View Full Version : Glasgow City v Hibs League Decider?

21-10-2018, 02:20 AM
Live coverage on Alba at 4pm today

Good luck to the ladies..

21-10-2018, 02:25 AM
this week is far more important than last weeks clash....a win this week could mean the ladies version of the holy grail :) :flag:

21-10-2018, 09:30 AM
this week is far more important than last weeks clash....a win this week could mean the ladies version of the holy grail :) :flag:

Slight difference in scale as the last league win was 2007, but fingers crossed.

21-10-2018, 09:41 AM
I’m sure I read (probably on here) that this could be the last opportunity Hibs and Glasgow City have to win the league. I think Celtic are going professional next season and are pumping a relative amount of cash into the team so it will be difficult for Hibs and Glasgow City to compete in future.

21-10-2018, 09:48 AM
I’m sure I read (probably on here) that this could be the last opportunity Hibs and Glasgow City have to win the league. I think Celtic are going professional next season and are pumping a relative amount of cash into the team so it will be difficult for Hibs and Glasgow City to compete in future.

I hope not.

That would ruin the game up here by removing any semblance of competition. Celtc need to do enough to have their team at the same level or slightly above Glasgow City and Hibs, but no more, as a three way challenge will help raise standards.

Think back to this season's league cup final. How entertaining was that mismatch?

21-10-2018, 09:54 AM
I hope not.

That would ruin the game up here by removing any semblance of competition. Celtc need to do enough to have their team at the same level or slightly above Glasgow City and Hibs, but no more, as a three way challenge will help raise standards.

Think back to this season's league cup final. How entertaining was that mismatch?

If they want to compete in Europe then being as good as the other two won’t help. Going professional should help raise our national team standards though.

21-10-2018, 10:57 AM
great news for the Ladies :agree:

https://scotwomensfootball.com/scotland-to-be-awarded-two-places-in-2019-2020-uefa-womens-champions-league/

Scotland are set to be granted two places in next season’s UEFA Women’s Champions League.

21-10-2018, 11:01 AM
Slight difference in scale as the last league win was 2007, but fingers crossed.

as already stated sellick have decided to want it all by chucking cash towards their ladies team....good old fashioned competition is now ******, this season really could be our last chance to win it for a number of more years

21-10-2018, 11:40 AM
If they want to compete in Europe then being as good as the other two won’t help. Going professional should help raise our national team standards though.
Do you seriously expect that Celtic will ever be able to 'compete' in Europe if they play all their league matches against amateurs?

The only way forward is with a core of professional teams. Celtic throwing loads of money at it will not achieve that. They will struggle to attract the players they need in a non-competitive league.

21-10-2018, 12:44 PM
great news for the Ladies :agree:

https://scotwomensfootball.com/scotland-to-be-awarded-two-places-in-2019-2020-uefa-womens-champions-league/

Scotland are set to be granted two places in next season’s UEFA Women’s Champions League.

Do we not already have 2 places. I'm sure Hibs got beat in a preliminary round last season.

21-10-2018, 12:59 PM
Do we not already have 2 places. I'm sure Hibs got beat in a preliminary round last season.

yeah i do remember them playing a tie at ER recently (bayern munich ?) that article just came out on friday and i can't understand it myself now

21-10-2018, 01:06 PM
yeah i do remember them playing a tie at ER recently (bayern munich ?) that article just came out on friday and i can't understand it myself now

We lost the second place last season.

21-10-2018, 03:08 PM
Coverage started

Bbc focusing on nothing but Glasgow City

Good to know things are no different in the ladies game

21-10-2018, 03:11 PM
gie the ba tae harrison

21-10-2018, 03:13 PM
Watching now

21-10-2018, 03:14 PM
We lost the second place last season.

ta, my memory is all over the place as per, so it must have been last year they played the german club at ER

21-10-2018, 03:17 PM
Wow that was bad

1-0 City

21-10-2018, 03:17 PM
oh dear 1-0 glasgow

21-10-2018, 03:35 PM
Mon the Hibs. Let’s win this.

Glasgow City got gubbed midweek in a tough CL tie and I’d hope we could take advantage.

21-10-2018, 03:45 PM
mallan and slivka need to step up their performance in midfield

21-10-2018, 03:57 PM
HT job half done for the home side

21-10-2018, 04:14 PM
mallan and slivka need to step up their performance in midfield

Not in the game so far.

