View Full Version : Efe Ambrose best performance in a hibs shirt.

RossScott1991
25-09-2018, 10:30 PM
I love the big man. When he plays like that we are lucky to have him. Thought he was superb and MOTM by some distance.

25-09-2018, 10:33 PM
Outstanding today. Anyone who thinks he shouldn’t be a first pick every week doesn’t know anything about football IMHO.

Roxyhibee
25-09-2018, 10:34 PM
Hanlon and Porteous were really excellent, but Ambrose was absolutely outstanding. A cut above every other player on the park..

fiolex1
25-09-2018, 10:39 PM
Outstanding tonight:agree:

25-09-2018, 10:40 PM
If people are in any doubt about Efes quality then they just need to look at that tonight. Absolutely outstanding.

bodhibs
25-09-2018, 10:40 PM
Immense, throughout

RossScott1991
25-09-2018, 11:00 PM
Barely put a foot wrong, vital tackle in middle park in first half when I think hyndman lost it?

25-09-2018, 11:02 PM
Looked class.

25-09-2018, 11:02 PM
Wouldn’t say it was his best game for Hibs - he’s had loads of performances like that. A top class footballer who we’re lucky to have playing for us.

gaz1875
25-09-2018, 11:04 PM
Superb today, nothing daft and tried to keep dragging us forward.

25-09-2018, 11:09 PM
For every crazy moment Efe has, he has many more excellent moments, he was excellent tonight - but usually is for majority of most games.

25-09-2018, 11:21 PM
the big man was immense , and was our group's MoM without doubt. think it was awarded to Hanlon, before extra time and he played well but Ambrose was top notch.:top marks

25-09-2018, 11:25 PM
I am about to have an Efe moment

:not worth

25-09-2018, 11:27 PM
Absolutely superb tonight. I'm glad it wasn't just me who thought he did everything right.

25-09-2018, 11:33 PM
Absolutely superb tonight. I'm glad it wasn't just me who thought he did everything right.can I be the first to include your post, with mine? he was superb.and you are not alone.

mentalhibee
25-09-2018, 11:38 PM
Offer big Efe a new contract, class act.

CathroMustStay
26-09-2018, 12:03 AM
Classy player, who isn't afraid to make mistakes at the expense of playing football the way it should be played.

If only Scottish football as a whole could adopt that ethos, perhaps it wouldn't have been 20 years since we've been to a effing World Cup.

26-09-2018, 12:16 AM
sometimes, last man defenders have to make a decision and it sometimes looks like he has done wrong, sometimes it works out just perfect. Last night, Efe had everything going for him but it was not all just by chance. he had one of of his best games ever and it was a real shame that he ended up on the losing side

26-09-2018, 05:50 AM
The big man was different class last night.

26-09-2018, 05:53 AM
I've never been a huge fan of Efe in the past due to his mistakes but he had a very good game last night, that's the kind of performance we want to see every week from him.

26-09-2018, 07:17 AM
Absolutely strolled it for the second time in 3 days. When this man is concentrating fully he his different class. One of the first names on the team sheet for me. He will have Efe moments but his contribution to the team over a season more than makes up for them. Strong, powerful, fast and composed. I've noticed Milligan is very vocal on the park. I'm wondering if this is helping him.

26-09-2018, 07:21 AM
Absolutely strolled it for the second time in 3 days. When this man is concentrating fully he his different class. One of the first names on the team sheet for me. He will have Efe moments but his contribution to the team over a season more than makes up for them. Strong, powerful, fast and composed. I've noticed Milligan is very vocal on the park. I'm wondering if this is helping him.

Plays better when Hanlon is beside him. Was outstanding last night

26-09-2018, 07:21 AM
Efe was my man of the match, I thought he was the best player on the park by a mile. As for Efe moments, I think every player has these, because he is big and gangly he sticks out more, doesnae pee me off when I hear Efe moment said, but, its gettin there. He is a quality player and if he can play like this for most of the season he will earn himself a big move by the end of it.

26-09-2018, 07:23 AM

No coincidence that we've had two clean sheets on the bounce with Hanlon & Milligan in the team. We've looked much better organised.

26-09-2018, 07:31 AM
Looked like a £5m defender last night. Great performance.

26-09-2018, 07:43 AM
Looked like a £5m defender last night. Great performance.

When you consider Aberdeen want £12m for McKenna you could add another £10m on to your valuation of Efe

Tug Wilson
26-09-2018, 07:48 AM
Efe was my man of the match, I thought he was the best player on the park by a mile. As for Efe moments, I think every player has these, because he is big and gangly he sticks out more, doesnae pee me off when I hear Efe moment said, but, its gettin there. He is a quality player and if he can play like this for most of the season he will earn himself a big move by the end of it.

A few of his Efe moments are because he plays a bit on the edge and is maybe trying something adventurous to open up the game. For example, his long throw right across the 18 yard box to Hanlon. Looked mighty close to the Aberdeen forward yet opened the field up for Hanlon to attack.

He was so good last night. My Man of the Match.

