View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v St Johnstone

03-11-2018, 12:59 PM
So back to business.

Wednesday means Hearts didn't pull further away from us, today is a big chance to close the gap. Huge game.

C'mon Hibs:flag::nlgwa

03-11-2018, 01:00 PM
Looking forward to seeing how we shape up

03-11-2018, 01:00 PM
St J won 3 on the bounce - hard game

Really need 3 points here

thegaffer12
03-11-2018, 01:07 PM
Maclaren starts

03-11-2018, 01:08 PM
Hanlon in
Hyndman in
Maclaren in
Horgan in

03-11-2018, 01:09 PM
Bogdan
whittaker
milligan
bartley
horgan
maclaren
boyle
mallan
stevenson
hyndman
ambrose

subs

marciano
slivka
mavrias
mcgregor
shaw
porteous
gullan

kevinc
03-11-2018, 01:10 PM
Hanlon in
Hyndman in
Maclaren in
Horgan in

No Hanlon

03-11-2018, 01:10 PM
Bartley and Spike again? Interesting.

03-11-2018, 01:11 PM
Whittaker instead of Mavrios is a concern.

thegaffer12
Wait is Hanlon playing or not?!

Defence of Whittaker Ambrose Stevenson

03-11-2018, 01:12 PM
Wait is Hanlon playing or not?!

Not

03-11-2018, 01:12 PM
No Hanlon

He was showing in the original team Hibs tweeted but now see that’s changed

03-11-2018, 01:13 PM

Milligan will be centre half

why, he was fine against hearts

Milligan will play at centre half

David_D
Hibs have tweeted two different team line ups. One with Hanlon and one without.

[emoji106][emoji2532] agree

03-11-2018, 01:14 PM
Could be 4 whitts ambrose milligan and stevenson

03-11-2018, 01:14 PM

You're consistent.....will give you that

03-11-2018, 01:15 PM

Why is that?

03-11-2018, 01:15 PM

Like Wednesday you mean? What’s your concern?

03-11-2018, 01:16 PM
I don't get Milligan instead of McGregor at centre back.

03-11-2018, 01:16 PM
Daz AND Ryan on the bench.

Still no Hanlon, SDG, Wee Tam

Kamberi suspended

Nelom not selected.

03-11-2018, 01:17 PM
Playing Milligan at Centre Half when there’s 2 on the bench is strange

03-11-2018, 01:19 PM
Why is Daz dropped? That makes no sense as he was our best player the other evening.

03-11-2018, 01:19 PM
Playing Milligan at Centre Half when there’s 2 on the bench is strange

maybe we are in for a surprise and its a back 3 of whittaker, ambrose and stevenson with bartley and milligan sitting in front

Lewiehas2
03-11-2018, 01:20 PM
Confused why Porteous has been dropped recently. Fair enough if for Hanlon but not for Milligan who was good in midfield

Must be a fitness thing with Daz that is the only thing I can think of.

Like Wednesday you mean? What’s your concern?

The concern may be that we’ve signed a player who can’t get into a depleted side perhaps? Whittaker’s fine for me though but I see that point of view.

Confused why Porteous has been dropped recently. Fair enough if for Hanlon but not for Milligan who was good in midfield

Also this.

K.Marx
03-11-2018, 01:21 PM
maybe we are in for a surprise and its a back 3 of whittaker, ambrose and stevenson with bartley and milligan sitting in front

Hope no! 😂

03-11-2018, 01:21 PM

It’s a very weird team and decisions but in Neil we trust and if we win it’s all good.

03-11-2018, 01:22 PM
4 ex Hibs in the St J squad today. Two starting (Craig and Kennedy), what could possibly go wrong?

03-11-2018, 01:23 PM
The concern may be that we’ve signed a player who can’t get into a depleted side perhaps? Whittaker’s fine for me though but I see that point of view.

Nothing to do with that. The poster has an obsession in saying how bad Whittaker is, nothing else

03-11-2018, 01:23 PM

The poster quoted is a pretty big critic of Whittaker so I don’t think that is his reason for the concern. I could be wrong on that though.

H18S NX
03-11-2018, 01:24 PM
Another change in team selection,strange.

