View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread - repetitive discussion only (hardly any transfer news)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

09-01-2019, 08:57 AM
NHC but Matt Doherty is linked with Spurs!

hibbydad
09-01-2019, 09:00 AM
Claros was excellent in his second season with us

09-01-2019, 09:25 AM
People thought he was a bad player because everytime he seemed to play for Celtic in the last year he was there he seemed to have a shocker. And considering he still plays Steven Whittaker I would suggest he applies his own comment to himself.

Who would you play instead of Whittaker when nobody else is fit? I honestly dont get why Whittaker gets so much stick; he's played quite well this season and has always made himself available to play.

madhibee_again
09-01-2019, 09:30 AM
The news is he is Aberdeen captain picking up a rumoured 8k per week in wages .. next

He’s on £3k a week at the Sheep, been offered £8k a week at The Rangers

09-01-2019, 09:33 AM

As long as they never play Arsenal or Chelsea in a game of high importance, he'll be fine.

09-01-2019, 09:37 AM
Yes but think he's still in that painter and decorators back pocket. Would be happy if i never saw him or heard his name again tbh.

Wow.

09-01-2019, 10:10 AM
Darrel Currie from BT Sport saying we are one of a few clubs interested in signing Shaun Byrne from Livi.

I don't know if he's just picked that up from the story in the Courier the other day or if there is more to it than that.

He also seems to suggest Craig Halkett could be seen as a replacement for Efe Ambrose but that appears to be more of a guess from him than the Byrne rumour.

Saint Hibee
09-01-2019, 10:14 AM
Any news about Shinnie from the Dons, im sure NL wanted him.
B

Shinnie comes with the added advantage of being completely unbookable no matter how blatant his fouling. Surely pushes his price up a bit ...

09-01-2019, 10:36 AM
Darrel Currie from BT Sport saying we are one of a few clubs interested in signing Shaun Byrne from Livi.

I don't know if he's just picked that up from the story in the Courier the other day or if there is more to it than that.

He also seems to suggest Craig Halkett could be seen as a replacement for Efe Ambrose but that appears to be more of a guess from him than the Byrne rumour.

I'd be delighted with Halkett. Rate him highly.

09-01-2019, 10:45 AM
I'd be delighted with Halkett. Rate him highly.

Sure he could sign a pre-contract this January? Would be a great replacement for Ambrose although Lennon said he wasn't looking to replace Ambrose

Byrne who we have been mentioned as being interested in has 18 months left on his contact.

If we were to get both we'd have to dig deep or loan some youngsters to them and I can't think of any youngsters who could go to Livi?

09-01-2019, 11:02 AM
Claros was excellent in his second season with us

Why do folk get misty eyed about this guy ?

The Pitbull who couldnae tackle

Hopeless player

09-01-2019, 11:03 AM
400k is a lot of money for us to compete with think the highest they'll get out of us is about 300k and the tash would probably have alarm bells ringing that's 3 of his Mercs he'd have to sell

IIRC we paid around 400K for Keith Wright who at the time had been knocking them in for Dundee in the SPL. I cant see Hibs paying even 300K for a player who has had a very good season and a half in the Championship … if we were going to spend that kind of money on a player it would be for a guy who has proved himself in the Premiership consistently, not for a guy whose exploits may or may not transfer to the higher league.

With Ayr 3 points off the top with a game in hand you could see why they would want to keep Shankland …. its a bit like us with McGinn in our 3rd season down there, the million quid we might have got for him at the time was considerably less than the potential earnings from promotion.

Perhaps an offer of 250K with a stupid sell on clause might get them to bite …. but I doubt it :confused:

09-01-2019, 11:03 AM
He’s on £3k a week at the Sheep, been offered £8k a week at The Rangers

Aberdeen with the 3rd biggest wage bill in the country only pay their captain 3k a week , not a chance

09-01-2019, 11:05 AM

Hopeless player

So hopeless that it took us over 2 years and a relegation before we signed a suitable replacement in Bartley.

09-01-2019, 11:05 AM

Hopeless player

[emoji23][emoji23] “hopeless” aye right then

09-01-2019, 11:06 AM

Hopeless player

I wish some of our current midfielders were as hopeless as Claros. In his second season he was excellent.

09-01-2019, 11:11 AM
Shinnie comes with the added advantage of being completely unbookable no matter how blatant his fouling. Surely pushes his price up a bit ...

He'd lose that ability as soon as he pulled on a Hibs shirt.

09-01-2019, 11:15 AM

Hopeless player

Hopeless? No, no he really wasn’t.

09-01-2019, 11:15 AM

Hopeless player

He was slightly better than all the other crap players we had at that time so folk remember him as being decent.

He wasn’t.

He was, as you say, hopeless.

09-01-2019, 11:20 AM
He was slightly better than all the other crap players we had at that time so folk remember him as being decent.

He wasn’t.

Yup. Think Milligan playing in midfield except not so good in the air.

09-01-2019, 11:25 AM
Ik I said welcome Ryan Gauld as thought deal would b confirmed shortly after but now I’m wondering Aberdeen in Dubai too he maybe had option of meeting them too

09-01-2019, 11:29 AM
Ik I said welcome Ryan Gauld as thought deal would b confirmed shortly after but now I’m wondering Aberdeen in Dubai too he maybe had option of meeting them too

I'll admit the Aberdeen thing has been praying on my mind

ForeverHibees
09-01-2019, 11:29 AM
Jason Cummings is coming back to Scotland. Hibs are in the mix to sign him. Most likely a 6 month loan with a view to extend it permanently.