Tug Wilson
26-09-2018, 07:50 AM
When you consider Aberdeen want £12m for McKenna you could add another £10m on to your valuation of Efe

If McKenna worth £12m then how much for young Ryan Porteous. He was immense last night against first a man mountain in Cosgrove and then a tricky little player in May.

26-09-2018, 07:52 AM

People won’t realise how good he is until he’s gone. Outstanding centre half.

26-09-2018, 07:54 AM
Last few games he has been imperious.

26-09-2018, 08:02 AM
Didn't see this Ambrose thread. Please merge admins!

I agree with OP. Can't recall Efe having a better game in a Hibs shirt. Outstanding.

26-09-2018, 08:07 AM
He and Hanlon were both good. Everyone did OK except the forwards.

LustForLeith
26-09-2018, 08:14 AM
Best performance I’ve seen from him in a Hibs shirt. When he leaves us we’ll realise how important he’s been for us

26-09-2018, 08:25 AM

What is lovely about the two of them is that they are both comfortable bringing the ball out of defence and advancing up the park.

This happened a number of times last night and we were able to overload midfield and force Aberdeen onto the back foot. Frustrating that we didn’t get a reward.

hughio
26-09-2018, 08:32 AM
Last few games he has been imperious.

That's the word "Imperious".

26-09-2018, 08:46 AM
He was our best player tonight.

26-09-2018, 11:16 AM
I love the big man. When he plays like that we are lucky to have him. Thought he was superb and MOTM by some distance.
Terrific performance, outstanding.

26-09-2018, 07:17 PM
Efe was class last night showing us what he's capable of but Hanlon in the defence alongside is a huge lift as others have said. Efe was MOTM by a mile for me.

Persevere80
26-09-2018, 09:34 PM
Hibs class...

29-09-2018, 03:56 PM
Strolled it yet again

superbam
29-09-2018, 03:58 PM
He was class today again. St Mirren Tv commentators were an embarrasment with their constant lazy cliches about Ambrose being a bombscare, seemed genuinely shocked when he picked out a pass. Ignorant ****s

29-09-2018, 04:00 PM
He was class today again. St Mirren Tv commentators were an embarrasment with their constant lazy cliches about Ambrose being a bombscare, seemed genuinely shocked when he picked out a pass. Ignorant ****s

It's ignorance. If they watched him every week they wouldn't be saying that. He's a class act.

29-09-2018, 04:08 PM
That swivel turn under pressure near the end today that took out two St Mirren players was worth the ticket price alone. Class act.

thegaffer12
29-09-2018, 04:10 PM

Turned two St Mirren players with ease at one point and the commentators went on about "Ambrose doing something we never knew he was capable of". Let's keep those tricks as our little secret.

29-09-2018, 04:15 PM
He and Hanlon were both good. Everyone did OK except the forwards.

i'm sure paul hanlon wouldn't be able to agree

:)

29-09-2018, 04:18 PM
Turned two St Mirren players with ease at one point and the commentators went on about "Ambrose doing something we never knew he was capable of". Let's keep those tricks as our little secret.

the poor lads obviously don't watch sportscene :)

neither do i right enough, but i do know efe can produce something brilliant now and then

K.Marx
29-09-2018, 04:27 PM
Superb again from Efe. Wins so much in the air. Long may this form continue 😎

29-09-2018, 04:30 PM
Excellent performance from Ambrose yet again 👍🏾

Hibs4185
29-09-2018, 04:43 PM
Only one word...immense

Austinho
29-09-2018, 04:46 PM
That swivel turn under pressure near the end today that took out two St Mirren players was worth the ticket price alone. Class act.That was outrageous. Sensational bit of skill. Sauzeesk.

29-09-2018, 04:58 PM
Outstanding performance again today. Best player on the pitch.

29-09-2018, 05:00 PM
Imperious.

29-09-2018, 05:10 PM
Hopefully see a clip of his skill.

EL Green
29-09-2018, 05:43 PM
Magnificent again today, he’s on a great run of form.

29-09-2018, 05:45 PM
Hopefully see a clip of his skill.

Been looking for it on Twitter. No luck yet

29-09-2018, 05:50 PM
Really hope that supposed £300k odd buyout clause is untrue. The guy is a £750k-1M+ player, IMO. Especially when he’s in this kind of form.

Scholsey
29-09-2018, 05:57 PM

Wasn’t at the game today but have said from the 1st minute we signed him he is class and there was only one team he wouldn’t get a game for in Scotland(Smelic)I love footballers and he’s certainly one!

yonder1875
29-09-2018, 06:12 PM
There was a couple of folk in my group that I sit with at ER that said they wouldn’t have been bothered if he left in the summer. Madness. For me, he’s the best player at the club.

John Plunkett
29-09-2018, 07:33 PM
For the last few weeks some fans on this forum have said Big Efe should be dropped. How anyone can think he should be dropped is beyond me. By far one of the best defenders we have had for a long time.

29-09-2018, 07:35 PM
Wasn’t at the game today but have said from the 1st minute we signed him he is class and there was only one team he wouldn’t get a game for in Scotland(Smelic)I love footballers and he’s certainly one!