03-11-2018, 01:24 PM

Think Porteous has a niggling injury.

03-11-2018, 01:25 PM
Very odd lineup.

03-11-2018, 01:26 PM

Not really strange that there is another change following Wednesday night. It’s what the changes are that are a bit strange

teabag
03-11-2018, 01:26 PM
Milligan at centre back again does seem a strange choice but looking forward to seeing Horgan and Boyle either side of MacLaren. Presume it'll be more of a 3 rather than leaving MacLaren up front alone

03-11-2018, 01:28 PM

Don’t think it’s strange. There were always going to be a number of changes after Wednesday. Kamberi being out changes a lot as well IMO.

03-11-2018, 01:28 PM
Surely 4-1-3-1-1

Bogdan

Whitts efe. Milligan lewie

Bartley

Boyle Mallan Horgan

Hyndeman

Maclaren

Possibly swap hyndeman for boyle

hibee62
03-11-2018, 01:31 PM
Looks like 4-5-1 come 4-3-3 with Boyle and Horgan on the wings. Played like that to good effect with Cummings through the middle before.

03-11-2018, 01:33 PM
Surely 4-1-3-1-1

Bogdan

Whitts efe. Milligan lewie

Bartley

Boyle Mallan Horgan

Hyndeman

Maclaren

Possibly swap hyndeman for boyle

A 4-1-3-1-1 is prob the strangest formation I’ve ever seen 😂

03-11-2018, 01:34 PM
A 4-1-3-1-1 is prob the strangest formation I’ve ever seen [emoji23]

Its just a jazzed up 4-5-1 [emoji23]

03-11-2018, 01:35 PM
Not many attacking options on the bench. Think we need another striker in January, Kamberi or Mclaren gets injured and we are toiling up front

03-11-2018, 01:44 PM
Think we needed one in July

Mr Grieves
03-11-2018, 01:51 PM
Get that ****** water off, it's hitting us in the FF lower

03-11-2018, 01:51 PM

He’s getting in early. He’s now going to focus on everything Whittaker does and criticise it. When someone else makes a mistake he’s going to tell us all how Whittaker contributed to it.

It’s what the modern day coach does.

Mr Grieves
03-11-2018, 01:52 PM
I like the look of that team if it's a 451/433

Conj
03-11-2018, 01:52 PM
Is Porteous 1 yellow away from a ban? Could he be getting held back to prevent a suspension while Hanlon is out?

03-11-2018, 01:53 PM
Another week, another new look defense, midfield and forward line. Injuries are really crippling our chances of getting anything like a settled team.

03-11-2018, 01:55 PM
This is a big game, with the huns winning too and with the nonsense from Wednesday. We need to win and win well and get behind the manager.

03-11-2018, 01:57 PM
Cant afford to be dropping any points today

C'mon the hibees

Is Porteous 1 yellow away from a ban? Could he be getting held back to prevent a suspension while Hanlon is out?

Don’t play him so he doesn’t get suspended?

We seem to be unlucky this season with teams on losing runs, get a win just before they play us?
Still will settle for 2-0!!!

03-11-2018, 01:58 PM

:hilarious I can’t see the logic either.

Conj
03-11-2018, 01:59 PM

Just a suggestion, not saying that is the reason.

03-11-2018, 02:07 PM
Anything happening since kick-off?

03-11-2018, 02:15 PM
No updates guys?

03-11-2018, 02:15 PM
Anything happening since kick-off?

Boyle hit a shot over the bar.

1875Sean
03-11-2018, 02:16 PM
Who is the captain

OtleyHibs
03-11-2018, 02:17 PM
Decorating my kitchen and Hibs tv doesn’t want to play on my phone for some reason so no audio, any updates appreciated.

Delboy4
03-11-2018, 02:18 PM
Celtic 1 up

03-11-2018, 02:19 PM
Celtic 1 up

Another Zibi Zlamal flap:na na:

03-11-2018, 02:21 PM
Who is the captain

Big Marv

Mr Grieves
03-11-2018, 02:26 PM
Our crossing is so poor

Delboy4
03-11-2018, 02:26 PM
2-0 Celtic 👏

Johnny Clash
03-11-2018, 02:27 PM
Celtic 1 up

18th minute too. Take that Jambos!!!!

