View Full Version : Match Updates Celtic v Hibs

Pages : 1 [2] 3

20-10-2018, 03:22 PM
Lennon said Porteous had a bruised foot and wanted McGregor as he's more mobile lol

Porteous could be on crutches and he’d probably still be more mobile than Daz.

WOO HOO 2-1 Kamberi

Get in

slivka picks up a loose ball at the edge of the box, shoots and it deflects just wide of the post with Gordon having already dived the opposite way

20-10-2018, 03:23 PM
Game onnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn nn

Yessssssssssssss. ****ing great goal from Flo

yassssssssss flo :thumbsup::thumbsup:

renato
What a finish, stunner from Flo

vahibbie
Game on. MON THE HIBS

Peach 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

Screamer Flo, 2-1

Cracker, brilliant from Flo.

Porteous could be on crutches and he’d probably still be more mobile than Daz.

Haha even I thought Lennon was joking when he said it before the game.

20-10-2018, 03:24 PM
fantastic goal from the left side of the box around 10 yards out across goal to the opposite top corner.

Yaaaasssss. Great pass, tremendous finish!

Class goal, still think we need a few subs

We should be about 4 or 5 down , if they can get something out of this its some job

C'mon the hibs

Starting to pick up more balls in midfield now by the look of things

boyle can be so wasteful

20-10-2018, 03:26 PM
Flo us the man
Lets get another

Mallan yellow card.

Come on the hibs, let's get something from this

Daylight robbery if we sneak something. It's happened to us though

20-10-2018, 03:27 PM
Off the post again, we are riding our lick but still hanging on in there

sellick hit post again

Celtic hit post again with defence posted missing.

20-10-2018, 03:28 PM
Ffs 3-1

20-10-2018, 03:28 PM
all over now. 3-1

20-10-2018, 03:29 PM
Daylight robbery if we sneak something. It's happened to us though

Yup!

Now sitting here with a Dick Turpin mask, black and white stripey pullover and a big bag marked SWAG.

Oh b@@@er, they scored as I was typing.
Drat! And double drat!

Forrest 3-1 Celtic????

That is shameful

St Mirren 1-2 Killie

St Mirren with an equaliser ruled out a minute after Killie score an apparently dubious goal (not over the line?).

FFS Milligan needs to do better there

Why no subs ?

20-10-2018, 03:30 PM
That is pathetic again

Now keep it tight and leave with a 3-1 defeat

Also, do everyone a favour and take McGregor off. Milligan should have smashed him

hfc-1875
Jesus how’s Milligan not making that, or even taking one for the team. Poor

Game over, easy break down Celtic right and cut back for simple finish

FFS Milligan needs to do better there

Needs to bring him down once he knows he is beat. [emoji35]

nickwhibs
St Mirren 1-2 Killie

St Mirren with an equaliser ruled out a minute after Killie score an apparently dubious goal (not over the line?).

Bad Saturday all round 👎

renato
20-10-2018, 03:31 PM
Needs to bring him down once he knows he is beat. [emoji35]

Yep, very unlike him but he has to take him out there

20-10-2018, 03:31 PM
Bad Saturday all round 👎

Yep all results going against us, the rangers win tomorrow we're down to 6th I think

Maybe not!!

YanYansen
20-10-2018, 03:32 PM
Sigh. We'll be sixth by the time the Huns have pumped Hamilton the morn. The derby is looking massive now. We really have to win at Tynecastle.

3-2 now still can get something out this game :nlgwa

Goooaalll

3-2 Boyle

Boyler with a class goal.

3-2 Boyle!!!

whittaker on for Milligan

This thread is hilarious. Mon Hibs!

20-10-2018, 03:33 PM
3-2 boyle

C'mon the hibs

Cmon we can still do this!!!!!!

Mental

vahibbie
3-2.....still in with a shout. Stranger things have happened.

Tf is going on

game on again boyler :greengrin

neat chip over gordon

Lovely again 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

If we do go on to get beat one thing that's clear is we never know when we're beat!!! COME ON

20-10-2018, 03:34 PM
Some game. Got to hand it to the players we never give up. Just a pity we have been so poor and the back

Nevi_SOL
Composure from Boyle there 👌🏼

If we do go on to get beat one thing that's clear is we never know when we're beat!!! COME ON

Wish we could say the same for some on this thread.

20-10-2018, 03:35 PM
Wish we could say the same for some on this thread.

😅

Hibspirational
Come on!!!!!!

Switiching my phone off as everytime i close the thread ae score. Coming back on at 6pm to a win.

Bowing down to noone

Naw, my stream is down again, cmon Hibs let's do this lot!!!

20-10-2018, 03:36 PM
Livi 3-0 Dundee

Penalty Hearts (9 bookings in that game!!!).

Missed!

Green&White
Great finish from boyle. Bizarre sub tho. At that point we were 3-1 down. Surely Shaw or McLaren are the choice to bring on and go for it?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

We have no right to still be in this game.

No matter what happens from here, the players deserve massive credit for clawing their way back into this game, and it augurs well for the season that they've clearly got the cojones and never say die attitude that takes you places.

Livvi now 3-0.

20-10-2018, 03:37 PM
Sitting here waiting on the wife to finish her work and listening on the radio, sounds like a crazy as hell game, great goals, crap defending, mad tactics, still can't believe we're still in this game.

20-10-2018, 03:37 PM
Finger nails gone. Nails on one foot gone. Only five nails remaining, hope there's no extra time or else my elbows are in danger.

Cme Hibs!:flag:

20-10-2018, 03:39 PM
Stewart talking up our game -and rightly so.

20-10-2018, 03:40 PM
Sounds like some game, changed days where we could be a couple down and just sit back

Finger nails gone. Nails on one foot gone. Only five nails remaining, hope there's no extra time or else my elbows are in danger.

Cme Hibs!:flag:

I'm calling this out for what it is – a transparent boast about your flexibility.

at least we're winning the 2nd half so far :)

20-10-2018, 03:43 PM
I'm calling this out for what it is – a transparent boast about your flexibility.

