View Full Version : Levein, match aftermath etc (merged threads)

Nitten
28-10-2018, 02:57 PM
One team wants to win one team doesn’t want to get beat. 10 mins and still no change in shape from Levein.....do I bring on another defender. No ambition to win this game. Cheating his supporters!

Austinho
28-10-2018, 03:14 PM
https://i2-prod.glasgowlive.co.uk/incoming/article15023091.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/0_JS159647676.jpg

Ps. 57 years. :brokenyam::brokenyam:

28-10-2018, 03:16 PM
Our survey says.....

28-10-2018, 03:16 PM
Can someone please upload a photo of his coupon from today. I want to see the PAIN 😁😂😂😂

28-10-2018, 03:17 PM
One team wants to win one team doesn’t want to get beat. 10 mins and still no change in shape from Levein.....do I bring on another defender. No ambition to win this game. Cheating his supporters!

But he’s super proud that so many of the orcs came out to support them, in their lifelong quest to win this trophy

A welt will never win a medal.

Natural Order?

28-10-2018, 03:18 PM
Natural Order?

Why, of course ❤️

28-10-2018, 03:18 PM
Oh ma sides!!!!!!!!!

Dose of the skitters for Craigie boy, methinks.

28-10-2018, 03:21 PM
He won the Andrex medal for industrial use in 1987.

28-10-2018, 03:23 PM
Interview please.

28-10-2018, 03:25 PM
Was Levein part of the glorious Tennents Sixes victory on Hearts official honours list?

If so get this thread deleted or that will come back to bite us.

gillythehibby
28-10-2018, 03:27 PM
They are *** garbage. To win games you need to make an attempt on goal. Same again Wednesday Craig plz 🇳🇬🇳🇬

28-10-2018, 03:32 PM
Anyone got that photo of it being 54 years since Hearts won the cup from a couple of years ago? I feel it needs amended.

28-10-2018, 03:36 PM
The ultimate prick.

Hope he's feeling miserable today. Loser.

Callum7
28-10-2018, 03:38 PM
http://i63.tinypic.com/qyy7ox.jpg

Austinho
28-10-2018, 03:41 PM
https://i.imgur.com/qQqMOI2.png

The Hearts were broken.

Sorrow, sorrow.

28-10-2018, 03:41 PM
Guaranteed he will moan about the penalty.

Fud

28-10-2018, 03:50 PM
Spot on Green Day.

Whining on radio as we speak.

Comedy gold.

28-10-2018, 03:51 PM
He is moaning about it. “Very soft”. Maybe by Hertz fouling standards. It’s a stonewaller . Dry yer eyes ya roaster!

28-10-2018, 03:51 PM
#jesuisMurrayfieldbogcleaningteam

28-10-2018, 03:54 PM
Spot on Green Day.

Whining on radio as we speak.

Comedy gold.

On BT, he looked a bit rabbity in the headlights - looked like he didnt have an answer.

Berra mumbling on now about how he hopes Naismith gets back for Wednesday - this week will make or break them.

Fingers crossed !!

28-10-2018, 03:56 PM
C'mon the Dandy Don's or whatever they call themselves.

sauzee=legend
28-10-2018, 03:56 PM
Hearts have had a few soft penalties so far this season and a lot or lucky breaks go their way - so hahaha and hahaha!!
Karma!!!

28-10-2018, 03:57 PM
The view I got from social media over last couple of weeks was that the Hearts fans really thought they just had to show up. Very arrogant.

bringbackbenny
28-10-2018, 03:59 PM
On BT, he looked a bit rabbity in the headlights - looked like he didnt have an answer.

Berra mumbling on now about how he hopes Naismith gets back for Wednesday - this week will make or break them.

Fingers crossed !!

If he plays I hope we put in a robust challenge early on. Let's see what the whiny, odious yam is made of.

Hibs4185
28-10-2018, 04:01 PM
Now that hibs’d it is well and truly put to bed, our neighbours surely deserve their own term.

After winning the league a couple of weeks ago, all they had to do today was turn up and the league cup was in the bag.

Any other suggestions and definitions?

28-10-2018, 04:02 PM
Jambottled it.

