View Full Version : Wednesday nights games

26-09-2018, 03:14 PM
3 ties tonight in Betfred Cup, gutted we’re out though

Points deductors v Motherwell
Rangers v Ayr
St Johnstone v Celtic

Would love to see Motherwell get a win, seemingly their Cup record v Hearts is good. Here’s hoping
You really can’t see past Celtic and Rangers in the other 2 ties unfortunately

26-09-2018, 03:22 PM
Rangers are a definite. Celtic are likely to win and Hearts Motherwell could go either way.

26-09-2018, 03:29 PM
3 ties tonight in Betfred Cup, gutted we’re out though

Points deductors v Motherwell
Rangers v Ayr
St Johnstone v Celtic

Would love to see Motherwell get a win, seemingly their Cup record v Hearts is good. Here’s hoping
You really can’t see past Celtic and Rangers in the other 2 ties unfortunately

Hearts are strong at home, would really fancy Motherwells chances if they were playing at Fir Park.

26-09-2018, 03:35 PM
My reasoning for who to go through is based on the Hearts result. If they win, I want the OF to win their games. If they lose, I want the OF to lose too.

I'm all for non-OF teams winning cups but not sure I could take them ending the wee cup hoodoo.

26-09-2018, 04:50 PM
Hearts are strong at home, would really fancy Motherwells chances if they were playing at Fir Park.

I agree.

The bookies (Bet 365) have Hearts at 19/20. Seems generous.

St J at 2/1 for the win and or the draw is decent as well.

26-09-2018, 05:21 PM
I agree.

The bookies (Bet 365) have Hearts at 19/20. Seems generous.

St J at 2/1 for the win and or the draw is decent as well.

Hearts will play a weakened team in order to concentrate on their title challenge.

EH54
26-09-2018, 05:53 PM
Uche missing again..this is going to pens.

26-09-2018, 06:15 PM
Jambos to win by the odd goal, Celtic to take St Johnstone apart and Lawrence Shankland to score twice for Ayr Utd. but on the end of a 4-2 defeat.

26-09-2018, 06:16 PM
My reasoning for who to go through is based on the Hearts result. If they win, I want the OF to win their games. If they lose, I want the OF to lose too.

I'm all for non-OF teams winning cups but not sure I could take them ending the wee cup hoodoo.

Ditto.

26-09-2018, 06:20 PM
Moussa Dembele scores twice early on for Lyon vs Dijon.

26-09-2018, 06:56 PM
Moussa Dembele scores twice early on for Lyon vs Dijon.

He's cutting the mustard there.

David_D
26-09-2018, 06:57 PM
1-0 well. Main Penalty

26-09-2018, 06:58 PM
Motherwell winning 1-0

Main scores a penalty

Mon the well

What's with the fake supporters noise on the St Johnstone game??

Or is my speaker burst

26-09-2018, 07:00 PM
Yesssssssss

26-09-2018, 07:00 PM
What's with the fake supporters noise on the St Johnstone game??

Or is my speaker burst

Thought I was imagining it. Think it’s an attempt by BT to block out some of the pro IRA songs.

scotia44
26-09-2018, 07:02 PM
[QUOTE=Hibby70;5561163]What's with the fake supporters noise on the St Johnstone game??

Or is my speaker broken

Nothing to hear here move along

.... notice they didn't play fake crowd noise when the dandies broke into song about lenny

26-09-2018, 07:02 PM
It's not happening since I posted it. Was doubting myself for a minute

26-09-2018, 07:03 PM
1 nil rangers.

26-09-2018, 07:08 PM
1 nil rangers.
F****** boooooooooooooo.....................

26-09-2018, 07:11 PM
Motherwell winning 1-0

Main scores a penalty
BBC Sport live text at 2002 photo. Main looks like his viagra has lasted beyond KO!

26-09-2018, 07:11 PM
1 nil rangers.

Who?

26-09-2018, 07:12 PM
1-0 well. Main Penalty

Yaaasssssss

26-09-2018, 07:17 PM
BBC Sport live text at 2002 photo. Main looks like his viagra has lasted beyond KO!

😂🍆

26-09-2018, 07:20 PM
1-1 with hearts.

26-09-2018, 07:20 PM
Wonder if they will get their obligatory penalty this evening??

26-09-2018, 07:23 PM
He's cutting the mustard there.

Keen to make an impression :agree:

Celtic are an abomination of a football team

dreadful defending by motherwell playing about with ball on edge of box

26-09-2018, 07:24 PM
That bigiramana at Motherwell is absolutely dire. Cost the goal and has looked the worst player in the league from the 20 mins or so I watched.

26-09-2018, 07:26 PM
That bigiramana at Motherwell is absolutely dire. Cost the goal and has looked the worst player in the league from the 20 mins or so I watched.

Great name though. What channel is it on?

26-09-2018, 07:26 PM
Julian Warren on Sky, Jumbos equalise and he asks, could this be their year? 🙄

26-09-2018, 07:27 PM

Aye, where are you watching it?

26-09-2018, 07:29 PM

😂😂😂😂 was just about to post the same, passed it right to a hearts player, passed the ball out the park from a throw in and just ran the ball out the park on the wing he’s been awful

26-09-2018, 07:36 PM

Streaming boxes with hearts TV. It was a chore to watch with the commentators though, turned it off at the equaliser.

