View Full Version : Nba

LustForLeith
17-10-2018, 06:43 PM
Anyone into this?

I went to see the Knicks play in New York a few years ago (tourist alert!) and I’d keep an eye in their results now and again.

I noticed that the season has started back. Does anyone else watch it or have a team they support?

17-10-2018, 07:06 PM
Anyone into this?

I went to see the Knicks play in New York a few years ago (tourist alert!) and I’d keep an eye in their results now and again.

I noticed that the season has started back. Does anyone else watch it or have a team they support?

I do - don’t know if you have sky but they have just signed a deal to show the next 4 seasons of the NBA on sky sports :thumbsup:

i follow the bulls, have done since I was a kid and a fan of Michael Jordan. I’ve been to a game in Chicago, great experience, especially when you compare the differences to going to a football match here

17-10-2018, 11:11 PM
Also a Knicks fan and have been lucky enough to see them at Madison Square Garden. Haven’t watched much of the NBA since it switched away to BT from channel 5 but hopefully some games will feature on the free Sky Sports channel.

18-10-2018, 02:24 AM
I'm a Celtics fan but although we look good... the Warriors are better.

It's been boring the last few years.

18-10-2018, 02:42 PM
I do - don’t know if you have sky but they have just signed a deal to show the next 4 seasons of the NBA on sky sports :thumbsup:

i follow the bulls, have done since I was a kid and a fan of Michael Jordan. I’ve been to a game in Chicago, great experience, especially when you compare the differences to going to a football match here

Good to hear, was annoyed that BT Sports had lost it.

LustForLeith
18-10-2018, 06:14 PM
Also a Knicks fan and have been lucky enough to see them at Madison Square Garden. Haven’t watched much of the NBA since it switched away to BT from channel 5 but hopefully some games will feature on the free Sky Sports channel.

I really enjoyed it when I went to MSG. I’m not sure if I should pick a random team to support this season or watch from a distance before making my mind up next season!

18-10-2018, 08:10 PM

Good to hear, was annoyed that BT Sports had lost it.

Yeah I was pretty scunnered when BT lost it as well, until I saw this news.

I believe, don’t quote me :greengrin, but I think the free sky sports channel will show one game a week. And there are supposed to be a lot of games shown at a decent time for UK viewers :top marks

20-10-2018, 09:01 PM
GS Warriors fan (as I live/work around the Bay Area for large portions of the year - despite all of my other sporting affiliations being around the Boston area, I just cannot bring myself to support a team called the Celtics).

I've only just recently gotten into the NBA, so it feels like a bit of a cheat, but I have been to see them 6 times in the past couple of years.

The new stadium they're building in SF, just along from AT&T Park is quite incredible. It'll be a real boost to the area and they've paid for it themselves, which is a refreshing change in US Sports.

20-10-2018, 10:46 PM
Glory hunter Scott :greengrin

20-10-2018, 11:55 PM
Glory hunter Scott :greengrin

Erm.......Michigan Wolverines :faf:

20-10-2018, 11:58 PM
Erm.......Michigan Wolverines :faf:

Not to mention Stanford Cardinals :greengrin

I'm comfortable in my off-setting glory/misery hunting endeavours :greengrin

21-10-2018, 03:15 AM
Not to mention Stanford Cardinals :greengrin

I'm comfortable in my off-setting glory/misery hunting endeavours :greengrin

And we're all Hibs fans so there's that off set.

LustForLeith
21-10-2018, 12:44 PM
GS Warriors fan (as I live/work around the Bay Area for large portions of the year - despite all of my other sporting affiliations being around the Boston area, I just cannot bring myself to support a team called the Celtics).

I've only just recently gotten into the NBA, so it feels like a bit of a cheat, but I have been to see them 6 times in the past couple of years.

The new stadium they're building in SF, just along from AT&T Park is quite incredible. It'll be a real boost to the area and they've paid for it themselves, which is a refreshing change in US Sports.

My mum was raised in San Francisco sink might follow the Warriors this season. Feels like I’m a glory hunter! Them or Boston!

23-10-2018, 08:45 AM
I've seen the Knicks live a few times. I love the NBA but the Knicks are a car crash franchise. Dolan along side Dan Snyder at the redskins is the worst owner in American sports.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

23-10-2018, 05:40 PM
I've seen the Knicks live a few times. I love the NBA but the Knicks are a car crash franchise. Dolan along side Dan Snyder at the redskins is the worst owner in American sports.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Dolan is too hands on, and too close to the people he’s hired to run the franchise. Isaiah Thomas should have been fired long before it happenedd, for example. Phil Jackson being another disaster (although he did draft porzingis, which everyone laughed at til he walked on the court).

That said, the reinsdorfs owners of the bulls are making an arse of it as well, won’t fire poorly performing team principals, and are too hands off. They need to get rid of Forman and Paxson and get in a proper GM.

23-10-2018, 08:49 PM
Looks like a slow start for LeBron in LA, think he missed a free throw and the last shot of the game in overtime to win it against the Spurs last night. I think they'll make the play offs but no chance of making the finals.

23-10-2018, 10:08 PM
Looks like a slow start for LeBron in LA, think he missed a free throw and the last shot of the game in overtime to win it against the Spurs last night. I think they'll make the play offs but no chance of making the finals.

32 Pts, 14 Assists and 8 Rebounds last night is a good performance and the shot at the end was not any easy chance.

This was always going to be a transition season for the Lakers with probably a less than 50/50 chance of reaching the playoffs in a really strong Western Conference.

Next summer will be interesting as Anthony Davis is now under LBJ’s management company with talk he might lining up to a move to the Lakers.

LustForLeith
27-10-2018, 11:34 AM
32 Pts, 14 Assists and 8 Rebounds last night is a good performance and the shot at the end was not any easy chance.

This was always going to be a transition season for the Lakers with probably a less than 50/50 chance of reaching the playoffs in a really strong Western Conference.

Next summer will be interesting as Anthony Davis is now under LBJ’s management company with talk he might lining up to a move to the Lakers.

Is Davis the guy whose been offered $230 million to stay at his club?

Am I right in thinking it’s going to take a few years for Lakers to relalistically be contenders?

28-10-2018, 11:51 AM
Is Davis the guy whose been offered $230 million to stay at his club?

Am I right in thinking it’s going to take a few years for Lakers to relalistically be contenders?

Re. The lakers, not necessarily, depends how free agency goes next summer. If another top echelon player decides to join LeBron, and they get good fit role players around them, then they’ll be a danger to seriously contend. That said, there are still a few other strong teams right now. Warriors are historically good, celtics and 76ers are looking to break through and likely will, raptors will be strong this year (and beyond depending on what Kawhi does next year), Houston will be decent (and even more so if they can get the trade for Butler done).

Davis is contracted to 2020 I think, so I don’t think he has been offered his contract yet (there’s strict rules about when offers can be made), this year will be crucial for the pelicans, if they can make a strong showing of the playoffs this season, it’ll entice Davis to stay.

LustForLeith
28-10-2018, 01:04 PM
Re. The lakers, not necessarily, depends how free agency goes next summer. If another top echelon player decides to join LeBron, and they get good fit role players around them, then they’ll be a danger to seriously contend. That said, there are still a few other strong teams right now. Warriors are historically good, celtics and 76ers are looking to break through and likely will, raptors will be strong this year (and beyond depending on what Kawhi does next year), Houston will be decent (and even more so if they can get the trade for Butler done).

Davis is contracted to 2020 I think, so I don’t think he has been offered his contract yet (there’s strict rules about when offers can be made), this year will be crucial for the pelicans, if they can make a strong showing of the playoffs this season, it’ll entice Davis to stay.

Cheers mate.

I’ve still not decided on a team to follow!

28-10-2018, 02:13 PM
Cheers mate.

I’ve still not decided on a team to follow!

A pleasure bud :aok:

watch some games, see what happens. Sometimes you just click with a team or player. I follow the Bulls because of Michael Jordan, I loved his style on the court. The bulls have been pretty terrible in the 20 years since, and there’s been other players I’ve been a fan of, but the bulls are still my team :greengrin

LustForLeith
28-10-2018, 05:19 PM
A pleasure bud :aok:

watch some games, see what happens. Sometimes you just click with a team or player. I follow the Bulls because of Michael Jordan, I loved his style on the court. The bulls have been pretty terrible in the 20 years since, and there’s been other players I’ve been a fan of, but the bulls are still my team :greengrin

Through thick and thin!

Is it true that Vegas are getting a team? I love the place so might wait until they’ve got one!

Lakers and Spurs on Sky now, good end to the weekend!

28-10-2018, 06:30 PM
Through thick and thin!

Is it true that Vegas are getting a team? I love the place so might wait until they’ve got one!

Vegas has a hockey team and soon a football team so wouldn't surprise me.

29-10-2018, 06:29 PM
Through thick and thin!

Vegas has a hockey team and soon a football team so wouldn't surprise me.

I think theres a lot of conflicting thought processes about a team in Vegas. There’s an NBA summer league that’s hosted in Vegas every year, it’s usually the highest profile one, I think the league don’t want to disrupt that. There’s also the potential for negative connotations between sports and gambling, although that appears to be changing. There’s also a school of thought that says many ‘home’ fans would be tourists and visitors to the city (I don’t really agree with that myself). On the flip side, there’s a lot of money there (duh), and I get the impression that Vegas is trying to be seen for more than just gambling and the strip.

Theres a few cities that want an NBA team, Seattle being a major one.

29-10-2018, 10:17 PM
I think theres a lot of conflicting thought processes about a team in Vegas. There’s an NBA summer league that’s hosted in Vegas every year, it’s usually the highest profile one, I think the league don’t want to disrupt that. There’s also the potential for negative connotations between sports and gambling, although that appears to be changing. There’s also a school of thought that says many ‘home’ fans would be tourists and visitors to the city (I don’t really agree with that myself). On the flip side, there’s a lot of money there (duh), and I get the impression that Vegas is trying to be seen for more than just gambling and the strip.

Theres a few cities that want an NBA team, Seattle being a major one.

Yes I get the impression that it's trying to be seen differently - with legalized sports gambling now in most states and more states/cities opening up casinos I imagine there's an visitor attraction issue.

LustForLeith
03-11-2018, 09:10 AM
That Steph Curry’s some player!

03-11-2018, 10:56 AM
That Steph Curry’s some player!

Despite all the media hyperbole that surrounds a lot of American sports, I genuinely think we’re witnessing some generational players and cultural shifts in the NBA.

i don’t like him, but LeBron will end up an all time great (I would say is, but he’s not finished yet), who will be amongst the leaders in many career categories, a social commentator beyond most athletes, and someone who has singlehandedly changed the culture of free agency and player movement.

steph curry has changed how the league approaches and values 3 point shooting, and he’s demonstrated that a (relatively) small player can dominate a league of giants. His shooting skills are simply off the chart in regards to what was considered accurate and efficient shooting and scoring.

We’re watching 6’10’’ plus players who tradionally were entrenched next to the basket now comfortably playing 30 fee from the basket. Kevin Durant would’ve been played at center 15 years ago, now he’s essentially positionless, capable of playing anywhere on the floor.

Players are more outspoken for what they believe in, their wealth, public standing, social media and access to people have enabled them to speak up about racism, police brutality, Trump, injustice, poverty, natural disasters, and more. This just didn’t happen in the past. It happens outwith the NBA, as athletes such as J.J. Watt and Colin kaepernick have shown, but the NBA players seem to be much more inclined towards this, possibly because they operate in a league that seems to be in lockstep with its talent, unlike the NFL.

nellio
03-11-2018, 07:09 PM

Just back from SF. Never really followed b ball much but the GSvwarriors store had some jerseys for 50 bucks so bought a Kevin Durant Jersey.

LustForLeith
03-11-2018, 07:09 PM
Despite all the media hyperbole that surrounds a lot of American sports, I genuinely think we’re witnessing some generational players and cultural shifts in the NBA.

i don’t like him, but LeBron will end up an all time great (I would say is, but he’s not finished yet), who will be amongst the leaders in many career categories, a social commentator beyond most athletes, and someone who has singlehandedly changed the culture of free agency and player movement.

steph curry has changed how the league approaches and values 3 point shooting, and he’s demonstrated that a (relatively) small player can dominate a league of giants. His shooting skills are simply off the chart in regards to what was considered accurate and efficient shooting and scoring.

We’re watching 6’10’’ plus players who tradionally were entrenched next to the basket now comfortably playing 30 fee from the basket. Kevin Durant would’ve been played at center 15 years ago, now he’s essentially positionless, capable of playing anywhere on the floor.

