View Full Version : Tonights games

23-10-2018, 05:32 PM
Champions League

AEK v Bayern
Young Boys v Valencia

Both kicked off early, Valencia 1 up in their game.

Ajax v Benfica
Shaktar v Man City
Hoffenheim v Lyon
Real Madrid v Plzen
Roma v CSKA
Man Utd v Juve

Think I'll probably start with the United Juve match.

Elsewhere, Dundee v Hearts and SJMs boys are at Norwich.

23-10-2018, 05:38 PM
on my way to old Trafford now.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

23-10-2018, 05:38 PM
Bayern game absolutely dire so far.

yonder1875
23-10-2018, 05:49 PM
McGinn is suspended tonight. He was getting rave reviews on Saturday, they’ve all figured out his best asset.. his big arse!!

23-10-2018, 05:49 PM
Bayern game absolutely dire so far.

Bayern are rank. Have them -1 too. 🙄

23-10-2018, 05:54 PM
Bayern have only won one of their previous 5 games. Struggling a bit at the moment, although Im not sure AEK have enough of a threat to get anything out of tonights game. 0-0 at halftime so AEK in with a chance though.

Tynie01011973
23-10-2018, 06:18 PM
Bayern are rank. Have them -1 too. 🙄

Two goals in a minute 😁

23-10-2018, 06:20 PM
Two goals in a minute 😁

As soon as I turned it off scunnered 😀

23-10-2018, 06:45 PM
I switched over to the Young Boys v Valencia game after Bayern went 2 up, YB putting a great performance in, 1-1 in injury time now, but very unlucky not to be in front.

23-10-2018, 06:48 PM
1-0 Hearts

23-10-2018, 06:49 PM
hertz 1 up already ffs

23-10-2018, 06:49 PM
hertz 1 up already ffs

They're going to win the league.

23-10-2018, 06:50 PM
Didn't take Hearts long

23-10-2018, 06:50 PM
Booooooooooooooo!

23-10-2018, 06:51 PM
McGinn not playing for Villa?

23-10-2018, 06:52 PM
McGinn not playing for Villa?

Suspended.

23-10-2018, 06:53 PM
McGeouch starting for Sunderland at Doncaster.

23-10-2018, 07:02 PM
2-0

23-10-2018, 07:03 PM
Game over.

McGeouch starting for Sunderland at Doncaster.

They're not loving McGeouch at Sunderland and there have been a few calls for him to be dropped.

The consensus seems to be that he doesn't really do much. I'm not sure they appreciate the "water carrier" role and expect much more than Dylan brings.

Madness.

Tom Hart RIP
44 years ago tonight I was at Easter Road to watch Hibs v Juventus. We were 2-1 up at half time then they brought Jose Altafini on.
Different world but those were the days when we could compete with the best teams in Europe.

23-10-2018, 07:07 PM
44 years ago tonight I was at Easter Road to watch Hibs v Juventus. We were 2-1 up at half time then they brought Jose Altafini on.
Different world but those were the days when we could compete with the best teams in Europe.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdG49nTw0dI

23-10-2018, 07:08 PM
Dundee miss a penalty. Useless.

23-10-2018, 07:09 PM
Hope Dundee get relegated. Useless ****s.

23-10-2018, 07:11 PM

Thanks for that, I was 14 and came up to Edinburgh on the bus from Galashiels where I met up with my grampa to go to the game.
Great memories of being in awe that Dino Zoff was standing 30 feet in front of me.
When Altafini came on my Grampa turned to me and whispered watch this guy. How right he was!

23-10-2018, 07:12 PM
I'll take a draw in the derby now.

23-10-2018, 07:12 PM
Yes was there as well, remember someone saying to me Altafini was done, not quite that night.

23-10-2018, 07:14 PM

Stop ****ting yourself mate.

23-10-2018, 07:14 PM

Pre Lennon bawless comments like this should result in an automatic ban.

Dundee is going to be an automatic 3 points for pretty much everyone.

23-10-2018, 07:15 PM

😂 man up ffs

Tom Hart RIP
23-10-2018, 07:16 PM
www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdG49nTw0dI

Thanks. Never seen these goals since 👍

23-10-2018, 07:18 PM

Dundee is going to be an automatic 3 points for pretty much everyone.

Tbf Lennons record at Tynecastle is about as grim as any other recent Hibs manager.

I'm not '****ing it' about the derby, just realisitic it's going to be a very tough game and our recent record at Tymecastle is hardly inspiring.

23-10-2018, 07:19 PM
United 0 Juve 1

23-10-2018, 07:20 PM
Just seen the Dundee penalty 🙈

23-10-2018, 07:20 PM
Stop ****ting yourself mate.Not ****ting myself at all, our bad record and their form means I'd take a point.

Dundee is going to be an automatic 3 points for pretty much everyone.Lennon has a terrible record there so far, I don't see how him becoming manager would change anything.

😂 man up ffsA point would be a good result IMO, we're poor there and they will be favourites.

23-10-2018, 07:21 PM
Just seen the Dundee penalty 🙈

It was dreadful.

23-10-2018, 07:27 PM

I would never take a draw against them.

I accept they'll be favourites considering they're top of the league and are probably going into the game 8 points ahead but I won't settle for anything less than 3 points in a derby.

