View Full Version : Charalampos Mavrias

HNA3
14-10-2018, 02:27 PM
Sounds like an exciting signing.......

(Try to keep this one on topic please folks)

14-10-2018, 02:33 PM
some of the papers are saying he's a winger ,other say a defender .. what is his actual position ?

14-10-2018, 02:37 PM
some of the papers are saying he's a winger ,other say a defender .. what is his actual position ?

Yes

14-10-2018, 02:42 PM

Sounds like both.

His YouTube video looks like he’s a winger but most websites seem to say he’s a full back.

14-10-2018, 02:48 PM
From the short clips I did manage to find he certainly looks pacey. Lennon clearly likes pace in his teams

14-10-2018, 02:56 PM
He was described as a winger when he signed for Sunderland. Wore number 7 and seemed to play right wing for Panathinaikos as well.

eaststandJJ
14-10-2018, 03:33 PM
Wing back?

14-10-2018, 03:33 PM
Think predominantly a winger but can play full back if required.

14-10-2018, 03:35 PM
So have we signed this player or is this still paper talk only?

14-10-2018, 03:48 PM
So have we signed this player or is this still paper talk only?

Expected to be confirmed on Monday.

His agent seems to think its a done deal on twitter.

Looking forward to seeing what he can add. Sounds like he was on trial, so he must have something about him.

14-10-2018, 04:02 PM
Should keep Boyle on his toes and mean we don't have to overplay him.

14-10-2018, 04:02 PM
Looks like he can play anywhere across the right hand side.

Also I wonder if the club have another one or two on trial? No one knew that we had this lad on trial so who knows, we might have 1-2 players training with us looking to impress Lennon and the coaching staff for a permanent contract.

14-10-2018, 04:41 PM
Good luck sir.

14-10-2018, 04:49 PM
I think he scored against Motherwell in a UEFA cup game a few years back? Unless that was another Mavrias.

14-10-2018, 04:55 PM
I think he scored against Motherwell in a UEFA cup game a few years back? Unless that was another Mavrias.

Think I saw earlier he scored in both legs against them?

14-10-2018, 04:57 PM
I’m taking the ‘Lennon is a genius and this guy will be quality’ line.

The Jambos buckshot signings will some be dwarfed by Hibernian precision bombing.

14-10-2018, 05:00 PM
I reckon this boy will be class and cause full backs havoc, if played on the wing.

14-10-2018, 05:05 PM
I remember we were linked with this guy when Butcher was manager but never got him

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11065/9117015/transfer-news-hibernian-boss-terry-butcher-eyes-sunderland-strikers

14-10-2018, 05:13 PM
I remember we were linked with this guy when Butcher was manager but never got him

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11065/9117015/transfer-news-hibernian-boss-terry-butcher-eyes-sunderland-strikers

Yeh, I don't think Mavrias is a striker though, and neither was Watmore who did play for us.

Souter96Mac
14-10-2018, 05:16 PM
Sounds like this lad had a great deal of promise when he started, got his big move to Sunderland but it didn't come through. A chance for him to show what he's got. Good luck Charis

14-10-2018, 05:35 PM
If this boys predominantly a winger does it suggest bad news in regards to agyepong?

14-10-2018, 05:38 PM
Although not strictly on track, we certainly seem to be bringing in a few players who have played at a very good standard - Horgan, Milligan, Mavrias, Kamberi, and (I hope perm) Maclaren.

These guys will, given their previous, presumably also be on pretty good money?

I wonder if this will put to bed some of the "wheres all the money gone" chat that we had a month or so back?

14-10-2018, 05:38 PM
If this boys predominantly a winger but it suggest bad news release agyepong?

Why would it mean he’s getting released?

14-10-2018, 05:55 PM
Why would it mean he’s getting released?

The formation options Lennon has this season are terrific, and obviously no fluke. We have full backs who can just defend , wing backs , and out and out wingers .. we have seriously lacked width in our squad for years and it lools like lennon has addressed the issue with the squad he is building. Throw in 4 quality centre halfs , 5 central midfielders , 2 strong goalkeepers. I still think we could do with one more good quality centre forward in the squad as its the one area we do lack strength in depth.

Tobias Funke
14-10-2018, 06:04 PM
If this boys predominantly a winger but it suggest bad news release agyepong?

