should never ever start.
only a sub. an ineffectual player.
why Lennon? why?

09-11-2018, 08:38 PM
Just as bad as Mallan

09-11-2018, 08:39 PM
Created our only chance. Better than Mallan and Boyle by a long way tonight.

09-11-2018, 08:39 PM
Slivka didn’t do anything well apart from the ball for Kamberi’s sitter. Not good enough I agree, but it surprises me that players like Boyle who’ve been horrific recently seem to go uncriticised.

The entire team apart from Bogdan and Milligan were garbage.

09-11-2018, 08:40 PM
Dreadful. But there’s a few others i’d use that word for.

09-11-2018, 08:40 PM
Not good enough. Never will be. Unfortunately he probably needs to play because of our lack of quality through the middle. Please sign Allan in January.

Godsahibby
09-11-2018, 08:41 PM
One of our better players tonight.

An empty jersey tonight and not the only one
Boyle anonymous yet again as was maclaren and mallan

Just as bad as Mallan

Mallan was poor but he offers us goal chances each week. I’m not sure what Slivka is meant to be

Milligan saved us from completely losing the midfield

09-11-2018, 08:42 PM

Must be drunk

PPZPOL
09-11-2018, 08:42 PM
He’s not good enough, never has been. I can’t remember someone playing so much on the periphery of a game than him.

Robbo6-2
09-11-2018, 08:44 PM
He's terrible. Absolutely terrible.

He reminds me of Tudor Jones

Now thats too far ffs

crash
He’s not good enough, never has been. I can’t remember someone playing so much on the periphery of a game than him.

:agree:Jersey filler, nowhere near good enough

Badge
09-11-2018, 08:45 PM

Aye, right

Edinburgh Green
09-11-2018, 08:45 PM
Frustrating player as there is something there, although I’m not sure how he hasn’t worked out that you need to use an it of physicality to make ur mark in this country.

09-11-2018, 08:46 PM
I had high hopes for him given his time at Juve but apart from glimpses here and there it's looking like a failed signing.

beensaidbefore
The whole team were off tonight. But so were Aberdeen the wind must have been a lot worse than it looked on tv. Some of the passing was honking, slivka included, but to single him out is unfair. Porteuos, despite his slack pass for the goal, had a good game imo. Bogdan was solid. Milligan was everywhere and Stevenson was OK. Boyle kamberi were honking, and if mclaren had about 2 touches. But aye slivka fault.

I've given the guy the benefit of my doubts for too long, my first impressions were right - waste of a jersey.

09-11-2018, 08:47 PM
Let a better player go in Danny Swanson.

09-11-2018, 08:47 PM
The whole team were off tonight. But so were Aberdeen the wind must have been a lot worse than it looked on tv. Some of the passing was honking, slivka included, but to single him out is unfair. Porteuos, despite his slack pass for the goal, had a good game imo. Bogdan was solid. Milligan was everywhere and Stevenson was OK. Boyle kamberi were honking, and if mclaren had about 2 touches. But aye slivka fault.

I think the difference here is that those players have shown something in a Hibs jersey. Slivka is showing absolutely nothing.

09-11-2018, 08:48 PM
I think he's a good player just not suited to Scottish football. I think if he played in a slower league his quality would show but it's too frantic and physical here

scuttle
09-11-2018, 08:48 PM
Simply murder, Horgan and Hyndman should start way before him

09-11-2018, 08:50 PM
For me Slivka, who I had great hopes for is just not good enough. He has been mainly poor for us and only occasionally shown promising glimpses.

But the standout poor player for me tonight was McLaren.

Kamberi muffed a great chance but he is a good player and he puts himself about effectively.

Boyle was poor but the difference is that Boyle has been consistently good for us and has simply hit a patch.

Mallan makes a nice pass and he is a great dead ball specialist. But he is too easily passed due to his lack of pace.

Lennon needs to find a settled 14 and try to work with that core.

09-11-2018, 08:50 PM
We’ve been hearing for a year and a half that he’s a quality player and that he’s going to step up and become a big player for us but it’s never happened and it’s never seriously looked like happening.