BS44
28-10-2018, 04:04 PM
After today's result and the way Hearts set themselves up, it's obvious they are fully focused on winning the league title

Nitten
28-10-2018, 04:05 PM
At no time after 1st goal did he change shape or tactics. Ajer looked nervous on the ball throughout but they sat off and hoped for something to happen. Negative from start to finish, yes Naismith was a loss but at least have a go. They are rank rotten!

28-10-2018, 04:08 PM
Justice done. They should have been chucked out the cup earlier.

28-10-2018, 04:11 PM
At no time after 1st goal did he change shape or tactics. Ajer looked nervous on the ball throughout but they sat off and hoped for something to happen. Negative from start to finish, yes Naismith was a loss but at least have a go. They are rank rotten!

Wow. I thought Ajer was the standout along with Sinclair but each to their own.

28-10-2018, 04:11 PM
So how is Craigie getting on in his Defender Of Football role ?

28-10-2018, 04:12 PM
So how is Craigie getting on as Defender Of Football?

Match stats

28-10-2018, 04:13 PM
Hearts will never win anything with Levien in charge. He's made a career out of bottling it on the big occasions.

28-10-2018, 04:14 PM
https://scontent.fbhx3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/44967349_2163150080384821_6979404100328751104_n.jp g?_nc_cat=106&_nc_ht=scontent.fbhx3-1.fna&oh=f753dbd9705c0d5415d4b01e17570288&oe=5C500A7A

28-10-2018, 04:14 PM
Skittered it?

Austinho
28-10-2018, 04:15 PM
http://i.imgur.com/Bq2r4sc.jpg

28-10-2018, 04:15 PM
So the 27k hearts fans made Murrayfield a wall of noise right?

Must have seen at least 3 articles on the EEN this morning about the crowd (it really is a Jambo mouth piece)

No point in that many fans when they make a noise equal to a church mouse on a Sunday

Great money spinner (where have I heard that before) but by the standard of football played and the atmosphere created it was hardly a brilliant advert for our neighbours (Pleasing....)

28-10-2018, 04:18 PM
https://scontent.fbhx3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/44967349_2163150080384821_6979404100328751104_n.jp g?_nc_cat=106&_nc_ht=scontent.fbhx3-1.fna&oh=f753dbd9705c0d5415d4b01e17570288&oe=5C500A7A

Not much of a variety not winning it all the time

28-10-2018, 04:18 PM
He is moaning about it. “Very soft”. Maybe by Hertz fouling standards. It’s a stonewaller . Dry yer eyes ya roaster!

The defender stuck his leg out, Christie could have tried to stay on his feet but went down. You can guarantee that in the same situation Naismith would have done the same.

They have no right to complain as they were lucky to still be in the competition after the farce of a decision to only dock them 2 points when other teams have been penalised with 3-0 defeats when committing the same infringement of the rules.

28-10-2018, 04:21 PM
Dodgy penalty in a Hearts match!!

Well, I never.......

Pleasing.

28-10-2018, 04:22 PM
Got to chuckle at Jambos moaning about penalties. 😆

28-10-2018, 04:24 PM
http://i64.tinypic.com/29ly41y.jpg

28-10-2018, 04:25 PM
Natural Order?

Chris Sutton made a sneaky, subtle wee mention of it in commentary. :thumbsup::greengrin

28-10-2018, 04:26 PM

Collectors item

28-10-2018, 04:26 PM
Check his half & half moustache what ‘s going on messiah

Austinho
28-10-2018, 04:27 PM
http://i64.tinypic.com/29ly41y.jpgSome delicious amount of karma with the man who tries to deliberately injure opponents getting injured, and the team who should have been unceremoniously kicked out of the competition after the Cove game being unceremoniously dumped out of the competition.

OtleyHibs
28-10-2018, 04:27 PM
Now that hibs’d it is well and truly put to bed, our neighbours surely deserve their own term.

After winning the league a couple of weeks ago, all they had to do today was turn up and the league cup was in the bag.

Any other suggestions and definitions?

They made a complete hearts of it 😄

AltheHibby
28-10-2018, 04:29 PM
Is it the wee cup again? 🤣

28-10-2018, 04:31 PM
I bet Cove Rangers fans are pretty smug tonight

28-10-2018, 04:38 PM
I bet Cove Rangers fans are pretty smug tonight

Think it was Inverness that lost out on a place in the knockout stages.

