View Full Version : Potential disruption getting to ER on Saturday
LichtieHibby
02-10-2018, 12:42 PM
Apologies if this has been mentioned already but it’s probably worth being aware of an event taking place on Saturday in that it might affect you getting to Easter Road. Take note of the time and route to his end.
MARCH FOR INDEPENDENCE- EDINBURGH
SATURDAY 6TH OCTOBER 2018
JOHNSTONE TERRACE TO HOLYROOD PARK
GATHERING EARLY, LEAVE 1.00PM SHARP
PROCESSION ROUTE:
Johnston Terrace, Lawn Market, High Street, CanonGate, Queens Drive, Holyrood Park.
Work around this as you see fit.
02-10-2018, 02:31 PM
Apologies if this has been mentioned already but it’s probably worth being aware of an event taking place on Saturday in that it might affect you getting to Easter Road. Take note of the time and route to his end.
PROCESSION ROUTE:
Johnston Terrace, Lawn Market, High Street, CanonGate, Queens Drive, Holyrood Park.
100,000 expected if the weather holds up.
I would suggest factoring in rather major delays to normal traffic etc.
02-10-2018, 02:33 PM
The stadium only holds around 21,000 ( bigger than the pink bus shelter, mind) but where are we going to put them all?
02-10-2018, 02:51 PM
The stadium only holds around 21,000 ( bigger than the pink bus shelter, mind) but where are we going to put them all?
Nonsense.
The PBS holds at least 400,000. It is a Tardis amongst Sports Stadia.
02-10-2018, 02:57 PM
PROCESSION ROUTE:
Friggin nuisance to say the least.
02-10-2018, 03:00 PM
Getting it right up the cringers followed by a game at the Holy Ground, Carlsberg Saturday.
02-10-2018, 03:06 PM
Getting it right up the cringers followed by a game at the Holy Ground, Carlsberg Saturday.
That's the spirit we want to see in this bright, new, inclusive Scotland. :cb
02-10-2018, 03:40 PM
PROCESSION ROUTE:
Ideal opportunity to walk to Easter road from the Lothian road area 😉
Join the march and avoid any disruption in the city centre.
02-10-2018, 03:48 PM
If they get a tenth of that I'd imagine it would be closer to reality.
02-10-2018, 03:49 PM
If they get a tenth of that, it will be reality. No imagination. :na na:
02-10-2018, 03:57 PM
It ain’t easy being green and out East atm...
Smokey Brae road closure,
Willowbrae Road beside juction at Jocks lodge currently carnage last block shut and traffic diverted onto Piershill (road surfacing should be done by end of this week)
roadworks along Duddingston cross roads and pock marked along Milton Road...
02-10-2018, 04:05 PM
Willowbrae Road beside juction at Jocks lodge currently carnage last block shut and traffic diverted onto Piershill (road surfacing should be done by end of this week)
Help ma boab. That's about every entry route blocked up somewhere.
02-10-2018, 04:05 PM
If they get 100,000. 100 will be the BBC "reality".
02-10-2018, 04:07 PM
Help ma boab. That's about every entry route blocked up somewhere.
I get on the bus on Yesterdat unaware of the ensuing carnage - never seen gridlock
like it.
02-10-2018, 04:16 PM
I thought I'd get Mrs Smartie back to Leith from the hospital nice and quickly that way yesterday - it was an absolute nightmare.
Green-Hibee-7
02-10-2018, 04:18 PM
Hahaha 😂😂😂
02-10-2018, 05:06 PM
Imagine all you like, but I will stick with reality.
Its badged on social media as an #AUOB (all under one banner) march - and it brings together all of the different groups looking for Independence to Holyrood as a focal point.
This one is the culmination of a number of rallies that have been taking place all over Scotland in the last few months, people will be coming from all over - there were about 10000 a couple of months ago in Dumfries as an example.
So, to reiterate - you might scoff at the potential numbers, but the facts of the previous rallies suggest you will be disappointed.
02-10-2018, 05:10 PM
Based on...?
No danger that many folk show up
02-10-2018, 05:21 PM
Based on...?
No danger that many folk show up
What's the point in speculating? Why not just wait and see?
Regardless, it'll be about 5 million shorter than it should be.