Eh?

14-10-2018, 06:05 PM
Eh?
I'm thinking that the word release was meant to be regards?

14-10-2018, 06:23 PM
I'm thinking that the word release was meant to be regards?

Your right. Just don't see why we'd need another right winger. Agyepong had a bad injury last season and seems to be out again. If the guys Beeing signed as a right back or rwb then nothing to worry about.

14-10-2018, 06:24 PM
Your right. Just don't see why we'd need another right winger. Agyepong had a bad injury last season and seems to be out again. If the guys Beeing signed as a right back or rwb then nothing to worry about.

Although he has played for us more on the right so far, I’m pretty sure wee Tam is more of a left winger

14-10-2018, 06:31 PM
Although he has played for us more on the right so far, I’m pretty sure wee Tam is more of a left winger

If that's the case having back up on both wings would be brilliant. Having plenty pace in the team will always cause others problems.

Austinho
14-10-2018, 07:33 PM
I think he scored against Motherwell in a UEFA cup game a few years back? Unless that was another Mavrias.Scored an away goal at Fir Park and against them in Greece too.

Both goals around between the 1.25min and 2.15min mark https://youtu.be/s76u-mvKATI

14-10-2018, 07:41 PM

Boyle will be away with Australia in January for that Asia cup thing so we will need cover.

14-10-2018, 07:48 PM
Great stuff.

What do we call him? Surely only his mum calls him Charalampos.

14-10-2018, 07:49 PM
Great stuff.

Chaz.

Saturday Boy
14-10-2018, 08:04 PM
Great stuff.

Charlie Lamppost surely 😄

14-10-2018, 08:12 PM
Charalampos Charalampos ole ole ole

14-10-2018, 08:13 PM
C-Mav

Hibspirational
14-10-2018, 08:53 PM
Great stuff.

Charlie??

Aim Here
14-10-2018, 09:32 PM
Great stuff.

I happen to know a Charalampos; the main diminutive form is 'Babis'. Don't ask me why.

14-10-2018, 11:13 PM

There's a definite buzz around this boy.

14-10-2018, 11:15 PM
There's a definite buzz around this boy.
Might give us a real sting in our attack.......

14-10-2018, 11:19 PM
Close thread before the puns go out of control.

14-10-2018, 11:25 PM
Might give us a real sting in our attack.......
Aye the Pun Polis will be swarming everywhere.......

Austinho
15-10-2018, 01:45 AM
Not sure what’s worse, the last thread descending into a political correctness debate, or the new one about to descent into a pun thread.

Anyway, we’re on the verge of securing a new signing. I see at 16 years old, he became the 2nd youngest player to ever play in the Champions League at the time. Was clearly considered a wonder kid, but career has stalled due to bad moves by the look of it.

Sunderland bought him for £3 million, but didn’t play him at first due to ‘fitness issues’. When he was loaned out to Fortuna Düsseldorf, they tried to buy him, but Sunderland rejected the offer and took him back, only to play him once against Arsenal and not threaten the 1st team again.

His next team in German got relegated from Bundesliga 2 to 3. And his team last year finished 2nd in Croatia, but he barely got a sniff. Seems to be one with lots of talent, but perhaps lack of confidence. Lennon seems to be the type to get the best out of someone like that.

15-10-2018, 05:20 AM
Not sure what’s worse, the last thread descending into a political correctness debate, or the new one about to descent into a pun thread.

Anyway, we’re on the verge of securing a new signing. I see at 16 years old, he became the 2nd youngest player to ever play in the Champions League at the time. Was clearly considered a wonder kid, but career has stalled due to bad moves by the look of it.

Sunderland bought him for £3 million, but didn’t play him at first due to ‘fitness issues’. When he was loaned out to Fortuna Düsseldorf, they tried to buy him, but Sunderland rejected the offer and took him back, only to play him once against Arsenal and not threaten the 1st team again.

His next team in German got relegated from Bundesliga 2 to 3. And his team last year finished 2nd in Croatia, but he barely got a sniff. Seems to be one with lots of talent, but perhaps lack of confidence. Lennon seems to be the type to get the best out of someone like that.

