View Full Version : Signings that didn’t do as well as expected.

11-10-2018, 11:45 AM
Liam Craig springs to mind. Edwin De Graaf.

11-10-2018, 11:46 AM
J*e H*rp*r

11-10-2018, 11:47 AM
Terry ****ing Butcher

11-10-2018, 11:49 AM
Ed De Graf
Tim Clancy
James Collins
Jonathan Johansson
Danny Haynes

therealgavmac
11-10-2018, 11:53 AM
Owain Tudur Jones....

And before you ask, no he doesn’t

11-10-2018, 11:55 AM
Alan O'Brien

:shocked:

11-10-2018, 12:00 PM
Owain Tudur Jones....

Tobias Funke
11-10-2018, 12:08 PM
Owain Tudur Jones....

11-10-2018, 12:15 PM
Agogo and sodje

11-10-2018, 12:17 PM
Clayton Donaldson
Paul Heffernan
Danny Swanson
Anthony Stokes (3rd spell)

11-10-2018, 12:26 PM
Grant Brebner's second spell.

11-10-2018, 12:27 PM
Ian Cameron

Brian Welsh

11-10-2018, 12:28 PM
Garry O'Connor return, I expected him to score for fun, he showed he could in flashes but ultimately it was a disappointing return.

11-10-2018, 12:30 PM
Mark Caughey
Barry Lavety
Paul Wright
Ricky Hill
The Sowumni brothers

jonny
11-10-2018, 12:33 PM
James Collins

11-10-2018, 12:49 PM
Ricardo Vaz Te

Daydreamer
11-10-2018, 12:50 PM
Jim Blair if anyone can remember him other than the goals against Rangers in the 3-2 win. Thought we had a star after that

Hibiza
11-10-2018, 12:56 PM
Tony Rougier

11-10-2018, 12:59 PM
Tony Rougier

Surprised at that. Thought Rougier did well
For us

Shanksaidno
11-10-2018, 01:10 PM
Lavety and rougier were o k I thought

11-10-2018, 01:30 PM
Rowan Vine.

11-10-2018, 01:30 PM
Ulysses De La Cruz
Adam Le Fondre

11-10-2018, 01:42 PM
Paul Hartley
Paul Cairney
Shefti Kuqi
Danny Swanson

11-10-2018, 01:58 PM
Brian Welsh

Brian Kerr

and others too numerous to list.

11-10-2018, 02:05 PM
Derek Riordan's 4th spell :wink:

hibeg
11-10-2018, 02:15 PM
Mark Caughey
Barry Lavety
Paul Wright
Ricky Hill
The Sowumni brothers

I wouldn’t include Paul Wright alongside the other huddies. He was good and then got a serious injury in a game. Can’t remember exactly, may have been the jambo thug Neil Berry :confused:

11-10-2018, 02:18 PM
I wouldn’t include Paul Wright alongside the other huddies. He was good and then got a serious injury in a game. Can’t remember exactly, may have been the jambo thug Neil Berry :confused:

I agree, but as a result Hibs got less from him than anticipated.

11-10-2018, 02:20 PM
Surprised at that. Thought Rougier did well
For us

Same. He could skin players alive then fall over the ball. Never knew what you were going to get.

11-10-2018, 02:44 PM
Eddie Hurtado. The Tank.

11-10-2018, 02:54 PM
Joe Ward and Bobby Torrance.

11-10-2018, 02:56 PM
Rowan Vine.

I expected Vine to be utter pish, and right enough he was absolutely nowhere near as good as that.

11-10-2018, 03:02 PM
I expected Vine to be utter pish, and right enough he was absolutely nowhere near as good as that.[emoji4]

LioNeilMessi
11-10-2018, 03:02 PM
Andrew Shinnie did ok but I thought he’d be a great signing for the Scottish championship.

11-10-2018, 03:12 PM
Owain Tudur Jones....

houstonhibbee
11-10-2018, 03:21 PM
Centre forward from Coventry in the 80's - forgot his name🤔

11-10-2018, 03:22 PM
Centre forward from Coventry in the 80's - forgot his name🤔

Houchey.

11-10-2018, 03:22 PM
Cammy Bell :wink:

houstonhibbee
11-10-2018, 03:29 PM
Houchey.

Played in the LCF defeat to Aberdeen the same year hearts did the double IIRC

11-10-2018, 03:30 PM
Rowan Vine.