02-10-2018, 05:31 PM
That's the spirit we want to see in this bright, new, inclusive Scotland. :cb
I agree....:greengrin
Anyway, a nice wee pre-game bawl will do nicely.
No car methinks.
JXM73
02-10-2018, 05:37 PM
There's no 1000 delusional idiots never mind 100,000 in scotland, had our chance n bottled it...
02-10-2018, 05:37 PM
Brighton Place closed too so the knock on effect is causing chaos on Potrobello Rd and through Mountcastle/Northfield.
02-10-2018, 05:40 PM
Looking forward to it, will be taking my green saltire flag which will accompany me to match. :greengrin
02-10-2018, 05:40 PM
People still can’t accept that the majority don’t want independence. Ridiculous.
02-10-2018, 05:43 PM
People still can’t accept that the majority don’t want independence. Ridiculous.
If you haven't noticed, we are getting independence. It's just a different kind of independence that we didn't vote for. A far more bleak one where Scotland has even less control over it's own matters. :rolleyes:
02-10-2018, 05:47 PM
Why is that? The country has spoken on independence and Europe it’s time some respected the democratic decision made by the Scotland and the UK. That being said I respect the right of those who wish to continue to campaign on both issues just don’t insult those with a different view
But no chance there will 100k there in fact I think more will be at Easter Road
02-10-2018, 05:51 PM
Why is that? The country has spoken on independence and Europe it’s time some respected the democratic decision made by the Scotland and the UK. That being said I respect the right of those who wish to continue to campaign on both issues just don’t insult those with a different view
Really? Because I don't recall "no deal/hard brexit" being on the ballot paper. I don't think anybody does. Face it, they're making all of this up as they go along. I know it, you know it, everybody knows it. But for the sake of maintaining the great British Empire, lets pretend it's not happening.
02-10-2018, 06:08 PM
They’re not being allowed into Holyrood Park so that will be interesting.
02-10-2018, 06:14 PM
Yes we are, just not allowed to set up stalls even though its a public park which does not belong to the crown.
pollution
02-10-2018, 06:18 PM
Keep politics out of this thread please!
02-10-2018, 06:20 PM
I don't want Brexit like an even bigger majority of Scots, yet we are getting it.
Ridiculous would be a severe understatement.
02-10-2018, 06:32 PM
I don't want Brexit like an even bigger majority of Scots, yet we are getting it.
Ridiculous would be a severe understatement.
Aye, but it was a "UK wide vote". Even although the UK didn't vote for a hard brexit pushed by far-right lunatics.
02-10-2018, 06:36 PM
Or 100 too many depending on how you feel :aok:
02-10-2018, 06:40 PM
Or 100 too many depending on how you feel :aok:
I prefer to go by facts rather than feeling. It's sentimental feelings that have landed us in the mess that we find ourselves in now. :aok:
02-10-2018, 06:41 PM
Keep politics out of this thread please!
I have very strong views on Independence but I'll keep them for an appropriate forum.
Maybe we can just stick to the point of this thread, which was to inform fellow fans, of all leanings, of something that might affect their trip to watch the Hibees for the day.
02-10-2018, 06:58 PM
Exactly, same with Brexit, whatever happened to democracy?
Didn’t get my way, so let’s try again...and again...and again until I do
02-10-2018, 07:52 PM
I didn't get what I voted for in the Independence referendum and I still support the campaign for Independence. I know a few people who voted the other way and they didn't get what they voted for either. They are even angrier than I am. Some of them now support Independence and would like the chance to vote again. Democracy is fine when politicians deliver on their promises.
02-10-2018, 07:57 PM
Democracy might work a bit better if people knew what they were voting for or the consequences of what they were voting for, clearly not the case with Brexit IMO. All the debate has been after the vote, just a mud slinging contest before the vote.
Im convinced if this vote was held tomorrow it would be a landslide to remain.
02-10-2018, 08:27 PM
Hope it pisses down on Saturday
I'll be at ER
Enjoy the march and Rule Britannia
Tynie01011973
02-10-2018, 08:34 PM
I didn't get what I voted for in the Independence referendum and I still support the campaign for Independence. I know a few people who voted the other way and they didn't get what they voted for either. They are even angrier than I am. Some of them now support Independence and would like the chance to vote again. Democracy is fine when politicians deliver on their promises.