Eaststandee
28-10-2018, 04:43 PM
http://i.imgur.com/Bq2r4sc.jpg

SideBurns
28-10-2018, 04:45 PM

Ah ken the stand isnae finished, but surely nipping to the Tynie Arms is a better shout than using the League Cup if there's nae lavvies??

28-10-2018, 04:58 PM

Marshalls Chunky Chicken Champions?

Callum7
28-10-2018, 05:07 PM
One guy on kickback is trying to suggest that the sprinklers were on for longer at one end than the other giving Celtic an unfair advantage. 😂

28-10-2018, 05:12 PM
The view I got from social media over last couple of weeks was that the Hearts fans really thought they just had to show up. Very arrogant.

If their team actually played anywhere near the level these clowns fantasise and slaver about, there'd be no point in the other clubs carrying-on - fortunately reality rules !

28-10-2018, 05:23 PM
Hearts were well beat, they were never really a threat. It’s was the usual defensive hoofball that CL loves to play. Regardless of whether it’s a soft penalty or not it was given and Levein was clueless and did nothing to change it to get them back into the game.

28-10-2018, 05:29 PM
Levein reminds me of Alex Miller. Sets his team up not to lose first and foremost. He's thrown when the opposition take the lead. At least Miller won something.

28-10-2018, 05:30 PM
Levein reminds me of Alex Miller. Sets his team up not to lose first and foremost. At least Miller won something.They're going to win the league though?

pollution
28-10-2018, 05:36 PM
Sell out crowd? Only one team sold their allocation and it wasn't Hearts.

Still cannot beat the largest football attendance in Edinburgh....

28-10-2018, 05:36 PM
Check his half & half moustache what ‘s going on messiah
Top lips a shambles.:agree:

28-10-2018, 05:38 PM
They're going to win the league though?

Won it last month I believe?

28-10-2018, 06:20 PM
From 'Throw-back' -

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/179777-craigs-interview/

'Levein and the players looked gutted -hes a born winner though, we'll be back'

Amazingly, they're now all arguing about qualifies someone as a 'Winner' - some cracking opinions on that :faf:

28-10-2018, 06:25 PM
Ah ken the stand isnae finished, but surely nipping to the Tynie Arms is a better shout than using the League Cup if there's nae lavvies??

Ah, now. That made me laugh.

28-10-2018, 06:29 PM
Must have been a fight outside mcdonalds in gorgie. Just seen a guy being put in an ambulance as I left Aldi. Police talking to another group who are draped in union Jack flags.

28-10-2018, 06:30 PM
And their annual capitulation continues.
Over half a century of defeat after defeat after defeat in The Scottish League Cup.
:lolyam::lolyam::lolyam::lolyam::lolyam:

SideBurns
28-10-2018, 06:39 PM
PeterintheRain on Kickback, talking about Levein, says: "He won the league in 1986"

Anyone on here willing to blow their cover?

28-10-2018, 06:40 PM
From 'Throw-back' -

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/179777-craigs-interview/

'Levein and the players looked gutted -hes a born winner though, we'll be back'

Amazingly, they're now all arguing about qualifies someone as a 'Winner' - some cracking opinions on that :faf:

Nice one - hadnt heard that version yet.. :tee hee:

28-10-2018, 06:42 PM
PeterintheRain on Kickback, talking about Levein, says: "He won the league in 1986"

Anyone on here willing to blow their cover?Please post some of the replies to that!

SideBurns
28-10-2018, 06:49 PM
Please post some of the replies to that!

On my phone, and too technically inept! However, it is on a thread with Levein's name in the title (similar to this one, but with a slightly different slant 😉)

Lunatic
28-10-2018, 06:52 PM
Jambottled it.

But is that not when you're 2-0 up with 20 minutes to go and all you need to do is not concede twice?

28-10-2018, 06:55 PM
But is that not when you're 2-0 up with 20 minutes to go and all you need to do is not concede twice?

Try 10 minutes to go

28-10-2018, 07:02 PM

Try 10 minutes to go

Or when all you need is a draw at Dens Park and it's 0-0 with seven minutes left.

28-10-2018, 07:06 PM
56 or 57 years ?