We have the players who can hurt them and score goals. We just need to work out a gameplan to beat them as it's something we have rarely managed to do during my lifetime.

23-10-2018, 07:29 PM
What a strange few days. We were 2 points behind them on Saturday now 8!

23-10-2018, 07:32 PM

I accept they'll be favourites considering they're top of the league and are probably going into the game 8 points ahead but I won't settle for anything less than 3 points in a derby.

We have the players who can hurt them and score goals. We just need to work out a gameplan to beat them as it's something we have rarely managed to do during my lifetime.It doesn't really matter if you'll settle for it or not. That doesn't affect what happens. Same as it doesn't matter what I say. A point would be a positive result no doubt about it.

23-10-2018, 07:32 PM
**** the Hertz

23-10-2018, 07:33 PM
What a strange few days. We were 2 points behind them on Saturday now 8!

Only by virtue of us not having a game tonight.

I'm not worried, their wheels will fall off at some point. Hopefully it's next Wednesday.

23-10-2018, 07:33 PM
We won 3-0 away at Dundee, calm down everyone

23-10-2018, 07:34 PM
Two things.

McGeouch is doing a vital job for Sunderland. They are nil nil just before half time at Doncaster.

Altafini's half hour or so at Easter Road is up there with anything I've seen at ER ( 0-7 and 2.,05.2016 were away from home)

23-10-2018, 07:34 PM
Only by virtue of us not having a game tonight.

I'm not worried, their wheels will fall off at some point. Hopefully it's next Wednesday.

Hope it’s sunday 1st

23-10-2018, 07:35 PM
0-2 city.

Yes was there as well, remember someone saying to me Altafini was done, not quite that night.

Was there also

Doesn''t seem 44 years ago

Shaktar 0 City 2
Hoffenheim 1 Lyon 1
Roma 1 CSKA 0
Madrid 1 Plzen 0

23-10-2018, 07:36 PM

We have the players who can hurt them and score goals. We just need to work out a gameplan to beat them as it's something we have rarely managed to do during my lifetime.

I don’t think there needs to be anything special in terms of game plan.

We just need to go there and actually go for the win. Lennon needs to demand it. The support need to demand it. And the players need to deliver it. They never see a draw against us as a good result and that’s the mindset we need to have.

23-10-2018, 07:36 PM
It doesn't really matter if you'll settle for it or not. That doesn't affect what happens. Same as it doesn't matter what I say. A point would be a positive result no doubt about it.

If it's a draw after being pumped for 90 minutes then of course I'll come away happy we have avoided defeat.

That's a bit different to what you've said though which is you'll take a draw just now, even before a ball's been kicked.

23-10-2018, 07:38 PM
Dundee are going down this season, and I wouldn't count against them doing a Raith. They're really, really terrible.

23-10-2018, 07:43 PM

We just need to go there and actually go for the win. Lennon needs to demand it. The support need to demand it. And the players need to deliver it. They never see a draw against us as a good result and that’s the mindset we need to have.That mindset has helped them to a massive 2 wins in 4 years. Doesn't matter one bit. No impact at all. We can demand whatever we want, makes about as much impact as a child throwing his toys out the pram and crying.

23-10-2018, 07:46 PM
Not worried about Hearts. Strong start sure, but seldom are you hearing about scintillating performances or real quality. They are “strong” but they will definitely fizz out over the course of the season. We are a better team and that will be proven.

23-10-2018, 07:47 PM
Was there also

Doesn''t seem 44 years ago
No it doesn't, lot of water passed under my bridge since then, time flys.

23-10-2018, 07:49 PM
0-3 hearts

23-10-2018, 07:50 PM
I’m not really sure where the certainty that the Jambos will fizzle out soon comes from. They’re showing every sign of consistency and if they beat us in the first Derby, they’ll have every chance of going on to win the league.

23-10-2018, 07:51 PM
That mindset has helped them to a massive 2 wins in 4 years. Doesn't matter one bit. No impact at all. We can demand whatever we want, makes about as much impact as a child throwing his toys out the pram and crying.

In my lifetime they’ve had that mindset and other than the odd season or two they’ve always had the upper hand.

In all those seasons there are plenty times where we’ve had the talent to beat them but they’ve had the desire because the importance of beating Hibs is well and truly drummed in to them.

It does make a difference.

They're going to win the league.

Yup. Lump on it now. Free money. :agree:

Nae legs at it again 0-3

23-10-2018, 07:52 PM

We just need to go there and actually go for the win. Lennon needs to demand it. The support need to demand it. And the players need to deliver it. They never see a draw against us as a good result and that’s the mindset we need to have.

They're happy enough when it leads to a money spinning replay.

23-10-2018, 07:52 PM
I’m not really sure where the certainty that the Jambos will fizzle out soon comes from. They’re showing every sign of consistency and if they beat us in the first Derby, they’ll have every chance of going on to win the league.

Going by Celtics performance on Saturday there's only one team winning this league

23-10-2018, 07:53 PM

No chance.

They'll finish at least 10-15 points behind Celtic by the end of the season.

23-10-2018, 07:54 PM
I agree

Don't think they'll win it but they're a strong side, they could easily finish above us and just saying it wont happen and they'll fizz out means absolutely nothing and is based on nothing.

