View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Aberdeen

Pages : 1 2 [3]

25-09-2018, 09:20 PM
Notice that Lewis starts behind his line and moves forward

25-09-2018, 09:21 PM
They've been practicing for this all week..

Saved Bogdan!!

He looked confused before he even missed it.

Yes...

25-09-2018, 09:23 PM
Lewis about 2 yards off his line with Mallan's pen !!

25-09-2018, 09:23 PM
Sudden death

25-09-2018, 09:24 PM
Why has our only striker on the pitch not taken a pen yet?

Redeem yourself Shaw

Well done lad!

Redeem yourself Shaw

He's nothing to redeem.

25-09-2018, 09:26 PM
Garbage

Smash and grab. What a game though.

Bollocks.

Poor lad. That's a real pity for him.

Oh well.

Sucker-punched tonight! Still, we were by far the better team and we’ll finish above them in the league.

25-09-2018, 09:27 PM
Most undeserving winners

Feeling really quite unconcerned about not going through.

AL-Qaholik
Same old Hibs. Chance after chance after chance wasted.
Bogdan is utterly hopeless at penalties.

Very unlucky

Mugged by a horrible industrial mob. Our own fault.

Hurumph! Can’t say a lot to that

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

He's nothing to redeem.

Missed a great chance and was generally poor all game. We paid the price for our poor finishing.

We should have won it normal time anyway

Bollocks

25-09-2018, 09:28 PM
Notice that Lewis starts behind his line and moves forward
Every penalty. Bogdan goes left every time.

Bizarre that Bogdan gets pelters. Today was a bad day at the office up front.

Better shrugging the shoulders and moving onto the next game.

Behave.

F*** off

How much cash have we lost out on due to that finishing in the 90 minutes?

I hope Rodders does the caculations and gives out a verbal arse whooping.

Away ye go, he done fine and we played well.

Apart from the one he saved you mean? Which is the same as the Aberdeen keeper managed.

GlasgowHibee
Make no mistakes, Aberdeen are utter garbage.

On another day we would have won that 5-0.

That was the old plucky bad luck Hibs.

Let’s hope Hibsing it isn’t making a return.

That’s was ***** finishing tonight.

Aberdeen were pish we have nothing to fear from them or any team this season

25-09-2018, 09:29 PM
Bad guys win. Would rather be a losing Hibs fan than a winning Aberdeen fan who has to watch that ***** every week. Ugly, dirty, hoofball team

Cool story

That was the only way they were going through tonight. Horrible, turgid football.

It isn't because it was never a thing in the first place.

What other day is that then? The one that never arrives?

What a **** post

22 shots

6 on target...

there's how the game was lost.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

OtleyHibs
Gutted. Should have had it won in 90 minutes, really good performance let down by some poor finishing. Hope Flo is ok after coming off.

We are still on for a really good season when you look at the performance and considering players not there tonight, onwards and upwards

bodhibs
25-09-2018, 09:30 PM

I hope Rodgers does the caculations and gives out a verbal arse whooping.

Eh? Who?

AL-Qaholik
Away ye go, he done fine and we played well.

How did he do fine? He got nowhere near any except the one that went straight down the middle.

skyehibee
Maclaren playing tonight and we would of won that game, too many wasted chances

ionahibby
Disappointing but without sounding yamish it’s only the league cup hardly anything to worry about. We were the better team but these things happen. I thought we played pretty well tonight despite the sitters we missed.

Away and chuck that term in the bin, what are you even doing bringing it up.

It's like folk here revel in us losing in this manner.

Mickey Mouse cup anyway

Focus on the league

:cb

Apart from the one he saved you mean? Which is the same as the Aberdeen keeper managed.

Apart from that and that he saved 3 in his Liverpool debut.

Correct. Nothing but positives to take from tonight. Really fancying our league chances this season as we get better and better.

It isn't because it was never a thing in the first place.

It was. We’ve been the masters of ****ting the bed for most of our history.

Eh? Who?

Rodders.

hibIBZ
25-09-2018, 09:31 PM
You always get what you deserve and with our finishing tonight it’s nothing. Thought we out played them all over the park and were superb in defence and possession. But we have to be deadly in front of goal

Whittaker you fud !!!

It Was him that missed right ??

How did he do fine? He got nowhere near any except the one that went straight down the middle.

Imagine giving our goalie pelters for not saving more free shots from 12 yards out.

What other day is that then? The one that never arrives?

Did you miss 21st May 2016?

broondog
Absolute dug*****. How many chances do we need? And Bogdan must be the most pathetic keeper at pens ever, just falls to the side every time, awful tactic. Drop him next game. Most Aberdeen pens were saveable there

I hope Rodgers does the caculations and gives out a verbal arse whooping.Freudian typo?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

**** off

Chances mean **** all when you don't take them, that's how Aberdeen are off to hampden and we've left with **** all but another injured striker

What a **** post

Accept defeat and finishing like that do you?

25-09-2018, 09:32 PM
poncy wee cup anyway

sean04
Terrible missed chances tonight. Shaw, kamberi, Boyle and Porto with incredible chances. Can't miss but chances and expect to get away with it

Accept defeat and finishing like that do you?

Again, **** off

Absolute dug*****. How many chances do we need? And Bogdan must be the most pathetic keeper at pens ever, just falls to the side every time, awful tactic. Drop him next game. Most Aberdeen pens were saveable there

He saved one - same as the Aberdeen goalie.

Are they both rubbish at penalties?

Pish

GlasgowHibee
Have a night off Speedway, we don’t need fans like you.

25-09-2018, 09:33 PM
When they talk about the game tomorrow in training Lennon will have to push home the point about being clinical in front of goal. It’s a total injustice that these hoofers go away winners tonight. I can’t believe how one sided it was.

Did ye aye?

sorrow sorrow
Very unlucky tonight.We played well and deserved to win that game in 90 mins.

Correct. Nothing but positives to take from tonight. Really fancying our league chances this season as we get better and better.

