View Full Version : Aberdeen attendance

ivan03
23-09-2018, 01:05 PM
Games on TV but it’s a quarter final, under the lights at Easter Road against Aberdeen! Hopefully going to be a big crowd. Any dot counters?

23-09-2018, 01:07 PM
Under 12k.

23-09-2018, 01:10 PM
Its easer to count the seats sold in FFL, shocking uptake.

23-09-2018, 01:13 PM
Shame if we don't get a decent crowd.

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

Bob Box Fish
23-09-2018, 01:16 PM
We should get 11-12k for this.

Big game, winnable competition and more money if we get to the semi.

23-09-2018, 01:21 PM
Piss poor if we don't get a big crowd, these are the games we all want.

23-09-2018, 01:37 PM
Only 591 seats sold in FFL, told you it was easier to count the ones sold rather than the ones available. Terrible uptake for a quarter final.

Meanwhile Hearts sales for their match v Motherwell looking far healthier than ours and their tickets are a flat £18 and £8 across all the stands. Tickets in their end for the derby are also sold out.

23-09-2018, 01:41 PM
Only 591 seats sold in FFL, told you it was easier to count the ones sold rather than the ones available. Terrible uptake for a quarter final.

There must be better ways to spend a Sunday afternoon.

23-09-2018, 01:42 PM
There must be better ways to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Sundays are for hangovers, super Sunday on the tele and dot counting...

23-09-2018, 01:50 PM

Meanwhile Hearts sales for their match v Motherwell looking far healthier than ours and their tickets are a flat £18 and £8 across all the stands. Tickets in their end for the derby are also sold out.

That's not a great comparison since the Hearts game isn't on TV.

I'm also not sure what relevance there is to the point about their derby tickets selling out. I'm pretty sure our tickets for derbies at Easter Road sold out with weeks to spare last season. I'm also pretty sure the same will happen this season.

23-09-2018, 02:29 PM

Don't think I have ever seen anyone who cares about people sat on seats in football grounds as much as you.

Crazy. The crowd will be fine. Midweek games are harder to get to but everyone who turns up will be up for it. Mon Hibs. I'll be at the semi final if we get through.

23-09-2018, 07:53 PM
Just out of interest pre 2016 what would we have expected for this game? 10-12k??

I reckon the gate will be about 14k

23-09-2018, 07:56 PM
What was crowd the last time we met Aberdeen in the LC 2015?

23-09-2018, 07:56 PM
Just out of interest pre 2016 what would we have expected for this game? 10-12k??

I reckon the gate will be about 14k

What was the attendance in the "Malonga game"? The east stand was rammed i remember. Think it was a good crowd.

23-09-2018, 08:00 PM
Just over 11K at the 2015 LC game.

Gaffer1875
23-09-2018, 08:28 PM
I’m in London Tuesday so delighted it’s on tv, what channel?

23-09-2018, 08:30 PM
I’m in London Tuesday so delighted it’s on tv, what channel?

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkBT Sport 1 / BT Sport 4K UHD

Gaffer1875
23-09-2018, 08:34 PM
BT Sport 1 / BT Sport 4K UHD

Robbo6-2
23-09-2018, 10:36 PM
No dot counter but it looks like we haven't even sold 5 thousand yet.

houstonhibbee
24-09-2018, 02:09 AM
No dot counter but it looks like we haven't even sold 5 thousand yet.
Can we cope with a lot of folk turning up to patg?

24-09-2018, 04:45 AM
I haven’t got my ticket yet, it just seems to have sneaked up! With it being a couple of days before pay day a lot of folk could be toiling.

24-09-2018, 07:51 AM
I bought a student ticket along with 2 adult tickets - do they automatically go to be collected from the TO as I need to show them my matriculation card? Their wasn't a print at home option on the screen.

24-09-2018, 08:29 AM
Just got mine and looking forward to it.

24-09-2018, 08:39 AM
We only sold 11 thousand for a league cup semi final last season so a poor crowd here isn't a huge surprise

Aim Here
24-09-2018, 08:43 AM
I bought a student ticket along with 2 adult tickets - do they automatically go to be collected from the TO as I need to show them my matriculation card? Their wasn't a print at home option on the screen.

