performance I’ve ever witnessed from a Hibs player👍 Unplayable that day.. legend

You never had the pleasure of seeing the Bakerboy then :not worth . Stokes is legend no doubt and i would happily see him back at ER. BUT methinks his bone of contention with Lennon, taking personal issues out the picture, was about where he best played. Stokes wanted to play deeper, in the hole if you like. Lenny saw him as an out and out striker.

I could be way of tangent but imo Stokes could just about plat the role we want Scott Alan back for. He sees things others don't, plays with his head up .

hibbydad
26-12-2018, 10:48 AM
No comparison to the Baker boy Joe was brilliant

IDHibs
26-12-2018, 10:51 AM
No comparison to the Baker boy Joe was brilliant

:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

26-12-2018, 11:04 AM
You never had the pleasure of seeing the Bakerboy then :not worth . Stokes is legend no doubt and i would happily see him back at ER. BUT methinks his bone of contention with Lennon, taking personal issues out the picture, was about where he best played. Stokes wanted to play deeper, in the hole if you like. Lenny saw him as an out and out striker.

I could be way of tangent but imo Stokes could just about plat the role we want Scott Alan back for. He sees things others don't, plays with his head up .

Stokes destroyed us in the number 10 role in the Scottish Cup Final 2013 with two wonderful first half assists that featured an unfit Leigh Griffiths

Anthony Stokes is a HIBS legend for what he did for Hibernian Football Club on 21st May 2016

He ain’t coming back anytime soon

Time to file away under legends and move on

Close thread

26-12-2018, 11:39 AM
Merry Christmas to you too

Happy to eat humble pie if he signs but won’t be happening

No I don’t have inside info just a hunch

:xwave

IDHibs
26-12-2018, 11:45 AM
Merry Christmas to you too

Happy to eat humble pie if he signs but won’t be happening

No I don’t have inside info just a hunch

:xwave

seasons greetings to you too... my hunch is same as yours . I was espousing a wish rather than claiming to be "itk" unlike some others on here

26-12-2018, 11:53 AM
seasons greetings to you too... my hunch is same as yours . I was espousing a wish rather than claiming to be "itk" unlike some others on here

No worries mate!

I was actually agreeing with your post by citing a game where he destroyed us with his wicked left foot from the hole

Hopefully there will be new heroes for us to cheer in the New Year and as you quite rightly say unfortunately it won’t be Stokesy.

IDHibs
26-12-2018, 12:00 PM

No worries mate!

I was actually agreeing with your post by citing a game where he destroyed us with his wicked left foot from the hole

Hopefully there will be new heroes for us to cheer in the New Year and as you quite rightly say unfortunately it won’t be Stokesy.

no problem... he is a wicked player on his day, but mental attitude sucks sorry to say. Mind you i'd have him, Ally McLeod (?) and Matt LE Tissier in my team any given saturday :cb

stu in nottingham
26-12-2018, 04:42 PM
It was telling that he headed to Iran for employment after Hibs. Good player on his day, I was a fan of his skills certainly. There appeared no queue for his services in the UK when he left Hibs as I recall. Lennon was tested by him time and again it seemed but appeared to concede there was no way forward in the end. There are no indications of any change in that regard.

26-12-2018, 04:45 PM

:agree: This.

26-12-2018, 07:10 PM
Saw on FB that he was in the Harp this afternoon - did they have the game on? Good to see him enjoying the salvaged away point anyway.

26-12-2018, 10:48 PM
Saw on FB that he was in the Harp this afternoon - did they have the game on? Good to see him enjoying the salvaged away point anyway.

Thought he was back in Iran? :dunno:

munchar
26-12-2018, 11:21 PM
Thought he was back in Iran? :dunno:

He was indeed in Harp. There must’ve been a very good reason for Lenny emptying Stokes, as at 29, should be in his prime, and imo, miles ahead of any of our strikers ability wise.

26-12-2018, 11:42 PM
He was indeed in Harp. There must’ve been a very good reason for Lenny emptying Stokes, as at 29, should be in his prime, and imo, miles ahead of any of our strikers ability wise.

Lost his pace. Has little strength. Doesn't score as many goals as he once did.

On top of that I genuinely believe he thinks he's too good for football now.

26-12-2018, 11:48 PM
Was it in the Harp and Castle. Seemed in good spirits.

27-12-2018, 08:48 AM
He wasn't exactly bad during his last spell, our expectations were pretty high.

I honestly think it's the off the field stuff. He was repeatedly putting Lennon in a difficult position, making him have to either "deal with" stuff or make it look like he had favourites and Lennon got tough.

It wasn't a footballing decision imo, and I think he'd have appreciated being stuck into a more advanced role with Scott Allan providing ammunition.

Here’s Lucy!
27-12-2018, 05:49 PM
Lost his pace. Has little strength. Doesn't score as many goals as he once did.

On top of that I genuinely believe he thinks he's too good for football now.

8 goals in 11 games before he went AWOL, suggests otherwise.

And yes, I know it's only the Iranian league but, we are only the Scottish league!!