Sounds like another hidden gem. Hibs recruitment team are really impressive

Austinho
15-10-2018, 05:55 AM
Sounds like another hidden gem. Hibs recruitment team are really impressiveI wonder if Kamberi had something to do with it - looks like they used play together in Germany.

HibeesLittleHel
15-10-2018, 06:47 AM
The Jambos buckshot signings will some be dwarfed by Hibernian precision bombing.

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😀😀😀😀😀

15-10-2018, 09:26 AM
I reckon champers signing might turn out to be a corker

15-10-2018, 09:47 AM
Welcome, hope you settle in quick and offer something new!!!!

Dancehibs
15-10-2018, 11:21 AM
Sounds like another hidden gem. Hibs recruitment team are really impressive

He was offered to hibs by agent. You build good relationships with agents it can pay dividends

Bobby_Combe
15-10-2018, 02:06 PM

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😀😀😀😀😀

I'd rather we did a Dresden on them ....

15-10-2018, 03:04 PM
He was offered to hibs by agent. You build good relationships with agents it can pay dividends

The same agent as MacLaren?

15-10-2018, 03:05 PM
Announce plz

15-10-2018, 03:08 PM
Whats with the unpronouncable names at ER?

First it was big Dave we now have a cheeky wee Chaz...

15-10-2018, 03:45 PM
Whats with the unpronouncable names at ER?

First it was big Dave we now have a cheeky wee Chaz...

:singing: Rabbit Rabbit Rabbit Rabbit......

15-10-2018, 03:50 PM
Assuming it’s pronounced more or less phonetically, it has the right number of syllables to fit into Seven Nation Army:

Chaaaa-ra-lam-pos Mav-ri-as

That’s the easy way out though, I’ve no doubt the singing section will come up with a bespoke gem.

Prof. Shaggy
15-10-2018, 04:11 PM
Assuming it’s pronounced more or less phonetically, it has the right number of syllables to fit into Seven Nation Army:

That’s the easy way out though, I’ve no doubt the singing section will come up with a bespoke gem.

In my last year teaching music to weans and I never ever ever want to hear that tune again.

Good spot though.

15-10-2018, 11:46 PM
Not signed yet then? :confused:

WestEndHibee
16-10-2018, 01:36 AM
Great stuff.

Think it is normally Charis.

I'd personally prefer having a C(h)arlos playing at wing back for us.

ChilliEater
16-10-2018, 04:57 AM

I can't help but hear it with the tune to that charming little ditty about what Vladimir Romanov liked to get up to with Paul Hartley:

Charalampos Mavrias
Leaves full backs on their ass......

MacGruber
16-10-2018, 07:46 AM
Has Chaz Marvelous signed yet?

16-10-2018, 07:59 AM
Has Chaz Marvelous signed yet?

New signings will be announced here http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news

Austinho
16-10-2018, 09:26 AM
Not signed yet then? :confused:The tweet in question said 'this week'.

16-10-2018, 03:46 PM
In my last year teaching music to weans and I never ever ever want to hear that tune again.

Good spot though.

After the 0-4 semi v those *******s I knew I never wanted to hear that tune again. Unimaginative *****. Death to Jack white stripe or whatever his incestuous sisters name is.

16-10-2018, 04:40 PM
After the 0-4 semi v those *******s I knew I never wanted to hear that tune again. Unimaginative *****. Death to Jack white stripe or whatever his incestuous sisters name is.

That and Levels by Avicci. Although i did laugh when it played after every St Mirren goal when they pumped Hearts in the League Cup final

16-10-2018, 07:23 PM
https://twitter.com/DeadlineDay_FC/status/1052270761115865091?s=19

16-10-2018, 07:28 PM
That and Levels by Avicci. Although i did laugh when it played after every St Mirren goal when they pumped Hearts in the League Cup final

That's the one they still play when they score against us at Tynecastle, isn't it? I knew I subliminally associated that song with despair.

Rick Rude
16-10-2018, 07:34 PM
Looked like him that was enjoying a nandos at Omni with Flo this evening.

16-10-2018, 08:12 PM
Looked like him that was enjoying a nandos at Omni with Flo this evening.

Good omen that!

I remember seeing Mark Milligan with Jamie MacLaren @ the Fountain Park Nandos a couple of days after he signed.

