View Full Version : Knee replacements.

14-11-2018, 07:59 PM
Not sure if this is the right place for this, but i have suffered with a bad knee for years, so much so i have been told by the surgeon i need a new knee.

It will be done in the next 10 weeks.

Has anyone here had one of these done, if so what is it like now?

Can you do more than you could do before the op, is it more stable, is it better?

Any information would be good, as i'm golf mad, but it has been a struggle this year without a buggy to get me round the course.

14-11-2018, 08:09 PM
My Ma has had both her knees replaced in the last couple of years.

Hospital for 3 nights, feels better for it. You’ll need to do your exercises afterwards to aid the healing process.

She asked if she’d be able to play golf afterwards and they said ‘yes’. She was delighted with that because she had never played golf before the op! 😂

Jay
14-11-2018, 08:19 PM
I think it was channel five tonight i saw an ad for a prog showing the full knee replacement op. Worth a watch maybe

14-11-2018, 08:35 PM
My Ma has had both her knees replaced in the last couple of years.

Hospital for 3 nights, feels better for it. You’ll need to do your exercises afterwards to aid the healing process.

She asked if she’d be able to play golf afterwards and they said ‘yes’. She was delighted with that because she had never played golf before the op! ��

I'm fine with the rehab, i will do whats needed. Tell yer ma i will take her on anytime. :greengrin

I think it was channel five tonight i saw an ad for a prog showing the full knee replacement op. Worth a watch maybe

Cheers, i will watch that, although i have seen the full operation on youtube, which i have to say put me off a bit. :sick:

14-11-2018, 08:41 PM
My old dear had both knees done over the last few years, she is currently in the ERI after having one of them removed due to an infection (there was talk last week of the leg having to be removed from just above the knee) she's in all sorts at the moment, sorry G! 😬

14-11-2018, 08:47 PM
My grandad had both his knees replaced at 70 years old, and it gave him a new lease of life. He'd spent much of his working life carrying sacks of coal about, he'd been in the army, played loads of sports over the years and it knackered his joints.

He then had them both re-done in his 90s though, so I don't think I'd expect them to last a lifetime.

I suspect that the technology will have improved since then though, as we're talking a few decades ago that he first had them done and things will have moved on.

Hip replacements tend to be the shortest recovery time, knees can be a slower and more painful recovery.

14-11-2018, 09:44 PM
Not sure if this is the right place for this, but i have suffered with a bad knee for years, so much so i have been told by the surgeon i need a new knee.

Can you do more than you could do before the op, is it more stable, is it better?

Any information would be good, as i'm golf mad, but it has been a struggle this year without a buggy to get me round the course.

Think you’ll sail through it, know a few people who’ve had it done

Only downside I believe is they do this with a local anaesthetic, don’t put you to sleep

14-11-2018, 09:47 PM

Only downside I believe is they do this with a local anaesthetic, don’t put you to sleep

The guy who was in at the same time as my Ma woke up during it! 😂

14-11-2018, 10:09 PM

Will you be quiet. :greengrin

15-11-2018, 05:44 AM
My old man had one of his knees done about 8/9 years ago. Was back walking within a couple of days and was signed off by the physio after a couple of sessions. Reckons he’d get it done quicker with hindsight. Went through years of trying to avoid it beforehand.

By contract, I had a mosaicplasty in July to repair some knee cartilage damage after falling off my bike and I’m still in rehab/physio!

15-11-2018, 07:38 AM
Will you be quiet. :greengrin

Sorry! 😂

15-11-2018, 07:49 AM

My mum has had hip, knee and elbow replacement. Made a huge difference to her. Recovery time is pretty quuck as long as you do the physio.

15-11-2018, 09:48 AM
My Grandad got both his done in his early 60s. Says it was the best thing he ever did and improved his mobility and quality of life massively. He's having a bit bother with them again now but the op was the best part of 25 years ago.

EskbankHibby
15-11-2018, 10:00 AM

This is not the case thankfully.:greengrin

Spinal block with sedation most commonly, like all surgery it carries risks but in terms of decreasing pain and increased function total knee replacements have generally good outcomes.