Pit may be a boast my friend, but believe me, it ain't easy hanging from the ceiling light, juggling four bananas and cooking your dinner at the same time.

20-10-2018, 03:43 PM
Dundee have asked Neil McCann to come back, said it was all a mistake

20-10-2018, 03:44 PM
brilliant save from Bogdan

Green&White
Why are we leaving to so late to bring on fresh legs? We need to go for it. Not much point being happy losing by 1 goal

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

Great save Bogdan, had a good game

20-10-2018, 03:46 PM
jamie mac on....at last

Game over now.

Come on Aberdeen:-(

Jamie Mac coming on, Emerson off

20-10-2018, 03:47 PM
Why bring McLaren on now, 15 mins too late

4-2

ACH get Tae ****

Every Celtic goal today has been terrible defending

Top three?

Don't make me laugh

20-10-2018, 03:48 PM
i think that was poor from Daz 4-2

Nevi_SOL
Why Porteous never started is beyond me

Top three?

Don't make me laugh

Still think we're good enough for top 3 imo

Daz has been very poor today.

renato
Daz literally walked through there, awful

hibIBZ
20-10-2018, 03:49 PM
Defending has really let us down today. Look solid on the ball and scored 2 good goals, but defending has been criminal

Top three?

Don't make me laugh

Judging by your posts it would be quite difficult to make you laugh tbh

Top three?

Don't make me laugh

We had not conceded a goal in our previous three matches.

We haven't played Hearts or Rangers yet

Celtic could have easily have won 6-2 today

Top three?

Don't make me laugh

These match threads are best avoided because of ***** like you.

Why Porteous never started is beyond me

Bruised foot.

At least BullsClose will be happy :rolleyes:

We've responded well in the second half, but we're getting what we deserve out of the game.

Livi 4-0 Dundee - all defenders on the score-sheet.

Motherwell 0-1 St Johnstone

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy

Top three?

Don't make me laugh

Have you ever noticed how ever fan says that about every goal their team concedes?

If celtic play to their potential, which by the sounds of it they habe today, then they will almosy ceetainly win, particularly at home.

And? Still think we're good enough for top 3

20-10-2018, 03:50 PM
Why did Lenny play McGregor?

That is mental

Top three?

Don't make me laugh

I agree that the goals have been bad, but we won't defend this badly very often.

Unfortunately it has come away to the champions, which was always going to be a tough game.

We've done well to make a game of it today, defending as badly as we have, and tbh I'm pretty encouraged by the way today has gone. We could and should have been pumped.

Ambrose especially has been all over the place today imo.

Shows how much we really need a fit Gray, hopefully this new guy gets fit quickly as I'm fed up experimenting with Slivka or anyone else playing at RB.

Eaststandee
Defensively we are really lacking at the moment, worrying indeed.

you are one of the most negative posters on this board

20-10-2018, 03:51 PM
And? Still think we're good enough for top 3

What's that based on?

DTS
Porteous has to be in front of Mcgregor every week, he’s lost a bit of pace and porteous is the better player now. Stupid starting formation and poor defending cost us today. Been more than a match for Celtic since we went to a flat 4. Should see the end of 3-5-2

Defensively we are really lacking at the moment, worrying indeed.

We hadn't conceded in 3...

What's that based on?

Based on what I've seen from us so far this season

These match threads are best avoided because of ***** like you.

Yup. Total troll imho.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
20-10-2018, 03:52 PM
Yup. Total troll imho.

That is mental

Probably because Hanlon and Porteous are injured?

That is mental

Porteous = bruised foot

Both of those teams are not even close to being as good as Celtic. Worried not about playing either of them.

We played the worst 3 teams in the league

These are the acid tests and we've failed the first one

McGregor not match fit, Efe having a bad Efe day, Slivka then Milligan at RB, too many players going missing in bigger games.

Celtic will once again walk the league. They are where we want to be. Anyone who thinks otherwise are mental. We are all disappointed when we lose and even when at celtic park which is a sign of our improvements. I will most likely stay away from the board tonight as the usual hysterical folk will be out in force.

20-10-2018, 03:53 PM
Porteous = bruised foot

Sore one

Either way it shows he's a reasonable back up now

thank goodness for the woodwork

Yawn

See you next week

Celtic at parkhead isn't an acid test. An acid test is against team who'll be closer to us in the league

These are the acid tests and we've failed the first oneOh bore off back to Brokeback...u actually revel in it when we get beat...some hibs fan u are

20-10-2018, 03:54 PM

Top 6 for definite, top 3 would be remarkable. Celtic and Hearts look extremely strong, which means we will have to keep Rangers (and Killie and Livi) at bay to get 3rd. Defensively we look vulnerable, will be interesting to see how we shapeup against Hearts. Just dont think we are much good at keeping a game tight, so unless we get the shotgun out goals wise Tynecastle could be a bit of a downer..

20-10-2018, 03:54 PM

Don't talk *****. Celtic on form at home beat anyteam in this league and most alot easier than they did today.

20-10-2018, 03:55 PM
Lennon had a shocker with the team selection then spent most of the first half changing it about to try and sort it. Blame lays with him for this one.

By the way I do think Hibs will be in the top 5 this season

Top 3 I just don't think its happening

The derby is a huge game now

beating celtic was a tall order but they will be right up for the hearts game

The Rangers also failed then in their acid test v Celtic yet you are quoting them and Hearts failed in theirs V The Rangers.

20-10-2018, 03:56 PM
Don't talk *****. Celtic on form at home beat anyteam in this league and most alot easier than they did today.

It would help if Lenny stopped fannying about with the team

I'm cool with a change but come on give us a chance

The first 30 minutes was a doing

Fair play to Hibs for the second half but the damage was done

Bangkok Hibby
20-10-2018, 03:56 PM
Suicidal first 15 minutes. It's not all bad. Celtic at home is a big ask for any team. With a back 4 on form we'll finish top three.