Players are more outspoken for what they believe in, their wealth, public standing, social media and access to people have enabled them to speak up about racism, police brutality, Trump, injustice, poverty, natural disasters, and more. This just didn’t happen in the past. It happens outwith the NBA, as athletes such as J.J. Watt and Colin kaepernick have shown, but the NBA players seem to be much more inclined towards this, possibly because they operate in a league that seems to be in lockstep with its talent, unlike the NFL.

I’m clearly no expert but is there a shift now with players who are positionless? Is Anthony Davis like that?

03-11-2018, 09:25 PM
Just back from SF. Never really followed b ball much but the GSvwarriors store had some jerseys for 50 bucks so bought a Kevin Durant Jersey.

That’s the basketball equivalent of a tourist visiting Scotland and purchasing an Eduoard strip from a Celtic shop while in Glasgow :wink:

03-11-2018, 09:52 PM

Aren't the Warriors owned by a hedge fund? So I imagine that's why they've built it as it's an investment. However, far better than using tax payers money!

04-11-2018, 10:02 AM
I’m clearly no expert but is there a shift now with players who are positionless? Is Anthony Davis like that?

I think theres definitely less ‘defined’ positions, with big men often seen (and almost expected) to be shooting three’s, whilst at the same time we're seeing guys like draymond green playing center when not so long ago, someone his size would be a small forward.

Anthony Davis is one of this new breed certainly, although he generally does play center, but is capable of shooting out to the three point line, and defending on the perimeter comfortably. Others like kristaps porzingis, Karl Anthony-towns, Lauri markannen, Durant are also in this ilk. Going back a few years, Chris bosh and dirk nowitzki probably started this shift, even LeBron has redefined positions, he’s comfortably capable of playing all 5 positions at a high level. Up until about 7-10 years ago, players were pigeon holed into one position, two at a push, and never encouraged to explore their boundaries. Now, we’re seeing players operating in places on court that fit their skills, or in some cases, being taken off the court because their skills don’t fit the modern style of play. Old fashioned centers are a dying breed, and often at the end of the rotation because modern big men like Davis are overwhelming them.

Theres also a shooting shift shift that’s been happening for a few years, where the likes of curry, Lillard, Kyrie Irving, klay Thomson, Durant, are rewriting the books in terms of what efficient scoring is, what is seen as effective shooting range, and asking questions of defences that have never been considered before.

LustForLeith
04-11-2018, 12:29 PM
I think theres definitely less ‘defined’ positions, with big men often seen (and almost expected) to be shooting three’s, whilst at the same time we're seeing guys like draymond green playing center when not so long ago, someone his size would be a small forward.

Anthony Davis is one of this new breed certainly, although he generally does play center, but is capable of shooting out to the three point line, and defending on the perimeter comfortably. Others like kristaps porzingis, Karl Anthony-towns, Lauri markannen, Durant are also in this ilk. Going back a few years, Chris bosh and dirk nowitzki probably started this shift, even LeBron has redefined positions, he’s comfortably capable of playing all 5 positions at a high level. Up until about 7-10 years ago, players were pigeon holed into one position, two at a push, and never encouraged to explore their boundaries. Now, we’re seeing players operating in places on court that fit their skills, or in some cases, being taken off the court because their skills don’t fit the modern style of play. Old fashioned centers are a dying breed, and often at the end of the rotation because modern big men like Davis are overwhelming them.

Theres also a shooting shift shift that’s been happening for a few years, where the likes of curry, Lillard, Kyrie Irving, klay Thomson, Durant, are rewriting the books in terms of what efficient scoring is, what is seen as effective shooting range, and asking questions of defences that have never been considered before.

Cheers.

I’m getting well into the sport, it’s taking my kind off Easter Road!

How does the current era of basketball match up with previous ones? The game defiantly picked up an interest with the likes of Jordan v Bird for instance.

hibs#1
04-11-2018, 05:56 PM
Not really a fan of the NBA but I'm a big fan of trainers which goes part and parcel with the NBA. I remember a big hoo ha with Lavar Ball a year or so ago with his big baller brand.I know he tipped his son Lonzo to be the next big thing just wondered how he's getting on?any good?

05-11-2018, 05:18 PM
Cheers.

I’m getting well into the sport, it’s taking my kind off Easter Road!

How does the current era of basketball match up with previous ones? The game defiantly picked up an interest with the likes of Jordan v Bird for instance.

Horses for courses tbh mate, a bit like trying to compare football in the 60s and 70s to now. Different styles, physical condition of the players totally different, even the footwear was archaic compared to today, from the 90s forward the footwear advancements have been significant, such cushioning, styling, branding, structure of the shoe.

the popularity of the sport has grown exponentially though. Magic Johnson played in the 1980 NBA finals as a rookie, and all of the games were on tape delay across the states, none of it was shown live. Magic and bird are generally credited with turning the league into something exciting and engaging, along with Dr J, Moses Malone, etc. Jordan arrived in 84, along with Charles Barkley, with Patrick Ewing and several other big names soon after. Jordan was electric from day one, amazing to watch as a player finding his way in the league, til he went on his run of 6 titles in 8 years in the 90s. The 90s themselves wee a bit of a dirge of negative defensive basketball, although massive names like Shaq, Kobe, Iverson, Garnett, Duncan, and more came into the league. After some dire play in the early 2000s, the league made some progressive changes to rules around defending, handchecking, and defensive structure, leading to more offensive players coming to the fore, ultimately leading to today with the likes of Steph and Durant. Equally, there’s been an evolution in both how defensive play and offensive strategies are deployed, with much more complexity and intricacy involved, and in players being utilised in ways that support their skill set rather than their height.

sorry, I’m a bit of a nerd hahaha :greengrin

05-11-2018, 05:24 PM
Not really a fan of the NBA but I'm a big fan of trainers which goes part and parcel with the NBA. I remember a big hoo ha with Lavar Ball a year or so ago with his big baller brand.I know he tipped his son Lonzo to be the next big thing just wondered how he's getting on?any good?

Hes a decent player, an excellent passer of the ball but a poor shooter. His dad is a wahoo, and will likely end up causing his son bother before his career is over. There been some rumours that the lakers have tried to corall the father somewhat, without much success.

hes an LA boy, playing at his boyhood team, where he would possibly have developed into a very good player. Now with LeBron being there, his window of opportunity has shrunk rapidly, the lakers will do whatever they need to appease LeBron, and work to his timetable, which may mean lonzo gets traded or pushed down the pecking order and doesn’t get the development he’ll need.

LustForLeith
05-11-2018, 06:02 PM
Horses for courses tbh mate, a bit like trying to compare football in the 60s and 70s to now. Different styles, physical condition of the players totally different, even the footwear was archaic compared to today, from the 90s forward the footwear advancements have been significant, such cushioning, styling, branding, structure of the shoe.

the popularity of the sport has grown exponentially though. Magic Johnson played in the 1980 NBA finals as a rookie, and all of the games were on tape delay across the states, none of it was shown live. Magic and bird are generally credited with turning the league into something exciting and engaging, along with Dr J, Moses Malone, etc. Jordan arrived in 84, along with Charles Barkley, with Patrick Ewing and several other big names soon after. Jordan was electric from day one, amazing to watch as a player finding his way in the league, til he went on his run of 6 titles in 8 years in the 90s. The 90s themselves wee a bit of a dirge of negative defensive basketball, although massive names like Shaq, Kobe, Iverson, Garnett, Duncan, and more came into the league. After some dire play in the early 2000s, the league made some progressive changes to rules around defending, handchecking, and defensive structure, leading to more offensive players coming to the fore, ultimately leading to today with the likes of Steph and Durant. Equally, there’s been an evolution in both how defensive play and offensive strategies are deployed, with much more complexity and intricacy involved, and in players being utilised in ways that support their skill set rather than their height.

sorry, I’m a bit of a nerd hahaha :greengrin

No need to apologise, it’s quite interesting!

I might have picked this up wrong but wasn’t there a players strike at one point? Was it because Bird could be offered a better deal by any team other than Boston and he wasn’t happy about this? As a result players went on strike for ages. Probably picked this up wrong.

I remember hearing that Jordan for awhile, wasn’t the best player player in basketball, he wasn’t even the best paid player st the Bulls. He made an absolute fortune from Nike and it was when the new rules came in after the players went on strike that he got a better wage.

It’s probbaly rubbish!

06-11-2018, 06:13 PM
No need to apologise, it’s quite interesting!

I might have picked this up wrong but wasn’t there a players strike at one point? Was it because Bird could be offered a better deal by any team other than Boston and he wasn’t happy about this? As a result players went on strike for ages. Probably picked this up wrong.

I remember hearing that Jordan for awhile, wasn’t the best player player in basketball, he wasn’t even the best paid player st the Bulls. He made an absolute fortune from Nike and it was when the new rules came in after the players went on strike that he got a better wage.

It’s probbaly rubbish!

I dont *think* there was a strike/lock out when Jordan was playing, there was one right after he retired for the second time, in 1998, which ended up with a much shortened season (50 games iirc, down from the usual 82, with no preseason games either). There’s been another lockout since then also. These days however, the league and the players union are very much in close contact and working closely hand in hand. The scale of money coming into the NBA just now is unprecedented, both the players and their union, and the league itself are very happy to work to their mutual benefit rather than split hairs and rock the boat.

When Jordan first came into the league, he was tagged as a player who was more driven by his own stats than winning, and that he neeed Phil Jackson to guide him to become more of a team player, which then led to him becoming the juggernaut and ultimately the GOAT. When you look at his individual stats and advanced metrics though, that argument doesn’t really add up, his stats from say 87-93 don’t vary a great deal, and ultimately its more a case of his teammates getting better (therefore meaning the other team had more to deal with than just jordan), better coaching provided by Jackson, and good drafting of new young players, and good trades (of which Jordan wasn’t always happy with). Kind of comical in hindsight given he’d won a college title, and an Olympic gold medal as a collegiate player in 84. The ‘stats selfish’ thing was more lazy journalism, and an unfair comparison to bird and magic who were different players, and a tag that was difficult to shake off for Jordan until he was holding multiple titles and the press began to change their rhetoric about him. Equally, magic was considered a coach killer when he was younger (his coach got sacked in a move publicly perceived to be all about appeasing him), and was a defensive sieve. Bird was labelled as slow and unathletic, and only where he was a token white in an increasingly black dominated sport. Now they’re both feted, as is Jordan.

In terms of pay, the contract structure was different to nowadays, where it’s actually pretty straightforward for journalists etc to predict what players could be paid in future deals, and the lengths of contracts are strictly governed. When Jordan was drafted, players could be paid silly money right from the off (now a rookie contract is linked to your draft position and monetary value clearly laid out), and often for different lengths of time. Jordan was (relative to the leagues top players) probably underpaid in the run up to and during the first 3peat, with a number of lesser players earning more (ironically in part due Jordan’s popularity and style increasing interest and money pouring into the league). For example, Scottie pipped signed something crazy like an 8 year deal in the late 80s, and within 4 years the league’s money had increased massively, money being paid to players signing deals later on was much more, even though they were average players not coming close to winning titles.

during the second 3peat, he was the highest paid player in the league, in fact I think it’s only in the last 3 years or so that the figures he was earning have been surpassed as an all time high single season figure. The lockout just after he retired began to usher in an era where there was caps placed on what a player can earn, based on league tenure, a teams willingness to go to the max level for any given player, how many max contracts a team already had, and that players performance in relation to being selected all-NBA, etc.

You are correct in that his earnings from Nike eclipsed his earnings with the bulls, bearing in mind that there’s a entire Nike brand based purely around him. He still earns a vast amount from his relationship with Nike even now.

nellio
06-11-2018, 07:27 PM
PSG have their away kit made by Jordan and not Nike these days. Obviously Nike owns Jordan brand but a bit shocked to see it.

07-11-2018, 03:16 AM
You are correct in that his earnings from Nike eclipsed his earnings with the bulls, bearing in mind that there’s a entire Nike brand based purely around him. He still earns a vast amount from his relationship with Nike even now.

I once watched a documentary with his agent who had put together the deal with Nike. He said Nike told him if they sold $1m of Air Jordan's they'd be ecstatic but believed they'd sell like 100,000 total :faf:

07-11-2018, 05:52 PM
I once watched a documentary with his agent who had put together the deal with Nike. He said Nike told him if they sold $1m of Air Jordan's they'd be ecstatic but believed they'd sell like 100,000 total :faf:

Nike were still seen very much as an athletics sports company, and were trying to break into a new market (sports sponsorship was in its infancy, Converse were the biggest player in the basketball market, but they had no idea of how sports sponsorship and branding could go, and weren’t doing much more than getting magic and bird in the occasional advert).

As you’ve said, not even Nike saw what the future would hold, although they did see early on what kind of appeal Jordan had, and embraced that, and put their weight and money behind it, bringing in the likes of spike lee to direct Jordan’s adverts.