In what way did the No Voters in the Independence vote not get what they voted for?
allmodcons
02-10-2018, 08:38 PM
I'll be at ER
Strange, ER on Saturday then Ibrox on Sunday????
02-10-2018, 08:40 PM
Live near Jocks Lodge and the traffic is murder here at rush hour. With Smokey Brae being shut I would recommend you find another route.
allmodcons
02-10-2018, 08:40 PM
In what way did the No Voters in the Independence vote not get what they voted for?
Wrong thread for this, but could be 'Devo Max'. Remember The Vow in the rag that is the Daily Record.
Tynie01011973
02-10-2018, 08:45 PM
Wrong thread for this, but could be 'Devo Max'. Remember The Vow in the rag that is the Daily Record.
Did they vote specifically for Devo Max?
The additional powers that were promised were delivered for the Scottish Assembly
allmodcons
02-10-2018, 08:50 PM
Did they vote specifically for Devo Max?
The additional powers that were promised were delivered for the Scottish Assembly
Some would have voted 'No' hoping that Devo Max would be delivered.
If you think what we have now is Devo Max (i.e. - all powers except foreign affairs & defence) then you really need to keep up.
02-10-2018, 08:54 PM
There was no Devo max option on the paper it was yes or no and No got 55%
Tynie01011973
02-10-2018, 08:58 PM
Some would have voted 'No' hoping that Devo Max would be delivered.
If you think what we have now is Devo Max (i.e. - all powers except foreign affairs & defence) then you really need to keep up.
FFS Foreign Affairs and Defence were never EVER included in any Independence Vote as they are the UK Government responsibilities.
Any other perceived grievences as to why the 55% didn't get what they voted for?
Roxyhibee
I’m no English Rose, but It’s Too Bad people still go on about democracy not being delivered when only 37% voted Yes in 2014. The people of Scotland decided quite clearly, whether some of us like it or not.
And i want fellow Hibbys making a Billy Hunt of themselves saying devo max wasn’t delivered - it was.
Let’s keep this thread about fitba, and once we’ve all negotiated our way to The Place I Love on Saturday I’ll maybe see you all In The Crowd.
Don't believe all this we voted so that's the end of it. If you believe in something you should fight for it and continue to support causes you believe are right. If everyone gave up after not achieving something then where would we be?
allmodcons
02-10-2018, 09:01 PM
There was no Devo max option on the paper it was yes or no and No got 55%
Read the thread before posting ffs.
Are you seriously suggesting 'some' of those who voted 'No' weren't hoping for a stronger Scottish Parliament than what we got post the referendum and might now be inclined to vote 'Yes'?
allmodcons
02-10-2018, 09:04 PM
I’m no English Rose, but It’s Too Bad people still go on about democracy not being delivered when only 37% voted Yes in 2014. The people of Scotland decided quite clearly, whether some of us like it or not.
And i want fellow Hibbys making a Billy Hunt of themselves saying devo max wasn’t delivered - it was.
Let’s keep this thread about fitba, and once we’ve all negotiated our way to The Place I Love on Saturday I’ll maybe see you all In The Crowd.
Clever with The Jam stuff but if you think what we have now is Devo Max you're the one making a Billy Hunt of yourself.
Tynie01011973
02-10-2018, 09:05 PM
Read the thread before posting ffs.
Are you seriously suggesting 'some' of those who voted 'No' weren't hoping for a stronger Scottish Parliament than what we got post the referendum and might now be inclined to vote 'Yes'?
The additional powers that were promised were delivered so how do you think your supposed friends would have voted?
02-10-2018, 09:14 PM
Don't believe all this we voted so that's the end of it. If you believe in something you should fight for it and continue to support causes you believe are right. If everyone gave up after not achieving something then where would we be?
Yup people seem to think that democracy stands still.
Generational shifts change things however, just like it will with regards to independence.
02-10-2018, 09:15 PM
Looking forward to it, will be taking my green saltire flag which will accompany me to match. :greengrin
Hibees meeting at 12 at the Kings stable road end of the Grassmarket.
allmodcons
02-10-2018, 09:16 PM
The additional powers that were promised were delivered so how do you think your supposed friends would have voted?
