View Full Version : Scottish Cup - Hibs v Elgin

21-11-2018, 08:30 AM
Just noticed it is the 3rd round of the Scottish Cup this weekend.

Surely means that the draw for the 4th round, when we join in, will be this weekend. Does anyone know when?

21-11-2018, 08:36 AM
It'll be Tynecastle away again.

Re the actual question, I have no idea but it was the 20th November last year, the Monday after the 3rd round. So presumably same again?

21-11-2018, 08:40 AM
Great marketing from SFA again.

sauzee=legend
21-11-2018, 08:41 AM
Celtic will get Someone like Asda FC at home!
The Rangers will get Buckie FC!

21-11-2018, 08:42 AM
Celtic will get Someone like Asda FC at home!
The Rangers will get Buckie FC!

And both will be live on tv.

21-11-2018, 08:45 AM
Just noticed it is the 3rd round of the Scottish Cup this weekend.

Surely means that the draw for the 4th round, when we join in, will be this weekend. Does anyone know when?

Believe it’s saturday night

21-11-2018, 08:51 AM
Prediction:

Celtic v Annan (live on Sky Sports)
Rangers v Elgin (live on Sky Sports)
Edinburgh City v Hearts (played at Easter Road)
Aberdeen v Hibs (live on BBC Scotland, 7:45pm on Monday)

21-11-2018, 09:37 AM
Prediction:

Hope:

Celtic v Hearts
Aberdeen v Rangers
Hibs v Anyone else at home

Callyballybe
21-11-2018, 09:39 AM
Hope:

Celtic v Hearts
Aberdeen v Rangers

The dream..

21-11-2018, 10:04 AM
I haven't been to many away games this season, so might just go with the lottery and attend this game wherever we end up.

Steven79
21-11-2018, 10:27 AM
I'm going to be in a fix if we get through and play at home on the 9th of Feb as I've got Scotland v Ireland is on the same day...

21-11-2018, 10:42 AM
I haven't been to many away games this season, so might just go with the lottery and attend this game wherever we end up.

Been to 5 this year and we've lost every single one, think I'm going to take a break to give the team a chance to get a decent result

21-11-2018, 11:57 AM
Believe the draw is around 5.45pm on Saturday
Gives me enough to get home after the game to watch it

21-11-2018, 12:19 PM

Probably end up with Hearts at Tiny or is it Tinny?

21-11-2018, 12:37 PM
I'm going to be in a fix if we get through and play at home on the 9th of Feb as I've got Scotland v Ireland is on the same day...

Is the fix, who to sell your rugby tickets to? I'm sure some of the three times a year crowd will be without tickets and want to go.

21-11-2018, 01:02 PM
Been waiting for the draw for ages. Wanting to book a holiday flying out around about 19th January but been holding back in case we get a home game on the 19th.

23-11-2018, 08:09 PM
Don’t know about everyone else, but the draw for this round always excites me, and always look forward to it
Really could do with a favourable draw, as it’s our 1st game back after the winter shutdown

23-11-2018, 08:13 PM
Snap. Anyone at home though I would prefer to avoid a championship team who are on a good run.

23-11-2018, 08:18 PM
A league two or non league team at home please. Easiest tie possible.

23-11-2018, 08:20 PM
A league two or non league team at home please. Easiest tie possible.

Would settle for Bonnyrigg away again.

23-11-2018, 08:21 PM
Would settle for Bonnyrigg away again.

Queens Park away would be nice

23-11-2018, 08:22 PM
A wee trip up north.

23-11-2018, 08:28 PM
A wee trip up north.

I’ve never seen the Hibs play at Elgin (too young for the tours) or Peterhead. Not sure who else is in the draw but North is appealing if it’s not Aberdeen. (Although, we’ve not done badly last couple of cup ties up there IIRC)

sauzee=legend
23-11-2018, 08:52 PM

I like the sound of that.
I wonder if we will get a 50/50 ticket split....