Depends on whether the Ticket Office have you down as a student already. If you've bought a ticket before and flashed them a matric card, they note that on the system for future reference.

24-09-2018, 08:43 AM

Would've been a perfect time to trial the singing/standing section in the 3 blocks behind the goal.

24-09-2018, 09:01 AM
Despite being on sale for weeks and at discounted pricing initially, there will still be queues inching along at snails pace at ticket office on the night. Doesn’t make a lot of sense to me but all will have their reasons for doing so I guess. Hoping Saturdays result and and encouraging performance can persuade a few switherers to get along. Has all the makings of a great game and Lennon and the team deserve the big crowds that we have enjoyed in recent times. Tomorrow shouldn’t be any different.

24-09-2018, 09:09 AM

Meanwhile Hearts sales for their match v Motherwell looking far healthier than ours and their tickets are a flat £18 and £8 across all the stands. Tickets in their end for the derby are also sold out.Some of us actually work away during the week so struggle to make midweek matches....it's not just as easy as deciding not to go as you make it sound...fortunately I can go this week but miss the next 2 league games due to work commitments...I do hope that's OK with you???

24-09-2018, 09:33 AM
Some of us actually work away during the week so struggle to make midweek matches....it's not just as easy as deciding not to go as you make it sound...fortunately I can go this week but miss the next 2 league games due to work commitments...I do hope that's OK with you???

Completely unacceptable behaviour on your part. You should be hanging your head in shame.

24-09-2018, 09:37 AM
1. Its a school night. possible ET and Penalties. Real parents put their kids education before football unlike some of the fanatics in shell suits
2. Its a Tuesday. These games should be played on Saturdays or Sundays.
3. Its extra expense for people who may already have streched for a season ticket and its before payday.

24-09-2018, 09:42 AM
and we also had European games to fork out for.

bookert
24-09-2018, 09:55 AM

My son and I are going - normal season ticket seats. My granddaughter wants to go and the two seats next to us are free. Great you think, but the ticket system want let me purchase a single seat which then leaves a seat on its own unfilled. I understand that (I think) for games that may be close to selling out, as it may be difficult to sell single seats, but is clearly unhelpful in this case when the crowd is going to be poor anyway.

24-09-2018, 10:10 AM
Completely unacceptable behaviour on your part. You should be hanging your head in shame.Absolutely...I'm completely ashen faced as we speak [emoji33][emoji33]

24-09-2018, 10:10 AM
1. Its a school night. possible ET and Penalties. Real parents put their kids education before football unlike some of the fanatics in shell suits.

Ohhh ya! Prepare yourself.

24-09-2018, 10:13 AM
1. Its a school night. possible ET and Penalties. Real parents put their kids education before football unlike some of the fanatics in shell suits
3. Its extra expense for people who may already have streched for a season ticket and its before payday.

Your kids go to school in the evening? That's unusual.

24-09-2018, 10:35 AM
I see the semi finals are scheduled for the weekend 27/28 October.

If we get past Aberdeen we are due to meet der Hun on Sunday 28th with a 12.15 k.o, presumably for TV.

I take it that match will be rescheduled and we may just have a Hampden date with them that weekend.

itslegaltender
24-09-2018, 10:45 AM
If (when) we win tomorrow night and get to semi, season ticket holders should get no more than 1 ticket per person allocation for the semi given their uptake on this one.

24-09-2018, 10:47 AM
I see the semi finals are scheduled for the weekend 27/28 October.

If we get past Aberdeen we are due to meet der Hun on Sunday 28th with a 12.15 k.o, presumably for TV.

I take it that match will be rescheduled and we may just have a Hampden date with them that weekend.

Yes it would be rescheduled

24-09-2018, 10:54 AM
Really surprised at the low turn out for a cup quarter final which is definitely winnable. If this game was against Hearts or The Rangers im sure this would have sold out weeks ago. Personally I'm buzzing for it tomorrow :agree:

24-09-2018, 10:59 AM

Kids will receive anywhere between 11 and 18 years of education so if their education is failing then it is probably due to some greater issue than a few late nights at the football.

