View Full Version : Helicopter crash at the Leicester stadium

27-10-2018, 08:06 PM
I see a helicopter has crashed outside the Leicester stadium after the match tonight. Doesn’t sound as if this will have a happy ending.

27-10-2018, 08:07 PM
Seeing some news about the Leicester owners helicopter crashing outside the stadium tonight. Doesn’t look good with the pictures on Twitter etc.

Navids Numpties
27-10-2018, 08:07 PM
Was just about to post this. Leicester’s chairman’s helicopter with him inside has crashed. On sky sports just now

27-10-2018, 08:08 PM
The footage looks horrendous, doesn't look good at all.

27-10-2018, 08:11 PM
Looks really bad from the photos, hope those on board are ok

27-10-2018, 08:11 PM
No detail on any injuries yet. Hope all involved are ok.

27-10-2018, 08:13 PM
Looks really bad from the photos, hope those on board are ok

It seems to have crashed in the car park so there possibly would have people in the car park at the time as well.

27-10-2018, 08:19 PM
Media picking it up now, looks like it went up in a ball of flames, doesn't look good at all.

27-10-2018, 08:21 PM
Hope everyone is ok but it appears doubtful looking at those pictures.

What a day for the guys at BT Sport, the presenter was visibly shaken after witnessing what happened to Glenn Hoddle, to then witness, or be so close to, a helicopter crash in the same day is horrendous.

27-10-2018, 08:35 PM
Online photo shows a massive ball of flames, unless they landed softly and bailed out i am afraid all aboard will have perished.

27-10-2018, 08:40 PM
Hope everyone is ok but it appears doubtful looking at those pictures.

What a day for the guys at BT Sport, the presenter was visibly shaken after witnessing what happened to Glenn Hoddle, to then witness, or be so close to, a helicopter crash in the same day is horrendous.

Agreed, Jake Humphrey will not recall this day with any happy memories

27-10-2018, 08:52 PM
What is it with helicopters that involves them in more accidents than any other aviation vehicles? Or am I misjudging the facts and statistics,

27-10-2018, 08:58 PM
What is it with helicopters that involves them in more accidents than any other aviation vehicles? Or am I misjudging the facts and statistics,

Probably not but probably not near the gist now either.

27-10-2018, 08:59 PM
God bless there are survivors.

27-10-2018, 09:02 PM
Sounds horrendous. What was the name of that Chelsea bloke that died in copter crash returning from a match, probably back in the 80s? He was their major investor at the time.

27-10-2018, 09:04 PM

Helicopters are terrifying things. Most other vehicles are designed to withstand a failure of their power source.

Sounds horrendous. What was the name of that Chelsea bloke that died in copter crash returning from a match, probably back in the 80s? He was their major investor at the time.

Matthew Harding I think.

Matthew Harding

Probably not but probably not near the gist now either.

Sorry if my comment is untimely or inappropriate to you, but, as a reluctant flier, this sort of incident freaks me out.

27-10-2018, 09:07 PM
Was just about to post this. Leicester’s chairman’s helicopter with him inside has crashed. On sky sports just now

Did it actually say he was inside it? BBC saying it's not known whether he was.

Horrific either way.

27-10-2018, 09:11 PM

Horrific either way.

It had landed whilst the post-match analysis was happening on BT Sports and then crashed afterwards so my assumption is that he was on it

27-10-2018, 09:12 PM
It had landed whilst the post-match analysis was happening on BT Sports and then crashed afterwards so my assumption is that he was on it

Yeah does make sense - would be highly likely.

27-10-2018, 09:13 PM
Helicopters are terrifying things. Most other vehicles are designed to withstand a failure of their power source.

Helicopters are designed to be able to land easier than plane with engine failure apparently, however having been on a helicopter just two weeks ago, it certainly make you think doesn't it.

27-10-2018, 09:15 PM

Horrific either way.

Horrific also if you’re in that car park I reckon.

27-10-2018, 09:16 PM

Just imagine even seeing that. Traumatic.

27-10-2018, 09:25 PM

Staff car park as well

speedy_gonzales
27-10-2018, 09:41 PM
Helicopters have autorotation, if their engine fails they still have the ability to land, just as aeroplanes can glide.

Ryan69
27-10-2018, 09:42 PM

So true.

At least in a jumbo...you know it's still able togo 400 or so miles with complete engine failure.

Helicopter...Your Ducked

27-10-2018, 09:43 PM

Matthew Harding joint owner with Ken Bates mid 90s

27-10-2018, 09:45 PM
So true.

At least in a jumbo...you know it's still able togo 400 or so miles with complete engine failure.

Helicopter...Your Ducked
Not from 200 feet!

27-10-2018, 09:50 PM
Really looks an unthinkable, dreadful situation. BT have done tremendously well in their coverage and I’ve no doubt that Gary Lineker found it hard to introduce MOTD just now. Found myself turning over after his introduction, seemed pointless watching the game.

Matthew Harding. Was on the way back from Bolton bearing Chelsea 2-1 in the League Cup at Burnden Park in October 1996 (I was at the game). The anniversary was only 5 days ago.

27-10-2018, 09:51 PM
Surely they must know who was on the helicopter?