We need a song about this

28-10-2018, 07:08 PM
Hearts fans on KB saying that because the pitch was watered at HT there was a conspiracy. Surely even they realise that every team other than themselves water the pitch at half time?

SideBurns
28-10-2018, 07:10 PM
Or when all you need is a draw at Dens Park and it's 0-0 with seven minutes left.

What happened after that? According to PeterintheRain on Kickback, Levein won the league in '86 so I'm assuming it went well for the JTs (I was around then but began drinking heavily shortly after, so the memory is a wee bit dodgy).

28-10-2018, 07:11 PM
Hearts fans on KB saying that because the pitch was watered at HT there was a conspiracy. Surely even they realise that every team other than themselves water the pitch at half time?

Aye but it wiz holy water

28-10-2018, 07:14 PM
I found the whole day ****ing hilarious.

28-10-2018, 07:18 PM
Hearts were well beat, they were never really a threat. It’s was the usual defensive hoofball that CL loves to play. Regardless of whether it’s a soft penalty or not it was given and Levein was clueless and did nothing to change it to get them back into the game.

Funny, that, cos he was going on during the week how they no longer have to play counter attack, tracking the other side, but can now dominate games playing real football (though he didn't use those exact words)

28-10-2018, 07:18 PM
Can't wait for AllisBarry's take on the game.

Even he might struggle to make a case for Craigie and the Hello Hello we are the Gorgie boys brigade.

20 minutes to go their end was emptying quicker than Craig Levein's bowels at Dens Park in 1986.

Will they ever learn?

28-10-2018, 07:26 PM
Can't wait for AllisBarry's take on the game.

Even he might struggle to make a case for Craigie and the Hello Hello we are the Gorgie boys brigade.

20 minutes to go their end was emptying quicker than Craig Levein's bowels at Dens Park in 1986.

Will they ever learn?

All those injuries, often (as with Berra and Naismith) when no-one is even standing near the Hearts player.

I have asked all is Barry if he thinks that's down to Levein's agricultural training techniques and his refusal to rotate/rest key players in their 30s?

Or is it just purely, entirely, and unfortunately, about luck and coincidence.

Levein's methods?

Or luck and coincidence?

Jambos so far seem to be going with Luck and Coincidence

28-10-2018, 07:30 PM
Please post some of the replies to that!

Again - if only that were true :greengrin

28-10-2018, 07:35 PM
So it’s now the Diddy Cup and today’s result doesn’t really manner.

28-10-2018, 07:40 PM
And their annual capitulation continues.
Over half a century of defeat after defeat after defeat in The Scottish League Cup.
:lolyam::lolyam::lolyam::lolyam::lolyam:

58 years to next final they can win.

28-10-2018, 07:44 PM
Match stats

Hardest thing to believe in those stats is that Hearts only committed 11 fouls in the whole game. Could they not get near enough the Celtc players to hack them down?

28-10-2018, 08:03 PM
Hardest thing to believe in those stats is that Hearts only committed 11 fouls in the whole game. Could they not get near enough the Celtc players to hack them down?

As soon as that little snake Naismith went off then the ****bos foul count was always going to be lower than normal.

28-10-2018, 08:05 PM
Is it true that levein said post match they can focus on a double now?

28-10-2018, 08:19 PM

If he did, please please share the link

28-10-2018, 08:44 PM
Does anyone use the Edinburgh evening news football app? Is it just me or is it very pro Hearts there must be about 10 different articles in the last day or 2

28-10-2018, 08:46 PM
Does anyone use the Edinburgh evening news football app? Is it just me or is it very pro Hearts there must be about 10 different articles in the last day or 2

Big team, famous and all that.

28-10-2018, 09:02 PM

Absolutely...every one a positive.

The boy that is assigned to Hibs, Mark Atkinson, always seems to right about Hibs in a negative manner. There is always a twist in his tweets that a true Hibby would never say.

28-10-2018, 09:02 PM

Tbf if he said that he was clearly joking and it’s quite funny IMO.

28-10-2018, 09:03 PM

Is that not just because they had a really big game and we had no game at all?

28-10-2018, 10:20 PM
They're going to win the league though?

True, true.
And Nicole Scherzinger is going to chap ma door and ask if I can spare her 20 minutes to ease her pent up desires.