This shell suit fanatic managed to complete secondary school and attain a couple of degrees despite attending some night games at Easter Road along the way.

24-09-2018, 11:01 AM
Some of us actually work away during the week so struggle to make midweek matches....it's not just as easy as deciding not to go as you make it sound...fortunately I can go this week but miss the next 2 league games due to work commitments...I do hope that's OK with you???

Yes I know, I can be away with work up to 6 nights a week. In fact, I'll be going straight to work after the game.

Steven79
24-09-2018, 11:03 AM
My son and I are going - normal season ticket seats. My granddaughter wants to go and the two seats next to us are free. Great you think, but the ticket system want let me purchase a single seat which then leaves a seat on its own unfilled. I understand that (I think) for games that may be close to selling out, as it may be difficult to sell single seats, but is clearly unhelpful in this case when the crowd is going to be poor anyway.

Just give the ticket office a quick phone and ask them to waive the fee as it's the system that won't let you.

24-09-2018, 11:05 AM
Would've been a perfect time to trial the singing/standing section in the 3 blocks behind the goal.

It would have however the club chose to piss them off and now they've not been to the last 3 or 4 games.

24-09-2018, 11:08 AM

Absolutely ridiculous comment about fellow Hibs fans.

Arch Stanton
24-09-2018, 11:35 AM
Kids will receive anywhere between 11 and 18 years of education so if their education is failing then it is probably due to some greater issue than a few late nights at the football.

This shell suit fanatic managed to complete secondary school and attain a couple of degrees despite attending some night games at Easter Road along the way.

Really? I hadn't realised that shell suits could be that warm.

btw - everybody completes secondary school, one way or another. :greengrin

penihibs
24-09-2018, 11:36 AM
It would have however the club chose to piss them off and now they've not been to the last 3 or 4 games. Really quiet from big away support on Saturday, missed the young guys enthusiasm.
Hope they are back for tomorrow and Paisley at the weekend they do make a difference.

24-09-2018, 11:59 AM
It would have however the club chose to piss them off and now they've not been to the last 3 or 4 games.

They were at the Killie game weren't they?

24-09-2018, 11:59 AM
If (when) we win tomorrow night and get to semi, season ticket holders should get no more than 1 ticket per person allocation for the semi given their uptake on this one.

What about the season ticket holders that turn up on the night but haven't bought a ticket in advance or the season ticket holders that have bought a ticket, do we all only get 1 ticket for the semi if we get there ?

24-09-2018, 12:02 PM
I've never seen a Hibs fan in a shell suit

Feel like I'm missing out

24-09-2018, 12:04 PM

And folk that usually just walk up shouldn’t be allowed a ticket at all for the semi given their uptake for this one.

24-09-2018, 12:31 PM
I've never seen a Hibs fan in a shell suit

Feel like I'm missing out

Maybe in 1984-85?

Can't say I've seen many at games since then.

---------------------------

Maybe I should be wearing one tomorrow, as I'm going to the game straight after work and would be amazed if I'm home before midnight.

I'm obviously an Über Fan, deserving of a Shellsuit. :-)

24-09-2018, 12:38 PM

They were at the Killie game weren't they?

Bouncer Ross (I think) got married that weekend, leading to roughly 20 of the usual bunch missing the game. He posted that on here a couple of days after. It had nothing to do with any boycott.

TBF, there were literally thousands of empty seats in the home stands at that match, meaning the atmosphere was quiet subdued overall, not just in the FF Upper.

wpj
24-09-2018, 12:38 PM
Shell suits hahaha no need at all. Honking gear

24-09-2018, 12:40 PM
Shell suits hahaha no need at all. Honking gear

I take it you've never seen Scouse Hibby at Easter Road

https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0023/6178/6426/products/80s-height-of-fashion-shell-suit-costume-blue_900x.jpg?v=1525081336

Chic Murray
24-09-2018, 12:46 PM

My two won't be there, there are chimneys to be cleaned, and my ale to pay for.

24-09-2018, 12:51 PM
Maybe in 1984-85?

Can't say I've seen many at games since then.