26-09-2018, 07:40 PM
Leganes currently beating Barca 2-1 in La Liga 5 minutes to go.

26-09-2018, 07:44 PM
Leganes currently beating Barca 2-1 in La Liga 5 minutes to go.

Barca will still somehow end up winning 6-2.

26-09-2018, 07:52 PM
Barca will still somehow end up winning 6-2.

You do kind of expect that but Leganes held on and won 2-1, Barca scored first too, well done Leganes the toast of Madrid tonight (in more ways than one)

26-09-2018, 07:54 PM
14k at the pbs. Looks empty from photos

26-09-2018, 07:55 PM
Rangers 3-0 up, looks like we're getting that weekend off.

26-09-2018, 07:59 PM

Was superb the other week against Rangers.

26-09-2018, 08:00 PM
Hearts look fairly decent to be fair. Well have been *****, hope they do an Aberdeen

Diane Abbott maths in action

Four renditions of Ooh aah up the Ra in the space of the last few minutes from the world's greatest fans.

Much changed Liverpool 1 Much changed Chelsea 0

26-09-2018, 08:03 PM

Big crowd for a tournament they don’t care about.

26-09-2018, 08:06 PM
Fed up with Hearts.

2-1 Hearts. Boooo

Boo, 2-1 Hearts

26-09-2018, 08:07 PM
Boo *** boo

26-09-2018, 08:09 PM
They will get a nose bleed, semi of the diddy cup

26-09-2018, 08:12 PM
4-0 huns

26-09-2018, 08:20 PM
Liverpool 1 Chelsea 1

26-09-2018, 08:20 PM
Goal motherwell!

26-09-2018, 08:21 PM
Yassssss

Boom 2-2

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

:hyper

Hearts looking quite relentless when attacking, but not so good defensively without Berra in there.

2-2. Brilliant goal.

26-09-2018, 08:22 PM
Great strike by Bowman.

26-09-2018, 08:22 PM
Hearts looking quite relentless when attacking, but not so good defensively without Berra in there.

2-2. Brilliant goal.

Where are you watching this?

26-09-2018, 08:23 PM
Motherwell are woefull. Toiling to beat Livi and Motherwell at home isn't the sign of champions

26-09-2018, 08:23 PM
Where are you watching this?

Vipbox is streaming the game. Can't link it for legal reasons.

26-09-2018, 08:24 PM
Sevilla 2 up against Real Madrid (after 25 mins)

26-09-2018, 08:24 PM
An amazing display earlier from the Hearts Ultras - must have taken hours to make

http://i64.tinypic.com/affwk2.jpg

26-09-2018, 08:25 PM
Vipbox is streaming the game. Can't link it for legal reasons.

It's fine, you've said enough. :wink:

1-0 Celtic

1-0 Celtic

An amazing display earlier from the Hearts Ultras - must have taken hours to make

26-09-2018, 08:26 PM
Liverpool 1 Chelsea 2 Hazard simply brilliant

26-09-2018, 08:27 PM
What a goal from Hazard.

26-09-2018, 08:28 PM
3-2 hearts

26-09-2018, 08:28 PM

Touching gesture by Budge to donate a pair of her old underpants for this though.

26-09-2018, 08:29 PM

Mummy/sister must have made it for them being good boys.

26-09-2018, 08:29 PM
3-2 yams c@&!s

26-09-2018, 08:30 PM
Aw, ****. I can't believe you've done this.

26-09-2018, 08:30 PM
West Ham 8 Macc 0

26-09-2018, 08:31 PM
Sigh

What a poor 24 hours

Sorry folks 4-2

Liverpool 1 Chelsea 2 Hazard simply brilliant

The mans a genius.

26-09-2018, 08:32 PM
First time since 2012 Hearts at Hampden?

Heart finally get a trip to Hampden then!! When’s the semi draw?

Nah think St Mirren horsed them in the final in 2013?

26-09-2018, 08:33 PM
Boyata sent off for Celtic

After Celtic game tonight

Hope it big huns v wee huns in the draw

Celtic Boyata sent off

League Cup final in 2013.

That went well.

26-09-2018, 08:34 PM
Well rag-doll these muppets when we play them.

**** them.

Is Hampden big enough? Perhaps switch it to Wembley?

League Cup final in 2013.

That went well.

...For McGinn.

Well, if they want to win the cup they're going have have to beat 2 of 3 from Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen.

26-09-2018, 08:35 PM
Hearts, Rangers and Celtic all through.

26-09-2018, 08:36 PM
It's worrying how lethal Hearts are going forward this season. We're going to need to be at the very top of our game when we play them.

26-09-2018, 08:37 PM
Hearts, Rangers and Celtic all through.

........ and each of them saying ‘thank God Aberdeen scraped through last night’. :greengrin

26-09-2018, 08:38 PM
It's worrying how lethal Hearts are going forward this season. We're going to need to be at the very top of our game when we play them.

We’ve scored more than them in the league.

26-09-2018, 08:38 PM

We've scored more goals in the league than them so far.

26-09-2018, 08:39 PM

I also think they will need to be on top of their game playing us.

26-09-2018, 08:40 PM

I'm of the mind they may get complacent against us. The fans will be going into overdrive thinking they'll score 3 or 4.

We very nearly beat them in the first season in the Championship after they dismantled pretty much every team they'd played up until that point.