Not quite sure how we can take nothing but positives from it, surely the most glaring thing of all is how bad our finishing was which certainly isn’t a positive.

We played very well tonight though other than sticking it in the net.

Inevitable that was going to happen tonight. We were so far the better side it was unreal. It was criminal we never scored during that 120 minutes.

sean04

Both keepers saved 1

25-09-2018, 09:34 PM

Settle down. Bogdan saved as many as Lewis. Most Aberdeen pens were good hits.

Tough one to take.

Hibs were very good tonight, the better team. Aberdeen celebrating like they’ve won the trophy and no wonder - they know they got lucky.

A word for wee Tam... what a player he is. Unlucky with the pen but he’s gonna do great things this season.

Chances mean **** all when you don't take them, that's how Aberdeen are off to hampden and we've left with **** all but another injured striker

Very sage. You really should be in football management.

Fritz
Obviously gutted to lose but actually coming away from that feeling pretty positive. Thought we played really well, Kamberi, Mallan, Hyndman, Milligan all showed up well against a good SPFL team. Back 3 were outstanding too. Deserved to batter them but just one of those days.

norhfc
25-09-2018, 09:35 PM
Bad day up front, some good performances, Milligan, Efe and Hyndman for me.
Aberdeen are brutal, very little football and the ref let them away with their usual spoiler tactics.
Onwards and upwards.

Very unlucky tonight.We played well and deserved to win that game in 90 mins.

We’re not unlucky. We couldn’t finish.

Not quite sure how we can take nothing but positives from it, surely the most glaring thing of all is how bad our finishing was which certainly isn’t a positive.

We played very well tonight though other than sticking it in the net.

Because in most other games where we make those chances we will score many of them.

pong didn't ping it properly

tam4hibs
Back to the summer signings... if FLO is injured we are in real trouble.
Depending on Shaw in such a tie against some of the best league CHs was a big ask.
But realistically no depth to our strikers.

Whittaker you fud !!!

Certainly looked like him.... 😉

Forever_Green93
I thought we played well tonight but our decision making in the final 3rd and our finishing tonight was absolute gash.

Gutted to go out but enjoyed the game and we played well. You can't miss that many chances though.

superbam
Finishing and final balls wasn't the best as per, but most of the chances we had were decent efforts rather than shockers. Played superb stuff at times. Disappointing but ****ing robbery

25-09-2018, 09:36 PM
To miss that many chances isn’t bad luck.

Big, big chance missed.

25-09-2018, 09:37 PM
pong didn't ping it properly

Pong's ping properly ponged.

The only thing that annoyed me tonight was the 3 or 4 chances when Hyndman didn’t play in Shaw

But it’s one of those nights

Well done boys

Finishing and final balls wasn't the best as per, but most of the chances we had were decent efforts rather than shockers. Played superb stuff at times. Disappointing but ****ing robbery

We murdered them but they’re going through, they’re getting the money and we’re not because we can’t finish or see a player open.

Whittaker you fud !!!

Nearly ;)

25-09-2018, 09:38 PM
Pong's ping properly ponged.

i'l have a P bob

Inconsequential
25-09-2018, 09:38 PM
Apart from the one he saved you mean? Which is the same as the Aberdeen keeper managed. Indeed and Bogdan saved a penalty from Wayne Rooney once upon a time. Looking at it a another way 120 mins and a shut out.... again.

25-09-2018, 09:39 PM
No I’m bored of losing crossed with retaliating at being told to **** off by Saul Goodyam.

Bored of losing? How many times have we lost in 2018? Twice?

Ps you deserve it.

25-09-2018, 09:40 PM
No I’m bored of losing crossed with retaliating at being told to **** off by Saul Goodyam.

Maybe should have thought twice about the ludicrous 'hibsing-it' chat then.

SneakersO'Toole
You **** Off you mediocrity accepting piece of *****.

How you were allowed back on this site after being booted off originally is beyond me.

You are nothing but a wind up merchant. A largely condescending one at that.

It's been an absolute mare tonight, with lots of embarrassing mistakes. Your posting that is.

No Mistakes. Mean every word.

McInnes has just said that penalties are won by mental strength. He’s spot on.

We’ve blown the first of two chances to win something this season.

I’ve no idea why anyone is prepared to accept that.

Fritz

You obviously don't know our history then. You've a big back catalogue of sh*te posts to choose from, but that's up there with the best of them.

We murdered them but they’re going through, they’re getting the money and we’re not because we can’t finish or see a player open.

Tonight we didnt finish, but we played very well tonight but our finishing was pish. I was very pleased how we controlled the game for very long periods, and created numerous chances which we have been scoring recently.

Upset we didnt win, but we are progressing as a club albeit not tonight.

25-09-2018, 09:41 PM

Jesus Christ these are good times in comparison to what we used to put up with. Need to put your toys back in the pram!

You obviously don't know our history then. You've a big back catalogue of sh*te posts to choose from, but that's up there with the best of them.

1875-2018

Supposedly 4th biggest club in the country.

How many cup finals won and lost. Do you know?

Tonight we didnt finish, but we played very well tonight but our finishing was pish. I was very pleased how we controlled the game for very long periods, and created numerous chances which we have been scoring recently.

Spot on, again. You're beginning to freak me out with these posts.

25-09-2018, 09:42 PM
Back to the summer signings... if FLO is injured we are in real trouble.
Depending on Shaw in such a tie against some of the best league CHs was a big ask.
But realistically no depth to our strikers.Nope I said as much the other day we are at least a striker short and Shaw is just not ready for regular 1st team football am sorry...he was poor tonight looked lost at times. I know he's only young but it's asking far too much of him. Gutted we lost as by far the better team tonight

25-09-2018, 09:42 PM

Exactly as I saw it!

hhibs
25-09-2018, 09:43 PM
That was the only way they were going through tonight. Horrible, turgid football.