LustForLeith
07-11-2018, 07:12 PM

Nike were still seen very much as an athletics sports company, and were trying to break into a new market (sports sponsorship was in its infancy, Converse were the biggest player in the basketball market, but they had no idea of how sports sponsorship and branding could go, and weren’t doing much more than getting magic and bird in the occasional advert).

As you’ve said, not even Nike saw what the future would hold, although they did see early on what kind of appeal Jordan had, and embraced that, and put their weight and money behind it, bringing in the likes of spike lee to direct Jordan’s adverts.

Cheers for the last two posts, really informative.

I think a problem in the UK is in the late 80’s and 90’s basketball was pretty hard to come by. For me it was playing computer games and in being a film geek Spike Lee. Sportswear played a massive part as well where it almost became irrelevant that Jordan actually played a sport!

07-11-2018, 11:50 PM

:agree: that Nike executive must be very happy s/he was wrong with that prediction!

Put Nike on the map sports wise and opened up so much more revenue to players.

08-11-2018, 12:05 AM
Not NBA but did anyone see Zion Williams debut at Duke last night? Wow.

08-11-2018, 07:25 PM
Cheers for the last two posts, really informative.

I think a problem in the UK is in the late 80’s and 90’s basketball was pretty hard to come by. For me it was playing computer games and in being a film geek Spike Lee. Sportswear played a massive part as well where it almost became irrelevant that Jordan actually played a sport!

No probs mate, happy to chat NBA all day :greengrin

i agree, mid-90s channel 4 used to have a programme on a Sunday morning, but watching NBA basketball in the UK has never been easy.

i used to play a lot at school and for a bit after, would love to play again (no idea where you could tbh lol), not sure if the knees would cope that well but you never know :greengrin

LustForLeith
21-11-2018, 06:05 PM
Any recommendations for the best show to catch up with all the results from the week? Sky have one but it doesn’t cover the all the matches!

03-12-2018, 06:31 PM
Bulls sack Hoiberg.

a good start, but the front office needs to go as well, far too conservative, far too short sighted, no long (or mid) term plan, just clueless

LustForLeith
03-02-2019, 10:24 AM
Still quite enjoy watching this. Still don’t have a favourite wan but I quite like this James Harden chap!

LustForLeith
20-06-2019, 06:28 AM
NBA done for a season! Well done Raptors.

I’m getting into the drafts. Williamson looks some player!

26-06-2019, 08:27 PM
NBA done for a season! Well done Raptors.

I’m getting into the drafts. Williamson looks some player!

He’s certainly being hyped, i think he has some work to do on his shooting, but with the right guidance could really be something.

shaping up to be a very intriguing free agency as well, so many top end players able to move, and a few teams looking to acquire or get rid of players, will be a very different league when the dust settles :greengrin

26-06-2019, 08:41 PM
Always kept meaning to come back to this thread.

Well done Toronto! Disappointed I didn't get to see back to back championships in the Bay Area, but the Raptors deserved their win.

Injuries hurt us a bit this year, but we recovered well to make the playoffs and then found our momentum. Just not enough in the end!

26-06-2019, 10:19 PM
Talk of shortening the season and adding a competition

04-07-2019, 05:47 PM
Box office free agency so far, league looking quite different, with Kawhi still to make a public decision, and probably a fair bit of player movement still to come :greengrin

05-07-2019, 08:10 PM
Box office free agency so far, league looking quite different, with Kawhi still to make a public decision, and probably a fair bit of player movement still to come :greengrin

Yes it's been insane! A team in New York might win some games!

06-07-2019, 08:00 AM
Yes it's been insane! A team in New York might win some games!

Kawhi and Paul George to the clippers! Wow!

what a mega trade for George, 5 picks, 2 pick swaps, and shai gilgeous-Alexander!

This is can only end up being great for the clips or a disaster. Watch the thunder become a major player for the next few years as they use those assets to rebuild. Wouldn’t be surprised to see them try to trade Westbrook now or soon as well

06-07-2019, 11:37 PM
Next year might be very competitive, something the league has been missing for a while imo.

07-07-2019, 12:59 PM
Next year might be very competitive, something the league has been missing for a while imo.

Yep, no one team stands out, and there are several that will fancy their chances

LustForLeith
30-10-2019, 06:22 AM
I’ve taken my eye off the ball and missed the start of the season! Did I just see Antony Davis has signed for the Lakers?!

KinchHibee
30-10-2019, 10:28 AM
I’ve taken my eye off the ball and missed the start of the season! Did I just see Antony Davis has signed for the Lakers?!

LA traded most of the assets they had for him, young players and picks, with the expectation he will sign an extension by the end of this season. It looked a lot to give up at the time, but we had offered more at the trade deadline last season and the package the Clippers sent for PG helped put it in perspective for sure.

It was sad to see the young guns like Ingram, Ball and Hart be traded as I think all three will breakout sooner rather than later. The Pelicans might not win a bunch this season but they will sure be fun to watch. AD isn't a talent to miss out on though. He had 40 and 20 in 31 minutes last night!

23-07-2020, 02:40 PM
Anyone been watching JaValle McGee's vlogs on youtube?

Not long till the league returns.

30-07-2020, 08:30 AM
Anyone been watching JaValle McGee's vlogs on youtube?

Not long till the league returns.

Restarts tonight, for the 22 :greengrin

Sadly my team isn't in that group, but perpetual hope for better things :rolleyes: :brickwall :I'm waiti :faf:

31-07-2020, 07:42 PM
Nets missing kyrie here, down at halftime to the magic.

31-07-2020, 08:40 PM
Nets missing kyrie here, down at halftime to the magic.

The Nets injury list is insane, Irving, Durant, Jordan, Dinwiddie along with Chandler and Prince electing not to play, there's almost the full starters and bench making up the full list of players not available, crazy.

02-08-2020, 04:00 PM
Trail blazers vs celtics at 8.30 on sky.

10-08-2020, 12:25 AM
Carmelo is now 15th on the all-time scoring list.

17-08-2020, 04:28 PM
Playoffs start tonight, will be interesting with no home court advantage.

Portland vs lakers will be the pick of the rounds.

17-08-2020, 04:55 PM
It’ll be the draft lottery soon too I think, things hitting up in the world of the NBA

that said, it’s looking like the 8 odd teams out isn’t be getting their mini tournament to play, which is a shame

17-08-2020, 07:35 PM
I’m supporting the Nets through the playoffs, ‘mon the underdogs. I’ve jinxed them now eh? :greengrin

19-08-2020, 07:37 PM
Lakers 0-1 down to Portland atm, game 2 friday.

Game two of Denver and Utah on at 9pm.

21-08-2020, 10:29 AM
Lakers and Portland 1-1 now, Anthony Davis first player with 30+ points and 10+ rebounds since kobe.

27-08-2020, 02:53 AM
Lakers and Clippers leave the season.

28-08-2020, 05:06 PM
Play offs to resume saturday.

05-09-2020, 07:24 AM
James Harden with 36 as the rockets take a 1-0 lead vs the lakers.

06-09-2020, 12:21 PM
James Harden with 36 as the rockets take a 1-0 lead vs the lakers.

firmly in the ‘anyone but the Lakers’ camp :greengrin

to be fair, if the rockets win, I’ll be in the ‘anyone but the rockets’ camp then hahaha

16-09-2020, 08:54 AM
There goes a lakers vs clippers western conference final.

21-09-2020, 10:54 AM
Lakers 2-0 up on the nuggets. Looks like there going to win the nba finals for kobe.

Dmas
23-09-2020, 08:36 AM
Lakers 2-0 up on the nuggets. Looks like there going to win the nba finals for kobe.

both conference finals set up nicely at 2-1, can see the Lakers taking the next 2 games to win it, Heat v celtics a tougher call, hopefully the heats play off form continues but I think the Celtics will fancy pulling it square at 2-2 now.. big game for Miami tonight

Dmas
24-09-2020, 08:26 AM
both conference finals set up nicely at 2-1, can see the Lakers taking the next 2 games to win it, Heat v celtics a tougher call, hopefully the heats play off form continues but I think the Celtics will fancy pulling it square at 2-2 now.. big game for Miami tonight

Good form continues 3-1 the heat

03-10-2020, 08:51 AM
Lakers 2-0 up now in the finals, looking like the sweep is on. Get out the brushes shaq and Barkley.

Dmas
05-10-2020, 05:16 AM
Lakers 2-0 up now in the finals, looking like the sweep is on. Get out the brushes shaq and Barkley.

Put those brushes away :-)

Some performance by butler last night, 2-1

05-10-2020, 01:24 PM
Put those brushes away :-)

Some performance by butler last night, 2-1

I will watch the highlights later and I don't have a preference to who wins, but I guess the more games the better for the fans so let's say lakers to win 4-3

Dmas
05-10-2020, 03:58 PM
I will watch the highlights later and I don't have a preference to who wins, but I guess the more games the better for the fans so let's say lakers to win 4-3

I like the Heat, however I can see the Lakers winning the rest I'm just glad it wasn't a clean sweep, the loss of bam and drogic is a bit much to deal with both have been immense since bubble

07-10-2020, 12:21 PM
Still time for the heat even at 3-1 but will be a very long shot.

07-10-2020, 01:36 PM
Still time for the heat even at 3-1 but will be a very long shot.

Yeah, need to get Bam and Dragic back to stand much of a chance

09-10-2020, 03:24 PM
Pains me to say it but if lakers win tonight then surely lebron must go down at the goat?

3 championships with 3 different franchises and im a big mj and kobe fan.

09-10-2020, 04:51 PM
Pains me to say it but if lakers win tonight then surely lebron must go down at the goat?

I humbly disagree, still think Jordan is ahead of him IMO :greengrin

Dmas
10-10-2020, 07:33 AM

It’s tough to say anyone better than MJ isn’t it, the guy catapulted the game almost single handed, the line up of players in the NBA in the 90s was incredible which is why I always stick with MJ.

LeBron is fantastic though you see how many 3s he was putting away last night almost like it was nothing, the talent is incredible.

10-10-2020, 07:52 PM

As would Danny Green, not sure he’ll ever be in the GOAT convo though especially after his miss last night 😂

12-10-2020, 06:06 PM
I'm definitely with you guys and will always see mj as the greatest in my life time (34 years old), I just think lebron has a case now for the goat. Think his 10th final? Yes he lost 6 of them.

People can say in lebron's case mj had better players beside him but in Jordan's era it was a lot harder.

Anyway good overall season despite covid and will look forward to the draft.

Dmas
13-10-2020, 04:11 PM
I'm definitely with you guys and will always see mj as the greatest in my life time (34 years old), I just think lebron has a case now for the goat. Think his 10th final? Yes he lost 6 of them.

People can say in lebron's case mj had better players beside him but in Jordan's era it was a lot harder.

Anyway good overall season despite covid and will look forward to the draft.

Any ideas how there planning the next season? I really enjoyed the bubble games,maybe the best sport I’ve watched on tv during the pandemic I don’t think it lost too much at all with no fans, however the same concept won’t work for a 82 game season.

15-10-2020, 10:35 PM
Jordan is the greatest. Every finals he got to he won, he’s got TWO threepeats, LeBron doesn’t have any. LeBron is a phenomenal athlete but IMO the game is easier now for attacking play. Jordan played in a harder era and dominated, properly dominated.

16-10-2020, 01:07 PM
Jordan is the greatest. Every finals he got to he won, he’s got TWO threepeats, LeBron doesn’t have any. LeBron is a phenomenal athlete but IMO the game is easier now for attacking play. Jordan played in a harder era and dominated, properly dominated.

:top marks totally agree mate

There's so many reasons why Jordan is the GOAT, the statistical reasons, the records he holds (and they are copious). What also stands out for me, is that he reshaped the way the entire league approaches how the game is played, how players are drafted and how they are valued. Before he came along, EVERY championship team featured a very good - dominant big man/forwards. Every single one. He was the first guard to lead a team without a dominating big man to win the title, and he did it 6 times! It had never been done before. Since then, only 2 successful teams have been built around big men, the Lakers with Shaq, and the Spurs with Tim Duncan. The players who have dominated the league since are all agile, athletic skilful players like Curry, LeBron, Durrant, Kobe, Wade, Kawhi, Paul, and its generally accepting that having a great wing player is more advantageous, and that you can get by with an average post player, rather than the other way around.

16-10-2020, 01:48 PM
:top marks totally agree mate

There's so many reasons why Jordan is the GOAT, the statistical reasons, the records he holds (and they are copious). What also stands out for me, is that he reshaped the way the entire league approaches how the game is played, how players are drafted and how they are valued. Before he came along, EVERY championship team featured a very good - dominant big man/forwards. Every single one. He was the first guard to lead a team without a dominating big man to win the title, and he did it 6 times! It had never been done before. Since then, only 2 successful teams have been built around big men, the Lakers with Shaq, and the Spurs with Tim Duncan. The players who have dominated the league since are all agile, athletic skilful players like Curry, LeBron, Durrant, Kobe, Wade, Kawhi, Paul, and its generally accepting that having a great wing player is more advantageous, and that you can get by with an average post player, rather than the other way around.