23-10-2018, 07:54 PM

They won’t win the league but I agree with your point in general. They might not maintain their current form but I don’t think they’ll crash and burn all together. Certainly not based on what I’ve seen so far.

stuart-farquhar
23-10-2018, 08:00 PM
They won’t win the league but I agree with your point in general. They might not maintain their current form but I don’t think they’ll crash and burn all together. Certainly not based on what I’ve seen so far.

So how did they go from mediocre to this good? What's the formula?

Frightening consistency

Fair play

Manchester United absolutely hopeless against Juve here, embarrassing so far. Jose out!

23-10-2018, 08:02 PM

Bought better players than what they had. Surely no that difficult to work out

23-10-2018, 08:02 PM
That Dundee penalty!!!

They are rotten and look like going down

23-10-2018, 08:03 PM

They weren’t mediocre. They were absolutely s***e last season.

In answer to your question I don’t know. They have players who are nothing special on paper but they’re clearly doing something right.

SneakersO'Toole
23-10-2018, 08:05 PM

Keeping clean sheets and being clinical with the chances they create appears to be the formula.

Something Hibs need to improve on.

23-10-2018, 08:06 PM
I agree

Don't think they'll win it but they're a strong side, they could easily finish above us and just saying it wont happen and they'll fizz out means absolutely nothing and is based on nothing.

Derby is a m7st win for us to have much chance of catching them.

23-10-2018, 08:07 PM
Derby is a m7st win for us to have much chance of catching them.

No its no.

23-10-2018, 08:09 PM
Keeping clean sheets and being clinical with the chances they create appears to be the formula.

Something Hibs need to improve on.

Before tonight we’d scored 5 more goals and kept the same number of clean sheets as Hearts.

23-10-2018, 08:10 PM

Ditched last season's team and signed up an entire new first team squad in the summer. There's nobody left in the team from the one which began last season. They've tried the scattergun signing approach a few times to little avail, but I guess the way they've started this season shows that it can sometimes work.

23-10-2018, 08:11 PM
Before tonight we’d scored 5 more goals and kept the same number of clean sheets as Hearts.

No facts allowed.

23-10-2018, 08:12 PM
No its no.

If we go 11 points behind we won’t catch them.

Look at our form in the second half of last season. We still couldn’t catch those in front of us and I don’t think the gap was that big.

23-10-2018, 08:13 PM
Derby is a m7st win for us to have much chance of catching them.3 more derbies, 9 points. No, it isn't. 2 at home are free wins against them.

23-10-2018, 08:14 PM
No facts allowed.

😂😂

23-10-2018, 08:14 PM
They weren’t mediocre. They were absolutely s***e last season.

In answer to your question I don’t know. They have players who are nothing special on paper but they’re clearly doing something right.They weren't that bad once Levein got into them. Beat us twice and finished top 6. They've improved further.

YanYansen
23-10-2018, 08:15 PM

And yet they were five points to the good, and now eight. Seems weird to me that so many people on this board seem totally "aye, they're no that good". I agree with the poster above - if we go 11 behind, we are not catching them.

YanYansen
23-10-2018, 08:16 PM
3 more derbies, 9 points. No, it isn't. 2 at home are free wins against them.

"Free wins"??!! Behave.

23-10-2018, 08:17 PM
And yet they were five points to the good, and now eight. Seems weird to me that so many people on this board seem totally "aye, they're no that good". I agree with the poster above - if we go 11 behind, we are not catching them.

With respect we're a really good team as well. I hate the cliche that "anything can happen" but I do believe that this season.

Before tonight we’d scored 5 more goals and kept the same number of clean sheets as Hearts.Beat me to it mate

Not ****ting myself at all, our bad record and their form means I'd take a point.

Lennon has a terrible record there so far, I don't see how him becoming manager would change anything.

A point would be a good result IMO, we're poor there and they will be favourites.

First game there he got us a draw when we were in the Championship and we followed up with a 3-1 win at ER in the replay.

Second game, the final score was 0-0 but we were denied victory by a the officials failing to spot we'd scored.

We lost a scrappy third game 1-0 with a goal in the dying minutes - a game which Hearts probably put more effort into than they had all season with the sole intention of stopping us making it 10 derbies in a row unbeaten.

Fourth game, granted, we didn't turn up, but could have escaped with a draw.

Coupled with the fact the yams rarely lose on their totsy wee pitch I'm not seeing Lennon's record as especially awful. I don't recall any Hibs manager post-Turnbull doing especially well there.

23-10-2018, 08:18 PM
There wasn’t a chance they’d slip up against Dundee but, by God, they’re getting extremely annoying.

23-10-2018, 08:20 PM
First game there he got us a draw when we were in the Championship and we followed up with a 3-1 win at ER in the replay.

Second game, the final score was 0-0 but we were denied victory by a the officials failing to spot we'd scored.

We lost a scrappy third game 1-0 with a goal in the dying minutes - a game which Hearts probably put more effort into than they had all season with the sole intention of stopping us making it 10 derbies in a row unbeaten.

Coupled with the fact the yams rarely lose on their totsy wee pitch I'm not seeing Lennon's record as especially awful. I don't recall any Hibs manager post-Turnbull doing especially well there.So 2 draws and 2 losses? I agree about the disallowed goal, and the 0-0 was a decent result in the cup but a terrible terrible game. 2 losses were pish.

"Free wins"??!! Behave.Just a joke, relax yourself. Although we've beat them 5 times in a row at home.

