View Full Version : Tried it once, didn't like it

17-10-2018, 12:37 PM
My wife has never tried calamari, but doesn't like it. There are other examples. Several folk on the "Things you haven't tried" thread profess to disliking things they have never tried.

That baffles and frustrates me.

Apart from supporting another football club, or causing yourself pain, I don't understand how someone can dislike something if they have no experience of it.

I might not agree that snails in garlic are not enjoyable, but if you've tried them, I can respect that informed opinion.

So, this thread is for things you've tried at least once, and as a result, you have decided that you don't like them.

Please list;

1. The thing you tried

2. The number of times you've tried it.

3. The result.

I'll go first.

1. Nandos.

2. Tried once.

3. I won't ever be back.

17-10-2018, 12:59 PM
1. Gooseberries

2. Tried twice. Once at about 6, again a couple of years ago.

3. Made me sick the 1st time, gagged the 2nd.

17-10-2018, 01:03 PM
1. Olives

2. Once

3. Once was enough.

Bangkok Hibby
17-10-2018, 01:25 PM
1. Fried insects

2. A few times

3. Wings stick in your throat. Tasty enough, but unless I can find some without wings I'll not try again

17-10-2018, 01:31 PM
1. Fried insects

2. A few times

3. Wings stick in your throat. Tasty enough, but unless I can find some without wings I'll not try again

You can break the wings off before you eat them.

Jay
17-10-2018, 01:33 PM
Pizza

Bangkok Hibby
17-10-2018, 01:37 PM
You can break the wings off before you eat them.

Maybe the ones you eat but the ones I tend to see are very small and sold by the bag. You shove loads into your mouth at one go :agree:

17-10-2018, 01:50 PM
Maybe the ones you eat but the ones I tend to see are very small and sold by the bag. You shove loads into your mouth at one go :agree:

I've tried crickets (among other things). It's true that the wings are very brittle and being so dry will stick in your mouth and throat until you manage to drink enough to get rid of them. I've tried these things once or twice for the novelty value, but I didn't find them tasty, filling or interesting enough that I'd go out my way to get some.

SuperAllyMcleod
17-10-2018, 02:01 PM
Visiting Blackpool

Tried it once for a day about 25 years ago and I don't feel I ever need to go back. Couldn't get out of the place quick enough.

17-10-2018, 02:27 PM
Cheering on England in an international tournament (got them in a sweepy).

Tried it in the summer.

Will never do it again!

17-10-2018, 02:48 PM
Visiting Blackpool

Tried it once for a day about 25 years ago and I don't feel I ever need to go back. Couldn't get out of the place quick enough.

Try Redcar. You'll regret it! It's like Blackpool without the sophisticated nightlife.

17-10-2018, 04:46 PM
1. Riding a bike
2. Tried to learn as a bairn like everyone. Wrecked my elbows and knees once too often and thought "**** it".

17-10-2018, 05:22 PM
****ging
For around three minutes
Banned from the Argos stock room for life.

17-10-2018, 06:06 PM
Smoking, tried both cigarettes and cigars around the age of 12.

Horrible, never again

17-10-2018, 07:57 PM
Visiting Blackpool

It is a ****hole, but if you can get away from the front and the seedy bars that every loose woman from every town in Britain come to every weekend, then ah **** it, i love the place. :greengrin

Galahibby
20-10-2018, 06:44 PM
My wife has never tried calamari, but doesn't like it. There are other examples. Several folk on the "Things you haven't tried" thread profess to disliking things they have never tried.

That baffles and frustrates me.

Apart from supporting another football club, or causing yourself pain, I don't understand how someone can dislike something if they have no experience of it.

I might not agree that snails in garlic are not enjoyable, but if you've tried them, I can respect that informed opinion.

So, this thread is for things you've tried at least once, and as a result, you have decided that you don't like them.

Please list;

1. The thing you tried

2. The number of times you've tried it.

3. The result.

I'll go first.

1. Nandos.

2. Tried once.

3. I won't ever be back.1. Oysters
2. Once
3. :sick:

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk

20-10-2018, 09:26 PM
Squid rings

Tried them when I was 14, spewed up.

Never been near them since.

20-10-2018, 09:45 PM
Supporting Hertha BSC Berlin

About 150 times

Just can't bond with a team that wear royal blue and white colours

20-10-2018, 11:33 PM
Supporting Hertha BSC Berlin

About 150 times

Just can't bond with a team that wear royal blue and white colours

Go and watch Union Berlin then, great stadium! Went there when Hibs played them in a friendly.