Watched the 1998 all-star game again and 23 pts and 8 assists not shabby for a guy who had been suffering with bad flu during the weekend and the speculation about his last season etc.

16-10-2020, 01:51 PM
Any ideas how there planning the next season? I really enjoyed the bubble games,maybe the best sport I’ve watched on tv during the pandemic I don’t think it lost too much at all with no fans, however the same concept won’t work for a 82 game season.

No ideas but on nba2k21 season starts in December and I couldnt see the players wanting the bubble for an 82 game season like you said, maybe a shortened season.

25-10-2020, 05:43 AM
NBA looking for a pre-christmas start.

Amid the coronavirus pandemic, the NBA is proposing several changes to next season that include a 72-game regular season, a play-in tournament and the likelihood of no All-Star Game or All-Star Weekend in Indianapolis, sources said. The league is considering a two-week break at the midway point of the season, sources said.

portyhibernian
25-10-2020, 01:01 PM
Thoughts on the Bucks chances next season? Personally I think the supermax is Giannis preferred option but it will depend on what kind of help they can get him - I see they've hired Josh Openheimer, maybe at Giannis' request as they had worked together in the past (He ruined Giannis' jumper in my opinion and I don't think he has recovered it) - I'd have preferred a more attack minded assistant to be honest as I thought they were way too defensive in the bubble and it cost them.

I'm a Brook Lopez fan and Middleton is a good shooter but inconsistent. The bench is weak - I think DiVincenzo could turn out to be a player and is a very tradeable asset (along with George Hill).

Who would make then serious contenders?? I would like to see moves for Jrue Holiday/CP3, someone that can play the pick and roll with Giannis like Harden would be great but a pipe dream!

25-10-2020, 05:02 PM
Thoughts on the Bucks chances next season? Personally I think the supermax is Giannis preferred option but it will depend on what kind of help they can get him - I see they've hired Josh Openheimer, maybe at Giannis' request as they had worked together in the past (He ruined Giannis' jumper in my opinion and I don't think he has recovered it) - I'd have preferred a more attack minded assistant to be honest as I thought they were way too defensive in the bubble and it cost them.

I'm a Brook Lopez fan and Middleton is a good shooter but inconsistent. The bench is weak - I think DiVincenzo could turn out to be a player and is a very tradeable asset (along with George Hill).

Who would make then serious contenders?? I would like to see moves for Jrue Holiday/CP3, someone that can play the pick and roll with Giannis like Harden would be great but a pipe dream!

wouldn’t completely dismiss harden, looks like Houston could be about to collapse, if harden wants out, then getting to play with giannis would probably appeal.

the biggest difference in the playoffs is teams get to play, evaluate, re-scheme and play again. Giannis can blow teams away on any given night, but when you have to play them in a series, coaches will work out how to make it tougher and tougher for him to get the points the bucks need him to get, or to shut down his teammates making him carry too much of the load. The bucks need to get another player in who can’t be left alone, CP3 would be a good fit but eye wateringly expensive. Harden would probably be the ideal fit (that’s even vaguely attainable, KD, Steph, Kyrie etc aren’t going anywhere).

I'm just hoping the the Bulls have finally turned a corner and might see some semblance of basketball nous, ambition and positivity :greengrin

portyhibernian
17-11-2020, 08:21 AM
wouldn’t completely dismiss harden, looks like Houston could be about to collapse, if harden wants out, then getting to play with giannis would probably appeal.

the biggest difference in the playoffs is teams get to play, evaluate, re-scheme and play again. Giannis can blow teams away on any given night, but when you have to play them in a series, coaches will work out how to make it tougher and tougher for him to get the points the bucks need him to get, or to shut down his teammates making him carry too much of the load. The bucks need to get another player in who can’t be left alone, CP3 would be a good fit but eye wateringly expensive. Harden would probably be the ideal fit (that’s even vaguely attainable, KD, Steph, Kyrie etc aren’t going anywhere).

I'm just hoping the the Bulls have finally turned a corner and might see some semblance of basketball nous, ambition and positivity :greengrin

Hope the Bulls can turn the corner aswell, their legendary team of 95/96 is the reason I took an interest in basketball - MJ also put in a sterling performance in Space Jam so I do have a soft spot for them! I just chose to follow the Bucks as I liked their uniforms the best, it's nice to finally see that decision paying off! (Well almost)

I think the Houston collapse you speak of might be on the horizon, looks likely that Westbrook and Harden may both be leaving, but I imagine they might do ok out of any deals for those guys.

Jrue Holiday to the Bucks also seems to be happening - they are giving up a lot to get him in but I think it will be worth it if it keeps Giannis in town beyond 2021 which I think is what they are desperately working to do. Doesn't leave much room to manoeuvre further down the line though, giving away 3 first round picks.

Looking forward to what will hopefully be another entertaining season!

nellio
17-11-2020, 12:38 PM
NBA draft is on sky sports tomorrow night at 11pm. Worth a watch after the football perhaps! Looking to see who goes first and who the warriors will select at #2

17-11-2020, 05:27 PM
Hope the Bulls can turn the corner aswell, their legendary team of 95/96 is the reason I took an interest in basketball - MJ also put in a sterling performance in Space Jam so I do have a soft spot for them! I just chose to follow the Bucks as I liked their uniforms the best, it's nice to finally see that decision paying off! (Well almost)

I think the Houston collapse you speak of might be on the horizon, looks likely that Westbrook and Harden may both be leaving, but I imagine they might do ok out of any deals for those guys.

Jrue Holiday to the Bucks also seems to be happening - they are giving up a lot to get him in but I think it will be worth it if it keeps Giannis in town beyond 2021 which I think is what they are desperately working to do. Doesn't leave much room to manoeuvre further down the line though, giving away 3 first round picks.

Looking forward to what will hopefully be another entertaining season!

looks like the bucks are going all in with Giannis, with bogdanovic likely to be coming too, if they can hold on to (most of) the rest their role players then you’ll have a really strong squad. Jrue is a fantastic player, will compliment giannis well I think, in some ways is a better fit than Harden tbh.

I think it’s going to be an exciting season too :greengrin

04-04-2021, 06:00 PM
Really not been up to date and not watched as many games this season due to work etc

What’s happened to the Celtics so far? Nets doing well as expected but for me can never make anything out of the standings until playoffs.

Just about to watch the the nets @ bulls live on YouTube.

Anyone thing do any of you fellow Hibees ever wear any Celtic’s gear? I just couldn’t do it.

Been wearing my T-Mac black and gold raptors jersey a bit and going to order a Shawn Kemp Sonics jersey at the weekend.

05-04-2021, 10:01 AM
Really not been up to date and not watched as many games this season due to work etc

What’s happened to the Celtics so far? Nets doing well as expected but for me can never make anything out of the standings until playoffs.

Just about to watch the the nets @ bulls live on YouTube.

Anyone thing do any of you fellow Hibees ever wear any Celtic’s gear? I just couldn’t do it.

Been wearing my T-Mac black and gold raptors jersey a bit and going to order a Shawn Kemp Sonics jersey at the weekend.

Celtics are not doing brilliantly, struggled a bit this season, they’ll probably make the play-in, but it’s not a given. I think they overplayed their hand when Hayward wanted to go in the off season, and it’s bitten them hard. Probably also doesn’t help that their three best players all kinda play the same position, so they try to stagger the minutes of Tatum, Brown and Smart. They also traded one of their best ‘glue’ guys to the bulls at the deadline just to save some money, which doesn’t see, to have went down to well with some of the fans.

the nets are probably just hoping to get everyone back fit, and get some game time in them before the playoffs. I’d rather see them win than the lakers lol. Remains to be seen whether the KD-Rappaport stuff will have any affect on their season

and as a Bulls fan, no I haven’t worn any celtics gear :greengrin that said, I don’t really wear any bulls gear either. I do have a few bulls jerseys though, one bought when I was in the stadium itself.

23-05-2021, 07:44 PM
Lakers @ the suns now on YouTube game 1 and what a difference fans are.

24-05-2021, 07:35 PM
Lakers @ the suns now on YouTube game 1 and what a difference fans are.

‘Mon anyone but the lakers :greengrin

yonder1875
25-05-2021, 11:46 AM
Playoffs have been class so far. The atmosphere at the Garden on Sunday was like a football stadium!

Watched the Bucks hammer the Heat last night and I would love to see a Bucks vs Nets ECF as I really think they can stop the Nets juggernaut. Anyone else think the Bucks can go all the way this year? They are a different beast with Holiday in there for the playoffs as opposed to Bledsoe.

portyhibernian
03-06-2021, 10:49 AM
Playoffs have been class so far. The atmosphere at the Garden on Sunday was like a football stadium!

Watched the Bucks hammer the Heat last night and I would love to see a Bucks vs Nets ECF as I really think they can stop the Nets juggernaut. Anyone else think the Bucks can go all the way this year? They are a different beast with Holiday in there for the playoffs as opposed to Bledsoe.

Would love the Bucks to win it! Seems obvious but I think key thing is stopping Harden and Durant (easier said than done) - Kyrie can shoot all day but is nowhere near the facilitator of those two, and make the most of the minutes where Harden is on the court without them - will be a close series but the Bucks can definitely do it. Will require Giannis to up his game though as offensively he wasn't at it for the Miami series. Speaking of which, how bad are the Heat???

yonder1875
03-06-2021, 12:02 PM
Would love the Bucks to win it! Seems obvious but I think key thing is stopping Harden and Durant (easier said than done) - Kyrie can shoot all day but is nowhere near the facilitator of those two, and make the most of the minutes where Harden is on the court without them - will be a close series but the Bucks can definitely do it. Will require Giannis to up his game though as offensively he wasn't at it for the Miami series. Speaking of which, how bad are the Heat???

Slight misunderstanding from me, Bucks Nets is actually the East SF but in my opinion both of these can deal with Philly in 5 in the final. I also believe this match up is more or less the finals as I think they look the two strongest teams right now. I agree re Kyrie, put Giannis on KD and Jrue on Harden and just rotate on Kyrie as we know he is a scorer regardless

Would love to see Giannis prove some wrong (even though he’s a two time MVP!) and get the ring.

Disappointing end for the Knicks but the foundations are now there for the future and they came up against a superstar point guard in the making in Trae Young.

04-06-2021, 01:37 PM
Far from a Lebron hater but happy for cp3 and the suns.

04-06-2021, 06:57 PM
Far from a Lebron hater but happy for cp3 and the suns.

whereas I think he’s a bit of a prick (Lebron) tbh, so quite happy to see the Lakers go out :greengrin

that said, the suns have been terrific all season, well done to them

saw a rumour online that CP3 is planning on opting out of his contract and seeking a deal multi year deal topping 100mill, would be a shame for him to be successful with the suns then end up leaving, although wouldn’t be the first

yonder1875
13-06-2021, 10:41 PM
Bucks level it up against the Nets with a big game from Giannis and PJ Tucker defending KD brilliantly. Hope Kyrie is back for game 5.

portyhibernian
14-06-2021, 03:38 PM
Bucks level it up against the Nets with a big game from Giannis and PJ Tucker defending KD brilliantly. Hope Kyrie is back for game 5.

I hope not but I am biased! I think Tucker has been great up against KD, he's always going to score but he's been made to work hard for his shots which is about all you can ask - the debacle with the security guard in game 3 was entertaining - I think Tucker managed to throw him off a little bit.

In terms of their injuries it's unfortunate for them but that is how they've decided to craft their roster, 3 superstars on the down side of their careers - injuries always going to happen. That being said it looked like we were getting swept after game 2!

Game 5 will be interesting - Bucks are improving and Giannis has stopped shooting 3's so quietly confident of the win, especially if KD is on his own.

14-06-2021, 07:37 PM
Suns are looking less like a dark horse and more like a serious threat, not sure I think the clippers can beat them in a series. Utah probably a tougher match for them but even then, I think the suns might just be too strong and too balanced

That leaves the winner of the east - the nets fully fit would be a brilliant series, and the bucks would be a decent series too

portyhibernian
16-06-2021, 09:48 AM
Suns are looking less like a dark horse and more like a serious threat, not sure I think the clippers can beat them in a series. Utah probably a tougher match for them but even then, I think the suns might just be too strong and too balanced

That leaves the winner of the east - the nets fully fit would be a brilliant series, and the bucks would be a decent series too

Would be delighted for Chris Paul if Phoenix went all the way - he's possibly the best player in recent history to have never won a ring, and the Suns right now seem a good fit for him. I just wish the Bucks had went and got him instead of Jrue when the opportunity was there as it looks like another series is about to be blown and I'm pretty sure he would be the difference maker.