09-01-2019, 11:31 AM
Jason Cummings is coming back to Scotland. Hibs are in the mix to sign him. Most likely a 6 month loan with a view to extend it permanently.

Nice first post

09-01-2019, 11:32 AM
Yes but think he's still in that painter and decorators back pocket. Would be happy if i never saw him or heard his name again tbh.

Yep, his performances picked up after that final but his performance on that day was one of the most shocking I've seen at Hibs.

A disappearing act Brian Kerr would be proud of.

09-01-2019, 11:33 AM

If he ends up going to Aberdeen, I think I'll impose a voluntary self ban on this site for at least a month.

GillyHibee
09-01-2019, 11:33 AM

I'm a Wolves man myself, but just goes to show what playing with the best around you can do to a player

09-01-2019, 11:34 AM

I hope you're right, - and welcome to Hibs Net.

09-01-2019, 11:37 AM

Hopeless playerwasn't at all hopeless, very good player

09-01-2019, 11:41 AM
Nice first post

Honestly wouldn’t surprise me

James Stephen
09-01-2019, 11:42 AM
Claros is the perfect example of how the internet makes people strangely trenchant and over the top at the same time.

Claros was a decent midfield player in a poor team. He wasnt awful, he wasnt brilliant, he was average and his standard probably reflects pretty accurately the level that the team was at that time.

If we are after the two boys from livi, i hope we just get on and do it - id love to see us be more aggressive in our approach. Get them on pre contracts, sign then and loan them back for rest of season.

09-01-2019, 11:43 AM
Honestly wouldn’t surprise me

I'd be surprised not disappointed but surprised

09-01-2019, 11:44 AM
:I'm waiti

Hibbywolf
09-01-2019, 11:44 AM
I'm a Wolves man myself, but just goes to show what playing with the best around you can do to a player

there`s two of us!!

09-01-2019, 11:48 AM
Nearly 5pm In Dubai Could 1Pm here be announcement time :cb

09-01-2019, 12:09 PM
I'd be surprised not disappointed but surprised

He is on loan to Hibs. Get a grip everybody. I believe most of you are grown up reasonably mature adults when outside this site.

09-01-2019, 12:11 PM
Who would you play instead of Whittaker when nobody else is fit? I honestly dont get why Whittaker gets so much stick; he's played quite well this season and has always made himself available to play.Ridiculous the stick he gets...he has actually been one of our better performers by in large this season - ps I know that's not the greatest accolade at present but nevertheless he's been reliable enough

09-01-2019, 12:13 PM
He is on loan to Hibs. Get a grip everybody. I believe most of you are grown up reasonably mature adults when outside this site.

Who's on loan to Hibs? :confused:

If he ends up going to Aberdeen, I think I'll impose a voluntary self ban on this site for at least a month.

:greengrinIt would not be pretty that's for sure [emoji85]

Speak for yourself, i'm nothing of the sort.

09-01-2019, 12:14 PM

Not sure why this has been directed at me? Who's on loan to Hibs?

MacGruber
09-01-2019, 12:14 PM
#announcegauld ....

09-01-2019, 12:15 PM
Who's on loan to Hibs? :confused:

I think he thought they were talking about Gauld.

BlackSheep
09-01-2019, 12:19 PM

Interesting thing about the potential return of Cummings.... If we do sign back permanently and pay a fee, if there was a sell on clause in his contract do we get a refund of some of the new fee.... lol!!

09-01-2019, 12:21 PM
Cummings, Gauld, Morgan. Would take that

09-01-2019, 12:23 PM
wasn't at all hopeless, very good player

He wasn't very good he was okay, not terrible just okay.

09-01-2019, 12:29 PM
He wasn't very good he was okay, not terrible just okay.

Anyone know how his career panned out after leaving Hibs?

09-01-2019, 12:33 PM
Should you not be at school?

And this one post is one of the main reasons people are put off coming onto this site, just nae need.

09-01-2019, 12:34 PM
There's something very Apocalypse Now about this thread.

peterharrogate
09-01-2019, 12:34 PM
If we are after the two boys from livi, i hope we just get on and do it - id love to see us be more aggressive in our approach. Get them on pre contracts, sign then and loan them back for rest of season.[/QUOTE]

What would be the point in paying to sign them in January after we've got them on a pre contract if we're then going to loan them back for the rest of the season?

09-01-2019, 12:35 PM

Some first post - turns out to be true - you are setting yourself a high benchmark there ! :wink::thumbsup:

Hibee_Craig7062
09-01-2019, 12:38 PM
A mate has just text me stating he has heard rumours tims have sacked LG......:confused:

09-01-2019, 12:38 PM
A mate has just text me stating he has heard rumours tims have sacked LG......:confused:

He's coming home :hyper

James Stephen
09-01-2019, 12:39 PM

It wouldn't be a transfer window without an LG story...😂

09-01-2019, 12:43 PM

Two different posters posted this now.. still cannot see it though.

09-01-2019, 12:47 PM
I'd happily see literally any version of Leigh Griffiths sign for us. If only...

There's something very Apocalypse Now about this thread.

It wouldn’t be Hibs without someone in the squad taking on the role of sacred cow to be hacked to pieces in front of an angry mob.

Two different posters posted this now.. still cannot see it though.

Same source mate.

My old man
09-01-2019, 12:48 PM

Imagine the s&&t celik would get if they actually have done that
Sacking someone who is on the “sick “ don’t get me wrong
I’d bite their hand off to bring him home where he is happy

09-01-2019, 12:52 PM
Sacking someone who is on the “sick “

It happens all the time.

Just ask any civil servant.