20-10-2018, 03:57 PM

3 defenders injured so his options were limited today

it clearly wasnt seeing as we got back to within a goal

If we're going to lose to anyone it may as well be Celtic. They'll walk league by miles again. Hate losing but we don't do it very often to be fair.

Disappointing result but happy we managed a couple of goals. Lennon needs to have a rethink to his chopping and changing. A few players also guilty of playing the occasion and not the game.

Learn and move on. GGTTH.

Lennon had a shocker with the team selection then spent most of the first half changing it about to try and sort it. Blame lays with him for this one.

it was tactics

to stop sellick wanting him :)

20-10-2018, 03:58 PM
I think cover for Gray was brought on too late, obvious Whittaker is not good enough to start and when we have injuries we can't go 3 at the back, poor by Lennon today, should've left well alone.

Eaststandee

So the defensive display today didn't worry you? i hope it was just a blip.

Lennon had a shocker with the team selection then spent most of the first half changing it about to try and sort it. Blame lays with him for this one.Yup and for all the praise he gets and rightly so most of the time...he doesn't half get it wrong sometimes in big games and he has again today. He really needs to stop tinkering with starting 11s and formations in such big games...thinking semi v Aberdeen, Tynie 3 times last season, today are a few that spring to mind. That 1st half cost us today

20-10-2018, 03:59 PM
Celtic's £9 million pound striker...

Good effort today Hibs - yes defensively we weren't the best but again least we are giving it a go away from home.

We never gave up but Celtic back in form and will be over taking Hearts before we know it.

Defensively we were a shambles. Lennon set us up all wrong to begin with imo. Second half we were far better and showed we could have got something today had we maybe started better.

Sorry to say this cause I love him but Daz looked really poor. I hope that's just lack of sharpness etc but I fear it's more than that.

horseflesh
Top 6 for definite, top 3 would be remarkable. Celtic and Hearts look extremely strong, which means we will have to keep Rangers (and Killie and Livi) at bay to get 3rd. Defensively we look vulnerable, will be interesting to see how we shapeup against Hearts. Just dont think we are much good at keeping a game tight, so unless we get the shotgun out goals wise Tynecastle could be a bit of a downer..
That’s a pile of absolute rubbish! Not a prayer the watery farts will finish in the top 4

3 defenders out today. Some perspective needed

The tactics at the start lost us that game IMO

I think cover for Gray was brought on too late, obvious Whittaker is not good enough to start and when we have injuries we can't go 3 at the back, poor by Lennon today, should've left well alone.

how could he leave well alone when gray and porteous are both injured? yes slivka isnt a wing back but apart from that the team selection was ok, some players were just crap

Bangkok Hibby
20-10-2018, 04:00 PM
Celtic's £9 million pound striker...

Good effort today Hibs - yes defensively we weren't the best but again least we are giving it a go away from home.

We never gave up but Celtic back in form and will be over taking Hearts before we know it.

What he said :flag:

WillowbraeHibby
20-10-2018, 04:00 PM
Yup and for all the praise he gets and rightly so most of the time...he doesn't half get it wrong sometimes in big games and he has again today. He really needs to stop tinkering with starting 11s and formations in such big games...thinking semi v Aberdeen, Tynie 3 times last season, today are a few that spring to mind. That 1st half cost us today

Spot on..

Deejk107
20-10-2018, 04:01 PM
Think we played really well 2nd half and I still feel confident we're better than Hearts. I just think our days of being able to play 3 at the back are gone since losing the strength in midfield we had with McGinn and McGeouch. Slivka was the only player i'd criticize after that display. Looked like he had no idea what he was doing for the majority of the game, wandering aimlessly around the halfway line like a lost wee boy.

20-10-2018, 04:01 PM
Celtic will be way out in front. Not much between Hibs and Huns for second and Hearts now a decent shout for 4th.

20-10-2018, 04:03 PM
If we go to Glasgow and at least try and play, we seem to be getting closer to getting something!
Bad start to the game cost us, they could have buried us, but we dug in and got near to them!
Its only one game, if we keep playing this well, who knows what might happen!!!

20-10-2018, 04:04 PM
how could he leave well alone when gray and porteous are both injured? yes slivka isnt a wing back but apart from that the team selection was ok, some players were just crap

Porteous on the bench so not totally injured, a bruised foot Lennon said, he also said McGregor gave him more mobility at the back? Strange thing to say I must admit. Milligan in the middle gives us so much strength there, why change that.

20-10-2018, 04:04 PM
Think we played really well 2nd half and I still feel confident we're better than Hearts. I just think our days of being able to play 3 at the back are gone since losing the strength in midfield we had with McGinn and McGeouch. Slivka was the only player i'd criticize after that display. Looked like he had no idea what he was doing for the majority of the game, wandering aimlessly around the halfway line like a lost wee boy.Very harsh on Slivka when he gets shunted all over the place...maybe if our manager actually played him in his correct position once in a while??

20-10-2018, 04:06 PM
Im struggling to think what he should done today so if the tactical geniuses here could help me Id be grateful. Gray, Hanlon and Porteous all injured so there was always going to be players out of position against the nest team in Scotland by a mile. So if someone could tell me, and Neil, what would have been better then Im sure we'd both be grateful.

20-10-2018, 04:07 PM
Porteous on the bench so not totally injured, a bruised foot Lennon said, he also said McGregor gave him more mobility at the back? Strange thing to say I must admit. Milligan in the middle gives us so much strength there, why change that.

probably on the bench due to having no other CH's close to the first team, again he had no one else to play at the back hence milligan playing there, why would he risk porteous, first kick on the foot and he would probably have had to go off, personally id have went with 4 at the back but hey ho

Not there today.

Poor first half from us by all accounts.

Still, we are Hibs, we suck it up and move onto the next game.

A win next week and our world will be much more cheery. After all, they are singing they "will not be moved".

Come on Hibs.