16-06-2021, 10:59 AM
Would be delighted for Chris Paul if Phoenix went all the way - he's possibly the best player in recent history to have never won a ring, and the Suns right now seem a good fit for him. I just wish the Bucks had went and got him instead of Jrue when the opportunity was there as it looks like another series is about to be blown and I'm pretty sure he would be the difference maker.

yeah CP would be an upgrade from Holliday, although possibly age (and $$$) kept the bucks away

i agree bout the series, this was a chance for the bucks to lay a marker down and take the series by the scruff of the neck, with Irving out and the beard hobbled, but KD pulled it out

portyhibernian
01-07-2021, 01:45 PM
Thought CP3 was excellent last night, really believe Phoenixwill win it now - especially if Giannis/Trae Young are out (or hobbled) givesthem a great chance, some turnaround for a team that hasn't had a playoff gamein a decade! Think these playoffs will probably be remembered for the injuriesmore than anything else sadly, but any winner needs a bit of luck I suppose.

04-07-2021, 04:04 AM
Bucks vs Suns for the title

04-07-2021, 03:41 PM
I thought when they got past the Lakers they would go all the way and I hope it's cp3's time also love booker as a player but the bucks won't be laying down.

2-10 next week so will try catch some minute's.

04-07-2021, 04:25 PM
I thought when they got past the Lakers they would go all the way and I hope it's cp3's time also love booker as a player but the bucks won't be laying down.

2-10 next week so will try catch some minute's.

the Suns seem to have looked really confident and strong at each round since the lakers, watching them against the Clippers you’d think they were veterans of reaching the later stages, they just kept executing with calmness and self assuredness

some intriguing matchups, Holliday vs CP3, Middleton vs Booker, giannis vs Ayton (not as clear a matchup but likely probable for a lot of minutes), with the likes of bridges also likely to have a lot of say in what happens

It’s a nice change to have 2 newish teams in the finals, 93 since the Suns got there, 74 for the Bucks.

a chance for Chris Paul or giannis to cement legacies, hoping for CP3 myself

07-07-2021, 11:22 AM
Let's go suns 1-0 up.

09-07-2021, 10:41 AM
Anothe big game for cp3 and book. 2-0 suns.

portyhibernian
12-07-2021, 10:57 AM
Anothe big game for cp3 and book. 2-0 suns.

Giannis destroyed the Suns last night - when Ayton is not on the court they have no answer for him and he looks locked in right now. Last night could be a turning point, predicting Bucks in 7 with a historic series for Giannis.

16-07-2021, 05:49 PM
Yep happens a lot in the playoffs home team will go 2-0 up then blow it on the road to go 2-2.

Giannis though like you definitely ain't laying down to no one. Some block!!

16-07-2021, 07:25 PM
Going to the wire I think

yonder1875
21-07-2021, 10:16 AM
Amazing achievement from the Bucks to win 4 straight after being 2 down.

So happy for Giannis, one of the all time great finals appearances.

21-07-2021, 10:53 AM
Congratulations to the bucks going 0-2 down then coming back.

Now space jam 2 at the weekend 😀

21-07-2021, 01:05 PM
Well done to the Bucks, been chapping on the door for a couple of years now

next year should be really competitive I think, the lakers are already looking to retool, warriors will have their big 3 back and probably another big name in the door in a trade for wiseman, Nets will be desperate to change the narrative around them with each of their big 3 needing a title to prove something to themselves and/or the world. Bucks will be back as champs, heat will be strong, I’m hoping the Bulls can get a decent PG in and hopefully make a wee playoff run (no serious aspirations beyond that hahaha), the Jazz will come back strong, so will the Suns and Nuggets. Probably other teams I’ve forgotten about as well, already looking forward to it :greengrin

portyhibernian
21-07-2021, 02:57 PM
Well done to the Bucks, been chapping on the door for a couple of years now

next year should be really competitive I think, the lakers are already looking to retool, warriors will have their big 3 back and probably another big name in the door in a trade for wiseman, Nets will be desperate to change the narrative around them with each of their big 3 needing a title to prove something to themselves and/or the world. Bucks will be back as champs, heat will be strong, I’m hoping the Bulls can get a decent PG in and hopefully make a wee playoff run (no serious aspirations beyond that hahaha), the Jazz will come back strong, so will the Suns and Nuggets. Probably other teams I’ve forgotten about as well, already looking forward to it :greengrin

Absolutely delighted! Giannis was a beast and had one of the great finals games last night. Not sure Bucks can win it again with this year's team though - as you say Warriors, Lakers and Nets will all be strong - I think Philly can compete too if they can trade Simmons away for Lillard, so an interesting summer ahead. Wouldn't write off Suns/Hawks either!

21-07-2021, 06:48 PM
Absolutely delighted! Giannis was a beast and had one of the great finals games last night. Not sure Bucks can win it again with this year's team though - as you say Warriors, Lakers and Nets will all be strong - I think Philly can compete too if they can trade Simmons away for Lillard, so an interesting summer ahead. Wouldn't write off Suns/Hawks either!

think you’re right about philly, if they can get a lights out shooter who can bring some creativity as well, they’ll be incredibly dangerous

lillard is an interesting one, I think he wants out of Portland but doesn’t want to say it publicly for fear of possible backlash being the main man there. That said, I don’t know if Portland are ready to let him go either, could see them trying to move McCollum and keep lillard, and hopefully pair him with a decent or dominant big man who can cover the rim

21-07-2021, 08:41 PM
think you’re right about philly, if they can get a lights out shooter who can bring some creativity as well, they’ll be incredibly dangerous

lillard is an interesting one, I think he wants out of Portland but doesn’t want to say it publicly for fear of possible backlash being the main man there. That said, I don’t know if Portland are ready to let him go either, could see them trying to move McCollum and keep lillard, and hopefully pair him with a decent or dominant big man who can cover the rim

Anyone to look out for in the draft?

22-07-2021, 07:07 PM
Anyone to look out for in the draft?

not too sure tbh, kinda tuned out of that a bit when the bulls traded away their pick :greengrin

Cade Cunningham seems to be pretty much the consensus first pick for most commentators, but not all. Also seems to be a large proportion of teams keen to trade up, down or even out of the draft, so a lot of moving parts

also seems a bit of a meh draft, couple of decent prospects but no one earth shattering, and not really anyone bringing a lot of narrative

still, it’ll be fascinating to see how the league moves and twists around the draft, then there’ll be free agency soon after

03-08-2021, 08:02 PM
Interesting first day or so of free agency, chuffed the bulls managed to get Lonzo Ball, although I have to say I’m not that chuffed they’ve signed Alex Caruso, I think he’s a wee dick hahaha

lakers throwing every dollar they can muster at anyone who’ll sign, their tax bill will be astronomical

steph signs another $200 mill + contract, first player to ever sign multiple such contracts

Lowry to the heat, whilst Conley and probably CP3 staying put for big money

still a few reasonably big names and kawhi to sign on somewhere.

23-10-2021, 08:02 AM
New season started, Warriors looking good, Steph looking ominous

My Bulls seem to have started well, Lakers not so much 😄

portyhibernian
26-10-2021, 08:10 PM
New season started, Warriors looking good, Steph looking ominous

My Bulls seem to have started well, Lakers not so much 😄

Great start for the Bulls this year, hope they can make the playoffs, personally wanted to see Derrick Rose return but sadly wasn't to be! Lakers have a lot of really good players but doesn't seem to be happening for them on the floor - Ja Morant was by far the best player on the court the other night against them. Any thoughts on the Simmons situation??? Trade for Kyrie would make sense to both teams in my opinion, Philly couud use a shooter to really make them contenders and Nets need an elite defender...

27-10-2021, 06:12 AM
Great start for the Bulls this year, hope they can make the playoffs, personally wanted to see Derrick Rose return but sadly wasn't to be! Lakers have a lot of really good players but doesn't seem to be happening for them on the floor - Ja Morant was by far the best player on the court the other night against them. Any thoughts on the Simmons situation??? Trade for Kyrie would make sense to both teams in my opinion, Philly couud use a shooter to really make them contenders and Nets need an elite defender...

Simmons is in a really tough situation (partly of his making), he wants out, but his performances don’t warrant another team throwing a lot into a deal for him, whilst the 76ers want a treasure trove, which they won’t get. I think what we’ve seen for the last couple of weeks, Simmons playing silly buggers and the Sixers making a show of following protocols will last for a bit of time yet, and eventually a team like the Kings will end up trading for him, the Soxers won’t get anything like what they want, but will manage to get a reasonable amount for him, and he’ll probably do ok somewhere like that. A trade for kyrie makes sense on some levels, but the Sixers would probably want reassurances that he’ll toe the line (unlikely) and would be available to play (wouldn’t be able to play in certain states due to covid regulations). Think the nets wouldn’t be far from doing that trade though.

Kyrie is a law unto himself, I’m not sure what will happen there. Any team trading for him runs a high risk that he’ll take time off when it suits him (for various reasons), there’s the covid vaccination stuff going on with him, and he’s occasionally a distraction, whilst also being an exceptionally gifted player.

I was hoping Rose would go back to Chicago as well, but the Knicks threw a pile of money at him.

The Lakers are dysfunctional, but will win plenty games through individual talent. I’m not a LeBron fan at all, so quite content they’re not looking great hahaha

yonder1875
29-12-2021, 06:21 PM
Who we got for MVP this year (so far)?

Gotta be one from KD, Giannis, Steph and Jokic for me. LeBron been quality lately but no chance he’ll win it with the Lakers in such a low seed.

I’ll say Giannis and if he doesn’t get MVP then I think he deserves DPOY. I know it was a regular season game but the game he played against the Celtics on Christmas Day was unreal. For me, by far the most dominant player in the world on both ends of the floor.

30-12-2021, 01:03 PM
Who we got for MVP this year (so far)?

Gotta be one from KD, Giannis, Steph and Jokic for me. LeBron been quality lately but no chance he’ll win it with the Lakers in such a low seed.

I’ll say Giannis and if he doesn’t get MVP then I think he deserves DPOY. I know it was a regular season game but the game he played against the Celtics on Christmas Day was unreal. For me, by far the most dominant player in the world on both ends of the floor.

giannis probably is what you’ve described, but he’s not getting much media noise about MVP, I think it'll be Steph or Jokic. Steph has broken a few records this season, and the warriors have looked so smooth right from the off, he’d be my favourite right now. If the Suns can keep their momentum going then Chris Paul or Devin Booker might be outside bets too

DPOY is a total crapshoot, usually goes to players with a lot of flashy blocks or steals, I personally don’t think it’s given to the players who really deserve it a lot of time. He would be deserving imo, as he alters so much of what the opposing players do because of his athleticism and agility

on another note, the Bulls are flying, even with a lot of covid issues, especially when the league didn’t really do much until several other teams started to have issues, a few weeks after the Bulls did. So nice to feel like your team is relevant again :greengrin

yonder1875
30-12-2021, 09:46 PM
giannis probably is what you’ve described, but he’s not getting much media noise about MVP, I think it'll be Steph or Jokic. Steph has broken a few records this season, and the warriors have looked so smooth right from the off, he’d be my favourite right now. If the Suns can keep their momentum going then Chris Paul or Devin Booker might be outside bets too

DPOY is a total crapshoot, usually goes to players with a lot of flashy blocks or steals, I personally don’t think it’s given to the players who really deserve it a lot of time. He would be deserving imo, as he alters so much of what the opposing players do because of his athleticism and agility

on another note, the Bulls are flying, even with a lot of covid issues, especially when the league didn’t really do much until several other teams started to have issues, a few weeks after the Bulls did. So nice to feel like your team is relevant again :greengrin

Very fair assessment on Steph but I feel KD is also getting a lot of media noise but with Harden playing at his old level and Kyrie’s return imminent then I’m not sure he’ll get it as the load is going to be divided between them.

On the Bulls, I’m glad that Zach Lavine got another all-star to play with with DeRozan as feel like his career can now fully take off after so much individual promise.

Surprise of the season must go to the Grizzlies! Spearheaded by Morant who is just unreal and they didn’t even have him for a lot of this run.

31-12-2021, 12:50 PM
Very fair assessment on Steph but I feel KD is also getting a lot of media noise but with Harden playing at his old level and Kyrie’s return imminent then I’m not sure he’ll get it as the load is going to be divided between them.

On the Bulls, I’m glad that Zach Lavine got another all-star to play with with DeRozan as feel like his career can now fully take off after so much individual promise.