09-01-2019, 12:53 PM
Sacking someone who is on the “sick “ don’t get me wrong
I’d bite their hand off to bring him home where he is happy

Depends why he is off "sick" and if he's compromised himself while being off, would have to be something serious to be sacked though.

Spudster
09-01-2019, 01:02 PM
What would be the point in paying to sign them in January after we've got them on a pre contract if we're then going to loan them back for the rest of the season?

:aok: Glad someone else was as baffled as me. Read the post about 5 times thinking I was missing something

09-01-2019, 01:03 PM
Waiting for hibs to announce new signings like

https://media1.tenor.com/images/5c36b5497629f905d0c011d16f01c0ff/tenor.gif?itemid=10312546

GillyHibee
09-01-2019, 01:03 PM
there`s two of us!!

thought i was alone too!

09-01-2019, 01:08 PM
Yup. Think Milligan playing in midfield except not so good in the air.

From what I have seen so far he was streets ahead of Milligan.

09-01-2019, 01:09 PM

https://media1.tenor.com/images/5c36b5497629f905d0c011d16f01c0ff/tenor.gif?itemid=10312546

I want the shocked eagle gif when Gauld is finally announced :greengrin

09-01-2019, 01:14 PM
He's coming home :hyper

Where's the gif thread?! :hyper

09-01-2019, 01:34 PM
As a type of insurance policy? It seems daft (and maybe is daft) but it’s been done before

09-01-2019, 01:38 PM
LG is in sick leave. Celtic would get hammered if they sacked him. It won’t happen.

09-01-2019, 01:38 PM
I want the shocked eagle gif when Gauld is finally announced :greengrin

#AnnounceBlock

09-01-2019, 01:39 PM
And this one post is one of the main reasons people are put off coming onto this site, just nae need.

So Jason is coming back? First time poster obviously itk....

09-01-2019, 01:41 PM
Sure he could sign a pre-contract this January? Would be a great replacement for Ambrose although Lennon said he wasn't looking to replace Ambrose

Byrne who we have been mentioned as being interested in has 18 months left on his contact.

If we were to get both we'd have to dig deep or loan some youngsters to them and I can't think of any youngsters who could go to Livi?

Personally dont believe that.

09-01-2019, 01:50 PM

He wasn’t.

There was me thinking it was just me

Awful era

09-01-2019, 01:56 PM
LG is in sick leave. Celtic would get hammered if they sacked him. It won’t happen.

He may have invalidated his sick leave by attending the races.

09-01-2019, 02:01 PM
He may have invalidated his sick leave by attending the races.

I very much doubt there's any truth in the rumour.

If it was true, and we knew about it, the media would be all over it.

File under silly season.

09-01-2019, 02:11 PM

Is that you BleedGreen? Say it is

09-01-2019, 02:15 PM

I don't know if he is but to slag off a 1st post, BS or not is a main reason people get put off from coming on here, if it's BS we'll all soon find out but nae need to be so derisory to someone's 1st post.

09-01-2019, 02:17 PM
This is what Leigh posted on Twitter January 6th.

https://twitter.com/Leighgriff09/with_replies

09-01-2019, 02:17 PM

Hibs fans might be getting worried about the lack of news on Ryan Gauld’s loan switch from Sporting Lisbon.

But they can relax as any fears would be unfounded. Hibs are confident that the deal will be completed soon and any hold up is just down to a delay in paperwork being completed.

The former Dundee United youngster has agreed a deal and will be unveiled by the Easter Road club in the coming days.

From the DR website

09-01-2019, 02:19 PM
This is what Leigh posted on Twitter January 6th.

https://twitter.com/Leighgriff09/with_replies

Thanks for posting that. Very helpful.

09-01-2019, 02:24 PM
I don't know if he is but to slag off a 1st post, BS or not is a main reason people get put off from coming on here, if it's BS we'll all soon find out but nae need to be so derisory to someone's 1st post.

Surely it should be virtually compulsory to slag off any first post?

09-01-2019, 02:26 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/former-hibs-midfielder-signs-for-jamie-maclaren-s-parent-club-darmstadt-1-4853943

News on Victor Palsson

09-01-2019, 02:30 PM
Surely it should be virtually compulsory to slag off any first post?

If the 1st post was a very negative one against the club, player or manager then yes I'd agree with you but this is a fairly positive rumour about a signing, give the poster a chance to either prove it right or fail, if he/she fails then slag them off.

BlackSheep
09-01-2019, 02:32 PM

This isnt the first I have heard of this rumour that Cummings may return so whenever its mentioned again and from a different source to my own it gives slightly more credibility to the rumour.

No need to jump on the guy for posting what he has heard.

I was a long time lurker before i finally jumped into the forums as an active member as were most of us on here, so yes, its the first post but that isn't an instant reason to doubt it validity.

The paranoia on here is becoming quite bad.... "oh they are a new poster so they must be a Yam, on the wind up or the likes".

bigswissstriker
09-01-2019, 02:37 PM

I can confirm he hasn’t been sacked

09-01-2019, 02:40 PM
Cummings, Gauld, Morgan. Would take that

So would i.
Would also like pre contracts signed by Allan & Halkett

09-01-2019, 02:50 PM
This isnt the first I have heard of this rumour that Cummings may return so whenever its mentioned again and from a different source to my own it gives slightly more credibility to the rumour.

No need to jump on the guy for posting what he has heard.

I was a long time lurker before i finally jumped into the forums as an active member as were most of us on here, so yes, its the first post but that isn't an instant reason to doubt it validity.