Im struggling to think what he should done today so if the tactical geniuses here could help me Id be grateful. Gray, Hanlon and Porteous all injured so there was always going to be players out of position against the nest team in Scotland by a mile. So if someone could tell me, and Neil, what would have been better then Im sure we'd both be grateful.

he could have went with a back 4?

stantonsboots
20-10-2018, 04:08 PM

That is mentalPorteous has a bruised foot

20-10-2018, 04:08 PM
Disappointing result in the end - didn't think Celtic were as good as we made them look - our lack of pace at the back is worrying as is the amateur defensive behaviour at times, our link up play going forward is too often poor as well ... some decent individual performance, Bogdan in particular - on that wide open park we really should make more of our strengths going forward though -

20-10-2018, 04:09 PM
In regards to defence I would've thought the best option to go with, bearing in mind injuries, would've been Ambrose at RB, Milligan and McGregor CB, and Stevenson where he was. Strange start all around and as always we don't know the full story or don't have much insight as to how players perform in training in difficult to judge. Lennon did say however he only had the full team in for training yesterday.

20-10-2018, 04:12 PM

Exactly. Said it before game started, strange starting 11 & formation.

Im struggling to think what he should done today so if the tactical geniuses here could help me Id be grateful. Gray, Hanlon and Porteous all injured so there was always going to be players out of position against the nest team in Scotland by a mile. So if someone could tell me, and Neil, what would have been better then Im sure we'd both be grateful.He should have stuck to 4 at the back that's served us so well this season...4 clean sheets in a row before today?? But to suddenly change back to a back 3 and losing Milligan out the midfield was a ridiculous decision and again not the first time he's done this in a big match. I love Lenny but am a bit fed up with his tinkering for certain big matches...it's cost us twice at Hampden under him and at Tynecastle at end of last season and again today. He should have stuck to a back 4

Think we played really well 2nd half and I still feel confident we're better than Hearts. I just think our days of being able to play 3 at the back are gone since losing the strength in midfield we had with McGinn and McGeouch. Slivka was the only player i'd criticize after that display. Looked like he had no idea what he was doing for the majority of the game, wandering aimlessly around the halfway line like a lost wee boy.

Disagree, in the first half at least he took the ball in and brought it down to look for a pass and was very composed. Mallan on the other hand just volleyed it up in the air when it came to him

20-10-2018, 04:13 PM
he could have went with a back 4?
Of who? Whittaker, everyone slating him. The new guys? Not match fit? Milligan, midfield was overrun without him. Slivka getting it tight. Leaves us very short of bodies to play anywhere. Some of the criticism without actually thinking about what to do differently is unbelievable

dear admins

any chance we can get a sticky, Ryan Porteous has bruising i've never saw so many posts letting everyone know the reason it was safest to leave him out, but STILL some are going on about why he wasn't playing FFS pay attention

and breathe

Defensively we were a shambles. Lennon set us up all wrong to begin with imo. Second half we were far better and showed we could have got something today had we maybe started better.

Sorry to say this cause I love him but Daz looked really poor. I hope that's just lack of sharpness etc but I fear it's more than that.

With every respect to Daz it may be best for him if this was his last season at this level. He’s a club hero but I’d prefer Efe, Paul, Ryan and even Milligan to him now and I want him to have a heroes departure from us. He’s been amazing for us but with Porteous being such a talented youngster he’s in danger of being surplus to requirements.

Deserves a huge send off though.

20-10-2018, 04:14 PM
By the way I do think Hibs will be in the top 5 this season

Top 3 I just don't think its happening

The derby is a huge game now

Derby is always a huge game. Nothing new there then.

20-10-2018, 04:14 PM
By all accounts we played our part in the game of the season. Bit frustrating some of our problems seem to have been self inflicted but against a rampant Celtic it's hard to have a 100% mistake free afternoon. It had been a recurring issue late last season and early this season though so maybe we need to look for common factors.

We scored 2 good goals and showed plenty heart and resolve to keep plugging away; plenty teams would have lost by 5 or 6 to nothing today. For all Celtic have had a 'bad start' it would be brave to bet against them being top in 2 or 3 weeks. They are hitting their stride and won't give away many points in the coming weeks.

A wee break now to get players back fit and onto the derby. 4 at the back and a stronger 11 available and we'll give them a game.

20-10-2018, 04:15 PM
dear admins

any chance we can get a sticky, Ryan Porteous has bruising i've never saw so many posts letting everyone know the reason it was safest to leave him out, but STILL some are going on about why he wasn't playing FFS pay attention

and breatheLennon said pre match on radio he was fit enough to play...he just preferred McGregor??

20-10-2018, 04:16 PM
By all accounts we played our part in the game of the season. Bit frustrating some of our problems seem to have been self inflicted but against a rampant Celtic it's hard to have a 100% mistake free afternoon. It had been a recurring issue late last season and early this season though so maybe we need to look for common factors.

We scored 2 good goals and showed plenty heart and resolve to keep plugging away; plenty teams would have lost by 5 or 6 to nothing today. For all Celtic have had a 'bad start' it would be brave to bet against them being top in 2 or 3 weeks. They are hitting their stride and won't give away many points in the coming weeks.

A wee break now to get players back fit and onto the derby. 4 at the back and a stronger 11 available and we'll give them a game.

Spot on. I thought it was a cracking game. Michael Stewart said it's the best he's seen this season and was full of praise for Hibs:

'Game of the season' at Celtic ParkFT: Celtic 4-2 Hibernian

https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/96/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2017/5/27/f8153c55-d888-4fc2-88e3-5bf8681866da.jpg

Michael Stewart
Former Scotland midfielder at Celtic Park

What a game of football. It's the game of the season so far, for me. Two sides that really just threw everything at it. Hibs never looked like a defeated team and I've got to give them a lot of credit because Celtic, on that form, would've blown away most teams.
Other teams wouldn't have been able to live with Celtic on that form.

20-10-2018, 04:23 PM

We were far better after Lennon tinkered with the shape after half an hour. Lennon himself saw he had made a mistake and did pretty well getting us into a position where we had a chance of getting something from the game, albeit it was never deserved. That has happened a number of times in big games, as has been said, and Lennon has been forced to swap shapes very early.