23-11-2018, 09:14 PM
I like the sound of that.
I wonder if we will get a 50/50 ticket split....

Not sure about that, but we’d take a healthy support

23-11-2018, 09:21 PM

Is it on tv?

davhibby
23-11-2018, 09:56 PM

That's my pick for this round every year. Think it would be a great day out

bodhibs
23-11-2018, 09:59 PM
A wee trip up north.

This, please

23-11-2018, 11:02 PM
I haven't been to many away games this season, so might just go with the lottery and attend this game wherever we end up.we'll be running a bus wherever we end up, wi the exception of that wee gorgie ground.:wink: 2019 is our year !:wink:

23-11-2018, 11:04 PM
Been to 5 this year and we've lost every single one, think I'm going to take a break to give the team a chance to get a decent resultjust you stay away Ivan. don't need losers like you. will be in touch for the final :wink:

Tornadoes70
23-11-2018, 11:08 PM
Tannadice remains a favourite away ground for me since what seemed very steep terracing to the away stands we now populate. We always take a big noisy travelling support there and its normally a stress free journey with a good game of football and hopefully a decent result for us.

23-11-2018, 11:27 PM
Tannadice remains a favourite away ground for me since what seemed very steep terracing to the away stands we now populate. We always take a big noisy travelling support there and its normally a stress free journey with a good game of football and hopefully a decent result for us.I too remember the very steep terracing, where you always thought you'd at least fall over the guy in front, if Hibs scored! these days though I find it to be one of the most unwelcoming stadiums in Scotland! Their stewards are generally a bunch o' erseholes! cant forget some big bumptious bugger jumping out of a cubicle taking pleasure by threating a young lad for smoking in the toilets. we know there are rules, but why not do what lots of clubs do at half time? let the smokers oot for a smoke!!

Tornadoes70
24-11-2018, 12:03 AM
I too remember the very steep terracing, where you always thought you'd at least fall over the guy in front, if Hibs scored! these days though I find it to be one of the most unwelcoming stadiums in Scotland! Their stewards are generally a bunch o' erseholes! cant forget some big bumptious bugger jumping out of a cubicle taking pleasure by threating a young lad for smoking in the toilets. we know there are rules, but why not do what lots of clubs do at half time? let the smokers oot for a smoke!!

Temporarily forgot about their overzealous stewards who jump on the slightest movement. They are a bunch of bar stewards right enough. Sitting down near the front advertising boards squeezed in between a couple of big lads with jumpy stewards can be a nervy experience. A seat up the back rows or in the other stand is preferable.

24-11-2018, 09:16 AM
Is it on tv?

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scottish-cup-third-round-set-for-kick-off/?rid=14258

On YouTube, twitter and Facebook

24-11-2018, 09:41 AM

😂😂😂 hibs or rugby

24-11-2018, 09:50 AM
Never realised Edinburgh City played ICT tomorrow. Could be a decent game.

24-11-2018, 10:16 AM
������ hibs or rugby

It's a problem as it's not possible to attend both games when they're played at the same time.

I'm recording the Argentina game to watch when I get back from Easter Road today.

24-11-2018, 10:17 AM
It's a problem as it's not possible to attend both games when they're played at the same time.

I'm recording the Argentina game to watch when I get back from Easter Road today.

No for me it's not. But each to their own.

24-11-2018, 10:21 AM
No for me it's not. But each to their own.

Thought it would be up your street, can drink in the ground🤣

24-11-2018, 03:06 PM

Not looking good Billy. 2-0 Raith. Aw **** Dundee have scored.

24-11-2018, 04:10 PM
Stenhousenuir away please.

24-11-2018, 04:27 PM
Stenhousenuir away please.

for those of us stuck in Shanghai away can you post who hibs hearts dons of etc get ta

24-11-2018, 04:33 PM
Anyone got a link for the draw?

hibernia_inn
24-11-2018, 04:44 PM

https://twitter.com/ScottishCup

hibernia_inn
24-11-2018, 04:46 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hTWCn2xmFc

24-11-2018, 04:47 PM
Away to Yams again? What would be the chances?