Surprise of the season must go to the Grizzlies! Spearheaded by Morant who is just unreal and they didn’t even have him for a lot of this run.

yeah Morant is looking special, the Grizzlies will cause more than a few teams some fits this year

seems like derozan and Lavine are really hitting it off, and dovetailing very well. Lonzo ball is also fitting in really well, and I have to say, I was pretty underwhelmed when they signed Caruso, but he’s been brilliant

KD is ridiculously good, all world player, i agree the presence of harden and soon to be kyrie will mean the load is shared, plus I think he’ll suffer (from an mvp perspective) in a similar way to his warriors years, too many outstanding players on one team ends up with none of them really getting close to winning mvp. Another thing I think sometimes goes against him (knowing he has won it before), is that’s he’s kind of a chippy personality, and can be quite touchy, compared to Giannis and Steph who are both generally seen smiling a lot and often having fun/clowning with teammates.

it’s turning out to be a really interesting season, so many stories happening at so many teams

portyhibernian
25-01-2022, 01:14 PM
yeah Morant is looking special, the Grizzlies will cause more than a few teams some fits this year

seems like derozan and Lavine are really hitting it off, and dovetailing very well. Lonzo ball is also fitting in really well, and I have to say, I was pretty underwhelmed when they signed Caruso, but he’s been brilliant

KD is ridiculously good, all world player, i agree the presence of harden and soon to be kyrie will mean the load is shared, plus I think he’ll suffer (from an mvp perspective) in a similar way to his warriors years, too many outstanding players on one team ends up with none of them really getting close to winning mvp. Another thing I think sometimes goes against him (knowing he has won it before), is that’s he’s kind of a chippy personality, and can be quite touchy, compared to Giannis and Steph who are both generally seen smiling a lot and often having fun/clowning with teammates.

it’s turning out to be a really interesting season, so many stories happening at so many teams

I would add Joel Embiid to the discussion, he's having an MVP level seaon - shame the 76ers are wasting it with their Ben Simmons stance.

25-01-2022, 06:48 PM
I would add Joel Embiid to the discussion, he's having an MVP level seaon - shame the 76ers are wasting it with their Ben Simmons stance.

can see this maybe biting the 76ers in the arse, they’re determined to extract a mega deal for Simmons, but the longer he’s sitting out the more rusty he’ll be and the shorter a contract he’ll have left, and his reputation was at a very low point after last years playoffs as it is.

seen them getting linked with trading him for James harden, been stranger trades than that but I can’t see it…kyrie maybe lol

portyhibernian
08-02-2022, 09:33 PM
can see this maybe biting the 76ers in the arse, they’re determined to extract a mega deal for Simmons, but the longer he’s sitting out the more rusty he’ll be and the shorter a contract he’ll have left, and his reputation was at a very low point after last years playoffs as it is.

seen them getting linked with trading him for James harden, been stranger trades than that but I can’t see it…kyrie maybe lol

Harden to Philly now seems somewhat plausible apparently! It makes perfect sense to me - Simmons would improve the Nets and Harden would improve Philly. Only stumbling block might be that Brooklyn are apparently asking for Curry to be part of the deal. I have a feeling they might choose to wait until the post season and try and package some kind of Simmons deal then. I'm also not 100% sure where Ben Simmons is mentally - it has been suggested his issues are a bit more complicated than simply wanting out of Philadelphia. Would he turn up ready to play somewhere else?? It's a gamble but could really pay off for whoever takes the chance on him.

I wonder if the moves in Portland tonight might tempt Lillard to try and force a trade? I could see the 76ers being a possible destination for him if Harden doesn't happen? I think the time has come for Portland to blow up this team and rebuild as they've been going nowhere for a while now and could free up a whole load of salary cap space in the summer.

09-02-2022, 05:31 PM
Harden to Philly now seems somewhat plausible apparently! It makes perfect sense to me - Simmons would improve the Nets and Harden would improve Philly. Only stumbling block might be that Brooklyn are apparently asking for Curry to be part of the deal. I have a feeling they might choose to wait until the post season and try and package some kind of Simmons deal then. I'm also not 100% sure where Ben Simmons is mentally - it has been suggested his issues are a bit more complicated than simply wanting out of Philadelphia. Would he turn up ready to play somewhere else?? It's a gamble but could really pay off for whoever takes the chance on him.

I wonder if the moves in Portland tonight might tempt Lillard to try and force a trade? I could see the 76ers being a possible destination for him if Harden doesn't happen? I think the time has come for Portland to blow up this team and rebuild as they've been going nowhere for a while now and could free up a whole load of salary cap space in the summer.

think Portland might just be agreeing with you based on them doing some business, like you’ve said I wonder i they’ll go the whole hog and move Lillard, that team has been stagnating for a good while now

harden definitely seems more likely than before, I was listening to a podcast where they were talking about this potential trade. Seems harden has been bitching about the nets around the league, and there’s a strong suspicion he won’t re-sign with them (he has a player option next season I think). There was some discussion that the 76ers may just try to get harden as a free agent, seems like there’s some bad blood between them and the nets

09-02-2022, 06:04 PM
i have no idea what any of the last few posts mean but i have recently got into watching nba. Really enjoyed it. Not landed on a team yet so just generally support any teams who have green in their colours. except Boston!! Also really like to see Lakers get beat for some reason

10-02-2022, 06:02 PM
i have no idea what any of the last few posts mean but i have recently got into watching nba. Really enjoyed it. Not landed on a team yet so just generally support any teams who have green in their colours. except Boston!! Also really like to see Lakers get beat for some reason

I'm with you on the lakers point :greengrin

happy to help if you have any questions buddy :aok:

11-02-2022, 06:06 AM
I'm with you on the lakers point :greengrin

happy to help if you have any questions buddy :aok:
Cheers. Perhaps my enjoyment of it is increased by not really knowing what's going on and also that I haven't become attached to a team. I mean Hibs have totally ruined my enjoyment of football!!

17-04-2022, 08:13 AM
Hardly watched any NBA regular season but might try catch some play off action.

Anyone watched the HBO series winning time yet? Got through 4 episodes so far and I'm enjoying it.

17-04-2022, 04:57 PM
Hardly watched any NBA regular season but might try catch some play off action.

Anyone watched the HBO series winning time yet? Got through 4 episodes so far and I'm enjoying it.

is winning time good? I’ve been torn whether to watch it or not

17-04-2022, 07:10 PM
is winning time good? I’ve been torn whether to watch it or not

I have enjoyed the first 5 episodes so far with only one more to go but would recommend it.

I know like most tv it's a drama and not 100% true but worth a watch if you like basketball.

Waiting for the nets vs Celtic game 1 to start

18-04-2022, 07:26 PM
I have enjoyed the first 5 episodes so far with only one more to go but would recommend it.

I know like most tv it's a drama and not 100% true but worth a watch if you like basketball.

Waiting for the nets vs Celtic game 1 to start

cheers mate, will give it a bash at some point :aok:

18-04-2022, 07:44 PM
How ridiculously good was Jordan Poole yesterday for the Warriors?! 30 points! :greengrin

19-04-2022, 07:55 AM
cheers mate, will give it a bash at some point :aok:

Just finished the series and all though I would of liked to of seen more on court scenes I enjoyed it.

24-04-2022, 05:09 PM
Double header now on YouTube.

24-04-2022, 06:53 PM
Double header now on YouTube.

watching the Bulls against the Bucks now, Milwaukee are such a well balanced team, they’ll be there or thereabouts for the conference finals. And when they need someone to take a game by the scruff of the neck, Giannis is capable of being near unstoppable at either end

25-04-2022, 09:22 PM
watching the Bulls against the Bucks now, Milwaukee are such a well balanced team, they’ll be there or thereabouts for the conference finals. And when they need someone to take a game by the scruff of the neck, Giannis is capable of being near unstoppable at either end

Boston have looked good from what I've seen in the playoffs, this match up will be good.

On the west looks like Golden State for the western?

25-04-2022, 09:31 PM
Boston have looked good from what I've seen in the playoffs, this match up will be good.

On the west looks like Golden State for the western?

boston are another really balanced team, with 2 players in brown and Tatum who don’t really have any flaws in their games, and smart being such an exceptional defender, wouldn’t mind seeing them go far at all. I think the difference maker for them is if they can get Williams back and playing like he was, if they can they’ll be a match for anyone

golden state are also looking so dangerous, and I love watching Steph play. Rest of the west seems a bit of a wash except for the suns, they’ll be there or thereabouts with the warriors if they can get booker back

portyhibernian
26-04-2022, 08:56 AM
boston are another really balanced team, with 2 players in brown and Tatum who don’t really have any flaws in their games, and smart being such an exceptional defender, wouldn’t mind seeing them go far at all. I think the difference maker for them is if they can get Williams back and playing like he was, if they can they’ll be a match for anyone

golden state are also looking so dangerous, and I love watching Steph play. Rest of the west seems a bit of a wash except for the suns, they’ll be there or thereabouts with the warriors if they can get booker back

Boston look like possible contenders - watching KD and Kyrie get swept was brilliant, although the Nets really didn't turn up for me. Never got their offence going and I think Kyrie missing loads of games this year probably a big factor there. Bucks v Celtics will be interesting, could go either way but I'll say Bucks in 6!!

26-04-2022, 06:27 PM
Boston look like possible contenders - watching KD and Kyrie get swept was brilliant, although the Nets really didn't turn up for me. Never got their offence going and I think Kyrie missing loads of games this year probably a big factor there. Bucks v Celtics will be interesting, could go either way but I'll say Bucks in 6!!

yeah the bucks are going to cruise by the bulls :boo hoo:especially now it looks like Caruso and lavine will miss out for the bulls in game 5. No real shame in losing to this bucks team though

Boston vs bucks should be great, especially if Boston can get Williams back and firing to give them some size against Giannis. Should be a great series though

i think the Nets will end up fizzling out and breaking up having done very little. Seems like some frustration now starting to show publicly with Simmons, and that’s coming on top of being swept as you’ve said. Be an interesting summer for them, if there’s continued rumbling of discontent, who knows what'll happen there. kyrie is a law unto himself and has burned more than a few bridges as he’s went, and KD has a thin skin and doesn’t like being criticised

01-05-2022, 04:18 PM
Should be another good double header starting with Bucks and Celtics.

yonder1875
01-05-2022, 06:56 PM
Big result for the Bucks if they can win this one.

01-05-2022, 07:44 PM
Giannis with the triple double and Bucks go 1-0 up, Celtic need to win the second game.

Hoping for a show from Morant now.

01-05-2022, 07:48 PM
Giannis with the triple double and Bucks go 1-0 up, Celtic need to win the second game.

Hoping for a show from Morant now.

celtics looked subdued, need to step up big time in the next one

hoping for a show with Memphis and GS :greengrin

01-05-2022, 10:08 PM
Warriors Grizzlies has been a good game, but the refs are definitely favouring the home team

portyhibernian
02-05-2022, 10:00 PM
Thought the Bucks were well worthy of the win, just bullied the Celtics really. Not sure how game 2 will go - expecting Bucks to continue to dominate at the rim so Celtics might adjust and attempt more pick and roll/corner 3's? Giannis can shoot better than he did last night but think the focus should remain on defence and playmaking. unless Boston can figure out how to be at least average in the paint I think it's 2-0 Bucks and the series is looking good.

portyhibernian
04-05-2022, 10:16 AM
Thought the Bucks were well worthy of the win, just bullied the Celtics really. Not sure how game 2 will go - expecting Bucks to continue to dominate at the rim so Celtics might adjust and attempt more pick and roll/corner 3's? Giannis can shoot better than he did last night but think the focus should remain on defence and playmaking. unless Boston can figure out how to be at least average in the paint I think it's 2-0 Bucks and the series is looking good.

Well how wrong can you be!! Celtics got so hot from 3 point land that the game was over by half time! Surely they can't shoot that well for an entire series...

Sergio sledge
04-05-2022, 03:22 PM
When Ja Morant is on form he's nearly unstoppable. With that and a decent D, the Grizzlies have a good chance of knocking off the Warriors. They could and possibly should have won game 1 and picked up a good win last night and they were 3-1 vs Golden State in the regular season.

08-05-2022, 09:19 AM
Some series so far with the Bucks and Celtics, watched game 3 last night and Giannis again dominating with Tatum not so great last night.

08-05-2022, 05:46 PM
Mavericks vs Suns 8:30 on YouTube, two teams I've not yet seen so far in the playoffs.