The paranoia on here is becoming quite bad.... "oh they are a new poster so they must be a Yam, on the wind up or the likes".

I don't think there is any rumour, just logic at work.

Hibs need a goal scoring striker and Cummings is available.

bigswissstriker
09-01-2019, 02:52 PM

Who said he was available?

ForeverHibees
09-01-2019, 02:55 PM
He is now in edinburgh looking at his Instagram. Strange considering Peterborough have a game on Saturday

bigswissstriker
09-01-2019, 02:58 PM
He is now in edinburgh looking at his Instagram. Strange considering Peterborough have a game on Saturday

Has anyone at Peterborough or forest even remotely hinted his loan with pboro may get cut short?

GGTTH07
09-01-2019, 03:04 PM
Heard JC to hibs could happen last month.

09-01-2019, 03:04 PM

Can he not look at his Instagram in Peterborough?

Or Does he not have a plug adapter?

09-01-2019, 03:06 PM
Can he not look at his Instagram in Peterborough?

Or Does he not have a plug adapter?

😁😁😁

Bleeds green
09-01-2019, 03:10 PM
Is that you BleedGreen? Say it is

Is this another bleeds green? This happened before I got accused of being a different member

09-01-2019, 03:10 PM
Last night i had a dream we were playing hearts at easter road...i was sat in the main somewhere near the north stand end. Hibs had a corner in front of the south stand and it was taken short to cummings who took a couple of touches then curled a left footer into the top left of the goals.....mental or what.....he celebrated like henrik Larsson

09-01-2019, 03:16 PM
#AnnounceAllan
#AnnounceGauld
#AnnounceMorgan

09-01-2019, 03:21 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190109/02f622dce1e2bc1744fb917919e77c9c.jpg

alihibs1
09-01-2019, 03:25 PM
Do we even have 11 players at the moment?

09-01-2019, 03:28 PM
Has anyone at Peterborough or forest even remotely hinted his loan with pboro may get cut short?

Yes

https://www.nottinghampost.com/sport/football/transfer-news/jason-cummings-could-find-himself-2289436
https://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2018/12/19/jason-cummings-nottingham-forest-return-looking-inevitable-now/

09-01-2019, 03:36 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/former-hibs-midfielder-signs-for-jamie-maclaren-s-parent-club-darmstadt-1-4853943

News on Victor Palsson

I saw that!
On the day we are all desperate to hear good news re signing targets we get told about Palsson signing for another club, James Collins and Tudor Jones telling everyone what a p..h team we were in their days at the club and now confirmation that Boyle has undergone surgery today and will definitely be out for the rest of the season, on top of losing Ambrose earlier in the week.
What it is to be Hibee!

cloudy
09-01-2019, 03:36 PM
Would a move for Michael Johnson from Celtc be a realistic move?

09-01-2019, 03:39 PM

wouldn't have thought Celtic will let him go - looks on the fringes of a starting slot....

tbh would be an great capture

09-01-2019, 03:39 PM

Rodgers has already said he's going nowhere so can't see it happening.

Mr_F
09-01-2019, 03:40 PM

I'd be happy with a move for Michael Jackson as we are that short

09-01-2019, 03:44 PM
I'd be happy with a move for Michael Jackson as we are that short

Comments like that you can beat it. 😉.

MagicSwirlingShip
09-01-2019, 03:45 PM
Claros is the perfect example of how the internet makes people strangely trenchant and over the top at the same time.

Claros was a decent midfield player in a poor team. He wasnt awful, he wasnt brilliant, he was average and his standard probably reflects pretty accurately the level that the team was at that time.

If we are after the two boys from livi, i hope we just get on and do it - id love to see us be more aggressive in our approach. Get them on pre contracts, sign then and loan them back for rest of season.

I got pulled up on here a few months ago re; Claros.

Liked him at the time, but when you look at the midfielders we have had since he doesn’t even come close

H18S NX
09-01-2019, 03:48 PM
Fed up with aw the bad news,can wi no get some good news?

09-01-2019, 03:50 PM
Fed up with aw the bad news,can wi no get some good news?

You're a Hibs fan; you should know better :greengrin

09-01-2019, 03:58 PM
You an Irish psychic?

09-01-2019, 03:58 PM

Could do with his pace but questions will be asked on whether his legs have gone.

09-01-2019, 03:59 PM

it didn't ;)

BlackSheep
09-01-2019, 04:02 PM

It is definitely a rumour. The source I heard it from has direct links to Hibs.

NB A rumour. Not a fact, nor speculation... just a hint that there is a chance that we may look at Cummings returning.... a hint of a chance.

09-01-2019, 04:04 PM

Cummings, Gauld, Allan and a centre back would represent a tremendous transfer window; not that I'm expecting all of those moves to happen.

09-01-2019, 04:11 PM
Jason Cummings not getting a game for Peterborough, not apparently wanted at parent club Forest with 18 months left on his contract.

Just saying.

I posted this six days ago and nobody jumped down my throat for talking pish. Sometimes I think we're a bit harsh on newbie posters, its a wonder they stick around really:greengrin

Cummings makes sense on a number of levels.

ForeverHibees
09-01-2019, 04:16 PM
I know that there are several top flight teams in Scotland interested. Hibs one of them.

09-01-2019, 04:20 PM

Yep.
https://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2018/12/04/darragh-macanthony-suggests-jason-cummings-could-return-to-notti/

He’s not scored a league goal since August or started a game since mid-October

I posted this six days ago and nobody jumped down my throat for talking pish. Sometimes I think we're a bit harsh on newbie posters, its a wonder they stick around really:greengrin

Cummings makes sense on a number of levels.