Personally I can’t see it happening now and I’d be happy for him to go in January.

whiskas
09-11-2018, 08:52 PM
Frustrating player as there is something there, although I’m not sure how he hasn’t worked out that you need to use an it of physicality to make ur mark in this country.

I've been saying this for a while. Given he's obviously technically accomplished (though the less said about his shot on goal the better) and a big unit if he put himself about a bit more it would make a huge difference to his game.

09-11-2018, 08:53 PM
We’ve been hearing for a year and a half that he’s a quality player and that he’s going to step up and become a big player for us but it’s never happened and it’s never seriously looked like happening.

Personally I can’t see it happening now and I’d be happy for him to go in January.

Fair assessment.

beensaidbefore
09-11-2018, 08:54 PM
I think the difference here is that those players have shown something in a Hibs jersey. Slivka is showing absolutely nothing.

I know what you mean, but he is in and out the team, playing here three and everywhere. For him to be on the teamsheet when we play the 'big' games makes me think there is a lot to him we don't see.

09-11-2018, 08:56 PM
I think he's a good player just not suited to Scottish football. I think if he played in a slower league his quality would show but it's too frantic and physical hereYou might be right but I don't see us joining la liga just so we can find out if he's good enough. I had high hopes at the beginning but he seems to struggle in the sort of match we were in tonight.

09-11-2018, 08:56 PM
should never ever start.
only a sub. an ineffectual player.
why Lennon? why?

Absolute crap. Sliv gets pass marks tonight 100%

09-11-2018, 08:58 PM
You might be right but I don't see us joining la liga just so we can find out if he's good enough. I had high hopes at the beginning but he seems to struggle in the sort of match we were in tonight.

I do feel for him cause you can see he wants to get the ball down lift his head then play a pass but as soon as he gets near the ball someone is all over him

09-11-2018, 09:04 PM
Slivka didn’t do anything well apart from the ball for Kamberi’s sitter. Not good enough I agree, but it surprises me that players like Boyle who’ve been horrific recently seem to go uncriticised.

The entire team apart from Bogdan and Milligan were garbage.
I think the fact that Boyle has proved himself to be a good player an absolutely key player in the past. Slivka has flattered to deceive, he’s had a few decent games, but in the main he’s been disappointing.

bodhibs
09-11-2018, 09:14 PM

This, completely

09-11-2018, 09:19 PM

Well said.

PPZPOL
09-11-2018, 09:20 PM
I do feel for him cause you can see he wants to get the ball down lift his head then play a pass but as soon as he gets near the ball someone is all over him

That may be the case, but as a midfielder in Scotland you have to tackle at some pint in the game!!!! It’s just such an important part of the game in our country and I’ve genuinely never seen him tackle someone with any conviction. About 5 mins before he dipped his toe into a “tackle” the boy for Aberdeen (Ferguson) flew into a tackle to stop a counter attack for us that’s what I expect from a midfielder who plays for my team.

He has had chances to really stamp his authority in this team and establish himself and has failed to do it each and every time. It’s that simple for me.

09-11-2018, 09:38 PM
This, completely

Is this some kind of "in" joke that's passing me by?

09-11-2018, 09:49 PM
Well said.

Yep, looks like it.

After years of waiting for Swanson to finally sign for us he turned out to be pish.

Obviously he had a lot to deal with off the park with the tragic death of his mate. And whilst I can totally see how that had an impact on his ability to perform for us what I can't understand is people trying to rewrite history to suggest that Danny was great for us. He wasn't.
In fact if he wasn't a local lad/hibby he'd have been hounded as an empty jersey, wage thief etc etc

Slivka's display , whilst being far from spectacular tonight, was still better than anything DS offered in a Hibs shirt.

09-11-2018, 09:49 PM
I had high hopes for him given his time at Juve but apart from glimpses here and there it's looking like a failed signing.

Ryan McGivern was with Man City fyi.

Slivka isn't especially fast, doesn't have a great shot, isn't a midfield bruiser, isn't great at tackling but can pass and control the ball well. But he's too much a "jack of all trades, master of none" for my liking although, like someone said, if we persist with 3-5-2 until January, who what have we got?

09-11-2018, 09:51 PM
When is it Lennon fault?

09-11-2018, 09:57 PM
When is it Lennon fault?