Another anti football team of thugs,we only have ourselves to blame though,and I still think we need another striker.

Thought the ref was slow in the first half to book some thuggish challenges from that lot and when that happens these types of team see as carte blanche to continue.

Poor decision making in the final 3rd cost us. But how often do we say that? Players always look so panicked trying to get that first goal and don't seem to discover their composure until one manages to find it's way into the back of the net. They need to be more relaxed and composed in front of goal at 0-0, instead of heaping an unnecessary level of pressure onto themselves.

Not so sure we have progressed from last season, we don't look as good as we did January-May

Are we though?

I hope we are and there’s no way that red shower deserve to go through except the were cooler when it mattered.

If we ever want to celebrate more than one cup every generation we need to not accept nights like tonight.

I wonder how Lennon will play it to the press. He’ll be raging privately.

No Mistakes. Mean every word.

McInnes has just said that penalties are won by mental strength. He’s spot on.

We’ve blown the first of two chances to win something this season.

I’ve no idea why anyone is prepared to accept that.

What other option do we have other than accepting it, not accepting it wont change anything?

25-09-2018, 09:44 PM

Fritz
25-09-2018, 09:44 PM
1875-2018

Supposedly 4th biggest club in the country.

How many cup finals won and lost. Do you know?

I'm sure I could count them up. Not sure what that's got to do with tonight though.

tam4hibs
25-09-2018, 09:45 PM
Nope I said as much the other day we are at least a striker short and Shaw is just not ready for regular 1st team football am sorry...he was poor tonight looked lost at times. I know he's only young but it's asking far too much of him. Gutted we lost as by far the better team tonight

Totally agree - a squad needs 4 strikers. Not 1 signed. On loan and a under 21 player. Thatsbwhats cost us a place in the next round.

Another anti football team of thugs,we only have ourselves to blame though,and I still think we need another striker.

Thought the ref was slow in the first half to book some thuggish challenges from that lot and when that happens these types of team see as carte blanche to continue.

Exactly.

I agree, and at times we need to see the bigger picture.

We played well and only lost on the lottery of penalties.

I'm a wee bit concerned about where the goals are going to come from and I'm pretty concerned at the prospect of Kamberi being injured.

25-09-2018, 09:46 PM
What other option do we have other than accepting it, not accepting it wont change anything?

Raging at another honour/income opportunity thrown away.

Some of us won’t see many more.

25-09-2018, 09:46 PM

Pathetic post. Gtf

25-09-2018, 09:47 PM
Played well and should've won by 3-4, Aberdeen are a dirty bunch helped a a truly terrible bottle merchant of a ref.

25-09-2018, 09:47 PM
I'm sure I could count them up. Not sure what that's got to do with tonight though.

Then I’ll spell it out for you.

It’s got to do with us losing far more than we win for a club of our size.

In other words, ****ting the bed when it matters, as I was saying.

But it’s ok, we won a cup 2 years ago. That’ll last us.

Chorley Hibee
25-09-2018, 09:48 PM
Totally agree - a squad needs 4 strikers. Not 1 signed. On loan and a under 21 player. Thatsbwhats cost us a place in the next round.

I concur, the roots of this defeat are in our lack of adequate striking options.

broondog
Two things really annoy me about tonight, Bogdans awful attempt to save penalties but more than that is going out of what is a very winnable competition this year. Celtic look garbage, We would always take Rangers in a cup competition and Hearts are now being found out for the average nobodies they are. Massive chance blown there

Are we though?

I hope we are and there’s no way that red shower deserve to go through except the were cooler when it mattered.

If we ever want to celebrate more than one cup every generation we need to not accept nights like tonight.

I wonder how Lennon will play it to the press. He’ll be raging privately.

What else can we do but accept it, what difference will it make if i join in with you and say that result is unacceptable?

Teams who dont deserve to win games win them all the time, it happens, but you are blind if you cant see the progress this team made tonight, in fact i'd say they grew up tonight as a team.

We controlled that game and created enough chances to win 2 games, yes we didnt score them, but we normally do.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrggghhhh!!!!

Pathetic post. Gtf

You’re a disgrace.

supermcginn
Where was horgan tonight? He was brilliant against them 3 weeks ago?

Not so sure we have progressed from last season, we don't look as good as we did January-May

It was always going to be a big ask to be as good as we were January -May.

We're as good as we can reasonably expect to be when we've lost the players we have, and much better than we've been for most of my time watching Hibs.

I'll take that for now.

25-09-2018, 09:49 PM
What else can we do but accept it, what difference will it make if i join in with you and say that result is unacceptable?

Teams who dont deserve to win games win them all the time, it happens, but you are blind if you cant see the progress this team made tonight, in fact i'd say they grew up tonight as a team.

We controlled that game and created enough chances to win 2 games, yes we didnt score them, but we normally do.

No we don’t. We normally get knocked out before winning a cup.

The team played well and dominated the sheep until the final third.

It’s not good enough.

25-09-2018, 09:49 PM
Lennon will be honest as usual i guess

We played well but keep giving up chances like that and we wont win many games

Hel be raging that we didnt score

Particulary shaw in 2nd half- why he didnt square it il never know

And porteous header was ridiculous too

25-09-2018, 09:50 PM

You've got to say though. If teams that don't deserve to win games do it all the time, then clearly they do deserve to win them. So we need to ask ourselves, what are they doing differently to what we are doing and how can we tweak our game plans to ensure we come out on top instead?

We're as good as we can reasonably expect to be when we've lost the players we have, and much better than we've been for most of my time watching Hibs.

I'll take that for now.

Few injuries from tonight though and we're struggling.

We're looking at potentially playing shaw with only Lewis Allan our only recognised striker on the bench

Where was horgan tonight? He was brilliant against them 3 weeks ago?

This. Find it astonishing Hanlon was taken off too as he was easily our best defender and outlet tonight.

We never shat the bed we dominated and missed chances. Then lost the penalty coin toss.

It only ever looked like one winner in the match.

