View Full Version : A-league football

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

06-03-2021, 09:09 AM
Victory playing in the Addidas template kit.

06-03-2021, 09:15 AM
Has he been the manager for long?

Had a short spell near the end of last season as a stand in after the original coach got the sack.

Said he wasn’t putting in for the job this season.

Changed his mind and I would say his season is over now.

07-03-2021, 05:58 AM
Wellington Phoenix 3 v 0 Perth Glory FT

Western United v Western Sydney Wanderers

Kick Off 7.10am

BT Sports

07-03-2021, 07:42 AM
Western United 0 v 1 WSW

08-03-2021, 07:11 AM
Central Coast Mariners v MacArthur FC

BT Sports 8.10am

08-03-2021, 07:16 AM
CCM 1 v 0 MacArthur FC

Matt Simon

08-03-2021, 07:38 AM
CCM 1 v 0 MacArthur FC

Matt Simon

He’s a hundred and forty seven next week, but he still keeps on scoring.

08-03-2021, 07:41 AM
Maybe it’s just me, but the strips clash ...from the back at least......making it difficult to figure out who is who.

08-03-2021, 08:09 AM
I thought CCM were perrenial basement boys? What's happened?

Sproule Three
08-03-2021, 10:52 AM
I thought CCM were perrenial basement boys? What's happened?

They’ve been dire for years .
Significantly financially poorer than rest of clubs but now the other clubs have less money and the new coach has totally galvanised them .
Amazing transformation
Bit part Jambo Ollie Bozanic who scored a raker against us at ER has been the stand out player for them .

10-03-2021, 05:47 AM
Sydney FC v Western United

BT Sports 8.05am

10-03-2021, 07:20 AM
They’ve been dire for years .
Significantly financially poorer than rest of clubs but now the other clubs have less money and the new coach has totally galvanised them .
Amazing transformation
Bit part Jambo Ollie Bozanic who scored a raker against us at ER has been the stand out player for them .

Quite enjoy a visit to Sauce Bottle Stadium.

Wish they would sign yon HP guy though.

He’s a tasty player.

10-03-2021, 07:22 AM
Sydney FC 1 v 0 Western United

Bobo pen

10-03-2021, 08:27 AM
Sydney FC 2 v 0 Western United

Grant

10-03-2021, 10:01 AM
Sydney FC 2 v 0 Western United

Grant

12-03-2021, 06:49 AM
Melbourne City v MacArthur FC

Kick Off 8.05 am

BT Sports

Jamie MacLaren and Mark Milligan both start

12-03-2021, 06:58 AM
Melbourne City v MacArthur FC

Kick Off 8.05 am

BT Sports

Jamie MacLaren and Mark Milligan both start

Got a modest wager on City.

That should be sufficient to ensure a MacArthur victory!

12-03-2021, 07:10 AM
Got a modest wager on City.

That should be sufficient to ensure a MacArthur victory!
On double chance City with Jamie and Derbyshire to score

So that’ll be that then :greengrin

Jamie carrying an injury apparently

12-03-2021, 07:27 AM
Get in !

Jameee Maccclllaaaaaarrrrrrreeennnnnn

1-0

12-03-2021, 07:29 AM
2-0

Jamie MacLaren

12-03-2021, 07:29 AM
Get in !

Jameee Maccclllaaaaaarrrrrrreeennnnnn

1-0

And again!

Magpie
12-03-2021, 07:30 AM
He bangs them in over there!

12-03-2021, 07:38 AM
And again!

Nearly another too after an excellent move. Unlucky

12-03-2021, 07:42 AM
3-0

Mark Milligan getting torn apart

12-03-2021, 07:58 AM
He bangs them in over there!

He takes advantage of the space most defences here give the opposition.

Was always going to be up among the goals when he returned to Oz.

12-03-2021, 10:27 AM
3-0

Mark Milligan getting torn apart

Millsy seems to be running out of legs this season.

Think he may hang up his boots at the end of the season.

12-03-2021, 10:34 AM
Young Lachlan Rose looked very good when he came on.

13-03-2021, 06:27 AM
Sydney FC 0 v 1 Newcastle Jets (60)

Melbourne Victory v Adelaide United 8.10am

Last chance saloon for Grant Brebner

BT Sports

13-03-2021, 06:31 AM
Sydney FC 1 v 1 Newcastle Jets

13-03-2021, 06:43 AM
Sydney FC 2 v 1 Newcastle Jets

Wilkinson

13-03-2021, 07:39 AM
Melbourne Victory 1 v 0 Adelaide United

13-03-2021, 07:48 AM
Melbourne Victory 1 v 1 Adelaide United

Oh dear!

13-03-2021, 08:29 AM
Melbourne Victory 1 v 2 Adelaide United

13-03-2021, 08:45 AM
Melbourne Victory 1 v 3 Adelaide United

19-03-2021, 07:40 AM
WSW 0 v 0 Perth Glory

only the three VAR disallowed goals so far :greengrin

BT Sports

19-03-2021, 07:53 AM
WSW 1 v 0 Perth Glory

Duke

19-03-2021, 08:17 AM
WSW 0 v 0 Perth Glory

only the three VAR disallowed goals so far :greengrin

BT Sports

VAR got it right...Cannae argue with that.

However VAR is having a detrimental effect on the occasion, as in many games, when a ‘goal’ is scored the punters don’t celebrate it, waiting on the VAR decision.

The spectacle is ruined and it will eventually have a flow on effect.