If he turns out anywhere near as good as Milligan, we’ve got ourselves some player!

17-10-2018, 06:41 AM
Good omen that!

I remember seeing Mark Milligan with Jamie MacLaren @ the Fountain Park Nandos a couple of days after he signed.

If he turns out anywhere near as good as Milligan, we’ve got ourselves some player!

You've clearly stumbled upon something here!

If only Nandos had been around when we signed De Graaf things might have turned out differently.

17-10-2018, 09:17 AM
Nandos > Greggs

17-10-2018, 09:21 AM
Nandos > Greggs

Reported.

17-10-2018, 12:02 PM
Nandos > Greggs

Greggs is bowfing :agree:

17-10-2018, 12:13 PM
Everything > Nandos

17-10-2018, 12:26 PM
Greggs is bowfing :agree:

Nandos is highly overpriced, ordinary food for those with no imagination or taste.

Greggs, at least, is an adventure.

17-10-2018, 12:38 PM
Lads, I was referring to the quality of signing produced by rumours based in each establishment.

(For the record, the food in both is fine, not great, and Nandos is indeed overpriced.)

17-10-2018, 12:39 PM
I'd rather we did a Dresden on them ....

Do you mind! My wife's from Dresden and her mother was there when it was bombed.

...and they bl**dy missed her!!!!

17-10-2018, 12:39 PM
Lads, I was referring to the quality of signing produced by rumours based in each establishment.

(For the record, the food in both is fine, not great, and Nandos is indeed overpriced.)

I knew that, but still, nae need.

Hibs4185
17-10-2018, 03:07 PM
His agent just said T minus 30 mins on Twitter when asked if there was any news. That was about 20 mins ago.

17-10-2018, 03:18 PM
Confirmed on official website.

Deal until January.

17-10-2018, 03:18 PM
https://youtu.be/YkbtOz_FWr0

17-10-2018, 03:26 PM
I hope I'm wrong in this, but to not make the deal until the end of the season from the off makes me think this could be a "appears once off the bench, never seen again" style signing and that the club wouldn't be too fussed if it came to that.

17-10-2018, 03:44 PM
I hope I'm wrong in this, but to not make the deal until the end of the season from the off makes me think this could be a "appears once off the bench, never seen again" style signing and that the club wouldn't be too fussed if it came to that.

Its short term with an extension if he proves himself.

17-10-2018, 03:47 PM

Yup. We'll stick him in when Gray/Boyle/Agyepong are injured and if he performs we'll extend the deal.

Odd that Lennon seems to have gone from holding Whittaker in high regard to relegating him to 3rd choice RB.

17-10-2018, 03:48 PM
I think we have got 8 games in December so it will be all hands on deck, and will be no bad thing to have quality and depth in the squad.

Hibs can assess where we are come January and make decisions accordingly.

Sensible bit of business as far as I am concerned.

17-10-2018, 03:49 PM
Odd that Lennon seems to have gone from holding Whittaker in high regard to relegating him to 3rd choice RB.

Not that strange to anyone who has watched him play recently.

17-10-2018, 03:50 PM
Yup. We'll stick him in when Gray/Boyle/Agyepong are injured and if he performs we'll extend the deal.

Because he's now seen as a holding midfielder or right back.

This lad is more of a wing back, which is what we tend to use. Options.

17-10-2018, 04:01 PM

I get that its short term, but January is 3 months away. That's REALLY short term IMO. Squad depth for December could prove vital right enough but it's not very long (or indeed, IMO, long enough) for him to consistently prove himself as either quality or gash.

17-10-2018, 04:03 PM
Hobo Harry is delighted that Harry the new Hobo has officially signed :greengrin

Aim Here
17-10-2018, 04:05 PM

Is that really a huge problem? There's no signing fee attached, we're only out 2 or 3 months salary if he turns out to be gash and we have some cover if Motherwell or someone tries kicking all our defenders into hospital just before our big clutch of tough games (like what happened last season).

Besides, given we're playing something like 8 games in December, we're really just bringing on a temp to help cope with the Christmas rush...

17-10-2018, 04:15 PM
I get that its short term, but January is 3 months away. That's REALLY short term IMO. Squad depth for December could prove vital right enough but it's not very long (or indeed, IMO, long enough) for him to consistently prove himself as either quality or gash.