---------------------------

Maybe I should be wearing one tomorrow, as I'm going to the game straight after work and would be amazed if I'm home before midnight.

I'm obviously an Über Fan, deserving of a Shellsuit. :-)

Wisnae even born then :greengrin

24-09-2018, 12:52 PM
Wisnae even born then :greengrin

24-09-2018, 01:10 PM
I’m going.

Might even buy a new shell suit for the occasion.

24-09-2018, 01:23 PM

24-09-2018, 01:25 PM
Would really hope folk do what they can to get there tomorrow night. Midweek games under the lights have been cracking over the last few years, more so with a big home support.

The team deserve a big crowd, imho.

24-09-2018, 01:53 PM
Would really hope folk do what they can to get there tomorrow night. Midweek games under the lights have been cracking over the last few years, more so with a big home support.

The team deserve a big crowd, imho.

They do

And if we win we’ve got another Hampden trip to look forward to! :greengrin

24-09-2018, 02:48 PM
Let's see a big support in the Leith San Siro for this one

Milligan's first home start...

2 flying wingers...

A dead ball specialist...

A goal hungry striker (or two, if Jamie Mac is fit to partner Flo)

And a decent travelling support

All under the Easter Road lights

And all yours to enjoy

24-09-2018, 03:23 PM
It's an expensive time to follow Hibs. That's not a 'I wish we were still crap' or 'I'm to tight to buy a ticket' statement which some folk like to make out it is, it's just a fact.

A ST holder who has attended all the LC games, Europa games and Hanlons testimonal would have shelled out £500+ already this season and we are still in September. That's not sustainable for everyone so there will be times when something has to give. I used to be pretty dogmatic about these things but I understand why people can't make every game, missing a football match isn't a crime and I don't think it's about deciding the team deserves support or otherwise. If people can't make it then they can't make it and it's nobodies business why.

24-09-2018, 03:40 PM
It's an expensive time to follow Hibs. That's not a 'I wish we were still crap' or 'I'm to tight to buy a ticket' statement which some folk like to make out it is, it's just a fact.

A ST holder who has attended all the LC games, Europa games and Hanlons testimonal would have shelled out £500+ already this season and we are still in September. That's not sustainable for everyone so there will be times when something has to give. I used to be pretty dogmatic about these things but I understand why people can't make every game, missing a football match isn't a crime and I don't think it's about deciding the team deserves support or otherwise. If people can't make it then they can't make it and it's nobodies business why.Spot on ...still think the pricing for both this and the Ross Co matches could have been a bit more sensible given the Euro ties etc (I know it's not just Hibs decision) and I have attended both but it's not been a cheap couple of months for us all

24-09-2018, 03:40 PM
If (when) we win tomorrow night and get to semi, season ticket holders should get no more than 1 ticket per person allocation for the semi given their uptake on this one.So I should suffer because others didn't buy tickets? Sounds fair right enough[emoji1785][emoji1785]

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

24-09-2018, 03:48 PM
It is an expensive hobby following a Neil Lennon Hibs team, we all know that.
But tomorrow night you can see a Neil Lennon Hibs side reach another Hampden Semi (Hearts have not been there since 2013)
For those who tholed the Alex Miller Years, the Butcher time, Colin Calderwood and all the rest, this is a great time to be watching an exuberant Hibs team.
Appreciate it's a juggling act financially, but this team is worth it IMO

Let's see a big support in the Leith San Siro for this one

Milligan's first home start...

2 flying wingers...

A dead ball specialist...

A goal hungry striker (or two, if Jamie Mac is fit to partner Flo)

And a decent travelling support

All under the Easter Road lights

And all yours to enjoy

24-09-2018, 04:08 PM
still carrying a cold which forced me to miss the killie game(that turned in to a £23 donation to the club) but realising it's on the tellybox has made my mind up for tomorrow...ticket cancelled i'm afraid, i do enjoy the floodlit games though..sigh :(

24-09-2018, 04:42 PM

If it goes to Pens they wouldnt get home until past eleven o'clock and that is way passed my bedtime never mind theirs😴😴😴😴

24-09-2018, 04:58 PM
If it goes to Pens they wouldnt get home until past eleven o'clock and that is way passed my bedtime never mind theirs😴😴😴😴

Some of my most memorable games as a nipper were those midweek games under the lights, it’s a shame yours will be deprived while the shell suit kids will be making memories.