I think there IS a place for VAR, but maybe it should be limited to goal line decisions.

19-03-2021, 08:18 AM
3-0 now.

My $20 bet is looking safe😜

19-03-2021, 08:18 AM
WSW 3 v 0 Perth Glory

VAR overrules the Lino :greengrin

19-03-2021, 08:19 AM
WSW have actually been playing some nice football.

19-03-2021, 11:01 AM
There was an A-League game being shown last night on BT Sports (think it was a rerun or highlights of the Western Sydney vs Wellington Phoenix match from earlier in the week). I only caught a few minutes of it but the commentator seemed to be calling the players by nicknames. Is that common? It seemed a bit weird.

19-03-2021, 09:05 PM
There was an A-League game being shown last night on BT Sports (think it was a rerun or highlights of the Western Sydney vs Wellington Phoenix match from earlier in the week). I only caught a few minutes of it but the commentator seemed to be calling the players by nicknames. Is that common? It seemed a bit weird.

Would have to see the clip it to see the context.

It would be unusual if during the match commentary they did but not if it was an interview or summary.

Some of the commentators are ex team mates, or close associates of the players, and Oz is a pretty socially relaxed place....that’s why you will even hear the players when being interviewed refer to ‘Bozza’ (Mark Bosnich) or ‘Harps’ (Andy Harper).

Lot more weirder things out here than that!

20-03-2021, 05:43 AM
10 minutes down the road from me Macarthur have just equalised against Western United to make it 1-1 in rain of biblical proportions.

I’m a bit worried I won’t be able to see Hibs and Livi in a few hours time as the cloud cover can block the signal.

20-03-2021, 06:08 AM
MacArthur FC 2 v 1 Western United HT

20-03-2021, 08:08 AM
What happened to Sidney v the Victory?

20-03-2021, 08:17 AM
What happened to Sidney v the Victory?
Postponed due to waterlogged pitch Forza Fred did say it was raining quite heavy

20-03-2021, 08:20 AM
Postponed due to waterlogged pitch Forza Fred did say it was raining quite heavy
I thought it was always sunny in oz. :greengrin

20-03-2021, 10:08 AM
I thought it was always sunny in oz. :greengrin

Except when it rains!

Currently Sydney suburbs are on flood alert with 300 + mm expected over the weekend.

The main dam on Sydney’s west is currently overflowing, and several suburbs will be flooded in the morning.

Three hours north of Sydney houses are floating away

Thick cloud colour means there is a possibility that the Hibs TV signal may not get through at 2am, so as you can see there dangers of a tragedy occurring!

22-03-2021, 06:06 AM
Melbourne City v Central Coast Mariners 8.05am

Jamie MacLaren’s City entertain table topping Mariners

BT Sport

22-03-2021, 07:10 AM

BT Sport

Weather a bit better down there by the looks of things

22-03-2021, 07:35 AM
Melbourne City 1 v 0 CCM

Jamie MacLaren

22-03-2021, 07:39 AM

BT Sport

Everybody is still in shock at the Mariners being top of the league.

In recent seasons they have been the Hamilton Accies of the A League.

22-03-2021, 07:56 AM
Everybody is still in shock at the Mariners being top of the league.

In recent seasons they have been the Hamilton Accies of the A League.
Looks like it is starting to rain :rolleyes:

22-03-2021, 08:20 AM
It’s raining goals

Melbourne City 2 v 0 CCM

22-03-2021, 08:30 AM
It’s raining goals

Melbourne City 2 v 0 CCM

It’s raining enough without the goals, thank you very much😂🤭

22-03-2021, 08:33 AM
Yon Nabbout on Melbourne zcity’s right wing is probably Martin Boyle’s biggest rival for a Socceroo spot.

24-03-2021, 06:24 AM
Wellington Phoenix v Melbourne Victory 8.05

Perth Glory v Sydney FC 10.20

BT Sports

24-03-2021, 07:24 AM
Wellington Phoenix 1 v 0 Melbourne Victory

Hemed 11

24-03-2021, 08:00 AM
Wellington Phoenix 1 v 0 Melbourne Victory

Hemed 11

Nix 2-0 up, David Ball

24-03-2021, 08:40 AM
Victory just scored to make it 4-1.

The goal scorer immediately goes down injured.

Just Victory’s luck.

Feel sorry for Brebs, he just hasn’t got the players there.

24-03-2021, 08:56 AM

Just Victory’s luck.

Oh dear!

Keyser Sauzee
24-03-2021, 09:06 AM

Just Victory’s luck.

Is Brebner in real danger of being punted?

24-03-2021, 09:39 AM
Is Brebner in real danger of being punted?

Absolutely.

Think Rangers being on the bottom of the league....that’s what it’s like for Victory.

He took the job at the wrong time......they have recruited abysmally these past two seasons and are suffering for it now.

If you cloned Jock Stein, Alex Ferguson and Jose Mhurino, even he couldn’t get a win from them.

But, it’s the manager that cops the blame, and I expect when he returns to Melbourne after Victory’s last game in their road trip...against Central Coast Mariners.
On Saturday.......he’ll get the tap on the shoulder

26-03-2021, 05:08 AM
Melbourne City v Western Sydney Wanderers 8.05 am

Can Jamie MacLaren keep his red hot goalscoring streak going?