Not a fun day out though for the patient it has to be said.:greengrin

15-11-2018, 11:04 AM

Spinal block with sedation most commonly, like all surgery it carries risks but in terms of decreasing pain and increased function total knee replacements have generally good outcomes.

I had watched the op on youtube a while back, but seeing it on tv in all its glory last night was a little harrowing to say the least.

As you say not a fun day, but if it is better afterwards, i think it will be well worth the pain, as i'm fed up to the back teeth of what i'm going through now. :pray:

15-11-2018, 01:28 PM
I had watched the op on youtube a while back, but seeing it on tv in all its glory last night was a little harrowing to say the least.

As you say not a fun day, but if it is better afterwards, i think it will be well worth the pain, as i'm fed up to the back teeth of what i'm going through now. :pray:

How long is the recovery forecast before you get back on the golf course?

15-11-2018, 01:41 PM
How long is the recovery forecast before you get back on the golf course?

I never asked, i did not want him to know i was still playing albeit rarely these days.

15-11-2018, 03:09 PM
I never asked, i did not want him to know i was still playing albeit rarely these days.

Ahh OK, that was brave of you [emoji12][emoji23]

15-11-2018, 03:23 PM
Ahh OK, that was brave of you [emoji12][emoji23]

:greengrin I went round the course 5 weeks ago with a buggy, for 3 days afterwards, i couldn't leave the house. I'm not sure telling him i could still play the odd round would have been in my interest. :wink:

A friend of a friend had a new knee 8 weeks ago this friday, he apparently did 18 holes on Monday without any difficulty.

I'd take that. :greengrin

15-11-2018, 04:06 PM
As others have said, do the physio, it's really important to the final outcome. I'll also add do whatever you can before hand to build up the muscles, swimming being a good shout as doing what you can before and then physio after make a huge difference.

My wife's had both done and didn't bother too much the 1st time, the 2nd time she recovered in under half the time.

15-11-2018, 06:51 PM
:greengrin I went round the course 5 weeks ago with a buggy, for 3 days afterwards, i couldn't leave the house. I'm not sure telling him i could still play the odd round would have been in my interest. :wink:

A friend of a friend had a new knee 8 weeks ago this friday, he apparently did 18 holes on Monday without any difficulty.

I'd take that. :greengrin

Ha ha I take your point!

Well best of luck anyway and if you can get back on the course sine buggy in a couple of months then that will be a great result [emoji106][emoji2532]

15-11-2018, 07:04 PM
My wife has had both knees replaced, as has been said a few times, doing the physio afterwards makes a huge difference.

its transformed her life tbh, such an increased mobility, confidence, and lifestyle.

fingers crossed for a smooth op and quick recovery mate

16-11-2018, 05:11 AM
guy that works with us had both knees done, second one was done in may last year, now cant walk properly because of issues with it and having to get the op done again. Hopefully yours isnt as bad and it all goes smoothly

17-11-2018, 05:24 PM

Do you work in the royal?

EskbankHibby
17-11-2018, 07:41 PM
Do you work in the royal?

No, I don’t work at the royal.

19-11-2018, 12:18 AM
Mother in law had one replaced and apparently it’s worse than a hip replacement.

Once the initial pain is over it’s fantastic. You’ll be a new man.

19-11-2018, 07:39 PM

Was he screaming and screaming and screaming?? :greengrin

29-11-2018, 01:25 PM
Pre op on Monday the 10th of December, and operation on the 3rd of January, cant bloody wait. :thumbsup:

29-11-2018, 07:47 PM
Pre op on Monday the 10th of December, and operation on the 3rd of January, cant bloody wait. :thumbsup:

Good luck mate, your life will be the better for it :aok:

30-11-2018, 03:27 PM
Good luck mate, your life will be the better for it :aok:

Cheers, i hope so as it has made my normal day to day life a challenge recently, not knowing if i could walk one day to the next. :grr:

17-12-2018, 07:58 PM
:grr: Just received a letter delivered to next door, operation cancelled and now 7th of Feb. :rolleyes:

18-12-2018, 09:50 AM
:grr: Just received a letter delivered to next door, operation cancelled and now 7th of Feb. :rolleyes:

I'm currently doing physio ten days after keyhole surgery on my knee, it's hard going, more uncomfortable than I thought. the surgeon says at some point when I'm older I will probably need a replacement, so that d be interested to hear what your experience is with your replacement:aok:

18-12-2018, 10:20 AM

London Hibs Burns Supper back in your plans?