25-09-2018, 09:51 PM
Because in most other games where we make those chances we will score many of them.

Ok but we didn’t tonight and because of it we’re not going to Hampden.

25-09-2018, 09:51 PM
Bogdan was very good all evening.

Anyone wanting a scapegoat should really look further upfield at the players wielding banjos.

25-09-2018, 09:52 PM
Ok but we didn’t tonight and because of it we’re not going to Hampden.

Thanks for clearing that up I was wondering what happens now.

Stevie missing the first penalty didn’t help mentally though, it was a bit of an up hill struggle until Bogdan saved 1. I had that feeling that we wouldn’t win when it came to penalties.

Anyway, onwards and upwards, time to concentrate on the league, and worry about the SC games when they come.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

You've got to say though. If teams that don't deserve to win games do it all the time, then clearly they do deserve to win them. So we need to ask ourselves, what are they doing differently to what we are doing and how can we tweak our game plans to ensure we come out on top instead?

You do know i was not meaning the same team winning all the time?

25-09-2018, 09:53 PM
You’re a disgrace.

No, I'm not. Take your hibsing it chat and go away. Losing a game on ****ing penalties after playing well is Hibsing it? Poor excuse for a supporter you are.

mcohibs
25-09-2018, 09:53 PM
This. Find it astonishing Hanlon was taken off too as he was easily our best defender and outlet tonight.

Can only assume he took a knock maybe because he’s also one of our consistent penalty takers

Fritz
25-09-2018, 09:54 PM

Right, so we lose a 1/4 final on penalties after dominating the game against the 2nd best team in Scotland for the last 4 years, and that's ***ting the bed is it? Our record of getting to cup semi finals and finals over the last 10 years must be better than just about any team other than celtic. And yes we haven't won them all, but I bet fans of other teams would love to s**t the bed as often as we have.

25-09-2018, 09:54 PM

I'll take that for now.

And I see that view but I see it differently.

When we won the cup in 2007, Collins said a club of Hibs size can’t wait another 16 years to win a trophy, if it wants to progress.

We left it another 9.

We’re now two years since the last one. Momentum gets lost in these periods as a club.

We’ve been pumped out by sub standard sheep sides twice now.

So when we complain about who we’re bringing in in the next window compared to other clubs around us, we can point to nights like this when a crap side got the job done and we lost out Home record.

Silky
25-09-2018, 09:55 PM

Hoof? Cynical fouling? Yeah, let's tweak things and play that way.

25-09-2018, 09:56 PM
Hanlon was injured with about 10 mins to go of normal time

Picked up and injury in the second half.

No we don’t. We normally get knocked out before winning a cup.

The team played well and dominated the sheep until the final third.

It’s not good enough.

Apart from the bigots, thats the case for every other club in Scotland.

We created many many chances tonight, and were clearly doing that in the final 3rd, we missed them, im off to hang myself.

Hibs4185
I haven’t read any of the posts before but it’s must say if we preform like that every game we will finish the league very high up.

We dominated and made aberdeen look amateurish at times. They are a tidy professional team and seeing mcinnes face after the penalties made me feel sick but I know we are far the better team. It’s not even close.

The lineup wasn’t the strongest I think but our football tonight was fantastic tonight. We have nothing to fear against any team in the spfl

You do know i was not meaning the same team winning all the time?

I knew what you meant. But there's no getting around the fact that Aberdeen did what they needed to do tonight to get through. They're not going to care how ugly or "anti-football" it was. They're already laughing their way back up north.

It's no secret that we as a club have a habit of losing to teams who "didn't deserve to win". So we need to take a serious look into why this keeps happening to us more than any other club. Clearly we're doing certain things wrong over and over again and these things are not being addressed.

Here, can anyone explain what the whole starting Lewis Allan against Livingston and never seeing the boy again was all about? Strange one

25-09-2018, 09:57 PM
Hoof? Cynical fouling? Yeah, let's tweak things and play that way.

Would you honestly care if it had gotten us through tonight? Would you be on here complaining about our win, because we didn't do it the "Hibs way"?

25-09-2018, 09:57 PM

When we won the cup in 2007, Collins said a club of Hibs size can’t wait another 16 years to win a trophy, if it wants to progress.

We left it another 9.

We’re now two years since the last one. Momentum gets lost in these periods as a club.

So when we complain about who we’re bringing in in the next window compared to other clubs around us, we can point to nights like this when a crap side got the job done and we lost out Home record.

So Collins was right. And we won within 10 years. You’re coming across as a right tool

25-09-2018, 09:58 PM
Total robbery. There's only one team that tried to win that game and it sure wasnt Aberdeen. Leveinesque that.

hhibs
25-09-2018, 09:58 PM

He does have a point ,just not great at presentation ,particularly if he is actually 83 it has been a hard furrow to plough going back over those years,believe me.

For me six decades of Hibs and I really hoped we were turning the corner on coming up just short.

In short, it hurts,hopefully NL can fire them up and,lets get another striker in ffs

25-09-2018, 09:59 PM

Better teams than us will lose in sudden death penalties, I'm not panicking about the Hibs of old returning just yet.

The stats about us vs Aberdeen since we were promoted aren't great but they were a good side last season so no harm in them matching us in games. This season we need to learn from tonight and not make the same mistakes in the league.

I knew what you meant. But there's no getting around the fact that Aberdeen did what they needed to do tonight to get through. They're not going to care how ugly or "anti-football" it was. They're already laughing their way back up north.

It's no secret that we as a club have a habit of losing to teams who "didn't deserve to win". So we need to take a serious look into why this keeps happening to us more than any other club. Clearly we're doing certain things wrong over and over again and these things are not being addressed.

Not for a while, we have been very consistent over the last 2 seasons. Should we win every game we play, as this is what its getting to here, any defeat is treated like a death in the family and someone should be hung out to dry over it?