BT Sports

26-03-2021, 07:26 AM
Melbourne City 0 v 1 WSW

26-03-2021, 07:37 AM
Melbourne City 1 v 1 WSW

26-03-2021, 08:15 AM
Melbourne City 2 v 1 WSW

Noone
Nabbout

26-03-2021, 08:17 AM
Melbourne City 3 v 1 WSW

Noone

26-03-2021, 08:28 AM
Not much of a price on offer but looks like my Friday night punt is secured.

26-03-2021, 08:55 AM
Get in !

Melbourne City 4 v 1 WSW

JaaaammmeeeeeeeeMaaaaacccccllllllaaarrrreeeeennnnn nnnnnnnnnnn!..

26-03-2021, 08:55 AM
4-1

MacLaren, inevitably

26-03-2021, 09:03 AM
Central Coast Mariners v Melbourne Victory tomorrow in what is probably Breb’s last game in charge.

They are at opposite ends of the table, but I fancy Victory to get something from this one, and in doing so, increase my wealth.😂

27-03-2021, 06:52 AM
Central Coast Mariners v Melbourne Victory. 8.10am

Top versus bottom

Last chance saloon for Grant Brebner’s Victory

BT Sports

27-03-2021, 07:30 AM
CCM 0 v 1 Melbourne Victory

27-03-2021, 07:32 AM
CCM 0 v 1 Melbourne Victory

Things are going according to my devilishly cunning plan!

27-03-2021, 07:40 AM
CCM 1 v 1 Melbourne Victory

27-03-2021, 09:04 AM
CCM 1 v 1 Melbourne Victory

Yeehaaaa.

I had a bet on Victory avoiding defeat.

Thought they were due something out of this.

I know Mariners are top of the league but in the past few seasons they have been the Hamilton Accies of the A League

27-03-2021, 09:19 AM
Yeehaaaa.

I had a bet on Victory avoiding defeat.

Thought they were due something out of this.

I know Mariners are top of the league but in the past few seasons they have been the Hamilton Accies of the A League
👍🏿

28-03-2021, 09:57 AM
Good to see Sydney go down!

McGowan is still a fanny.

03-04-2021, 06:48 AM
Brisbane Roar v Western Sydney Wanderers

Kick off 9.05 am

BT Sports

Sproule Three
03-04-2021, 09:29 AM
Brisbane Roar v Western Sydney Wanderers

Kick off 9.05 am

BT Sports

1 -1 .
Wanderers manager just made a quadruple substitution.
That’s novel .
Took ages as well .
See how it pans out

Calvin
03-04-2021, 09:31 AM
1 -1 .
Wanderers manager just made a quadruple substitution.
That’s novel .
Took ages as well .
See how it pans out

Taking in my first Roar game of the season. Got a pie and a beer and was still back before the game had resumed!

Sproule Three
03-04-2021, 09:35 AM
Taking in my first Roar game of the season. Got a pie and a beer and was still back before the game had resumed!

Could have had a 4 course meal .
Hope the beer is as good as the ones in your workplace .
(Presume you’re the ‘B’dog Calvin 😉)

Calvin
03-04-2021, 10:07 AM
Could have had a 4 course meal .
Hope the beer is as good as the ones in your workplace .
(Presume you’re the ‘B’dog Calvin [emoji6])

Furphy or XXXX... it wasn’t a vintage selection!

04-04-2021, 09:14 AM
Melbourne - Sydney Big Blue derby on now.

Hate to say it but expect Sydne to win in a canter

04-04-2021, 09:39 AM
Victory down to 10 men after 30 minutes!

04-04-2021, 09:41 AM
Victory down to 10 men after 30 minutes!
Stupid

On Bobo :greengrin

04-04-2021, 09:46 AM
Stupid

On Bobo :greengrin
Get in !

Easy! Easy!

Sproule Three
04-04-2021, 09:49 AM
Get in !

Easy! Easy!

Nowhere near as easy as I expected .
Victory looked no bad( well far better than usual ) till the red .
Hopefully Sydney pummel the A league Huns now

Sproule Three
04-04-2021, 10:16 AM

2- nil .
Barborousos scores against his old club and is serenaded by a load of plastic beer cups .
Rubbing it in

Sproule Three
04-04-2021, 11:03 AM
2- nil .
Barborousos scores against his old club and is serenaded by a load of plastic beer cups .
Rubbing it in

3 nil Sydney - going in 10 - and Ryan McGowan had a goal chalked off for Sydney - doesn't get any better

04-04-2021, 10:51 PM

What?

Are they playing their reserve side?

05-04-2021, 07:44 AM
Newcastle Jets 0 v 1 Western United

Wales 1 minute

Approaching half-time

Wellington Phoenix v Melbourne City

Kick Off 10.10 am

BT Sports

05-04-2021, 08:44 AM
Newcastle Jets 0 v 1 Western United

Wales 1 minute

Approaching half-time

Wellington Phoenix v Melbourne City

Kick Off 10.10 am

BT Sports

Got a double on Western United and City but with 10 minutes to go still think Newcastle can grab an equaliser.

05-04-2021, 08:58 AM
Got a double on Western United and City but with 10 minutes to go still think Newcastle can grab an equaliser.

1 up...1 to go

05-04-2021, 09:28 AM
Wellington Phoenix 0 v 1 Melbourne City

Good

Good open game so far

05-04-2021, 10:03 AM
Wellington Phoenix 1 v 2 Melbourne City HT

MacLaren

05-04-2021, 10:11 AM
Wellington Phoenix 1 v 2 Melbourne City HT

MacLaren

Cracker of a shot too!