26-09-2018, 08:41 PM
Sorry folks 4-2

They have momentum but more importantly are scoring goals something they weren't doing last season as freelly
Haven't seen them even in highlights but thier results speak for themselves
Bounced back from draw at weekend
Do t think they are just suddenly going to self combust So we. need to start putting.a winning league run together and beat them in first Derby
Will concede I wasn't expecting them to get off to this kind of start

26-09-2018, 08:41 PM
We’ve scored more than them in the league.

We've scored more goals in the league than them so far.

Yes we have. But they're scoring goals at the most important times. We shouldn't underestimate them for one moment.

26-09-2018, 08:42 PM
Sevilla 3 Real Madrid 0 still in the first half

26-09-2018, 08:43 PM
It's been a pretty [emoji90]24 hours...yes we played well last night but I'm a bit sick of hard luck stories to be honest...we need to learn a lesson from last night and make sure it doesn't happen again. It sucks we aren't going to Hampden and they are...

26-09-2018, 08:43 PM
Sevilla 3 Real Madrid 0 still in the first half

Still available at 13/1 to win the Europa league, better odds than Arsenal.

26-09-2018, 08:44 PM

Have a word.

26-09-2018, 08:47 PM
Out of curiosity when was the last year Hearts got to Hampden and Hibs didn't. Im guessing 1998 (albeit Celtic Park).

Have a word.

For saying it as it is? Or would you rather we made the mistake of underestimating them?

If Celtic and Rangers are drawn apart one game will be played at Sunday on Murrayfield, with the other at Hampden.

Guaranteed, absolutely GUARANTEED that they will be drawn together. Bet your house on it. Free money.

26-09-2018, 08:49 PM
If Celtic and Rangers are drawn apart one game will be played at Sunday on Murrayfield, with the other at Hampden.

Guaranteed, absolutely GUARANTEED that they will be drawn together. Bet your house on it. Free money.

:agree: don’t know if I’d bet that he house on it but pretty confident this’ll happen.

How long until the draw is made?

Hearts v Celtic

Rangers v Aberdeen

26-09-2018, 08:50 PM
Rangers v sheep

Never mind lol

For saying it as it is? Or would you rather we made the mistake of underestimating them?

I couldn't care less about them but you can bash on if you are zhitting yourself about playing them in a months time.

Hearts v Celtic
Rangers v Aberdeen

On current Celtic form they are very beatable

26-09-2018, 08:51 PM
Yes we have. But they're scoring goals at the most important times. We shouldn't underestimate them for one moment.

Eh? Do we just score goals at unimportant times?

They've started well, no doubt about it.

We shouldn't underestimate them but I think we have enough up front, despite last night's failures in front of goal, to trouble them.

I don’t think anybody is suggesting we’ll have a nice easy kick about at Tynecastle to be fair.

Celtic v Big Huns final

Oh well. Always next year Jumbos

26-09-2018, 08:52 PM
What’s the big hoo ha about where theyre played?

Why can’t they play them both at Hampden?

26-09-2018, 08:52 PM
They've started well, no doubt about it.

We shouldn't underestimate them but I think we have enough up front, despite last night's failures in front of goal, to trouble them.

Absolutely, but anyone thinking we can bank a win at Tynecastle now clearly has forgotten the last five years. The cup winning team couldn't even win there against Ian Cathro.

26-09-2018, 08:53 PM
By the time they play Celtic will pick up a bit of form

Rangers have no strikers for the game against Aberdeen

26-09-2018, 08:54 PM

Both are playing Thursday night so will want the Sunday semi final. I don’t think the police would allow a double header at hampden on the Sunday.

26-09-2018, 08:54 PM
Eh? Do we just score goals at unimportant times?

Obviously not. But we are failing to score at important times at the moment. Something we're going to need to address before it costs us over the course of the season. Just common sense really.

26-09-2018, 08:55 PM

Why can’t they play them both at Hampden?Both matches need to be played on the Sunday due to Europa league games on Thurs night

Watching penalties at Milton Keynes, hope the team in green win this one. :greengrin

Ah. Cheers guys.

Both games have to be on Sunday as both Celtic & Rangers play in Europa League on the Thurs before.

26-09-2018, 08:56 PM
Obviously not. But we are failing to score at important times at the moment. Something we're going to need to address before it costs us over the course of the season. Just common sense really.Last night yes but let's hope it was a one-off...we've scored more league goals than the Yams so far and that's without having our top 2 strikers in team at same time...bar 15 mins v Killie

26-09-2018, 08:57 PM
Absolutely, but anyone thinking we can bank a win at Tynecastle now clearly has forgotten the last five years. The cup winning team couldn't even win there against Ian Cathro.

Absolutely. I think i've seen us win there 3 times in the last 15 years or so since I started going to Tynecastle.

hibbytam
26-09-2018, 08:57 PM

Both clubs are playing Thrusday in Europe.

Also I think it means we're without a game that weekend, because we were supposed to be playing rangers.
Which is probably going to be good for me, because I don't think I could have gone that weekend

26-09-2018, 08:58 PM
Obviously not. But we are failing to score at important times at the moment. Something we're going to need to address before it costs us over the course of the season. Just common sense really.

We've scored six goals in our last two league matches.

26-09-2018, 08:58 PM

Also I think it means we're without a game that weekend, because we were supposed to be playing rangers.
Which is probably going to be good for me, because I don't think I could have gone that weekendIt means we will go into the derby having not played for 11 days I think?? After Celtic on 20th Oct away...