YanYansen
23-10-2018, 08:20 PM
With respect we're a really good team as well. I hate the cliche that "anything can happen" but I do believe that this season.

I agree, we are a really good team. I just don't see us making up 11 points on another really good team.

And folk suggesting that the two derbies at ER are six points in the bank are tripping. EDIT: he was joking, scratch that!!

23-10-2018, 08:22 PM

Coupled with the fact the yams rarely lose on their totsy wee pitch I'm not seeing Lennon's record as especially awful. I don't recall any Hibs manager post-Turnbull doing especially well there.

The performances there last season were very, very poor when you consider how superior we were to them in the league. We were miles ahead of them but didn’t turn up in those games really.

23-10-2018, 08:25 PM
"Free wins"??!! Behave.

We've won the last five at ER with the scorelines not always reflecting our dominance. We battered them in each game.

23-10-2018, 08:26 PM
I agree, we are a really good team. I just don't see us making up 11 points on another really good team.

And folk suggesting that the two derbies at ER are six points in the bank are tripping. EDIT: he was joking, scratch that!!

Toughen up mate. 11 points worst case and a game in hand. We beat them at Easter Road, they beat us at Tynecastle. It’s been the way of late so why should us winning at home change.

They are better than last year, no doubt, but I still think we will finish above them

23-10-2018, 08:27 PM
0-3 city.

23-10-2018, 08:28 PM
The performances there last season were very, very poor when you consider how superior we were to them in the league. We were miles ahead of them but didn’t turn up in those games really.

I agree, it was hugely frustrating how poorly we played in a couple of those games. But despite how s**** they were last season only Celtic won a league game at Tynecastle last season IIRC.

23-10-2018, 08:29 PM
Shaktar 0 City 3
Roma 3 CSKA 0
Hoffenheim 2 Lyon 3

23-10-2018, 08:30 PM
Norwich 2 Villa 1

One man team :wink:

23-10-2018, 08:33 PM
Shame they couldn’t do that back in 86 .
Dundee just lost 4 against Livi .
Celtic will pump them on Sunday . Then it’s our chance to totally burst their bubble.

23-10-2018, 08:35 PM
If we go 11 points behind we won’t catch them.

Look at our form in the second half of last season. We still couldn’t catch those in front of us and I don’t think the gap was that big.

11 points behind with a game in hand. Win that and it's back to 8 points. They still need to visit Easter Road and Parkhead. They're clearly a good side by Scottish standards and have improved a lot on last season but this isn't Manchester City we're talking about, it's Hearts.

They won't win the league and I'm not even certain they'll finish 2nd. They'll be closer to us at the end of the season than they will be to Celtic.

23-10-2018, 08:35 PM
I agree, it was hugely frustrating how poorly we played in a couple of those games. But despite how s**** they were last season only Celtic won a league game at Tynecastle last season IIRC.

There was a lot of draws in there for them as well though, I think.
It’s not as if they were blowing teams away.

The cup game you could argue they needed to win to try and save their season but it was still a crap performance from us. And the last game, when we had a lot more riding on it than them, was dreadful.

For me, us turning up and winning there is one of the big things missing from Lennon’s time here.

23-10-2018, 08:36 PM
The missed pen was utterly horrific. He was surely trying to miss?!

23-10-2018, 08:39 PM
So.....hearts won at a pish Dundee by the same score we won at a pish Dundee?

Is it wrong to say both Hibs and Hearts are good teams this season?

23-10-2018, 08:41 PM
Shame they couldn’t do that back in 86 .
Dundee just lost 4 against Livi .
Celtic will pump them on Sunday . Then it’s our chance to totally burst their bubble.

Maybe not, Celtic have a difficult euro game on Thursday.

23-10-2018, 08:42 PM
The missed pen was utterly horrific. He was surely trying to miss?!

Behave.

23-10-2018, 08:43 PM

That's the spirit. At first glance I thought your username was YamYamsen.

The fact we lost at Celtic (hardly a disaster), coupled with wins for those around us, makes the league table look worse than it is. Provided we pick up where we left off against Hamilton when we get back among the more winnable games, our season will take care of itself and under Lennon I'm confident we'll continue to do well. Yes, they're our biggest rivals, but it's important to look at the bigger picture and not focus everything on 'catching Hearts'.

Last season we were 11 points clear of the yams at the start of December. Less than three weeks later they'd cut that gap to two points. Yet after new year we pulled away again and the gap was eventually 18 points. Just shows you how quickly things can change.

23-10-2018, 08:45 PM
Behave.

https://twitter.com/teamdeeuk/status/1054811691140239365?s=21

23-10-2018, 08:47 PM
11 points behind with a game in hand. Win that and it's back to 8 points. They still need to visit Easter Road and Parkhead. They're clearly a good side by Scottish standards and have improved a lot on last season but this isn't Manchester City we're talking about, it's Hearts.

They won't win the league and I'm not even certain they'll finish 2nd. They'll be closer to us at the end of the season than they will be to Celtic.

They absolutely won’t win the league.

11 points would be a big gap to us though. As I said in another post, remember our form last season after Christmas was as good as you’ll ever see from us but we were still short of catching those in front of us.

And I remember the second season in the championship being told that the gap was fine, it was early in the season etc. We went on a brilliant run, got it down to 3 points but couldn’t sustain the form (granted there were other factors).

