PDA

View Full Version : "Good football"

Diclonius
27-09-2018, 12:57 PM
I've noticed that in the past few years this association with us playing passing, flowing, football has disappeared. Is this because under Lennon we don't play that way in the technical sense? I'm no expert on tactical nous or styles of play by any means but as I see it Lennon's Hibs play with a lot more steel with the impetus to get the ball forward quickly and out wide. It isn't industrial defensive Allardyce/Pulis football but it isn't free-flowing Guardiola-esque stuff either, or what we used to play under Mowbray - I guess the best comparison would be Klopp's Liverpool?

To be honest - and I don't say this lightly - I'm not that bothered we've lost that association. The only "good footballing" Hibs teams I remember were the ones we had under Mowbray and Collins who would far too often beat St Mirren or equivelant 6-0 one week and barely lay a scratch on Hearts/Aberdeen the next. Lennon's team is the first I've seen that will give any team a challenge, and if necessary win the physical game in the middle of the park. Give me winning football (and not boring football disguised as winning football ala Calderwood/Fenlon) over "good" football any day.

matty_f
27-09-2018, 01:09 PM
I've noticed that in the past few years this association with us playing passing, flowing, football has disappeared. Is this because under Lennon we don't play that way in the technical sense? I'm no expert on tactical nous or styles of play by any means but as I see it Lennon's Hibs play with a lot more steel with the impetus to get the ball forward quickly and out wide. It isn't industrial defensive Allardyce/Pulis football but it isn't free-flowing Guardiola-esque stuff either, or what we used to play under Mowbray - I guess the best comparison would be Klopp's Liverpool?