Tornadoes70
21-10-2018, 12:59 AM
It is a ****hole, but if you can get away from the front and the seedy bars that every loose woman from every town in Britain come to every weekend, then ah **** it, i love the place. :greengrin

Wondering if you've visited Botchergate in Carlisle of a weekend? Anyone whose been there will know what I'm talking about. Mental yet thoroughly enjoyable.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

21-10-2018, 09:23 AM
Visiting Blackpool

I was the same 40 odd years ago couldn't wait to get out and never went back

21-10-2018, 09:49 AM
My mum really has it in for Blackpool.

She slaughtered it all throughout my childhood and we never went there.

I went there for the first time to a 40th a few years ago - and absolutely loved it.

It is what it is, and if that's not your thing then fair enough.

21-10-2018, 09:52 AM
Wondering if you've visited Botchergate in Carlisle of a weekend? Anyone whose been there will know what I'm talking about. Mental yet thoroughly enjoyable.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

It sounds a bit like a place I went to in Elgin.

Pretty bonkers but good fun.

21-10-2018, 10:17 AM
Ocra - It was horrible and slimy but somebody said it hadn’t been cooked properly, so I might try it again in future.

21-10-2018, 11:31 AM

Mon the Cabbage!!!

Certainly some interesting sights to be seen in both locations. 😱 £1.55 a pint in The Caledonian Hotel on Botchergate on a Tuesday, Cannae complain. 🍺

21-10-2018, 01:31 PM
Pizza

Reported.

21-10-2018, 01:34 PM
I was the same 40 odd years ago couldn't wait to get out and never went back

I’ve been to Blackpool once and I’d rather be at work. Genuinely think it might be the worst place I’ve ever been.

Jay
21-10-2018, 02:04 PM
Reported.

To whom should I report?

Its bogging. Who thought to get a bit dough, chuck some tomato sauce on then every bit of leftover you can think of and make it a dinner? Minging.
If I grabbed a handful of onion, pork,chicken, spicy beef and some tomato sauce and put it on a plate my kids would refuse to eat it!

21-10-2018, 02:25 PM

To whom should I report?

Its bogging. Who thought to get a bit dough, chuck some tomato sauce on then every bit of leftover you can think of and make it a dinner? Minging.
If I grabbed a handful of onion, pork,chicken, spicy beef and some tomato sauce and put it on a plate my kids would refuse to eat it!

To be fair that sounds like a monstrosity of a pizza, I think I’d refuse to eat that aswell :greengrin.

Jay
21-10-2018, 02:47 PM
To be fair that sounds like a monstrosity of a pizza, I think I’d refuse to eat that aswell :greengrin.

I have no idea what they get on their pizzas. Im.normally off in a huff that its not chinese we are having :greengrin

21-10-2018, 03:45 PM
I have no idea what they get on their pizzas. Im.normally off in a huff that its not chinese we are having :greengrin
My favourite topping from my local pizza restaurant is mozzarella, Gorgonzola, fig, walnut and prosciutto. No tomato base and it’s absolutely delicious.

Real stone baked pizza is so different from 80% of what you get normally.

21-10-2018, 04:00 PM

Must admit I'm a massive pizza fan, not the one you described though :greengrin

Jay
21-10-2018, 04:26 PM
Must admit I'm a massive pizza fan, not the one you described though :greengrin

Ive no idea what they get! I was picking things at random. Ive heard meatfeast with chilli oil? That may be asda. The woman at the pizza counter turns me into a bit of a psycho so i stay away :greengrin

21-10-2018, 06:07 PM
Haggis
Half a dozen times at least
Boak, boak and boak again. Feel that I should like it but just find it disgusting.

21-10-2018, 06:35 PM
Five Guys

It was ok but that's about it. Chips were decent. £33 for 2 burgers, 2 chips and 2 drinks though?

Won't go again whilst there are far superior burger places near me for a considerably lower outlay.

beensaidbefore
21-10-2018, 08:14 PM
Haggis
Half a dozen times at least
Boak, boak and boak again. Feel that I should like it but just find it disgusting.

Try hornigs. If you don't like that you will never like haggis.

21-10-2018, 11:58 PM
Tofu

22-10-2018, 01:55 AM
Five Guys

It was ok but that's about it. Chips were decent. £33 for 2 burgers, 2 chips and 2 drinks though?

Won't go again whilst there are far superior burger places near me for a considerably lower outlay.

Outrageous price that!!

22-10-2018, 06:10 AM
Five Guys

I think the burgers at five guys are brilliant. It is absolutely extortionate though.

22-10-2018, 09:18 AM
Boxing: Went along to try some training aged 18 at the behest of a mate who was quite tidy in the ring. Was convinced it would be fun to have a bash at sparring, all very jolly.
Got paired with a wee 12 year-old lad who very quickly put me on my arse, not very jolly. See you later, have a nice day!