Ryan69
27-10-2018, 09:58 PM
Not from 200 feet!

True. But generally

27-10-2018, 10:01 PM
Chairman was on board according to BBC.

A statement will be issued tomorrow.

27-10-2018, 10:06 PM
Chairman was on board according to BBC.

A statement will be issued tomorrow.

BBC saying that there was problems with the helicopter when it landed in the ground.

27-10-2018, 10:24 PM
BBC saying that there was problems with the helicopter when it landed in the ground.

Surely not, couldn’t Imagine any pilot taking off again if there was.

27-10-2018, 10:51 PM
Not good. A tragedy has happened here, regardless of who was on board. It wasn't being flown by an Android ultimately.

28-10-2018, 04:22 AM
Sad times. Looking at the video online anyone onboard won't have stood much chance getting out.

28-10-2018, 06:47 AM
Brutal stuff. Eyewitness account from a fan says it was out of control as soon as it emerged from the stadium.

28-10-2018, 06:54 AM
Still no word on who was on board etc. Seems strange as I’m sure they know by now

28-10-2018, 07:04 AM
Still no word on who was on board etc. Seems strange as I’m sure they know by now

bbc reporting the chairman was on board, not read anything else yet

Bangkok Hibby
28-10-2018, 07:04 AM

If the stories of it "spiralling out of control" are true then it's probably gearbox failure which often stops the tail rotor and sends it spinning to the ground. NO chance of a controlled landing in these circumstances

Bangkok Hibby
28-10-2018, 07:12 AM
Surely not, couldn’t Imagine any pilot taking off again if there was.

Don't know how anybody would know this.
Helicopters companies are duty bound to inform the Civil Aviation Authority of any and all faults and that helicopter is grounded until thorough checks have been carried out. Privately owned though by a billionaire............

28-10-2018, 07:21 AM
Don't know how anybody would know this.
Helicopters companies are duty bound to inform the Civil Aviation Authority of any and all faults and that helicopter is grounded until thorough checks have been carried out. Privately owned though by a billionaire............

Ownership is immaterial, the pilot wouldn’t have taken off again if it had a fault when landing which makes me think that suggestion is nonsense.

Caversham Green
28-10-2018, 07:24 AM

If there have been fatalities they'll want to inform families directly rather then have them hear it on the news or by social media.

Bangkok Hibby
28-10-2018, 07:28 AM
Ownership is immaterial, the pilot wouldn’t have taken off again if it had a fault when landing which makes me think that suggestion is nonsense.

I agree I doubt very much there was a reported fault and how anyone would know anyway.

28-10-2018, 07:30 AM
If there have been fatalities they'll want to inform families directly rather then have them hear it on the news or by social media.

Yeah good point. Just felt with it happening about 12 hours ago then something would have been released by now

28-10-2018, 07:31 AM
Saw some pictures on social media. Horrific stuff. By all accounts the messages I read are saying owner was on helicopter.

28-10-2018, 07:43 AM

Been thinking about this. No life is more or less important than another.

Families should be informed their rights respected and I was wondering whether folks on the ground are included in the number of casualties?

28-10-2018, 07:59 AM

The aviation industry takes safety very seriously.

Whilst there are still accidents and the odd nutter, they almost never cut corners so I agree that this is most likely nonsense.

Billionaires tend to be a bit smarter than to say "aye, f***k it" when asked if they want to travel in a dodgy helicopter.

If the NHS were in charge of the aviation industry planes would fall out of the sky every 5 minutes.

28-10-2018, 08:10 AM
What a tragedy. An horrific end to a fairy tale for Leicester. Such a shame.

28-10-2018, 08:24 AM

Whilst there are still accidents and the odd nutter, they almost never cut corners so I agree that this is most likely nonsense.

Billionaires tend to be a bit smarter than to say "aye, f***k it" when asked if they want to travel in a dodgy helicopter.

If the NHS were in charge of the aviation industry planes would fall out of the sky every 5 minutes.

The NHS - I like my lateral thinking as much as the next man but really? Not really sure what you’re trying to get at here NHS gung-ho attitude to patient safety? but perhaps the diversion ends here.

28-10-2018, 08:26 AM

Your post makes sense apart from the last part which is just a ridiculous comparison to make.

28-10-2018, 08:27 AM
The NHS - I like my lateral thinking as much as the next man but really? Not really sure what you’re trying to get at here NHS gung-ho attitude to patient safety? but perhaps the diversion ends here.

Just that safety is a bit further down the list of priorities than meeting budgets, targets etc.

Look at the "never events" that happen in hospitals etc compared to the aviation industry.

The aviation industry is held up as something to aspire to within healthcare, as they know they can and should do better.

28-10-2018, 08:35 AM
Im pretty sure if the Leicester owner had survived that we would have heard by now. Horrible thing to happen for the family and the football club.

Ryan69
28-10-2018, 08:55 AM
Just that safety is a bit further down the list of priorities than meeting budgets, targets etc.

Look at the "never events" that happen in hospitals etc compared to the aviation industry.

The aviation industry is held up as something to aspire to within healthcare, as they know they can and should do better.