03-11-2018, 02:28 PM
I’m on the edge of my seat

03-11-2018, 02:29 PM
Terrible in the final third so far, a couple of decent opportunities to get a cross in squandered.

We've got 2 centre halves that want to play football and big Marv has been effective at stamping out everything Saints have tried to create.

03-11-2018, 02:31 PM
I’m on the edge of my seat

Dullest Hibs game I've been to for a while.

03-11-2018, 02:33 PM
Always going to be flat today

03-11-2018, 02:34 PM
cmon Hibs win this and were breathin doon thur necks

03-11-2018, 02:34 PM
Decorating my kitchen and Hibs tv doesn’t want to play on my phone for some reason so no audio, any updates appreciated.

Decorating more exciting?!

03-11-2018, 02:35 PM
How is that ever a foul

Delboy4
03-11-2018, 02:39 PM
3-0 to the TIC Yipeeees

03-11-2018, 02:40 PM
Must be one of the quietest match day threads for sometime.

Delboy4
03-11-2018, 02:41 PM
Hearts fans LEAVING..!!! Not even half time. Mikey Stewart so they should said, as they are not playing at all 😂👏

03-11-2018, 02:41 PM
Corner Hibs

03-11-2018, 02:42 PM
Must be one of the quietest match day threads for sometime.

If it wasn’t for Selick pumping the yams, we wouldn’t have anything to talk about 😂

Pish corner

They’re going to win the league 😂

03-11-2018, 02:43 PM
Best play so far just over by Hyndman

Delboy4
03-11-2018, 02:43 PM
How is it that when Hearts drop points we can’t win a match!

superbam
03-11-2018, 02:44 PM
Hibs well on top. Final balls poor though.

Hearts fans LEAVING..!!! Not even half time. Mikey Stewart so they should said, as they are not playing at all 😂👏

Keekboak in lockdown as well... they are a sensitive bunch :lolyam:

Hibs well on top. Final balls poor though.

Again!

Silky
03-11-2018, 02:45 PM

Oh, is it finished already?

03-11-2018, 02:46 PM
Ht

That was pish.

Don't care if hearts lose if we can't win tbh

03-11-2018, 02:47 PM
Keekboak in lockdown as well... they are a sensitive bunch [emoji38]yam:They're very silly boys.

Their fans are probably planning to get an early start on lobbing bottles at pensioners in the street before the celtc fans appear.

Well that wasn’t the best half of football I’ve ever seen.

Bartley carrying on from Wednesday, he’s been brilliant

hibbydog

No even half time. **** sake man

Wouldn't it be better to wait for the final whistle before a statement like that? Still got the whole of the 2nd half to go... then you can ask. But I see where you're coming from :greengrin

Delboy4
Oh, is it finished already?

No but would love us to maybe just play well and win the match comfortably.

03-11-2018, 02:48 PM
Inverness and County game seems to be pretty good, 2-2

Delboy4
03-11-2018, 02:49 PM
Wouldn't it be better to wait for the final whistle before a statement like that? Still got the whole of the 2nd half to go... then you can ask. But I see where you're coming from :greengrin

Yip, maybe too early but JUST want us to get the finger oooot 😂

OtleyHibs
Decorating more exciting?!

😄 Not at all mate, delivering on a promise that I made to get out of taking the wee man to football training on Wednesday there. Assumed I could listen on Hibs tv as usual but my phones acting up

well that wasn't the best of halfs

03-11-2018, 02:50 PM
Things just not falling for us. Horgan has been busy but ineffective. Hibs play their best stuff with Hyndman and Mallan at the edge of the box. Marv has been a bear as ever, letting nothing through.

Saints hit the bar early on with a real cracker of a shot, other than that Bogdan has been quiet and really wants to get things going when he gets the ball.

Dull

They're very silly boys.

Their fans are probably planning to get an early start on lobbing bottles at pensioners in the street before the celtc fans appear.

Not to mention getting a bit of graffiti posted before the streets get busy... and did you mean silly or billy? :wink:

Edit ... or both :greengrin

03-11-2018, 02:51 PM
Well, that was really boring.

03-11-2018, 02:52 PM
Very boring game.