Thought City were going to get punished for not taking their chances but confident now my flutter will get up!

05-04-2021, 10:25 AM
Wellington Phoenix 2 v 2 Melbourne City

05-04-2021, 10:26 AM
Interesting fact #458

Covid has knocked fitba about world wide.

In Oz you can attend games but the fixtures were rearranged to minimise travel between states.

One of the side effects are games like tonight’s which is taking place at Wollongong, which is an hour or so south of Sydney, and doesn’t have much of a crowd.

The ‘home’ team is Wellington Phoenix who obviously come from a different country a couple of thousand kilometres away, and the visitors are Melbourne City who are based as the name suggests in Melbourne, which is about 520 miles away in your money.

Not many fans willing to travel that far, with the possibility that if 1 case of Covid is reported, they probably have to quarantine for two weeks in a hotel, at their expense!

05-04-2021, 10:28 AM
It’s all kicking off

05-04-2021, 10:30 AM
It’s all kicking off

Handbags at 20 paces....

05-04-2021, 11:20 AM
3-2 to Melbourne City.

Cracking game down the Gong.

Thought City were going to get punished for all the chances they missed, but held out to get my double up.

Off tae bed for a 4-45am kick off at Dumfries.

06-04-2021, 08:38 AM
Western Sydney Wanderers v Central Coast Mariners

Kick Off 10.05am

BT Sports

06-04-2021, 09:51 AM
Western Sydney Wanderers 0 v 1 Central Coast Mariners HT

Matt Simon

06-04-2021, 10:35 AM
WSW 1 v 1 CCM

Kamau

06-04-2021, 10:40 AM
WSW 2 v 1 CCM

Kamau

06-04-2021, 10:44 AM
WSW 2 v 2 CCM

Bozanic pen

ChilliEater
06-04-2021, 10:46 AM
2-2 now, with a VAR penalty for the Mariners. I just don't see that as a penalty :confused:

06-04-2021, 10:59 AM
WSW 2 v 2 CCM FT

Kenny Miller Assistant Coach WSW Sent Off

06-04-2021, 11:12 AM
Mariners dominant first half but Wanderers kicked in the second and but for controversial penalty incidents at each end, could have went off with the three points.

If Kamau had went down instead of staying on his feet the VAR would have had no option but to have a look.

I know it’s a penalty whether you go down or not but staying on his feet gave the ref and the VAR an excuse not to make a decision.

Pretty sure as I type this Kenny Miller is in Kamau’s ear saying, “next time..go down”

07-04-2021, 05:36 AM
Sydney FC v Perth Glory

Kick Off 10.05am

BT Sports

07-04-2021, 09:13 AM
Delayed

07-04-2021, 09:56 AM
Match live now 7 minutes gone

Hibs1969
07-04-2021, 10:25 AM
I’ve been wracking my brains trying to come up with Hibs links to Australian football. For starters and Off the top of my head we’ve got -

Jamie MacLaren currently playing at Melbourne City
Mark Milligan - MacArthur Bulls
Grant Brebner - coach at Melbourne Victory
Kenny Miller - asst coach at WSW
Roy O’Donovan - playing for Central Coast
The late Liam Miller - Perth Glory
Martin Boyle/Jackson Irvine

There’s quite a few with links to Australia who have played v Hibs such as
Bozanic
Kisnorbo
McGowan
Ziggy Gordon
Tony Vidmar
Craig Moore

I’m sure there must be plenty others.......

Sproule Three
07-04-2021, 10:42 AM
I’ve been wracking my brains trying to come up with Hibs links to Australian football. For starters and Off the top of my head we’ve got -

Bozanic
Kisnorbo
McGowan
Ziggy Gordon
Tony Vidmar
Craig Moore

Joe Keenan 🤦*♂️
All the former Hibs players listed above that have played inA league have all played in an A league final - Brebs included .

07-04-2021, 11:01 AM
Sydney FC 1 v 0 Perth Glory

Barbarouses

08-04-2021, 10:42 AM

Bozanic
Kisnorbo
McGowan
Ziggy Gordon
Tony Vidmar
Craig Moore

Stuart Lovell

08-04-2021, 10:44 AM
Stuart Lovell

And of course, Auld farts like me will recall Jack Reilly and Duncan Falconer

Stephen Dobbie
had a year here, Gordon Hunter a couple and Brian Hamilton a season too.

09-04-2021, 09:09 AM
MacArthur FC 0 v 0 Brisbane Roar

BT Sports

09-04-2021, 09:44 AM
Macarthur FC 0 v 1 Brisbane Roar

Wenzel-Halls 12

09-04-2021, 10:18 AM
Macarthur FC 0 v 2 Brisbane Roar

09-04-2021, 10:45 AM
Afraid it looks like the bubble has burst for my local team.

Brisbane not any great shakes, but comprehensively outplaying the Rams.

10-04-2021, 06:13 AM
Sorry Grant, but you’ve ended up with a pig in a poke.

Victory need to recruit an entirely new first team squad for next season

10-04-2021, 06:43 AM
Newcastle Jets 1 v 2 Melbourne Victory

10-04-2021, 06:45 AM
Sydney FC v Melbourne City

Kick Off 8.05am

BT Sports

10-04-2021, 07:26 AM

Kick Off 8.05am

BT Sports

Good to see a reasonable crowd and a bit of atmosphere☝🏿👏👏👏

10-04-2021, 09:03 AM
Sydney FC 1 v 1 Melbourne City

Jaimeee Maclaaaarrreeeennnnnnnnn!!!!!!!!!!