21-10-2018, 04:17 PM
What a miss by Hibs.

21-10-2018, 04:18 PM
aw man she put it over :(

aw woman rather

21-10-2018, 04:18 PM

Not in the game so far.

Decent chance there though. Just lobbed over the bar.

21-10-2018, 04:19 PM
What ground is this being played at, don’t recognise it

21-10-2018, 04:21 PM
What ground is this being played at, don’t recognise it

Petershill Park.

21-10-2018, 04:22 PM
Petershill Park.

Ta

21-10-2018, 04:24 PM
Few chances but a bit messy

21-10-2018, 04:32 PM
yassss :thumbsup:

1-1

Goooaalll

Good corner

21-10-2018, 04:33 PM
Get in there!!

Really like that centre half's all round play.

did that come off her hand ? :greengrin

2-1. Howling defending.

Oh jeez

oh dear.

What a comical goal

What is the goalie doing

21-10-2018, 04:34 PM
ah well that's the winner for glasgow now, that was so poor losing straight away

21-10-2018, 04:35 PM
Jeez... How far behind is my iplayer? Hibs just scored and GC just now scored :rolleyes:

21-10-2018, 04:39 PM
McGregor is a honey

21-10-2018, 04:39 PM
Jeez... How far behind is my iplayer? Hibs just scored and GC just now scored :rolleyes:

We won this game 4-2 Jack, we're playing rangers next week now.:wink:

21-10-2018, 04:40 PM
A goalie howler in women's football?

Shocker :greengrin

Crunchie
21-10-2018, 04:42 PM
Suzanne err yeah naw Lappin is a wee bit annoying naw? I don't think she can say a sentence without either/all of those words.

Heckys Wheel
21-10-2018, 04:43 PM
I’m all for woman’s football growing and developing but this is f***ing awful.

21-10-2018, 04:44 PM
13 mins left, 2-5-3 now, go for it :)

21-10-2018, 04:45 PM

they're normally a tad more composed tbf

21-10-2018, 04:48 PM
Abi Harrison is a very good player

21-10-2018, 04:48 PM

Still better than Hamilton v the huns from earlier though!

21-10-2018, 04:49 PM
Just had a look on TV and there doesn't seem to be a lot of interest in the game, crowd wise.

Maybe if the Glasgow team adopted one of the sectarian personas of their male counterparts, the neanderthals might start following them as well.

21-10-2018, 04:54 PM
******* penalty you west of scotland referee you

Handball.

:agree: hoof

HibeeHibernian4
21-10-2018, 04:57 PM
Blatant penalty not given, same old Weegies, always cheating.

21-10-2018, 04:59 PM
yet another league win for the glasgow ladies, and probably our ladies best chance to win it for many years to come now

Doomed I Tell Yi!

Blatant penalty not given...

21-10-2018, 05:00 PM
A bit like watching the men v Hearts. We are trying to play all the football(not much mind you) and when we get past a man we are hacked down. Glasgow just hoofing and playing channels. I keep trying to watch women's football but it is like watching a decent U14 lads game without the aggression.

21-10-2018, 05:48 PM
aw man she put it over :(

aw woman rather

Genuine question here.

I've noticed that when I watch football I come out with a lot of references to "big man" and "son" etc.

I watched the game earlier on and really enjoyed it, but it is difficult to make similar comments without it sounding sexist or unkind?

How do you refer to female footballers in an appropriate way?

(I watched the game with Mrs Smartie who was equally clumsy).

21-10-2018, 05:53 PM
Genuine question here.

I've noticed that when I watch football I come out with a lot of references to "big man" and "son" etc.

I watched the game earlier on and really enjoyed it, but it is difficult to make similar comments without it sounding sexist or unkind?

The lady commentator described a last man foul as a last man foul during the game. Think there's a classic danger of being a bit too pc here.

21-10-2018, 05:55 PM
Genuine question here.

I actually think people worry too much about it.

I realise there are some folk out there determined to condemn your every word due to perceived prejudice, even if no offense was intended, but IMO they're best ignored.

21-10-2018, 05:56 PM
I actually think people worry too much about it.