100%. Even after many games if convinced myself he would come good for some reason.

11-10-2018, 03:31 PM
Played in the LCF defeat to Aberdeen the same year hearts did the double IIRC

Didn't sign for us until 1989.

hibbydog
11-10-2018, 03:35 PM
Merouane Zemamma

Started brilliantly. His home debut vs Motherwell was sparkling, and I came away thinking we'd do well to keep hold of him for a season.

Ended up just showing it here and there.

Ach weel

11-10-2018, 03:35 PM
George Best :greengrin
How many times did we all turn up and George didnae :rolleyes:
What wiz he like ! :devil:

11-10-2018, 03:37 PM
Lyndon Andrews. I expected Latapy V2.

11-10-2018, 03:38 PM
Andrew Shinnie did ok but I thought he’d be a great signing for the Scottish championship.

I liked Shinnie...put in some good performances towards the end of that season...would have been happy for him to sign..

11-10-2018, 03:40 PM
100%. Even after many games if convinced myself he would come good for some reason.He did eventually produce a damned fine beard. His biggest achievement at Hibs.

EVENTUALLY
11-10-2018, 03:50 PM
Graham Fyfe

Saint Hibee
11-10-2018, 03:56 PM
Paul Hartley
Paul Cairney
Shefti Kuqi
Danny Swanson

I actually think Paul Cairney was a pretty good player for us in an otherwise dire team.

11-10-2018, 03:57 PM
Lyndon Andrews. I expected Latapy V2.

A 6-2 legend though. Don’t forget, he was a totally different style of player. Think we did ok out of wee Lyndon.

11-10-2018, 04:04 PM
Tony Rougier

Agreed. I was expecting big things from him - he always seemed to perform well against us. Thought he was a major signing at the time so his impact as a so-so player was underwhelming.

By no means the worst but that isn't what the thread was asking for.

11-10-2018, 04:07 PM
I actually think Paul Cairney was a pretty good player for us in an otherwise dire team.

That dire team were top of the league in November one year

Juniper Greens
11-10-2018, 04:33 PM
Earl Jean

Sure his debut he looked decent off the bench

11-10-2018, 04:42 PM
Anthony Stokes. His third spell at the club was a huge disappointment after his cup final heroics where he put in arguably the greatest individual performance seen in a Hibs strip.

steelendhibs
11-10-2018, 04:42 PM
Jay Sinclair and also the Glaswegian Somalia guy we had on loan from Chelsea. Can't remember his name

11-10-2018, 04:51 PM
Jay Sinclair and also the Glaswegian Somalia guy we had on loan from Chelsea. Can't remember his name

Islam Feruz - yes, that didn’t really work out. Wonder where he plays now? Not a name we hear too much about.

11-10-2018, 04:54 PM
Mark Caughey
Barry Lavety
Paul Wright
Ricky Hill
The Sowumni brothers

Ricky Hill that takes me back we brought him in winter. Auld bought him a sheepskin coat he was frozen and was told we’ll bring you back in the summer which never happened

11-10-2018, 05:02 PM
Anthony Stokes. His third spell at the club was a huge disappointment after his cup final heroics where he put in arguably the greatest individual performance seen in a Hibs strip.

In saying that he still scored a fair few in his 3rd spell

11-10-2018, 05:11 PM
Jonatan Johannson is probably the epitome, I think there was a common assumption he would score for fun.

Although he wasn't with us for long, I remember thinking Allan Smart would rattle them in as well. He was a consistent scorer in the English leagues.

11-10-2018, 05:11 PM
I agree. A fair proportion of our goals came from free kicks and corners won by Cairney.

Ken
11-10-2018, 05:21 PM
Fabian Yantorno. Was delighted when we signed him but such a let down

houstonhibbee
11-10-2018, 05:21 PM
Didn't sign for us until 1989.

must have been a different cup final Im thinking of

TelaStella
11-10-2018, 05:22 PM
When we signed Patrick Cregg from Falkirk I thought we might of had a player but he turned out to be completely out the picture after a few months. Alan Gow, Ritchie Towell and especially Shelton Martis all spring to mind as well

KDY Hibs
11-10-2018, 05:25 PM
Mark Caughey
Barry Lavety
Paul Wright
Ricky Hill
The Sowumni brothers

Barry Lavety is a bit harsh, did he not score in a boxing day draw at Wongadome!