08-05-2022, 07:53 PM
When Ja Morant is on form he's nearly unstoppable. With that and a decent D, the Grizzlies have a good chance of knocking off the Warriors. They could and possibly should have won game 1 and picked up a good win last night and they were 3-1 vs Golden State in the regular season.

thought the refs leant the Grizzlies’ way a lot in game 1. Warriors were very dominant in game 3, definitely going to be a chippy series with the flagrant 2’s and injuries

hopefully no injuries put player out for the season, these are 2 well balanced and versatile squads, whoever takes the series will be a daunting opponent for anyone

Sergio sledge
08-05-2022, 09:44 PM
thought the refs leant the Grizzlies’ way a lot in game 1. Warriors were very dominant in game 3, definitely going to be a chippy series with the flagrant 2’s and injuries

hopefully no injuries put player out for the season, these are 2 well balanced and versatile squads, whoever takes the series will be a daunting opponent for anyone

Yeah it's pretty chippy, noticed that in a few of the series this year.

If Ja misses any time then its series over for the Grizzlies, rumours are he'll miss game 4 which will make it 3-1 and virtually series over.

09-05-2022, 08:32 AM
Yeah it's pretty chippy, noticed that in a few of the series this year.

If Ja misses any time then its series over for the Grizzlies, rumours are he'll miss game 4 which will make it 3-1 and virtually series over.

he’s been very dynamic, but there was chat during game 3 about how the grizzlies got on when he was out injured during the season, with stats shown on screen, and they were even better. Better points pre game, and less conceded per game, and a 20-2 record over the 22 games

Sergio sledge
09-05-2022, 12:05 PM
he’s been very dynamic, but there was chat during game 3 about how the grizzlies got on when he was out injured during the season, with stats shown on screen, and they were even better. Better points pre game, and less conceded per game, and a 20-2 record over the 22 games

Yeah they were decent when he was out earlier in the season but I didn't think it was quite that good, that's a surprise!

Maybe there's a chance yet....

11-05-2022, 07:29 PM
Looks like some game might go the distance. Only one game scheduled for sky Sunday but yet to be confirmed.

14-05-2022, 10:51 AM
Celtics vs Bucks Sunday 20:30 game 7.

16-05-2022, 09:35 AM
Celtics vs warriors final now?

16-05-2022, 06:56 PM
Celtics vs warriors final now?

I think it’ll be the warriors, but I could see it going either way in the east, celtics will be favourites though

celtics vs warriors could be a terrific finals series

20-05-2022, 07:02 PM
No more live games for me due to work but will keep my eye out for results and highlights

Hope Dallas can win it but think the Warriors will be to strong for everyone.

26-05-2022, 08:58 AM
As usual the east slugging it out, warriors should wrap it up next game.

26-05-2022, 07:25 PM
It’s something that I think often gets overlooked, but Steve Kerr deserves a lot of credit for using his public platform to really shout about gun control, he didn’t pull any punches during his press conference the other day

seems like such a genuinely decent man, then you add in the family tragedy he experienced as a young man

03-06-2022, 03:35 AM
Just watched the fourth quarter of the opening Finals game, incredible stuff.

The Warriors started the quarter leading 92-80 but the Celtics came roaring back and went all-out with the three-pointers, scoring with nine from 12 attempts.

Match finished 120-108 in Boston's favour, thanks to that. remarkable final quarter display

06-06-2022, 09:34 AM
Just watched the fourth quarter of the opening Finals game, incredible stuff.

The Warriors started the quarter leading 92-80 but the Celtics came roaring back and went all-out with the three-pointers, scoring with nine from 12 attempts.

Match finished 120-108 in Boston's favour, thanks to that. remarkable final quarter display

I've enjoyed the play offs this season, just seen the highlights from game 2. Interesting to see how game 3 and 4 goes with home Court advantage for the Celtics.

09-06-2022, 09:49 AM
So how are we seeing this one going? Celtics must be favorite if they can take a 3-1 lead to the west coast.

09-06-2022, 07:58 PM
So how are we seeing this one going? Celtics must be favorite if they can take a 3-1 lead to the west coast.

as much as I want the warriors to win in this instance, I agree, if the celtics take the next game it’ll be tough for GS to come back

wouldn’t be surprised to see this one going to 7 though

thefalcon08
10-06-2022, 02:37 PM
Definitely going to 7 this.

11-06-2022, 11:02 AM
I know era's change as the years go on but Steph definitely top 5 shooters of all time.

11-06-2022, 02:35 PM
I know era's change as the years go on but Steph definitely top 5 shooters of all time.

I would say he's the absolute best by a country mile.

HibsGW
13-06-2022, 09:28 AM
I would say he's the absolute best by a country mile.

Curry is absolutely the best shooter of all time, lots of other great shooters but agree that none are even that close to Curry.

13-06-2022, 06:31 PM
Curry is absolutely the best shooter of all time, lots of other great shooters but agree that none are even that close to Curry.

yep, the way teams can panic when he’s on the court, he’s levels above

13-06-2022, 09:51 PM
yep, the way teams can panic when he’s on the court, he’s levels above

Yep I agree also and I just said top 5 as there will always be someone in a different era who maybe would say Reggie Miller etc would shoot more in today's game etc but I'm Steph all the way.

Some of the shots he made the other night was amazing.

HibsGW
14-06-2022, 09:36 AM
Warriors up 3-2 now, Curry had his first playoff game in 133 games without making a three pointer.

18-06-2022, 10:36 PM
Curry was just unbelievable in game 6. Warriors deserved winners over the season - I got to enjoy Championship 2 and 3 while being in SF, so it's been a bit of a dampener enjoying this from back home this season.

19-06-2022, 05:53 AM
Curry was just unbelievable in game 6. Warriors deserved winners over the season - I got to enjoy Championship 2 and 3 while being in SF, so it's been a bit of a dampener enjoying this from back home this season.

the city must have been buzzing, no wonder you’ll be missing that, do they do things like parades etc?

I know the bulls used to hold sort of championship concerts/rallies back in the 90s

19-06-2022, 08:49 AM
There was a massive victory parade in 2017 through San Fran and I think they’ve already announced another one for this year.

I watched the winning game in 2017 in the Giants stadium sports bar. They put on a special event with former Warriors players and Giants players being there giving speeches and whipping the place into a frenzy. Was great to be there, even if I was on my own!

19-06-2022, 04:33 PM
There was a massive victory parade in 2017 through San Fran and I think they’ve already announced another one for this year.

I watched the winning game in 2017 in the Giants stadium sports bar. They put on a special event with former Warriors players and Giants players being there giving speeches and whipping the place into a frenzy. Was great to be there, even if I was on my own!

that sounds amazing :aok:

23-06-2022, 08:30 PM
Draft night later with Jeremy Sochan expected to be picked.

Seen a few stories this past week so a bit of UK interest.

portyhibernian
30-06-2022, 08:00 PM
KD asks for a trade right before free agency begins tonight...not a huge shock but Kyrie must be raging after opting in! Possible destinations for KD? Phoenix being suggested by a few on Twitter..imagine if he rolled up in New Orleans with Zion though!

01-07-2022, 07:02 PM
KD asks for a trade right before free agency begins tonight...not a huge shock but Kyrie must be raging after opting in! Possible destinations for KD? Phoenix being suggested by a few on Twitter..imagine if he rolled up in New Orleans with Zion though!

kyrie will probably be traded as well, possibly Ben Simmons as well

this has been an unmitigated disaster for Brooklyn. They had an up and coming, feisty, go-to-battle together, talented group of young players and promising coach who had taken a team that was a bit of a laughing stock and made them a decent team and one that a lot of neutrals were starting to praise, and threw that situation away, through binning the coach to suit KD and Kyrie, trading away or letting walk in free agency many of the young players who had turned them around, signed players because they were mates with KD and Kyrie (DeAndre Jordan), and traded control of the next several years draft picks, and all they have to show for it is a single playoff series win.

portyhibernian
02-07-2022, 04:07 PM
kyrie will probably be traded as well, possibly Ben Simmons as well

this has been an unmitigated disaster for Brooklyn. They had an up and coming, feisty, go-to-battle together, talented group of young players and promising coach who had taken a team that was a bit of a laughing stock and made them a decent team and one that a lot of neutrals were starting to praise, and threw that situation away, through binning the coach to suit KD and Kyrie, trading away or letting walk in free agency many of the young players who had turned them around, signed players because they were mates with KD and Kyrie (DeAndre Jordan), and traded control of the next several years draft picks, and all they have to show for it is a single playoff series win.

Guess the question with Kyrie would be is he worth the baggage that comes along with him? For me the answer is no, great player though he is, the implosion is never far away. Even Durant to some degree is a risk as he tends to decide he wants to be elsewhere if he doesn't like the current set up. Utah seem to be going for the rebuild, I wonder if there's something that could happen there with Donovan Mitchell going to Brooklyn? I wouldn't be too shocked if the Nets even said no trade, the title window is open now and their best shot at it is with KD in the team. He only signed a new contract last year!

02-07-2022, 04:24 PM
Guess the question with Kyrie would be is he worth the baggage that comes along with him? For me the answer is no, great player though he is, the implosion is never far away. Even Durant to some degree is a risk as he tends to decide he wants to be elsewhere if he doesn't like the current set up. Utah seem to be going for the rebuild, I wonder if there's something that could happen there with Donovan Mitchell going to Brooklyn? I wouldn't be too shocked if the Nets even said no trade, the title window is open now and their best shot at it is with KD in the team. He only signed a new contract last year!

utah isn’t a bad shout tbh, equally the Nets hold the strong cards here, because he’s on a long contract they can afford to wait for an acceptable trade offer. It’s a bit catch 22, the nets will want a kings ransom, on the flip side, other teams know he wants away and won’t want to give up a lot to get him. KD is notoriously thin skinned, and hates criticism, I mean he even created anonymous Twitter accounts to defend himself 😂

I think the nets will be patient, they don’t even start preseason for a couple of months. I also wouldn’t be surprised if KD decides to sit out if we get into the season and nothings moved. I’d be wary as a GM thinking of trading for him, he’s walked away from OKC because he didn’t fancy how they were doing things, left the Warriors because he got narked that it was deemed to be Steph’s team and not his, and then fell out with Draymond because he wanted to be held above the rest of them. If things don’t work out well with whatever happens next, KD’s career could be on a quiet wind down, which is a shame.

as for kyrie, I totally agree with you, he’s not worth the hassle.

04-07-2022, 08:01 PM
O'Neal and Pippin jnr playing for Lakers summer league team, did see a few clips on YouTube.

18-10-2022, 11:45 PM
New season has just tipped off, 76'sers at Boston.

My 2-10 shift now means I will be able to watch some games.

Lakers vs warriors at 3am.

Dmas
20-10-2022, 04:22 PM
New season has just tipped off, 76'sers at Boston.

My 2-10 shift now means I will be able to watch some games.

Lakers vs warriors at 3am.

Who has the coverage this season tambo still sky sports?

20-10-2022, 10:35 PM
Who has the coverage this season tambo still sky sports?

Aye still sky sports so probably some free games on YouTube on Sundays.

Nets didn't look great last night with zion putting up soke good numbers.

Bucks vs 76ers on sky sports arena in a hour, TNT tip off now. Big contract extension for chuck.

Dmas
21-10-2022, 05:42 AM
Aye still sky sports so probably some free games on YouTube on Sundays.

Nets didn't look great last night with zion putting up soke good numbers.

Bucks vs 76ers on sky sports arena in a hour, TNT tip off now. Big contract extension for chuck.

Saw a little of nets 4th quarter on sky soon after I posted there, game was probably over with them 23 points down but they missed an incredible amount
Shooting was way off

23-10-2022, 04:18 PM
Lakers looking to get the first win of the season vs 2-0 portland.

A chances to see LeBron add some more points on the race to beat kareem as the all time scorer.

8:30 on YouTube.

27-10-2022, 01:42 PM
Another defeat for the lakers which now makes them 0-4.

Make that 0-5 and questions will be asked when they can get the first W of the season.

20-11-2022, 02:25 PM
Anyone see Dwight Howard Taiwanese debut? Seen his highlights last night and looked like he was having a lot of fun.

07-02-2023, 06:59 PM
LeBron to break the scoring record tonight.

Can see him dropping 40+

07-02-2023, 10:04 PM

Can see him dropping 40+

yeah he probably will, certainly be early in their next game at the latest

still very prettily glad his team are doing pish this year :greengrin

08-02-2023, 03:47 AM

Can see him dropping 40+

Good call T. 30 points with a quarter and 4 mins+ to go…

08-02-2023, 04:01 AM
Game now stopped with ten seconds to go in the third so they can have a presentation (and court invasion) for James 😂😂😂

08-02-2023, 06:21 AM
Good call T. 30 points with a quarter and 4 mins+ to go…

All hail King James 🤴

There will always be the GOAT argument but credit where credit is due for LeBron.

Yes McD going to be a big rebuild for the lakers come the next few seasons.