26-09-2018, 08:59 PM
Have a word.

He's a spot on. We underestimated them at the end of last season too and it cost us 2nd

26-09-2018, 09:00 PM

Which is probably going to be good for me, because I don't think I could have gone that weekend

:agree: we’re supposed to be playing Rangers on the Sunday on tv. Unless they play the semis on consecutive weekends?

26-09-2018, 09:00 PM
By the time they play Celtic will pick up a bit of form

Rangers have no strikers for the game against Aberdeen

Not so sure you know...think Celtic lack creativity and drive in midfield ...I’m not sure they will improve dramatically this season. Will need a good January transfer window

26-09-2018, 09:01 PM
Both games have to be on Sunday as both Celtic & Rangers play in Europa League on the Thurs before.

Christ that's hilarious

26-09-2018, 09:01 PM
Not so sure you know...think Celtic lack creativity and drive in midfield ...I’m not sure they will improve dramatically this season. Will need a good January transfer window

Best time to play celtic is after a European midweek.

26-09-2018, 09:02 PM
How long since Hearts won the league cup?

26-09-2018, 09:03 PM
Simple solution:

Hearts v Celtic at Hampden

Aberdeen v Rangers at the finest stadium in Edinburgh. Easter Road.

hibbytam
26-09-2018, 09:03 PM
Both are playing Thursday night so will want the Sunday semi final. I don’t think the police would allow a double header at hampden on the Sunday.

As funny as it would be, that won't happen. The scottish football authorities struggle at the best of times, imagine them trying to plan 2 games in the same stadium on the same day.
And it can't be the monday, because there's games that midweek too. I guess it will be hearts-celtic at hampden, and the sheep - sevco at murrayfield.

I'm not sure how they've managed to get themselves into this situation, it's almost like they don't do any contingency planning.

hibbytam
26-09-2018, 09:05 PM
Simple solution:

nah, don't want any of that lot anywhere near our stadium.

26-09-2018, 09:06 PM
As funny as it would be, that won't happen. The scottish football authorities struggle at the best of times, imagine them trying to plan 2 games in the same stadium on the same day.
And it can't be the monday, because there's games that midweek too. I guess it will be hearts-celtic at hampden, and the sheep - sevco at murrayfield.

I'm not sure how they've managed to get themselves into this situation, it's almost like they don't do any contingency planning.

:hilarious contingency? Just like how they plan the playoff final for he day after the Scottish cup final every year?

26-09-2018, 09:06 PM
If one of the games is to be played at Murrayfield as some reports are suggesting then it surely has to be Aberdeen v Rangers. No way can they have Hearts there and call it neutral.

26-09-2018, 09:07 PM
Simple solution:

No way would we want these two teams battling it out between themselves at Easter Road. Anyway it wouldn't happen.

26-09-2018, 09:08 PM
If one of the games is to be played at Murrayfield as some reports are suggesting then it surely has to be Aberdeen v Rangers. No way can they have Hearts there and call it neutral.

Same could be said for Celtic at Hampden?

26-09-2018, 09:09 PM
Hearts have never had a better chance of winning this.. Considering they cheated in the early rounds - Almost Guaranteed to win !!! Cheats..

26-09-2018, 09:09 PM
Have the hearts game at Murrayfield and play with an oval shaped ball, Hearts will truly be at home then.:wink:

26-09-2018, 09:13 PM
Hearts have never had a better chance of winning this.. Considering they cheated in the early rounds - Almost Guaranteed to win !!! Cheats..You don't think they had a better chance vs St Mirren than Rangers and Celtic?

26-09-2018, 09:15 PM
Hearts best chance ever

Pish

Levein is the manager. He'll blow it as usual

26-09-2018, 09:17 PM
Why can't they play one of the ties on the Monday night?

26-09-2018, 09:19 PM

Full programme of SPFL fixture on the Wednesday, including Hearts v Hibs

Celtic play Hearts in the league the following weekend, so maybe can use this date for one of the semis

26-09-2018, 09:21 PM
Full programme of SPFL fixture on the Wednesday, including Hearts v Hibs

Celtic play Hearts in the league the following weekend, so maybe can use this date for one of the semis

So do we have a free weekend before the Derby, but for Hearts it is midweek between 2 games against Celtic?

I'm Spartacus
26-09-2018, 09:21 PM
What a fixture pain in the hoop

26-09-2018, 09:23 PM
It would be very "Hearts" if they were to win the competition after fielding an ineligible player. They only win things when they're cheating.

ChickenCurryYLT
26-09-2018, 09:30 PM
Just seen ‘our own’ Leigh Griffiths kissing the Celtic badge after his goal tonight.

Yet I bet there’s still some of our supporters that will clap him like he’s some sort of club legend when he returns next game.

26-09-2018, 09:30 PM
So do we have a free weekend before the Derby, but for Hearts it is midweek between 2 games against Celtic?

As it stands if they cancel Hibs v the rangers

I’m sure they’ve known this was a possibility, so hopefully the SPFL have given it some thought.
I’m sure we’ll find out in a day or 2
Far from ideal for Hibs either if it’s postponed, no game for 2 weeks until we play Celtic, and then another 11 days before we play Hearts. So just 2 games in 25 days

26-09-2018, 09:32 PM
Now we’ll have a weekend game against Rangers re-scheduled for a miserable Tuesday or Wednesday night, that’s rubbish!!