Not for a minute suggesting they are Man City or anything like that. But neither are we. Our form is actually pretty decent. We’ve won more than half our games. We can perhaps maintain that over the course but really increasing that win percentage would be difficult.

Their form will drop off, but we can’t give them too big a lead IMO because we’ll also drop plenty points.

Beat them and get it down to 5 points and that really gives us a shout at getting after them.

23-10-2018, 08:47 PM
Hearts' next 5 league games are;

Hibs (h)
Celtic (a)
Kilmarnock (h)
St Mirren (a)
Rangers (h)

If they're still 8 points ahead of us and sitting top of the league after those run of fixtures then I'll start to worry.

23-10-2018, 08:49 PM
Hearts' next 5 league games are;

Hibs (h)
Celtic (a)
Kilmarnock (h)
St Mirren (a)
Rangers (h)

If they're still 8 points ahead of us and sitting top of the league after those run of fixtures then I'll start to worry.

Yup. I agree with that.

23-10-2018, 08:52 PM

Yes, that's the one concern. Celtic are likely to lose that one quite comfortably so we just have to hope they pick themselves up, shrug off any travel lethargy and get straight back to the form they've shown in their last two league games. If so, they should win with something to spare at Murrayfield.

23-10-2018, 08:53 PM

Cracking the Tynecastle conundrum is a challenge for all teams in the league.. If this home advantage is down to a fundamental difference in Hearts fans vs the rest of us (seems doubtfull..), than shame on the rest of us for being lame 'home' supporters. If its down to the stadium design, then shame on the rest of us for our lame stadium designs.

If their home advantage is worth an extra 3-6 points to them a season (no idea if it is like!) , than hell mend the rest of us for not trying to work out why..

23-10-2018, 08:55 PM
https://twitter.com/teamdeeuk/status/1054811691140239365?s=21

Jeez, that's woeful. Surely Kenny Miller should be taking spot kicks for a side whose confidence is clearly shot?

23-10-2018, 08:55 PM
Cracking the Tynecastle conundrum is a challenge for all teams in the league.. If this home advantage is down to a fundamental difference in Hearts fans vs the rest of us (seems doubtfull..), than shame on the rest of us for being lame 'home' supporters. If its down to the stadium design, then shame on the rest of us for our lame stadium designs.

If their home advantage is worth an extra 3-6 points to them a season (no idea if it is like!) , than hell mend the rest of us for not trying to work out why..

Jesus Christ........

23-10-2018, 08:56 PM

Not hard to work out why. They play on a child size pitch with a **** surface. Are you suggesting that if every other team adopted a child size pitch with a **** surface they would all be 3-6 points better off?

23-10-2018, 09:08 PM
Hearts are getting into the habit of winning.

23-10-2018, 09:10 PM
Hearts are getting into the habit of winning.

So were we until the 7 in a row champions beat us at home

SneakersO'Toole
23-10-2018, 09:15 PM

But yet, before tonight, they were still five points ahead of us and therefore are making those clean sheets and goals work further for them.

But no facts allowed right?

23-10-2018, 09:19 PM
Folk need to get a grip.

If they go into the last game of the season needing a point at Dens Park to win the league then we all know that's the time for folk to start 5hitting themselves.

Until then we should calm down. We've got a decent team of our own - time will tell if it is better than theirs.

I can't believe the high regard so many of our fans have for them after they have done nothing more than have a decent start to the season.

23-10-2018, 09:40 PM
Dear oh dear!

Bed wetters oot aw ready and it’s no even November?

It’s only Hearts no Juventus!

Keep the faith !

As others have said if Celtic keep playing the way they played on Saturday even without Scott Brown the destination of the League is a foregone conclusion

It is shaping up to be the most competitive League in years and even if the worst should happen next week there is still a lot of fitba to be played and another window to come

23-10-2018, 09:51 PM
So.....hearts won at a pish Dundee by the same score we won at a pish Dundee?

Is it wrong to say both Hibs and Hearts are good teams this season?

Celtic: 2-4 v 1-0
Kilmarnock: 3-2 v 1-0
Livingston: 1-2 v 0-0
Rangers: N/A v 1-3
Aberdeen: 1-1 v 2-1
St Johnstone: 1-1 v 2-1
Hamilton: 6-0 v 4-1
Motherwell: 3-0 v 1-0
St Mirren: 1-0 v 4-1
Dundee: 3-0 v 3-0

Our results aren't too dissimilar, but they seem to have a knack of grinding out difficult wins. A draw at Tynecastle would be a good result given an away win for either side in the derby was over four years ago and that in almost a year and a half they've only lost there once, to Celtic.

23-10-2018, 09:56 PM

When did we last lose a league match at home?

23-10-2018, 09:56 PM
I'm just back from Old Trafford. Utd were, as per this season, garbage. it's so negative and slow. Juve were decent, moved the ball around but didn't really create much bar a couple of De Gea to class saves.

It was hard to tell if Juve were good or the lack of movement and press from Utd made them look better. all in all it wasn't a good game.

23-10-2018, 10:07 PM

So Hearts getting the rub of the green and playing Celtic again on Back of Celtic playing in Europe
Fixtures also have been kind to them So they must be due some bad results to even things out
Would be nice to think Celtic and Us will beat them but they have momentum so the Onus is on Us to do something we rarely do Win at Tynie

23-10-2018, 10:09 PM
I'm just back from Old Trafford. Utd were, as per this season, garbage. it's so negative and slow. Juve were decent, moved the ball around but didn't really create much bar a couple of De Gea to class saves.