08-02-2023, 07:45 PM
All hail King James 🤴

There will always be the GOAT argument but credit where credit is due for LeBron.

Yes McD going to be a big rebuild for the lakers come the next few seasons.

yeah the Lakers are already almost all in on however long Lebron will be there, if they trade these 2 draft picks they have left they will be completely gutted, we could be looking at several years of the lakers being non-factors.

as for him, he deserves a lot of respect for his longevity, and dedication to keeping himself in the best condition, and he is an excellent player

08-02-2023, 08:19 PM
Game now stopped with ten seconds to go in the third so they can have a presentation (and court invasion) for James 😂😂😂

What a joke stopping the game. Tell me what other sport grinds to a halt midway when a record is broken.

08-02-2023, 09:44 PM
What a joke stopping the game. Tell me what other sport grinds to a halt midway when a record is broken.

tbf, when something like that happens during an nba game, it does usually stop to allow the crowd (and players and coaches) to acknowledge the record/milestone being surpassed

09-02-2023, 08:04 AM

I found it bizarre as well.

16-04-2023, 03:30 PM
Have checked the standings and scores at times but not really watched much recently.

Playoffs now so time for the league to get exciting.

Lakers @ memphis tonight at 8 so will give it a watch.

16-04-2023, 03:52 PM
Have checked the standings and scores at times but not really watched much recently.

Playoffs now so time for the league to get exciting.

Lakers @ memphis tonight at 8 so will give it a watch.

late lakers run (mostly without lebron) got them into the playoffs, remains to be seen how they get on

Funny kind of season, there’s probably at least 5 teams (Denver, Golden State, Phoenix, Boston, Milwaukee) who are strong candidates to win it all, maybe Philadelphia too, yet no one standout team either

16-04-2023, 09:32 PM
Good start for the lakers there with some good numbers all around for them.

30-04-2023, 07:58 PM
Currently watching golden state vs King's game 7.

Was surprised at miami 4-1 win vs the bucks and lebron couldn't get another ring could he?

Dmas
01-05-2023, 09:25 AM
Currently watching golden state vs King's game 7.

Was surprised at miami 4-1 win vs the bucks and lebron couldn't get another ring could he?

Watched Miami game 1 v knicks yesterday don’t normally manage to catch many games live was great

01-05-2023, 10:37 AM
Watched Miami game 1 v knicks yesterday don’t normally manage to catch many games live was great

👍 play off season is the best.

Steph with 50 last night for Golden State in a 120-100 victory.

Dmas
01-05-2023, 02:56 PM
👍 play off season is the best.

Steph with 50 last night for Golden State in a 120-100 victory.

Incredible player, shooting is unreal

07-05-2023, 09:34 AM
Lakers 2-1 Warriors so far, from the gamebox it looked like a great team effort with everyone putting in some numbers

10-05-2023, 03:20 PM
Close series with Celtics and 76ers and suns and nuggets.

Miami and lakers look on course for the conference final.

10-05-2023, 04:04 PM
Close series with Celtics and 76ers and suns and nuggets.

Miami and lakers look on course for the conference final.

be some tasty conference finals, and some great player matchups in there

12-05-2023, 09:40 AM
be some tasty conference finals, and some great player matchups in there

Jokic with a triple double last night to secure the series for the Nuggets.

Golden state and the knicks still giving it a fight and Sundays decider with Boston and 76ers will be a good watch and will tune in.

14-05-2023, 07:30 PM
Game 7 with Celtics and and 76ers live on youtube now.

15-05-2023, 08:24 AM
Game 7 with Celtics and and 76ers live on youtube now.

tatum was ridiculous last night, jordanesque performance (hasn’t been quite at those standards the whole series though)

of the teams left, I’m definitely lending my support to Boston :greengrin

15-05-2023, 11:39 AM
tatum was ridiculous last night, jordanesque performance (hasn’t been quite at those standards the whole series though)

of the teams left, I’m definitely lending my support to Boston :greengrin

Very impressive performance and a Lakers vs Celtics final would be cool all though Denver will be a tough series and I expect Boston to advance vs the Heat.

15-05-2023, 12:19 PM
Very impressive performance and a Lakers vs Celtics final would be cool all though Denver will be a tough series and I expect Boston to advance vs the Heat.

celtics should have enough to go by Miami, although they could do with being a bit more consistent

lakers nuggets is really tough to call, think Davis vs jokic will be critical. Davis the better defender, but jokic is so good offensively

15-05-2023, 12:33 PM
What's the deal with the players wearing tights - and sometimes just on the one leg?

15-05-2023, 12:44 PM
What's the deal with the players wearing tights - and sometimes just on the one leg?

I'm sure they wear arm sleeves to improve the circulation in the shooting arm so probably just improves this on the leg which is most likely the leg they use more in a game?

15-05-2023, 07:39 PM

I'm sure they wear arm sleeves to improve the circulation in the shooting arm so probably just improves this on the leg which is most likely the leg they use more in a game?

I think in some cases it’s to do with players having muscular injuries or propensity for injuries, and the tights/sleeve keeping heat and tension on the appropriate area.

some of them as padded at the knee or elbow, to protect from impact injuries between bodies clashing or hitting the floor.

I did notice one of the Boston players had a T-shirt type top in under his jersey, which had padding on the chest, presumably to help protect when taking a charge.

lastly, I think some of it is just patter, following the crowd, like footballers wearing bandages wrapped round their wrists, or those wee tube things that were popular for a bit to wear over your socks to keep your shin pads up, or putting Vicks on their chest.

17-05-2023, 10:13 AM
Didn't see the game last night, looked like a good effort from the Lakers but Jokic with 21 rebounds 14 Assists and 34 points just enough for the Nuggets.

Dmas
20-05-2023, 06:42 AM
2-0 heat another quality performance from play off Jimmy, Bam having a great game as well a lot of pressure on celtics now

HFCbingo
21-05-2023, 07:15 PM
Was wondering if any Hibee NBA geeks are playing Sorare (https://www.sorareceo.com/)?

14-06-2023, 04:56 PM
The Joker is a robot

14-06-2023, 07:29 PM
The Joker is a robot

I think the Heat kinda over achieved getting to the finals tbh, which I mean as a compliment to them. They’ve beaten teams that on paper were stronger

that said, You’re right, the joker had an incredible play offs and incredible finals, there’s very few in the league that can give him a challenge when he’s in this form

17-06-2023, 11:02 AM
I think the Heat kinda over achieved getting to the finals tbh, which I mean as a compliment to them. They’ve beaten teams that on paper were stronger

that said, You’re right, the joker had an incredible play offs and incredible finals, there’s very few in the league that can give him a challenge when he’s in this form

All eyes will be on Wembanyama next season, how you think he will do? To much pressure for a rookie season? He does look a freakish player.

17-06-2023, 05:30 PM
All eyes will be on Wembanyama next season, how you think he will do? To much pressure for a rookie season? He does look a freakish player.

I’ve never actually seen him play :greengrin, so I’ll reserve judgement or comment hahaha

what I would say, is that going to San Antonio, with Pop as his coach and looking like Tim Duncan as a mentor figure, is that he should have a fantastic starting point and some great people to guide him, if he chooses to lean into that and take on what they have to share. If he’s patient, and works on what they want to with him, and they can build a decent squad around him, he could be a playoffs mainstay for 15 years, albeit there’s many external factors that could have a heavy influence.

the best thing the spurs can do (and I fully expect them to) is keep him away from toxic locker room presences, and me-first players.

what’s your thoughts?

18-06-2023, 09:29 AM
I’ve never actually seen him play :greengrin, so I’ll reserve judgement or comment hahaha

what I would say, is that going to San Antonio, with Pop as his coach and looking like Tim Duncan as a mentor figure, is that he should have a fantastic starting point and some great people to guide him, if he chooses to lean into that and take on what they have to share. If he’s patient, and works on what they want to with him, and they can build a decent squad around him, he could be a playoffs mainstay for 15 years, albeit there’s many external factors that could have a heavy influence.

the best thing the spurs can do (and I fully expect them to) is keep him away from toxic locker room presences, and me-first players.

what’s your thoughts?

Have only seen clips here and there of him, he's described as a once in a millennium player and one of the greatest prospects of all time.

A 7'4 PF/C who can shoot like a PG but as you said two great legends of the game with bags of experience and knowledge who will only help him.

18-06-2023, 06:44 PM
Have only seen clips here and there of him, he's described as a once in a millennium player and one of the greatest prospects of all time.

A 7'4 PF/C who can shoot like a PG but as you said two great legends of the game with bags of experience and knowledge who will only help him.

I think we’re a couple of years from seeing a bit of a sea change in the league. There’s no real anointed successor to James/curry/Durant, and the generation after them (Davis, embiid, etc) haven’t really stepped up to that same level. Joker could get there, but I think the likes of wembanyama, banchero etc could have a bit of an open field to step forward and be the man.

im not sure we’ve had a period like this before, stretching a long way back. Certainly Russell/wilt/Jerry west to Kareem to magic/bird to Jordan to shaq then Kobe to lebron/curry/Durant, there’s always been a successor there. Interesting to see how the league handles such a situation

24-06-2023, 12:34 PM
I think we’re a couple of years from seeing a bit of a sea change in the league. There’s no real anointed successor to James/curry/Durant, and the generation after them (Davis, embiid, etc) haven’t really stepped up to that same level. Joker could get there, but I think the likes of wembanyama, banchero etc could have a bit of an open field to step forward and be the man.

im not sure we’ve had a period like this before, stretching a long way back. Certainly Russell/wilt/Jerry west to Kareem to magic/bird to Jordan to shaq then Kobe to lebron/curry/Durant, there’s always been a successor there. Interesting to see how the league handles such a situation

Reminds me a little of Zion who was hyped up to be the next big thing( well he his big) 😁

24-06-2023, 12:40 PM
Reminds me a little of Zion who was hyped up to be the next big thing( well he his big) 😁

he was indeed, now there’s talk of the Pelicans trading him, but I think if they do, they won’t be getting maximum value, as his years in the league have shown him to be injury prone, not willing to keep himself in condition, not really dedicated to it in the way that others are, and not particularly interested in defensive work (a pet peeve of mine with nba players lol).

that all said, maybe a trade would be what he needs, to a team with a harder stance on conditioning and attitude (which probably rules out Chicago sadly for me :greengrin), where so,e senior players would hold him more accountable.

08-07-2023, 12:54 PM
Wembanyama made his summer league debut last night, just watched his highlights on YouTube.

Looked very good on defence as you would expect him with his size etc.

Only went 2 for 13 though with a couple of simple misses on the lay up and a wide open 3, a few turnovers also due to poor handles.

He did get a welcome to the NBA moment getting dunked on a little nasty and for me had his ankles broken but an offence foul was giving.

Full numbers 9 points 8 rebounds 3 assists 5 blocks.

A big crowd of 17.5k watching also, he will take time to adjust and get physically better.

14-07-2023, 05:39 PM
A much better second game for Wembanyama with much improved on the shooting.

Spurs have pulled him from playing anymore summer league games.

14-07-2023, 08:59 PM
A much better second game for Wembanyama with much improved on the shooting.

Spurs have pulled him from playing anymore summer league games.

don’t pay too much attention to summer league, but noticed that scoot Henderson has been pulled as well

can see the summer league becoming a place for 2 way players and guys trying to get on a roster/hop up from the G league in years to come, the big name rookies seem to hardly play these days

portyhibernian
17-10-2023, 05:15 PM
With the Dame Lillard now in Milwaukee with Giannis are the Bucks favourites for the championship this season? Losing Jrue massively affects the defence but Lillard makes a huge difference on offense..will the Bucks just simply score 140 in every game and win it that way???

18-10-2023, 01:07 PM
With the Dame Lillard now in Milwaukee with Giannis are the Bucks favourites for the championship this season? Losing Jrue massively affects the defence but Lillard makes a huge difference on offense..will the Bucks just simply score 140 in every game and win it that way???

Definitely a ‘chips all in’ move from Milwaukee, although there’s been a few rumours that Giannis has been wanting them to do more or he’ll think about walking at the end of his contract, so they probably felt they had to do something.

As far as favourites, there’s a few times on a similar level. The Celtics will be there if they can keep everyone fit, moving for Jrue was a good move, although it’s cost them depth. Denver will still be there, a well balanced team. The Warriors will always be in with a shout, especially if Chris Paul can mesh well, which I think is likely. With their window closing due to various ages and the sheer size of their wage bill, I wonder if they’ll see this year and possibly next as their last big push. the Suns will fancy their chances against most teams, as will Miami, who I think will be itching to pull off a big trade to boost their chances, after missing out on Dame.

26-10-2023, 01:27 PM
not sure how much I'll be watching now that TNT is showing the upcoming season, hopefully they'll put a free game on YouTube like sky did.