For the umpteenth time we're talking Devo Max here. Check the definition ffs.
Until you have taken the time to actually do some research I'm Going Underground.
Tynie01011973
02-10-2018, 09:18 PM
Yup people seem to think that democracy stands still.
Generational shifts change things however, just like it will with regards to independence.
Is 4 years a generational change?
02-10-2018, 09:23 PM
So to bring this back on topic - it’s going to be a ****ing nightmare on Saturday?
Maybe get the bus or the train?
Scotty Leither
02-10-2018, 09:23 PM
Anybody who has an issue with the AUOB march can of course mobilise and organise their own pro-union/anti-Scottish independence march, along with the media construct that is Ruth Davidson and the latest Labour stooge in Scotland, Richard Leonard.
Alternatively they can wait until the "marching season" in the summer and tab on to the Billy Boys' annual beano and celebrate all things wonderful about good ol' Blighty.
Democracy in action, and all that.
1875godsgift
02-10-2018, 09:28 PM
So to bring this back on topic - it’s going to be a ****ing nightmare on Saturday?
Maybe get the bus or the train?
BUS???!!! :grr:
Never getting on one of those again, last one I got on promised me £350 million a WEEK :grr:
Proper pure ragin' :grr:
02-10-2018, 09:28 PM
You get triggered every time. Every single time. :faf:
02-10-2018, 09:31 PM
Anyone who wants to follow the match day thread on Saturday must remember to leave plenty of time to wade through tedious constitutional chat prior to the game starting.
02-10-2018, 09:31 PM
Spot on, why do many on here think that this forum is all fo independence ? time to give it a rest as plenty on here are not followers of the cult.
02-10-2018, 09:35 PM
It's great how anything on both Indyref and Brexitref automatically promote outbreaks of reason and brotherly love. I don't know how we all managed to get along before these joyous initiatives brought us all together.
Holy Ground time...
02-10-2018, 09:35 PM
Spot on, why do many on here think that this forum is all fo independence ? time to give it a rest as plenty on here are not followers of the cult.
Or at least to keep their views on the Holy Ground.
This thread should be about the impact on Hibs fans travelling to the match and not about politics. Because we are all Hibs fans regardless of our views on what is in Scotland's best interests.
02-10-2018, 09:36 PM
Anybody who has an issue with the AUOB march can of course mobilise and organise their own pro-union/anti-Scottish independence march, along with the media construct that is Ruth Davidson and the latest Labour stooge in Scotland, Richard Leonard.
Alternatively they can wait until the "marching season" in the summer and tab on to the Billy Boys' annual beano and celebrate all things wonderful about good ol' Blighty.
Democracy in action, and all that.
I thought the pro-independence movement was supposed to be trying to win people over who voted "No" in 2014?
I'm not sure that comparing them to the Orange Order is the most effective way of achieving that.
Really? Because I don't recall "no deal/hard brexit" being on the ballot paper. I don't think anybody does. Face it, they're making all of this up as they go along. I know it, you know it, everybody knows it. But for the sake of maintaining the great British Empire, lets pretend it's not happening.
I do remember once in a generation.
02-10-2018, 09:37 PM
The thread was about potential disruption.
Given the certainty of some that the march will be poorly attended I hope they show some courage and leave at their normal time for the match. 😁
02-10-2018, 09:38 PM
I hate Hearts.
02-10-2018, 09:39 PM
I hate Hearts.
Amen to that Brother.
02-10-2018, 09:40 PM
I hate Hearts.Thread hijack alert
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
02-10-2018, 09:42 PM
Thread hijack alert
Thank ****. It needs to be hijacked the **** off the main board.
02-10-2018, 09:51 PM
Thank ****. It needs to be hijacked the **** off the main board.Reported
02-10-2018, 09:57 PM
Reported
Nae need.
itslegaltender
02-10-2018, 09:59 PM
In what world do you live in where devo max was delivered? Devo Max is Everything bar foreign affairs and defence. At the moment the mandate in our parliament is not allowed to retain all tax raised in Scotland for both the public and businesses. We even have the grotesque announcements from a minority party like the Tories telling us we are not allowed another referendum.