26-10-2018, 09:04 PM
Television. I used to like Coronation St when it was amusing. Then it started to go all violent and now I don't watch it. In fact, I don't watch TV at all now. The wife still does.

27-10-2018, 06:35 AM
Going to a gig

Once

Went to watch Snow Patrol years ago as friend had spare ticket. Ended up stuck beside some fat cow who was having some sort of emotional orgasm when they played Chasing Cars, never again.

I've stuck to YouTube by myself at home from then on in.

27-10-2018, 07:32 AM
I think the burgers at five guys are brilliant. It is absolutely extortionate though.

Agreed. Five Guys scran is top notch but it's ridiculously expensive.

27-10-2018, 07:23 PM
Five Guys

£16.5 for burgers chips and a drink doesn't actually seem that ridiculous... Particularly if it was an alcoholic drink.

27-10-2018, 07:35 PM
Agreed. Five Guys scran is top notch but it's ridiculously expensive.

I personally would struggle to describe any burger as being top notch scran and having tried many burgers along with five guys, I can only describe them as decent but not exceptional.

27-10-2018, 11:07 PM
I personally would struggle to describe any burger as being top notch scran and having tried many burgers along with five guys, I can only describe them as decent but not exceptional.

You need to visit "the Bird" in Berlin. They take burger and fries to a whole new level.

27-10-2018, 11:52 PM
You need to visit "the Bird" in Berlin. They take burger and fries to a whole new level.

Shake shack in New York is the place for burgers. Fries are crap though.

28-10-2018, 12:15 PM

Great burgers, ***** fries :agree:

28-10-2018, 09:01 PM
Game of Thrones

One episode, 2 at the most

Totally underwhelmed

28-10-2018, 09:57 PM
Baked rice pudding.....Yuk

29-10-2018, 06:00 AM
Game of Thrones

Totally underwhelmed

my father in law is the same, cant get in to it at all where as the wife and I love the programme

29-10-2018, 06:50 AM
Game of Thrones

Totally underwhelmed

I watched it. Didn't like it. Saw all the hype so tried again. Got to the end of series 2 and gave up again. My biggest issue is the writing is terrible, they seem to constantly back themselves into a corner and then resolve it by killing someone off.

There are some shows I don't like but I understand why people like them; GOT just fails me. One I geniunely don't get.

29-10-2018, 07:15 PM
I watched it. Didn't like it. Saw all the hype so tried again. Got to the end of series 2 and gave up again. My biggest issue is the writing is terrible, they seem to constantly back themselves into a corner and then resolve it by killing someone off.

There are some shows I don't like but I understand why people like them; GOT just fails me. One I geniunely don't get.

for the first few seasons they were still going by the books i believe so had no option but to kill people off

29-10-2018, 07:42 PM

Shake Shack is class. There’s a few of them in London.

31-10-2018, 06:17 AM
Stuffed pasta.

Tried it at nursery (tinned) then later in life (fresh)

Rank, think the tinned stuff is ingrained in my memory.

31-10-2018, 09:29 AM

Have you been to Salt n Bone? I ended up going two nights in a row last time I was over,and thought it was as good if not better, than the bird.

31-10-2018, 09:32 AM
Grapefruit for me. I have tried it quite a few times, and still can't take to it.

31-10-2018, 11:44 AM
Cod roe

31-10-2018, 12:13 PM
Tripe. Unspeakably vile.

31-10-2018, 01:25 PM
Caviar.

Seriously, that's meant to be some kind of luxurious treat?

31-10-2018, 01:34 PM
stuffed crust - :confused:

31-10-2018, 02:08 PM
Grapefruit for me. I have tried it quite a few times, and still can't take to it.

Breaks the rule for this thread though!

31-10-2018, 02:59 PM
Breaks the rule for this thread though!

sorry :greengrin it is probably time to give up on it anyway, never going to like it.

01-11-2018, 10:03 AM
Have you been to Salt n Bone? I ended up going two nights in a row last time I was over,and thought it was as good if not better, than the bird.

No, but thanks for the tip. I'll definitely give it a try.

01-11-2018, 10:37 AM

I don’t think the writing is terrible at all. Sounds like a cop out, but the constant deaths just show how ruthless everyone was, and that no matter who you are, you’re fair game. The Red Wedding has to be one of the best TV episodes of all time.

03-11-2018, 06:41 AM
Avocado on toast
As a millennial ****wit this should be part of my staple but unless it's in a salad I'm not a fan

04-11-2018, 05:03 AM
Avocado on toast
As a millennial ****wit this should be part of my staple but unless it's in a salad I'm not a fan

I agree, keep it for adding with salsa and sour cream for wraps, on its own it's rank.

18-11-2018, 10:43 AM
Buckfast

20-11-2018, 09:32 AM
Swimming.