Although it will be some atmosphere under the lights!!

26-09-2018, 09:34 PM
As it stands if they cancel Hibs v the rangers

I’m sure they’ve known this was a possibility, so hopefully the SPFL have given it some thought.
I’m sure we’ll find out in a day or 2
Far from ideal for Hibs either if it’s postponed, no game for 2 weeks until we play Celtic, and then another 11 days before we play Hearts. So just 2 games in 25 days

I'd be quite happy not to play too many games over the next wee while allowing us to get the likes of Jamie Mac back and fit.

26-09-2018, 09:40 PM
I'd be quite happy not to play too many games over the next wee while allowing us to get the likes of Jamie Mac back and fit.

Fair point, but we don’t want a backlog
One thing they could do is bring forward our match away v Motherwell on Wednesday 23rd January
Motherwell don’t have a match on the weekend we play Rangers, as Celtic are in the Betfred cup semi that weekend, if that’s when they play it......

26-09-2018, 09:46 PM
Just seen ‘our own’ Leigh Griffiths kissing the Celtic badge after his goal tonight.

Yet I bet there’s still some of our supporters that will clap him like he’s some sort of club legend when he returns next game.Yeah, just another smelly Celtic striker.

26-09-2018, 09:52 PM
Fair point, but we don’t want a backlog
One thing they could do is bring forward our match away v Motherwell on Wednesday 23rd January
Motherwell don’t have a match on the weekend we play Rangers, as Celtic are in the Betfred cup semi that weekend, if that’s when they play it......

Was just thinking that

The scottish football authorities won't want to hinder the old firm because they have European games mid week

They'll shift the semi finals

26-09-2018, 10:04 PM
Hearts are gonna win this eh?

And the league.

And the Scottish.

And the champions league.

Naismith for Ballon D'or

26-09-2018, 10:08 PM
FFS. Is there some kind of collective Hibernian supporter psychosis breaking out on .net?

ChickenCurryYLT
26-09-2018, 10:14 PM
Yeah, just another smelly Celtic striker.

Correct. Never seen a player as desperate as him to be liked by a group of supporters.

26-09-2018, 10:27 PM
You don't think they had a better chance vs St Mirren than Rangers and Celtic?

St Mirren's run in 12-13 takes some beating. Ayr, Hamilton, Aberdeen, Celtic, Hearts. Extraordinary for a club their size.

27-09-2018, 06:18 AM
I said to so many on here about how Naismith was a great signing for them and I was gutted it wasn't us getting him. Proving me right near on every week.

27-09-2018, 06:21 AM
I said to so many on here about how Naismith was a great signing for them and I was gutted it wasn't us getting him. Proving me right near on every week.

I'm guessing you never saw the posts about him being finished, and how his legs had disappeared? :agree:

27-09-2018, 06:25 AM

No no no don't be silly his legs have gone.:rolleyes:

27-09-2018, 07:42 AM

Don't waste your breath, I literally had a conversation with a guy on the way back from the Tynie defeat last season who was adamant that Lafferty and Naismith were "*****" even though they'd both scored and had great games.

27-09-2018, 07:52 AM

He's an intelligent player and obviously sees this as his chance to end his career with a bang.

I'm certainly sorry we haven't got him.

27-09-2018, 08:15 AM

Yet I bet there’s still some of our supporters that will clap him like he’s some sort of club legend when he returns next game.

Why wouldn't a footballer form an affinity with another club's supporters just because they're not the club he grew up supporting? What's he supposed to do, just walk back to the halfway line after every goal he scores, muttering miserably 'I wish I was scoring goals for Hibs instead'?

I will always be a Griffiths fan. He was brilliant for Hibs, gave us everything he had, and was a ray of light during some grim times for the club. He's still a Hibs fan, he's made that pretty clear and it was notable that the one time he DIDN'T celebrate a goal for Celtic was when he scored against us last season.

How big a Hibs fan was John McGinn before he signed for us? Yet he's still hailed as 'one of our own' despite having left the club.

27-09-2018, 08:21 AM

Easy to say nine months down the line. He was unfit when they signed him and didn't actually contribute a great deal last season. However, by the time he joined them Hearts were simply hoping to finish in the top six so there wasn't a lot of pressure on him to deliver miracles. Hibs were targeting Europe and a possible second-place finish and did the right thing IMHO in bringing in Flo and Jamie at that time.

No question Naismith is a good player and now that he's up to speed with a completely new team around him he'll continue to do well in this league, but I don't think we'd have had such a successful second half of the season had we signed him instead of Kamberi.

It's also worth remembering Naismith is also drawing a wage (the source of which is unclear) which simply wasn't within our budget so signing him was probably never an option in the first place.

27-09-2018, 08:22 AM
I couldn't care less about them but you can bash on if you are zhitting yourself about playing them in a months time.
Agree. Yes they have improved but if we play like we did v. the Sheep we could rip them to f....

Not enough credit given to the Sheep defence on Tues in making some of our goal scoring opportunities more difficult.

27-09-2018, 08:35 AM
He's an intelligent player and obviously sees this as his chance to end his career with a bang.

I'm certainly sorry we haven't got him.
Naismith is a bloody turd. He is at the right team. Would have been mightily disgruntled to see him in green and white, even if he has got himself fitter this season and taking some chances. He is just not Hibs class IMO. Flo-Mac all the way.

broondog
27-09-2018, 08:55 AM
Hearts have never had a better chance of winning this.. Considering they cheated in the early rounds - Almost Guaranteed to win !!! Cheats..