Scotty Leither
02-10-2018, 10:17 PM
I thought the pro-independence movement was supposed to be trying to win people over who voted "No" in 2014?
I'm not sure that comparing them to the Orange Order is the most effective way of achieving that.
Mibbes naw...the cynic in me tells me though that any pro-Union rally would attract the same types that identify with that imperialist nostalgia-driven mindset.
The celebration riot in George Square post the 2014 referendum vote confirmed that for me, I'm afraid.
02-10-2018, 10:22 PM
Why was the March not on Sunday which would have caused less disruption ?
02-10-2018, 11:45 PM
Are We Not Men?
We Are Devo!
1875godsgift
02-10-2018, 11:53 PM
Are We Not Men?
We Are Devo!
Jocko Homo :cb
03-10-2018, 12:54 AM
:agree:love that I will pish masel, when the fishmen get shafted.
03-10-2018, 12:59 AM
There's no 1000 delusional idiots never mind 100,000 in scotland, had our chance n bottled it...don't think so. 55% did though, afraid of being emptied out of Europe, or srared into believing we'd all be in the euro. nae holidays abroad , nae euro this, nae euro that. I am now looking forward to us following the Canadian dollar :cb
03-10-2018, 01:06 AM
Keep politics out of this thread please!I would like to, but do remember that the forthcoming mass march is done under a non political basis. the people marching, are all under one banner. the people trying to stop them rallying in Holyrood , have claimed it's not allowed because it is political. you may have political issues, I certainly do.
03-10-2018, 01:07 AM
Jocko Homo :cb
Nah, Secret Agent Man
03-10-2018, 01:16 AM
I prefer to go by facts rather than feeling. It's sentimental feelings that have landed us in the mess that we find ourselves in now. :aok:we don't "find" ourselves in this mess. others have concocted it for us.the Empire no longer exists. the woman/man that cleans the toilets at savacentre, Next, M&S or harry ramsdens disnae come from doon your street, they come frae Eastern Europe. the woman that visits the auld womanfae along your road is a care worker from somewhere, not definitely the woman you or your auntie knows. the hospital auxilitary, well she could come from Gilmerton I suppose.:rolleyes:
03-10-2018, 01:20 AM
I'll be at ER
Enjoy the march and Rule Britanniahope its sunny. f/k brittania
TrinityHibs
03-10-2018, 06:24 AM
hope its sunny. f/k brittania
Have I just clicked on Kerrydale Street by mistake?
Jackh
03-10-2018, 06:28 AM
I'll be at ER
This. Brexit means Brexit. We voted for it. Accept it.
03-10-2018, 06:37 AM
I think you need to read up on the march before opening up the laptop.
03-10-2018, 06:45 AM
Why is Smokey Brae closed?
03-10-2018, 06:47 AM
Out of interest, where is "Smokey Brae?"
HiBremian
03-10-2018, 06:48 AM
Or at least to keep their views on the Holy Ground.
This thread should be about the impact on Hibs fans travelling to the match and not about politics. Because we are all Hibs fans regardless of our views on what is in Scotland's best interests.
Maybe it’s a chance for all sensible Hibbies to get their rusty old bicycles out and cycle to the match. Very popular amongst Werder fans. Would be a good demonstration of how things could be with a more enlightened transport policy.
Woops, politics again.......
03-10-2018, 06:52 AM
03-10-2018, 06:53 AM
Out of interest, where is "Smokey Brae?"
The road that runs from the roundabout at the bottom of Marionville Avenue (at the fire station) to the cross roads at Jocks Lodge.
So called as the bridges carry railway lines that, back in the day, caused the whole road to be ‘Smokey’ as the steam trains tumbled back and forth over it.
BegbieHSC
03-10-2018, 07:04 AM
I’m pro-Indy, and will be going to both, but this thread has fair brought out to roasters on both sides, with unionists trying to say that they’re the majority on here , and vice versa.
Just love the Hibs, and look forward to a Flo Kamberi hat trick!