Even though I thought Hyndman played quite well, I find it astonishing that Horgan didn't even get a run out. He wasn't injured as he was on the bench. The game could have gone either way IMO, we had far more clear cut chances but Aberdeen had some really good ones too. McGinn's past it, and May just isn't anywhere near as good as a lot of people seem to think. 1 good season at St Johnstone and pretty well bugger all else. We should have beaten Aberdeen today, but we were missing McLaren and I really don't know what Lennon's thinking was by omitting Horgan who has been great since he signed for us. Thought Ambrose was excellent today as well.

OsloHibs
25-09-2018, 10:00 PM
Gutted. They were honking, absolute gash. We should have had it won in full time. Oh well, we've just gotta go for the Scottish cup again!

Total robbery. There's only one team that tried to win that game and it sure wasnt Aberdeen. Leveinesque that.

Well you've got to say. For a team that wasn't trying to win, but still ended up winning anyway is rather impressive. I wish we could win games without even trying.

We were by far the better team in 90 minutes and if Kamberi, Boyle or Shaw had scored their great chances we’d have won with ease. I thought the back 3 were great especially Ambrose who was outstanding. Mallan and Hyndman played well but tired. If there is any blame to be attached to the defeat it’s Lennon not bringing in a fourth striker. I’m a Shaw fan but he’s lost confidence and isn’t ready for an extended run in the team.

Play like that and with composure in front of goal we’ll beat St Mirren on Saturday.

25-09-2018, 10:02 PM
Not for a while, we have been very consistent over the last 2 seasons. Should we win every game we play, as this is what its getting to here, any defeat is treated like a death in the family and someone should be hung out to dry over it?

Not at all. We were going to lose again at home sooner or later and it turned out to be tonight. But that still doesn't mean that questions shouldn't be raised on where we fell short and what we can do better to minimize these outcomes. It's the only way to get better.

Gordy M
25-09-2018, 10:03 PM
Well you've got to say. For a team that wasn't trying to win, but still ended up winning anyway is rather impressive. I wish we could win games without even trying.

Yeh but you cant just decide to completely change the way you play. Aberdeen are set up defensively and that suited them this eve, we cant really play that way because it doesnt play to our strengths. If both teams perform like that over the season im sure we will win more than them.

25-09-2018, 10:05 PM
Can we cut out the personal abuse please?

I really don’t want to spend my night deleting posts and sending out warnings.

Austinho
25-09-2018, 10:06 PM

We left it another 9.

So when we complain about who we’re bringing in in the next window compared to other clubs around us, we can point to nights like this when a crap side got the job done and we lost out Home record.They’ve finished 2nd 4 years in a row, with 3 cup finals and 4 semi finals. But aye, they’re completely sh*te and we have a devine right to pump them every single time. Anything less is completely unacceptable and we should all be chucking our season books into the docks.

Talk about spitting the dummy.

25-09-2018, 10:06 PM
Here, can anyone explain what the whole starting Lewis Allan against Livingston and never seeing the boy again was all about? Strange one

Can anyone explain why you only appear when Hibs get beat?

25-09-2018, 10:07 PM
Yeh but you cant just decide to completely change the way you play. Aberdeen are set up defensively and that suited them this eve, we cant really play that way because it doesnt play to our strengths. If both teams perform like that over the season im sure we will win more than them.

True, but it's not always about playing to our strengths. Sometimes we do need to tweak things in order to play to other teams weaknesses. Sticking to the same game plan over and over again, isn't going to work against every team we play. It's the managers job to assess what we're up against and to put the required plan in place depending on who the opposition are and how he expects them to play against us.

gazzag70
25-09-2018, 10:08 PM
I thought we were excellent tonight over the 90 mins( finishing apart). I feel more positive for the rest of the season as I honestly think when we can get Flo and Mclaren upfront together we have shown enough tonight to suggest we will rip many teams apart. We were by far the better team tonight and as football in general has always shown if you don’t take your chances you may live to regret it. We ARE a better team than Aberdeen and our final league position will show it.

25-09-2018, 10:12 PM

Since then, all of the strikers ahead of him in the pecking order (who were injured, tired, out of sorts or getting up to fitness for the Livi game) have been fit and able to play.

We'll see him again this weekend I reckon, and I hope he takes his opportunity as he did fine in a weak team against Livi.

Gordy M
25-09-2018, 10:14 PM
True, but it's not always about playing to our strengths. Sometimes we do need to tweak things in order to play to other teams weaknesses. Sticking to the same game plan over and over again, isn't going to work against every team we play. It's the managers job to assess what we're up against and to put the required plan in place depending on who the opposition are and how he expects them to play against us.
Im not sure i agree, you play to your strengths because....well they are your strengths. If we sit in, i think we would get beat. We created plenty chances this evening and with a bit of luck or more clinical finishing we would have won easily. Teams fear our attacking, how many 'take one for the team'fouls did they commit this eve...plenty....because they couldnt handle us going forward. Lennon sets up the team to get forwatd and create chances....we did that. You cant really account for the missed chances. It was just one of those nights.

bodhibs
25-09-2018, 10:16 PM
Rodders.

Ah I see, doubt he ever reads the riot act tbh

jakedance
25-09-2018, 10:17 PM
I really enjoyed the game and I thought we played well. Lennon is right about the finishing. You’ve got to take some of those chances.

The refereeing was a disgrace. It’s laughable that in 120 minutes they only got three bookings. Some of the late professional fouls were the clearest bookings you’ll ever see. The one near the end by Shinnie on Agyepong especially. Keeper was also yards of his line for all six penalties.

25-09-2018, 10:17 PM
Can anyone explain why you only appear when Hibs get beat?

It's a mystery

25-09-2018, 10:19 PM
Thanks for clearing that up I was wondering what happens now.

Glad I could help you out.

25-09-2018, 10:21 PM
Wonder if the people calling others bed wetters for saying we should've signed another striker will be handing out any apologies

Who said he’s out for the next game? Your post reeks of bedwetting.