I'll bet that's the first time that last sentence had been written.

I know that there are several top flight teams in Scotland interested. Hibs one of them.

He'd better not go to Hearts. This place would meltdown faster than Chernobyl!

BlackSheep
09-01-2019, 04:22 PM

It would make sense for him to return here, even if only for 6 months to raise his stock again.

I know it has been said many times before but some clubs and players just suit each other and I think Hibs and Cummings work well together.

Perhaps more time in the Scottish Premiership would see some other clubs down south peak their interest, failing that he could sign for us permanently.

MacGruber
09-01-2019, 04:26 PM
It would make sense for him to return here, even if only for 6 months to raise his stock again.

I know it has been said many times before but some clubs and players just suit each other and I think Hibs and Cummings work well together.

Perhaps more time in the Scottish Premiership would see some other clubs down south peak their interest, failing that he could sign for us permanently.

Would be delighted with Cummings back

09-01-2019, 04:27 PM

Would be nice to have some players signed.

09-01-2019, 04:28 PM

NB A rumour. Not a fact, nor speculation... just a hint that there is a chance that we may look at Cummings returning.... a hint of a chance.

So he's signing 😂

MacGruber
09-01-2019, 04:28 PM
So

Cummings
Griffiths
Eaves
Gauld
Allan
Morgan
Shinnie
Russell

I'm okay with that. If Petrie doesn't deliver though there'll be hell to pay

09-01-2019, 04:29 PM

Top work!!!!

09-01-2019, 04:30 PM
So

Cummings
Griffiths
Eaves
Gauld
Allan
Morgan
Shinnie
Russell

Season ticket will be returned if we don’t sign all those players.

sean04
09-01-2019, 04:39 PM
Anybody heard that sparky is getting his contract ripped up at Celtic?

H18S NX
09-01-2019, 04:48 PM
You're a Hibs fan; you should know better :greengrin...TRUE m8:aok:

stevie-bee
09-01-2019, 04:48 PM
Anybody heard that sparky is getting his contract ripped up at Celtic?

No

alihibs1
09-01-2019, 04:49 PM
You’ve got to think with Boyle out for the season now that we’re looking for 5 in.

Lennon has bemoaned at the size of the squad multiple times this season and it’s even smaller now.

09-01-2019, 04:51 PM
You’ve got to think with Boyle out for the season now that we’re looking for 5 in.

Lennon has bemoaned at the size of the squad multiple times this season and it’s even smaller now.

Agree with that.

2 strikers
2 central midfielders
1 winger

Not sure I see us getting all of that though.

09-01-2019, 04:53 PM
Agree with that.

2 strikers
2 central midfielders
1 winger

Not sure I see us getting all of that though.

And a centre back to replace Efe!

09-01-2019, 04:54 PM

Could also do with a right back or cover.

09-01-2019, 04:55 PM
Hyndman, Efe and now Boyle unavailable from an already small squad,5 qualty players needed but it wont be easy

09-01-2019, 04:56 PM

And a GK to replace Laidlaw, Marcia still injured?

09-01-2019, 04:59 PM

The spurs keeper is his replacement

09-01-2019, 05:01 PM

He left a season too soon. He should have done the same as McGinn did and stayed with us for our 1st season back up in the Premiership.

09-01-2019, 05:05 PM

FFS the first woman promoted to the mens side, and she's injured already?

alihibs1
09-01-2019, 05:06 PM
Livi sign Gregg Wylde. Decent signing for them.

09-01-2019, 05:16 PM
FFS the first woman promoted to the mens side, and she's injured already?
Shame really, her and Bob are young, gifted and black.....

Scotty Leither
09-01-2019, 05:19 PM
What's the hold-up with announcing Gauld?

chippy
09-01-2019, 05:22 PM
That’s where it’s at then

09-01-2019, 05:25 PM

Paperwork

09-01-2019, 05:26 PM

He was already on a season long loan at the other Portuguese club, probably just paperwork to tie up.

delbert
09-01-2019, 05:27 PM
So

Cummings
Griffiths
Eaves
Gauld
Allan
Morgan
Shinnie
Russell

Depending on which Shinnie is in that list, we still appear to lack someone to go and win the ball in the middle of the park, and all the ball playiers in the world can’t do anything if we don’t have the ball.

AllyF
09-01-2019, 05:28 PM
Cummings left out of the Peterborough squad tonight in the EFL Trophy. Instead he’s in Edinburgh.

Must be signing for Hearts. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190109/b3527d267474b14cdd65658dbf170f7b.jpg

Stokesy's on fire
09-01-2019, 05:30 PM
Cummings left out of the Peterborough squad tonight in the EFL Trophy. Instead he’s in Edinburgh.

Must be signing for Hearts. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190109/b3527d267474b14cdd65658dbf170f7b.jpg

They ended his loan did they not?

09-01-2019, 05:31 PM

They said they were considering it. Not announced anything yet.

09-01-2019, 05:31 PM

Not sure it was confirmed, but they were certainly thinking about it a few weeks ago.

AllyF
09-01-2019, 05:32 PM

Haven’t seen that confirmed anywhere, but seems likely.

mcfly
09-01-2019, 05:34 PM
We do need a bit of good news on these pages.

Seems we are just losing players and boyle out for the season is a disaster.

Our squad is very low in numbers. We must have at least 5 lined up to come in or I’d be very disappointed with the recruitment team. 🤞

09-01-2019, 05:35 PM
When is the club back from Dubai?

09-01-2019, 05:35 PM

Well played that man.