24-11-2018, 04:50 PM
Home to Elgin City

24-11-2018, 04:52 PM
Home to Elgin City

That would have been a good away day, but home advantage should see us scrape a win. :greengrin

24-11-2018, 04:53 PM
Shame that isn’t away.

24-11-2018, 04:53 PM
That would have been a good away day, but home advantage should see us scrape a win. :greengrin

24-11-2018, 04:54 PM
Happy with that.

24-11-2018, 04:54 PM
We've never played Elgin before. Should be fun.

24-11-2018, 04:55 PM
Bugger.
Said earlier in the thread I’d never seen Hibs at Elgin. Ah well, home draw is a good draw.

24-11-2018, 04:58 PM
What’s the rest of the draw?

Hertz v Livi

Aberdeen v Stenhousemuir

24-11-2018, 04:59 PM
Cowdenbeath v The Huns

24-11-2018, 04:59 PM
Celtic v Airdrie

Tornadoes70
24-11-2018, 05:00 PM
Home to Elgin City

Saturday Boy
Home to Elgin City

Hell of a journey for a Wednesday night replay

Away to Elgin would have been very good with a couple of distillery visits thrown in. Ah well 🤨

24-11-2018, 05:01 PM
Piss easy ties for everyone except the Hertz this time round.

24-11-2018, 05:02 PM

😂😂

24-11-2018, 05:02 PM
Never realised Edinburgh City played ICT tomorrow. Could be a decent game.

Also, Hibs and Hearts season ticket holders can get in for "Half Price!"

24-11-2018, 05:10 PM
We've never played Elgin before. Should be fun.

Our development team played them in the Irn Bru Cup last season

24-11-2018, 05:10 PM
Hope:

Celtic v Hearts
Aberdeen v Rangers

I would worry about us getting anyone in the draw, we have.too many players who just cant compete for the ball in a game ..so with many teams being physical it will be a challenge !!

24-11-2018, 05:30 PM
So with both us and Hearts having home games will one game be on the Sunday or will they let us both play on the same day?

24-11-2018, 05:35 PM
So with both us and Hearts having home games will one game be on the Sunday or will they let us both play on the same day?

Tv might take the Hearts v Livvi game, not too many glamour games for them in this round

24-11-2018, 06:19 PM
Tannadice remains a favourite away ground for me since what seemed very steep terracing to the away stands we now populate. We always take a big noisy travelling support there and its normally a stress free journey with a good game of football and hopefully a decent result for us.

My old man likes a wee game in Dundee cos most of the pubs sell McEwans 80!

Saturday Boy
24-11-2018, 06:25 PM
My old man likes a wee game in Dundee cos most of the pubs sell McEwans 80!

Bizarre. You could be my son.

And I’ve no children 😄

24-11-2018, 06:43 PM
Bizarre. You could be my son.

And I’ve no children 😄

I get the feeling he would like to be in a similar situation! 😥

Saturday Boy
24-11-2018, 06:45 PM
I get the feeling he would like to be in a similar situation! 😥

Aah. Let me know if you ever need adoption 😄

24-11-2018, 07:12 PM
Perfect draw to get into next round.

24-11-2018, 08:10 PM

Not for me, I’m based at Lossiemouth (5 miles from Elgin’s ground)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Saturday Boy
24-11-2018, 08:13 PM
Not for me, I’m based at Lossiemouth (5 miles from Elgin’s ground)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Good one 👍

Let’s hope you don’t have to make that short journey 😄

24-11-2018, 08:15 PM
Craig Beattie plays for Elgin City now. Wait until you see the state of hm, he is seriously out of condition. :greengrin

24-11-2018, 08:18 PM
Craig Beattie plays for Elgin City now. Wait until you see the state of hm, he is seriously out of condition. :greengrin

Will still score against us

24-11-2018, 08:30 PM

I watched him ‘play’ at Borough Briggs ‘ a couple of weeks back. I seriously doubt that he will make the starting line up let alone score.