24-09-2018, 05:12 PM
Do we need to have threads about crowd size nearly every week?

I've bought a couple of tickets for tomorrow but in a parallel universe I'd have saved my dosh and would be watching it on the telly. Either option is acceptable and people shouldn't feel the need to explain why they can't make certain games.

24-09-2018, 05:36 PM
If (when) we win tomorrow night and get to semi, season ticket holders should get no more than 1 ticket per person allocation for the semi given their uptake on this one.Aye away and bolt, myself and my Wife are working as are my neice and nephew which means the kids are also missing out tomorrow night, its bad enough we are all missing the game but you want us penalised too, thank **** you don't run the club.

percy veer
24-09-2018, 05:51 PM

Glad I bought additional child tickets in the famous five lower, I should get 4 then for me and my chums 🤗

itslegaltender
24-09-2018, 06:04 PM
Wonder how many colds/flu/kids school committments/working etc excuses there would be if this was Hearts tomorrow night. The games on the telly, people should just admit that.

24-09-2018, 06:10 PM
Wonder how many colds/flu/kids school committments/working etc excuses there would be if this was Hearts tomorrow night. The games on the telly, people should just admit that.Give the lads a shout for me Mr Uberfan, cheers 👍

24-09-2018, 06:14 PM
Glad I bought additional child tickets in the famous five lower, I should get 4 then for me and my chums 🤗

:na na::faf::faf:

24-09-2018, 06:16 PM
Wonder how many colds/flu/kids school committments/working etc excuses there would be if this was Hearts tomorrow night. The games on the telly, people should just admit that.

My youngest son can go tomorrow night thankfully. Had it been Wednesday he wouldn’t be there due to his football training. Hibs are not the only thing in kids lives fortunately

24-09-2018, 06:32 PM

I'm going but it's not my place to decide whether someone elses excuse is genuine or not and their finances, health, work or family are none of my, or your, business. It's exactly the same if they'd rather watch it on TV as well.

For much of the last 3 decades we'd have been lucky to get the crowd we'll get tomorrow night for a Saturday 3pm game. The constant sniping at the fans, who have been fanstastic in the last 5 years or so, is so tiresome.

24-09-2018, 06:54 PM

The game's on the TV so I'm staying home to watch it.

24-09-2018, 07:01 PM
I bought our 3 a couple of weeks ago.Now i find out its on the telly.Can i get my money back?

24-09-2018, 07:02 PM
Wonder how many colds/flu/kids school committments/working etc excuses there would be if this was Hearts tomorrow night. The games on the telly, people should just admit that.Is the answer 210?

Is there a prize?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

nomad
24-09-2018, 07:02 PM

Who gives a shi* I will be there and could not give a flying *uck what the crowd is. I have been at ER when less than 5000 people turned up who cares ??? It is nobody’s business why people can/can’t attend

24-09-2018, 07:08 PM
Think some hibs fans are becoming desensitized to the thought of getting through to hampden.

Pretty much a guarantee every season now :wink:

24-09-2018, 07:09 PM

Answer is there would be less folk if it was Hearts and more if it was Aye United. Like every single club in the world our attendances will vary depending on a variety of factors but primarily who the opposition is. I'm sure you knew that anyway but you just wanted to have a wee dig regardless.

Saturday Boy
24-09-2018, 07:24 PM

Lucky you. I cancelled my BT sport and I’m having to go to the ***** game.

Absolutely gutted, so I am. 😄

24-09-2018, 07:34 PM

Absolutely gutted, so I am. [emoji1]

Well done these armchair fans are no good to hibs

24-09-2018, 07:46 PM
Well done these armchair fans are no good to hibs

Saturday Boy
24-09-2018, 07:53 PM

I think someone has been whooshed here, but I can’t work out who 😉

24-09-2018, 07:56 PM

Absolutely gutted, so I am. 😄

How do you think I feel? I have BT but live too close to the stadium to hear the crowd before the TV shows me the goal so I HAVE to go.