Pen 90+8

11-04-2021, 08:32 AM
Wellington Phoenix v Western United

Kick Off 10.05 am

BT Sports

11-04-2021, 09:37 AM
Wellington Phoenix 0 v 1 Western United

Berisha pen

11-04-2021, 09:51 AM
Wellington Phoenix 1 v 1 Western United

Davila pen

11-04-2021, 10:18 AM
Wellington Phoenix 2 v 1 Western United

Sotirio

11-04-2021, 10:20 AM
Wellington Phoenix 2 v 2 Western United

Guarrotxena

11-04-2021, 10:55 AM
Wellington Phoenix 3 v 2 Western United

Waine

17-04-2021, 07:16 AM
Western United 1 v 0 Central Coast Mariners

Pain

10 minutes gone

Melbourne City v Melbourne Victory 10.05 am

BT Sports

Sproule Three
17-04-2021, 09:49 AM

Pain

BT Sports

City 2 nil up - Victory down to 10
Incredibly Brebs is still manager .

17-04-2021, 09:50 AM

Pain

10 minutes gone

BT Sports

2-0 to Melbourne City

Good 1st goal from tight angle by Nabbout (commentator touting it as a Puskás Award contender) and an unstoppable penalty right in the corner from Jamie MacLaren (shame he didn't do that at Pittodrie 😃).

17-04-2021, 10:09 AM
City 2 nil up - Victory down to 10
Incredibly Brebs is still manager .

He must be wondering what has he got himself into given their lack of discipline aka stupidity.

17-04-2021, 10:52 AM
5-0 now. MacLaren gets a 4th goal.

17-04-2021, 10:53 AM
6-0 MacLaren again. Get him signed.

17-04-2021, 10:55 AM
7-0. Not MacLaren.

Sproule Three
17-04-2021, 10:58 AM
7-0. Not MacLaren.

13 nil for City in last two derbies .
That’s humiliating

Tobias Funke
17-04-2021, 11:04 AM
Embarrassing for Victory but great stuff from MacLaren. I know the standard of A League defences isn’t great but his goal tally this season is excellent.

Can’t recall if it was on here or Tw@tter but one, clearly blind, Hibs fan said he was the worst player they’d seen at Hibs. What an absolute giblet :rolleyes:

17-04-2021, 11:27 AM
Embarrassing for Victory but great stuff from MacLaren. I know the standard of A League defences isn’t great but his goal tally this season is excellent.

Can’t recall if it was on here or Tw@tter but one, clearly blind, Hibs fan said he was the worst player they’d seen at Hibs. What an absolute giblet :rolleyes:

Aye all he does is score goals 😂

Sproule Three
17-04-2021, 12:25 PM
Brebs no longer Victory coach
No shock there
Unsure if he was sacked or resigned .
Relieved for him . Job as taking its toll

18-04-2021, 06:26 AM
Sydney FC 1 v 0 Adelaide United

Bobo

18-04-2021, 07:16 AM
Sydney FC 2 v 0 Adelaide United

Bobo

18-04-2021, 07:39 AM
Sydney FC 2 v 1 Adelaide United

18-04-2021, 07:42 AM
Sydney FC 2 v 2 Adelaide United

18-04-2021, 08:47 AM
Aye all he does is score goals 😂

Here’s what Jamie Carragher says about strikers ‘who just score goals’. Sums them up brilliantly.

Starts discussing it from 2.45

https://twitter.com/skysportspl/status/1359053169452457986?s=12

18-04-2021, 08:53 AM
Here’s what Jamie Carragher says about strikers ‘who just score goals’. Sums them up brilliantly.

Starts discussing it from 2.45

https://twitter.com/skysportspl/status/1359053169452457986?s=12
Aye ok let’s drop Jamie MacLaren that’s scored 47 goals in 50 appearances for Melbourne City and well on the way to another Golden Boot

Glad you are not the Manager

18-04-2021, 08:57 AM
Macarthur FC 2 v 1 Newcastle Jets

18-04-2021, 09:07 AM
Aye ok let’s drop Jamie MacLaren that’s scored 47 goals in 50 appearances for Melbourne City and well on the way to another Golden Boot

Who said anything about dropping him. Calm down😂

18-04-2021, 09:20 AM
Who said anything about dropping him. Calm down😂
Cool :greengrin

18-04-2021, 09:46 AM

Did we ever find out why he never got much of a look in 2nd time around? I know he had an injury but even after he'd recovered he rarely got a start. IIRC there were suggestions of a falling out with Lennon.

18-04-2021, 10:15 AM
Did we ever find out why he never got much of a look in 2nd time around? I know he had an injury but even after he'd recovered he rarely got a start. IIRC there were suggestions of a falling out with Lennon.

Bad back I believe but all a bit strange tbh

Especially that game where he had the two young guys starting and Flo and Jamie Mac on the bench

Trying to prove a point I suppose

18-04-2021, 11:30 AM
Bad back I believe but all a bit strange tbh

Especially that game where he had the two young guys starting and Flo and Jamie Mac on the bench

Trying to prove a point I suppose

Thanks BH. I did wonder if it was Lennon playing silly buggers at times.