Hope we liven it up in the 2nd.

Horgan seems to have tallent but no brains. Would rsther have shaw on supporting maclaren, especially since we seem so determined to cross it into the box when our front three are short-erses.

45mins of utter boredom. Very predictable considering the team selection. Things can only get better !

Delboy4
Are we shooting into the FF second half? Doonhill for us auld guys! Always think we play better 😂

Mr Grieves
St Johnstone playing narrow and are well organised. We've had many opportunities to cross but the final ball has been pish.

03-11-2018, 02:53 PM
We really lacked fluency and movement for large parts of the half. St Johnstone have as good a shape as I have seen at ER this year. Really well drilled and play like a team. We are suffering from never fielding the same team twice. I'll settle for another dull half and a goal from 30 yards from Mallan. Cmon hibs

03-11-2018, 02:53 PM
Not to mention getting a bit of graffiti posted before the streets get busy... and did you mean silly or billy? :wink:

Edit ... or both :greengrinThey want to be Billy but like all things maroon balloonish they will probably fall short.

Nevi_SOL
03-11-2018, 02:59 PM
Really missing SDG

03-11-2018, 03:00 PM
Really missing SDG

not really, we are missing a couple of decent forward players

03-11-2018, 03:01 PM
Absolutely horrendous. Pace and width needed. I fear we lose 1 zip here

03-11-2018, 03:02 PM
Really missing SDG

Missing Kamberi more than SDG. Maclaren looks isolated up top on his own.

I think we are missing both SDG and some forward players. sir David gets to the byeline and you need that with our tiny front line

Delboy4
We must be playing crap if Allan Prestoni is saying it’s a great game!

03-11-2018, 03:03 PM
That clown Preston - really good game apparently!

"Wonderful, wonderful football match"

Lemonade
03-11-2018, 03:03 PM
45mins of utter boredom. Very predictable considering the team selection. Things can only get better !

Preston on the radio saying it's been a great footballing game :greengrin

03-11-2018, 03:09 PM
I honestly can't see where a goal is going to come from.

Absolutely zero creativity and nothing up front.

Mcpakeisgod
03-11-2018, 03:11 PM
Cool your beans chaps. 2-0 easy 😃

03-11-2018, 03:12 PM
Apparently this is a non-contact sport now.

03-11-2018, 03:13 PM
Get Ryan on for Milligan, put Horgan left, Boyle right, bring Shaw on for Hyndman, go two up front and get the ball wide and then into the box.

That's how we'll score.

03-11-2018, 03:13 PM
The rugby is pi5h aswell

03-11-2018, 03:14 PM

Maybe being sarcastic or he's happy we aren't winning

Delboy4
03-11-2018, 03:14 PM
Ooooh shot by Boyle

03-11-2018, 03:15 PM
Saints keeper forced into a couple of Saves from long range efforts.

03-11-2018, 03:19 PM

Totally at odds with the views on here!
Maybe he's taking the pish sarcastically or having a bet or something.

03-11-2018, 03:20 PM
Come on hibs.

erin-go-bragh87
03-11-2018, 03:22 PM
Whittaker is awful.

03-11-2018, 03:23 PM
Pen saints.

Swanson wins a penalty for them

**** off.

Delboy4
Bogdan 👏👏👏

And Bogdan saves!!

03-11-2018, 03:24 PM
Bogdan the Hero.

King Bogdan

Cracking save

Delboy4
Cmon Hibs kick on from there!

C’mon Hibs!!

murray26
03-11-2018, 03:25 PM
Come on Hibs.. 2nd nite at the cherry.. talk about a chance to really get our season going..

03-11-2018, 03:26 PM
Wake up call hibs

OtleyHibs
03-11-2018, 03:26 PM
Thank you Adam Bogdan!! Come on Hibs, kick on and win this

03-11-2018, 03:27 PM
Need to win this one

Delboy4
03-11-2018, 03:30 PM
4-0

03-11-2018, 03:32 PM
What is it with St.Johnstone? Seriously?

03-11-2018, 03:32 PM
Sounds like a bad day at the office so far.

03-11-2018, 03:33 PM
What is it with St.Johnstone? Seriously?