Mr Grieves
03-10-2018, 07:11 AM
Damage caused by storm Ali. There was a tree on the road and I'm guessing there was also structural damage
03-10-2018, 07:22 AM
Damage caused by storm Ali. There was a tree on the road and I'm guessing there was also structural damage
Ahh OK thanks.
As others have said the road works and closures around that area are a right royal pain just now so avoid if you can.
03-10-2018, 07:52 AM
I would like to, but do remember that the forthcoming mass march is done under a non political basis. the people marching, are all under one banner. the people trying to stop them rallying in Holyrood , have claimed it's not allowed because it is political. you may have political issues, I certainly do.
A march for independence that isn't political? Up next, dog food that isn't food for pets.
03-10-2018, 07:52 AM
The road that runs from the roundabout at the bottom of Marionville Avenue (at the fire station) to the cross roads at Jocks Lodge.
So called as the bridges carry railway lines that, back in the day, caused the whole road to be ‘Smokey’ as the steam trains tumbled back and forth over it.
Thanks - but I was hoping you wern't going to say that as it's another potential route blocked off! It's going to be a problem getting to ER on Saturday especially for the guys that are travelling from outwith the city.
Liam6270
03-10-2018, 07:53 AM
100000 haha! Deluded
Up The Bracket
03-10-2018, 08:03 AM
Will there be a Greggs at the march? Be interesting to compare it to ER’s catering
03-10-2018, 08:27 AM
PROCESSION ROUTE:
How many heading for Easter road will be going anywhere near the route?
03-10-2018, 08:38 AM
How many heading for Easter road will be going anywhere near the route?
As previously stated, The main disruption is going to be East side; Jocks Lodge, Smokey Brae, Willowbrae Road, duddingston cross roads, Portobello.
I suspect all these roadworks will force majority of the traffic down Seafield, Harry Lauder Rd or Mountcastle/Northfield and it will be chaos.
03-10-2018, 08:45 AM
As previously stated, The main disruption is going to be East side; Jocks Lodge, Smokey Brae, Willowbrae Road, duddingston cross roads, Portobello.
I suspect all these roadworks will force majority of the traffic down Seafield, Harry Lauder Rd or Mountcastle/Northfield and it will be chaos.
So, no disruption due to the All Under One Banner march then.
03-10-2018, 08:49 AM
Thanks - but I was hoping you wern't going to say that as it's another potential route blocked off! It's going to be a problem getting to ER on Saturday especially for the guys that are travelling from outwith the city.
Taking advantage of your free bus passes for Saturday might be on the cards for the usual travelling party!
03-10-2018, 09:11 AM
I was going on the march on Saturday before the game, but my usual crew are away and my non indy pal and my partner's English stepdad who will both be going with me to ER wont be too interested in going on the march as well so it'll just have to be ER only :greengrin Be bugger if Sir Harry Lauder road is going to be busy, might have to leave earlier.
I doubt I'll be missed though, if previous numbers are anything to go by there should be about 60 or 70 thousand on the march :thumbsup:
BegbieHSC
03-10-2018, 09:19 AM
I’m pro-Indy, and will be going to both, but this thread has fair brought out to roasters on both sides, with unionists trying to say that they’re the majority on here , and vice versa.
Reposting, as the roaster behaviour remains strong...
03-10-2018, 01:44 PM
My Missus has decided to go on the march as well. She's actually German but she has a thing about guys in kilts...
Wait till they see the big Sachsen flag (https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQOtbIQid4-qzcVOutxkrwjeFbleOiN8wkQGYZRFzNrNnLCqN3Kgg) she's planning on taking
03-10-2018, 02:35 PM
2016 - Saw Hibs win the Cup
2019/20 - Will see the Scotland become Scotland
The two greatest experiences of my life
03-10-2018, 02:42 PM
Will the Accies players make it to Easter Road in time due to all this disruption?
They might lose the three points if they follow the crowds and end up stranded in Holyrood Park.
03-10-2018, 02:46 PM
March for independence haha. What is that likely to achieve?
03-10-2018, 02:48 PM
Brexit means Brexit.
Thanks for clearing that up. Really informative.
03-10-2018, 02:48 PM
It couldn't possibly achieve any less than brexit.
03-10-2018, 02:52 PM
Traffic chaos.
Which is where we came in......:cb
03-10-2018, 02:52 PM
It couldn't possibly achieve any less than brexit.