28-10-2018, 10:20 PM
True, true.
And Nicole Scherzinger is going to chap ma door and ask if I can spare her 20 minutes to ease her pent up desires.Well she is in the UK...

Saturday Boy
28-10-2018, 10:21 PM
True, true.
And Nicole Scherzinger is going to chap ma door and ask if I can spare her 20 minutes to ease her pent up desires.

PM me your address and I’ll send her round 😄

28-10-2018, 10:32 PM

Not getting too agitated about that. If we were in a national cup semi final I’d be very disappointed if the news was not making a big thing of it.

28-10-2018, 10:45 PM
True, true.

Don't you mean pents doon?

28-10-2018, 10:49 PM
PM me your address and I’ll send her round 😄

Austinho
28-10-2018, 10:56 PM
58 years to next final they can win.Unless they are restructuring the tournament next season, the final will be in December 2019, so technically it will be just over 57 years passed until Hearts can win it again. Even if it is the 2019-20 League Cup.

Austinho
28-10-2018, 11:04 PM
All those injuries, often (as with Berra and Naismith) when no-one is even standing near the Hearts player.

I have asked all is Barry if he thinks that's down to Levein's agricultural training techniques and his refusal to rotate/rest key players in their 30s?

Or is it just purely, entirely, and unfortunately, about luck and coincidence.

Levein's methods?

Or luck and coincidence?

Jambos so far seem to be going with Luck and CoincidenceTheir ‘robust’ challenges and commited style of play is always going to take its toll on player’s bodies too. And they wonder why they suffer lots of injuries. In short, they can’t have their cake and eat it.

Continuing to play Mitchell last year, before Manchester United and not Hearts discovered he had a long term injury, and Berra playing days after suffering concussion also shows they value success on the pitch over player’s health. Seems like there is little to do with bad luck, and a lot to mismanagement.

28-10-2018, 11:46 PM
Unless they are restructuring the tournament next season, the final will be in December 2019, so technically it will be just over 57 years passed until Hearts can win it again. Even if it is the 2019-20 League Cup.

Thanks 57 has a nice ring about it.

28-10-2018, 11:52 PM
Their ‘robust’ challenges and commited style of play is always going to take its toll on player’s bodies too. And they wonder why they suffer lots of injuries. In short, they can’t have their cake and eat it.

Continuing to play Mitchell last year, before Manchester United and not Hearts discovered he had a long term injury, and Berra playing days after suffering concussion also shows they value success on the pitch over player’s health. Seems like there is little to do with bad luck, and a lot to mismanagement.

Another example taken from an Evening News article - "Peter Haring’s hernia was playing up at half-time and I had hoped to get him off if I could but I didn’t manage to do that."

I read somewhere earlier that the reason Naismith was subbed against Dundee was because his knee was playing up.

Happy for them to keep complaining about how unlucky they always are and not questioning the risks being taken with players injuries.

29-10-2018, 12:07 AM
https://twitter.com/whiskystring/status/1056698566637436931?s=21

29-10-2018, 10:34 AM
My main complaint with the post match Levein interview was it was so short. He had time to scratch his itchy little beard, tell us that Celtic never really troubled them and that they created some good chances themselves :dunno: Where Craig? Explain? I thought you spent the first hour of the game hoofing the ball in the air, dragging them down to your level and getting 9 behind the ball?

But then he started a wee whinge about how the pen changed the game and it was very soft and how he looks like rolf Harris and then the interviewer seemed to take pity on his pitifulness and called a halt. Even Craig looked surprised and disappointed.

29-10-2018, 11:00 AM
Another classic quote from CL. "We've got a smaller squad than we've had previously too". Trumpesque!

29-10-2018, 11:03 AM
I'm so glad that this 56/57 (depending on how you interpret it) years stuff is now becoming an actual thing. After all the ***** they gave us about the Scottish Cup it's absoutely fantastic that we can now start ripping into the fact that most of them weren't even alive when they last won the so-called "wee" cup. If it's so "wee", why hasn't the club with the 3rd/4th biggest budget in the country won it in many of our lifetimes?

29-10-2018, 11:34 AM
I'm so glad that this 56/57 (depending on how you interpret it) years stuff is now becoming an actual thing. After all the ***** they gave us about the Scottish Cup it's absoutely fantastic that we can now start ripping into the fact that most of them weren't even alive when they last won the so-called "wee" cup. If it's so "wee", why hasn't the club with the 3rd/4th biggest budget in the country won it in many of our lifetimes?