Especially with players like Liam Craig and Callachan playing for them

AL-Qaholik
03-11-2018, 03:33 PM
Absolutely nothing in the final 3rd. McLaren looking completely lost up front on his own.

03-11-2018, 03:35 PM
Sounds like a bad day at the office so far.
Familiar story unfortunately.

Especially with players like Liam Craig and Callachan playing for them

And Danny Swanson

Apart from the fact it's not you're absolutely spot on, mate.

03-11-2018, 03:36 PM

No really Hibs have been class at home for some time. Infact most of 2018?

03-11-2018, 03:37 PM
Tommy Wright just got Lennon's number then?

03-11-2018, 03:38 PM
17,3## with 576 in the away end

I just dont understand how Lennon cant pick a team ffs.

Need to stop going with just 1 up front, doesn't work for us.

03-11-2018, 03:39 PM

Just don’t get it

03-11-2018, 03:39 PM
cue last minute winner for us

murray26
03-11-2018, 03:40 PM
Pretty predictable and disappointing but if we get a point it’s better than nothing.. still in the mix for a top 4 finish.. could have been worse

Agreed but have we had all our 3 strikers available for any game this season yet?

Pretty predictable and disappointing but if we get a point it’s better than nothing.. still in the mix for a top 4 finish.. could have been worse

Prefer 3 at home

03-11-2018, 03:41 PM
Caldwell getting smashed 5-1

03-11-2018, 03:41 PM
Caldwell getting smashed 5-1

Good

03-11-2018, 03:43 PM
Not according to HH81 & pedantic:greengrin

Delboy4
03-11-2018, 03:44 PM
Accies 1-0

03-11-2018, 03:45 PM
Not good enough today.

How Long to go, 3?

Not good enough today.

Very disappointing

christ, a win today could have set us up nicely for the coming weeks, if we continue to be set up like this week after week then we will struggle to make top 4, and it doesnt matter how good our players are on paper.

murray26
03-11-2018, 03:46 PM
Not according to HH81 & pedantic:greengrin

I’m as frustrated as everyone else but top 4 should be our goal and is definitely achievable.. we were always going to struggle today

Delboy4
PEN to Celtic

Delboy4
F off

****ing knew this would happen

03-11-2018, 03:47 PM
sigh

Been honking all day.

Predictable.

St Johnstone score?

James310
St Johnstone score?

Yes

03-11-2018, 03:48 PM
christ, a win today could have set us up nicely for the coming weeks, if we continue to be set up like this week after week then we will struggle to make top 4, and it doesnt matter how good our players are on paper.

:agree: Shaping up for fifth place if we can hold out for draws against teams we should be beating.

Nevi_SOL
****ing shocking

aye

My old man
****ing knew this would happen

F N typical Hibs
Totally unacceptable

We bloody well asked for that on today’s showing, just not good enough

Not good enough. Pish in fact.

Ffs, bollocks.

03-11-2018, 03:49 PM
Agreed but have we had all our 3 strikers available for any game this season yet?

We don't need 3 strikers, we just need 2, which we had today.

We also have as many right backs as forwards. That's poorer planning imo.

03-11-2018, 03:49 PM
no a shock. both Edinburgh teams get beat after what was simply a battle midweek. I've said it before, the derby is simply an unnecessary distraction as no other team goes to tynecastle under that level of pressure.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

03-11-2018, 03:50 PM
:agree: Shaping up for fifth place if we can hold out for draws against teams we should be beating.

Be lucky to make top six with displays like that

Bobo
Pathetic! P!sh poor from start to finish and no football played for the 2nd game in a row.

murray26
The warning signs were there on Wednesday night.. kin depressing and predictable

We don't need 3 strikers, we just need 2, which we had today.

We also have as many right backs as forwards. That's poorer planning imo.

2 on the park and 1 on the bench, no?

im going to say it again but how many times is it that the wrong teams been put out, getting beat from St.Johnstone, f,n really.

03-11-2018, 03:51 PM
There goes the Home record too!

Tommy Wright just got Lennon's number then?
Home loss to St. Johnstone, not on.

hibee62
Whistles gone after less than 3 minutes, no?

no a shock. both Edinburgh teams get beat after what was simply a battle midweek. I've said it before, the derby is simply an unnecessary distraction as no other team goes to tynecastle under that level of pressure.