I wouldn't bet on that.
My Missus has decided to go on the march as well. She's actually German but she has a thing about guys in kilts...
Wait till they see the big Sachsen flag (https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQOtbIQid4-qzcVOutxkrwjeFbleOiN8wkQGYZRFzNrNnLCqN3Kgg) she's planning on taking
Yawn:rolleyes:
Jackh
03-10-2018, 03:27 PM
Thanks for clearing that up. Really informative.
Just saying like. These diddy marches mean nothing and generally end up with trouble. Appreciate using the right to protest but people are only protesting a decision that we as a county voted for democratically
03-10-2018, 03:32 PM
Just saying like. These diddy marches mean nothing and generally end up with trouble. Appreciate using the right to protest but people are only protesting a decision that we as a county voted for democratically
Would you say the question now is the same as the question before? What's democracy when people aren't allowed to change their views based on extreme changes of circumstance? Why is there such a determination to prevent people putting a cross in a box to reflect those changes?
03-10-2018, 03:38 PM
They generally end up with trouble!!!!
Where and when was there trouble at any of the AUOB marches? I can't remember anything being reported about any trouble.
All I am aware of is the carnival atmosphere at the marches and rallies.
03-10-2018, 03:42 PM
I’m amazed admins have kept this thread so off track.
03-10-2018, 03:47 PM
I see the march as the chance for a huge 'corteo' to Easter road via holyrood Park. 😉
BegbieHSC
03-10-2018, 03:47 PM
I’m amazed admins have kept this thread so off track.
Utterly shambolic patter on here from both sides. For what is supposed to be a traffic warning thread has turned into a Da political debate.
Get this punted to the Holy Ground, as no one apparently wants to talk about Hibs, and how we’re gonna pump Hamilton, or traffic implications of the march for that matter.
03-10-2018, 03:50 PM
Utterly shambolic patter on here from both sides. For what is supposed to be a traffic warning thread has turned into a Da political debate.
Get this punted to the Holy Ground, as no one apparently wants to talk about Hibs, and how we’re gonna pump Hamilton.
If anyone is travelling to Easter road via the high street they need a new satnav.
03-10-2018, 04:09 PM
I see the march as the chance for a huge 'corteo' to Easter road via holyrood Park. 😉
Flares and stuff under the railway bridge at Abbeyhill, magic lets dae it !!
03-10-2018, 04:24 PM
Taking advantage of your free bus passes for Saturday might be on the cards for the usual travelling party!
Some, but not all I suspect!
03-10-2018, 04:47 PM
Thanks for the reminder. Need to get the bus from the easter road area to the start of the march. 😉
H113EE5
03-10-2018, 05:07 PM
Not the forum for political comments..... btw hope it’s pi$$ing down on the 45% (losers)
03-10-2018, 06:19 PM
Not the forum for political comments..... btw hope it’s pi$$ing down on the 45% (losers)
Kind of ruined your own argument there.
03-10-2018, 06:42 PM
2016 - Saw Hibs win the Cup
2019/20 - Will see the Scotland become Scotland
The two greatest experiences of my life
:hyper
murray26
03-10-2018, 07:02 PM
Looking forward to it.. supporting Scottish independence and Hibs on the same day.. perfect..
03-10-2018, 09:12 PM
I imagine you're in for a very big surprise in reality then.
03-10-2018, 09:17 PM
And for your next trick, you're going to argue that black is white....😂
Jackh
04-10-2018, 06:33 AM
Unionists are the majority though, hence the “no” vote
BegbieHSC
04-10-2018, 06:45 AM
Mate, whatever.
This isn’t the place for that patter. The Main Forum is to talk about Hibs and getting to games - not regurgitating party-political one-liners.
04-10-2018, 06:47 AM
I find the term unionists quite funny actually. The hypocrisy of the past few years has been hilarious. Independence for Scotland is voted down and mocked with "We are independent already" and stuff like that all the while UK literally votes months later to leave the EU in order to get its independence back...
Scotland was told that it would have awkward dealings in order to keep currency etc. with the rest of the UK and we'd have to put up with what we get. UK decides to leave the EU and has decided it will dictate the divorce settlement.