25-09-2018, 10:22 PM
Who said he’s out for the next game? Your post reeks of bedwetting.

Bed wetting that our main goal threat could potentially be out for a few weeks? Then yes I definitely am

25-09-2018, 10:22 PM

Efe was our top man at the back tonight imo.

25-09-2018, 10:23 PM
Glad I could help you out.

I can turn the tv off now.

25-09-2018, 10:24 PM

Strolled it, cracking player

25-09-2018, 10:25 PM
I can turn the tv off now.

Give me a shout if you need a hand.

25-09-2018, 10:26 PM

Efe was the best player on the pitch by quite a distance tonight I’d say.

25-09-2018, 10:26 PM

You’re too kind

Mr Grieves
25-09-2018, 10:27 PM

They were both brilliant tonight.

25-09-2018, 10:27 PM

This isn't :tsk tsk:date night ffs

25-09-2018, 10:28 PM
This isn't :tsk tsk:date night ffs

Ménage a trois? 😘

Gordy M
25-09-2018, 10:28 PM
Bed wetting that our main goal threat could potentially be out for a few weeks? Then yes I definitely am

Not sure any team in the SPL could cope with their main 2 strikers out, if that happens. The jambos were complaining on sat cos they had one striker out....and they signed about 50 in the summer. I cant remember the last 4th striker that did a job for us.....maybe lennon decided it would be a wasted wage as he wouldnt really play unless we had injuries, so put the cash towards Agyepong or Horgan or Milligan???

25-09-2018, 10:30 PM
You’re too kind

I try.

25-09-2018, 10:31 PM

Wow!

25-09-2018, 10:32 PM
Ménage a trois? 😘

You two bash on :faf:

25-09-2018, 10:34 PM
Not sure any team in the SPL could cope with their main 2 strikers out, if that happens. The jambos were complaining on sat cos they had one striker out....and they signed about 50 in the summer. I cant remember the last 4th striker that did a job for us.....maybe lennon decided it would be a wasted wage as he wouldnt really play unless we had injuries, so put the cash towards Agyepong or Horgan or Milligan???

Agyepong and Boyle can play up front with Horgan, Whittaker, Hyndman and potentially Nelson covering those positions so not signing another striker when you've three in contention isn't too bizarre a decision. It's a gamble but if Flo and Mac are fit all season and performing as they did Jan to May then whoever you sign isn't playing, is using up and wage and is potentially unhappy.

Gordy M
25-09-2018, 10:36 PM
Agyepong and Boyle can play up front with Horgan, Whittaker, Hyndman and potentially Nelson covering those positions so not signing another striker when you've three in contention isn't too bizarre a decision. It's a gamble but if Flo and Mac are fit all season and performing as they did Jan to May then whoever you sign isn't playing, is using up and wage and is potentially unhappy.

Yep that was my point:aok:

25-09-2018, 10:36 PM
Im not sure i agree, you play to your strengths because....well they are your strengths. If we sit in, i think we would get beat. We created plenty chances this evening and with a bit of luck or more clinical finishing we would have won easily. Teams fear our attacking, how many 'take one for the team'fouls did they commit this eve...plenty....because they couldnt handle us going forward. Lennon sets up the team to get forwatd and create chances....we did that. You cant really account for the missed chances. It was just one of those nights.

Sometimes our strengths are not our strengths depending on who we are playing. Aberdeen knew we'd give them a right good go tonight and planned accordingly in order to deal with this. They implimented a strategy that is commonly used by Hearts in edinburgh derbies. I doubt Aberdeen would play this way against every team in the league, they'll change their game plan depending on who their opposition are to maximize their chances of getting a favourable result against them. Their plan was to frustrate us tonight and make our players feel nervy in front of goal and it worked.

We need to adapt as a club and implement multiple strategies. Having only one playing style just doesn't cut it in the modern game. We're the Arsenal of Scottish Football. Too stubborn to do things differently when the situation calls for it and ultimately falling short as a result.

Gordy M
25-09-2018, 10:41 PM
Sometimes our strengths are not our strengths depending on who we are playing. Aberdeen knew we'd give them a right good go tonight and planned accordingly in order to deal with this. They implimented a strategy that is commonly used by Hearts in edinburgh derbies. I doubt Aberdeen would play this way against every team in the league, they'll change their game plan depending on who their opposition are to maximize their chances of getting a favourable result against them. Their plan was to frustrate us tonight and make our players feel nervy in front of goal and it worked.

We need to adapt as a club and implement multiple strategies. Having only one playing style just doesn't cut it in the modern game. We're the Arsenal of Scottish Football. Too stubborn to do things differently when the situation calls for it and ultimately falling short as a result.

Aberdeen will play like that against every team in the top 6. They dont really have another game plan whenever ive seen them tbh(which isnt a lot i grant you). They sit in and hope to catch teams on the break. Its not about being stubborn....Lennon sets us up to have the best chance of winning surely? We created plenty chances so it worked....was just that the finishing was off. If the finishing is off im not sure how any tactics rectify that?? What could we have done differently tactically this eve to win the game?

25-09-2018, 10:44 PM
Very disappointing result, could be an expensive defeat in terms of progressing and injuries too sadly. Lots of effort and industry but very (obviously) wasteful and Lennon cannot be happy with the chances not taken. We need a physical striker and we need one in now. Can't go a season with just three first team strikers I'm afraid, especially already into the season two have been (and now are) injured - and with three wide men we need a threat in the box from set pieces and crosses.

I have to say I was also a little unhappy none of the players went to console TA after his miss and left him hanging disconsolately whilst Aberdeen players celebrated around him........think it was big Marvin that went to him :aok: (and maybe Lewy) but surely the team could have rallied around him quicker. The fans were superb, even in defeat, take a bow too :agree:.

Milligan looks a real find have to say and Hyndman played really well. Aberdeen and McInnes know they won a raffle tonight but our lads only have themselves to blame and it's a really hard learning curve for the younger ones.