18-12-2018, 02:01 PM
London Hibs Burns Supper back in your plans?

It is matey, will see how i'm moving about nearer the time. :greengrin

18-12-2018, 02:03 PM
It is matey, will see how i'm moving about nearer the time. :greengrin

I'm sure the "medicine" on offer that w-end will help!

09-02-2019, 11:00 AM
Had it done on Thursday, after the initial pain and not requesting the pain killers in time, I’m going home today and in little pain at all. I’m walking with crutches and can’t believe how good I feel already. I have 90 degrees bend after 2 days although that does hurt a bit but will get easier. Hopefully it’s onwards and upwards and I can get back to being miserable watching Hibs. 😂

Jay
09-02-2019, 11:10 AM
Had it done on Thursday, after the initial pain and not requesting the pain killers in time, I’m going home today and in little pain at all. I’m walking with crutches and can’t believe how good I feel already. I have 90 degrees bend after 2 days although that does hurt a bit but will get easier. Hopefully it’s onwards and upwards and I can get back to being miserable watching Hibs. 😂

Glad it went well Blackpool. We will all be wallowing in your misery soon enough :greengrin

09-02-2019, 11:28 AM
Glad it went well Blackpool. We will all be wallowing in your misery soon enough :greengrin

Thanks 😂

09-02-2019, 01:45 PM
Good to hear, Gary. 👍

09-02-2019, 04:39 PM

Glad to hear it went well and you’re on the up mate :aok:

09-02-2019, 05:26 PM

Good to hear G! Churchill's tonight? 🍺🎤

09-02-2019, 09:30 PM
😂 naw I think I’m off the bevy for a few weeks.

The Pointer
10-02-2019, 02:44 PM
Congratulations and hope your recovery goes well.

I'd like to draw on your personal experience as I have severe arthritis on my left knee and will need a replacement at some point.

I had a hip replacement six years ago, but the night before the op there were two guys who'd had their knees done that day and spent the whole night screaming their heads off in pain and this has put me off getting it done, especially as others have said this is more painful that the hip. It wasn't a bundle of laughs either.

How was the immediate post-op and how long were you in? Also, were you active before and what do you anticipate being able to do in future, fitness/exercise-wise?

10-02-2019, 06:57 PM

I'd like to draw on your personal experience as I have severe arthritis on my left knee and will need a replacement at some point.

I had a hip replacement six years ago, but the night before the op there were two guys who'd had their knees done that day and spent the whole night screaming their heads off in pain and this has put me off getting it done, especially as others have said this is more painful that the hip. It wasn't a bundle of laughs either.

How was the immediate post-op and how long were you in? Also, were you active before and what do you anticipate being able to do in future, fitness/exercise-wise?

My old dear hasn't had too much fun since she's had both knees done.

10-02-2019, 09:06 PM

Speedy recovery G , you’ll be back on the fairways soon ⛳️ 🏌️

10-02-2019, 10:26 PM

Get it done privately. Spire at Murrayfield?

11-02-2019, 10:33 AM
Get it done privately. Spire at Murrayfield?

Had it done at the spire in Blackpool.

11-02-2019, 10:43 AM

I also was screaming the walls down on the first night, but it was entirely my own fault. There is no need to be in pain, they tell you to keep on top of the pain, but I didn’t I waited until the pain started and of course that was too late. I’m only on paracetamol now as it’s just a very dull ache although it is painful when you have to do the rehab which does start straight away. It’s still early days and I still have a lot of hard work to do, but if it’s got rid of the constant pain then it will be a huge thumbs up from me?

11-02-2019, 07:15 PM

my wife has had both knees replaced mate, her quality of life is unrecognisable compared to before (in a positive way). She couldn’t walk more than about 50 feet without needing to rest or sit to take her weight off of her knees. A trip to the shops was usually over a couple of hours, and usually gauges on how far the next bench/seats are.