I don’t accept that, we should be able to put up a better display than that at home, had absolutely nothing to offer today

Why play Bartley in a home game against St Johnstone?

damn cheeky st.johnstone fans will be asking if they can play us every week

Horrific result

1 point from 6 against at Johnstone ****in depressing stuff

03-11-2018, 03:52 PM
im going to say it again but how many times is it that the wrong teams been put out, getting beat from St.Johnstone, f,n really.

Almost every game now

Why’s Milligan playing as a centre half? Why sign a right back and then play Whittaker in that position?

to try and stop them scoring even more....although he did gift them a penalty

F N typical Hibs
Totally unacceptable

It’s not typical.....**** though

AL-Qaholik
Absolute garbage. Shocking team selection and appalling performances throughout the team. Totally unacceptable.

Mr_F
03-11-2018, 03:53 PM
We’re pish

Lennon's subs were bizarre. Switching thr defence for no reason to instead of an attacking player? Keeping Maclaren on who was doing nothing?

Team set up was all wrong too. Milligan should be in midfield, without him they look disjointed.

F N typical Hibs
Totally unacceptable

We didn't have any Plan B today for when Plan A didn't work.

Most of the time I'd back NL, but today he didn't get it right. Jamie Mac is never going to be a lone striker. Really think Oli Shaw should have started today

03-11-2018, 03:54 PM
Bogdan

Whittaker
Ambrose
Porteous
Stevenson

Milligan
Boyle
Mallan
Slivka

MacLaren
Shaw

Simples!

hibIBZ
Really really poor. Slow and predictable from the start. The classic "how to beat Hibs" game.sit in an watch Hibs pass the ball and wait for the defence to make a mistake and we duly obliged. 1 point in our last 3 games is poor

Lennon summed it up when the camera cut to him after St Johnstones goal

"We have been absolutely pathetic"

I cant disagree - we got exactly what we deserve. We would've got away with one to get a draw

Dunno what Mcgregor is thinking about with the Free kick, and the defending from it is shocking - Milligan left with 2 men

The whole team looked so lethargic. With Hearts dropping points and Killie Aberdeen tomorrow, this was a huge game for us and we totally blew it

Most of the time I'd back NL, but today he didn't get it right. Jamie Mac is never going to be a lone striker. Really think Oli Shaw should have started today

Too often recently plan A hasn’t worked

03-11-2018, 03:55 PM
Joke result against that mob

Delboy4
03-11-2018, 03:56 PM

We should be playing a 3-5-2 wing backs creating width and putting balls into the box. Show too much respect to teams!!

Livi & Hearts getting beat and we can’t capitalise 😡

03-11-2018, 03:56 PM
Absolutely horrendous. Pace and width needed. I fear we lose 1 zip here

🙄🙄

scotiaf
03-11-2018, 03:57 PM
1 point from 9. Terrible 180 mins of football I have watched this week. No creativity, relying on Mallan to score from far. Missed Kamberi. Bad week all round. Ah well.

sorrow sorrow
03-11-2018, 03:58 PM
We are pretty average this season,we don’t have a Scott Allan,Brandon Barker type player that give you that little bit flair and creativity that’s needed in this type of game

03-11-2018, 03:59 PM
1 point out of 9 and aberdeen away next up

03-11-2018, 04:00 PM
Too many poor performances, constant bad decision making and very little creativity going forward - think Saints deserved the 3 points overall, we were quite shocking today ...

03-11-2018, 04:02 PM
Team never turned up today. Shocking performance all round.

Mr Grieves

He was MOTM

He was MOTM

Yes, that on it’s own is terrible.

03-11-2018, 04:03 PM
2 of the scores in our last 3 games were predictable, this one is harder to take as we were at home!
S**t happens, onwards and upwards!!!

PONGO
03-11-2018, 04:04 PM
To much formation and team selection changes . I know some are called for but it’s all the time .

03-11-2018, 04:05 PM

I never noticed a Plan A

03-11-2018, 04:06 PM
Absolutely rotten for the full game. St Johnstone should’ve had a couple more. McGregor sold it for their goal.