So Neil could tell you, as he made changes to sort out his starting line up which was being completely overrun.

Can't blame him too much today as we were up against the best team on their home turf and we had a bunch of injuries to key players. There were quite a few positives today with Daz coming back and McLaren. Yes Daz was very poor but you would expect him to be rusty and the shape made things worse with Efe playing poorly not helping.

Why was Efe captain, Surely Lewis or Daz

20-10-2018, 04:25 PM
We were far better after Lennon tinkered with the shape after half an hour. Lennon himself saw he had made a mistake and did pretty well getting us into a position where we had a chance of getting something from the game, albeit it was never deserved. That has happened a number of times in big games, as has been said, and Lennon has been forced to swap shapes very early.

So Neil could tell you, as he made changes to sort out his starting line up which was being completely overrun.

Can't blame him too much today as we were up against the best team on their home turf and we had a bunch of injuries to key players. There were quite a few positives today with Daz coming back and McLaren. Yes Daz was very poor but you would expect him to be rusty and the shape made things worse with Efe playing poorly not helping.

Is the captain’s armband really that important?

20-10-2018, 04:26 PM
Why was porteous on bench if he was injured?

Heckys Wheel
20-10-2018, 04:27 PM

It’s not. Which makes bypassing the regular two stand ins a strange decision.

20-10-2018, 04:28 PM
Scored 2 goals at Parkhead whilst losing to the team that has won the league for the last 7 years.

A few vital injuries in squad and McGregor obviously a bit rusty after a lengthy lay off plus International layoff giving Lenny little time to work with most of the squad.

A bit of perspective please, we tried, entertained, we lost but it’s not the end of the world.

Loads of time to prepare for Tynie, looking forward to it.

20-10-2018, 04:31 PM
Scored 2 goals at Parkhead whilst losing to the team that has won the league for the last 7 years.

A few vital injuries in squad and McGregor obviously a bit rusty after a lengthy lay off plus International layoff giving Lenny little time to work with most of the squad.

A bit of perspective please, we tried, entertained, we lost but it’s not the end of the world.

Fair play Hearts are top of league but indeed perspective and there is no way I fear playing Hearts at all compared to playing Celtic. Bring on the Jambos.

20-10-2018, 04:32 PM
Of who? Whittaker, everyone slating him. The new guys? Not match fit? Milligan, midfield was overrun without him. Slivka getting it tight. Leaves us very short of bodies to play anywhere. Some of the criticism without actually thinking about what to do differently is unbelievable

ambrose, milligan, mcgregor and stevenson. bartley could easily have sat in front, very rarely has he let us down, lennon had option available but thought that was the best starting formation for some reason

20-10-2018, 04:34 PM

And that was what I was getting at. Yes he changed things during the game and Im sure if he thought that they were the best course of action originally he would have started that way. My point was more about the criticism without really acknowledging, as you have done, the issues we had with personnel today. Parhead is the hardest place for any team to go to just now and we have once again shown that we can play there and score goals. On our day we are still the best of the rest with celtic miles in front

20-10-2018, 04:37 PM

Wow, the voice of reason from you!!:dizzy: But you're right and it's not often that I say that about you!!

20-10-2018, 04:41 PM
Really poor defensively. Midfield were non existent when we didn’t have the ball.

Two good goals we scored. When we got the second we never got the ball back to launch an attack of any sort. Disappointing.

20-10-2018, 04:56 PM
Spot on. I thought it was a cracking game. Michael Stewart said it's the best he's seen this season and was full of praise for Hibs:

'Game of the season' at Celtic Park

FT: Celtic 4-2 Hibernian

https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/96/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2017/5/27/f8153c55-d888-4fc2-88e3-5bf8681866da.jpg

Michael Stewart

What a game of football. It's the game of the season so far, for me. Two sides that really just threw everything at it. Hibs never looked like a defeated team and I've got to give them a lot of credit because Celtic, on that form, would've blown away most teams.

Stewart a neutral observer provides a more objective & positive take on Hibs performance.

Dancehibs
20-10-2018, 04:57 PM
Really poor defensively. Midfield were non existent when we didn’t have the ball.

Two good goals we scored. When we got the second we never got the ball back to launch an attack of any sort. Disappointing.

Fair assessment. IMHO Lenny picked wrong formation. First big test for Milligan, he looked like a 33 year old that couldn’t find a club. Expecting big improvement at PBS. Rest of midfield didn’t perform

20-10-2018, 04:58 PM
Fair assessment. IMHO Lenny picked wrong formation. First big test for Milligan, he looked like a 33 year old that couldn’t find a club. Expecting big improvement at PBS. Rest of midfield didn’t perform

there was at least 4 players who were worse than milligan

20-10-2018, 05:01 PM

I think that is a wee bit harsh on Milligan. We got pulled about all over the place in there and it wasn’t entirely down to him. We were far too lightweight and had too many players out of position IMO.

20-10-2018, 05:01 PM

Don't get that post

20-10-2018, 05:02 PM
The positives were very positive today, eridicate some of the negatives and we will be ready for Tynecastle.

20-10-2018, 05:04 PM
Stewart a neutral observer provides a more objective & positive take on Hibs performance.

Was a very decent game, Hibs poor first half, but never thought we were out of it. Great save by Gordon just before HT was crucial. Having said that Celtic played well and might have scored a lot more, I really thought they stepped it up today and would have swept most teams away.

20-10-2018, 05:04 PM

***** assessment of Milligan

20-10-2018, 05:05 PM
Celtic played at their best today. They're a better team then we are player for player so they won.

We're not going to win every game, especially not away from home to a team that has won back to back trebles.

Folk could really do with cutting the team a bit of slack here, imho. Especially when you consider the injuries we're contending with.

Dancehibs
20-10-2018, 05:05 PM
I think that is a wee bit harsh on Milligan. We got pulled about all over the place in there and it wasn’t entirely down to him. We were far too lightweight and had too many players out of position IMO.