As BH has said, the trick is to keep on top of the pain management, the docs and nurses will tell you to take regular pain meds in the early days, even if you’re not feeling the pain (becuase the last set of meds is still doing it’s job), and they’ll wean you off steadily. Your knee is only going to get worse, and more painful. You’ll get a much better quality of life :aok:

11-02-2019, 08:52 PM
I also was screaming the walls down on the first night, but it was entirely my own fault. There is no need to be in pain, they tell you to keep on top of the pain, but I didn’t I waited until the pain started and of course that was too late. I’m only on paracetamol now as it’s just a very dull ache although it is painful when you have to do the rehab which does start straight away. It’s still early days and I still have a lot of hard work to do, but if it’s got rid of the constant pain then it will be a huge thumbs up from me?

I’m really surprised BH, you didn’t try Lager instead of paracetamol

Good luck with your recovery!

The Pointer
11-02-2019, 10:05 PM
Thanks for the response BH. I think maybe I underdid the painkillers with the hip and thought I could bear it. If and when I'll bear that in mind. At the moment the knee pain comes and goes but I can still walk up hills (coming down is a bit more painful) and do weights at the gym to keep it strong.

Incidentally since we're on about pain, every Christmas I put two wee plastic containers up on the tree: one containing my kidney stone from a few years ago, and my metal stitches from my hip op - just to remind me!

P.S.: That's not all; I had an arthroscopy on my knee previously and have two plastic lenses in my een. The first one meant the Cup Final was the first game I ever watched without Gregories!

20-02-2019, 10:24 AM
13 days in and i wont say its been easy, since coming home i have had a bit of a set back. My calf muscle seized up, as if i'd been shot.

Not been able to put weight on it without real pain, and it has set me back a bit in my movement of the knee.

I'm now walking a little better with crutches, and had the staples out yesterday. I can get round the house a little without the crutches to make a cup of coffee and the likes.

As i said at the start, i'm only 13 days in, and the one thing i would say about it that has pissed me off, is the lack of sleep due to not being able to get comfortable.

I dont have any real pain in the knee, its more of a dull ache, paracetamol and ibuprofen 3 or 4 times a day are the only medication i'm on.

Its not easy, but i am beginning to see some light. :greengrin

20-02-2019, 10:52 AM
Daft question here - what EXACTLY is a knee replacement? What are they replacing, and with what?

(I know quite a bit about other parts of the human body but my training did not extend to knees).

20-02-2019, 10:53 AM
Daft question here - what EXACTLY is a knee replacement? What are they replacing, and with what?

(I know quite a bit about other parts of the human body but my training did not extend to knees).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8YAgrv9dkhc

22-02-2019, 06:19 AM
21726Taken yesterday exactly 2 weeks after the op, staples out and according to the nurse, looking very good.

Calf muscle much better and im getting about better each day. :greengrin

Its been a long two weeks, mainly due to lack of sleep, been sleeping when i can which can be the odd hour or two during the day and sadly its similar at night but hopefully that will improve once the swelling has completely gone.

I have to keep reminding myself that it is only 2 weeks, as it does feel a lot longer. :greengrin

08-03-2019, 02:35 PM
How you getting on now G?

12-03-2019, 12:30 PM
How you getting on now G?

Getting there matey, going to physio every Monday and of course doing it myself at home. I'm having trouble with it swelling after doing any exersice. :rolleyes:

Which is apparently normal for some. :boo hoo:Supposed to be going for a lads weekend in Benidorm next month with a few lads from Edinburgh, but if it does not improve by then i will need to knock it on the head.:grr:

If the swelling goes down i'm pretty sure i will be back to normal soon after. :pray:

Its only 4 and a half weeks, i think i'm just a bit impatient. :wink:

12-03-2019, 02:03 PM
Churchill's"clientele" must be missing you!

12-03-2019, 04:38 PM
Churchill's"clientele" must be missing you!

Managed to get in this weekend. :greengrin

Besties Debut
16-03-2019, 08:26 AM
I know a guy who got one of his done and his body rejected it. He was in and out of the hospital with infections for a couple of years and never really got it sorted. He ended up getting medically retired from the fire brigade because of it. On the other hand, my eldest brother got one of his done and had no problems at all. He was walking around the golf course after a few months. It all depends on the individual.