So the Doctors and nurses are pretty unprofessional then?

Certainly hope you dont need their excellent help anytime soon.

28-10-2018, 08:59 AM
Sky News now reporting that the owner was on board.

28-10-2018, 09:00 AM
What is it with helicopters that involves them in more accidents than any other aviation vehicles? Or am I misjudging the facts and statistics,Physics alone suggests they shouldn't actually be able to fly.

Dreadfully sad news.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

28-10-2018, 09:00 AM
reports saying 5 people were on the helicopter, after seeing pictures id be very surprised if any survived, real shame for the families

28-10-2018, 09:03 AM
The owner and his daughter on board, along with 2 pilots and an unidentified fifth person, according to sky news.

28-10-2018, 09:10 AM

That's hardly the fault of the NHS or those who work in it. Responsibility lies with the politicians of all parties for setting those targets and not providing sufficient funds to meet them.

28-10-2018, 09:11 AM
The owner and his daughter on board, along with 2 pilots and an unidentified fifth person, according to sky news.

Dreadful news...

28-10-2018, 09:17 AM
So the Doctors and nurses are pretty unprofessional then?

Certainly hope you dont need their excellent help anytime soon.

They're hugely professional, and are too often let down by not having access to the resources they need to do their jobs to the best of their ability.

Their professionalism and dedication has papered over too many cracks for too long.

It tends to be doctors and nurses who hold opinions like mine in an effort to improve services.

I also hope that I don't need their help any time soon, and I hope that when I do the service is of a high standard. That doesn't tend to be the case when an institution is immune to criticism.

28-10-2018, 09:28 AM
That's hardly the fault of the NHS or those who work in it. Responsibility lies with the politicians of all parties for setting those targets and not providing sufficient funds to meet them.

Precisely.

Which is why I am critical of it as an institution rather than pointing at any individuals who work within it.

The aviation industry isn't underfunded, it takes safety more seriously than any other industry and is an example to all others.

28-10-2018, 09:53 AM
Absolute tragedy. Heart goes out to all affected.
Wild horses would not get me in a helicopter.

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

Bangkok Hibby
28-10-2018, 10:04 AM
Absolute tragedy. Heart goes out to all affected.
Wild horses would not get me in a helicopter.

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

Wish I could say the same. 16 flights a year and although I don't personally know anyone who's died in a crash, I do know people who have lost friends and family. Scary machines indeed.

28-10-2018, 10:12 AM
Complete tragedy for this to happen, obviously they haven't announced much more information with the exception that the chairman, his daughter and 3 other people were on board but in all honesty it doesnt look like there would be any survivors in this accident. It Was quite harrowing watching the video on sky news of the helicopter on fire knowing potentially there would be people inside

28-10-2018, 10:35 AM
I think the fact local hospitals haven’t released any statements saying they are responding to the incident, treating the injured, etc. is pretty telling in terms of there being survivors. You usually get one of those statements pretty quickly after a major incident like this.

28-10-2018, 11:38 AM
Bit ott to drag nhs into this thread about the helicopter incident.Lots of people have been treated and looked after by nhs.

28-10-2018, 11:40 AM
Dreadful that 5 lives were lost but quite amazing that no-one on the ground was killed given the location.

28-10-2018, 11:40 AM
Bit ott to drag nhs into this thread about the helicopter incident.Lots of people have been treated and looked after by nhs.

That’s not up for debate. The comparison being made was perfectly valid imo.

28-10-2018, 11:48 AM
Dreadful that 5 lives were lost but quite amazing that no-one on the ground was killed given the location.

Totally agree very sad as the crash is for those involved this could easily have been so much worse given the number of people who would have been in the area at the time.

28-10-2018, 11:59 AM
Totally agree very sad as the crash is for those involved this could easily have been so much worse given the number of people who would have been in the area at the time.

Agreed, I wonder if the pilot managed to avert a bigger disaster or it was just good fortune in relation to further casualties where it actually came down.

28-10-2018, 01:07 PM

i've had 2 operations with the NHS, can't thank them enough, never had any issue personally with them

28-10-2018, 01:16 PM
Awful indeed, no word as of yet on any deaths or what their conditions are but it doesn't look good.

Thoughts to all the families and everyone connected to LCFC. Puts everything into perspective really.

28-10-2018, 07:28 PM

WTF???? That's a ridiculous and completely inappropriate comment.

28-10-2018, 09:02 PM
Confirmed that five died in the crash including the owner.

28-10-2018, 09:03 PM
Owner died along with four others. Just confirmed by Leicester.

28-10-2018, 09:07 PM
Owner died along with four others. Just confirmed by Leicester.

Sad stuff, never had a chance.

28-10-2018, 09:15 PM
Horrible horrible news.

28-10-2018, 09:22 PM
All five now named, though apparently not yet all been formally identified.

LustForLeith
29-10-2018, 05:12 AM
What now for Leicester? I think they’re trying to cancel their game against Southampton in midweek and they’ve got Cardiff away next week. I can see this having a massive effect on them.

29-10-2018, 05:18 AM
Terrible news , a club that gave everyone hope. A few years ago everyone was willing them on to win cause it was a great story