It was hard to tell if Juve were good or the lack of movement and press from Utd made them look better. all in all it wasn't a good game.

Thought United improved in the second half but always felt Juve were in command. I thought Juve played pretty well in the first half, United didnt get a kick for the first half hour or so. Pretty much as I expected it to be to be honest, United are what the 4th/5th/6th best team in England against easily the best team in Italy. United aren't on the same level as Juve presently who are comfortably sitting at Europes top table.

23-10-2018, 10:17 PM
But yet, before tonight, they were still five points ahead of us and therefore are making those clean sheets and goals work further for them.

But no facts allowed right?

Wow, five points ahead before tonight? Imagine that.

I'm Spartacus
23-10-2018, 10:21 PM
Celtic: 2-4 v 1-0
Kilmarnock: 3-2 v 1-0
Livingston: 1-2 v 0-0
Rangers: N/A v 1-3
Aberdeen: 1-1 v 2-1
St Johnstone: 1-1 v 2-1
Hamilton: 6-0 v 4-1
Motherwell: 3-0 v 1-0
St Mirren: 1-0 v 4-1
Dundee: 3-0 v 3-0

Our results aren't too dissimilar, but they seem to have a knack of grinding out difficult wins. A draw at Tynecastle would be a good result given an away win for either side in the derby was over four years ago and that in almost a year and a half they've only lost there once, to Celtic.

Wow 12 May 2013 since we last won a league match at Tynecastle.

27 April 2014 since they last won a league match at ER.

Some stat given its nearly 2019!

23-10-2018, 10:26 PM
Not hard to work out why. They play on a child size pitch with a **** surface. Are you suggesting that if every other team adopted a child size pitch with a **** surface they would all be 3-6 points better off?

Do you think they have an advantage playing on a smaller pitch then?

Im suggesting that Tynecastle has a reputation (more so than Easter Road) for being a particular difficult ground in the SPL to play at.

If its true then season after season they may have an advantage from that.

Unless their away from suffers as a result (ie it balances out), then they may be gaining a few points advantage over and above the players ability/manager for some silly reason like a pitch size or a stand steepness or something else. If I was given responsibility for running Hibs Id be keen to look into why that was.

Im not being negative or whatever, just genuinely interested, if Hibs could benefit from working it out then Id be chuffed.

23-10-2018, 10:27 PM

Hearts have always had a brilliant home record. Their pitch is very small making easy to close opponents down quickly and get the ball inti the box, usually to a big CF with another sniffing around to knock the scraps into the net or scream penalty. They recruit players who are suited to this, players who were probably pish everywhere else.

No other team is set up to deal with these tactics and find the whole experience alien to football. Build up momentum and confidence and they become really hard to beat there. They use their pish surroundings wisely. 😡

I'm Spartacus
23-10-2018, 10:27 PM

13 December 2017 v Rangers???
2-1, Stevenson scores first then 2 goals minutes apart before HT

23-10-2018, 10:28 PM

That form for us, is I believe, because we are an excellent football team. Hearts home form is a kind of 'they do well at Tynecastle just because they do well'.

23-10-2018, 10:32 PM
Hearts have always had a brilliant home record. Their pitch is very small making easy to close opponents down quickly and get the ball inti the box, usually to a big CF with another sniffing around to knock the scraps into the net or scream penalty. They recruit players who are suited to this, players who were probably pish everywhere else.

No other team is set up to deal with these tactics and find the whole experience alien to football. Build up momentum and confidence and they become really hard to beat there. They use their pish surroundings wisely. 😡

Fair enough - This at least would suggest why they can be so bad away from home -on the road, they are in effect, playing a different sport.

Hmm. So how do good teams quell these ball in the box tactics? I seem to remember Spurs swatting aside a 'tough tackling' Hearts side a few seasons back.

23-10-2018, 10:44 PM
Fair enough - This at least would suggest why they can be so bad away from home -on the road, they are in effect, playing a different sport.

Hmm. So how do good teams quell these ball in the box tactics? I seem to remember Spurs swatting aside a 'tough tackling' Hearts side a few seasons back.

They’re not invincible at the PBS but their tactics and recruitment are more suited to it than their opponents. Better opponents will obviously have other ways to counteract this. How many long throw experts have Hearts had over the years compared to the rest of Scottish football? They play to get that ball into the box on a small pitch at every opportunity, stack very big physical players into the equation and it’s no surprise they get better results at the wee stadium than venues with proper sized pitches.

23-10-2018, 10:48 PM
Hearts have strong forwards and good at the line out and scrummage with decent place kickers.

23-10-2018, 10:59 PM
They’re not invincible at the PBS but their tactics and recruitment are more suited to it than their opponents. Better opponents will obviously have other ways to counteract this. How many long throw experts have Hearts had over the years compared to the rest of Scottish football? They play to get that ball into the box on a small pitch at every opportunity, stack very big physical players into the equation and it’s no surprise they get better results at the wee stadium than venues with proper sized pitches.

So get a team of Marvin Bartleys and Milligans, and a 7 foot striker and we are in business..