09-01-2019, 05:37 PM
Interested in Craig Bryson along with the huns.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/rangers-hibs-interested-signing-craig-13835100

09-01-2019, 05:41 PM

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/local-sport/rangers-hibs-interested-signing-craig-13835100

Is he a box-to-box type of CM?

09-01-2019, 05:42 PM

I’m sure he used to be. Might not have it in him anymore at 32.

09-01-2019, 05:43 PM

Playing regularly for Derby, would imagine he'd be on a decent wage. Not sure The Rangers would need another Midfielder?

A very good player.

dirtydirk
09-01-2019, 05:46 PM
No chance we would get Bryson - if we did he would be some signing. Played a big part in getting Cardiff promoted last season and still do a job at most championship clubs

09-01-2019, 06:05 PM

Better wi Denise Bryson

09-01-2019, 06:19 PM
Better wi Denise Bryson

Who she?

09-01-2019, 06:19 PM
Better wi Denise Bryson

Better wi Billy.

BlackSheep
09-01-2019, 06:46 PM
So he's signing 😂

Haven’t a clue if he is... just passing on information that I’ve heard a couple of times from a couple of different people, all of whom are connected to directly to hibs....

Edinburgh Green
09-01-2019, 06:51 PM

Bryson would be a crackin signing!

09-01-2019, 06:57 PM
Bryson would be a crackin signing!

Excellent at Killie. Don't follow English football so not sure how well he's done down there.

Scotty Leither
09-01-2019, 07:02 PM
We sign the dross like Mavrias and Nelom quick enough. Two big league games coming up that will probably shape our season.

Next year's season tickets getting announced soon too. Any good news coming our way, Hibs, or just the usual news management?

09-01-2019, 07:08 PM
We sign the dross like Mavrias and Nelom quick enough. Two big league games coming up that will probably shape our season.

Next year's season tickets getting announced soon too. Any good news coming our way, Hibs, or just the usual news management?

How long were we working on the Mavrias and Nelom signings?

09-01-2019, 07:18 PM

Yes it’s very frustrating. From a squad that was already short in a few areas to the injuries suffered prior to the window opening, a lot of fans were hoping things would move quickly with new players signing early. Since then we’ve moved on Hyndman, lost Ambrose and lost Boyle for the rest of the season. If ever there was a time to get the finger out it’s now. Everything seems to take forever at Hibs. Some good news please 🙏

09-01-2019, 07:20 PM
Some folk need to chill out, we all want players in but bitching about it isn’t going to make them come any quicker. Trust the club are doing everything they can, tomorrow will be the start of a few announcements over the next few weeks and likely right to the last few hours of the window as good quality can come available last minute.

09-01-2019, 07:21 PM
Yes it’s very frustrating. From a squad that was already short in a few areas to the injuries suffered prior to the window opening, a lot of fans were hoping things would move quickly with new players signing early. Since then we’ve moved on Hyndman, lost Ambrose and lost Boyle for the rest of the season. If ever there was a time to get the finger out it’s now. Everything seems to take forever at Hibs. Some good news please 🙏

It does take a while. :agree:

For the record, after a bit of digging, Mavrias's agent tweeted about the signing four days before Hibs announced it as confirmed.

Presumably there was work going on prior to the agent believing it was a done deal, so not that quick after all.

09-01-2019, 07:23 PM
I would think international clearance could take a wee bit of time.

09-01-2019, 07:24 PM
I would think international clearance could take a wee bit of time.

That would seem reasonable.

Scotty Leither
09-01-2019, 07:25 PM
How long were we working on the Mavrias and Nelom signings?

Probably as long as it took the recruitment team to say "ach he'll dae, he's cheap and available".

The guy's been there 48 hours - how long are they wanting and how does it take the club an eternity to get a deal over the line?

Even the mighty Livingston have signed a player in a permanent deal today - I would say our needs are more pressing than theirs.

09-01-2019, 07:30 PM
Probably as long as it took the recruitment team to say "ach he'll dae, he's cheap and available".

The guy's been there 48 hours - how long are they wanting and how does it take the club an eternity to get a deal over the line?

Even the mighty Livingston have signed a player in a permanent deal today - I would say our needs are more pressing than theirs.

The deal involves 2 different football associations in 2 different European countries while the player involved is in the Middle East. It doesn’t take an expert to understand that it might take a little longer to tie up than Livi signing a Scottish free agent.

09-01-2019, 07:30 PM
Some folk need to chill out, we all want players in but bitching about it isn’t going to make them come any quicker. Trust the club are doing everything they can, tomorrow will be the start of a few announcements over the next few weeks and likely right to the last few hours of the window as good quality can come available last minute.

Hopefully you’re right but the same things were said in the summer about waiting for quality over quantity etc. We’ve been left with a squad that is totally short in a few areas and with the quality of signings up for debate. We’re really struggling now and patience is running out. In our position we need to get things moving sooner rather than later. If you’re ITK then maybe you can be calmer than folk who aren’t and are concerned with the position we find our team in. Hope you’re right though and things start moving and improving soon 👍

09-01-2019, 07:35 PM
The deal involves 2 different football associations in 2 different European countries while the player involved is in the Middle East. It doesn’t take an expert to understand that it might take a little longer to tie up than Livi signing a Scottish free agent.

Aye but pure get it done ken clubs a pure joke cannae even get a single player signed like etc

09-01-2019, 07:36 PM

He claims to be. He plays on the right of a midfield three for Derby, plays regularly and according to this seasons match reports appears to get booked every game he plays in:greengrin

I'd imagine we can't afford him.

09-01-2019, 07:40 PM

Nelom is a strange one - the guy has played high level but hardly featured for us ?