He’s ment to be expirenced head protecting defence. The cut through him and he could cope with runners. Collectively the midfield was very poor

Dancehibs
20-10-2018, 05:06 PM
***** assessment of Milligan

In your opinion

20-10-2018, 05:11 PM
He’s ment to be expirenced head protecting defence. The cut through him and he could cope with runners. Collectively the midfield was very poor

They were poor collectively, that’s why I wouldn’t single Milligan out.

The shape of the team was just all wrong. Glad to see Lennon take responsibility for that.

20-10-2018, 05:12 PM

collectively, yet you single out milligan? more rubbish from you

Dancehibs
20-10-2018, 05:14 PM
collectively, yet you single out milligan? more rubbish from you

Thanks for your feedback. I’m assuming you were at the game

20-10-2018, 05:14 PM
In your opinion

Of course it’s my opinion from being at the game

20-10-2018, 05:15 PM

It was a makeshift lineup today. We didn’t really recover from the poor formation until we were 2 down.

20-10-2018, 05:15 PM

'Game of the season' at Celtic ParkFT: Celtic 4-2 Hibernian

Michael Stewart

Spot on from probably my favourite pundit. We gave Celtic a good game today but they unfortunately turned on their style today. Celtic would have humped Hearts and The Rangers playing the way they did today. Still confident we are a better side than Hearts and will finish ahead of them.

20-10-2018, 05:16 PM
Thanks for your feedback. I’m assuming you were at the game

you would be assuming wrong, what has that got to do with anything? i seen the game

KDY Hibs
20-10-2018, 05:16 PM
Celtic played at their best today. They're a better team then we are player for player so they won.

We're not going to win every game, especially not away from home to a team that has won back to back trebles.

Folk could really do with cutting the team a bit of slack here, imho. Especially when you consider the injuries we're contending with.

20-10-2018, 05:25 PM
I expect I can save myself a lot of time by not reading the thread and assuming that most people are being level headed and balanced about today but a range of the usual roasters are victimising one player or another and/or casting gloom in the usual ill informed way?

20-10-2018, 05:25 PM
I expect I can save myself a lo of time by not reading the thread and assuming that most people are being level headed and balanced about today but a range of the usual roasters are victimising one player or another and/or casting gloom in the usual ill informed way?

Absolutely spot on 😂

20-10-2018, 05:26 PM
I expect I can save myself a lo of time by not reading the thread and assuming that most people are being level headed and balanced about today but a range of the usual roasters are victimising one player or another and/or casting gloom in the usual ill informed way?

👌

20-10-2018, 05:27 PM

I think it can be. It can also be too much to bear for some players and Efe was poor by his usual standards today. It could also make Daz and Lewis think why they didn't get it when they were more obvious choices. Just seemed an odd one and thought there may have been a reason.

20-10-2018, 05:27 PM
Absolutely spot on 😂

Imagine my surprise...

20-10-2018, 05:29 PM
When we had the ball the midfield knocked it about really well but when not in possession we seemed to be letting runners in all over the place.

Plenty of positives for a makeshift team.... lets just suck it up. Would rather watch us play like that then fecklessly give up and concentrate on damage limitation.

20-10-2018, 05:29 PM

Michael Stewart

Having not seen the game I'd be inclined to listen to this take on the game ahead of the habitual hysterical pant-pishers on this forum who seem to only surface when things aren't going well.

Sounds promising.

Roxyhibee
20-10-2018, 05:32 PM

Michael Stewart

Thanks for posting this - been out all day and couldn’t get a handle on what was going on. Seems to have been summed up accurately by someone who would have gladly reported if we were garbage or the game was awful. Not anything as disastrous as some would have us believe.

20-10-2018, 05:36 PM
Thanks for posting this - been out all day and couldn’t get a handle on what was going on. Seems to have been summed up accurately by someone who would have gladly reported if we were garbage or the game was awful. Not anything as disastrous as some would have us believe.

wasnt disastrous but some of the defending wasnt great, yes it was a make shift defence but all are experienced players and the celtic players went passed as though they werent there, that being said we played well in parts and gordon had a couple of decent saves to make, especially one from boyle, celtic hit the post about 4 times though and bogdan had a really good game. it was probably the correct result bit not one we obviously wanted

GreenProfessor
20-10-2018, 05:38 PM
Was at the game today....we showed great resolve getting back into it, but really Celtic should have blown us away. They missed a couple of one on ones (great saves by Bogdan) and hit the woodwork at least twice. The finishes for our goals were sublime...

Big shout out to our support today, they were phenomenal. I had to sit in section 118 and was desperate to join in with the singing.

Gaffer1875
20-10-2018, 05:40 PM
Disappointing result but enjoyed the second half performance. No need to the smokers in the toilets at half time, rank!

20-10-2018, 05:46 PM
Any links for the goals?

SingaporeHibs
20-10-2018, 05:51 PM

Interesting quote from MS. I watched the game on TV but even while watching the 2nd half in particular it was hard to know what the hell was going to happen next. I thought it was a very poor start by us but even then we created a couple of decent chances. The first half dominated by Celtic and our defence looked poor. Second half was better and we looked dangerous at times, scoring when we did each time we looked capable of scoring again but just when I thought we were looking at our best we were hit by another sucker punch. On each occassion the defending was poor. Defending was our downfall today. In hind sight it wasn’t the day to bring Daz back in, as much as I rate him, it wasn’t his day and likely Porteous should have started. Would it have made a difference? Who knows. It’s all if’s and buts. Overall, we lost at Parkhead with a few forced changes. There isn’t anything to be too depressed about, we move on and another big game awaits. The extra days may help players get fit again.

DetroitHibs
20-10-2018, 05:51 PM
Totally irrelevant what players or formation we used today. Celtic on that form weren't going to drop points to us. Felt we played well in the second half and looked good in spells.

20-10-2018, 05:55 PM
Totally irrelevant what players or formation we used today. Celtic on that form weren't going to drop points to us. Felt we played well in the second half and looked good in spells.