DavieRoy
24-11-2018, 08:30 PM
Prediction:

Sky don’t have the rights. It’s Premier Sports and BBC Scotland.

24-11-2018, 11:31 PM
Ma home town team vs ma real team :greengrin

Hulk1875
24-11-2018, 11:34 PM
Sky don’t have the rights. It’s Premier Sports and BBC Scotland.

Think that’s from 2020

25-11-2018, 02:12 PM
The glamour tie of the round is Auchinleck Talbot v Ayr. 4,000 capacity, the place will be bouncing, would be the perfect game for TV to show, but they won’t

25-11-2018, 02:51 PM
Can't wait to welcome Mr Beattie to Easter Road.

I sit quite near the front so may be able to have a friendly chat with him.

25-11-2018, 02:56 PM
When's the game?

25-11-2018, 02:56 PM
When's the game?

Weekend of 19th January

25-11-2018, 02:57 PM
Weekend of 19th January

Thanks 👍

25-11-2018, 03:01 PM
Thanks 👍

Hearts at home same day, so possibly one game will move to the Sunday

25-11-2018, 03:48 PM
What are the Elginites saying about the draw?

25-11-2018, 04:02 PM

Well if they think they'll beat us they've lost their marbles.

Here’s Lucy!
25-11-2018, 04:11 PM

:greengrin I know you're joking but, on yesterdays showing, they've got a wee chance of doing just that!!

25-11-2018, 04:13 PM

😄👍

25-11-2018, 04:24 PM
Edinburgh City got a draw against Inverness Caley Thistle today. Not sure when the replay will be

25-11-2018, 04:57 PM
Edinburgh City got a draw against Inverness Caley Thistle today. Not sure when the replay will be
Good result for them.

25-11-2018, 05:42 PM

As far as the draw is concerned they'll be thinking Heaven must have sent you.

Jim Herriot
25-11-2018, 05:51 PM

4 December, winner at home to East Kilbride.

25-11-2018, 07:15 PM

Northern Soul post of the year.

25-11-2018, 07:37 PM

✊️[emoji122][emoji122][emoji119]

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JcUX63lqVuo

25-11-2018, 07:41 PM

Aye! I've watched it once or twice! 👍

25-11-2018, 08:59 PM
Wish this was away from home, would have ben a great trip. Might get a replay though.

25-11-2018, 09:01 PM
Wish this was away from home, would have ben a great trip. Might get a replay though.

There had better ******* not be!

25-11-2018, 09:01 PM
There had better ******* not be!

:greengrin Ross County anyone? :duck:

25-11-2018, 09:06 PM

Money spinner?

25-11-2018, 09:10 PM
Money spinner?

Elgin will be happier with the draw.

25-11-2018, 10:55 PM

I was up at Elgins ground a couple of seasons ago on a Wednesday night, one of the coldest games I have ever attended, the drive up was nice but during the winter there was a fair bit of the white stuff about, when we arrived in Elgin the sun was out, that soon changed when the game started, snow sleet rain all blowing in in different directions, not a bad wee ground, came back the Aberdeen way home and think I got back into the house about 3 in the morning, would be up for it again if we are held to a draw but think we will win 1-0 at home. :greengrin

26-11-2018, 02:24 AM
Tough on Hearts because, well, other team.

G15 Hibs
26-11-2018, 08:49 AM

Beattie tends to play at the back now.

Of course, this doesn't mean that he won't score.

JXM73
26-11-2018, 09:50 AM
Is the fix, who to sell your rugby tickets to? I'm sure some of the three times a year crowd will be without tickets and want to go.

Never buy a ticket from that ****!

26-11-2018, 10:12 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hv26_9wjWhg
I hope they bring this fan:cup:

26-11-2018, 10:23 AM

Think we should give her a free ticket.