100% correct.it is a disgrace they are still in the competition. what I dont understand is why they werent kicked out after fielding an ineligible player early on. the authorities always and I mean always bend over backwards for the cheats. absolutely disgusting.

to make it worse the c**** are probably going to play a home match at Murrayfield in the semi final. you honestly couldnt make it up. something needs to be done about this as they get away with it time and time again, they must be the luckiest team in the world. how many times are we going to allow them to gain an advantage without consequences?

If Murrayfield is confirmed I plan to raise the matter with the SRU and the SFA and will be inviting signatures from fans groups should this happen. I have a very strong social media presence and plan to use that to get the message out there that this isn´t acceptable. will keep those on this board posted alongside those on social media.

27-09-2018, 09:00 AM
Agree. Yes they have improved but if we play like we did v. the Sheep we could rip them to f....

Not enough credit given to the Sheep defence on Tues in making some of our goal scoring opportunities more difficult.

I didn’t think the sheep defence were good at all the other night. We were just extremely wasteful.

For all the positions we got in to I can’t even remember Lewis having a save to make that was anything other than comfortable. Everything was either right at him or off target. Chuck in missing an open goal and a header from about 3 yards.

27-09-2018, 09:04 AM
100% correct.it is a disgrace they are still in the competition. what I dont understand is why they werent kicked out after fielding an ineligible player early on. the authorities always and I mean always bend over backwards for the cheats. absolutely disgusting.

to make it worse the c**** are probably going to play a home match at Murrayfield in the semi final. you honestly couldnt make it up. something needs to be done about this as they get away with it time and time again, they must be the luckiest team in the world. how many times are we going to allow them to gain an advantage without consequences?

If Murrayfield is confirmed I plan to raise the matter with the SRU and the SFA and will be inviting signatures from fans groups should this happen. I have a very strong social media presence and plan to use that to get the message out there that this isn´t acceptable. will keep those on this board posted alongside those on social media.

Lol. Why bother...Do something fun instead.....

27-09-2018, 09:07 AM
Correct. Never seen a player as desperate as him to be liked by a group of supporters.
Come on they pay his mortgage & child maintenance, what do you expect him to do.

27-09-2018, 09:12 AM

If Murrayfield is confirmed I plan to raise the matter with the SRU and the SFA and will be inviting signatures from fans groups should this happen. I have a very strong social media presence and plan to use that to get the message out there that this isn´t acceptable. will keep those on this board posted alongside those on social media.Think you're aiming your water pistols in the wrong direction.

The SRU and SFA have nothing to do with it.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

27-09-2018, 09:30 AM

Would you like to use your social media presence to ask how the Scottish Government can run a planning enquiry from the new PBS stand when the building has no certificate of occupancy of any kind.

27-09-2018, 09:55 AM
Would you like to use your social media presence to ask how the Scottish Government can run a planning enquiry from the new PBS stand when the building has no certificate of occupancy of any kind.

I'm suspect I hold a different view on this stuff. Just smacks of bitterness these types of things to me... Good on them for securing it...a more helpful question (to me) would be to enquire if our commercial team are securing enough of this type of revenue generating activity..

27-09-2018, 10:11 AM
Danny Swanson got the last 25 minutes for St Johnstone against Celtic last night.

I felt that he didn’t show enough to indicate that we made the wrong decision in allowing him to leave our club.

It is a great shame as I believe every Hibby wanted him to be a success at Easter Road.

Good luck Danny all the best for the rest of your career!

27-09-2018, 10:21 AM
I'm suspect I hold a different view on this stuff. Just smacks of bitterness these types of things to me... Good on them for securing it...a more helpful question (to me) would be to enquire if our commercial team are securing enough of this type of revenue generating activity..

Given the fact that much of the stand's interior remains a building site I'd be surprised if Hearts' commercial team had much to do with 'selling' this. It was probably the cheapest offer out there at a time when cost-cutting is the watchword and likely facilitated by a yam-leaning government official who's pals with Budge. Why else would they opt for unfinished facilities ahead of more user-friendly options?

27-09-2018, 10:28 AM

The situation is classic incompetence from the powers that be. It was hardly unforeseen that this could happen, yet the fixture card was still given the go-ahead.

Giving one of the games to Murrayfield would be an own goal as the SRU presumably stand to benefit financially from hosting the tie, thus taking money away from football.

Why did they move the League Cup semi-finals to the weekend in the first place? They should have stuck with midweek dates like it used to be.

27-09-2018, 10:36 AM
BT will use the Hibs v Rangers slot on the Sunday, 12.15 for one of the games I’m sure

27-09-2018, 10:39 AM
I would say they should have the Hearts game at Hampden in the interests of fairness, but then again the OF get every single semi-final and final in their own city without so much as a hint of complaint. So, ultimately I don't care where it's held.

Hearts are in the semi final because they are a much-improved team. This "luck" thing got tiring a long time ago. The only club's fans that complain about Hearts being "lucky" are us, I bet Rangers think Celtic are "lucky" and Dundee United think Dundee are "lucky".

broondog
27-09-2018, 12:09 PM

Bang on with this.yet anothre example of cheating and profiting to gain an advantage.the stadium should have never been cleared.however I think when it benefits them on the park (if we look at the prospect of them playing at Murrayfield and getting off with it after going through after fielding an ineligible player) we should focus more attention and energy on that.the link between cheating by breaking the rules and directly benefiting is clear and I am sure there must be rules against it. I prefer to use my online influence to go down that avenue. PM me if you would like to get involved or lend support.