11-10-2018, 05:35 PM
Not read my way through all of this thread but if it is not restricted to Hibs, how about the dozen or so players, including iirc Malaury Martin, signed by our Gorgie neighbours in a January and happily wasted FOH donations?

Pleasing.

11-10-2018, 05:48 PM
must have been a different cup final Im thinking of

Houchy never played in any finals for us.

11-10-2018, 05:49 PM
Barry Lavety is a bit harsh, did he not score in a boxing day draw at Wongadome!

Scored along with wee Harper in a win at ER against them.

11-10-2018, 05:49 PM

Scored a cracking goal in a 2-1 win at Easter Road. Remember it well...my first derby 😉

11-10-2018, 05:54 PM
Every single 2011 - 2014 signing, without exception.

StevesFamau5
11-10-2018, 05:56 PM
Pa Kujabi anyone?

The free kick that slowly rolled out for a throw in....

James Collins is the main one for me. Absolutely honking 😷😷

KDY Hibs
11-10-2018, 06:09 PM
Scored a cracking goal in a 2-1 win at Easter Road. Remember it well...my first derby 😉

Must be confused, for some reason I thought he scored in the 2-2 boxing day game, must have been the beer!

heidtheba
11-10-2018, 06:10 PM
Fabian Yantorno - sounded like a proper flair player's name...just didn't get the breaks really.
Alan O'Brien - A faster Sproule? Yes please...
Ray Wilkins - RIP but didn't work out.

Question for our pre-93 attendees here, was Mark McGraw a real prospect before injury? He was coming back from injury when I started going to ER.

11-10-2018, 06:16 PM
Clayton Donaldson
Paul Heffernan
Danny Swanson
Anthony Stokes (3rd spell)

I take issue with including Donaldson on that list. Hibs signed him for nothing, he scored a fair number of goals including one hat trick and he was sold on for a profit.

I would have preferred Clayton to have stayed but it was an unsettled time for Hibs.

11-10-2018, 06:21 PM
Andy Watson

KDY Hibs
11-10-2018, 06:52 PM

And we had a great song for him!

Lemonade
11-10-2018, 07:04 PM
Mark Caughey
Barry Lavety
Paul Wright
Ricky Hill
The Sowumni brothers

Paul Wright was pretty decent and was sacrificed so we could get Keith Wright I’m sure.

Skol
11-10-2018, 07:06 PM
Mike Conroy

11-10-2018, 07:10 PM
Paul Wright was pretty decent and was sacrificed so we could get Keith Wright I’m sure.

He was badly injured in a derby, surprise surprise. That animal Neil Berry crocked him if I recall correctly.

Lemonade
11-10-2018, 07:13 PM
He was badly injured in a derby, surprise surprise. That animal Neil Berry crocked him if I recall correctly.

I’m sure we sold him for decent money too. 300k or thereabouts.

11-10-2018, 07:14 PM
Fabian Yantorno - sounded like a proper flair player's name...just didn't get the breaks really.
Alan O'Brien - A faster Sproule? Yes please...
Ray Wilkins - RIP but didn't work out.

Question for our pre-93 attendees here, was Mark McGraw a real prospect before injury? He was coming back from injury when I started going to ER.

I was pretty young myself, but don't recall him doing anything of note, other than challenge Andy Goram for the ball that he punched out to Mickey Weir (I think)...

11-10-2018, 07:15 PM

Leigh Griffiths...?

11-10-2018, 07:17 PM

Harsh on ben williams and doyle, plus leigh obviously, though i fully agree with the sentiment

11-10-2018, 07:18 PM

Love Rob MacLean's commentary on this:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FM21SCV35CU

11-10-2018, 07:26 PM
Islam Feruz - yes, that didn’t really work out. Wonder where he plays now? Not a name we hear too much about.

He's still with Chelsea.

11-10-2018, 07:28 PM
I’m sure we sold him for decent money too. 300k or thereabouts.

To St Johnstone - crazy to think of clubs like St Johnstone paying such handsome transfer fees back then!

The Green Sea
11-10-2018, 07:28 PM
Mark McGraw? 10 stone wet through and offered nothing. Made worse by the fact we paid good money for him.

11-10-2018, 07:29 PM
Sean O’Hanlon. I remember a number of MK Dons fans were gutted when we signed him as they were raving about him a lot. Thought we had signed a proper leader at the back that we badly lacked back then but blimey, this guy was terrible!

Barman Stanton
11-10-2018, 07:32 PM
Alan O’Brien. An Irish International from Newcastle. Had to be good huh...