Why stop there though, maybe we should look at our board and then get fired into the fans for not supporting HSL?

beensaidbefore
09-11-2018, 10:24 PM
Forget those mere mortals, Mother Nature should proudly take the blame for a football match that looked like something that would be witnessed watching Duddingston Athletic vs Braids Utd.

Edit: unfortunately this game was on bt. What a spectacle for those who are sceptical.

09-11-2018, 10:31 PM
I know what you mean, but he is in and out the team, playing here three and everywhere. For him to be on the teamsheet when we play the 'big' games makes me think there is a lot to him we don't see.

He’s in and out the team because in a season and a half here he’s never given reason to stay in it for an extended spell. We can’t afford to give everyone runs of 5 or 6 consecutive starts to find out if they’re good enough when they’ve had other opportunities and not taken them.

BTW, the way he shat out the tackle at one point was embarrassing.

scotia44
09-11-2018, 10:41 PM
Must be drunk
Must be guy ran in circles looking for something to hide behind and was found wanting when a foot in was required
Thought there was player there but a year and half of bit parts says it all.

one day maybe...
09-11-2018, 10:41 PM
Ryan McGivern was with Man City fyi.

Slivka isn't especially fast, doesn't have a great shot, isn't a midfield bruiser, isn't great at tackling but can pass and control the ball well. But he's too much a "jack of all trades, master of none" for my liking although, like someone said, if we persist with 3-5-2 until January, who what have we got?
Love to see him add what Shinnie has in the battling side of the game. Technically he’s got a lot to give but he needs to learn to dig in

09-11-2018, 10:43 PM
I thought he'd really push on this season and with the midfielders at the club he should be a standout but he's just not good enough, there may be a player in there but he's keeping him well hidden.

09-11-2018, 11:14 PM
Looked like player with ability at times in the past but not doing enough in games and not taking his chance when he's in the 11. Seems to lack heart and drive.

hibeerealist
09-11-2018, 11:44 PM
Must be drunk

Lol. Drunk as two men!!!

hibeerealist
09-11-2018, 11:46 PM
He’s in and out the team because in a season and a half here he’s never given reason to stay in it for an extended spell. We can’t afford to give everyone runs of 5 or 6 consecutive starts to find out if they’re good enough when they’ve had other opportunities and not taken them.

BTW, the way he shat out the tackle at one point was embarrassing.

have you seen him go into any 50/50’ S Callum, I certainly haven’t. Big guy with heart of a mouse

10-11-2018, 12:00 AM
I don’t think I’ve ever wanted a player to succeed quite as much as I do Slivka. He definitely has flashes of class, and I don’t think he’s as bad as many on here make out, but he needs to show more, more often.

10-11-2018, 12:40 AM
Slivka has not had a decent run in the team and when he does play he is played in several different positions, his best position is in the centre.

10-11-2018, 12:59 AM
The problem is his not so good games are more so than his good games. If he is getting played out of position he is still playing so has to be judged on that.

On the whole thus far he hasn't done enough.

davhibby
10-11-2018, 01:32 AM
Love to see him add what Shinnie has in the battling side of the game. Technically he’s got a lot to give but he needs to learn to dig in

Would be impressive to get in with the refs I agree

HibeeHibernian4
10-11-2018, 06:21 AM

One of the funniest posts I’ve ever read on here.

It’s okay to admit that the boyhood locals aren’t very good at football sometimes.

10-11-2018, 06:31 AM
One of the funniest posts I’ve ever read on here.

It’s okay to admit that the boyhood locals aren’t very good at football sometimes.

Don't think it's all that ridiculous to be honest. Slivka just drifts through games and never seems to do much and for a big lad he's abit chicken hearted IMO.

Although Swanson never showed it with Hibs (hampered by off the field issues and perhaps not getting along with Lennon) he has shown enough in his career to suggest he's atleast on a par with Slivka.

10-11-2018, 06:36 AM
“Danny Swanson better than Slivka

Slivka is like Owain Tudur-Jones”

That it for me - confirmation of this boards absurdity

10-11-2018, 06:53 AM
Yep, looks like it.

After years of waiting for Swanson to finally sign for us he turned out to be pish.