To an extent, gotta give yourself a chance. If you can score twice you can win or draw.

I think we'll learn alot from today though, important to move forward and get at least a draw next time before beating st Johnstone.

SingaporeHibs
20-10-2018, 06:00 PM
In your opinion

And mine. Not a game to judge him when his partner at the back was clearly having a shocker. And BTW, I have as much bro love for big Daz as anyone but today he had a shocker on his return from injury. I’ll not be making him a 3rd rate defender anytime soon so why would I do that for Milligan.

20-10-2018, 06:09 PM
I don’t think there’s been many others (if any) who’ve faced Celtic at Parkhead this season when they hadn’t come off the back of a midweek European game. Maybe the fixtures have been a bit unkind to us. However, the team selection was a bit baffling especially with McGregor playing from the start for his first match in a long while after injury. We move on, GGTTH

Aritch
20-10-2018, 06:18 PM
Any links for the goals?

kamberi goal https://streamable.com/j86d0

Boyle goal https//streamable.com/wwboa

Edit: I'm on my phone and can't link properly

20-10-2018, 06:23 PM
kamberi goal https://streamable.com/j86d0

Boyle goal https//streamable.com/wwboa

Edit: I'm on my phone and can't link properly

Cracking goals.

20-10-2018, 06:26 PM
The real thing to take away from today is Boyle scored 1 v 1 with the goalie. That's ****ing unbelievable.

20-10-2018, 06:30 PM
Disappointing result but enjoyed the second half performance. No need to the smokers in the toilets at half time, rank!

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThis is getting really annoying at all away games now tbh

20-10-2018, 06:34 PM
I think it can be. It can also be too much to bear for some players and Efe was poor by his usual standards today. It could also make Daz and Lewis think why they didn't get it when they were more obvious choices. Just seemed an odd one and thought there may have been a reason.

I imagine Lennon wanted to let Celtic fans know they’ve lost a good player and that he trusts him Backfired a wee bit.

Roxyhibee
20-10-2018, 06:46 PM
wasnt disastrous but some of the defending wasnt great, yes it was a make shift defence but all are experienced players and the celtic players went passed as though they werent there, that being said we played well in parts and gordon had a couple of decent saves to make, especially one from boyle, celtic hit the post about 4 times though and bogdan had a really good game. it was probably the correct result bit not one we obviously wanted

Fair enough 👍

jakedance
20-10-2018, 07:13 PM
I enjoyed the game. I don’t think we deserved anything from it but we created some good chances, even in the first half when we didn’t start well, and we scored two fine goals. We’ve played better this season but Celtic had a good day and made it tough for us. They’re good at getting in behind you. It’s tough to take anything at Celtic so I’m fairly happy to come away having seen a good game (and free hospitality tickets helped). At 3-2 we looked like we might get a point.

20-10-2018, 07:29 PM
Could Brown have been sent off for the foul right at the start of the game?

I’ve not seen it mentioned anywhere, and not seen it back, but I thought Hyndman was clean through.

20-10-2018, 07:54 PM
According to the radio there were other defenders about but Hyndman was taken down in the act of shooting so a red could well have been awarded.

Further mention of it seemed to get lost in the welter of goalmouth incidents in the first twenty minutes or so.

Hopefully either highlights or opinion of some of those who were at the game might help. Could have altered the whole outcome of the game, in my opinion.

Montford
20-10-2018, 07:57 PM
Was stuck up the back of 119 today so, although a good view, a bit away from the action
Thought it looked like Brown should’ve been red (was it Kamberi, about to take a pop at goal - clear opportunity- ref bottled it)
About 5 mins later, and I think it was Boyle, got completely sythed from behind about 25 yards out as he was bombing into the box. Ref bottled a card in Benkovic I think. A blatant a booking as you’ll see. Every 50/50 went to the home side. Until we were 2 goals down then on occasion the ref would let us play on.
Stevenson a weak link. At fault for second goal. Gave ball away when an easy pass was on. It’s like he doesn’t know what to do with the hall until he gets it. Most semi decent players are already anticipating their next move..
Really really frustrated when 3-2 down, he was breaking down the left... loads of options, Kamberi cleverly ran the channel and opened up an acre of space for a simple pass to be rolled on to him just outside the box.. would’ve been one on one with the keeper. Stevenson just slows down, stops the ball.. turns and misplaced a pass backwards into the midfield
Not good enough at this level, and we’ll never step up to the next level with these characteristics
Left back needs sorted
On another note, thought Horgan was magnificent.. really grew into the game and got more and more confident. So much that all the home fans were gettin very tetchy every time he got the ball in the second half.

jakedance
20-10-2018, 08:02 PM
I thought a booking was about right for the Brown foul.

20-10-2018, 08:02 PM
Was stuck up the back of 119 today so, although a good view, a bit away from the action
Thought it looked like Brown should’ve been red (was it Kamberi, about to take a pop at goal - clear opportunity- ref bottled it)
About 5 mins later, and I think it was Boyle, got completely sythed from behind about 25 yards out as he was bombing into the box. Ref bottled a card in Benkovic I think. A blatant a booking as you’ll see. Every 50/50 went to the home side. Until we were 2 goals down then on occasion the ref would let us play on.
Stevenson a weak link. At fault for second goal. Gave ball away when an easy pass was on. It’s like he doesn’t know what to do with the hall until he gets it. Most semi decent players are already anticipating their next move..
Really really frustrated when 3-2 down, he was breaking down the left... loads of options, Kamberi cleverly ran the channel and opened up an acre of space for a simple pass to be rolled on to him just outside the box.. would’ve been one on one with the keeper. Stevenson just slows down, stops the ball.. turns and misplaced a pass backwards into the midfield
Not good enough at this level, and we’ll never step up to the next level with these characteristics
Left back needs sorted
On another note, thought Horgan was magnificent.. really grew into the game and got more and more confident. So much that all the home fans were gettin very tetchy every time he got the ball in the second half.
Hibs level is winning the odd cup and finishing top 4. Lewis has achieved all that here, he is good enough because he has proved it. Did left back need sorted when we beat Celtic last season, Lewis playing brilliantly and getting an assist?