11-10-2018, 08:30 PM
It was regarded as a coup when we got him, but he got that injury before we could find out if he would realise his potential.

11-10-2018, 08:56 PM
Love Rob MacLean's commentary on this:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FM21SCV35CU
That was Dougie Donnelly ya daft git.......

11-10-2018, 09:00 PM
It was regarded as a coup when we got him, but he got that injury before we could find out if he would realise his potential.

I remember it. Put a good cross in down at the north east corner and the Dunfermline defender crunched into him as he played the ball. The final was a few weeks after that game but the poor guy was out for months and was never the same again.

11-10-2018, 09:32 PM
I remember being really excited when Stephen glass signed, but he never quite became what I hoped, although solidly decent

arpignon didn’t quite get going, especially as the Latapy replacement

danny galbraith (goal at parkhead aside)

Andrew shinnie

Alan o’brien

colin nish (again solid, but not what we hoped for, although did what he’d done at killie)

martin mcintosh

11-10-2018, 10:13 PM
Jim Blair and Joe Ward.

11-10-2018, 11:07 PM
Allan smart and freddy arpinon as he was injured looked magic when he did play

12-10-2018, 03:22 AM
Sauzee, never got the hype about him.

12-10-2018, 03:45 AM
Neal Eardley

Cletus
12-10-2018, 04:22 AM
Surprised Victor Palsson hasn’t had a mention. Def agree Mark McGraw at the time, allegedly beat Liverpool to his signature! Controversial one here...I always felt Zitelli could’ve been a bigger player for us than he was. Only really showed his obvious quality in flashes.

12-10-2018, 06:34 AM
Sean O’Hanlon. I remember a number of MK Dons fans were gutted when we signed him as they were raving about him a lot. Thought we had signed a proper leader at the back that we badly lacked back then but blimey, this guy was terrible!

He put in one of the best CB performances I’d seen in years vs Aberdeen which made it all the more frustrating.

12-10-2018, 06:35 AM
Davydas Matchio... Machula...Matthewlavic....

Ah **** it. Matt Kennedy.

12-10-2018, 06:36 AM
Also if he was to leave tomorrow, Vykintas Slivka. More performances like last weekend and that all changes though. Possibly only because he cane from Juve I was expecting a world beater, and tidy player he is he’s struggled to break through to the first team.

12-10-2018, 07:37 AM
Paco Luna

12-10-2018, 07:51 AM
Also if he was to leave tomorrow, Vykintas Slivka. More performances like last weekend and that all changes though. Possibly only because he cane from Juve I was expecting a world beater, and tidy player he is he’s struggled to break through to the first team.

Yeah I'd agree with this too. There is definitely a player there but he hasn't quite hit the level of expectation that I had yet.

12-10-2018, 07:52 AM
Surprised Victor Palsson hasn’t had a mention. Def agree Mark McGraw at the time, allegedly beat Liverpool to his signature! Controversial one here...I always felt Zitelli could’ve been a bigger player for us than he was. Only really showed his obvious quality in flashes.

Victor Palsson is a good one. His debut performance was absolutely outstanding. Thought we’d signed a guy who would go on to be a multi million pound player.

He’s actually had a good career since he left us and I’m sure he’s now a regular in the Iceland squads?

12-10-2018, 08:09 AM
Victor Palsson is a good one. His debut performance was absolutely outstanding. Thought we’d signed a guy who would go on to be a multi million pound player.

He’s actually had a good career since he left us and I’m sure he’s now a regular in the Iceland squads?

He plays for FC Zurich in the Swiss superleague and came on as a sub against France the other night.

12-10-2018, 08:12 AM
David Gray. I expected him to achieve world peace, win a Brit award and win Hibs the Scottish Cup.

He’s only done one of those things.

12-10-2018, 10:01 AM
He plays for FC Zurich in the Swiss superleague and came on as a sub against France the other night.

So he did. He came on with 20 mins to go, 2-0 up away to France and they drew 2-2 :greengrin

12-10-2018, 11:35 AM
Grant Holt - had a couple of really good performances in big games for us. However I think most of us expected him to score a lot of goals in the championship when he signed. Ultimately it didn't work out that way, and maybe in part that's the reason the "you don't know about football if you can't see what Holt does by not scoring goals and not being able to run" type comments started to come about.

Nice big guy and played his part. But I think we all expected more.