Neil knows what he is doing I am sure, see from the report on the bbc that he goes by the name of "Harry" which he would, unless the p.c. brigade jump all over that, I will say welcome to Hibs "Harry"

"Mavrias, known as Harry, said he is excited to have signed with the club and is looking forward to playing with the team.

"From the first day that I came here I saw that it is a very good club. The organisation is amazing and the environment for football is top quality."

Here’s Lucy!
17-10-2018, 04:21 PM
Confirmed on official website.

Deal until January.

Good one!

Welcome to the Hibees, Charalampos :aok:

Green Man
17-10-2018, 04:22 PM
Nandos is highly overpriced, ordinary food for those with no imagination or taste.

Greggs, at least, is an adventure.

Half the Dunfermline team were in Nando’s before their game on Saturday. They were knocked out of the cup that day. Make of that what you will.

17-10-2018, 04:34 PM
'Aw naw, Dave's injured himself again'

'It's ok we've got cover'

'It's no Whittaker is it?'

'Naw'

'One of the kids from the development squad then?'

'Naw, it's a Greek International'

'Aw s**t, A full international?'

'Aye'

'I bet he's only on a 12 week deal so the club can assess him but with a first refusal clause to extend his deal if he's any good an' aw isn't he?'

'That's right'

'Sack the board!'

Tug Wilson
17-10-2018, 04:36 PM
I wonder if a contract extension will only be forthcoming if Squirrel goes to the Asia Cup

17-10-2018, 04:36 PM
καλο ηρθατε Χαραλαμπος (welcome)

17-10-2018, 04:39 PM
Bringing in right sided players for 3-4 months has worked out quite well for us in recent years.

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/734693092155068416/yJnsJRfw_400x400.jpghttp://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/images/2016scottishcup/Niklas-Gunnarsson-1.jpg

17-10-2018, 04:42 PM
Hibs planning for the busy Christmas period better than Royal Mail. Well done.

17-10-2018, 04:46 PM

welcome Cha

17-10-2018, 05:49 PM
welcome aboard. i hope this isn't a Didier Agathe re run

Austinho
18-10-2018, 05:08 AM
It says until January 2019, presumably he’ll be able to play for us during January and the contract won’t be up on the 1st?

Salisbury Hibby
18-10-2018, 05:46 AM
Great stuff.

What do we call him? Surely only his mum calls him Charalampos.Charis. Pronounced Harris.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

18-10-2018, 07:40 AM
It says until January 2019, presumably he’ll be able to play for us during January and the contract won’t be up on the 1st?Says in Metro today till the end of Jan

18-10-2018, 08:26 AM
Chick surely?

18-10-2018, 08:29 AM
Chick surely?

Says he is known as Harry in the press...

18-10-2018, 08:33 AM
Chick surely?

No, he's definitely a bloke.

18-10-2018, 08:36 AM
Says he is known as Harry in the press...

Yup, our club have decreed he is known as Harry.

Or maybe ‘Arry. Top, top player.

18-10-2018, 08:48 AM
Yup, our club have decreed he is known as Harry.

Or maybe ‘Arry. Top, top player.Instead of him being a false 9, he could hurry up and be our sham 69.

18-10-2018, 09:30 AM
Welcome to Hibs Harry.

Hibiza
18-10-2018, 10:23 AM
Welcome Chas :flag:

18-10-2018, 11:33 AM
unless the p.c. brigade jump all over that,

:wtf:

18-10-2018, 11:39 AM
Instead of him being a false 9, he could hurry up and be our sham 69.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdVFzdRZF0Q

18-10-2018, 11:52 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdVFzdRZF0Q

18-10-2018, 11:56 AM
Instead of him being a false 9, he could hurry up and be our sham 69.

It'll only work if the Kids are United....

18-10-2018, 05:39 PM
It'll only work if the Kids are United....And if they're wearing laced up boots and corduroys.

18-10-2018, 07:22 PM
And if they're wearing laced up boots and corduroys.

And if they're angels with dirty faces.

bodhibs
18-10-2018, 07:47 PM
Welcome Chas, may your hibernian career be wonderful

18-10-2018, 11:11 PM
And if they're angels with dirty faces.

Will help the Ulster Boys