Didn’t the Scottish cup stuff come from them winning it after zero trophies for almost 40 years. I remember “no cups in gorgie” chants in my youth.

Gloucester Hibs
29-10-2018, 11:34 AM

Damn straight, especially after all that Buffalo Bill nonsense.

The year is 1962; Harold Macmillan is UK primer minister, The Tornadoes' Telstar tops the hit parade, and a little-known 4-piece act from Liverpool have yet to score their first number one single. And so on and so forth!

29-10-2018, 11:38 AM

It's definitely become an issue. One look on their forum tells you that. It's slowly starting to eat away at them and they realise we're taking the piss out them over it. Karma in buckets. Long may it continue.

Moody Blues
29-10-2018, 11:53 AM
The first half was one of the worst games I have watched for a long time, a total non event and Celtic were there for the taking.
I was quite glad they got pumped in the second half because they should not have even been there in the first place after fielding an ineligible player in the earlier rounds.
It is my misfortune to stay in the Gorgie area and there arrogance in my local pub was eye watering about how they were going to put Celtic to the sword.
But lets not get carried away yet, until hopefully on Wednesday we can make it a truly miserable four days for them.

29-10-2018, 11:54 AM
It's definitely become an issue. One look on their forum tells you that. It's slowly starting to eat away at them and they realise we're taking the piss out them over it. Karma in buckets. Long may it continue.

But but 5-1?

29-10-2018, 11:55 AM
One semi in five years! Even I have beaten that.

29-10-2018, 11:56 AM

I really hope we can get a "no' won the wee cup since '62" chant going on Wednesday.

29-10-2018, 12:16 PM
We really need to beat them on Wednesday. If they win the confidence will start to come back and the gap between the two teams will be pretty significant.

If we win though I can see them coming unstuck, although they will still do well this year. They are a classic Levein team who will grind out wins at home against teams lower down the table and that alone will see them in the top 6 but this is our chance to show they are no getter than that.

29-10-2018, 12:21 PM
What happened after that? According to PeterintheRain on Kickback, Levein won the league in '86 so I'm assuming it went well for the JTs (I was around then but began drinking heavily shortly after, so the memory is a wee bit dodgy).

I think they MITA also have gone on to win the Scottish Cup that year too, although, although I'm only about 07% certain if that did in fact happen? :greengrin

29-10-2018, 12:23 PM
One semi in five years! Even I have beaten that.

:tee hee::flag:

29-10-2018, 12:40 PM
Who was the player who’s backpass when Dundee Utd leading led old huns to equalise in the league cup final then go on and win? I felt gutted to the max for them and Eddie Thompson but now it’s brillaint and then Potter left and Eddie seen them win the Scottish. I’m thinking Our Scottie Rob but maybe not and I’m getting him mixed up with scoring the goal to dump Celtic out at Tannadice having pumped huns at Ibrox.

29-10-2018, 12:46 PM
Who was the player who’s backpass when Dundee Utd leading led old huns to equalise in the league cup final then go on and win? I felt gutted to the max for them and Eddie Thompson but now it’s brillaint and then Potter left and Eddie seen them win the Scottish. I’m thinking Our Scottie Rob but maybe not and I’m getting him mixed up with scoring the goal to dump Celtic out at Tannadice having pumped huns at Ibrox.

Mark Kerr.

29-10-2018, 01:24 PM

Levein shares the pre-meditated fouls among Hearts players pre-game. Naismith going off after 10 mins blew their foul count target of 23.

29-10-2018, 01:32 PM
I think they MITA also have gone on to win the Scottish Cup that year too, although, although I'm only about 07% certain if that did in fact happen? :greengrin

I remember something about Dens Park the week before and them running around like a bunch of headless Marshall’s Chunky Chickens...no Kidding!

29-10-2018, 02:41 PM
I remember something about Dens Park the week before and them running around like a bunch of headless Marshall’s Chunky Chickens...no Kidding!

Albert you that didn’t happen.

29-10-2018, 02:47 PM
Albert you that didn’t happen.

Maybe not but it’s true that their captain hid in the shunky Levein nothing to chance! He’d been on the doubles the night before...