This wasn’t a problem 7/8 years ago when crowds were small enough to not be able to tell each set of fans their roars apart. I miss the good old days. Petrie out.

Saturday Boy
24-09-2018, 07:57 PM
How do you think I feel? I have BT but live too close to the stadium to hear the crowd before the TV shows me the goal so I HAVE to go.

This wasn’t a problem 7/8 years ago when crowds were small enough to not be able to tell each set of fans their roars apart. I miss the good old days. Petrie out.

I feel your pain 😄

Chic Murray
24-09-2018, 08:13 PM
Who gives a shi* I will be there and could not give a flying *uck what the crowd is. I have been at ER when less than 5000 people turned up who cares ??? It is nobody’s business why people can/can’t attend

Bloody luxury!

24-09-2018, 08:32 PM

I blame Leeann myself. Club was a shambles until she arrived.

24-09-2018, 08:32 PM
I think someone has been whooshed here, but I can’t work out who 😉

Nobody has been whooshed, unless it's me.

I'm just laughing at the Uber fan nonsense.

TrinityHibs
24-09-2018, 08:45 PM
I blame Leeann myself. Club was a shambles until she arrived.

I miss the good old days when you could park near the ground and after the match could get to the car and be home before Sportsound was finished.

24-09-2018, 09:01 PM
I miss the good old days when you could park near the ground and after the match could get to the car and be home before Sportsound was finished.Or the days you could leave at half time and be home in time for the wrestling.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

24-09-2018, 09:30 PM
I miss the days when you could phone up to ask when the game starts and you were asked what time could you get there.

24-09-2018, 09:52 PM
Anyone got an idea how many tickets Aberdeen have sold?

24-09-2018, 09:57 PM
Anyone got an idea how many tickets Aberdeen have sold?

Check out their interactive stadium map of ER. I wish Hibs would invest in this software for our away game tickets, looks brilliant!

https://tickets.afc.co.uk/en-GB/events/hibernian%20v%20aberdeen/2018-9-25_19.45/easter%20road%20stadium?hallmap

24-09-2018, 09:59 PM

Can’t be that unusual as they call it nightschool

25-09-2018, 12:18 AM
I miss the good old days when you could park near the ground and after the match could get to the car and be home before Sportsound was finished.and get parked in the street you live in too. those were the days

25-09-2018, 05:01 AM
Check out their interactive stadium map of ER. I wish Hibs would invest in this software for our away game tickets, looks brilliant!

https://tickets.afc.co.uk/en-GB/events/hibernian%20v%20aberdeen/2018-9-25_19.45/easter%20road%20stadium?hallmap

Maybe the home team has to have it?

KdyHby
25-09-2018, 07:24 AM
and get parked in the street you live in too. those were the days

You're struggling to park in Magdalene on match days?!😉 Hibs shouldn't have filled in those corners!

25-09-2018, 07:32 AM
Think some hibs fans are becoming desensitized to the thought of getting through to hampden.

Pretty much a guarantee every season now :wink:

Between 2007 and 2012 we didn't go to Hampden once. Could easily happen again if we go through another rough patch.

25-09-2018, 07:41 AM
Buying 2 tickets tonight. Know at least 5 others doing the same and I would imagine their are plenty others in the same boat. It's also coming up to the end of the month and lots will get paid next week so will be toiling this week. It's not as simple as hibs are playing everyone should be there. Some people's lives don't revolve around football.

25-09-2018, 07:56 AM
Buying 2 tickets tonight. Know at least 5 others doing the same and I would imagine their are plenty others in the same boat. It's also coming up to the end of the month and lots will get paid next week so will be toiling this week. It's not as simple as hibs are playing everyone should be there. Some people's lives don't revolve around football.

I know it is unbelievable! I don't know how they get through their day!

25-09-2018, 08:33 AM
looks like Aberdeen are going to have a big support.

We can not give them any extra help. Let's be big and vocal!

25-09-2018, 09:22 AM
Tue 25 Sep 10:21:52 BST 2018
West
4264 not for sale
1733 available

FF
1560 not for sale
2196 available

East
3558 not for sale
2763 available

South
3932 not for sale
0 available

Total
13346 not for sale
6692 available

25-09-2018, 09:39 AM
could be lucky to have 12000 actually in the stadium.