Obviously he had a lot to deal with off the park with the tragic death of his mate. And whilst I can totally see how that had an impact on his ability to perform for us what I can't understand is people trying to rewrite history to suggest that Danny was great for us. He wasn't.
In fact if he wasn't a local lad/hibby he'd have been hounded as an empty jersey, wage thief etc etc

Slivka's display , whilst being far from spectacular tonight, was still better than anything DS offered in a Hibs shirt.

Are you having a laugh? Swanson was the best player on the park against Celtic in the 2-1 game last season and slivka hasn't reached that level of performance ever in a hibs shirt.i defended slivka last season but he's shown nothing this season to show he is going to make it at hibs. Swanson also wasn't allowed to be great for us because he wasn't given the chance a lot of the time. It's criminal that A- Whittaker was being selected ahead of him (and bartley) in the run in last season and that slivka is currently still at the club ahead of him this season. He's a creative midfielder which is what we are badly lacking and he's a better one at that than Hyndman and slivka

10-11-2018, 07:10 AM
Slivka has not had a decent run in the team and when he does play he is played in several different positions, his best position is in the centre.

This is the problem for me. It was like the start that David Wotherspoon had to his Hibs career before Yogi started playing him in literally every position except in goals and at centre half.

10-11-2018, 07:12 AM
I don’t think I’ve ever wanted a player to succeed quite as much as I do Slivka. He definitely has flashes of class, and I don’t think he’s as bad as many on here make out, but he needs to show more, more often.

I really like him, some folk on here act like he’s the worst player to ever have played for us. It’s crazy

He’s constantly played out of position which can’t help him. A decent run in the team in his natural position and I think we’ll see the player we all hoped we were getting.

10-11-2018, 07:16 AM
Swansons not here anymore- had about 1 decent half game in his time here (and even then folk are hamming it up a bit coz he outmuscled scott brown)

Slivka is still here

The folk that see them day in day out decided that

I know who id trust to judge the merits of them both- in fact it just reaffirms my thoughts on each of them)

CLASS OF 72 -73
10-11-2018, 07:18 AM
Slivka has shown wee bits of class but never enough effort or consistency for me just not good enough.

Should move on:

Whittaker
MacLaren
Slivka
Hyndman

Note: Milligan is one of the best signings for a long time the lads a natural leader.

10-11-2018, 07:19 AM
Technical ability is there.

Shooting needs work and I agree he needs to add the dirty "Shinnie" side to his game. If he can do that and he is played in his actual position he will be good. Too much going against him and people forget he is still a young guy aswell.

Mr_F
10-11-2018, 07:33 AM
have you seen him go into any 50/50’ S Callum, I certainly haven’t. Big guy with heart of a mouse

Add Mallan into that too and 2/3 of your midfield can’t/won’t tackle in an away game at Aberdeen.

Madness.

I’d have played Milligan & Bartley in midfield tonight and dropped Slivka. Same at Tynie

10-11-2018, 07:36 AM
Said from day one I didn’t think he looked good enough. I think goals against rangers and Celtic bought him time. In games like last night, he doesn’t know what he’s doing, for the size of man that he is, he looks scared to commit to any challenges. Would rather we had kept Scott Martin and moved slivka on.

10-11-2018, 08:12 AM
Swansons not here anymore- had about 1 decent half game in his time here (and even then folk are hamming it up a bit coz he outmuscled scott brown)

Slivka is still here

The folk that see them day in day out decided that

I know who id trust to judge the merits of them both- in fact it just reaffirms my thoughts on each of them)

Ah the old arguement of the manager and coaches see them in training in everyday and therefore always know best. They don't always get it right and will make errors of judgement like everyone in any profession.

Managers often make mistakes and continue to persist with players that are clearly not good enough.

10-11-2018, 08:23 AM

I really like him, some folk on here act like he’s the worst player to ever have played for us. It’s crazy

He’s constantly played out of position which can’t help him. A decent run in the team in his natural position and I think we’ll see the player we all hoped we were getting.

He doesn’t deserve a decent run in the team, he’s had enough opportunities to show a hell of a lot more than he has. We can’t afford to give a guy who rarely shows anything worthwhile 5 or 6 starts in a row in the middle of the pitch. He was in his natural position last night and yet again he played the ghost role.