It’s the same every window with posters being impatient- we all know the squad needs players - hopefully we get what we need or we won’t even make top 6.

09-01-2019, 07:41 PM

Why would it make a difference the player is with the club in the Middle East? I get the point that the deal involving a couple of clubs in Portugal could cause complications or delays but it’s really not relevant we’re in the Middle East surely?

I’ll admit to getting a bit impatient by it all, it was Lennon who said he hoped to have a couple of new players by the time we went to Dubai so it was him that set the expectations. Since then we’ve lost an attacking midfielder, our player of the year so far and a winger when we were already short of a couple of forwards at least.

My concern is that we’re not getting our first choice targets and we’re currently working our way down the list, normally when that happens we end up with a Chris Dagnall type signing.

Ultimately what I think or worry about doesn’t mean anything, the proof will be what happens on the pitch, not what happens this week. I can understand why people are getting a bit restless and frustrated though.

09-01-2019, 07:50 PM
Aye but pure get it done ken clubs a pure joke cannae even get a single player signed like etc

You do realise Gauld was on a season long loan to another Portuguese team, that contract will have to be cancelled before we can register him with our authorities.

09-01-2019, 07:50 PM

They're probably deliberately dragging it out to save a day or two wages and that.

09-01-2019, 07:51 PM
You do realise Gauld was on a season long loan to another Portuguese team, that contract will have to be cancelled before we can register him with our authorities.

You'd think the club would have asked them to skip that stage because Livi have got players in already.

09-01-2019, 07:53 PM
You'd think the club would have asked them to skip that stage because Livi have got players in already.

Yep let's just skip the rules and do as we please 👍

09-01-2019, 07:55 PM
Yep let's just skip the rules and do as we please 👍

We are the Hibees, we do what we want.

09-01-2019, 07:56 PM
We are the Hibees, we do what we want.

But we do do it very slowly.

09-01-2019, 07:59 PM
But we do do it very slowly.

😂😂

09-01-2019, 08:00 PM
They're probably deliberately dragging it out to save a day or two wages and that.

More likely just to troll us long suffering punters.

09-01-2019, 08:02 PM
More likely just to troll us long suffering punters.

There's a coach-load of confirmed signings at East Mains training in secret just to bam us up!

09-01-2019, 08:03 PM

There's a coach-load of confirmed signings at East Mains training in secret just to bam us up!

Seems to be doing the trick......

09-01-2019, 08:08 PM
Seems to be doing the trick......

:agree: yep!

09-01-2019, 08:11 PM
Has Gauld been seen in Dubai?

09-01-2019, 08:20 PM

It’s mostly Oil out there....

09-01-2019, 08:27 PM
Why would it make a difference the player is with the club in the Middle East? I get the point that the deal involving a couple of clubs in Portugal could cause complications or delays but it’s really not relevant we’re in the Middle East surely?

I assume we are being prudent and giving the player a medical before signing.

09-01-2019, 08:27 PM

09-01-2019, 08:30 PM

Excellent 👍

09-01-2019, 08:31 PM

How much are you looking dubai?

09-01-2019, 08:34 PM

Yes! This.

09-01-2019, 08:36 PM

Very good.

09-01-2019, 08:37 PM

Incredible. We’re always playing by the rules and I’m sick of it.

09-01-2019, 08:40 PM
A no then!

09-01-2019, 08:41 PM
A no then!

looks like it,hopefully signs tomorrow

Scotty Leither
09-01-2019, 08:43 PM

There's a "transfer window bingo" thread for tedious cliches. Don't use them myself, I usually avoid them like the plague.

Scotty Leither
09-01-2019, 08:44 PM

As have Rangers and Celtic and that mob over the road.

09-01-2019, 08:45 PM
looks like it,hopefully signs tomorrow
Wasn't that what was said on Mon? Then on Tues? Now it's We'd & it will be tomorrow. Oh well we'll see.

09-01-2019, 08:45 PM
There's a "transfer window bingo" thread for tedious cliches. Don't use them myself, I usually avoid them like the plague.

:) 😂

09-01-2019, 08:47 PM

:agree: let’s get this back on track.

09-01-2019, 08:48 PM
Joelle Murray and Shiv Hunter rumoured to be stepping up to the big team. Seen at East Mains.

09-01-2019, 08:49 PM

Fantastic! :greengrin

09-01-2019, 08:50 PM

Don't get your knickers in a twist!

09-01-2019, 08:51 PM
As have Rangers and Celtic and that mob over the road.

You'd think the Portuguese would definitely get their fingers out then.

09-01-2019, 08:54 PM
Point us in the direction of your track.

09-01-2019, 08:57 PM
Joelle Murray and Shiv Hunter rumoured to be stepping up to the big team. Seen at East Mains.

Can anyone hear Dolly Parton

Scotty Leither
09-01-2019, 09:00 PM
You'd think the Portuguese would definitely get their fingers out then.

It'll be their fault right enough.

09-01-2019, 09:02 PM
It'll be their fault right enough.

Well who else would you blame? :wink:

Scotty Leither
09-01-2019, 09:06 PM
Well who else would you blame?

Probably Celtic - after all it was their fault Allan never signed the last time. Certainly wouldn't lay any blame at Hibs door, they're obviously lining up another three or four deals as we speak.

09-01-2019, 09:27 PM

Did he not get injured at the weekend?

09-01-2019, 09:44 PM
Probably Celtic - after all it was their fault Allan never signed the last time. Certainly wouldn't lay any blame at Hibs door, they're obviously lining up another three or four deals as we speak.