I ****ing despise when we play well for weeks and one loss means players aren't good enough. Absolute ****. Lennon has had 5 windows to replace him and hasn't. So do you not trust Lennon?

H18S NX
20-10-2018, 08:12 PM
Tommy Boyd wanted Hyndman booked for diving,clown.

Montford
20-10-2018, 08:12 PM
Hibs level is winning the odd cup and finishing top 4. Lewis has achieved all that here, he is good enough because he has proved it. Did left back need sorted when we beat Celtic last season, Lewis playing brilliantly and getting an assist?

I ****ing despise when we play well for weeks and one loss means players aren't good enough. Absolute ****. Lennon has had 5 windows to replace him and hasn't. So do you not trust Lennon?

Would you rather have drawn 3-3 today or lost 4-2
For me Hibs level isn’t winning the odd cup every 100 years
It’s about growing and developing into a championship challenging side
I’m sure Lennon wants the same. I saw his reaction and frustration to the simple missed passes today. He feels it too

20-10-2018, 08:14 PM

I'd rather have won the game myself but that wasn't one of the options given

20-10-2018, 08:14 PM

Yeah, that was all down to Lewis 😂 what absolute nonsense.

Montford
20-10-2018, 08:23 PM

Fine margins if you want to stay at the top end of the league.

20-10-2018, 08:41 PM

The wee fellah will be disappointed with his game today, I’m sure.
He wasn’t at his best and the poster has a point about his forays forward this afternoon. Took the sting out by regressing out of a couple of promising moves.
I’m not berating him, I love him to bits. Just wasnae much cop today though.

20-10-2018, 08:41 PM
Fine margins if you want to stay at the top end of the league.

No, you win as a team, lose as a team at every level.

20-10-2018, 08:51 PM
Apologies, wasn't at the game and not read the thread, but is it true that Celtic only committed two fouls? Hibs committed 18 fouls.

20-10-2018, 09:14 PM
Apologies, wasn't at the game and not read the thread, but is it true that Celtic only committed two fouls? Hibs committed 18 fouls.

It might be the case that the referee gave only two fouls against them. Not the same thing.

Free kicks to Hibs were extremely rare, even when fouls seemed blatant. Think there were more than two though. Mallan had two directs at goal first half.

20-10-2018, 09:15 PM
It might be the case that the referee gave only two fouls against them. Not the same thing.

Free kicks to Hibs were extremely rare, even when fouls seemed blatant. Think there were more than two though. Mallan had two directs at goal first half.

That was the only 2

20-10-2018, 09:19 PM
That was the only 2

Jeez. Not that I was counting but that’s worse than anyone could take.
There was a foul on Milligan first half, 10 yards off the corner of our box and he played advantage. I tried to understand. I couldn’t.

20-10-2018, 10:04 PM
Reading a few Celtic fans on Twitter very complimentary of us and our performance. Best away performance in years according to one.

Make of that what you will.

20-10-2018, 10:31 PM
Reading a few Celtic fans on Twitter very complimentary of us and our performance. Best away performance in years according to one.

Make of that what you will.

They couldn’t have been at the 2-2 game last year. We were a lot better than today.

What I will say is that we are the only team who at least try to go toe to toe with them. Bit disappointed today but at least we don’t lie down to them.

20-10-2018, 11:09 PM
I love a match day thread, especially those who pish their breeks whenever we lose a goal.

We went toe to toe against the best team in our league by a mile, and we matched them for long periods.Of course we were going to concede, and we had a weakened side out, but forget all that, we are supposed to win every ****in game,no mattter who we play against.

We are a good side, not the best side, but we have a team and management who will take us forward.:top marks

Montford
20-10-2018, 11:10 PM
The wee fellah will be disappointed with his game today, I’m sure.
He wasn’t at his best and the poster has a point about his forays forward this afternoon. Took the sting out by regressing out of a couple of promising moves.
I’m not berating him, I love him to bits. Just wasnae much cop today though.
You probably put it more succinctly than I did...
Post match frustration as I could see us grabbing the point and ended up trudging out with the old ‘what ifs’ mantra

20-10-2018, 11:17 PM
I was proud of us trying to take the game to them. We could have scored a few goals. Not despondent at all, we are a quality side

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

20-10-2018, 11:26 PM
Hibs have them a 2 nil lead due to a very poor set up. Lennon must take that on board. 2nd have we were decent.

20-10-2018, 11:34 PM
Hibs have them a 2 nil lead due to a very poor set up. Lennon must take that on board. 2nd have we were decent.

Think NL saw this criticism coming in his interview with Cliff - pointed out we let 2 in when we went to 4 at the back as well.

21-10-2018, 12:08 AM
The real thing to take away from today is Boyle scored 1 v 1 with the goalie. That's ****ing unbelievable.

Youngish player improving his game all the time. Confidence building in him all the time as well. He’s a great player.

Tornadoes70
21-10-2018, 12:12 AM
Youngish player improving his game all the time. Confidence building in him all the time as well. He’s a great player.

We're still to see the best of this unbelievably talented player.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

21-10-2018, 12:26 AM

I agree. He's generally dreadful 1v1 though

21-10-2018, 01:02 AM
Should have got a hiding today luck / good saves we didn’t. Nothing unlucky about this performance.

21-10-2018, 05:17 AM
I love a match day thread, especially those who pish their breeks whenever we lose a goal.

We went toe to toe against the best team in our league by a mile, and we matched them for long periods.Of course we were going to concede, and we had a weakened side out, but forget all that, we are supposed to win every ****in game,no mattter who we play against.

We are a good side, not the best side, but we have a team and management who will take us forward.:top marks

Well said G, Lennon got it wrong with his set up and even said so after the game but after saying that still silly errors cost us. Take away that first 20 odd minutes and there's not a lot between the teams, disappointed in a loss but not disheartened.