24-04-2021, 07:04 AM
Central Coast Mariners v Sydney FC 8.05am

Macarthur FC v Melbourne City 10.10am

Millsy v Jamie Mac

BT Sport

24-04-2021, 08:41 AM
Central Coast Mariners 2 v 1 Sydney FC

24-04-2021, 08:42 AM
Central Coast Mariners 2 v 1 Sydney FC
Been a couple of controversial var decisions in this game. I wish they’d just scrap it.

24-04-2021, 08:46 AM
2-2 now.

24-04-2021, 08:53 AM
Fantastic game!

24-04-2021, 09:04 AM
Fantastic game!
There doesn’t seem to be many bad games in that league. It’s the way football should be played, two teams attacking and trying to win. I’ve still never seen a 0-0.

24-04-2021, 09:53 AM
There doesn’t seem to be many bad games in that league. It’s the way football should be played, two teams attacking and trying to win. I’ve still never seen a 0-0.

Well 40 minutes in, and my local team, MacArthur, ain’t looking like they are going to score.

No doubt Jamie MacLaren will be along in a few minutes to break the deadlock😂

24-04-2021, 10:51 AM
Macarthur FC 1 v 1 Melbourne City

25-04-2021, 07:24 AM
Wellington Phoenix 0 v 1 Adelaide United

25-04-2021, 08:13 AM
Wellington Phoenix 2 v 1 Adelaide United FT

25-04-2021, 11:08 AM
Fitba scheduled every night this week!

29-04-2021, 04:24 AM
Melbourne City v Newcastle Jets

Kick off 10.05am

Top versus bottom

A chance for Jamie MAC to add to his goals tally

BT Sports

Calvin
29-04-2021, 04:49 AM
Over in Perth this weekend, very tempted to take in the game on Saturday if we’re allowed.

29-04-2021, 10:25 AM
Melbourne City 2 v 0 Newcastle Jets

Koutroumbis own goal
Jamieson

29-04-2021, 10:32 AM
Melbourne City 3 v 0 Newcastle Jets

MacLaren

29-04-2021, 10:50 AM
Melbourne City 3 v 1 Newcastle Jets

Ugarkovic

30-04-2021, 09:43 AM
Adelaide United 0 v 0 Western United

BT Sports

ChilliEater
30-04-2021, 10:16 AM
Over in Perth this weekend, very tempted to take in the game on Saturday if we’re allowed.

Shouldn't be a problem - they moved it from Friday night to Saturday, presumably because the restrictions end at midnight Friday. Crowd will be limited - The AFL game is capped at 35000, I think, in a 60000 seater stadium. Glory's ground holds about 20000, so should be allowed 10-12000 - and we rarely get that many :wink:

01-05-2021, 07:09 AM
Glory are no very good this season.

Why so?

01-05-2021, 11:10 AM
Western Sydney Wanderers 3 v 2 Sydney FC FT

01-05-2021, 11:32 AM
Western Sydney Wanderers 3 v 2 Sydney FC FT

What a difference the crowd being back makes!

ChilliEater
01-05-2021, 12:06 PM
Glory are no very good this season.

Why so?

I think it started last season. Not sure what happened, but suggestions that it wasn't a happy place behind the scenes. I have no inside info, but a brief interview with Diego Castro this pre-season was interesting - wouldn't dish any dirt but implied that he was happy to come back to the club (he didn't join the squad for finals last season) because Tony Popovic (manager) and Jacob Burns (director of football type of role) had both left. Team selections last season were odd - Popovic kept picking his sons who, regardless of opinions on their potential, which ranged from very promising to completely useless, were clearly not ready to play for a team that should have been challenging to be champions. Then lots of players left and their replacements (Nabbout and Atkinson) backed out of their contracts to stay in the eastern states. This season we started with a rookie coach, a handful of quality, but aging, stars (Castro, Fornaroli, Keogh, Kilkenny) and a bunch of local kids. We have actually played some really nice football at times, but are inconsistent and have become pretty toothless in attack - IMHO because we tend to overplay everything and could do with moving the ball quicker. We have a real lack of pace in the side, which only exacerbates this problem. I blame Tony Sage (owner). I can't help but picture him as a bullying dictator rather than someone who fosters an "all for one and one for all" club culture - but I've never met him, so I could be wrong and he is actually the world's nicest man :greengrin

01-05-2021, 12:15 PM
I think it started last season. Not sure what happened, but suggestions that it wasn't a happy place behind the scenes. I have no inside info, but a brief interview with Diego Castro this pre-season was interesting - wouldn't dish any dirt but implied that he was happy to come back to the club (he didn't join the squad for finals last season) because Tony Popovic (manager) and Jacob Burns (director of football type of role) had both left. Team selections last season were odd - Popovic kept picking his sons who, regardless of opinions on their potential, which ranged from very promising to completely useless, were clearly not ready to play for a team that should have been challenging to be champions. Then lots of players left and their replacements (Nabbout and Atkinson) backed out of their contracts to stay in the eastern states. This season we started with a rookie coach, a handful of quality, but aging, stars (Castro, Fornaroli, Keogh, Kilkenny) and a bunch of local kids. We have actually played some really nice football at times, but are inconsistent and have become pretty toothless in attack - IMHO because we tend to overplay everything and could do with moving the ball quicker. We have a real lack of pace in the side, which only exacerbates this problem. I blame Tony Sage (owner). I can't help but picture him as a bullying dictator rather than someone who fosters an "all for one and one for all" club culture - but I've never met him, so I could be wrong and he is actually the world's nicest man :greengrin

sounds like the Glory equivalent of Rod Petrie:wink:

I haven't met him either but have met Nick Tana who was the original owner of the glory when they started up.