25-09-2018, 09:45 AM
Attendance will be about 13,000. Not bad for a midweek league cup game on Zitelli.

25-09-2018, 09:49 AM

I think it will be around that. Around 9000 sold, couple of thousand walk ups and 1000+ dons fans. Not too shabby

25-09-2018, 10:22 AM

So, in perspective, that's better than our average attendance over a whole season for 6 of the last 10 years and on a par with another couple of years. Against Dumbarton in the LC a few years ago we just broke the 5000 barrier, In the same round v Dundee Utd in 2015 we had about 11000 and the year before against the same opponent was less than 9000.

12K for a league cup tie on TV on a Tuesday night is a decent crowd.

Wakeyhibee
25-09-2018, 12:17 PM
So, in perspective, that's better than our average attendance over a whole season for 6 of the last 10 years and on a par with another couple of years. Against Dumbarton in the LC a few years ago we just broke the 5000 barrier, In the same round v Dundee Utd in 2015 we had about 11000 and the year before against the same opponent was less than 9000.

12K for a league cup tie on TV on a Tuesday night is a decent crowd.

It is. Watching habits have changed over the decades. cup games used to draw bigger crowds than the league fixture against the same opposition. More STs mean people are tied to the league programme.

Dancehibs
25-09-2018, 02:10 PM
With no European place , league cup not as important. Look at crowd for semi last season. Fans will turnout for a final. Personally I’d scrap league cup

howdenthehibby
25-09-2018, 02:19 PM
There will probably be a good few like myself , I didn't think I would make it so I didn't book my own seat. But fortunately now I can. Got a ticket this afternoon and there seemed to be a steady stream of people buying tickets . You can't beat a game under the floodlights. Lets do this Hibs.:nlgwa

25-09-2018, 02:23 PM
I think it will be around that. Around 9000 sold, couple of thousand walk ups and 1000+ dons fans. Not too shabby

At least 1700 Dons fans - which is brilliant for a TV match on a tuesday

inglisavhibs
25-09-2018, 02:27 PM
With no European place , league cup not as important. Look at crowd for semi last season. Fans will turnout for a final. Personally I’d scrap league cup

Oh great, that leaves one realistic chance of a trophy for all but the old firm. :brickwall

25-09-2018, 02:39 PM

If there was no League Cup we would have gone 64 years without winning a single trophy. Could you have handled that?

If we get a semi v Hearts it will sell out.

CLASS OF 72 -73
25-09-2018, 02:57 PM

Can't believe fans that slate the League cup and the likes of the Europa League. Yes the latter is badly structured but you have limited opportunities to win trophies when up against the big clubs. not just to come forth or top six in the league. I was there in 1973 age 14 what a feeling only surpassed in 2016 :flag:

SJNB Hibby
25-09-2018, 02:58 PM

If theyd give the Euro spot to the LC Winners if The SFA Cup Winners otherwise qualify, it would be a better prize

Dancehibs
25-09-2018, 03:41 PM
If there was no League Cup we would have gone 64 years without winning a single trophy. Could you have handled that?

Trust me it wouldn’t change my life . I could handle it. We didn’t sell out semi of Scottish cup at Hampden .

I’m going to game. Others don’t fancy it, which is fine. Attedemces don’t lie. There not great interest across Scotland for league cup

25-09-2018, 03:42 PM

Hibs sold out Tynecastle for matches against St Johnstone twice in the LC and had a decent turnout v Dundee United back in the mid-1990s.