27-09-2018, 12:56 PM
I would say they should have the Hearts game at Hampden in the interests of fairness, but then again the OF get every single semi-final and final in their own city without so much as a hint of complaint. So, ultimately I don't care where it's held.

Hearts are in the semi final because they are a much-improved team. This "luck" thing got tiring a long time ago. The only club's fans that complain about Hearts being "lucky" are us, I bet Rangers think Celtic are "lucky" and Dundee United think Dundee are "lucky".
You're right. Some Hibbies want to get real. But hey, that's football.

I'm Spartacus
27-09-2018, 01:06 PM
@greenginger I know you are passionate and hate the Hearts, we all hate our rivals, but come on, you are constantly posting unsubstantiated dross on this forum. The Edinburgh Planning Department take safety unbelievably seriously, doesn't matter which badge is stuck on the front, could be the Gyle refurbishment or a new Edinburgh Uni development, anybody who thinks all these matters are just 'pushed through because it's them' needs their head seen to.

You might not like that, call me everything under the sun, but what I say is absolutely true.

Do you genuinely think there's a committee sitting round a table saying "Ahhh cool a stand that holds thousands of men, women and children, let's not bother about ensuring it's safe, lets brush that under the carpet."

You've not once posted one fact about ANYTHING, not just on Hearts! Honestly makes my eyes bleed!

Turkish Green
27-09-2018, 01:18 PM

So the possibility of Hearts playing at Murrayfield should be considered, according to you, as a home game yet the OF continually playing at Hampden is OK to you.

This does look a tad obsessive on your part.

27-09-2018, 01:20 PM
@greenginger I know you are passionate and hate the Hearts, we all hate our rivals, but come on, you are constantly posting unsubstantiated dross on this forum. The Edinburgh Planning Department take safety unbelievably seriously, doesn't matter which badge is stuck on the front, could be the Gyle refurbishment or a new Edinburgh Uni development, anybody who thinks all these matters are just 'pushed through because it's them' needs their head seen to.

You might not like that, call me everything under the sun, but what I say is absolutely true.

Do you genuinely think there's a committee sitting round a table saying "Ahhh cool a stand that holds thousands of men, women and children, let's not bother about ensuring it's safe, lets brush that under the carpet."

You've not once posted one fact about ANYTHING, not just on Hearts! Honestly makes my eyes bleed!

I don't have time to rake about, but the points that Greenginger raises are all a matter of public record and are ordinarily available on the Council's web site. Any building which receives the public should have an occupation certificate (temporary or otherwise). If these are not online for public inspection, then there's definitely something not right.

I've been involved with a few projects needing these certificates over the years and it certainly looks to me that different rules are being applied to Hearts.

The Council have previous for this sort of stuff concerning Tynie.

27-09-2018, 02:15 PM
The talk now is that they are looking into playing both games at Hampden on the Sunday with a lunchtime KO and an evening KO.
Don’t think they would be getting any favours from Murrayfield if asked to solve a problem given their recent knockback from Scottish Footballing authorities. I’d imagine they’d be getting told that the stadium was “unavailable” that Sunday.

27-09-2018, 02:21 PM
The talk now is that they are looking into playing both games at Hampden on the Sunday with a lunchtime KO and an evening KO.
Don’t think they would be getting any favours from Murrayfield if asked to solve a problem given their recent knockback from Scottish Footballing authorities. I’d imagine they’d be getting told that the stadium was “unavailable” that Sunday.

They may have to straddle the semis a week apart the way things are going.

27-09-2018, 02:24 PM

That would be madness and absolute carnage.

27-09-2018, 02:29 PM
The question is, why were the semi finals arranged for the weekend after a Europa League round, given the not-improbable scenario that at least two of the teams in the semi finals could have been in the group stage?

27-09-2018, 03:07 PM
I don't have time to rake about, but the points that Greenginger raises are all a matter of public record and are ordinarily available on the Council's web site. Any building which receives the public should have an occupation certificate (temporary or otherwise). If these are not online for public inspection, then there's definitely something not right.

I've been involved with a few projects needing these certificates over the years and it certainly looks to me that different rules are being applied to Hearts.

Spot on. Some may see as obsessive nit-picking but I've never known Greenginger to post anything council-related which can't be verified via public record.

27-09-2018, 03:15 PM

No chance of that happening.

I'm Spartacus
27-09-2018, 03:34 PM

If this happens then what an unbelievable state our game is in. Guy in work reckons they’ll put Celtic at Ibrox and Rangers at Hampden on the same day. The SRU would tell them to bolt, or charge them double rate plus all the costs associated with that fake process they were made to go through.

27-09-2018, 03:42 PM
BT sport schedule will have a say in this as well.

I hope the SRU do tell them to ram it after they made a mug of them.

27-09-2018, 03:57 PM
BT sport schedule will have a say in this as well.

I hope the SRU do tell them to ram it after they made a mug of them.

This is an SPFL competition so wasn’t anything to do with them.

I’d imagine the SRU will happily rent out the stadium for a nice fee on a day it would otherwise be empty.