05-05-2021, 10:33 AM
Brisbane Roar 0 v 1 Western United

Wales 60

Perth Glory v Melbourne City

Kick Off 12.20

BT Sports

05-05-2021, 10:36 AM
Brisbane Roar 1 v 1 Western United

Brindell-South 72

05-05-2021, 10:57 AM
Brisbane Roar 2 v 1 Western United

Danzaki 90+5

05-05-2021, 11:47 AM
Still a lot of water on the park in Brisbane..thankfully though nothing like the weekend

05-05-2021, 11:51 AM
Brisbane Roar 0 v 1 Western United

Wales 60

Perth Glory v Melbourne City

Kick Off 12.20

BT Sports

1-0 Perth after 30 mins.

Cracker from Ikonomides

05-05-2021, 11:58 AM
Waiting on Jamie Mac’s 100th goal 😃

05-05-2021, 12:06 PM
Waiting on Jamie Mac’s 100th goal 😃

Wait no more!

A header too!

05-05-2021, 12:06 PM
Perth Glory 1 v 2 Melbourne City

MacLaren

Get in !

05-05-2021, 12:51 PM
Perth Glory 1 v 3 Melbourne City

Maclaren

06-05-2021, 09:38 AM
Melbourne Victory 1 v 1 MacArthur Bulls

BT Sport

06-05-2021, 10:41 AM
Melbourne Victory 1 v 2 MacArthur Bulls

06-05-2021, 11:10 AM
Melbourne Victory 1 v 2 MacArthur Bulls

Watching the customary plague of Docklands’ seagulls reminded me that whereas we used to see flocks of them at Easter Road now we barely see one.....where have they all gone?

Is it because of the fact that there no people?

Or do they think our kangaroos are giant rats and are scared to land?

07-05-2021, 08:51 AM
Adelaide United v Wellington Phoenix

Kick Off 10.35 am

BT Sports

07-05-2021, 10:03 AM
Adelaide United v Wellington Phoenix

Kick Off 10.35 am

BT Sports

Adelaide have a good record at home and ‘should ‘ win....but I’m hoping for a shock away win and stuck 10 bucks on Welly.

08-05-2021, 08:44 AM
Newcastle v Sydney....the new handball rule strikes again.

Sure, under the new rules it’s a penalty......but I think they need to revisit the rule.

13-05-2021, 09:20 AM
Melbourne City 1 v 0 Adelaide United

Jamieson

BT Sports

13-05-2021, 09:51 AM
Melbourne City 2 v 0 Adelaide United

13-05-2021, 11:08 AM
Melbourne City 4 v 1 Adelaide United FT

Jamie MacLaren 2 ( 1 pen)

14-05-2021, 01:46 AM
Melbourne City 4 v 1 Adelaide United FT

Jamie MacLaren 2 ( 1 pen)

Good penalty too!

14-05-2021, 08:48 AM
Macarthur FC v Melbourne Victory

Kick Off 10.05am

BT Sports

Millsy skippers the Bulls

14-05-2021, 09:27 AM
Macarthur FC 1 v 0 Melbourne Victory

Derbyshire

14-05-2021, 09:43 AM
Macarthur FC 2 v 0 Melbourne Victory

Meredith

14-05-2021, 10:36 AM
A chilly 11 degrees at Campbelltown Stadium

14-05-2021, 10:38 AM
A chilly 11 degrees at Campbelltown Stadium
Baltic in Scotland anaw

2-1

14-05-2021, 10:49 AM
MacArthur FC 3 v 1 Melbourne Victory

Derbyshire

26-05-2021, 08:08 AM
Western Sydney Wanderers v Wellington Phoenix

Kick off 10.05am

BT Sports

26-05-2021, 09:29 AM
WSW 0 v 1 Wellington Phoenix

26-05-2021, 09:34 AM
WSW 1 v 1 Wellington Phoenix

26-05-2021, 09:47 AM
WSW 1 v 2 Wellington Phoenix

Hemed

26-05-2021, 10:58 AM
WSW 1 v 2 Wellington Phoenix FT

27-05-2021, 09:17 AM
Macarthur FC 0 v 0 CCM

13 minutes gone

BT Sports

27-05-2021, 09:21 AM
Only in Australia would they go ahead with the finals......how the champions are decided here......when the top players from the top clubs are in Kuwait playing for the national team!

27-05-2021, 09:22 AM
Macarthur FC 1 v 0 CCM

27-05-2021, 09:23 AM
1-0 to MacArthur after 16 minutes.

I still haven’t ventured down the road to watch the Bulls.....rather watch from the comfort of my lounge than brave the chilly 13 degrees!

27-05-2021, 09:34 AM
Macarthur FC 1 v 1 CCM

27-05-2021, 10:16 AM
MacArthur FC 1 v 2 CCM

28-05-2021, 08:17 AM
Western United v Melbourne Victory

Kick Off 10.05 am

BT Sports

28-05-2021, 11:37 AM
Western United 1 v 6 Melbourne Victory FT

29-05-2021, 09:20 AM
Adelaide United 0 v 1 Sydney FC

Le Fondre

BT Sports

29-05-2021, 11:09 AM
Adelaide United 1 v 4 Sydney FC. FT

31-05-2021, 10:15 AM
Mark Milligan just scored from 20 yards to put MacArthur 2-0 up against Western United.....then celebrated the goal by running over and cuddling his kids

05-06-2021, 04:15 AM
Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC

Kick Off 6.05 am

BT Sports

Top of the table clash

A win for Sydney FC puts them within one point of runaway leaders Melbourne City

05-06-2021, 05:53 AM
Brisbane Roar 0 v 1 Sydney FC HT

Barbarouses 16

05-06-2021, 06:59 AM
Brisbane Roar 0 v 2 Sydney FC. FT

Van Der Saag 96

06-06-2021, 04:41 AM
Melbourne Victory v Melbourne City

Kick Off 7.05am

BT Sports

Bottom versus top

Can Jamie MAC add to his 25 goals?