Immense today when other tired and Subs disrupted shape
and we struggled to get possession and keep it Even Milligan tired but Effe was effortless

29-09-2018, 07:48 PM
Efe fits like a glove into the Hibs way of playing. Always tries to play football rather than lump it up the park. Fast becoming a cult hero with the support. Hope Efe is here for years to come. A class act.

Hillsidehibby
29-09-2018, 07:52 PM
Up there with Stanton and Sauzee

Robbo6-2
29-09-2018, 07:55 PM
He's brilliant.

Was outstanding today. Best player on park imo

29-09-2018, 08:07 PM
Nobody has been criticising Efe in recent weeks. He has clearly raised his game and has been majestic in the last 4 games, playing the kind of football he's always been capable of.

We can't airbrush his shaky start to the season away though. Credit to Efe for playing through it and to Lennon for having the patience to let him play through it.

I'm glad phrases like "Sauzee-esque" are being bandied about because we coo over stuff that Sauzee did years ago that Efe is doing in a Hibs top on a weekly basis.

RossScott1991
30-09-2018, 09:34 AM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1046314958886133760

Here is Efe turn yesterday for those who mentioned it ! Classy

30-09-2018, 09:39 AM
He's clearly a confidence player and a club like Hibs is a good fit for him.

BegbieHSC
30-09-2018, 10:05 AM
Imperious yesterday. We need to gie the lad a new contract asap.

30-09-2018, 10:15 AM
Imperious yesterday. We need to gie the lad a new contract asap.

I would make it a priority to start negotiations now and see where his head is in regards to extending his contract.

I'm sure the club will do what they can to get him to stay.

30-09-2018, 10:19 AM
He's so important to the way we play, the way he carries the ball out of defence and commits opponents, and in doing so creates space for others, is massive.

He takes risks, and although now and again that risk backfires, successful teams rely on good players taking risks and being prepared to accept that sometimes it won't work.

30-09-2018, 10:22 AM
He's so important to the way we play, the way he carries the ball out of defence and commits opponents, and in doing so creates space for others, is massive.

He takes risks, and although now and again that risk backfires, successful teams rely on good players taking risks and being prepared to accept that sometimes it won't work.

More often than not these risks pay off. The much talked about so called "Efe moments" are really few and far between since he's been with us.

30-09-2018, 11:12 AM
More often than not these risks pay off. The much talked about so called "Efe moments" are really few and far between since he's been with us.

30-09-2018, 11:20 AM
Efe Ambrose... Hibs Player. Sounds and feels good to me. :agree:

04-06-2019, 08:40 AM
Notice he is now available

Best performance for me was his last performance versus the Hertz at home totally outstanding and gave us an attacking outlet to ease the pressure on the defence

Not sure if he would come back or if PH would want him?

04-06-2019, 10:28 AM
Notice he is now available

Best performance for me was his last performance versus the Hertz at home totally outstanding and gave us an attacking outlet to ease the pressure on the defence

Not sure if he would come back or if PH would want him?

PH says he wants ball playing centre backs.... Efe would fit that perfectly. Something tells me however that he might not be so keen on Efe's apparent lackadaisical attitude towards turning up to training on time.

04-06-2019, 11:28 AM
Wonder how he never kicked a ball for Derby ?
Strange one as (others) have said, he's some player......wonderful to watch, and for the best part, strolled it up here.
Is the gulf that big ?

04-06-2019, 12:11 PM
Wonder how he never kicked a ball for Derby ?
Strange one as (others) have said, he's some player......wonderful to watch, and for the best part, strolled it up here.
Is the gulf that big ?

The impact McGinn has made would suggest not. If true about his approach to training being poor that may have counted against him, or maybe Derby just didn't want to mess with a winning team while they were on a good run, similar to ourselves after Heckingbottom came in.

04-06-2019, 04:19 PM
V Asteras at Easter Road magnificent

04-06-2019, 06:23 PM
V Asteras at Easter Road magnificent
Agree!
Drove us on inspired a stirring comeback and even scored a goal

04-06-2019, 06:25 PM
Slow news day, old threads ahoy!

04-06-2019, 06:30 PM
Slow news day, old threads ahoy!
Transfer threads keep bringing up the same old chestnuts or no news so nothing wrong with a wee bit nostalgia not unless you have anything of any interest to tell us HC? 😁

04-06-2019, 06:38 PM
Transfer threads keep bringing up the same old chestnuts or no news so nothing wrong with a wee bit nostalgia not unless you have anything of any interest to tell us HC? 😁

Afraid not! I'm not ITK. :boo hoo:

04-06-2019, 07:30 PM
Afraid not! I'm not ITK. :boo hoo:
Where’s the Cat when you need him? 😂

05-06-2019, 09:10 AM
The game we beat Celtic last season i thought he was outstanding.

05-06-2019, 09:16 AM
The game we beat Celtic last season i thought he was outstanding.

Miles better than Izaguirre who had a shocker 😂