SideBurns
25-09-2018, 10:45 PM

Their strategy only worked because our finishing was shocking. If you can't score you don't deserve to win but they were extremely lucky to take the tie to penalties. We played superbly right up to the rather important part of the game which involves putting the ball in the net, but there was nowt wrong with our style of play!!

25-09-2018, 10:46 PM
Thought Hibs looked really good for the most part, and some of the movement and passes into the runners were superb. Im delighted with how the team is rebuilding, on another night we score 2 or 3. Apart from the eventual result, that was about as entertaining as a 0-0 gets. Really enjoyed the performance from pretty much everyone.

Hope Flo didnt pick up an injury. I suppose our silverware will have to come from the other Cup then.. :cb

25-09-2018, 10:47 PM
I really enjoyed the game and I thought we played well. Lennon is right about the finishing. You’ve got to take some of those chances.

The refereeing was a disgrace. It’s laughable that in 120 minutes they only got three bookings. Some of the late professional fouls were the clearest bookings you’ll ever see. The one near the end by Shinnie on Agyepong especially. Keeper was also yards of his line for all six penalties.
Shinnie got away with murder all night. He could have been sent off a few times for the yellows the ref chose not to dish out.

25-09-2018, 10:47 PM
Here, can anyone explain what the whole starting Lewis Allan against Livingston and never seeing the boy again was all about? Strange oneAsked that earlier pre match?? Utterly bizarre...he's not been seen since despite the fact we had no striker on bench 2nite??

25-09-2018, 10:48 PM
Their strategy only worked because our finishing was shocking. If you can't score you don't deserve to win but they were extremely lucky to take the tie to penalties. We played superbly right up to the rather important part of the game which involves putting the ball in the net, but there was nowt wrong with our style of play!!

Agree. Their strategy was to contain us which they more or less failed to do.

25-09-2018, 10:52 PM
Not sure any team in the SPL could cope with their main 2 strikers out, if that happens. The jambos were complaining on sat cos they had one striker out....and they signed about 50 in the summer. I cant remember the last 4th striker that did a job for us.....maybe lennon decided it would be a wasted wage as he wouldnt really play unless we had injuries, so put the cash towards Agyepong or Horgan or Milligan???I agree with u mate but surely we could have signed someone a bit more ready for regular 1st team action than Shaw...that's 2 games recently against the Dons he's looked a wee bit out his depth...and he's our 3rd choice striker??

We are heavily relying on both Flo and Jamie Mac and it's looking like we are gonna have played a whole round of fixtures without being able to start them both in same team. Bad luck yes but it's the weakest part of our squad where we don't have adequate cover imo.

We were great tonight and should have easily won that match...finishing cost us and not having a striker to bring in when Flo was clearly done in .

25-09-2018, 10:53 PM
Very disappointing result, could be an expensive defeat in terms of progressing and injuries too sadly. Lots of effort and industry but very (obviously) wasteful and Lennon cannot be happy with the chances not taken. We need a physical striker and we need one in now. Can't go a season with just three first team strikers I'm afraid, especially already into the season two have been (and now are) injured - and with three wide men we need a threat in the box from set pieces and crosses.

I have to say I was also a little unhappy none of the players went to console TA after his miss and left him hanging disconsolately whilst Aberdeen players celebrated around him........think it was big Marvin that went to him :aok: (and maybe Lewy) but surely the team could have rallied around him quicker. The fans were superb, even in defeat, take a bow too :agree:.

Milligan looks a real find have to say and Hyndman played really well. Aberdeen and McInnes know they won a raffle tonight but our lads only have themselves to blame and it's a really hard learning curve for the younger ones.

Lewis was the first one to get to TA to console him, the rest of the team followed pretty quickly

Turkish Green
25-09-2018, 10:54 PM
I am no phychologist but a team that dominated a game for 120 minutes is going to be a tad deflated having to go into penalties while a team that survived being under the screw for 120 minutes would be delighted to reach penalties.

Hibs needed to win in regular time.

25-09-2018, 10:58 PM
Lewis was the first one to get to TA to console him, the rest of the team followed pretty quickly

I saw Lewis and Marv but I think the team could have got to him a lot quicker HG........hate seeing a lad left hanging like that. Maybe me being a wee bit fickle right enough but it felt like he was left standing there for a while.

25-09-2018, 11:47 PM
The lack of Horgan was odd. Boyle was miles off it tonight. Massively surprised he played the whole game.

26-09-2018, 05:58 AM
Not at all. We were going to lose again at home sooner or later and it turned out to be tonight. But that still doesn't mean that questions shouldn't be raised on where we fell short and what we can do better to minimize these outcomes. It's the only way to get better.

Apart from finishing better, what else could we have done to win that game last night? :confused:

26-09-2018, 07:12 AM
Apart from finishing better, what else could we have done to win that game last night? :confused:

That is a pretty important thing to be fair.

I’ll also say poor decision making cost us as well though. Players took the the wrong option on more than one occasion when we opened them up.

26-09-2018, 09:16 AM
I spent a lot of the game watching Flo's off the ball movement. The boy is a joy to watch, drawing his marker away from danger areas and then at the critical moment a quick dash into those danger areas leaving his marker stranded.

If his teammates learn to anticipate his runs and he stays fit he'll score bags of goals for us.

26-09-2018, 09:36 AM
I spent a lot of the game watching Flo's off the ball movement. The boy is a joy to watch, drawing his marker away from danger areas and then at the critical moment a quick dash into those danger areas leaving his marker stranded.

If his teammates learn to anticipate his runs and he stays fit he'll score bags of goals for us.

You're dead right, he brings so much more to the side than just scoring goals. I love how at various points in a game he will hold the ball up, look like he is getting into difficulty, get swamped by the two or three defenders he draws to himself and then slip a release ball once their attention has opened up space. His work rate when we don't have possession is exemplary too.