I realise there are some folk out there determined to condemn your every word due to perceived prejudice, even if no offense was intended, but IMO they're best ignored.
You tell'em auld yin......😉

21-10-2018, 05:57 PM
You tell'em auld yin......��

That is just soooooo ageist

-------------

My son told me that I needed to be more "woke", so I said, "stop being so Narcoleptophobic".

21-10-2018, 06:02 PM
What was the final score anyone? 🤔

21-10-2018, 06:05 PM
Genuine question here.

personally, one instance was the first glasgow goal which went through the legs of the hibs keeper, i was going to type the keeper really needs to keep her legs closed, but i thought twice about it as it somehow would have came across as non-pc by some, i'm well aware the language of female lady players would leave me with my fingers in my ears, even though i always curb my language when in the company of females

21-10-2018, 06:06 PM

2-1 to Glasgow

21-10-2018, 06:07 PM
What was the final score anyone? 🤔2-1 Glasgow

21-10-2018, 06:07 PM

Pretty please.

21-10-2018, 06:09 PM
2-1 Glasgow
Cheers mate

Appreciate it

Thanks for that

Been trying to work it out

21-10-2018, 06:12 PM
personally, one instance was the first glasgow goal which went through the legs of the hibs keeper, i was going to type the keeper really needs to keep her legs closed, but i thought twice about it as it somehow would have came across as non-pc by some, i'm well aware the language of female lady players would leave me with my fingers in my ears, even though i always curb my language when in the company of females

I once went on a night out with my wife (girlfriend at the time) and her former colleagues from Queen St Station.

I have never been so shocked and embarassed... I'm only now starting to get over the experience.

:paranoid:

p.s. They were all good Catholic Girls from Coatbridge

21-10-2018, 06:13 PM
I once went on a night out with my wife (girlfriend at the time) and hee former colleagues from Queen St Station.

I have never been so shocked and embarassed... I'm only now starting to get over the experience.

Was your wife in the railway?

21-10-2018, 06:15 PM
I feel gutted for Hibs Women.
The League Championship is the ultimate, and to come so close and miss out after such a great campaign is difficult to take.
It will be hard for the girls to lift themselves, but consolation hopefully lies in The Cup Final.

21-10-2018, 06:19 PM
Was your wife in the railway?

Yep, she was a Scotrail Employee for a few years, over a couple of spells. Ticket Checker at Queen Street barriers mostly, but on the trains on Saturday.

Isn't that who you work for, HC?

21-10-2018, 06:20 PM
I once went on a night out with my wife (girlfriend at the time) and hee former colleagues from Queen St Station.

having had a relationship with a woman from that neck of the woods i'm not at all surprised :) but tbf the lack of manners in the female population is not restricted to that area alone...sadly

21-10-2018, 06:25 PM
having had a relationship with a woman from that neck of the woods i'm not at all surprised :) but tbf the lack of manners in the female population is not restricted to that area alone...sadly

Maybe, but Coatbridge girls are a class apart

Newcastlehibby
21-10-2018, 06:32 PM
Thought our goalie was poor at both goals, particularly the first. I cannot see where the foul was that got our equaliser disallowed.

I thought it was an enjoyable watch, apart from the result.

21-10-2018, 06:40 PM
The lady commentator described a last man foul as a last man foul during the game. Think there's a classic danger of being a bit too pc here.

She also named a “man of the match”

21-10-2018, 06:40 PM
Yep, she was a Scotrail Employee for a few years, over a couple of spells. Ticket Checker at Queen Street barriers mostly, but on the trains on Saturday.

Isn't that who you work for, HC?

No, not anymore. Was with Scotrail for over 10 years.

21-10-2018, 06:42 PM
No, not anymore. Was with Scotrail for over 10 years.

Ah, OK.

21-10-2018, 07:21 PM
at last some good news on the Hibernian front this weekend

Congratulations to the Hibernian Girls Academy U23’s on winning the SWFL Division 1 South Title, they won it in style by beating Rangers 7-0

21-10-2018, 07:55 PM
A poor game from both today.

BegbieHSC
21-10-2018, 08:12 PM
A poor refereeing decision has ultimately cost Hibs a vital game. Sound familiar?

21-10-2018, 08:17 PM
Anyone questioning the quality of the Ladies game v the Mens should have a look at the millionaires of Inter v Milan tonight..... It's been horrendous!!!

21-10-2018, 10:12 PM
A scrappy game, and I thought our team played below their usual standards.

Still got the cup final to look forward to however.