25-09-2018, 04:21 PM
Can't believe fans that slate the League cup and the likes of the Europa League. Yes the latter is badly structured but you have limited opportunities to win trophies when up against the big clubs. not just to come forth or top six in the league. I was there in 1973 age 14 what a feeling only surpassed in 2016 :flag:

Don't know about 1973 but I was delighted when we won it 1972, :greengrin

25-09-2018, 04:22 PM
There were less than 12,000 at the 2-0 game in 2015. Think we’ll be well above that tonight

25-09-2018, 04:31 PM
There were less than 12,000 at the 2-0 game in 2015. Think we’ll be well above that tonight

Just over 11k that night and the atmosphere was great..hopefully a repeat tonight

25-09-2018, 04:33 PM
Just over 11k that night and the atmosphere was great..hopefully a repeat tonight

Was a cracking atmosphere, and 2 brilliant goals as well

25-09-2018, 04:35 PM
9884 saw Hibs draw 1-1 with ICT at ER in the Scottish Cup QF 2016. Might as well have scrapped that competition too. :wink:

alihibs1
25-09-2018, 04:40 PM
About 800 left in the West.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

25-09-2018, 04:42 PM

Just scrap a major trophy we've won 3 times? Don't be so silly.

25-09-2018, 04:47 PM
If theyd give the Euro spot to the LC Winners if The SFA Cup Winners otherwise qualify, it would be a better prize

Excellent idea. You could also give a Euro spot for it if we ever get back to five Scottish qualifiers.

Juniper Greens
25-09-2018, 04:53 PM
Excellent idea. You could also give a Euro spot for it if we ever get back to five Scottish qualifiers.

Reckon the “third tournament” from UEFA could get this?

25-09-2018, 04:59 PM
There were 7000 at the Cup semi against Aberdeen in 1979-midweek at Hampden.

houstonhibbee
25-09-2018, 05:25 PM

we were almost relegated by then?

25-09-2018, 05:28 PM

I was there That's why I appreciate the crowds we are getting now

25-09-2018, 05:29 PM
Well if we're going to trawl through the history books...

There were 2,000 at our first ever Quarter Final in 1879 away to Dumbarton.

Our first ever home QF was in 1884, and we only had 1,200 at the game.

I think we should just about beat those attendances tonight ;-)

25-09-2018, 05:30 PM
we were almost relegated by then?

That was the following season, 79/80

25-09-2018, 05:34 PM
Fire on the M90, Aberdeen fans might be in late.

25-09-2018, 05:35 PM

25-09-2018, 05:36 PM
Fire on the M90, Aberdeen fans might be in late.

The sheep, the sheep,
The sheep (have been delayed by a) fire

25-09-2018, 05:55 PM
The sheep, the sheep,
The sheep are on fire

I’ve edited your post as just wondering how that above song came about? Seen it sung a couple of times in this fixture by Hibs fans.

Mr_F
25-09-2018, 05:57 PM
I’m pretty skint, working till half 5 at the other end of the city, have dugs, bairn etc to deal with..

Being on TV made it an easy call for me tonight

25-09-2018, 06:31 PM
I’ve edited your post as just wondering how that above song came about? Seen it sung a couple of times in this fixture by Hibs fans.

Afaik we used to sing at them that they were a bit too fond of sheep. They took the insult back off us with that song. You know my post was a joke because of a previous post, right?

25-09-2018, 06:31 PM
I’m in my seat. Up for the cup!

25-09-2018, 06:41 PM

Story goes that a Sheep fan that was dressed as a sheep for a laugh found out to his misfortune that what he was wearing was rather flammable on a train home, how he caught fire is unknown to me. Needless to say the next time they came to ER the song got an outing.

25-09-2018, 06:45 PM
Story goes that a Sheep fan that was dressed as a sheep for a laugh found out to his misfortune that what he was wearing was rather flammable on a train home, how he caught fire is unknown to me. Needless to say the next time they came to ER the song got an outing.

I know.

I was there.

Brutal to see.

25-09-2018, 10:56 PM
All those that never went tonight using the excuses of:

its a midweek game

the kids are at school in the morning

its on tv

its too cold

its too expensive

Can we then assume you won’t be wanting or trying for tickets for Hearts away based on the excuses listed above? After all it’s a midweek game, the kids have school in the morning, it’s too expensive (£32), it’s on tv and it’ will be too cold....

25-09-2018, 11:02 PM
Aberdeen support attendance was excellent tonight

It is a shame the same cannot be said of their team !

Hibs support attendance disappointing but the fans have had a lot of outlays recently

Hibs team cannot fault the effort and commitment of every Hibs player that crossed the white line tonight