Ill be interested to see how Lennon and the team approach and deal with the upcoming Tynecastle match - I was surprised how bad the team played in the last derby there.

24-10-2018, 12:23 AM
So Hearts getting the rub of the green and playing Celtic again on Back of Celtic playing in Europe
Fixtures also have been kind to them So they must be due some bad results to even things out
Would be nice to think Celtic and Us will beat them but they have momentum so the Onus is on Us to do something we rarely do Win at Tynie

I wouldn't say playing Saturday, Tuesday, Sunday, Wednesday then Saturday again is fixtures being kind, they already won 2 out of the 5. If anything they've been kind to us by our game vs The Rangers has been moved to December.

hibsfan7
24-10-2018, 12:31 AM
I think celtic are going to waste them at Murrayfield. See how they recover from that one...

Cardinal G
24-10-2018, 12:32 AM
They're not loving McGeouch at Sunderland and there have been a few calls for him to be dropped.

The consensus seems to be that he doesn't really do much. I'm not sure they appreciate the "water carrier" role and expect much more than Dylan brings.

Madness.

Just back from Doncaster and tonights performance was much improved from him. Were calls ahead of last away game on saturday for him to be dropped but thankfully Ross stood by him and he's starting to show what he can do.
If im honest playing alongside Cattermole hinders him more than it helps.

24-10-2018, 12:38 AM
I think celtic are going to waste them at Murrayfield. See how they recover from that one...

I wonder if Hearts will try to narrow the pitch. :greengrin

24-10-2018, 01:08 AM

We could easily put an equally big team out against them at the PBS

Bogdan

Ambrose Porteous Hanlon

Bartley Milligan

Boyle Slivka Mallan

Kamberi Shaw

8 tall and strong outfield players to win the midfield, corner and other set play battles.
1 grafting and dangerous speedster (Boyle)
1 free kick and shooting specialist

Look to bring on subs to win the match in the last half hour: McLaren, Horgan, Hyndmann

24-10-2018, 01:14 AM

Surface no longer ****, they spent £1million on a new state of the art (ark?) pitch

hibsfan7
24-10-2018, 01:56 AM
I wonder if Hearts will try to narrow the pitch. :greengrin

I get the feeling there'll be a fair few yam sympathisers in the SRU. Hope Brenda Rogers brings his tape measure with him...

TheHarpy76
24-10-2018, 05:59 AM
Folk need to get a grip.

If they go into the last game of the season needing a point at Dens Park to win the league then we all know that's the time for folk to start 5hitting themselves.

Until then we should calm down. We've got a decent team of our own - time will tell if it is better than theirs.

I can't believe the high regard so many of our fans have for them after they have done nothing more than have a decent start to the season.

Come on now. They’ve had much more than a “decent start to the season”. Claiming otherwise would be churlish in the extreme. If that was us in their place then we would be raving about it.
Do I think they’ll still be there come the end of the season? No, I don’t! But as a poster on another thread said recently, It doesn’t make you a bad Hibs fan by acknowledging that Hearts have made a cracking start.

We’ve also got a good side and had a good start to the season, it’s a testament to how tight it is at the top that after just one defeat at Parkhead we’ve dropped from 2nd to 6th.

24-10-2018, 06:11 AM
I wouldn't say playing Saturday, Tuesday, Sunday, Wednesday then Saturday again is fixtures being kind, they already won 2 out of the 5. If anything they've been kind to us by our game vs The Rangers has been moved to December.

It would have been their choice to play last night. They obviously wanted to get the game played whilst in form.

Our fixtures are too stop start. An additional game in December is hardly kind when it’ll be the complete opposite.

24-10-2018, 07:07 AM
It would have been their choice to play last night. They obviously wanted to get the game played whilst in form.

Our fixtures are too stop start. An additional game in December is hardly kind when it’ll be the tiaras opposite.

:agree: Lennon was right, our fixture list is awful. Only slight benefit it gives our injured players a chance to get fit (but not match fit).

Yams are doing amazingly well with a team that's lost it's best/influantial 3 players. Would be like us losing Kamberi, Efe and Milligan. A win at the PBS would be great, but not losing is vital IMO.

rotherhamrob
24-10-2018, 07:17 AM

Talking about long throws, in the clips before milligan signed, I seem to remember him having a good long throw-in, I'm surprised we haven't
Used it at times.

24-10-2018, 08:08 AM
Serious point about the size of the pitch at Murrayfield on Sunday.

Who decides?

SFA, SPFL,some obscure committee, Murrayfield groundsman, negotiation between the clubs?

Will the pitch dimensions be publicised?

Poster who suggested Brenda takes his tape measure is spot on.

24-10-2018, 08:15 AM
Serious point about the size of the pitch at Murrayfield on Sunday.

Who decides?

SFA, SPFL,some obscure committee, Murrayfield groundsman, negotiation between the clubs?

Will the pitch dimensions be publicised?

Poster who suggested Brenda takes his tape measure is spot on.

I would think making it the same size as Hampden (if possible) would be the obvious thing to do but who knows. Knowing the SFA they’ll just get someone to roughly guess lining it out.

24-10-2018, 08:15 AM
:agree: Lennon was right, our fixture list is awful. Only slight benefit it gives our injured players a chance to get fit (but not match fit).