26-09-2018, 09:48 AM

I think that is a terrible take on last night and the worst thing we could have done or that we should take from the game's outcome would be the notion that we should have played differently. Lennon's tactics were spot-on and the only thing we need to change was to have any one of the goal opportunities be taken. Nine times out of ten we would win that game comfortably making all those chances, regardless of the opposition.

Whether people like it or not this was always going to be a team in transition following the huge turmoil of the loss of McGinn, McGoogle, Scott Allan and Barker from last season - that was a midfield that would would be a hell of a unit in any other team in Scotland and in many leagues beyond. The fact that we have replaced them and are already looking this good so quickly speaks volumes for the quality of players we have signed, the astuteness of Lennon's tactics and team set up and the spirit of the squad.

I don't have an ounce of disappointment about last night. The same outcome in the Scottish Cup later in the season would be a different story but I expect us to be motoring powerfully by then, as I think we are already beginning to do in fact.

An unexpected bonus has been Bogdan. He's really looking the part and having serious competition between him and Rocky for the No 1 jersey is another big step forward.

Mr_F
26-09-2018, 09:49 AM

That's another reason not gettin SA back is a huge loss

26-09-2018, 12:29 PM
I think that is a terrible take on last night and the worst thing we could have done or that we should take from the game's outcome would be the notion that we should have played differently. Lennon's tactics were spot-on and the only thing we need to change was to have any one of the goal opportunities be taken. Nine times out of ten we would win that game comfortably making all those chances, regardless of the opposition.

Whether people like it or not this was always going to be a team in transition following the huge turmoil of the loss of McGinn, McGoogle, Scott Allan and Barker from last season - that was a midfield that would would be a hell of a unit in any other team in Scotland and in many leagues beyond. The fact that we have replaced them and are already looking this good so quickly speaks volumes for the quality of players we have signed, the astuteness of Lennon's tactics and team set up and the spirit of the squad.

I don't have an ounce of disappointment about last night. The same outcome in the Scottish Cup later in the season would be a different story but I expect us to be motoring powerfully by then, as I think we are already beginning to do in fact.

An unexpected bonus has been Bogdan. He's really looking the part and having serious competition between him and Rocky for the No 1 jersey is another big step forward.

The new players have already made me forget all about McGoogle to be fair

26-09-2018, 12:37 PM

Our overall decision making in the final 3rd was poor. Other top 6 sides would have destroyed Aberdeen last night as they would have been far more clinical. Fans dribbling on about how beautiful our play was is utterly irrelevant. The number one priority is to win the game and we didn't do that. Sometimes you just have to force the ball over the line, regardless of how ugly it looks. We tend not to do that too much.

26-09-2018, 12:39 PM
The new players have already made me forget all about McGoogle to be fair

Aye, McGiggity was good but the new guys are already fitting in well in a very short period of time. And their surnames are much simpler. Giggity.

26-09-2018, 12:42 PM
Aye, McGiggity was good but the new guys are already fitting in well in a very short period of time. And their surnames are much simpler. Giggity.

Yeah, no way you can get Mellon’s name wrong!

26-09-2018, 01:09 PM
Yeah, no way you can get Mellon’s name wrong!

I won't tolerate any criticism of Muldoon.

26-09-2018, 01:22 PM

We played 433 on Saturday and changed it for last night. We change shape and formation during games and have done frequently under Lennon.

Aberdeen's strategy failed last night, IMHO - hoping to go through on penalty kicks isn't a sustainable approach, and their defence was not good last night. I would say their defence was good if our 20-odd shots had been half-chances, or long range efforts when nothing else was on, but we're talking about a game where we missed several sitters, had the ball in the net twice, and carved them open time and time again.

I know the old 'if your auntie had baws she'd be your uncle' line, but if we had our shooting boots on last night, Aberdeen could have easily shipped four goals from the clearest of our chances that we created. That is not an example of good defending.

They didn't plan to make our players nervy in front of goal, we made bad decisions or executed good decisions badly. That (IMHO) wasn't down to a tactic deployed by Aberdeen.

Aberdeen went through on the finest of margins, a penalty hitting the underside of the bar and bouncing the wrong side of the line (for us), you're talking millimeters here. They're in the next round and with cup games that's all that matters, but they're not there because of an effective strategy or good defending or any of that, they're there because when it mattered we let them off the hook.

26-09-2018, 01:26 PM
Our overall decision making in the final 3rd was poor. Other top 6 sides would have destroyed Aberdeen last night as they would have been far more clinical. Fans dribbling on about how beautiful our play was is utterly irrelevant. The number one priority is to win the game and we didn't do that. Sometimes you just have to force the ball over the line, regardless of how ugly it looks. We tend not to do that too much.

Sorry, not picking on your posts but this post - really??

Last night was the first time since we lost to Rangers at the turn of the year where we've totally dominated but failed to score the goals to take something from the game.

We've scored tons of goals - said it already on this thread, but we put five past Rangers not so long ago, a week after putting five past Killie. We scored three in each of our two games leading into this game and have only scored fewer than two goals domestically at Easter Road 2 or 3 times this year.

26-09-2018, 03:08 PM

Which other top 6 club would have opened them up and created as many chances as we did, and i include both bigots here?

And as for the rest of your drivel, over the last calendar year we are top of the league in points won, couple that with how many points we won in the division below, and i'd say we force the ball over the line a lot more than you give this team credit.

We missed a lot of chances last night, apparently if we had another experienced player on the books, that would have made all the difference, someone like big dave or eh no i cant think of anyone we've signed in years who would have been our 4th experienced centre forward?

26-09-2018, 03:13 PM
I thought boyle struggled a bit last night.Possibly still feeling effects from injury on saturday

26-09-2018, 04:58 PM
Match is currently being repeated on BT1, 15 minutes in, still 0-0 :greengrin

26-09-2018, 05:06 PM
Match is currently being repeated on BT1, 15 minutes in, still 0-0 :greengrin

I really hope we show more commitment tonight than last night...