The irony and hypocrisy has been hilarious and sad at the same time. Only thing that is clear in the UK as a whole is: we are rudderless.
AndyB_70
04-10-2018, 06:50 AM
Never believed so many fellow Hibees would be serfs just willing to bend over and get fisted by Westminster.
Funny so many say that this isn't the place for politics after spouting so much pro union garbage.
04-10-2018, 07:00 AM
I suspect that the majority is neither ..
.. it's up to each side to convince this majority which is the best way to vote when the opportunity arises.
I'm not convinced that a No vote at the last referendum unltimately makes you a unionist, or that you will vote No the next time around.
04-10-2018, 07:05 AM
HIJACK!
But thanks to the original poster for highlighting the potential problems in getting to the game on Saturday.
04-10-2018, 07:06 AM
I suspect that the majority is neither ..
.. it's up to each side to convince this majority which is the best way to vote when the opportunity arises.
I'm not convinced that a No vote at the last referendum unltimately makes you a unionist, or that you will vote No the next time around.
I don't like the lazy "unionist/ nationalist" pigeonholing.
We were given a choice, we made one, and it didn't give a choice for "I'm voting yes but whilst I'm doing do can I express my reservations about x, y and z."
I would be far happier with someone declaring and justifying that they do not think Scotland should be independent yet than to brashly declare themselves a unionist - which imo are 2 different things.
Anyway, this really shouldn't be on the main board, and I hope it never creeps in at ER, as we've done a pretty good job of building an inclusive and apolitical club.
04-10-2018, 09:47 AM
Never believed so many fellow Hibees would be serfs just willing to bend over and get fisted by Westminster.
Funny so many say that this isn't the place for politics after spouting so much pro union garbage.
Why would you not believe that, do you think we have to be SNP supporters to follow Hibs , or maybe this forum is not the place to be if we are going to get comments like yours ?
04-10-2018, 09:56 AM
I'll be at ER
Maybe you can get a chant of "Rule Britannia" resounding around the East on Saturday. Think of it as your very own little counter demonstration.
04-10-2018, 10:06 AM
I don't like the lazy "unionist/ nationalist" pigeonholing.
We were given a choice, we made one, and it didn't give a choice for "I'm voting yes but whilst I'm doing do can I express my reservations about x, y and z."
I would be far happier with someone declaring and justifying that they do not think Scotland should be independent yet than to brashly declare themselves a unionist - which imo are 2 different things.
Anyway, this really shouldn't be on the main board, and I hope it never creeps in at ER, as we've done a pretty good job of building an inclusive and apolitical club.
Amen to that. It takes all sorts to make up a football clubs support with widely differing social and political views, the only thing that binds us together is that we support the same club and nothing should be allowed to disrupt that … especially attempts by anybody to use the club as a vehicle for politics. Which isn't to say the club shouldn't align itself to good social causes like foodbanks, mental health causes etc.
We are all Pat Stanton's bairns as it were :aok:
Besides … My best pal is a committed 'yoon' who doesn't mind living life crushed like a worm under the Westminster boot and I'm a lifelong nationalist, our friendship remains as strong as ever and that's the way it should be. :greengrin
04-10-2018, 12:35 PM
Like elections. You got the Whigs in 1789, so that’s that election stuff over for “forever”.
04-10-2018, 12:36 PM
I hate Hearts.
Testify!
04-10-2018, 01:32 PM
Fake news.
The Milton street mob, and the croft-an righ crew will make sure we get through.
I anticipate about 30k
04-10-2018, 01:39 PM
Trespassing isn't a criminal offence in the UK anyway, so they can't legally prevent people from going there, unless they are causing damage in the area.
04-10-2018, 01:41 PM
Hibs flag and saltire leading the charge. 👌
04-10-2018, 08:39 PM
Why would you not believe that, do you think we have to be SNP supporters to follow Hibs , or maybe this forum is not the place to be if we are going to get comments like yours ?
Do you think you have to be an SNP supporter to be pro Indy or anti Westminster?
07-10-2018, 08:28 AM
Nearly missed the kick off despite giving myself 80 minutes to get the bus from Bingham to the game. Ended up getting off the bus at Northfield and walking.