Souter96Mac
09-01-2019, 09:51 PM
Feeling dirty just even casting my eyes on their site, but I had a look on Bears den forum. They reckon there's no chance Bryson will sign for them as he's a bit celtic fan, and I don't think they seem too fussed with the amount of midfielders they have.
I'd take him, think he'd be a quality addition.

09-01-2019, 09:53 PM

Would you rather we signed Wylde instead of Gauld?

Maybe you'd rather we signed Greg Tansey instead of Scott Allan as well?

09-01-2019, 09:55 PM
Wasn't that what was said on Mon? Then on Tues? Now it's We'd & it will be tomorrow. Oh well we'll see.

Does it matter? As long as he's available to play in our next game that's surely the only relevant concern.

09-01-2019, 10:04 PM
Does it matter? As long as he's available to play in our next game that's surely the only relevant concern.

Gauld is in Dubai so he's training with the squad and presumably can play in the friendly on Friday as a trialist. If he misses it, then I'm relaxed as the real deadline is that for the Elgin City match.

09-01-2019, 10:12 PM
Has Ryan Gauld passed the bleep test?

Do we have our bleep test equipment with us in Dubai?

(Please see thread on James Collins)

09-01-2019, 10:19 PM
Everything will be alright.

09-01-2019, 10:21 PM

Promise?

09-01-2019, 10:25 PM
Promise?

Scouts honour.

Tornadoes70
09-01-2019, 11:02 PM

I'm as I'm certain are the vast majority of Hibbys seriously excited at the prospect of seeing the young footballing talent showing what he can do at ER. Won't be the only signing and should add to the bumper crowds or at least maintain the bumper crowds.

Can't wait to hear he's signed up.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

09-01-2019, 11:23 PM
Feeling dirty just even casting my eyes on their site, but I had a look on Bears den forum. They reckon there's no chance Bryson will sign for them as he's a bit celtic fan, and I don't think they seem too fussed with the amount of midfielders they have.
I'd take him, think he'd be a quality addition.

Too old.[emoji6]

10-01-2019, 12:27 AM

Deeks is returning?! :hyper

10-01-2019, 05:43 AM
It'll be fine

10-01-2019, 05:45 AM
I’m sure we’re just holding off to announce Gauld, Allan, Bryson, Cummings and Morgan all at the same time :greengrin

10-01-2019, 05:49 AM
Bring back Malonga. The most laid back genius in living memory

10-01-2019, 06:13 AM
Bring back Malonga. The most laid back genius in living memory

What a guy.

18Craig75
10-01-2019, 06:29 AM
I’m sure we’re just holding off to announce Gauld, Allan, Bryson, Cummings and Morgan all at the same time :greengrin

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190110/a2371d671179a4b4944196cb933bd09c.jpg

Hopefully turn out better than this mass player reveal [emoji23]

10-01-2019, 06:34 AM

Don't give me nightmares.

DetroitHibs
10-01-2019, 06:47 AM

Thats fckin brutal mate, I'm just about to turn in for the night.

18Craig75
10-01-2019, 06:53 AM
Thats fckin brutal mate, I'm just about to turn in for the night.

[emoji3] sorry for spoiling everyone’s breakfast. Although I guess a timely reminder that it could always be worse!

10-01-2019, 07:10 AM

Doherty looks delighted

10-01-2019, 07:12 AM

What a guy.

And he doesn't care about The Rangers which is nice

10-01-2019, 09:41 AM

“Gambian Roberto Carlos.” :shocked::shocked::shocked:

https://youtu.be/8Qk_ucUIwws

xyz23jc
10-01-2019, 09:49 AM
Would you rather we signed Wylde instead of Gauld?

Maybe you'd rather we signed Greg Tansey instead of Scott Allan as well?

Tansey already signed for St Mirren.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46802777

10-01-2019, 10:03 AM
Probably waiting to unveil them with the new kit

10-01-2019, 10:08 AM

Tin hat on - those signings did fine for us.

If they'd been as pish as folk are making out we'd have been relegated and knocked out the cup in the first round.

The worst thing they could have done was to reach a cup final.

10-01-2019, 10:13 AM

If they'd been as pish as folk are making out we'd have been relegated and knocked out the cup in the first round.

The worst thing they could have done was to reach a cup final.Agree . All of them would have played some games this season if still with Hibs .

10-01-2019, 10:19 AM
“Gambian Roberto Carlos.” :shocked::shocked::shocked:

https://youtu.be/8Qk_ucUIwws

Wow just wow

tonyrougier123
10-01-2019, 10:21 AM
Still nae signing news on this thread,or decent rumours!!

10-01-2019, 10:26 AM
Tansey already signed for St Mirren.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46802777

Yes I know. That was the point.

10-01-2019, 10:37 AM
Agree . All of them would have played some games this season if still with Hibs .

Kujabi? Oh please no.

10-01-2019, 10:43 AM
Agree . All of them would have played some games this season if still with Hibs .

Shows how far we’ve deteriorated since last year.

10-01-2019, 10:45 AM
Shows how far we’ve deteriorated since last year.

Yes. Yes it does :agree:

10-01-2019, 10:46 AM
Shows how far we’ve deteriorated since last year.[emoji5]
To be honest it's all been downhill since Ally Scott and Graham Fyfe left. I only follow Hibs for the abject misery ever since.

10-01-2019, 12:00 PM

The worst thing they could have done was to reach a cup final.

Only one who was decent out of that lot was Doherty. Their careers since probably backs that up. Crap attitude mind. That's the trouble with loan players. Their heart is sometimes not in it.