10-11-2018, 08:39 AM
Are you having a laugh? Swanson was the best player on the park against Celtic in the 2-1 game last season and slivka hasn't reached that level of performance ever in a hibs shirt.i defended slivka last season but he's shown nothing this season to show he is going to make it at hibs. Swanson also wasn't allowed to be great for us because he wasn't given the chance a lot of the time. It's criminal that A- Whittaker was being selected ahead of him (and bartley) in the run in last season and that slivka is currently still at the club ahead of him this season. He's a creative midfielder which is what we are badly lacking and he's a better one at that than Hyndman and slivka

Swanson wasn't close to the best player than day. McGinn and Lewis much better. Didn't Swanson go off for Slivka who bloody scored the winner?

Slivkas performance at Ibrox in the 3-2 is far better than anything Swanson ever showed.

10-11-2018, 08:41 AM
Said from day one I didn’t think he looked good enough. I think goals against rangers and Celtic bought him time. In games like last night, he doesn’t know what he’s doing, for the size of man that he is, he looks scared to commit to any challenges. Would rather we had kept Scott Martin and moved slivka on.

Is that Scott Martin who couldn't even get close enough to Skivka to foul him when we pumped Hamilton 6-0? Slivka made him look like a lost schoolboy that day.

10-11-2018, 08:50 AM
I've not seen laat nights game so this is a more general point.

I've always rated the guy and said I thought he would step up and be a big player for us. I still think he looks technically sound and shows flashes. However whilst it may just be a case of the Scottish game not suiting him or he's stunted in his development I just don't seem him becoming the player we all hoped for at Hibs. I certainly don't see a player like Slivka forming part of a midfield that will get the results and performances that we need to compete for 2nd and 3rd in the league. I just can't pick out what he's really good at; with players like McGinn or Scott Brown or even a guy like Gary MacKay- Steven there are 1 or 2 elements of their game you can clearly see are a key attribute. Slivka is just a bit ok. I don't see him grabbing a game by the scruff of the neck, he can't dictate from deep like McGeough, he's not quick, he doesn't seem to have a moment of magic in his locker and he doesn't seem the battling type.

I hate writing Hibs players off but I think Slivka has to start proving his worth soon or we need to look for better in January.

10-11-2018, 08:54 AM
Ah the old arguement of the manager and coaches see them in training in everyday and therefore always know best. They don't always get it right and will make errors of judgement like everyone in any profession.

Managers often make mistakes and continue to persist with players that are clearly not good enough.

Your right but binning Swanson & Martin and keeping Slivka is an absolute no brainer

10-11-2018, 09:49 AM
Slivka has no heart. He just drifts in midfield. If we are playing well he’ll look ok but if we need to fight he will look terrible. He certainly won’t be the one to take the game by the scruff of the neck.
Because he is an international he should be fairly easy to move on and we should do so in January if we can and use the money it frees up to get a midfielder in who is willing to battle to win games.

KDY Hibs
10-11-2018, 11:35 AM

Wow.......

HibeeHibernian4
10-11-2018, 07:15 PM

Okay, I've changed my mind. THIS is the funniest post I've ever read on .net. Take a bow, Mr or Mrs Swanson.

SingaporeHibs
10-11-2018, 07:21 PM
It’s Football, even the beloved Lennon can see things differently from the next man. Players are sent on a pitch to do a certain job and we should only presume Slivka does what he is asked of. If he doesn’t do as told he should be dropped. If he does his role as asked I can see why he plays. Then the question becomes WTF has Lennon told him to do? I would question the manager before Slivka.

10-11-2018, 07:23 PM
It’s Football, even the beloved Lennon can see things differently from the next man. Players are sent on a pitch to do a certain job and we should only presume Slivka does what he is asked of. If he doesn’t do as told he should be dropped. If he does his role as asked I can see why he plays. Then the question becomes WTF has Lennon told him to do? I would question the manager before Slivka.

Spot on. He's obviously doing what the manager wants or he wouldn't continually pick him

10-11-2018, 08:15 PM
You've got to love this thread.

Somebody mentioned Gary 'Medals' Mackay and Slivka in the same sentence.

Like comparing a turd to a polished diamond.

I'll take Slivka any day.