Bridge hibs
06-06-2021, 04:57 AM
Melbourne Victory v Melbourne City

Kick Off 7.05am

BT Sports

Bottom versus top

Can Jamie MAC add to his 25 goals?Cheers Billy, will give that a watch, McLaren to score in 79th minute in a 2-0 victory 😆👍

06-06-2021, 05:43 AM
Cheers Billy, will give that a watch, McLaren to score in 79th minute in a 2-0 victory 😆👍
Jamie away with the Socceroos

Sorry I forgot

My bad !

Bridge hibs
06-06-2021, 05:58 AM
Jamie away with the Socceroos

Sorry I forgot

My bad !McLaren not to score in 79th minute and 1-0 victory to City 😆

06-06-2021, 07:18 AM
Melbourne Victory 0 v 1 Melbourne City

Ansell og

Wooden spoon looms for Victory

06-06-2021, 07:58 AM
Melbourne Victory 1 v 1 Melbourne City FT

Victory saved from the Wooden Spoon by the skin of their teeth

06-06-2021, 08:07 AM
Melbourne Victory 1 v 1 Melbourne City FT

Victory saved from the Wooden Spoon by the skin of their teeth

I'll make it a trifecta and say...They are Over the Moon:greengrin

10-06-2021, 06:09 AM
Melbourne City v Newcastle Jets

Kick Off 10.05 am

BT Sports

Top versus bottom

10-06-2021, 09:44 AM
Melbourne City 1 v 1 Newcastle Jets

10-06-2021, 11:01 AM
Melbourne City 1 v 2 Newcastle Jets FT

Newcastle score last minute goal and leave Melbourne Victory with the wooden spoon for I think the first time in their history

Who saw that coming ? 😃

12-06-2021, 10:26 AM
Elimination Final between Central Coast and Macarthur0-0 after 62 minutes

If MacArthur lose, then this becomes Mark Milligan's final game of hs career.

12-06-2021, 12:02 PM
Milligan marches on!

2-0 to MacArthur after extra time.

Great game!

Bridge hibs
12-06-2021, 01:39 PM
Milligan marches on!

2-0 to MacArthur after extra time.

Great game!Fred, do you think there will ever be two leagues with promotion and relegation ? I love watching the football but wondered if there was any scope for another league or are the teams outwith the top league miles behind

13-06-2021, 09:36 AM
A League Play Off Quarter Finals

Brisbane Roar 1 v 2 Adelaide United. FT

16-06-2021, 10:35 AM
Fred, do you think there will ever be two leagues with promotion and relegation ? I love watching the football but wondered if there was any scope for another league or are the teams outwith the top league miles behind

The FIFA ‘normalisation’ review demanded that promotion and relegation be introduced…but not sure when it must be in by.

20-06-2021, 05:50 AM
Mark Milligan about to play in what is probably his last game as a professional football player.

Kicks off at 4pm Sydney time, which is about 10 minutes away.

20-06-2021, 07:44 AM
Melbourne City 2 v 0 MacArthur FC

20-06-2021, 11:58 AM
Keep meaning to watch more of these matches but always forget until I see this thread and it's too late.

20-06-2021, 12:04 PM
Watch out for A League title decider next Sunday 27th June Play Off Final :

Should be some game

24-06-2021, 05:36 AM
Jamie MacLaren signed another two year deal at Melbourne city.

Won't be playing in the Grand final against Sydney as he will still be in hotel quarantine.

27-06-2021, 05:36 AM
A League Grand Final today between Melbourne City and Sydney FC

Winners of today’s game crowned Champions of Australia.

5-05pm kick off where I am…..think that translates to an 8-05 am kick off in Scotland.

C’mon City!

27-06-2021, 08:50 AM
Melbourne City 2 v 1 Sydney FC

Sydney down to ten men

83 minutes gone

27-06-2021, 09:01 AM
Melbourne City 3 v 1 Sydney FC

Champions

16-11-2021, 08:38 PM
Looks like it starts back this weekend
Melbourne City V's Brisbane Roar first up on Friday morning on BT Sports.

17-11-2021, 11:46 AM
Looks like it starts back this weekend
Melbourne City V's Brisbane Roar first up on Friday morning on BT Sports.

Yep indeed it does, season starts on Friday night my time, but new network showing it now as Foxtel lost the contract after about 7 years.

Look out for Mark Milligan as a panelist, and take a look atMelbourne City's young defender/midfielder Nathaniel Atkinson.

I reckon he's a star of the future and had an outstanding Olympics for the under 23 side, where he came up against players from the likes of Real Madrid and Barcelona and still shone.

No doubt Jamie MacLaren will get among the goals too.,

19-11-2021, 07:28 AM
20 minutes to the start of a new season

Melbourne City v Brisbane Roar.

Should be a win to Melbourne, but as I have wagered $50 on them who knows!