Yams are doing amazingly well with a team that's lost it's best/influantial 3 players. Would be like us losing Kamberi, Efe and Milligan. A win at the PBS would be great, but not losing is vital IMO.

That battering ram Ikpeazu has scored 1 goal.

24-10-2018, 08:19 AM
Come on now. They’ve had much more than a “decent start to the season”. Claiming otherwise would be churlish in the extreme. If that was us in their place then we would be raving about it.
Do I think they’ll still be there come the end of the season? No, I don’t! But as a poster on another thread said recently, It doesn’t make you a bad Hibs fan by acknowledging that Hearts have made a cracking start.

We’ve also got a good side and had a good start to the season, it’s a testament to how tight it is at the top that after just one defeat at Parkhead we’ve dropped from 2nd to 6th.

Agree. Hearts are a good side who have had an incredible start. We’re a good side who have had a very good start.. People claiming that their luck will run out or they will fall away soon are just hoping that’s the case while the evidence doesn’t suggest that at all, much in the same way there’s no evidence to suggest it’ll happen to us either.

24-10-2018, 08:24 AM
That battering ram Ikpeazu has scored 1 goal.

Probably set up more than he scored though as well as him just being a physical presence.

As someone else has said doesn’t make you a bad hibby to admit they’ve had a brilliant start.

24-10-2018, 08:25 AM
Surface no longer ****, they spent £1million on a new state of the art (ark?) pitch

Presumably they can still make it **** for visits by good footballing teams, though, as they did for Celtc when they grew grass too long?

24-10-2018, 08:35 AM
Probably set up more than he scored though as well as him just being a physical presence.

As someone else has said doesn’t make you a bad hibby to admit they’ve had a brilliant start.

Losing Naismith would be their equivalent to us losing Kamberi. Losing Ikpeazu would be a blow for them but it's not on the same level.

They have had a brilliant start, no question.

24-10-2018, 08:35 AM
Ikpeazu looked a handful but he has made room for Potters preferred front two in the veteran Maclean and ratboy Naismith they also have good back up in Clare and Wighton. FairPlay their scattergun recruitment policy appears to have worked for them and luck appears to be on their side so far so good but somethings got to give a big test for them at the weekend will be a very interesting contest between a flying Hearts and a resurgent Celtic. HIBS on the other hand will have a good rest and hopefully be able to pick up the pieces next Wednesday

24-10-2018, 09:06 AM
If we were going to play Celtic in a semi I'd want it right after they played a European away game. Their captain is also out so they've landed lucky. I'd still expect Celtic to beat them. I thought they were outstanding against us and seem to be getting into their stride. If Hearts progress to the final I'll 100% stop being dismissive of them and start taking them more seriously. That would be the result of the season so far imo.

24-10-2018, 09:18 AM
If we were going to play Celtic in a semi I'd want it right after they played a European away game. Their captain is also out so they've landed lucky. I'd still expect Celtic to beat them. I thought they were outstanding against us and seem to be getting into their stride. If Hearts progress to the final I'll 100% stop being dismissive of them and start taking them more seriously. That would be the result of the season so far imo.
If they get past Celtic I would still take The Rangers to beat them at Hampden under Stevie G.
I don’t rate Aberdeen and Hearts always seem to sit back against their big brothers :greengrin

24-10-2018, 09:32 AM

You've summed it up pretty well there. They've played 2nd ball football for many seasons now & Celtc were totally baffled & destroyed by it last season. What I think they've added this season is more speed & athleticism & within their Tiny confines they are actually using width with their full backs. However even after last night's world class performance they remain 14/1 to win the league. No doubt a few posters on here have filled their boots already. :wink:
PS, I was at ER on Monday, I have never seen our pitch look so good.

24-10-2018, 10:00 AM

It certainly would be a great result but one I can't see them getting easily.

I think it's definitely time to stop being dismissive of them as whenever I've seen their highlights they look the real deal and the table doesn't lie. They've recently dispatched Aberdeen and Dundee even though they've lost Berra, Soutar, Haring and that big boy up front, arguably four of their best performers this season.

It would be silly not to recognise their progress but what's telling is that a lot of them are recognising ours too. They know it won't be a given for them in the derby and we're more than capable of beating them.

To be honest, I'm finding this all quite refreshing, seeing all these non old firm teams near the top of the league. It probably won't last but I'd rather be chasing Hearts right now than Celtic, who have another set of gears they can move through

24-10-2018, 10:29 AM

It can seem that way, but I don't think it's true if you go back to the days before they boxed the pitch in with those steep, tin-pot stands - and even then they've had seasons where they've lost plenty at home (eg their recent relegation season, the Cathro era), while Celtic have dished out a few hidings to them (7-0, 5-0...).

As you suggest, though, they've turned the wee pitch to their advantage under Levein.

24-10-2018, 11:44 AM
Some jumbos are talking about winning the treble now....:rolleyes:

24-10-2018, 12:04 PM
HC If the Hearts win the treble I will take you out for a slap up feed at the Restaurant of your choice with as much drink as you can consume and we can talk about all things HIBS and of course toast Hearts I am that confident of it no happening ��

YanYansen
24-10-2018, 12:28 PM

Lol. They've got a shot in both cups, but the league? I think they're forgetting that Celtc had an uncharacteristically indifferent start, and I also would think that if Celtc look in any danger by the time the January window opens, some serious money will be spent.