26-11-2018, 11:55 AM

What a nutter!!!!

I think I'm in love

26-11-2018, 12:10 PM

Quality

26-11-2018, 12:12 PM
Precontract for the Singing Section ahead of Scott Allan in January

28-11-2018, 04:01 PM
Northern Soul post of the year.

It's like having to wait for the next game! Seven days is too long! 💿

28-11-2018, 10:53 PM
It's like having to wait for the next game! Seven days is too long! ��

Without Hibs

Chuck Wud, as he is cawed roond these perts.

28-11-2018, 11:23 PM
It's like having to wait for the next game! Seven days is too long! 💿

Aw man. Dexys version should be what we run out to.

29-11-2018, 10:05 AM
Anyone know when the date/time of KO will be confirmed? Been 5 days since the draw!

29-11-2018, 10:08 AM
Anyone know when the date/time of KO will be confirmed? Been 5 days since the draw!

It'll be Saturday 3pm. TV games will be Cowdenbeath v Rangers & Celtic v Airdrie. Maybe one of the all-Premiership ties or Raith v Dunfermline if we're lucky.

EDIT: Actually, given Hearts are at home it could be Sunday. Here's hoping it isn't!

29-11-2018, 10:12 AM
There is egg chasing at Murrayfield on the Saturday. Surely Hearts will be moved to the Sunday.

29-11-2018, 10:12 AM
It'll be Saturday 3pm. TV games will be Cowdenbeath v Rangers & Celtic v Airdrie. Maybe one of the all-Premiership ties or Raith v Dunfermline if we're lucky.

EDIT: Actually, given Hearts are at home it could be Sunday. Here's hoping it isn't!

So you don’t know then:greengrin

29-11-2018, 10:16 AM
Was speaking to a friend who’s an Elgin City supporter
He reckons they’ll bring at least 500 to this. Good on them

29-11-2018, 10:18 AM
So you don’t know then:greengrin

Apparently not. :greengrin

29-11-2018, 10:33 AM

Reminds me of that spangle girl Molde fan who stood opposite the Sportspuben balcony screaming abuse to us for about an hour......................

Steven79
29-11-2018, 10:49 AM
There is egg chasing at Murrayfield on the Saturday. Surely Hearts will be moved to the Sunday.

No rugby that weekend, it's the next Scottish cup date on the 9th of Feb that Scotland play Ireland at home.

29-11-2018, 07:51 PM
The Montpellier game is on the Friday night, not Saturday.

29-11-2018, 08:07 PM
No rugby that weekend, it's the next Scottish cup date on the 9th of Feb that Scotland play Ireland at home.

Sorry my mistake.

McrHibee
29-11-2018, 11:46 PM
On my way back from Perth the day after the Hibs match on a Friday night against St Johnstone last season, on the way home to Warrington I looked for a game and new ground to do and opted for Central Park n Cowdenbeath v Elgin for some reason. With the snow and rain lashing down, and temperaturs hovering below zero, I ended up in the middle of nowhere hoping to get a connection to Cowden and the only other person on the platform was a fella from Elgin, who'd set off at 6 in the morning without knowing if the game would be postponed, ankle deep in Elgin snow, and fuming that the supporters' bus had been cancelled only a few days before.

After such a long journey, he said he was starvin. I asked if he'd be gettin a curry in the gaff next to the ground. No. He said. I'm going to Greggs. The game went ahead, and Elgin lost with Cowden winning their first match in about six months.

Think there's something in the air up there, bunch of nut jobs.

30-11-2018, 01:59 AM
Was speaking to a friend who’s an Elgin City supporter
He reckons they’ll bring at least 500 to this. Good on them

Really? They barely get 500 at thier home games.

15-01-2019, 06:45 PM
Not wanting to get ahead of ourselves as we have to beat Elgin but notice that the draw for the next round is after the Hearts game.