I'm Spartacus
27-09-2018, 04:03 PM

We’ve been subjected to his fanciful posts about this mob for YEARS, none coming to any actual truth. Do they even need an occupancy certificate for fans sitting there??? It’s not a habitable premises, Edinburgh planning are unbelievably strict - this “oh look at everything getting waved through for THEM” folk are forgetting we build 4 stands with the help of Edinburgh Council.

27-09-2018, 04:09 PM
This is an SPFL competition so wasn’t anything to do with them.

I’d imagine the SRU will happily rent out the stadium for a nice fee on a day it would otherwise be empty.

I know but the perception is they’re all one and the same.

27-09-2018, 04:18 PM
We’ve been subjected to his fanciful posts about this mob for YEARS, none coming to any actual truth. Do they even need an occupancy certificate for fans sitting there??? It’s not a habitable premises, Edinburgh planning are unbelievably strict - this “oh look at everything getting waved through for THEM” folk are forgetting we build 4 stands with the help of Edinburgh Council.

He bases everything on the council website not being updated. Pretty sure if he searched hundreds of other building jobs he’d find similar omissions.

You’re correct though. It’s baffling that folk think that councillors, who maybe don’t give a damn about football, would put people’s lives at risk just cause it’s Hearts!

It totally plays into the “establishment” crap that they harp on about as well.

27-09-2018, 04:49 PM
Semi finals announced for the Sunday

Aberdeen v Rangers at 12pm and Hearts v Celtic at 7.45pm!

Both at Hampden

27-09-2018, 04:52 PM

Both at Hampden

Could see carnage happening at those games.

27-09-2018, 04:53 PM
Could see carnage happening at those games.

It’s a crazy decision.

If the hearts game goes to penalties they’ll not be leaving Hampden until about half 10 at night!

27-09-2018, 04:53 PM

Both at Hampden

They will regret that decision.

27-09-2018, 04:54 PM

Hibs fans with long memories won't forget the council's lack of support on our behalf when Sir Tom Farmer attempted to buy the Lochend Butterfly land for a development project that would have effectively wiped out our debt. The council went with a rival bid before admitting they made their decision based on erroneous evidence, while also rubber stamping an application by Hearts for stadium development.

It's also only a few months since the 'unbelievably strict' council granted a succession of temporary occupation certificates to Hearts before Police Scotland stepped in to address serious safety concerns with the new stand.

27-09-2018, 04:58 PM

Both at Hampden

Chorley Hibee
27-09-2018, 05:02 PM

Their incompetence knows no bounds.

27-09-2018, 05:03 PM
Hibs fans with long memories won't forget the council's lack of support on our behalf when Sir Tom Farmer attempted to buy the Lochend Butterfly land for a development project that would have effectively wiped out our debt. The council went with a rival bid before admitting they made their decision based on erroneous evidence, while also rubber stamping an application by Hearts for stadium development.

It's also only a few months since the 'unbelievably strict' council granted a succession of temporary occupation certificates to Hearts before Police Scotland stepped in to address serious safety concerns with the new stand.The Lochend butterfly fiasco was a good example of a spiteful council in action. That culture may or may not still exist in Edinburgh but the easily verifiable part about the need to issue a flurry of temporary certificates at short notice tells it's own story. As does the police having to document their concerns, if all was as strictly under control and compliant why did the police feel the need to express any concerns?

Maybe the police are bitter hobos as well?[emoji6]

27-09-2018, 05:20 PM
Their incompetence knows no bounds.

7-45 on a Sunday night is the dream kick off time.

ChickenCurryYLT
27-09-2018, 09:56 PM
Why wouldn't a footballer form an affinity with another club's supporters just because they're not the club he grew up supporting? What's he supposed to do, just walk back to the halfway line after every goal he scores, muttering miserably 'I wish I was scoring goals for Hibs instead'?

I will always be a Griffiths fan. He was brilliant for Hibs, gave us everything he had, and was a ray of light during some grim times for the club. He's still a Hibs fan, he's made that pretty clear and it was notable that the one time he DIDN'T celebrate a goal for Celtic was when he scored against us last season.

How big a Hibs fan was John McGinn before he signed for us? Yet he's still hailed as 'one of our own' despite having left the club.

John McGinn was born and bred in Clydebank, as a Celtic supporter. How can you possibly compare him to Leith born Hibs supporting Griffiths? On that note, how many times did you see McGinn kiss the Hibs badge?

Don’t understand the cringey applauses Leigh gets every time he’s back here but there were many that boo’ed Cummings, a true club legend.

28-09-2018, 05:33 PM
Dunfermline v Partick live on Alba tonight for anyone looking for a Scottish football fix.

28-09-2018, 05:39 PM
Dunfermline v Partick live on Alba tonight for anyone looking for a Scottish football fix.

Looking forward to it

28-09-2018, 05:41 PM

Beat me to it Hamish I was going to post the same.

Other TV games tonight (excluding eleventv)

Hertha Berlin v Bayern Munich on bt2
St Etienne v Monaco on bt3
Sheff Wed v Leeds on sky football
Bristol City v Villa on sky red button (for those wanting to keep tabs on SJM perhaps)
FC Porto v Tondela on Freesports

Hertha v Bayern for me I think.

28-09-2018, 07:01 PM
Just bizarre that Thistle are wearing their away strip

28-09-2018, 07:20 PM
Hertha 2 Bayern 0 at half time, great performance so far from the Berlin side.