Keyser Sauzee
03-11-2018, 04:07 PM
Astounding how many poor games Whittaker has had for us since his return, can’t understand how he gets a game.

hibee62
03-11-2018, 04:08 PM
Astounding how many poor games Whittaker has had for us since his return, can’t understand how he gets a game.

Except that if we’d kept him on instead of making a pointless sub we probably wouldn’t have lost that game...

03-11-2018, 04:16 PM
Except that if we’d kept him on instead of making a pointless sub we probably wouldn’t have lost that game...

Looked to me like his legs were gone which is why he was probably subbed (?) - he had a shocking game anyway, as did Milligan who failed to stop Shaughnessey from scoring a goal, yet again ...

hibee62
03-11-2018, 04:20 PM
Looked to me like his legs were gone which is why he was probably subbed (?) - he had a shocking game anyway, as did Milligan who failed to stop Shaughnessey from scoring a goal, yet again ...

I thought he was fine defensively but really poor going forward. I don’t recall Milligan doing much wrong but I’ve no idea who was closest to the ball when it went in.

I do not understand why we don’t go back to the team that was doing so well pre-Celtic with ambrose+Porteous and Milligan in front? Until Hanlon comes back that is our best combination, even if it results in Bartley dropping out.

03-11-2018, 04:22 PM
I don’t accept that, we should be able to put up a better display than that at home, had absolutely nothing to offer todayit's not an acceptance at all. I'm just saying that time and again we see the Edinburgh teams get beat after the derby.

03-11-2018, 04:39 PM
Back out working, my thoughts...very poor with absolutely zero spark. I like Milligan but get him in the middle where he's a better influence, Whittaker is finished, Hyndman looks disinterested, Horgan is the new headless chicken and we're desperate for a creative Allan type in the team, plus the squad is looking very thin. At the moment we look like mid table mediocrity.

03-11-2018, 04:43 PM
Bizarre to blame Whittaker, we got much worse when he went off.

03-11-2018, 04:43 PM
We had a fairly settledd team and shape and were winning.

Too much tinkering in the last few games. No need to play Milligan at centre half.

03-11-2018, 04:45 PM
Back out working, my thoughts...very poor with absolutely zero spark. I like Milligan but get him in the middle where he's a better influence, Whittaker is finished, Hyndman looks disinterested, Horgan is the new headless chicken and we're desperate for a creative Allan type in the team, plus the squad is looking very thin. At the moment we look like mid table mediocrity.
Really can't disagree with anything you've said, weird team selection today, can't see the ryme or reason for it.

03-11-2018, 04:50 PM

load of pish as usual

03-11-2018, 04:51 PM
Some of these players simply aren’t good enough.

03-11-2018, 04:52 PM
Really can't disagree with anything you've said, weird team selection today, can't see the ryme or reason for it.

apart from the fact whittaker was ok again, horgan was the only one who looked to go past a player, milligan played well again at CH, hyndman apart from his shot that went wide was not so good ill agree there

03-11-2018, 05:08 PM
1 from 6 points against St J is pathetic comming at the back of a poor result midweek against a weakened Hearts side. There will be harder games ahead and Lennon needs to rethink.

03-11-2018, 05:31 PM
Some of these players simply aren’t good enough.

All of the players are good enough individually but they don't form much of a team together.

Players like Hyndman, Horgan and McLaren are clearly all good players but they've all had some bad games and we don't look like we know what to do with them.

Given we've not had many games lately and Lennon's had plenty of time with the squad, it really is unacceptable that we can look that disjointed.

Kamberi has proven his worth to us once again, this time by being absent.

03-11-2018, 05:35 PM
Whittaker had an absolute shocker going forwards, every cross or pass was misplaced or overhit. McGregor should have done much better for their goal.

I’ve no idea why Lennon hasn’t brought Porteuos back in. Milligan is much better than Marv in the midfield.

03-11-2018, 05:44 PM
Really really poor. Slow and predictable from the start. The classic "how to beat Hibs" game.sit in an watch Hibs pass the ball and wait for the defence to make a mistake and we duly obliged.

:agree: Possession 62% HFC v 38% St J. Then late sucker punch after Hibs conceded a free kick around the box once too often.